Reading Head Start Program Reviews

About Reading Head Start Program

The Reading Head Start Program, found online at ReadingHeadStart.com, is new reading program designed for children between the ages of one and nine that promises success regardless of experience. 

How Does It Work?

According to their website, the Reading Head Start Program was created by an English teacher, Sarah Shepard, who says that her program is based on a reading method “the education system does not want you to know.”

Unfortunately she never actually explains what this system is or how it works. She does says that it is “scientifically verified,” and a “proven, guaranteed method” to have your child reading at least two to four years above their own age or grade level.

This system is described as being completely effective, no matter what level or learning experience your child is starting at, and the video presentation says that this system is actually so effective that it can “prevent and reverse Dyslexia completely.”  

Cost/Price Plans

The Reading Head Start Program is offering their new customers a trial period, where they can get full access to their program for three days for just $1.00. Customers who love this program should do nothing, and at the end of three days they will automatically be charged $37.00 for continued use of this program. This $37.00 charge will continue each and every month until they day you cancel.     

Refund Policy

It doesn’t appear as though this company provides a standard Refund Policy; instead, customers will need to adhere closely to their trial period and Cancellation Policies to ensure that they are not charged any recurring fees for this program if they are unhappy with it.    

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who wish to contact their Customer Service team with any questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link on the website.   

Reputation

It’s hard to know where to begin evaluating this program. First, it is difficult to find accurate reviews of this system because they have chosen to name it after one of the US governments largest pre-K programs, Head Start. When you do find reviews, you will find they are pretty much all written by affiliates and partner websites, meaning that it’s difficult to determine how biased they may be. 

But there are actually much worse things to say about this program. Sarah Shepard, the so-called English teacher that created this program, is not only likely not a teacher or educator of any kind, but she’s probably also not even a parent. 

Her video tells the story of her Kindergarten aged child receiving his very first grade report, and how shocked she was that he was “failing English” and how embarrassing that was for an English teacher. Except Kindergartners don’t have an “English” grade, not now or ever. Parents are simply told whether or not their child is struggling or achieving in a variety of skills based areas. 

In addition, this video claims that this reading program will “reverse or even cure Dyslexia,” which is not only completely false but is insulting and offensive. Dyslexia is a lifelong condition that affects the way a person’s brain interprets the information it sees, and children are born with this condition and have it their whole lives. To insinuate that Dyslexia is a condition that parents give their children because they didn’t teach them to read using a specific method is not only a lie, to say it is hurtful and unethical and would never be a claim made by a well-educated teacher. 

The bottom line is that this program is likely a knock-off of an existing reading program being sold by a person who is lying when they claim to have any knowledge of or experience in teaching. Parents should avoid this program and stick with other proven and professionally recommended systems. 

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are many different programs available to help children of all ages, even toddlers, begin taking the right steps toward learning to read. Parents can find the right program for their needs by considering their child’s age, current level of reading or recognition, and the amount of time you have to work with your child on any given program.   

If you have any experience with this company or their products, please leave your Reading Head Start Program reviews below.

You May Also Be Interested In

10 ‘Reading Head Start Program’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

Suspicious activity

July 13, 2020

I commented on their post on a Facebook page called "Help My Child Learn Better" advertising for this program. I just complained about the annoying video they make you watch before telling you what their product even is. I also linked the reviews from this page. They deleted my comment and blocked me from commenting on their page.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

This reading technique NOT new!

June 26, 2020

A much better and less expensive (One time home license fee was around $150 the last time I checked) program with extensive data to prove it has worked in schools all overy the country for 25 years is available at
www.ceilearning.com
I only mention this to point out that the reading "system" described in this program (learning letter sounds first) is absolutely NOT new.

Note: English teachers are NOT reading teachers and have typically not been educated on reading therapy (teaching phoneme sounds and blending) at the primary level. ENGLISH classes are not taught at the primary level. Teaching English (grammar and sentence structure) is completely different from teaching Reading.
She is correct in that letter sounds should be learned first, but the program needs to be much more multi-sensory (hear it, say it, trace it, write it, spell it ---all at the same time) in order to actually work (put short term learning into the long term memory area of the brain)....especially if your intention is to help your child learn how to overcome dyslexia by adapting the learning process from auditory only (most classrooms) to multisensory instruction.
Note:
D- O- G should never be pronounced as
DUH -OH(long o sound) -GUH ...there is no long o sound in dog...so right away, I'm concerned about the integrity of the instruction.
This program won't do damage, I simply doubt that it will work as quickly as claimed? however, I have not used it. Having said that...any time spent with a child teaching them to sound out words is time well spent.
DMcDuffie,M.Ed.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Disappointed

April 27, 2020

I saw this online and tried their $1 trial but was shocked after recieving a bill of $37 deducted automatically on my account. The email from clickbank shows that they will continue deducting same amount every month. It frustrates me and tried cancelling the subscription, they had live chat and was directed to someone and she said she'll help me cancel it. After a while she said i wont recieve billing mail again. But just now i recive another bill that they took from mu account. While im not even using their product. Its really heart breaking for mothers like me to deal with people whos behind this. I keep asking for refund but nobody is answering me. Time of pandemic and they keep doing this. So frustrating.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Request for Refund and Cancellation

February 27, 2020

How Can I cancel my subscription and get a refund?

My card was charged 1 week ago for the 1st month. Emailed the Admin but no reply. Thanks

View all 2 Comments
March 22, 2020

I need urgent assistance please. I paid for the trial version and used it for a few days and then went over to the monthly payment. However, the previous login and password no longer works, and I am unable to get back in on the site. How do I get the new login?

March 22, 2020

I paid for the trial version and used it for a few days and then went over to the monthly payment automatically. However, the previous login and password no longer works, and I am unable to get back in on the site. I have sent several emails requesting assistance and only get an automated reply.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Amy Smith

July 28, 2019

Excellent program for beginning readers. I purchased Reading Head Start for my 3-year-old daughter last year and she still loves it. Now, after one year, she is reading between 2nd and 4th grade levels. Obviously, we have been reading together through that time, but Reading Head Start was the right choice to teach her to sound out words and learn basic sight words. And we all love the letter sounds song!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Fish or cut bait

July 17, 2019

The system may be awesome (don't know myself) but this video is a winding path that wore me out...and I'm living proof that phonics has been taught in public school for 50 years...

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

SCAM

June 12, 2018

I purchased the lifetime subscription which states 1 full year money back guarantee. I submitted my request for refund just outside the payee’s (clickbank) refund period. So the request was escalated to the company for refund. I just made my third request within the last 2 weeks & no one has tried to contact me. There is no other contact, you have to rely on clickbank to get in touch with whoever can approve this. Clickbank automatically closes the request in 10 days, so I had to reopen the case...I can tell that getting my money back isn’t easy. I’m certain there are many reviews like mine which get wiped illegally. Anything to make a buck I guess.

February 10, 2020

Just trying to understand your review. So you did use the reading system for over a year and are now trying to get a refund back, but you are outside of the warranty time? Is that correct? I wasn't sure what the complaint was? How was the program itself?

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Desperate mother not wanting to be taken advantage of

March 14, 2018

This is not a review! I need feedback on this product. There are only two comments!!! This does not help. I was recently (robbed) taken advantage of online for a reading tutor for my three sons that need help. Any info or suggestions will be greatly appreciated!!!

View all 4 Comments
June 12, 2018

We got duped!

July 06, 2019

My advise. If they don’t have a physical office address and phone line to contact them directly please stay away.
Download free reading videos online such as Alphablocks to help your child learn how to read with fun. It is free on YouTube.

July 08, 2019

Anyone wanting to get their young children to read - needs to read The Read-Aloud Handbook - Book by Jim Trelease - it is a quick read - ( 1/2 the book is a reference to good books to read aloud.) I raised 4 children- I am a preschool director - and I have my masters in early ed.
I am alarmed at their claim to "cure dyxelia". Read aloud to your child a lot - let them see you reading - talk about books - read chapter books and all this is free - your local library has all you need!

July 17, 2019

I'm not buying it...phonics is not new...Show your child how often you read...traffic signs mail,google...recipes...CEREAL BOXES...etc

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Disappointed

February 3, 2018

I tried this program and was very disappointed. It was advertised as having videos and games but what I got access to was a website with written lessons only, no videos no games. The way the lessons were written also seem geared more toward a classroom/ group setting. If I had fallowed the program as I received it I think it would have helped but I wasn’t going to spend $297 for it. I thought what I received may have been a mistake or I was missing something so I tried to message the company through there website but was unable to do so as I would always get an error message when I hit send. So I contacted click bank (the company you pay through) and they are going to refund me the money.

View all 2 Comments
June 12, 2018

Did you get your refund? If so was it within clickbank refund period? I requested a refund outside the 60 day period, but I purchased the lifetime subscription, which states 1 year money back guarantee. It’s now 3 requests in two weeks and no one is getting back to me...go figure.

June 12, 2018

I did get my refund but I only had the program for a month. I too had gotten the 1yr guarantee and they were good about contacting me. Did you go through the click bank directly? I went to clickbank.com and did the live chat and the person who helped me got me the refund right away.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Great Overall product

January 13, 2017

I bought the product back in September right before two of my children went to school. Everyday they came from school they wanted to hop on the computer to learn more because it felt like a game to them. At the same time it helped them learn to read and write. I got their report card and met with their teachers, they we're both above average in their class.

Can i say i owe it all to reading head start? Not all of it but it really helped children get a head start that's for sure.

I'm surprised people haven't commented here though. They're offering 3-day trial for 1$ for anyone who wants to try it.

Get it Here: https://goo.gl/hel13s

View all 2 Comments
February 21, 2019

where did you to get the games? I can't find them for my children. Have you done any of the lessons with your kids?

July 14, 2019

Can't wait to read the response.
Looks to me like someone working with them.

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review