MUAMA Ryoko Portable WIFI Reviews

MUAMA Ryoko Portable WIFI
( 14 reviews )
Website: RyokoRouter.com

Muama Ryoko Review: Legit or Scam?

Reviewopedia staff  -  Updated:  December 14, 2023
Editorial Note:  Reviewopedia is supported by our readers. This page contains Amazon affiliate links. Commissions do not affect our evaluations or recommendations.

 

The Muama Ryoko is a wireless 4g router claimed to provide a solution for portable internet connectivity. 

The Ryoko allows you to connect all of your devices using a secured network connection.

Below we’ll go over how the Ryoko Portable WIFI works, the company behind the product, and what customer reviews say.

How Does Muama Ryoko Work?

The company states the Ryoko Portable WIFI has an operating battery life of 8hrs and fast speeds of up to 150mb/s.  

Your first order contains a prepaid global data sim card with 500mb of data download available.

The Ryoko is meant to be easy to use and set up.  To start you will have to insert the SIM card into the ​​Ryoko then turn it on.  

You then have two options for connecting your devices to the Ryoko. 

Either pairing with a WPS and scanning the QR code or connecting to the now visible network and using the pre-provided key.

Moving forward you can load your SIM with more data through their network partner Viaota.  You will have to go https://my.viaota.com/register to register your SIM card and create an account.

Once that is done you should be able to select which monthly data plan you wish to move forward with.

Alternatively, you can use the Ryoko with your preferred network provider if you already have a registered SIM card.

Viaota claims to provide stable 4G/LTE internet connectivity on the global level, but you may want to see what options are available through your current network or research local options which may offer better value.

RyokoRouter.com also states that they have partnerships with 350 networks across 125+ countries.  

The benefit of this is that you can use one service for all your needs instead of having a variety of contracts.

Customer Reviews & Complaints

The Muama Ryoko Portable WIFI has mixed customer reviews.  

While there are plenty of reviews from users stating that the product works as advertised, we are also found many customer complaints.

Some users found that after receiving the product, it did not work in their area. 

They then faced the daunting task of returning the unit to a foreign country, which resulted in high return shipping costs of almost as much as the device itself.

Other customers complained about connectivity issues and dealing with poor customer support from both Viaota and MUAMA.

It does appear the customer service reps for Ryoko are active on online review and complaint websites, and attempt to resolve issues that have led to negative customer reviews.

There is also a listing on Amazon for the Muama Ryoko, which currently has a 3/5 star rating, where customers also complained about the device having a poor battery life and often not working properly.

Customer Service

 

Phone Number : 1 (205) 782-8802

Email Address:  [email protected]

Online Contact Form:  Available

RyokoRouter.com also have a FAQ page that has answers to common issues or concerns.

 

Cost & Price Plans

The price for one Ryoko Portable WIFI is $89.  The website offers discounts if you buy more than one unit.

Viaota! provides monthly data plans for the Muama Ryoko, which range in cost depending on how much data you order.

  • 3gb monthly plan - $14.99
  • 5gb monthly plan - $22.99
  • 10gb monthly plan - $39.00

 

Refund Policy

The company states they have a 30-day refund policy.  However, you have to follow the instructions carefully and be aware of the restrictions.

In order to send your order back you have to obtain an RMA number and the return address.  

You then have to ship the package back in the original package at your own expense.

Finally, be aware that the company will charge a 15% restocking fee on returns and that their return address will be to the country of Lithuania where they are headquartered, which will require international shipping.

Competitors and Alternatives

Your best options will ultimately depend on where you plan to be using a portable Wi-Fi router.  You may want to consider some of the highly rated options below.

 

Simo Solis Lite

The Solis provides 4g/LTE speeds and works with the Solis network to provide coverage in 130 countries. 

It is an "Amazon's Choice" product and has a higher user rating than Ryoko on Amazon at 4.3/5 stars from over 1,000 customer reviews.

Check Simo Solis price on Amazon

 

If you do not need an actual router there are more options available for just buying SIM cards that work abroad, such as those provided by Google FI.  

You will then have to use your devices to create a local hotspot network.

Is The MUAMA Ryoko Worth It?

With more and more people able to work remotely the need for a portable stable internet connection has never been greater.

However, we are hesitant to recommend this product for several reasons.  

First off, there are enough negative reviews for the Ryoko to make us doubt its effectiveness and reliability for use abroad.

The other reason is that MUAMA is a foreign based company that intentionally makes returns difficult and costly.  

The company also sells other technology products such as the MUAMA Enence Translator, which also does not have the best customer reviews.  

There are a lot of options for getting connectivity while you're traveling and you should research what’s available in your intended destination.

If you have any experience with the MUAMA Ryoko Portable WIFI, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

MUAMA Ryoko Portable WIFI Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Try other companies
February 27, 2024

The pice for the basic plan with ryoko has gone up to nearly £20. That’s for a 3G plan. RIP OFF!

BEWARE!
February 20, 2024

I can't say how disappointed I am in this company. I have used this type of device successfully in Australia and I was hoping to get, as advertised a worldwide WIFI but no I can't even get the thing to work and the support is so confusing. Like others, I too ordered one but got 4 with the same issue I had to return three costing me $90+ these people are SCAM. BEWARE .

BEWARE
January 23, 2024

Unit worked great for a 1-1/2 weeks then would not charge. Company would not send new battery but did agree to stop charges - but did not, numerous emails with them agreeing to cancel still resulted in them charging my credit card. Have reported them for FRAUD.

No internet on Ryoko.
January 10, 2024
Please send me information on why ryoko does not get internet. Would appreciate. Will keep the ryoko if I can get it internet connected.

Liars!
December 14, 2023

I have had this piece of crap like two years now. Try it here, try it there. Pretty sure they stated this could be used in the middle of the wilderness, halfway to nowhere! Uh, yea, NO! Because, if the flippin contraption has no internet connection ~ ya know… it doesn’t work. It doesn’t work in any capacity on this planet! TAP69~

Do Not Order From This Company - scammed
December 13, 2023

I ordered 1 unit. Their system came back with 4 units ordered. The service rep could not change the order (which was requested within 10 minutes of the order being placed). Returns must be sent to Lithuania, although the distribution center is in the US. The Lithuanian return address, according to the post office does not exist. Never did receive the sim cards.

Was I scammed?
October 23, 2023
I made an order on the 5th of October and as of today 23rd of October nothing has arrived at my address, which they did not record properly. I regard this as a scam unless proven otherwise, as they deducted the amount from my account.

Please read and research reviews from those who have legit purchased this before buying.
October 18, 2023

Just ordered and kind of regretting it already as they claim, "NO Hidden Fees" then you get directed to the page of viaota.com where you find out the cost of the plan......It does not tell you upfront! Found this MISLEADING! Let's hope the product is good and will actually arrive and work.

Not worth your time or money
September 13, 2023

This product is very bad and has spotty connection and now won’t charge, don’t buy it it's a piece of junk.

Don’t WASTE your money!
August 16, 2023

Purchased two devices for our travel to the Philippines. The problem is that the Philippines have two different service providers and this device only works with Globe. My cellphone had better service than these devices.

I had somehow run out of data considering I had poor coverage. I added more data (regretfully) and the app never updated the data added. I chatted with customer service at least 4 times with them constantly reassuring me it would appear on my app but never did. So I could never tell how much data was being used or remaining. It was VERY spotty service so I ended up having to buy another local device to use with the other service provider SMART. I should’ve just done that then pay for two devices with the warranty. I ordered it two weeks before my trip and was gone for 3 weeks so when I tried to return the devices I was outside of the return window.

So I paid for two devices, paid for extra data on one, purchased two local devices to use with the other service provider SMART plus got charged by my regular service provider in the US for extra charges on my cellphone. All in all it was NOT worth it. It sounded like a great idea but definitely a BAD decision. The reason I bought two was because there were times we were not all together and needed Wi-Fi to keep in contact.

So for those of you traveling, it’s best to find out who they partner with because other countries may also have multiple providers some of which are not as good as others. Also, I did try to have them switch it from Globe to SMART and it was told it’s not possible. You’re better getting a local device and they provide SIM cards at the airport. It will DEFINITELY cost less than the amount of money I spent between all the devices and data services! If you’re really set on giving it a try I’m looking to offload two devices that cost too much for what it’s worth! Otherwise they’ll be collecting dust since the company wasn’t empathetic at all to my frustration and disappointment in the device! I can’t recommend enough to think twice or do more research about the service partners!

AlQuijano August 31, 2023

Thanks for the review. I purchased MUAMA Ryoko Portable WIFI gadget but it's not activated yet since I will not be travelling till January 2024 to the Php. From your comment & review, I think I will not be using this little gadget after all with the issues it has. I will chose a different portable wifi instead.

SCAM--do not waste time on this product.
June 16, 2023

This product is a scam. It does not work as advertised. Returns are not accepted. There is an auto-renewal that is applied without consent.

You are unable to cancel or remove the credit card from your account. They will continue to charge you without your consent and you will have to dispute the charges and they will not give a refund on any data plans.

Does not work
April 10, 2023

When travelling to Pakistan and Vietnam was unable to connect, yet when I called customer service they said I used all my time on my plan and no refund.

Stay away from this product, plans are expensive and they charge you even if the device never connects. I would give it a zero star if I could, waste of money.

Scammers
December 28, 2022

I purchased a wifi Muama at the end of Oct 2022 had trouble with simcard. Called the company up to send me another Sim card. Took pictures and sent to them which they requested. Now being Dec. 28th and not a damn thing has not happened. So this product is a pile of bullshit. Also using the product was free. That is bull now they are saying you have to pay for a plan so much a month. Now I am out 148.67. I guess the scammers got me.

SCAM ?
December 7, 2022
I just tried to purchase ONE Muama Ryoko wifi device, for $89.00 with my Royal Bank of Scotland credit card. RBS declined to pay as Ryoko had tried to bill me £218 and RBS suspected fraud, Thank You RBS I leave you to make up your own mind