G Plans Reviews

G Plans
( 119 reviews )
Website: www.G-Plans.com

G Plans Review: Does it Work?

Reviewopedia staff  -  Updated:  July 18, 2023

 

G-Plans (formerly Goglia Nutrition), headed by Dr. Philip Goglia, is a San Diego based nutrition company offering 'metabolic type' personalized weekly meal plans.

Dr. Goglia states these plans rely on data, science, and his 30+ years of experience in nutrition.

Below we take a closer look at what the G-Plans diet claims, customer reviews, and analyze whether or not it's a good idea to trust them with your health plan.

How Does G-Plans Work?

The company claims that their combination of technology, nutrition planning, and supplements can provide users with a clear path to overall health and weight-loss.

Dr. Goglia has used his popularity and reputation as “Nutritionist to the Stars” to grow the company quickly.  

He boasts about working with various celebrities who need to either lose weight or gain muscle for upcoming roles, and has been featured on the Dr. Oz show.

The program is based on the concept of 'Metabolic Typing', the idea that an individualized approach to weight-loss, based on a person’s unique metabolic type, will yield the best results.

Goglia claims that this scientific approach can increase metabolic efficiency and fight the body’s urge to hoard and store fat as a response to poor eating patterns.

He goes on to state that the best way to change your body is to eat the right foods at the right times in the right amounts, and that his personalized G-Plans will inform you how to do so.

This starts with the G-Plans quiz which asks a variety of questions about your body’s metrics, eating habits, exercise routines, digestion, and other details.

This information is used to place you in one of three categories that will determine your optimal macronutrient (Fat, Protein, Carbohydrate) ratios.

 

  • Fat and Protein Efficient  -  This body type processes fats and proteins better than carbs, so your meal plan will be heavier on proteins.  According to Dr. Goglia this is the most common metabolic type.

 

  • Carbohydrate Efficient  -  This body type metabolizes carbohydrates more efficiently than fats and proteins, meaning that optimal macro ratios will be about 70% carbs, about 20% protein, and about 10% fat.

    This type of diet will also influence your exercise plan to be more focused on endurance activities instead of weight training.

 

  • Dual Efficient - This is the least common body type and requires a balanced meal plan and an exercise plan of endurance and weight lifting.

 

Once you have your profile and become a G Plans member, you will get customized meals plans delivered to you every seven days.

You will also get access to tracking tools to help track your weight loss and fat loss progress. 

G-Plans promises fat loss of at least 1.5% per week (and often much more) when you begin following their plan.

Dietary Restrictions and Safety

The website states that G-Plans meal plans can be tailored to fit the following conditions and diets:

  • Hypothyroidism
  • Cardiovascular diseases (diabetes, high cholesterol, high blood pressure, etc.)
  • Esophageal Reflux or GERD
  • Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS)
  • GI disorders
  • Allergies/Intolerances  
  • Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS)
  • Specialty Diets (vegetarian, vegan, paleo, etc.)


Foods to Avoid

The meal plans allow for a wide array of healthy foods, however they encourage you to avoid the following foods:

  • Yeast
  • Gluten
  • Dairy


According to Goglia, these ingredients can wreak havoc on the digestive systems, resulting in inflammation, bloating, cramping, indigestion, auto-immune responses, allergies, unstable blood sugar, mental fog, and other conditions.  

Goglia goes on to say that you should avoid any foods that contain mold, such as mushrooms, sauerkraut, etc.

Foods to Eat

Some examples of foods high on Dr. Goglia’s recommended list include: Asparagus, garlic, onions, fish, alternative milks, and tomatoes.

Note:  If you do have any of the aforementioned conditions you might have to do some serious meal plan customizing as a lot of G-Plan recommended foods are high on the FODMAP list and may trigger issues like IBS. 

 

Pros & Cons of G Plans

There are a lot of things to like about the G Plans diet, but unfortunately there are equally as many red flags.

Pros

One thing that stands out for us is that under the G-Plans diet you will eat to stimulate your metabolism and not severely limit your caloric intake in an effort to lose weight.

Low calorie diets often lead to poor adherence amongst individuals, may actually slow down your metabolism and trigger fat storage, and can lead to intense food cravings.

G-Plans states that they are not an intermittent fasting program and highly encourage their members to not go more than 3.5 hours without eating.

Cons

The main issue wit the G Plans diet is that there is not enough evidence or medical consensus that Metabolic Typing is real, or that it can help you lose weight.

Variations of this idea have been around for decades but there has been little to prove the theory's effectiveness.

While it makes sense that an individualistic approach to weight loss can be effective, there aren’t medical studies that show 'metabolic-type diets' are more effective than other types of diets.

Another issue is that G Plans uses an online quiz to determine your 'Metabolic Type', and it's unclear whether such a quiz would be effective at determining a metabolic type (assuming such a thing exists).

Typically a medical metabolic test to estimate basal metabolic rate (BMR) consists of a 10 minute breathing lab test or a comprehensive metabolic blood panel.

An alternative is the Harris-Benedict Equation, which uses basic information such as sex, age, height, weight in its formula to come up with a BMR estimate. 

However, studies have found that “...prediction equations were inaccurate in various clinical settings”.

On G-Plans.com the company has a disclaimer regarding their customers' success stories that states,

These users exercised daily and ate a well-rounded diet. Their fat loss is not typical.”

G Plans Reviews & Complaints

Dr. Goglia’s book, Turn Up The Heat: Unlock the Fat-Burning Power of Your Metabolism, currently has a rating of 4.0/5 on Amazon.

Negative reviews for G-Plans mainly revolve around billing issues and complaints from customers not receiving refunds for the upgraded programs or supplements which do not come with a money back guarantee.

G-Plans receives mixed to generally negative reviews from customers on a number of different reviews websites, including on Reviewopedia, which you can read below.

There are also positive reviews from customers that mention G-Plans helped them lose weight and stay on track with a healthy diet plan.  Customers also had high praise for the head nutritionist at G-Plans and found her very helpful.

Other G-Plan reviews pointed out additional issues with the program, complaining that the company uses a lot of upsell techniques and aggressively pushes their line of supplements.

They also pointed out some of the marketing gimmicks G-Plans use to convince buyers they’re getting a scientifically proven diet plan.

G-Plans Costs & Refunds

Customers have 4 options when it comes to using this company’s meal plans.

  1. Food Management, Calorie Counter & Exercise Journal (Free)  -  Basic limited access to the app and these tools is available for free.


  2. Maintenance Plan ($9.99/month)  -  Includes everything in the free version with no limitations on use and allows access to more advanced tracking tools and features.


  3. Pro Plan ($39.99/month)  -  This is the full G-Plans experience, providing users with customized weekly meal plans and all the tools to closely follow their diet. 

    The Pro Plan Includes everything in the previous plans but is tailored to your metabolic type.


  4. Managed Plan ($299.00/month)  -  This plan offers access to a G-Plans in-house nutrition expert who will provide coaching and manual adjustments to your meal plans and assistance with using the app and tracking tools via a one hour weekly phone consultation.

 

Refunds

There are a few important billing aspects to be aware of when signing up for G-Plans.  

All plans will automatically bill for up to 12 months.  You can cancel at any time and will be billed for the current month but not any further.

Remember that if you signed up for the app via the Apple Store or Google Play you have to cancel your subscription through those platforms.

If you signed up directly through G-Plans.com you can simply go to your account, click on settings, look under the “Your Membership” section and click “Cancel Account.”

The Pro Plan monthly subscription comes with a 30 day money back guarantee.  You can cancel within the first 30 days and get a full $39.99 refund.

Note:  If you accept any membership subscription upgrades like the Power Plan, Annual Plan, or Trial Plan they will not come with this 30 day money back offer.

Customer Service

If you would like to contact Customer Service with any questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by


Email:  [email protected]
Phone:  619) 220-9009


There is also a help center with a detailed FAQ on their website which covers billing issues and other issues  you may have with the app or meal plans.

The business address is:

Goglia Nutrition, LLC - G-PLANS.COM
415 W G St. San Diego, CA 92101

The company also runs a Facebook Support Group where customers can connect with other G-Plan dieters and get extra help and motivation.

Competitors and Alternatives

There are many approaches to picking the right diet for your personal circumstances, whether it is eating for your blood type, eating for your exercise preferences, eating a special diet for specific body changes, and more.

One popular option is Noom, which offers a lot of the same food tracking and logging functions as G Plans but has a focus on breaking bad eating habits and rewiring food cravings.

Is G-Plans Worth It?

As with most diet plans, much of the success is predicated on your own personal habits, discipline, and dedication.

However, G-Plans has a lot of negative reviews from customers who feel they were taken advantage of. 

Further, there isn’t enough clear evidence that Metabolic-Type diets are any more effective than a regimen that encourages intuitive clean eating, cuts out processed foods, eliminates sugars, and encourages daily exercise.

There are also a lot of free meal plans available online that you can experiment with to find a way of eating that works best for you.

If you have any experience with G Plans or their services, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

G Plans Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

SCAM WILL TAKE YOUR MONEY
February 14, 2024

This company is a scam. I've been trying to cancel my subscription for 3 months! I was told I would be refunded a month ago and today they deducted from my account AGAIN!

BEWARE!
February 10, 2024

Beware! Bait and switch tactics can also be referred to as deceptive pricing, false advertising, or misleading promotions. Other terms for similar tactics include price gouging, price fixing, false representation, and deceptive marketing.

As a potential customer of Futurhealth.com and Dr. Phillip Goglia, I have to share that I am extremely disappointed in their false advertising and bait and switch tactics.

I clicked on the 129.00 option to sign up for the 129.00 monthly plan, only to be charged a staggering 594.00. This is completely unacceptable and deceitful.

Furthermore, the website claimed that Ozempic would be available or a generic compound of the same ingredient.

"Has a generic version of Ozempic been approved?

No. There is currently no therapeutically equivalent version of Ozempic available in the United States.

Note: Fraudulent online pharmacies may attempt to sell an illegal generic version of Ozempic. These medications may be counterfeit and potentially unsafe. If you purchase medications online, be sure you are buying from a reputable and valid online pharmacy. Ask your health care provider for advice if you are unsure about the online purchase of any medication."

Reference

https://www.drugs.com/availability/generic-ozempic.html

Please do your due diligence and you will learn that there is no generic compound available (there is no such thing), making this claim a blatant lie. Please do not allow yourself to be scammed and misled by this company and their false promises.

Please urge anyone considering utilizing Futurhealth.com and Dr. Phillip Goglia's services to beware of the deceptive practices. Do not trust the advertising and be wary of being charged more than what was originally agreed upon.

This experience has left me feeling obligated to share what happened. As a consumer, please make a wise choice and avoid this company at all costs.

Will charge you for things you didn't order!!!
November 21, 2023

Canceled my plan over six months ago because it was too expensive. Thought everything was cleared, but I received an unauthorized charge on my bank account where they billed me for supplements that I didn't order!

Waiting to hear something back from company (which you have to email) There is no contact telephone number in the Help Center information!

With all the trouble I have had with unauthorized billing of Items I Did Not Order, I would never recommend this company or it products to anyone! It is not a costumer friendly company.

TOTAL Rip-off Scam
August 31, 2023
WORST customer service ever! Gave one star because it was required. They genuinely deserve no stars. A total rip off. No real access to anyone in person. Not confident meds are real or FDA approved as pharmacy that sent meds NEVER EVER answers the phone. Just a recording that says they're not available at the moment.

JanetLevinson October 11, 2023

the customer service is terrible - so bad there probably is no one there at all. Insane. Food sucks too. Pharmacy they use cannot be contacted. total rip off.

They Will Steal Your Money!
July 18, 2023

I signed up not realizing it was a monthly charge of $39. I thought it was a 1 time charge. So I canceled immediately and got the $39 refunded. But come to find out 4 months later, they were still charging me the monthly fee of $39, for a total of $156. I reached out to the company via email and they keep giving me the same answer of how cancelation must happen within 30 days to get refund, not looking or listening to me that I had canceled right away. They refused my rightful refund and quit answering my emails. If you proceed, make sure to watch your account to make sure they quit charging if you cancel!

DrJ August 15, 2023

It’s a rip off. Food is TERRIBLE poor packaging and it’s mush when it gets here. Very expensive. And the meds! I was supposed to get one of the diet meds. Instead I got nausea pills for chemo patients. Canceling is a nightmare. Phone number is useless and so is the text option. SAVE YOUR MONEY

dnh August 31, 2023

Food is absolutely terrible. Looks like vomit. Wish I would've read reviews before I succumbed to click-bait.

FRAUD
June 9, 2023

Fraud. Its a scam to get your personal info, you can't cancel your account as they try to claim a legal right to ownership of your personal information. And that is as an EU citizen protected by GDPR and having not actually received any product and having to fight to get my initial purchase price refunded. Cancellation was confirmed at that time.

Fast forward a year and they try to auto-renew, 2 different customer service reps say they have cancelled my account, only to receive notice of downgrade-to-free account and a whole new round of spam marketing. I have repeatedly asked for deletion of my personal data, as GDPR requires, and their story constantly changes about the status of my account as they continue to claim right of ownership of my personal information.

Moving to legal action for deletion as that is the only way this extremely shady company will ever stop exploiting my personal data.

This company rips you off
June 7, 2023

This is a totally bogus site. Do not get caught up with all the bells and Whistles. They charge you for the 1st month and then when you upgrade, they keep the original payment and charge you for the year. When I challenged this, I was told that I had agreed to this in terms and conditions. I didn't read all the fine print. Do NOT buy into this garbage. There are other plans out there that do not rip you off and then smile sweetly at you.

DO NOT BUY INTO THIS GARBAGE.

Hate it
June 5, 2023
Horrible! Expensive and they nickel and dime you for everything. Customer service is never available and they make it hard to cancel your account. Do not buy!

Cannot Cancel product
May 23, 2023

My wife unfortunately got this, it wasn't for her...been trying to cancel for 2 weeks no answer or can't get through.

DO NOT USE G PLANS!!! CHECK BBB
May 19, 2023

FRAUD LIES THIEVES!!! READ REVIEWS AND STAY AWAY!!!!! Absolutely the worst so called business I’ve ever dealt with by far!

I signed up for some reason without looking at reviews first. I always look at reviews and for some reason I did not and that was my first mistake.

My second and biggest mistake was actually signing up with them. But you don’t actually know for sure that you signed up. You enter your credit card information and then once you do that, there’s that little box of terms and conditions that’s a whole bunch of mumbo-jumbo that you have to click and then it will say Access My Plan.

As soon as you hit that button boom you’re signed up for things you don’t realize you signed up for. There is no button that says confirm payment there’s no button that says by this plan. Nothing obvious that you’re actually committing and purchasing.

The website is very deceiving and fraudulent. I signed up for the pro plan which was only for one month for $39.99 money back and guaranteed no questions asked. So I thought I’ll give it a try . Then I was asked if I wanted to try a box of five free meals.

All I would have to pay is the $10.99 shipping so I gave that a try. Then less than a week later, they charge my card $75.94 at that time I realized I wanted to cancel because they were being very sneaky so I went to the app to cancel but surprise surprise a note popped up that said, since you are on the pro plan you need to call us.

Well that’s a real big joke because nobody ever answers the phone. I was trying for weeks to call so they tell us then to try the chat option. Oh I tried that many times and it took a week for somebody to answer, they told me that when I signed up for the free box of food that I committed to four weeks of meals which would cost me $75.94 every four weeks but good news if I wanted to cancel I could and would only be a $59 break up fee.

So again I was trying to email and call with no response to try and cancel my plan. Finally a day after I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. I got an email and he explained to me that when I signed up for the 5 free meals I also signed up for this 4 week commitment. I asked him to please show me on the website or anywhere in the terms and conditions that it said this is what I signed up for so he sent me a typed response that said “free meal”box terms and conditions, and that said the same thing that he told me.

So I asked him where I could find that and see it with my own eyes somewhere on the app or on the website but he never responded so the next day which is today I got a response from another person asking her the same thing and this went on for over an hour back-and-forth and she said that they are very transparent and that you need to read the terms and conditions before you sign up. I told her to show me the paragraph and the terms and conditions, which I did read, that says I commit to four weeks of meals, I asked her also if she could send me a screenshot of where I agreed to that when I signed up.

She then sent screenshot of a little box with the information in it. I asked where I could find that, and then she told me at the top of the app, I have to hit the little box and it will pop up , I did that exact thing and I took a screen shot of what I found and there was nothing about me committing to four weeks of meals. I told her this and then she told me well.

It only was there when you received your first box of free meals after that, it disappears since you already committed. Tell me that this does not sound like a class action lawsuit, and I will be looking into this further.

HUGE SCAM!!! Don't do it!
May 14, 2023

Do NOT join this plan. It is not at all what they say they do. They charge you something different than what you click on and when you try and cancel there are all these hidden fees that you have to pay. There is not real live support. They say you'll get a real coach but you don't you just get videos....they say that there is a nutritionist but they want your health insurance information for some reason and then you get no contact if you don't give them the information. You sign up for a week of food and come to find out you locked into ordering food for four weeks, and the food isn't that good. To get out of the 4 week delivery it cost you 59$???? No where did it say when I was ordering the food that was the case. I can't reach anyone by phone and to order my type of PRO PLAN, it must be done via representative.....and then you can't get anyone via phone.

IT IS A TOTAL SCAM!

Kim May 19, 2023

Read my review above. Apparently when you sign up for the free box, you also commit to four weeks of meals at $75.94 each week. I’ve asked them to screenshot me a picture of the website as to where it says this, but they can’t. They only send me a picture of a box that apparently shows up at the top of the app when you receive your five free meals, and then after you receive your five free meals that notification goes away that tells you that you commit to four more weeks at full price. You will never get anybody on the phone so you just have to email and the only time they got back to me by email was after I filed a complaint with the BBB. It’s the biggest scam I’ve ever seen.

SCAMMERS
May 12, 2023
BEWARE!!! Total SCAMMERS!!!! They have a lot of legalize to protect them from having to refund customers for any reason. I tried to dispute the charges. I tried to cancel and they are fully protected from ever having to refund any charges.

Kim May 19, 2023

File a dispute with your credit card company or bank. Let them know all about their deceiving ways. Going to look into what it takes for a class action lawsuit for all the legal stuff that they have there has to be something somewhere that a lawyer can find. But until then we just have to keep letting everybody know what’s thieves and scammers they are.

Asking to cancel
May 12, 2023

OK you asked for it. I am requesting my money back. I have returned the pills that I ordered . There is no fool like and old fool and that is how I am feeling.. Am no good at computers and when I asked for someone to help me No response I hope it is a good diet, but I will never know.

Kim May 19, 2023

Oh no it’s not just you. It’s absolutely everybody that’s joined. If there are any positive reviews out there, I guarantee you they are family of whoever owns this fraudulent company. The BBB revoked their accreditation everywhere you look the reviews are horrible. I’m just so sorry. I didn’t look at reviews before I signed up. I usually do and this time I didn’t.:(

Unethical Company
May 8, 2023

I signed up for the pro-plan. It was stated in the policy upon signing up, that there is a 30 day money back guarantee. It was under 24 hours of signing up that I realized that the plan and the app where horrendous. I had to call consistently, every hour, for over 2 days to get a hold of someone on the phone, Octavia was her name. She told me that I could not get a refund because I received a new member discount. This was NEVER mentioned anywhere in their refund policy. Steer clear of this company. They are a bunch of cheats. In fact, The better business bureau has received so many complaints, that this company has been downgraded to "unaccredited" with a grade of "F"

Kim May 19, 2023

They are the worst!

Read reviews from third party sources before buying!
April 20, 2023

I bought this thinking it would help me figure out what foods to eat for my metabolism and help me lose weight for a reasonable price.

I should have known that $39 was too good to be true. It asked if I wanted to upgrade to the Pro Plan and pay $17 with no further explanation. I said yes thinking I can afford $17 a month.

Then my card gets charged $189.00 and I get a fraud alert text from my bank. Red flags all over the place. I proceed to the BBB page to check out G-Plans reviews and claims and I was met with dozens of complaints saying it was a scam and nearly impossible to cancel.

I disputed the charge and reported them as fraud. I hope others look more into this before they purchase. Lesson learned.

Scam - can’t cancel plan
April 12, 2023
I’ve called and tried to cancel plan via chat since I was unable to cancel on the app. I was urged to call. Can’t get a live person and no return call. Same with their chat. It’s been over a week!

Kim May 19, 2023

Someone finally emailed me from there only after I submitted a complaint to the Better Business Bureau and I tried for weeks to get a hold of someone prior to that. So just go on there and file a complaint and only takes a few minutes. Good luck.

Wate of time and Money
March 18, 2023
Too costly, not helpful, pushy and hard to cancel. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!

Roshini March 29, 2023

Oh my god! It’s so ridiculously hard to cancel. Makes you think it’s fraudulent!

Misleading program
February 24, 2023

G- plans is a scam. Canceled membership within a week . To cancel I was charge 59 dollars. I spent $40 when signed up, $79 for don’t know why, $10 for shipping of 5 small meals. All this is one week. I wouldn’t recommend this program.

Do Not Buy!
December 26, 2022

Not what they promised. No refund given after canceled for a week. Had to call again AFTER I was charged the 39.00 and was told I would not receive a refund. DON'T BUY

Company is not legit nor do they abide by their word.

Do not buy
December 16, 2022

I bought this, was charged $190.00 to download an app. can't get passed step 2 on the app. I wrote, they told me they do not give out refunds. DO NOT Buy this plan.