Harvest Right Freeze Dryer Reviews

Harvest Right Freeze Dryer
( 729 reviews )

The Harvest Right Freeze Dryer is an in home kitchen appliance which promises users the convenience of commercial quality freeze drying in their own home.

How Does It Work?

According to their website, Harvest Right is the only company which has built an In Home Freeze Dryer that is truly small enough in size to comfortably fit in your home while still being powerful enough to freeze dry all the foods you may want it to. 

Their products are very simple to use as well. Customers can place fresh or cooked foods into the dryer where they will be frozen to -40 degrees Fahrenheit or colder.

After the food is frozen, the freeze dryer creates a powerful vacuum around the food, and as the food slightly warms up, the ice will turn into vapor and evaporate. 

Customers can then store their foods in Mylar bags, mason jars, or cans along with an oxygen absorber to ensure freshness until you decide to open it.

Their website says that their foods and meals can be rehydrated in just a few minutes, and fully restored to their original textures and tastes. Their website provides a full guide for rehydration of Meats, Vegetables, and even Fully Meals.

Cost & Price Plans

As a large scale kitchen appliance, freeze dryers are not necessarily inexpensive. In fact, their website shows prices which currently range from around $2,600 to around $4,100, though prices may vary.

In addition, there will be shipping charges assessed for this product, and as it is complicated and these products are very heavy, these charges are often expensive as well.

Refund Policy

Their website says that in home freeze dryers can be returned within the first 90 days as long as they have not been used, though the website is unclear whether this 90 day period begins on the date of purchase or on the date of delivery. 

Regardless, the website says that customers will not be charged any restocking fees for returning their products, however they will be completely responsible for all shipping fees, both the original fees and the return shipping fees.

Harvest Right will issue your refund after the freeze dryer has been accepted and inspected. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact Customer Service with any questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by phone at 800-865-5584 or by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link.  

Reputation

It is not surprising that there are not many reviews for this product at this time, as there likely isn’t an incredibly huge market for in home freeze dryers at all times.

However, as far as the few reviews which are available are concerned, they all seem generally very positive about the quality of service this appliance provides.  

Competitors and Alternatives?

As mentioned above, Harvest Right claims to be the only company at this time that provides commercial quality freeze dryer in an in home appliance.

If you have any experience with the Harvest Right Freeze Dryer, please leave your reviews below.

Harvest Right Freeze Dryer Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Love my Harvest Right.
December 3, 2022
I’ve had my Harvest Right Freeze Dryer for a year and love it. Customer Service has been extremely helpful when I needed them.

Great but don’t slack
December 3, 2022
The harvest right freeze dryer is a good system as long as you follow the instructions precisely. Don’t skip oil changes or else you’ll ruin the pump. Adjust the door accordingly for correct pressure. Call customer service for any help you need, they’re quick to answer usually and nice!

If you're not happy with your technician, switch to a different one.
December 3, 2022
We got a brand new freeze dryer and after one or two uses we started having problems with the vacuum. It would not work. Our hearts sunk. We talked with Harvest Right and got an excellent technician who helped us solve the problem. Yes it took a couple months but we are very happy now.

Harvest right Worth the money
December 3, 2022
Love this machine it is a lifesaver for those of you who love to Garden! Gives you a break from canning and is more nutritious

Great customer service and great product.
December 2, 2022

My HarvestRght freeze dryer works just as promised. After gaining experience on drying times and swapping the trays around to evenly dry my products results for wonderful. I did have a problem with the bag sealer where it would would work for one or two seconds and shut off. I would have to make several attempts to get it to

seal a package. After calling customer service, they readily agreed to send me a new one.

Customer service
December 2, 2022
Excellent customer service. I love my freeze dryer

Great Machine!
December 2, 2022

I I love my Freeze Dryer! My experience with Harvest Right tech support has always been timely, helpful and pleasant.

It has been a great hobby that allows me to use my imagination in preparing gifts that are practical, healthy and delicious!

Great Investment
December 1, 2022

WE have had a Harvest Right Freeze Drier for 7 years and even though there have been some low points with my experience with the company and their products, the machine has been a great investment. In comparing the price of freeze-dried food from commercial retailers, I have determined that I have paid for my investment several times over.

While we have had some issues with the early pump, Harvest Right has been helpful in trying to get things right for us. We currently have the standard pump, and it is working well.

We are a family that loves backpacking. Before we got our Harvest Right, we would buy Mountain House or Backpackers Pantry foods to take with us. But now, we are able to make and take whatever foods we want, without having to rely on a limited menu, lots of ingredients we may not want and portion sizes that don’t fit our needs. For example, we backpacked in the Wind River Range in Wyoming and one of our meals was home FD pot roast with gravy and potatoes and that was one of the best meals ever after a long day on the trail!

We also love being able to take our freeze dried food with us when we ski. We take a thermos full of hot water and our bags of FD food and we are good for a hot lunch that doesn’t cost an arm and a leg like ski lodge food does.

We also give bags of FD fruit or goodies as gifts to friends and neighbors. Apples, peaches, etc., make a great unique treat for gifts.

Prep is easy, just put the food you want to FD on the trays, or leftovers that you want to freeze dry and pop them in your freezer until you have a whole batch to freeze dry–for the medium, that is 4 trays. Make sure your oil is clean, push a few buttons and in a day or so, you will have a long lasting version of whatever you put in your machine.

Excellent Service
December 1, 2022

While running a batch of Parsley, the system failed in drawing an adequate vacuum on 2 attempts. Call to support at HR was answered quickly and time setup with a tech by the name of Chase within a day. Chase reviewed the issues and provided initial first steps on testing. Both HR and Chase were excellent in providing support sessions and "next steps" in the trouble shooting process.

Although the whole process to fix took a few weeks as the problem proved troublesome and I had to wait for parts to be shipped to Canada. Perseverance by Chase paid off and we solved the issue with a sliconing of the tray electrical plug.

Harvest Right oil free medium 2020
December 1, 2022

We purchased our Harvest Right in 2020. They were back ordered, but we bought it just before the rush, so we were freeze drying while the rest of the world was still waiting. We bought a medium oil free pump (the low profile one that they are no longer selling). They replaced the first pump, and when we again had trouble with the second pump, replaced it as well!

Jonathan was especially great to work with. The front desk people were also very helpful and the owner even came out to speak to us one time I came up to replace a heater relay board. We had a lot to learn about drying certain foods (removing fats from foods, etc.) but we have dried 20 + bushels of fruit, lots of meals, and we use it for a wide variety of purposes, gifts, shipping food to others, and preserving foods for food storage. It preserves the flavor and nutrients and allows us to feed our big family for low cost on vacations.

We just bring a little collapsible kettle for hotels and a Jetboil when we camp. We are able to eat our leftovers so we don’t waste food, but we also spend less time and money feeding our family of 8. I am a celiac with dairy and sesame allergies, so eating from home can be tricky. We even dry ice cream, pies, skittles and more for fun and delicious treats!

Awesome product and customer service
December 1, 2022
We received our freeze dryer weeks before it was due, and have been using it non-stop. I had a vacuum problem and in one phone call I was set up with a technician, and solved the problem right away. I also had a problem with my sealer, in that the power wold not come on. They sent me a brand new one. Great service, and I LOVE my freeze dryer.

Customer Service
December 1, 2022
The Harvest Right Team is honest and diligent in providing customer service. Through my dealings with them they have demonstrated that their sole objective is to resolve any issues with the utmost of respect for both the customer and their product. I am enjoying owning my freeze drier and am making some incredible freeze-dried meals.

Much easier to use than I expected!
December 1, 2022
I received my dryer on a skid. Outside of the need to run a new 20A circuit to my garage, it was crazy simple to setup and run. In fact, I was skeptical at first because I was like... what settings do I use?? Well, basically... you just run the thing. I did a run of very wet pineapple on my first run, and and it was a matter of just turning it on, and after its finished, if there is any wet left, you just add some more dry time. I was expecting it to be way more complicated. Nice job HarvestRight!

Large Harvest Right freeze dryer for the win!
December 1, 2022

I have had my large Harvest Right home freeze dryer for 3 months. It is November 30th and I have about two more batches left to do from this summers garden harvest.

Then I can begin to experiment with meals and year round products such as eggs, dairy and meats. I have found my freeze dryer to be very user friendly and easy to use. I am enjoying diversifying my food storage methods and sharing with my friends and family.

I have done nearly 50 batches and so far have only disliked one or two items that just didn’t freeze dry well (blackberries and gummy bears is all that comes to mind at this point). Overall, keeping myself very busy and entertained with my first freeze dryer!

Works Great!
December 1, 2022
My husband and I purchased a Harvest Right and received it at the end of October 2022, we have been using it almost non-stop since then. My husband calls it amazing and easy to use. We have been freeze drying lots of garden produce and eggs so far and plan to try many different foods. Customer service is professional and have gone out of their way to assist when we have an issue or question. A real pleasure to work with them.

Great customer support
December 1, 2022
I recently received my new freeze dryer and after my first batch finished, I turned the machine off for the night. When I turned it back on in the morning, the screen was showing “Factory Setup”…I thought I had done something wrong. A quick call to customer support and he walked me through getting it up and going again! Now on to my second batch.

Happy with our Harvest Right Freeze Dryer
November 30, 2022
We have had our Harvest Right freeze dryer only a couple of months but are very happy with everything we have tried so far. It is a wonderful way to preserve foods without taking up precious freezer space and they last much longer – plus they taste as good as freshly made! We like it so much, in fact, we are currently freeze-drying various goodies to put in Christmas gift baskets for our family – all items they love.

The only game in town!
November 30, 2022
Really love my medium HarvestRight freeze dryer, set up was fast and the premier pump is very quiet and very low maintenance.

Worth the money
November 30, 2022
This machine is a work horse, it has been going non stop for me since I purchased it! I’ve done everything from Candy to full meals!

Love my freeze dryer and support has been great
November 30, 2022

I bought my machine about a month ago and have loved it. I did have two problems. My impulse sealer wouldn't seal, but fortunately I live close to the plant and took it there. They replaced the heat strip and it still didn't work so they gave me a new one and tested it before I left. Extremely nice workers there.

The other problem was when I turned my machine off, it reset to factory settings. A quick call to the support line helped me get it set up again. Since then I have had no problems and are freeze drying many different items.