My Vanilla Debit Card Reviews

My Vanilla Debit Card
Based on 23 Reviews
Review It

About My Vanilla Debit Card

My Vanilla Debit Card is a prepaid Visa card which is described as a positive alternative to traditional debit cards due to its ability to help you budget your spending and protect you from fraud and identity theft.

A traditional debit card is issued by your bank and linked directly to your checking account. A prepaid card only gives you access to the funds you directly place in your card’s account – there is no link to bank accounts and personal information.

This helps prevent identity theft and fraud, as people who find or steal your card cannot use it as a way to get unlimited access to your money or identifiable information.

In addition, controlling the amount of money you place on a prepaid card forces you to adhere to a planned budget, as the card will not allow you to make any purchases that go beyond the money that has been preloaded onto the card.

Also, Vanilla Debit Card is not limited because it is a prepaid card; the website says that it can be used wherever Visa is accepted, which they say is millions of retail stores worldwide, as well as online retailers and available for use in over one million ATMs.

Ordering the card requires no credit checks or upfront fees. All you need to do is fill out a simple form providing your name, street address, date of birth, and other information for identification purposes.

Your card will arrive in 7 to 10 days and can be activated and set up with your personal PIN online or over the phone. There are no fees required to purchase the card, but each time you load money onto it using their Vanilla Reload Network you will be charged a flat fee of $3.95.

There are limitations of how much money can be loaded onto the card during specific time periods, and a maximum of $400 per day can be withdrawn from the ATM.

If you have any experience with this product and service, please leave your My Vanilla Debit Card reviews below.

23 ‘My Vanilla Debit Card’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

THIS CARD IS A SCAM!!!! Purchased from Dollar General in Milledgeville Georgia.

Reviewed By Tammy Hurt on April 29, 2016

SCAM, SCAM ,SCAM!!
PURCHASED CARD ON MARCH 30, 2016. Card cost $4.95 PLUS TAX. LOADED $60 .00 at 9 p.m. VERY NEXT DAY WENT TO USE FOR GAS AT 7:00 a.m., THE CARD WAS USED THE NIGHT BEFORE AT 10 p.m. THE MONEY HAD NOT BEEN ON THE CARD A FULL TWO HOURS.....NO HELP FROM THE COMPANY. BEWARE CUSTOMERS!!!

TAMMY HURT

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

onevanilla misleading packaging verbage

Reviewed By Bill on April 19, 2016

onevanilla says no registration needed as if they are doing the consumer a favor, but in reality not registering the card makes it almost useless for online purchases unless you can contact the merchant on the phone, then its really not an online purchase anymore, its a phone sale.
the packaging says usable for online purchases, when i contacted onevanilla, they said sorry we cant help you other than a refund which takes 3-4 weeks after they receive from me a picture of both the front and back of the card.
the verbiage is very misleading.
seems to me that it is a scam to keep the money longer for their own purposes, i guess the $4. and change ins't enough for them.
I purchased a Walmart prepaid card that needed registration and it worked just fine for online purchases.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Would give this -1000000 stars if I could

Reviewed By Frustrated on March 24, 2016

Cannot access online account and am unable activate card. This “business” needs to be shut down. They’ll be hearing from my attorneys very shortly!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Another Victim

Reviewed By Heidi on February 28, 2016

This is the most ridiculous process in the world. My step son has his first job and got this card to make online purchases. However, they would not activate this card until he sent in his ID, social security number, bill to prove his address, receipt for the purchase of the card. They rejected the documents when his photo cut off the very edge of the social security card. Now they are telling him 3-5 days before they will activate. I am reporting this to whoever I can. Walmart should be ashamed of themselves for selling these.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Scam scam scam

Reviewed By Michelle on February 25, 2016

A friend purchased this card to the value of $250 and sent it to me in the mail, as a gift. Unopened envelope, card was sealed in its legit visa "wrapping". Clearly evident it had never been opened. Went to use it for the very first time and was told the balance was .54 cents! Called the number, spoke to "Customer Service" (in the Philippines). Company is based in Salt Lake City UT (according to person I spoke with). I received list of 4 transactions that I have to dispute by writing a letter and sending a fax, along with proof of my identity, copy of card to "Verify my account". I said "I don't have an account because this is a pre-paid card!" She took my address info "to send out a card after we investigate your dispute". What a joke. Bet I'll never see it. And feel for my friend who purchased the card. How can this company sell cards to major stores who then sell it, promote it, display with a bunch of other gift cards? What recourse is there? Why do retailers support it? Please, can the media look into this circus?

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Tami
March 05, 2016

Same thing happend to me today and they told me the same thing and to top it off they said they cannot stop a pending transaction that's a load of crap if you ask me

April 29, 2016

My name is Tammy....like yours above.
WOW!!!!!everyone is having problems with this company. Report them to better business bureau!!!!!!!! SCAM.

Your Comment
1 Review

Don't Buy It

Reviewed By John Tisdale on February 5, 2016

My son wanted a card to hold his snow shoveling earnings. I was proud of him for wanting that. We bought it Monday at a 7-11 and he put $200 on it. It would not activate by their website, nor by phone automation. Tuesday morning talked to a real agent who somehow thought she resolved it. Then they wanted my birth cert, my driver's license, my Social Security Card, and a utility bill all scanned and EMAIL'd in color, which I did at 9:00 am Tuesday morning.

It's now Friday 4:00 pm and the card is still on hold, can't be used. I have called every day and spent an hour every day with them, and they can't seem to get it from certification to active.

They won't refund either. This is a terrible start and while all the contact center agents I have talked with are very nice and sympathetic, they have no power to solve this.

I have given my son my own money and will continue to fight MyVanilla until I get my $200 back.

Very bad start up service, and I'm still afraid it will end up on court to get back $200.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Total scam

Reviewed By Kim on January 23, 2016

I brought this card 01/22/16. Tried to register online. Remind you I moved from apt to another apt at the same address. So I put the new apt # so therefore I could register the card. I was told wait 24hrs and try again, I try card was still saying invalid. Like everyone else I was told to send all these documents in I told them I was not sending anything or waiting 2-3 wks for refund. So they changed it to a gift card. The catch to this she gone say some places do not accept gift cards w/o names. I put a $140 on this card I'm going to see how much I am going to be able to use. They had the nerves to ask me what was I going to pay with the card. I told her it was none of her business. I went off on supervisor and everyone I spoke to cause they all are lairs. DO NOT PURCHASE THIS CARD. I FEEL LIKE WALMART IS A SCAM TOO FOR SELLING THIS CARD. THEY KNOW WHAT IS GOING ON TO. LETS JOIN TOGETHER AND TAKE THIS VANILLA COMPANY DOWN.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Never, Ever Purchase a Vanilla Prepaid!!! It's complete FRAUD!!!

Reviewed By lilylu on January 22, 2016

Received the Vanilla Prepaid Mastercard for $50 card as a gift 2015. One way Vanilla Steals your money is that your purchase must be for the exact amount you have on the card, or the card will not go through. So, for a $50 card, your balance a the store is $55, the card will just be declined instead of the $50 going through, and you paying the cashier the $5 balance after your credit has been applied. The cashier tells you the card has no funds because the card was declined by Vanilla. It is not until I spent 25 minutes with Vanilla's "customer" service that I was told your balance at the cashier must be for the EXACT amount left in the card. I am “glad” I called customer service because I was about to throw the card away thinking I may have used the funds already. It doesn’t end there, I was able to successfully use $39 dollars after having to manually punch in the numbers at Target a week later. $50-$39=$11 balance. The second way Vanilla Steals your money: A week later, I go to Trader Joes and separate my purchases so I have less than $11 total and the card will go through. No, did not go through and again wasted 25 minutes on the phone where they told me they had put a hold on the $11 balance and they would not able to clear the charges and release the $11 for 8 days. Why a hold on the $11? Vanilla said the cashier at Trader Joes cancelled the transaction and Vanilla’s policy is to put a hold on the funds for 8 days. The cashier at Trader Joes did NOT cancel the transaction! He was so helpful that in fact, he tried twice, once at $11 and once at $10 in case Vanilla charged a transaction fee. Matter of fact, he told me he had the same issue with one of those cards and had no patience to keep calling to figure out why he couldn’t use his balance so he threw away the card. See the pattern here, they try to do everything possible so they can keep your money...I would call that stealing. At this point, who knows if I will be able to use the $11 in a week or add 25 more minutes to the hour I have already spent on the phone with them. Never Ever buy a Vanilla Prepaid, Ever!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Fraud Card!!!!!

Reviewed By Stephi on January 16, 2016

Verrrry frustrated!!!!! Same story as all others. I purchased the card last year, registered and used it three times. I tried to access my account to check my balance and it says my card is invailid!!! There is no way to speak with a live person, so I guess Iost my money that was still on my card. Lesson learned. Fraud Card!!!!!!!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Kim
January 23, 2016

All I want to say is Do not buy this My vanilla debit totally a fraud. I do not understand how Wal Mart could sell trash like this. What that being said you cannot trust Wal Mart either.

Your Comment
1 Review

Unlike other people, this worked for me?

Reviewed By Emily on January 1, 2016

When I got this card as a gift for Christmas this year, and when i googled it, this website came up. Like y'all said, the website that it came with didn't work. However, when I google "visa vanilla" this link came up: https://www.vanillavisa.com/product.html and it totally worked? To test it out, I went and bought something online and it went through. Maybe y'all are just using the wrong link? I'll admit, maybe mine just worked because I used it online but I think y'all should try that link. It might help.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

ABSOLUTLY FRAUD (ruined Christmas, thank you Vanilla!!)

Reviewed By Renee on December 10, 2015

In Pikeville, Ky I purchased the vanilla card at a local dollar general store and placed $250 on it. Then went home to register and activate the card and the same thing. The website didn't take the info and so I called customer service. Then the story is the same thing as everyone else from there. This is a huge SCAM and something needs to be done about it. Think of the money these people are making... taking everyone's money for their own use. I thought this card would be a good idea for the month of December to make online purchases safely for Christmas but I guess now that won't be possible. By the time I get the money refunded to me or if I ever do Christmas will be here and gone so thanks to Vanilla Christmas at my house this year will be a lot less than what we had hoped. I don't know about every one else but in this economy $250 extra dollars is hard to come up with when you already budgeted it in once on a fixed income. If anyone has any answers or can help me figure out what to do please comment back!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
December 10, 2015

Also I tried to use this card as a gift card like they said and tried it on E-bay, and Amazon and it wouldn't work!! Also now I can't even get a balance on my card it just keeps telling me that my card number is invalid then when I call customer service I can't get a real person to talk to.... What should I do???

Your Comment
2 Reviews

A total farce

Reviewed By Ray Montgomery on December 7, 2015

If I could, I would give them a negative 1000.I bought this at dollar general and when I tried to register online, it kept telling me that the card number was invalid.I tried calling their customer service number and cannot get in contact with ANYONE. Their automation never lets you talk to a live representative, at least that's what happened to me. If they can't beat this, I hope they go busted IMMEDIATELY if not sooner.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
2 Reviews

A total farce

Reviewed By Ray Montgomery on December 7, 2015

If I could, I would give them a negative 1000.I bought this at dollar general and when I tried to register online, it kept telling me that the card number was invalid.I tried calling their customer service number and cannot get in contact with ANYONE. Their automation never lets you talk to a live representative, at least that's what happened to me. If they can't beat this, I hope they go busted IMMEDIATELY if not sooner.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Ray Montgomery
December 08, 2015

I have to say I was wrong about this. I wanted to remove this, but I am unable to. It was a lack of understanding on how this works. So you can ignore my two reviews. I would give them at least a 4 now that I understand that lack of understanding was the problem. I hope this helps.

itan
January 12, 2016

may you pleas help me ?

January 12, 2016

seems you are the only one who was able to do it.

Your Comment
1 Review

Garbage

Reviewed By Gwendolyn Bogart on April 18, 2015

Garbage. Don't waste your money purchasing this card!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
August 25, 2015

I purchased one at Family Dollar; and it is so far ripping me off of the purchase over $10.+ I reported it to BBB and the Tallahassee, FL Police Department. KM JSC

Your Comment
1 Review

May seize your funds

Reviewed By Sherry on March 2, 2015

They may suddenly deem your purchases, especially online purchases for reasons such as, "Used for reasons not what the card was intended for", Turn your card Inactive which you then lose all access to it; balances, past histories and will whatever money you have left on it. Yes, they will (and have) seize all remaining funds, make you forward them numerous copies of past receipts & IDs, even then you still may not receive what money’s left on your balance. They may also claim the receipts are not legible and therefor you forfeit all moneys to them. In my case, it was my direct deposited paycheck.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
October 19, 2015

Did the same to me bought my card at Walmart

Your Comment
1 Review

Terrible company

Reviewed By Tina  on January 23, 2015

I tried to register it online, it didn't work. I called the customer rep and they said I had to send in picture of ID, SS #, and some other forms of identification in order to make the card reloadable. So I said no, and they said I could use it as a gift card. Tried to use the gift card online, and it wouldn't go through. However, when calling the vanilla card company for the balance- I was charged twice for the transaction I attempted. To get my money back and cancel the mistaken transactions, Vanilla said I had to get the merchant to send in a formal letter listing: 1) company letterhead 2) last 4#s of card 3) my last name 4) date of trans 5) 6 digit auth code 6) merchant ID # 7) statement of release of funds. I called the merchant and they said they have never had to do that! This card is a scam and headache. I tried to get a refund for the card, they said they have to charge $9.95 and wait 2-3weeks for the funds!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
December 07, 2015

This is happening to me right now! I verified everything they wanted to know but it won't register and they are saying I have to send all this ID stuff to them.. NOW what I sent isn't good enough?

Your Comment
1 Review

Concerned in Louisiana

Reviewed By Rosetta Sommersville Griffin on January 13, 2015, Clayton, Louisiana

Do not buy this card. I have been trying for over a month to get this thing activated with no luck. I've missed paying something I had gotten the card for and now have more fees to pay. I just want my money back. The card was bought at my local Dollar General store. I hope there is a lawsuit in the very near future. This is a shame.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
February 11, 2015

They got me for $100 cash at the Dollar General #03321
15363 OLD HAMMOND BR LA 70816

I WILL NEVER BUY ANYTHING FROM THE DOLLAR GENERAL CORPORATION
AGAIN! And yes it is on the retailer. They sut up the pos , took your cash , transmitted to BANCORP and there is no way a national chain corporation can either be that inept or just plain indefferent to what happens with the item purchased in THEIR STORE after it leaves THEIR STORE... This apparently isnt new and it almost seems as if they were in collusion...

Your Comment
1 Review

FRAUD SCAM THIEFS

Reviewed By Jodi Duke on December 12, 2014

This is the WORST company i have ever dealt with!! I question every thing about them....... my S.S. # WAS TAMPERED with by one of their employes!! I have had problems with every attempt at uding this card and with every interaction with the employees! LOL I am currently on hold awaiting for a lady named Claud? which is the superviser to James who is a superviser to the customer service reps you speak with when you call my vanilla debit!! Oh wow Claud is unable to speak with me so i will be put on the line with Christine now who is a superviser....... Hmmmmm the call was lost? Or did she terminate it? Whatever....... I recorded my call s to this company today just as they did!! I would advise peopke to not give this company any personal info or any money!! I will be posting on their FB and G+ pages immediately and they just gave twitter a new account too cause i will be signing up there just to post to and about these CROOKS!! I am disabled and the "customer care team" they refer too has given me nothing that resembles care unless of course i was considering euthanasia then the care i received would be considered a good job!! I gave 1 star because there was no option for a negative amount of stars!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
December 07, 2015

I am trying to register a card with them that I bought from Dollar General. First off, the card number of the "temporary card" they issued me is only 10 digits. They require 16 to register. Good luck trying to talk to a live representative. If this is the best they can do I hope they go busted yesterday!!!

Your Comment
1 Review

MyVanilla....a real P I T A !

Reviewed By Kathryn Burke on November 12, 2014

put 200 on a card last nite. like everyone else it wouldn't accept my info online. so i called. and yes, the girl said i needed to get her a picture ID, my SS#, cell phone (which i don't own) and several other things before she could activate my card. well, i blew a gasket...and, lo and behold.....after getting my card number, my zip code and having me put in a pin #, VA-la......my card was activated. amazing, yes?

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Clearly not a legit business.

Reviewed By Rachael Levy on October 26, 2014

Everyone should let management at grocery stores, pharmacies and other vendors know what your experiences with Vanilla are. This is clearly not a legitimate business. I won this as a raffle prize, so thank god it wasn't my actual money. The website won't register the card even after multiple attempts and the phone number is just a recording telling you to go to the website. Stinks of scammers!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment

Leave a Review