GOLO.com Reviews

GOLO.com
( 125 reviews )
Website: www.Golo.com

GOLO.com Review: Does it Work?

Reviewopedia staff  -  Updated:  August 14, 2023
Editorial Note:  Reviewopedia is supported by our readers.  We may earn a commission from partner links on this page. Commissions do not affect our editors' opinions or evaluations.

 

GOLO Weight Loss, found online at Golo.com, is a popular weight loss product that promises users a way to reverse insulin resistance, a health condition which GOLO claim is responsible for many people’s unwanted weight gain. 

How Does it Work?

Insulin is one of the most important hormones in your body and directly affects metabolism, weight gain, aging, and your overall health. Insulin resistance has been believed to cause premature aging and increased metabolic age. 

According to Golo.com there are over 100 studies supporting the safety and efficacy of the GOLO Release dietary supplement. 

Additionally, they claim that studies have shown that those people taking the GOLO release pills "lost significantly more weight, inches around their waists and lowered their health risk markers" to a greater extent than those subjects taking a placebo.  

However, the company website only contains links to the PDFs of these studies so it is unclear if these studies have been peer reviewed or accepted by any respected scientific publications.

Ingredients & Side Effects

Unlike many other many other weight loss drugs, the GOLO insulin resistance supplement does not rely on caffeine and stimulants.

Instead, GOLO states it's release pills are and all-natural plant-based formula containing containing 7 plant-based ingredients and 3 minerals.

The website claims GOLO Release is "made in the USA in an FDA certified facility". 

However, the FDA  states it does not “approve” laboratories or manufacturers of dietary supplements. [ 1 ]

So while a GOLO facility may have been inspected by the FDA, the claim that it is FDA certified seems misleading.

The ingredients used by this product include:

 

  • Magnesium
  • Zinc
  • Chromium
  • Rhodiola Extract
  • Inositol
  • Berberine Extract
  • Gardenia Extract
.
  • Banaba Leaf Extract
  • Salaretin, Apple Extract
  • Vegetable Cellulose
  • Rice Fiber
  • Stearate
  • Silica

Customer Reviews & Complaints

At this time it appears as though there are mixed reviews for this product outside of the reviews on the company’s own website.

Additionally, many of the positive reviews that are available for GOLO are from partners and affiliate websites, which makes it difficult to assess the degree of bias included in each review.

Amongst the negative customer reviews complaints claim that the Release Pills have done nothing to help with weight loss and in some cases people have put on weight following the GOLO protocols.

Some believe that any weight loss on the program is strictly attributed to the aggressive caloric restrictions they recommend, and that their diet plan is nothing unique, echoing basic healthy guidelines that most people are already familiar with. 

Others reported having negative side effects to the pills such as Acid Reflux or diarrhea.

On the other hand, proponents of GOLO, who have experienced success with the product, claim that the naysayers did not take the correct dosage or did not follow the program correctly.  

Ultimately, it’s very difficult to judge diet programs based on anecdotal evidence as everyone’s weight loss journey is unique and what works for some may have opposite results in others.

This is why it’s important to consult a professional before undergoing any kind of supplement regimen especially if you may have had negative reactions to herbal/weight loss products in the past.  

Customer Service

Customers who would like to contact a representative with any questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by phone at 1-800-730-4656, by email at [email protected], or by filling out the contact form at Golo.com

 

Cost & Price Plans

The GOLO Weight Loss program comes with the ‘The GOLO for Life Plan’ eBook and the GOLO website membership when you purchase a bottle of GOLO Release for $49.95 (discounts for larger orders) with free shipping included.

 

Refund Policy

Golo.com states that their Release Dietary Supplement comes with a 60 day money back guarantee, and customers who are not satisfied with their purchase can return it for a full refund within 60 days.  

Competitors and Alternatives

One weight loss program that has been getting a lot of attention is Noom Weight Loss

Their system aims to work by helping users make lasting behavioral changes, and has clinically-backed results.

Noom is designed on the three pillars of Psychology, Technology, and Human coaching.  Their program is also customized to each participant’s demographics, lifestyle, and weight loss goals.

The app trains users to build better habits without forcing them into an overly restrictive food plan.  Instead they have developed a color coded system based on a food’s calorie and nutrient density.

By eating larger amounts of foods with low calorie density, this method will naturally reduce your caloric intake resulting in weight loss. 

By contrast, calorie dense foods that pack a large number of calories into small amounts are limited in the Noom program.

These principles are presented in an easy to use app that provides guidance and support when you need it.

According to the company, those who follow the program tend to lose 1–2 pounds per week. 

In one Noom sponsored study they found that 78% of almost 36,000 users sustained their weight loss over 9 months.

Learn More About Noom...

Does GOLO Really Help With Weight Loss?

While GOLO is based on sound principles of addressing insulin spikes and managing your metabolism, it’s difficult to fully recommend this program.  

While any Diet that promotes whole foods instead of processed and encourages exercise is going to have at least some results it’s unclear how effective the GOLO Release Supplement is.

In the studies commissioned by GOLO to prove its efficacy the participants who showed positive results were taking the supplement in conjunction with an exercise and Diet plan, making it hard to narrow down exactly how big of a role Release played in their success.

Further, while GOLO may help you reach your desired weight goal and maintain lower blood sugar levels it’s still a calorie restricted diet.

So unless you commit to lifelong behavioral changes it may be an unsustainable long term solution especially if you include the cost of the supplement.

If you have any experience with GOLO.com or their products, please leave your reviews below.

See Also: What Vitamins and Supplements Should You Be Taking?

You may also be interested in

GOLO.com Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Don't be like me, follow their weight loss regimen.
May 6, 2024

Does it work? As far as i can tell, yes. I started out as 260+ lbs and so far have dropped 6 pounds. I know, only 6 pounds? Well, i dont exactly follow the plan as i should.

I still eat pizza, sometimes too much, i drink "0" sodas, hamburgers and candy. some are consumed with portion control or not as often as i use too.

i see GOLO as a psychological thing. I can't eat a big meal or snack on chips without taking a pill. I can only take a max of 4 pills a day (i tried 5 and I think that was the reason I got diarrhea) so I am not snacking as much as i use to, chips and candy only eaten as part of my meal. So that has stopped.

I have changed my eating choices more. I eat more chicken (air fryer) and more veggies (usually frozen medley). and during work, i try 2 cups of frozen veggies with 4 hard boil eggs, sometimes i add a small bag of chips and a candy bar. when i do this and take GOLO, I don't see an increase in my weight but maybe a "no gain and no loss" situation in pounds.

Now i don't know if this is how it is designed to work but if i sleep all day, 8am to 9pm, I will lose 2 pounds in one day. When this happens, i will weigh myself at least 3 times and move it to different areas of my floor to make sure my scale is accurate. I will accept the highest weight which most of the time is just a few ounces higher than the lowest. I know it's bad to do this but I cant explain it. 2 lbs for 12+ hours of sleep.

If it works, and currently it is for me, I am ready to pay $200 for 6 months of pills until I reach my goal. I also hope I can change my overall routine (GOLO prescribed exercises and food choices) to better control my weight.

WillAnaya May 06, 2024

I did read some posts about side effects like constipation. This may be true but better for my situation. In the past and because of my bad eating habits I have more often had less than desirable bowel movements. With GOLO, my bowel movements are 95% of the time solid and if they were a little "wet", not a diarrhea situation. Just drink 12 oz of water when you take the pill, keep water intake normal throughout the day and please, no more than 4 pills in one day.

WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY
April 24, 2024
tried the plan with positive outlook. followed the plan to the letter,eating, pill dosage,everything. I had barely any results. I followed the plan until I exhausted all 3 bottles of the product,again,no results.I tried several times to get hold of customer service to get a refund on the $150.00,only to get disconnected twice after being on hold for 15minutes and once to have the rep put me on hold only to get hung up on. After thought,I realized, of course you will lose weight by following a calorie restrictive diet.The GOLO pills did nothing except rob me of $150.00. I have recently followed a low calorie,low sodium,low fat intake diet and have had great success with that. I realized I jumped on the bandwagon after beliveing the marketing hype and accomplished nothing except losing $150.00 and gaining uncalled for anxiety with a product that was a waste,and a joke as well as the non existent customer service.

Exercise & eat healthy food daily.
April 8, 2024

Not sure if it was GOLO that helped me lose 30 pounds, because I walked daily & ate nonfat healthy food. I did that years ago without any pill & lost 60 lbs. Any doctor would tell you that is the best & most effective way to lose weight. Without the pill I felt more energetic & slept well. People who want to lose weight without the exercise & proper eating are just fooling themselves. You need to be determined to live a healthier life permanently or you just gain the weight back.

Not Good for Me
March 4, 2024
Pure Hokum for me. No positive results at all. If I wanted to diet and exercise, I would not have needed the pills. Used for full 90 days.

Stopped working
February 15, 2024
I have been on Golo since last summer. It started out slow. I was concerned and talked to a Golo specialist., it started working better and I lost about 25 lbs . Then over 2 months ago I stopped losing weight and started gaining my weight back. I have gained 10 lbs back. I realized that’s when I started a new 90 day supply. I have talked to Golo if there was a problem with the product. They said no. Only thing I can think is my body has gotten used to the release and stopped working. I’m going to find a different weight lose program. This one is no longer working.

Wasted money
January 21, 2024
This product is a scam. Period. Never lost a pound and customer service was non existent. Their commercial should be taken off the air. In my opinion if you want to throw your money away this is your product.

Felt Full with Release but lost no lbs
January 5, 2024

Been on GOLO Release for about 5 wks. Lost a few lbs at first then gained it all back even though I followed the plan to a tee. I've always been a fairly healthy eater and rarely eat out but couldn't loose weight or inches in my waist. Thought the Release would finally take care of that problem. It didn't. I do feel full between meals so never snack anymore. But no results. Did give it 3 stars for the 'full' feeling but really, think I'll keep looking for a better way to loose inches and lbs. that doesn't cost so much and actually works.

It will have strange side effects so be aware.
January 5, 2024

The drug is questionable. I had a very bad experience and was frightened by the out come in just 10 days. The dreams and constipation were evident that the pill was the cause. I stopped taking it for a couple of weeks and I was back to normal and safe.

KathyCarpenter January 05, 2024

GOLO was the pill, does allow you to lose a pound a day for sure, but the side effects are very scary.

Did not Deliver as Promised and Did not Apologize
December 19, 2023
Promised delivery times on website were not kept. Perhaps the shipping company was to blame. However, Golo was asked for an apology and did not apologize. That is a sign of a poor company.

Golo Review
November 17, 2023

Why waste money on this pill if its a healthy clean diet you have to be on, wouldn't you lose weight just on that alone? This pill doesn't work...

Not for everyone
October 15, 2023

I took the supplement, and followed the diet plan for 3 months. I lost 5 pounds. The commercials are very deceptive because they imply that you don't have to change the way you eat. I went to bed hungry every night. The hunger made me unhappy and lethargic. I stopped exercising.

My daughter told me about a different supplement that was recommended by her doctor. It is available over the counter and costs $9.99 per month. I am eating more of the foods that I love and have lost 15 pounds in the last 3 months. I am happier and feel a lot better than I did on GOLO.

In addition, I am glad to see an honest review site. I tried to submit a review on Trust Pilot, but was asked for proof that I purchased the product. I sent a copy of my credit card statement with the charge showing the date of purchase, GOLO, as the company, and the amount of the purchase. I was told that they needed something showing the domain name. Do not trust Trust Pilot!

Deacon RoxanneSmith November 03, 2023

Thank you for your honest review. What was the supplement your daughter recommended?

ErinBurkey December 05, 2023

Yes, we’d love to know the name of the supplement as well. My email is 1ekburkey76 at gmail (dot) com

V.Hathorn December 11, 2023

Janine H, may I please ask what $9.99 supplement you daughter recommended? My email is [email protected].

PatPelc December 18, 2023

my email is ppelc (at) aol.com Please let me know what supplement you are taking. Thanks!

Susan January 03, 2024

Are you able to send the information of this supplement? My email is [email protected]

RogerMcCarter January 05, 2024

If you can send it - janitech (at) comcast (dot) netthanks

Barb January 08, 2024

Would love to know the name of the supplement as well. My email is [email protected]. Thank you.

JackieMalinowski March 15, 2024

What supplement can you email me the name [email protected] Thank you.

JackieMalinowski March 15, 2024

What supplement can you email me the name [email protected] Thank you.

JudyMartinez March 20, 2024

I too would like to know the OTC weight loss supplement for $9.99. My email is [email protected]

AB April 05, 2024

Would like to know the name of your diet supplement anniebrennan727@iclud .com

Debbie April 11, 2024

Please email me at [email protected] for the supplement your Dr recommended.

PatriciaCooper April 13, 2024

I would like the name of the $9.99 supplement also. My email is [email protected]

Does not affect your waist-line
October 11, 2023

Terrible! Terrible weight loss drug. It made me sick to my stomach I took it for over a month and didn’t even lose a pound. And I was still very hungry while I took it. What a waste of money!

cheaper and more effective
August 9, 2023
Been on golo for 2 months. i have actually put on 2 lbs in that time. You are much better off using Braggs apple cider vinager for about 1/3 the cost. It is much more effective and easier to control.......Cheaper and more effective. How can you go wrong?

NicoleJohnson October 11, 2023

And I think I gained weight too. Being on this terrible supplement

Happy I took a chance!
August 1, 2023
Only 3 weeks in but I feel great! My stomach is feeling less bloated and I feel lighter. I was doubtful at first because of the negative reviews but so happy I took a chance….feeling so hopeful lately. My husband actually told me today my stomach looks smaller . That’s all I needed to hear to have me do a review!

Golo is a big fat lie.
July 29, 2023

Been using Golo Release for one month and no weight results and the ingredients in Golo I can find in my local stores for less money. Golo has zinc, magnesium and chromium that does nothing for weight loss. It is a big false advertisement. I want my money back.

Still seeing
June 18, 2023

I really want to believe in this product but, the jury is still out on this one.

I've been following the instructions to the letter, buying all the ingredients to make their yummy looking recipes (which I made) and the first week I lost 4 lbs.

Probably because I started out with zeal & gusto, drinking a gallon of water a day for a week, eating chia & flax seeds sprinkled on everything, and only the freshest of organic veggies & meats.

No snacking (I love sweets, so this was difficult).

I continued this for 2 1/2 mos., only to look the exact same as I did when I started the program.

I haven't lost any inches but did seem to lose 16 lbs. according to my (and my Dr's. office) scale.

At this point I think it's more that I'm eating cleaner & healthier now, so I think it's more of that instead of the Release and I'm just going to keep eating cleanly without buying the release and see what happens.

RogerMcCarter January 05, 2024

I lost 65 lbs. in 3 months, not with this, or any diet product, just sensible eating, no snacking, exercise daily, and running 3 miles p/d on the treadmill. My point to you is that for the 1st month, I didn't notice any changes in my size, or weight, but then it just started falling off. I went from a size 40 to 36 waste in 3 months and looked better than I did as a teenager. Just stick to your routine and believe in yourself. God Bless!

GOLO Doesn't Work
June 7, 2023

I’ve been using/following GOLO for 2 1/2 months. NOTHING..no weight loss, no inches lost…just feel bloated ALL the time. Don’t waste your money. If I could give less than 1 star, I would.

Doesn't work
April 28, 2023
This product does not work.I tried the golo pills and ate a healthy diet.I did not lose any weight.I have an email receipt that I bought the golo product.

Pathetic customer service
April 19, 2023
Possibly the worst customer service from any company I've dealt with and I'm a business owner. They use the dreaded "apparently lost in the mail" one that we all love so much. Stay away.

Immediate refund!
April 15, 2023
Huge kudos to GOLO Customer Service! I started taking the tablets after ordering two bottles.. unfortunately after two weeks I felt I should stop, as was having some reflux/distress… and very likely not due to this product. But because on multiple meds, I emailed the company asking if I could sent back and get a partial refund. I received a return email showing a FULL credit back to my CC, with a note appreciating my order, sorry I had a problem, and no need to return pills. I think they are Amazing!