Gundry MD Reviews

Gundry MD
( 717 reviews )

Gundry MD Review: A Detailed Look

Reviewopedia staff  -  Updated:  July 12, 2023


Gundry MD
is a brand of nutritional supplements, food products, and publications created by Dr. Steven Gundry.

Building off his early success as a doctor with a long list of credentials he has catapulted to the status of celebrity doc.

This reputation was furthered when it was revealed that pop singer Kelly Clarkson accredited her weight loss to some of his advice.

However, this rise has not come without its share of controversy, with many critics questioning his health and wellness advice and accusing him of building wealth from the sale and aggressive promotion of his branded products.

Below we’ll take a look at some of his products, his wellness philosophy, and try to answer whether you should be purchasing his myriad products or not.

Holobiotics

'Holobiotics' is the phrase Dr. Gundry created for the diet and lifestyle choices people must make in order to bring their microbe ratio back into balance in order to lose weight and improve their health.

According to his theory of  'Holobiotics', the human body is dominated by different kinds of microbes.

Some of these microbes are 'good' while others are 'bad', and unfortunately most people choose a diet and lifestyle that suppresses their good microbes and increases the growth and multiplication of bad microbes.

This loss of microbe balance eventually throws off the wellness balance of your whole body. 

All products sold on Gundry MD have this goal in mind, as do his 'Diet Evolution' and 'The Longevity Paradox' books.

Publications

Dr. Steven Gundry has authored 4 books that have outlined his views on health and what he believes are the underlying causes of many people’s ailments.  

They include:

  • Dr Gundry’s Diet Evolution: Turn off the Genes That Are Killing You and Your Waistline
  • The Plant Paradox: The Hidden Dangers in ‘Healthy’ Foods That Cause Disease and Weight Gain
  • The Plant Paradox Cookbook: 100 Delicious Recipes to Help You Lose Weight, Heal Your Gut, and Live Lectin-Free
  • Longevity Paradox: How to Die Young at a Ripe Old Age

Gundry’s Plant Paradox Diet

It was in his book “The Plant Paradox” that he laid out the ideas that he has become most associated with. 

In it he claimed that Lectins, a common plant protein, are the cause of much damage to the gut wall causing intestinal distress and inflammation and ultimately leading to other issues in the body.

He’s not the first to suggest these concepts and they’re also the basis of many modern diets.

For example, the "Paleo Diet" calls for eliminating gluten and some lectin-containing foods in an effort to prevent “leaky gut", a breakdown of the intestinal lining caused by inflammatory foods.

The controversy is that he focuses specifically on Lectins and suggests that we should avoid eating foods that have been traditionally promoted as staples of a healthy diet such as beans, brown rice, nuts, tomatoes, quinoa and many others.

He also advocates for finding ways to incorporate fasting into your life to help your gut reset. Another principal heavily promoted by gurus of the Paleo/Keto diets.

Opponents of his books argue that he has not provided enough scientific evidence to back up his claims.  

Some also argue that whatever benefit may be had by cutting out lectin from your diet is not worth the potential loss of nutrients from not eating those foods.

What does Gundry say you should eat?

An example of some of the foods recommended includes:

  • Pasture-raised meats
  • Pasture-raised eggs
  • Wild-caught seafood
  • Vegetables (leafy greens, broccoli, celery, onions)
  • Kimchi
  • Sauerkraut
  • In-season fruits (berries, cherries, apples, nectarines, peaches, and others)
  • Green bananas
  • Sweet potatoes
  • Jicama
  • Olive oil
  • Avocados
  • Almond milk (unsweetened, organic)
  • Grain substitutes: Millet, White rice, Sorghum

What are the 3 foods Dr Gundry says to avoid?

This is the title of many of his marketing videos which try to entice viewers into watching a long presentation, the end result of which is a sales pitch to one of his products.

The foods he is referring to fall in these categories:

  • Nightshades: tomatoes, eggplant, potatoes and peppers
  • Beans and legumes: Including soy and peanuts
  • Grains: especially quinoa and brown rice

Gundry MD Supplements

To complement his beliefs, Gundry sells a range of supplements, branded ‘Gundry MD’ and found at GundryMD.com

His product line is vast and covers everything from supplements, skin care, hair care, various food items, and even dog food.

Each individual product page will provide customers with a full description of how to use the product, the benefits they can expect from regular use, and a full list of ingredients so customers can tell in advance if they have any sensitivities or known side effects.

The most popular supplements are:

  • Gundry MD Vital Reds  -  intended to help maintain high energy levels and a fast metabolism.

  • Gundry MD Prebiothrive  -  aims to reduce cravings for sweets and junk foods, help with weight management, and improve digestion.

 

Some of the company's other products include:

Refund Policy & Customer Service

Gundry MD offers a 90-Day money back return policy (starting on the date of purchase) on all products purchased through their website.

This policy does not apply when you purchase their products from third-party seller (such as Amazon), and does not cover shipping costs.

Customer Service is available at their phone number 800-852-0477, by email at [email protected], or by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact link.

Competitors and Alternatives

There is no shortage of health and wellness books, diet-plans, nutritional supplements, and skincare products available on the market.

Customers looking for alternatives will really need to consider what it is they are specifically looking for before finding an appropriate alternative to Gundry MD.

However, before paying money for supplements and various health products you can also explore several diets closely related to what Dr. Gundry recommends such as the Paleo diet or the Autoimmune Protocol (AIP).

Both focus on cutting out highly processed foods, gluten, sugary foods, and inflammation causing veggies.  

If you’re still experiencing intestinal discomfort or other gastro issues you can take it one step further and try a strict elimination diet protocol - with the goal being to find the exact foods that may be causing you distress.

Is Dr Steven Gundry a Quack?

Prospective customers sometimes wonder whether Dr Gundry is a scam or quack due to some of the health claims he makes. 

While he does have impressive medical credentials, if you search online reviews of his products you’ll come across very mixed opinions.  

There are many customers reporting that they feel taken advantage of financially or that the products they purchased did not provide any of the advertised results.

This is supported by some of the company's aggressive  marketing efforts and constant upselling of products, prompting many complaints accusing them of just trying to make money.

On the other hand you’ll find proponents of his books and products arguing the opposite, that what he recommends in the Paradox Diet has helped them lose weight and alleviate some of their digestive issues, arguing that it is the standard American diet which is causing more harm than his products.

It’s also important to note that highly restrictive diets can have negative consequences in the amount of stress and anxiety they cause around food, ultimately undoing any benefit they would have provided.

We recommend a low risk approach to his products, you may want to try out his diet recommendations first before purchasing any of the supplements.

If you have any experience with Dr. Steven Gundry MD or their products, please leave your reviews below.

See Also:  What Vitamins and Supplements Should You Be Taking?

You may also be interested in

Gundry MD Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Lot# C2200521 exp. May 2023 - was something wrong with it?
February 12, 2024
I'd like to see the quality control report of Lot C2200521 produced May 2021 and expiration May 2023. I saw a lot of complaints about barnyard smell and horrific taste of the product produced between January and June 2021 that was received by people. I want to make sure it wasn't contaminated or had any toxic changes. Mine expired 9 months after I ordered it and I didn't try it the first 90 days so was unable to return it. Mostly I'm concerned that it just wasn't "right" and maybe shouldn't even have been consumed at all.

Me February 12, 2024

My comment is about the Polyphenol - Rich Olive Oil. I should have stated that in the heading.

I tried it
February 11, 2024
Actually, as an almond LOVER, I had to investigate because I have all the symptoms of a leaky gut, blah, blah, blah. All consequences of the antibiotic, ibuprofen life. I eliminated almond skins. Now I get blanched. It has made an enormous difference. I now use a tablespoon of olive oil in my eggs; not his, as it's too expensive. The MCT Wellness is a good product, if you can afford it. His self-adulation can be annoying, but he has expert knowledge.

Gut Health
February 1, 2024
I am very careful about the supplements I take, and I don't take the high cost of these for granted. If they don't work, and within a reasonable time, I don't waste my money. However, I tried Dr. Gundry's Biocomplete 3 for gut health and found that they have worked for me as were advertised. I am coming to the end of the first month and plan to use up my purchase and then try to get results from diet alone, but if the supplements helped me get started, I belive they are worth it.

EllenZaslaw February 09, 2024

This guy is full of crap but mostly full of himself. If he tells you to do something or not do something or eat something or not eat something, cover your own backside and do the opposite of what he says. What a quack quack.

Do not order these supplements!
January 4, 2024
Very upset with the Gundry ordering system. I wanted to try his supplements out so I ordered 3 bottles. I look at my credit card bill and i was charged for 9 bottles! I went to return the 6 bottles I did not order and I had to pay shipping charges of $27.00 on top of the inconvenience of having to return them and get the $211.00 charge off of my credit card. I was super careful to only order 3 bottles. I will never order from them again!

Steven Gundry is a quack
December 25, 2023
He is a quack as simple as that and greedy

JTMusicwood December 26, 2023

I agree: I have purchased his expensive products twice and found them to be totally useless. Extremely overpriced Garbage sold by a greedy salesperson with a used car salesguy style marketing engine driven to pressure and bully people into buying the crap!

Aria, Gundry MD December 26, 2023

Hello, my name is Aria Goodman from Gundry MD. I'm sorry to hear you feel this way. We appreciate your feedback. For over thirty years, Dr. Gundry has been one of the world’s pre-eminent experts in heart surgery. He was a driving force behind major breakthroughs in medical technology and surgical procedures – breakthroughs that revolutionized the way doctors save lives. His years of research and first-hand experience helped him develop The Plant Paradox, educating people about proper gut health. His mission is to improve health, happiness, and longevity by making simple changes to your diet. If you wish to discuss this further or have any questions, my email is [email protected]. Thank you.

Dammad January 17, 2024

"For over thirty years, Dr. Gundry has been one of the world’s pre-eminent experts in heart surgery. He was a driving force behind major breakthroughs in medical technology and surgical procedures – breakthroughs that revolutionized the way doctors save lives."

First, where is the evidence for these amazing accomplishments?

Second, regardless of the veracity of these unsubstantiated claims, they are irrelevant and immaterial to his nutritional, beauty, and dog food, etc. claims.

Third, since you claimed to be presenting him, you have engaged in logical fallacies indicating there is, indeed, no evidence for the claims. You may wish to look up logical fallacies and learn.

Fourth, given the above, the conclusion is the claims are false.

Fifth, you are paid by Gundy MD to say what you did.Gundry MD has the characteristics of a a 19th century snake oil salesman promising much with no evidence.

Its been all hype
December 24, 2023

Tried MCT Wellness 3 months every day, first thing on empty stomach. Experienced zero changes. None of the promises in the adds observed. To get refunded you return empty canisters but do not mention that when purchase.

What has happened? My wallet is lighter and EXCESSIVELY marketing emails from Gundry, all with more promises pushing other products. This ONLY confirms one thing. Pushing expensive products that do nothing.

Aria, Gundry MD December 26, 2023

Hello, my name is Aria, I am with Gundry MD. I deeply apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced. While many of our customers see great results, we do understand that our formula may not be the best fit for everyone. For this reason, we stand by our 90 day money back guarantee. As it is an industry standard, we do ask that you return the products if requesting a full refund. As an extra convenience, we offer a 30% refund to customers who do not decide to send back the product containers. If you ever have any questions in the future, my email is [email protected]. Have a nice day.

Buyer Beware
November 19, 2023
Buyer beware: If you begin a supplement regimen, you want to take the pills continuously without a break, right? So I placed my first order - auto-refill every 30 days. Any other product I've bought with auto-refill, I've received the next month's supply in plenty of time so there's no break in taking. With this company, you receive your next month's supply one day before you run out. So if you're traveling, you leave without your next month's supply. I've never experienced this before. I called the company & they offered no alternative unless I want to order 3 bottles at a time. I'm new to this product so I think 1 bottle at a time on auto-refill should be sufficient. Their attitude was "Well if you don't like it, you can cancel."

probiotic supplement
November 6, 2023
I take his probiotic, prebiotic supplement and I love it!

Superior Product In Every Way
October 25, 2023

I use many of Dr. Gundry's supplements and love them all, therefore, I had faith in trying MCT Wellness.

Firstly, it is the most refreshing drink and has helped me kick my habit to Diet. Dr.Peppers!

Secondly, I have seen a better paced weight loss since using it. I have now lost 30lbs and reduced or eliminated completely my inflammation, bloating and chronic fatigue I have been suffering for almost 10 yrs.

I also use BioComplex-3, Total Restore, MetabolicAdvance and highly recommend! I have the results to back it up with too.

It works!
October 24, 2023
Feel much better since I’ve started using vital recharge. I was skeptical of the taste but it really does taste like a mild lemonade. Very easy to consume. Planning to purchase more!

ENERGY RENEW REFRESHES AND UPLIFTS
October 24, 2023

I absolutely love the fresh fruity taste of ENERGY RENEW.

Daily I look forward to two, sometimes three glasses, it is so refreshing and energizing. I'm going on a winter break to Malta quite soon, and I'll be taking some with me to blend with Mediterranean Spring water.

Great Energy!
October 24, 2023

While somewhat pricey, even at a discounted rate, I can absolutely tell a difference in my energy levels, and for that I am most thankful!

I haven't really noticed a tremendous difference in memory, but I do feel more focused and sharp with work tasks.

Patricia Petersen
October 24, 2023
I have been in a detox program for the last 5 months and had to find a complimentary protein powder to be compatible with the program. Once I stated Dr. Gundry's protein powder it was clear it was the real deal! It has helped me through my sugar cravings and weight loss. I feel so much better and have more energy being a caregiver to my husband. He benefits also by all the great nutrients it gives him for stamina and a great protein addition during the day.

The Gundry supplements I take have improved my looks, energy, and mood.
October 24, 2023
My skin looks smoother and better than it has in years. I’m 78 and work full time in retail. Women are dumbfounded when they hear my age. They guess 50. Next question is have I had work done (I haven’t). What do I use and what do a take. I tell them: Gundry and Thrive.

very restrictive diet recommendations
October 23, 2023

I got very excited about the MCT Wellness, ordered it and then started reading about Dr. Gundry and looking at his videos including the yes/no list. Now I am feeling very discouraged because the diet recommendations would be so hard to follow because it is so restrictive and expensive.

For example, I love bread and the bread he recommends is $13 per loaf and that’s if you buy 3! In these times of soaring inflation, I feel he must be very out-of-touch with how average Americans are suffering with the high cost of EVERYTHING.

Where does he shop that he gets fermented sausage from Andorra! I hope I have positive results from the MCT Wellness w/o having to follow the restrictive and expensive diet w/ products not available in your average supermarket.

I will see how it goes with the MCT and advise once I actually try it but the rest of his recommendations about what to eat would break the bank. I wish I hadn’t been so impulsive.

MDejesus February 07, 2024

MCT does work

I feel great now!
October 23, 2023
I absolutely feel a difference in my health and energy. From no energy in the morning to start my day to lots of enthusiasm and even waking up before the alarm goes off.

It works but, maybe too expensive for me here in Canada
October 23, 2023
Head clearer, gut relaxed. I have my dose as the fist part of my first meal in my 4-6 hour meal window. Since taking MCT wellness, I am more naturally inclined to make my first meal, my only meal.

MDejesus February 07, 2024

Not good Idea to eat one meal but if it works for you that’s great

Noticing positive changes
October 22, 2023
I am noticing changes. I photo better. Skin is more radiant. Hoping my eyes continue to improve underneath. I have used 2 months so far.

MDejesus February 07, 2024

What product?

Increased my Energy/Focus/Sense of Well Being
October 22, 2023
I have really noticed a change in how I feel overall. I am not as tired overall and definitely have more energy and focus. It is easy to drink and the flavor is great! I have seen the benefits just as Dr. Gundry stated I would. Thanks for another wonderful product.

MCT Wellness - Awesome Product!
October 22, 2023
MCT Wellness is wonderful! I definitely have more energy...I mix up a glassful every morning! I'm more energetic and am losing weight. The taste is great too. I'm very happy with the product and totally recommend it!