SafeLink Wireless Reviews

SafeLink Wireless is a company which states their aim is to lower the cost to own and maintain a cell phone, without extra or unknown charges.

How Does it Work?

Similar to Assurance Wireless, SafeLink Wireless is the parent company of Net10 Wireless and TracPhone Wireless, companies which are well known for providing cell phone services that are pre-paid and require no long term contracts.

Many consumers are hesitant to switch over from a major carrier to a pre-paid service, wondering if this service is legit or if there is potential for a scam.

In fact, SafeLink Wireless claims to be the largest No Contract cell service provider in the US, with over 18 million subscribers.

In addition, their website says they have contracts with Motorola, Nokia, LG, and Kyocera to give their customers access to high quality phones, as well as contracts with over 30 major carriers to provide their users with optimal coverage throughout the US.

However, SafeLink Wireless also has a program which provides 250 free minutes of cell phone service each month to people who meet certain requirements.  They have a basic explanation on their website of how to qualify for this service.

First, each state of residence will have different requirements that potential members must meet for qualification. But outside of this, there are some general standards that may indicate you are qualified for this program

The best indicators of whether this program may be for you is whether you participate in a state or federal support program, or through meeting the Income Poverty Guidelines as defined by the US Government.

However, only one member of a household may qualify at any time.

After you determine whether or not you are qualified for your free monthly minutes, you then can choose whichever of their plans best fits your lifestyle, and since there are no contracts required, if you have complaints or issues with the service, you can stop at any time.

If you have any experience with SafeLink Wireless or their services, please leave your reviews below.

SafeLink Wireless Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Poor Customer Service
November 23, 2022

I have had Safe link Wireless for two years now, it appears that my phone has a crack in the screen which has caused my phone to shut off without warning. I called Safe Link Wireless back in October of this year to see about a replacement.

After three representatives i finally got someone to listen to me, they said they were going to send a new phone on November 17th, and it would be here overnight. Well, it's been three days and no phone, i called today and was told that my order had been declined. I was outraged to hear that!

When i asked why it was declined, they said i hadn't met the requirements, i asked what the requirements where they had no answer! I asked to speak to a supervisor they refused, there protocol would not allow! After that they hung up! This company played me big time.

Unable to get calls
October 20, 2022

The worst. I can't get outgoing calls i have called tec support 8 times they lie and cut the line.

Do not use.
August 31, 2022
Rude customer service reps that do not listen and go strictly by a script. The service has been poor from the start and the phone is a cheap piece of junk. I get nowhere with the imbeciles as they refuse to admit what they're up to and sending out inferior phones.

RACE
August 30, 2022

Today I went to one of the stores located on the corner of SW Military and Flores in San Antonio Texas with the intention of having telephone service. The seller of this place refused to serve me because of my black skin color. He did not let me sit down having 4 chairs available and in a very abrupt way he refused to give me service having all the necessary documents and requirements...

Honestly it's the worst cell phone company ever
April 4, 2022

It might even be the worst company period that I've ever dealt with and I've been with them for several years and I keep giving them a chance but now I'm done and will have a new provider after tomorrow.

Without going into detail, be prepared to be jerked around, transferred so many times it makes your head spin and have your service turned off not just once but over and over again. All due to their incompetence. It really is just plain incompetence.

Right now for the fifth time they turned off my service even though I'm approved with CA Lifeline until Feb 2023 which means SafeLink is getting paid. Because they turned off my service the only way I can get it turned back on is by borrowing a phone and sitting on hold for about 20 to 30 mins and then transferred at least twice.

It happens all the time.. and I'm done. Goodbye SafeLink. I'll be safer with someone else

RichardKnight June 15, 2022

My opinion others says same thing, Q LINK SUCKS.

Get ready to get "jerked around" forever.
February 16, 2022

Safelink is changing networks so they tell everyone they to get a new phone. Then make it impossible to get a new phone. Every phone is "out of stock".

One problem after another every step of the way. You'll go in circles for hours and hours trying to get small things resolved. I just gave up and cancelled my service with Safelink. They SUCK.

Worthless
December 1, 2019

They shut my phone off / stole my minutes for spite. I think those people have a sickness and need help. Shut my phone off after I got out of hospital with open heart surgery, I'm 76 disabled and they still shut my services off, I had no phone and didn't even realize those creeps shut phone off.. Said I didn't have any minutes, I had 980.

Asked about the free phone that govt provides, they said " we stopped giving phones out,, guess what? Its not for them to decide. Bought another phone a week later. Never turned services on or transferred minutes over to new phone. Had to call corp office in fla.

After an hr. They decided to turn my services back on. Said application needed updated, told them I did that 4 times.

Every time I'd call, said didn't get my info. After 13 days, said they got it but couldn't read a number on snap card. So they shut my services off again. Said id have to re-enroll again even after I did that 4 times.

I think they just do that for spite, and they are sick in the head.

One issue
October 17, 2019
Got a nice phone works great. But was given some ones number and keep getting call for someone else. How ever they did offer me a new sims card and number.

Hate it. Not worth it.
October 3, 2017
Got my phone 10 days ago. After 8 calls to customer service no one can figure out why i have no service. Don't use this company. They have no techincal experts at all and that came directly from a supervisor. After my experience it seems like a scam to me.

Tina Park October 17, 2019

Only complaint I have is I was given some ones number and I keep getting calls for someone else. But they did offer to give me a new sim card and number.