MUAMA Ryoko Portable WIFI Reviews

MUAMA Ryoko Portable WIFI
( 23 reviews )
Website: RyokoRouter.com

Muama Ryoko Review: Legit or Scam?

Reviewopedia staff  -  Updated:  December 14, 2023
Editorial Note:  Reviewopedia is supported by our readers. This page contains Amazon affiliate links. Commissions do not affect our evaluations or recommendations.

 

The Muama Ryoko is a wireless 4g router claimed to provide a solution for portable internet connectivity. 

The Ryoko allows you to connect all of your devices using a secured network connection.

Below we’ll go over how the Ryoko Portable WIFI works, the company behind the product, and what customer reviews say.

How Does Muama Ryoko Work?

The company states the Ryoko Portable WIFI has an operating battery life of 8hrs and fast speeds of up to 150mb/s.  

Your first order contains a prepaid global data sim card with 500mb of data download available.

The Ryoko is meant to be easy to use and set up.  To start you will have to insert the SIM card into the ​​Ryoko then turn it on.  

You then have two options for connecting your devices to the Ryoko. 

Either pairing with a WPS and scanning the QR code or connecting to the now visible network and using the pre-provided key.

Moving forward you can load your SIM with more data through their network partner Viaota.  You will have to go https://my.viaota.com/register to register your SIM card and create an account.

Once that is done you should be able to select which monthly data plan you wish to move forward with.

Alternatively, you can use the Ryoko with your preferred network provider if you already have a registered SIM card.

Viaota claims to provide stable 4G/LTE internet connectivity on the global level, but you may want to see what options are available through your current network or research local options which may offer better value.

RyokoRouter.com also states that they have partnerships with 350 networks across 125+ countries.  

The benefit of this is that you can use one service for all your needs instead of having a variety of contracts.

Customer Reviews & Complaints

The Muama Ryoko Portable WIFI has mixed customer reviews.  

While there are plenty of reviews from users stating that the product works as advertised, we are also found many customer complaints.

Some users found that after receiving the product, it did not work in their area. 

They then faced the daunting task of returning the unit to a foreign country, which resulted in high return shipping costs of almost as much as the device itself.

Other customers complained about connectivity issues and dealing with poor customer support from both Viaota and MUAMA.

It does appear the customer service reps for Ryoko are active on online review and complaint websites, and attempt to resolve issues that have led to negative customer reviews.

There is also a listing on Amazon for the Muama Ryoko, which currently has a 3/5 star rating, where customers also complained about the device having a poor battery life and often not working properly.

Customer Service

 

Phone Number : 1 (205) 782-8802

Email Address:  [email protected]

Online Contact Form:  Available

RyokoRouter.com also have a FAQ page that has answers to common issues or concerns.

 

Cost & Price Plans

The price for one Ryoko Portable WIFI is $89.  The website offers discounts if you buy more than one unit.

Viaota! provides monthly data plans for the Muama Ryoko, which range in cost depending on how much data you order.

  • 3gb monthly plan - $14.99
  • 5gb monthly plan - $22.99
  • 10gb monthly plan - $39.00

 

Refund Policy

The company states they have a 30-day refund policy.  However, you have to follow the instructions carefully and be aware of the restrictions.

In order to send your order back you have to obtain an RMA number and the return address.  

You then have to ship the package back in the original package at your own expense.

Finally, be aware that the company will charge a 15% restocking fee on returns and that their return address will be to the country of Lithuania where they are headquartered, which will require international shipping.

Competitors and Alternatives

Your best options will ultimately depend on where you plan to be using a portable Wi-Fi router.  You may want to consider some of the highly rated options below.

 

Simo Solis Lite

The Solis provides 4g/LTE speeds and works with the Solis network to provide coverage in 130 countries. 

It is an "Amazon's Choice" product and has a higher user rating than Ryoko on Amazon at 4.3/5 stars from over 1,000 customer reviews.

Check Simo Solis price on Amazon

 

If you do not need an actual router there are more options available for just buying SIM cards that work abroad, such as those provided by Google FI.  

You will then have to use your devices to create a local hotspot network.

Is The MUAMA Ryoko Worth It?

With more and more people able to work remotely the need for a portable stable internet connection has never been greater.

However, we are hesitant to recommend this product for several reasons.  

First off, there are enough negative reviews for the Ryoko to make us doubt its effectiveness and reliability for use abroad.

The other reason is that MUAMA is a foreign based company that intentionally makes returns difficult and costly.  

The company also sells other technology products such as the MUAMA Enence Translator, which also does not have the best customer reviews.  

There are a lot of options for getting connectivity while you're traveling and you should research what’s available in your intended destination.

If you have any experience with the MUAMA Ryoko Portable WIFI, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

MUAMA Ryoko Portable WIFI Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Ryoko big scam for money. Don't order
May 25, 2024
My experience I had with ryoko the said my order would be completely done as soon as possible. that was 5 to 10 years ago didn't hear from this peoples at all. I'm still waiting for my order. I ask where my order by texting them till this date never heard from them yet. I classified this is a scam do not buy they might not complete your order either. Like they did to me I'm still waiting for my order of two muama, two 12 foot changeing cords, and two travel cases. That I didn't received yet.

The most important thing to know is the people selling this device did not know you can change the text software to make it work for you and NO forced plans.
May 24, 2024

Hi, I'm a person who was one of those unhappy people who bought one of these. Reason when i went to reload data i was sent to another web site that you had to sign up to a contract. Well you do not have to do this. There is a web site out there that sells sim cards that you can buy the data on line through your visa for what ever mb you want. Now the good part of this there is no monthly plans. If you do not use the data for almost a year all you have to do is put $3.00 dollars towards your sim card to keep the account open. Now the thing you have to do is connect the ROYOKO to your computer and go inside and change the software text to the company that sells the sim card instructions. I have done this and i had to figure on how to do this myself. The router works great every time i use it. Oh the other thing is to go into your cellphone settings Android Or IOS apple and do the same change and you can use the sim card on them. I have 4 of them all work good, i just renew the data when needed. There is no information out there on how to do this to this kind of remote rotor. I looked at about 200 sim card card companies who sell the card but want you to sign a contract data plan with them. This sim card company does not. I do not want to say the name of it on here.

Doesn't work
May 23, 2024
I got one too. Tried to use it several times even went to phone shop----- they couldn't make it work either. Sure hope you save your money

EdwardGray May 24, 2024

was in the ryoko inside by connected it to my computer. Use the sim cards sellers info to do it.

Charged 5x!
May 14, 2024
I purchased 1 RYOKO Portable WiFi Mobile Hotspot for $89 but was charged unlawfully 5x in my account! I wish I had read these negative reviews sooner!

EdwardGray May 24, 2024

change the software text in by connecting it to your computer. Change it to the sim card that is being sold to you their info on how to do it. I did it on my own, figured it out how to make it work. Got 4 of them no problems after doing this.

THIEVES !!!!
May 11, 2024
DO NOT TRUST OR PURCHASE ANYTHING FROM THESE PEOPLE, THEY WILL ACCESS YOUR BANK ACOOUNT AND CHARGE YOU FOR USAGE EVEN BEFORE YOU OPEN THE BOX

EdwardGray May 24, 2024

change the software text in by connecting it to your computer. Change it to the sim card that is being sold to you their info on how to do it. I did it on my own, figured it out how to make it work. Got 4 of them no problems after doing this.

unreliable
May 3, 2024
purchased the muama ryoko unit in december anticipating travel in january. it worked fine for a few months, then died. would not hold a charge. when i tried to replace the battery, Batteries & Bulbs told me it was proprietary and i'd need to contact the company. when i did so, i was told ryoko doesn't provide battery replacement options and i was encouraged to purchase a new unit. NO THANK YOU!

JohnShute May 11, 2024

It is far better to buy a portable WIFI router from China or Ebay - Make sure it is UNLOCKED. Then get a DATA ONLY sim from the likes of Smarty - 1 month unlimited is only £20.

Malicious website for purchasing.
May 3, 2024
I have just purchased device yesterday and this is not about the device but a warning about their website. I used paypal to pay for the purchase and it has my private email address only. for a reason beyond my comprehension I start receiving email from "Ryoko | Payments " to my work email which I have not provided as well as to my second private email as well. this might be valid for the reason that I filled out some fields on paying with credit card option but never went through with it (obviously they saved information in every case) now they request to go through the purchase even though I did with paypal already. very annoying and not data safe site (read untrustful).

BUYER BEWARE!
May 2, 2024

BEWARE! I purchased 3 of these units. I was not aware that after spending $177 that i would also have a monthly charge for a data subscription. When requesting a return, I was sent an out of the USA address to return it to: Returns - Logismart

Galinės g. 1, 13-14 rampa, Galinė

LT-14247 Vilniaus r.

Lithuania

The postage to return this item is excessive. Since it was mailed to me from California, don't see why it's not returnable to that address. Also, on their website, they do not inform of this issue, just say it's returnable, so there is NOT full disclosure. Had I know, would NEVER have purchased. DON'T BUY THIS PRODUCT!!

Purchase was not worth it, lost my money
April 9, 2024
I received my unit a week ago, I have not used it much, only about a few hours, find out that it only shows 4G but it is only LTE. My devices cannot maintain a wifi connection, service always says "Limited Service". Now I am finding out that it would be expensive to return. I pre-paid a six-month plan, seems I lost my money.

PeterGengler April 23, 2024

I ordered 1 unit, and received 5, I paid $429.00 AU . After contacting the company and advised them to Refund my money, I received an e-mail that they're busy and will get in touch with me soon. In the meantime I received the 5 Muama Ryoko portables. And most likely will never see my money, I will warn all future potential buyers of this product and the company. For them its just all about selling, not the Customer service. Peter G

Try other companies
February 27, 2024

The pice for the basic plan with ryoko has gone up to nearly £20. That’s for a 3G plan. RIP OFF!

SallyForth March 28, 2024

I would go through 10 GB and two days. And it cost $39? Absolutely ridiculous and a total rip off. Don't buy it. Use your cell phone hotspot for $10 a month.

BEWARE!
February 20, 2024

I can't say how disappointed I am in this company. I have used this type of device successfully in Australia and I was hoping to get, as advertised a worldwide WIFI but no I can't even get the thing to work and the support is so confusing. Like others, I too ordered one but got 4 with the same issue I had to return three costing me $90+ these people are SCAM. BEWARE .

BEWARE
January 23, 2024

Unit worked great for a 1-1/2 weeks then would not charge. Company would not send new battery but did agree to stop charges - but did not, numerous emails with them agreeing to cancel still resulted in them charging my credit card. Have reported them for FRAUD.

No internet on Ryoko.
January 10, 2024
Please send me information on why ryoko does not get internet. Would appreciate. Will keep the ryoko if I can get it internet connected.

Liars!
December 14, 2023

I have had this piece of crap like two years now. Try it here, try it there. Pretty sure they stated this could be used in the middle of the wilderness, halfway to nowhere! Uh, yea, NO! Because, if the flippin contraption has no internet connection ~ ya know… it doesn’t work. It doesn’t work in any capacity on this planet! TAP69~

Do Not Order From This Company - scammed
December 13, 2023

I ordered 1 unit. Their system came back with 4 units ordered. The service rep could not change the order (which was requested within 10 minutes of the order being placed). Returns must be sent to Lithuania, although the distribution center is in the US. The Lithuanian return address, according to the post office does not exist. Never did receive the sim cards.

Was I scammed?
October 23, 2023
I made an order on the 5th of October and as of today 23rd of October nothing has arrived at my address, which they did not record properly. I regard this as a scam unless proven otherwise, as they deducted the amount from my account.

Please read and research reviews from those who have legit purchased this before buying.
October 18, 2023

Just ordered and kind of regretting it already as they claim, "NO Hidden Fees" then you get directed to the page of viaota.com where you find out the cost of the plan......It does not tell you upfront! Found this MISLEADING! Let's hope the product is good and will actually arrive and work.

Not worth your time or money
September 13, 2023

This product is very bad and has spotty connection and now won’t charge, don’t buy it it's a piece of junk.

Don’t WASTE your money!
August 16, 2023

Purchased two devices for our travel to the Philippines. The problem is that the Philippines have two different service providers and this device only works with Globe. My cellphone had better service than these devices.

I had somehow run out of data considering I had poor coverage. I added more data (regretfully) and the app never updated the data added. I chatted with customer service at least 4 times with them constantly reassuring me it would appear on my app but never did. So I could never tell how much data was being used or remaining. It was VERY spotty service so I ended up having to buy another local device to use with the other service provider SMART. I should’ve just done that then pay for two devices with the warranty. I ordered it two weeks before my trip and was gone for 3 weeks so when I tried to return the devices I was outside of the return window.

So I paid for two devices, paid for extra data on one, purchased two local devices to use with the other service provider SMART plus got charged by my regular service provider in the US for extra charges on my cellphone. All in all it was NOT worth it. It sounded like a great idea but definitely a BAD decision. The reason I bought two was because there were times we were not all together and needed Wi-Fi to keep in contact.

So for those of you traveling, it’s best to find out who they partner with because other countries may also have multiple providers some of which are not as good as others. Also, I did try to have them switch it from Globe to SMART and it was told it’s not possible. You’re better getting a local device and they provide SIM cards at the airport. It will DEFINITELY cost less than the amount of money I spent between all the devices and data services! If you’re really set on giving it a try I’m looking to offload two devices that cost too much for what it’s worth! Otherwise they’ll be collecting dust since the company wasn’t empathetic at all to my frustration and disappointment in the device! I can’t recommend enough to think twice or do more research about the service partners!

AlQuijano August 31, 2023

Thanks for the review. I purchased MUAMA Ryoko Portable WIFI gadget but it's not activated yet since I will not be travelling till January 2024 to the Php. From your comment & review, I think I will not be using this little gadget after all with the issues it has. I will chose a different portable wifi instead.

SCAM--do not waste time on this product.
June 16, 2023

This product is a scam. It does not work as advertised. Returns are not accepted. There is an auto-renewal that is applied without consent.

You are unable to cancel or remove the credit card from your account. They will continue to charge you without your consent and you will have to dispute the charges and they will not give a refund on any data plans.