Harvest Right Freeze Dryer Reviews

Harvest Right Freeze Dryer
( 1,027 reviews )

The Harvest Right Freeze Dryer is an in home kitchen appliance which promises users the convenience of commercial quality freeze drying in their own home.

How Does It Work?

According to their website, Harvest Right is the only company which has built an In Home Freeze Dryer that is truly small enough in size to comfortably fit in your home while still being powerful enough to freeze dry all the foods you may want it to. 

Their products are very simple to use as well. Customers can place fresh or cooked foods into the dryer where they will be frozen to -40 degrees Fahrenheit or colder.

After the food is frozen, the freeze dryer creates a powerful vacuum around the food, and as the food slightly warms up, the ice will turn into vapor and evaporate. 

Customers can then store their foods in Mylar bags, mason jars, or cans along with an oxygen absorber to ensure freshness until you decide to open it.

Their website says that their foods and meals can be rehydrated in just a few minutes, and fully restored to their original textures and tastes. Their website provides a full guide for rehydration of Meats, Vegetables, and even Fully Meals.

Cost & Price Plans

As a large scale kitchen appliance, freeze dryers are not necessarily inexpensive. In fact, their website shows prices which currently range from around $2,600 to around $4,100, though prices may vary.

In addition, there will be shipping charges assessed for this product, and as it is complicated and these products are very heavy, these charges are often expensive as well.

Refund Policy

Their website says that in home freeze dryers can be returned within the first 90 days as long as they have not been used, though the website is unclear whether this 90 day period begins on the date of purchase or on the date of delivery. 

Regardless, the website says that customers will not be charged any restocking fees for returning their products, however they will be completely responsible for all shipping fees, both the original fees and the return shipping fees.

Harvest Right will issue your refund after the freeze dryer has been accepted and inspected. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact Customer Service with any questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by phone at 800-865-5584 or by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link.  

Reputation

It is not surprising that there are not many reviews for this product at this time, as there likely isn’t an incredibly huge market for in home freeze dryers at all times.

However, as far as the few reviews which are available are concerned, they all seem generally very positive about the quality of service this appliance provides.  

Competitors and Alternatives?

As mentioned above, Harvest Right claims to be the only company at this time that provides commercial quality freeze dryer in an in home appliance.

If you have any experience with the Harvest Right Freeze Dryer, please leave your reviews below.

Harvest Right Freeze Dryer Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Highly Recommended
January 27, 2023
I received a Harvest Right freezer for Christmas and love it! Runs so smoothly and very easy to use and clean. We are enjoying the results and starting to work on longer term storage. Our favorites so far are dried apples, bananas and mangos. Our grandkids love these and so much less in cost than store bought. I'm looking forward to trying out many kinds of foods in the coming year! Their customer support has also been very kind and helpful. I would highly recommend this great machine!

Buy it!!
January 27, 2023
Back in April 2022 we purchased 8 Large Pharma Freeze Dryers from Harvest Right. We own a freeze-dried candy business, and they were crucial for our production. We drove to Salt Lake City to pick them up and experienced great customer service while there. They also have been very helpful when we’ve had an issue since our purchase. Overall, we love our freeze dryers and the only issues we’ve had have been user error. They work like a charm for all our needs. We highly recommend Harvest Right Freeze Dryers for anyone who wants to preserve food in a unique way for many years to come.

Warranty work, and customer service is outstanding!
January 27, 2023
I am writing this review to focus in particular on the Customer Service side of this company. My freeze dryer had a major malfunction one month before it went out of warranty. Without hesitation, they paid to have the unit shipped back and repaired it and sent it back with no charge to myself. I also had an issue with the impulse heat sealer just after it went out of warranty and because of the problem it was having and how close it was to the warranty they are once again have a greed to ship out a free unit to replace it. Every time I have had a problem their service team has been fantastic, troubleshooting and resolving my situation. I am very impressed with this company!

White, Medium, Premier Pump
January 27, 2023

After speaking with Harvest Right’s customer service (who was very helpful) and looking up information and speaking to others online ... I decided to get a white, medium sized freeze dryer with the premier pump.

I liked that the medium size allowed me to be able to use it in any outlet and move it if needed - without having to get an electrician to install a different wall outlet (needed for large units).

I also chose the premier pump because I heard that they last longer than the oil free, plus I don’t mind having to maintain it every so often.

I just got it set up and did the bread test. So far so good. My first batch will be raw milk and I can’t wait to see how it turns out. I plan to store food in vacuumed sealed jars that I rotate through in my pantry and also in mylar bags for long term food storage. It will be great to be able to stock up when certain food is on sale, to have for quick meals on days I don’t want to cook, and to freeze dry food from my garden so nothing goes to waste.

This definitely was an investment but it’s worth the piece of mind having extra food on hand in case of emergencies. Highly recommend!

Lovin’ our Large Freeze Dryer!
January 27, 2023

We received our large freeze dryer in November 2022 and we’re so glad we took the plunge.

Our family has celiac and corn allergy issues, so buying food off the shelf food is challenging. We have been freeze drying foods that we can prepackage for fast after work meals that are allergy safe… and we know exactly what’s in the bag and that it is healthy. We’re having fun experimenting with different foods and creating recipes. Bonus - our kids are choosing freeze dried fruit over candy! So much to learn, but enjoying the experience!

HR Order Experience by GTW
January 27, 2023

Today, 1.26.2023, I called Harvest Right to order Oxygen Absorbers and Mylar bags. I spoke with Julie Gadbois, who helped me place my order. She was very helpful in answering my questions and in placing my order. She made the whole process smooth and enjoyable.

About 45 minutes later I called Harvest Right to order a seal for my Harvest Right oil pump, which I had forgotten to order earlier that day. I spoke with Alex Prussia at about 4:50pm Central Time. I told Alex that I wanted to at the seal to my earlier order. Alex was able to make sure that if this order could not be included with my original order there would be no additional postage. Also after 15 minutes emailing different pictures of Harvest Right oil pumps, Alex was able to find which seal our oil pump needed. I appreciate Alex’s patients and help in finding the correct seal. (It was hard showing where the seal was located in the oil pump.) I also appreciate that Alex continued to assist me after 5pm until he completed our order.

Thank you Harvest Right for having employees who know how to give good customer service.

Sincerely, Greg Whitson

Fantastic Customer Service & Great Product
January 27, 2023

I just purchased a Medium HarvestRight Freeze Dryer and have had a fantastic experience with the product and with the customer service team. In the first few days I noticed a very minor issue with the heat sealer that comes in the kit and the team was fast to respond to my support ticket and worked quickly to replace at no cost to me.

Highly recommend this product and brand!

Quality service and equipment.
January 27, 2023
We have really enjoyed the Freeze Dryer. It is great for processing food items. The taste is excellent. I have eaten bell peppers and they are like candy. The taste is excellent. We have processed eggs, venison broth, hamburger meat, bell peppers, etc. Great machine.

Too many initial issues. Great Technical support
January 26, 2023
Initially frustrated with numerous processing errors that precluded completion. “Repair” of this new and expensive appliance included panel removal and application of silicone that we had to purchase. Panel did not remove in the manner as demonstrated on a recommended Youtube. This caused additional frustration. Ultimately errors were corrected with a provided software upgrade. We use a hair iron for sealing bags as the provided sealer never worked properly. Tech services were VERY responsive to our numerous inquiries every step of the way and instrumental to our ultimate satisfaction with the product. Because software appeared to be the answer to our problems, it is reasonable to expect that future customers will not experience our same issues. Despite all the for-mentioned hurdles, because this device is ultimately such a game changer, it is a highly recommended purchase.

Love our freeze dryer!
January 26, 2023
We purchased a large HR freeze dryer and started using it in November 2022. It has been running just about continuously since then. We love it. we had an issue with the screen freezing and called HR, they made a phone appointment for a tech to call. The tech was very knowledgeable and helped us to re calibrate our touch screen. I would recommend these freeze dryers and also HR’s customer service.

Get the Large asap
January 26, 2023
I debated for months whether to get the medium or large and finally decided on the large because I travel and wanted to process as much in the time I'm home as the medium would do full time. Wish I had made the decision sooner! I missed many months of freeze drying. I love the large. I started right away making meals from my extensive food storage which extended the life of the food from almost expired to 25 years! I started sampling every batch and was blown away by the enhanced flavor which was more concentrated and flavorful than the cooked fresh food. Fruit is amazing. I'm a blueberry addict and now they don't take up room in my freezer. It's an attractive machine simple, efficient and easy to learn. The premium pump runs flawlessly. I even like that it gives off a subtle warmth which warms the cool room I have it in. I'm considering a second one.

You NEED one of these!
January 26, 2023
Where has this machine been all my life?! I have the medium size and just wish I had the new XL! I love that I can cook a double recipe for supper, eat one & FD the rest. Cinnamon apple slices are a convenient, healthy snack or ready to throw into a pie shell for a fast apple pie. If the economy continues its downward spiral, I know my family will have more nutritious things to eat than cheap beans & rice!

Freeze Dryer
January 25, 2023
We've loved our freeze dryer since we got it back in April 2021 and have been able to make a lot of fun versions of foods such as puffed up caramel m&ms, super blown up jolly ranchers, exploding nerds gummies and practical things too such as soup kits and dried herbs. Anytime we have a problem they're always quick to get back to us and helpful.

Set and forget
January 25, 2023
We just purchased a Harvest Right freeze dryer and couldn’t be happier. We contacted customer service and actually talked to a real person who responded promptly and courteously. This company is great and their freeze dryer is top quality.

Hassle free food preservation
January 25, 2023
We have used our freeze dryer to process raw milk. The process is simple and no hassle!! I love that it preserves without heating, thereby retaining the nutrients in the fresh milk. We are looking forward to preserving garden produce next year.

Outstanding product and customer care
January 25, 2023
Harvest Right is amazing! The customer care, from the first call I made to them to purchase a freeze dryer, to providing me help in setting it up and onto assisting me in getting the right part. I have had nothing been but outstanding service from their employees. There hasn’t been a time when I have called Harvest Right that they didn’t provide me with superior customer service. When I called to purchase a freeze dry, I could tell the rep was more concerned, about making sure, I got the right one and the one which would fit my needs than just selling me a freeze dryer. Then there was the time when I called Harvest Right because of a controversial conversation, taking place on Facebook about which oxygen absorber to use. The staff person, I chatted with took the time needed to answer my questions and to provided me with the knowledge I needed to be successful. I could go on with more examples of how wonderful Harvest Right is. They have always made me feel like I’m their favorite customer. If you don’t believe me pick up the phone and give them a call.

Took the Plunge
January 25, 2023
I debated and researched for over a year before purchasing the large. I wish I would’ve done it sooner! It is easy to use and so much fun. We have done ice cream treats and candies. I have lots of pre-cut veggies for cooking. I have also made my own spices. I am just starting to get into freeze drying full meals. Harvest season is going to be so much fun!

Better than dehydrator
January 25, 2023
Great freeze dryer! Bonus it comes with a good quality bag sealer too! Everything you need to get started. Also great customer service for newbies.

Good Customer Service
January 25, 2023
We received our first medium size Freeze Dryer on November 23rd, 2022. We started our “Bread Run Test” the next day. Within 24 hours we knew we had a problem, after 48 hours, we were sure. The Machine never would go into the Dry Cycle. We worked closely over the next few weeks with Harvest Right Tech support to try to fix the problem but were unable to get the machine running correctly. But thanks to Humberto Rangel from Tech Support at Harvest Right we soon had a Brand new Freeze Dryer shipped to us. Harvest Right sent us the new Medium Freeze Dryer via FedEx and then they set up to have FedEx pick up our old one the next day. At absolutely no cost to us. We’ve been running the new machine non stop for one week now and it works amazing! Yes, it was frustrating not being able to jump right in and start Freeze Drying when we got our machine in November, but the Great Customer Service Humberto provided for us and the ease in which it takes to operate the machine more than makes up for it. On a side note… The machine is easy to operate, but there IS a learning curve to the whole food storage process. I suggest starting out with something easy, like Shredded Cheese.

Great unit!
January 25, 2023
I've had my Harvest Right medium freeze dryer for 2 months now. No problems at all! I've done over 20 batches of food (had to take a break at Christmas). An easy way to save leftovers, put back food items that are on sale etc. Highly recommend! an easy way to use leftovers and food items when found on sale