Dr. Steven Gundry Reviews

Dr. Steven Gundry
( 277  Reviews )


We’re partnering with OneTreePlanted.org to plant a tree for every review posted on Reviewopedia. When you add your review to Reviewopedia you're not only helping other customers, but our planet too!

About Dr. Steven Gundry

Dr. Steven Gundry, of GundryMD.com, claims to be 'one of the world's most celebrated pediatric heart surgeons' who has created a new view of health and wellness that he promises can help everyone live their best life.  

How Does It Work?

As a heart surgeon, Dr. Steven Gundry states he regularly witnessed the difficulties people have when their bodies become further and further entrenched into issues of bad health, and how many people believe that these problems can only be fixed with prescription drugs or even major surgeries.

Dr. Gundry, on the other hand, began to realize that there was a much simpler and easier way to bring your body back from the brink of serious medical concerns and back to a state of great health and wellness

'Holobiotics' is the phrase Dr. Gundry created for the diet and lifestyle choices people must make in order to bring this microbe ratio back into balance in order to lose weight and improve their health. 

According to his theory of  'Holobiotics', the human body is dominated by different kinds of microbes. Some of these microbes are 'good' while others are 'bad', and unfortunately most people choose a diet and lifestyle that suppresses their good microbes and increases the growth and multiplication of bad microbes. This loss of microbe balance eventually throws off the wellness balance of your whole body. 

All products sold on Gundry MD have this goal in mind, as do his 'Diet Evolution' and 'The Longevity Paradox' books. 

Products and Services

Dr. Gundry sells a number of products on his website, including health supplements, skin and haircare products, various food items, and even a dog food.  Each individual product page will provide customers with a full description of how to use the product, the benefits they can expect from regular use, and a full list of ingredients that are included in each product so customers can tell in advance if they have any sensitivities or known side effects.  

In addition, GundryMD.com sells his series of 'Plant Paradox' books and offers subscription to his "Your Health" magazine.

There are a wide variety of health and nutrition articles available on this website is completely free of charge, so customers can get a better and more well-rounded understanding of the Holobiotics theory of health.

Refund Policy & Customer Service

Gundry MD offers a 90-Day money back return policy (starting on the date of purchase) on all products purchased through their website, though this policy does not apply when you purchase their products from third-party seller (such as Amazon), and does not cover shipping costs.

Customer Service is available at at 800-852-0477, by email at [email protected], or by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact link.

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are no shortage of health and wellness books, diet-plans, nutritional supplements,  and skincare product available on the market, so customers looking for alternatives will really need to consider what it is they are specifically looking for before finding an appropriate alternative to Gundry MD.   

If you have any experience with Dr. Steven Gundry MD, please leave your reviews below.

You May Also Be Interested In

277 ‘Dr. Steven Gundry’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:

As a former researcher, I find his recommendations credible.

June 8, 2021

I have found that intermittent fasting (eating only during a six-hour window daily in my case), along with Gundry's Prebiothrive and Vital Reds (polyphenols) worked for me. I am down 23 lbs since 1 March (3 months, 8 days) and am no longer insulin resistant and "prediabetic."

As a former hospital commander and former researcher, I am aware that there are any number of charlatans and health "gurus" out there working to market dusts and pills that promise much but deliver... not so much. In the case of Steven Gundry however, I believe I have found the real deal.

His concepts are sound, in my opinion. And his products allegedly exist because he could not find them in the market. So, he designed and had them developed. I've looked and must agree. This business of lectins and "leaky gut" is, according to my review of the literature, a real issue and has become a legitimate concern in the US and Western Europe.

I would not presume to claim that what Gundry recommends is right for every person, but it's right for me. Additionally I have yet to find an assertion of his to be fraudulent or misleading or otherwise less than supportable in the literature.

To date I have had quite acceptable customer service.

My next step will be to develop a way to eat a little more to level off at the 28 pound, weight, loss point, which is my goal.

Comment on this review...

Great Products!!!!!!!!!

May 29, 2021

I had stomach/intestine problems for years. No Dr. knew what it was, tried Total Restore, problems are gone! I take it 3-4 times a week. Also TriTrim really helps me cut down on sweets!

Comment on this review...

Dr. Gundry is Right About Diet

May 3, 2021

I learned, by trial and error over 40 years ago, that I had to avoid all dairy, all grain except rice

View all 3 Comments
May 11, 2021

I think he is right. Otherwise how would so many people be getting well. You don’t see this with the Food Pyramid that is in existence. We’ve tried everything else, why not this with so much research behind it. What Dr. Gundry is doing is trying to keep people out of the hospital with all these western diseases. Has to be our food.

Try it, if you don’t notice a change, then go back to eating what you were eating: but give it about 3-6 months even though I understand that you can see results way before that. I think he’s on to something. The lightbulb went off for me. I know what I was experiencing with milk, cheese, etc. Sugar is a poison. There are alternatives like Honey, Organic Maple Syrup and Stevia within limitations. Too much sugar gets that cortisol up.

It’s difficult to give up certain things like potatoes and rice but why not figuring out how to make creamy mashed cauliflower and cauliflower rice an exception and experiment with it until you come up with something you like plus you will be feeding your body well. And make french fries out of Japanese Sweet Potatoes. They’re delicious!

June 04, 2021

Another way to look at it, do you want to give all your money to your doctor and pills, or, try the Gundry way

June 10, 2021

Or, give your money to him for his products.

Comment on this review...

May or may not work for you!

April 19, 2021

I tried it for a year. May or may not work for you.
Good for losing weight. You might me better off breathing
reduction using various methods such a Buteyko or others.

Comment on this review...

NO change

April 16, 2021

I read Plant Paradox and diligently, faithfully followed the diet for 6 weeks. I noticed NO difference whatsoever. You'd think there'd be some change, like glowing skin or more energy, but NO Change. I think that because I eat well anyhow, am fit, have good BMI and BM's (LOL) there was no room for noticeable improvement.

Dr. Gundry states that for many people, the big improvement they notice is from the bad foods (sugar, fast food, etc.) they quit eating, rather than what they add to their diet (greens, veggies). I still have what has been diagnosed as paresthesia (a form of neuropathy). Plant Paradox diet did not affect the symptoms :(

Comment on this review...

It works!

March 19, 2021

The Total Restore helped my digestion, bowel movements and i have a good mood.

Thank you.

Comment on this review...

The Longevity Paradox worked for me

March 12, 2021

I have been on the Gundry Longevity paradox for going on 10 months. Have lost 33 pounds, cholesterol is now 186 from over 200 and BP 100/70 where it was 130/92. It was hard at first to stick to it. Did the 6 weeks. I now feel better. Caught COVID halfway into it and was a very mild case no fever. I use total restore and some of the other products but you don't need to. You can follow the plan without Gundry products and be successful. I still cheat every so often but go immediately back on because of the health benefits. This is the first diet/lifestyle change that has worked for me for an extended period. Aging spots are vanishing without the cream. It takes time.

Comment on this review...

It’s not for everybody

December 31, 2020

Going to be brief, the Bio 3 Complete works great —-for me. Did not work for my wife.
So I believe that which ever product you try, be aware that it may or may not work...keep this in mind when you feel like you want to accuse dr. Gundry of scamming.

Comment on this review...

When ordering beware, Bait and Switch is rampant with this company

December 27, 2020

ENERGY RENEW - after receiving and being charged for far more than I wanted, my husband religiously took the product daily for almost a year. A complete waste of time and money.

He is on the last container from this so called "Dr." and will be glad to see my cupboard space contain something worth storing. Gundry is nothing more than a Charlatan.

Comment on this review...

Total Restore

December 6, 2020

I ordered the Total Restore. Started using it on 01 Sept 2020. It's now in Dec. and ZERO results. I left a review with them and it said someone would follow up. Never did. I used it Exactly as they suggested and ate healthy. As far as I'm concerned it's nothing but a scam. I only hope others don't fall for it. If it works for you then that's great but for me its a scam to get your money.

Comment on this review...

Don't waste your money

November 6, 2020

Really, I used it religiously twice a day, and a lot of it - no results after a month, so I started using it three times a day, another month and no results. It's a nice creamy lotion, that's all.

I am 70 years old and have small dark spots - size of an eraser on a pencil. I took photos, in fact I didn't put it on one spot as it's in the hair line, so I could compare.... really - it doesn't work at all.

January 16, 2021

Try devil’s club essential oil or salve. Or a lotion with tea tree oil in it.

Comment on this review...

Total Restore

September 10, 2020

Before my story (because it is long) I wan to say that Total Restore really worked for me.

I am a skeptic in regard to the type of promotional videos like Stephen Gundry's and of products promoted by them.. Frankly, I hate them - too much talk and repeated information. A waste of time, and I am 63, and do not want to waste my time.

But this year I had a phase of serious trouble beginning with diarrhea that would not cease for six weeks and then extended into serious stomach pains. Due to the covid 19 shutdown at the time, I also had trouble getting a doctor's appointment. It became scary and exhausting.

At the six week point my ex-husband gave me some of his Total Restore capsules. I took 2 a day, and within two days my diarrhea stopped, and the stomach pain eased. I had a supply for four days from my ex-husband - so I ran out.

Within a day all my symptoms reappeared. My ex-husband then gave me enough for a week. My symptoms receded again the next day, meaning the diarrhea stopped again. I ordered three bottles at a promotional price. I never do that, and only did it because I already experienced the effects.

The order arrived by the end of the week as promised (I had ordered express because of my symptoms. Initially I still had different elimination but no more diarrhea. My stomach trouble stopped.

Over time it all returned to normal.It has now been about three months since I began to take the capsules.

I am still concerned about my digestive issue as neither Urgent care and a battery of tests initially (incl. covid 19 test nor a visit to the doctor came up with a diagnosis. I have a referral to a gastro-enterologist (long wait).

When I forget to take the capsules some mild symptoms return.
I usually take natural products first when I have any health issues which is very rare. I don't get sick often. I knew about a few of the herbs in Total Restore to be effective against diarrhea, but the capsules also seem to address other digestive issues.

I am about to re-order Total Restore. "I love It" came up with clicking the five stars. Not the right words for me. I swear by this one.

I was looking up reviews to see if I would buy a Gundry skin product (which is how I know about the terrible promotional videos), and based on reviews here I likely won't. But I may look into his book.

Comment on this review...

web site bad no summery and pricing and chance to change order

August 31, 2020

Ordered, got new offer, then new offer- ended up with 5 orders and no final list of products ordered and price.

I got 5 different e-mails telling me the price on a different e-mail. I ended with 15 of the same product- too many and not wanted.

Called to complained - no one cared. Called credit card company. I decided I do NOT want any of his products.

The web site is set up like a scam to rope you in and should show what is ordered and price of each since each done and need to be able to cancel an item if wanted or not wanted, or see order and prices and get what you want.

Sending everything back. Agent said she could see why it could be confusing. Site needs to be redesigned.

View all 3 Comments
September 05, 2020

I would echo this review and sound a strong caution. The website's selling system is opaque and misleads you into buying more than you intend or expect. There is no final display of your "shopping basket", with any option to cancel unwanted items. When you get your bank statement you are likely to be in for a nasty shock. I have complained to their customer support and they have agreed to refund for the two items I didn't even know I had ordered. I cannot say whether the medication is any good because I still have not received it, though I paid for it over a month ago (I am in UK). I agree "The site needs to be redesigned".

November 03, 2020

I totally agree. You don't have free will to cancel or to see your account. I ordered 4 items they charged me for 7 extra items. I'm sending everything back for a refund. I have been using these products for a few years and have found them to be helpful but I'm not happy with a company charging me for things I don't order. Ordering from a website is suppose to be stress free but this website is far from it. I lost my job during covid-19 so adding more charges to my account that I can't afford is very stressful for me. I've decided to look elsewhere for the products I need.

December 27, 2020

Totally agree - the product I received was expensive and far more than I wanted but my husband has taken it religiously for a year. A complete waste of money - he has one carton left and when it is gone this Charlatan will be out of my life for ever. A really bad scam.

Comment on this review...

Olive oil - a complete disaster

July 13, 2020

I ordered three bottles of olive oil and was so looking forward using Dr. Gundry's product. I had read a lot about him and his products and thought that I surely couldn't go wrong.

Well, I was wrong. The olive oil stank to high-heaven. I mean, we had to clear the room because of the awful smell. And the taste....it was like motor oil.

I contacted customer service and they offered to send me three more bottles, but I declined and offered to send the three bottles back, but they said "keep them." Well, I have them, and they are completely useless.

August 06, 2020

We sincerely apologize for your negative experience using this product and with our customer service team, Gail! We always stand by our 90 Day Money Back Guarantee. Please email me at [email protected] and I will happily assist you in resolving your issue!

Comment on this review...

TRYING TO ANSWER BACK BUT HAVE NO CONFIRMATION

June 19, 2020

Hello and thank you for responding. I believe that when advertisements attest to miraculous results and show it through video, then that should happen. This was not my case and I truly thought this would work.

I do think that for a product of the price that you indicate, it should do the trick. I see no significant't difference, so a commercial gesture on your part would be appreciated.

Regards
Eileen Morilleau

Ps : I hope that you get this as your email address came back to me with a delivery failure !

View all 2 Comments
July 01, 2020

Hello Eileen, we're sorry to hear that you feel this way, but we appreciate your feedback. If you have any further suggestions on how we can improve, please let us know. For more information on the 90 Day Money Back Guarantee, feel free to reach out to me at [email protected] If you are still having trouble reaching my email, please feel free to call our customer service line at (800) 852-0477 and they can assist you as well. I am sorry for this inconvenience!

December 27, 2020

There is no customer service - it's all their trained scam artists.

Comment on this review...

Spot diminisher

June 9, 2020

I am disappointed with the results of having purchased and applied two bottles of the spot diminisher. I wrote to Dr Gundry’s website several times, and all I received was an apology.

At one point, I was told I could return the bottles, but they had obviously been used while seeking a result. I don’t like to be had. When a product is good, I says so.

But what I do not like are sites that sell products which are expensive and they do not give the announced result.

View all 4 Comments
June 18, 2020

Hi Eileen, we're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience. We understand that while the majority of our customers are happy with our products, everyone is different. Just a reminder that if you are not 100% satisfied with your experience, we do have a 90 Day Money Back Guarantee. Please email me at [email protected] if you’d like more information. We would love to learn more about what you experienced and help resolve your issue. Have a great day!

June 18, 2020

Hi Eileen, we're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience. We understand that while the majority of our customers are happy with our products, everyone is different. Just a reminder that if you are not 100% satisfied with your experience, we do have a 90 Day Money Back Guarantee. Please email me at [email protected] if you’d like more information, or have any questions, comments, or concerns. Have a great day!

June 19, 2020

Hello and thank you for responding. I believe that when advertisements attest to miraculous results and show it through video, then that should happen. This was not my case and I truly thought this would work. I do think that for a product of the price that you indicate, it should do the trick. I see no significant difference, so a commercial gesture on your part would be appreciated.

Regards
Eileen Morilleau

June 19, 2020

Hello and thank you for responding. I believe that when advertisements attest to miraculous results and show it through video, then that should happen. This was not my case and I truly thought this would work. I do think that for a product of the price that you indicate, it should do the trick. I see no significant difference, so a commercial gesture on your part would be appreciated.

Regards
Eileen Morilleau

PS/ your email came back with a "failure for delivery". This does not confirm my confidence.

Comment on this review...

I Love Dr Gundry

May 30, 2020

I have read the Plant Paradox and the Longevity Paradox and have followed his Plant Paradox eating program for almost 2 years. His is the first diet that I have followed that was almost effortless, no cravings for foods not on the "recommended" list.
I lost 25 lbs and have maintained this level. Yes, I cheat once in awhile now because I can! I stay on the diet for health reasons now, not for additional weight loss.

I have tried several of the products, some worked for me, some did not. I did try the spot diminish er, maybe I didn't try it long enough, but I didn't see much difference. Another product did not agree with me. I have never had a problem getting thru the phone lines, and the reps have always been very helpful. Currently I only use the Vitamin D and the Lectin shield, which is use when I am going to cheat on the Paradox diet.

This man is a genius in my opinion. If you want to lose weight and improve your health at the same time do the Plant Paradox diet. It was a godsend for me!
I have tried many diets over the years, this was the easiest one I have found! It doesn't seem like it when you read the allowed foods list, but once you start it's very easy!

View all 3 Comments
June 18, 2020

Hi Nina, we sincerely appreciate your kind words. Thank you for your support. Have a great day!

June 18, 2020

Hi Nina, we appreciate your kind words! Thank you for your support. Have a great day!

February 24, 2021

Nina must be his daughter.

Comment on this review...

Mouthy Scam Artist. Shut him up!

May 29, 2020

Most of all this guy says nothing and never shuts up. Complete waste of time and his "come-on" headlines are just stupid.

June 18, 2020

Hello Candee, we're sorry to hear you feel this way. We appreciate your feedback. If you have any further suggestions on how we can improve, please let us know.

Comment on this review...

Absence of Customer Support

May 19, 2020

I just attempted to place an order for Total Restore and had my first order attempt with my Debit card declined. I then tried my MasterCard credit card and it too was declined. About 3 minutes following my credit card order I received a test from my Capital One and the charge was "Approved".

I then checked with my bank and saw that my first order via Debit Card was also processed and charged against my checking account. I spent 33 minutes on hold to speak with a customer "support" person (Margarita) only to be told that there was nothing she could do.

I then spent another 35 minutes on hold waiting for an online support person to text with me. He (Kelsey) said the same thing. Nothing he could do. He suggested that I contact my bank and credit card company to reverse the charges.

I would suggest that Dr. Gundry go back to school and get a degree in business/marketing or stay a surgeon and get out of business operations. I wouldn't let Dr. Gundry remove a sliver let alone perform heart surgery on me.

View all 2 Comments
May 23, 2020

I had the same situation. Thanks for sharing

June 18, 2020

Hi Allen, we sincerely apologize for this mishap. Please email me directly at [email protected] with your order number and I will assist you with this issue!

Comment on this review...

A Real Scam

May 6, 2020

I ordered the Dark Spot Diminisher and have not seen
any progress at all after several weeks. in addition, it is virtually impossible to get in contact with anyone either by e-mail or by phone. I would not recommend Gundry MD to even my worst enemy.

View all 3 Comments
June 09, 2020

I have had the same experience unfortunately before seeing your review.

June 18, 2020

Hello Robert, we're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience. We understand that while the majority of our customers are happy with our products, everyone is different. Just a reminder that if you are not 100% satisfied with your experience, we do have a 90 Day Money Back Guarantee. Please email me at [email protected] if you’d like more information, or have any questions, comments, or concerns.

June 19, 2020

Everything that you mentioned in this message is absolutely false because I have tried before various times, and nothing has been done to satisfy me. The main thing that is very disturbing is that nobody in your organization will ever respond to customers complains, and you will never answer your phone. On one particular case, I waited for 45 minutes and NO ANSWER. Like many other customers have said before, Gundry MD is just a scam.

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review

 
  • We’re partnering with OneTreePlanted.org to plant a tree for every review posted on Reviewopedia. When you add your review to Reviewopedia you’re not only helping other customers, but our planet too!