G Plans Reviews

G Plans
( 101 reviews )
Website: www.G-Plans.com

G-Plans (formerly Goglia Nutrition), headed by Dr. Philip Goglia, is a San Diego based nutrition company offering 'metabolic type' personalized weekly meal plans that Dr. Goglia states rely on data, science, and his 30+ years of experience in nutrition.

The company claims that their combination of technology, nutrition planning, and supplements can provide users with a clear path to overall health and weight-loss.

Dr. Goglia has used his popularity and reputation as “Nutritionist to the Stars” to grow the company quickly.  He boasts about working with various celebrities who need to either lose weight or gain muscle for upcoming roles, and has been featured on the Dr. Oz show.

Below we take a closer look at what the G-Plans diet claims, customer reviews, and analyze whether or not it's a good idea to trust them with your health plan.

How Does G-Plans Work?

The program is based on the concept of 'Metabolic Typing', the idea that an individualized approach to weight-loss, based on a person’s unique metabolic type, will yield the best results.

Goglia claims that this scientific approach can increase metabolic efficiency and fight the body’s urge to hoard and store fat as a response to poor eating patterns.

He goes on to state that the best way to change your body is to eat the right foods at the right times in the right amounts, and that his personalized G-Plans will inform you how to do so.

This starts with the G-Plans quiz which asks a variety of questions about your body’s metrics, eating habits, exercise routines, digestion, and other details.

This information is used to place you in one of three categories that will determine your optimal macronutrient (Fat, Protein, Carbohydrate) ratios.

  • Fat and Protein Efficient - This body type processes fats and proteins better than carbs, so your meal plan will be heavier on proteins.  According to Dr. Goglia this is the most common metabolic type.

  • Carbohydrate Efficient - This body type metabolizes carbohydrates more efficiently than fats and proteins, meaning that optimal macro ratios will be about 70% carbs, about 20% protein, and about 10% fat.

    This type of diet will also influence your exercise plan to be more focused on endurance activities instead of weight training.
  • Dual Efficient - This is the least common body type and requires a balanced meal plan and an exercise plan of endurance and weight lifting.

Once you have your profile and become a G Plans member, you will get customized meals plans delivered to you every seven days.

You will also get access to tracking tools to help track your weight loss and fat loss progress.  G-Plans promises fat loss of at least 1.5% per week (and often much more) when you begin following their plan.

G-Plans Programs and Costs

Customers have 4 options when it comes to using this company’s meal plans.

  1. Food Management, Calorie Counter & Exercise Journal (Free) - Basic limited access to the app and these tools is available for free.

  2. Maintenance Plan ($9.99/month) - Includes everything in the free version with no limitations on use and allows access to more advanced tracking tools and features.

  3. Pro Plan ($39.99/month) - This is the full G-Plans experience, providing users with customized weekly meal plans and all the tools to closely follow their diet.  The Pro Plan Includes everything in the previous plans but is tailored to your metabolic type.

  4. Managed Plan ($299.00/month) - This plan offers access to a G-Plans in-house nutrition expert who will provide coaching and manual adjustments to your meal plans and assistance with using the app and tracking tools via a one hour weekly phone consultation.

The company also runs a Facebook Support Group where customers can connect with other G-Plan dieters and get extra help and motivation.

Customer Service 

There are a few important billing aspects to be aware of when signing up for G-Plans.  All plans will automatically bill for up to 12 months.  You can cancel at any time and will be billed for the current month but not any further.

Remember that if you signed up for the app via the Apple Store or Google Play you have to cancel your subscription through those platforms.

If you signed up directly through G-Plans.com you can simply go to your account, click on settings, look under the “Your Membership” section and click “Cancel Account.”

Refunds

The Pro Plan monthly subscription comes with a 30 day money back guarantee.  You can cancel within the first 30 days and get a full $39.99 refund.

Note:  If you accept any membership subscription upgrades like the Power Plan, Annual Plan, or Trial Plan they will not come with this 30 day money back offer.

If you would like to contact Customer Service with any questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by email at [email protected].  At this time there was no phone number listed on the company website.

There is also a help center with a detailed FAQ on their website which covers billing issues and other issues  you may have with the app or meal plans.

The business address is:

Goglia Nutrition, LLC - G-PLANS.COM
415 W G St. San Diego, CA 92101

Dietary Restrictions and Safety

The website states that G-Plans meal plans can be tailored to fit the following conditions and diets:

  • Hypothyroidism
  • Cardiovascular diseases (diabetes, high cholesterol, high blood pressure, etc.)
  • Esophageal Reflux or GERD
  • Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS)
  • GI disorders
  • Allergies/Intolerances  
  • Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS)
  • Specialty Diets (vegetarian, vegan, paleo, etc.)

Foods to Eat/Avoid:

The meal plans allow for a wide array of healthy foods, however they encourage you to avoid the following foods:

  • Yeast
  • Gluten
  • Dairy

According to Goglia, these ingredients can wreak havoc on the digestive systems, resulting in inflammation, bloating, cramping, indigestion, auto-immune responses, allergies, unstable blood sugar, mental fog, and other conditions.  

Goglia goes on to say that you should avoid any foods that contain mold, such as mushrooms, sauerkraut, etc.

Foods to Eat:

Some examples of foods high on Dr. Goglia’s recommended list include: Asparagus, garlic, onions, fish, alternative milks, and tomatoes.

Note: If you do have any of the aforementioned conditions you might have to do some serious meal plan customizing as a lot of G-Plan recommended foods are high on the FODMAP list and may trigger issues like IBS. 

Does G Plans Work?

There are a lot of things to like about the G Plans diet, but unfortunately there are equally as many red flags.

Pros

One thing that stands out for us is that under the G-Plans diet you will eat to stimulate your metabolism and not severely limit your caloric intake in an effort to lose weight.

Low calorie diets often lead to poor adherence amongst individuals, may actually slow down your metabolism and trigger fat storage, and can lead to intense food cravings.

G-Plans states that they are not an intermittent fasting program and highly encourage their members to not go more than 3.5 hours without eating.

Cons

The main issue wit the G Plans diet is that there is not enough evidence or medical consensus that Metabolic Typing is real, or that it can help you lose weight.

Variations of this idea have been around for decades but there has been little to prove the theory's effectiveness.

While it makes sense that an individualistic approach to weight loss can be effective, there aren’t medical studies that show 'metabolic-type diets' are more effective than other types of diets.

Another issue is that G Plans uses an online quiz to determine your 'Metabolic Type', and it's unclear whether such a quiz would be effective at determining a metabolic type (assuming such a thing exists).

Typically a medical metabolic test to estimate basal metabolic rate (BMR) consists of a 10 minute breathing lab test or a comprehensive metabolic blood panel.

An alternative is the Harris-Benedict Equation, which uses basic information such as sex, age, height, weight in its formula to come up with a BMR estimate.  However, studies have found that “...prediction equations were inaccurate in various clinical settings”.

On G-Plans.com the company has a disclaimer regarding their customers' success stories that states,

These users exercised daily and ate a well-rounded diet. Their fat loss is not typical.”

G Plans Reviews & Complaints

Dr. Goglia’s book, Turn Up The Heat: Unlock the Fat-Burning Power of Your Metabolism, currently has a rating of 4.0/5 on Amazon.

Negative reviews for G-Plans mainly revolve around billing issues and complaints from customers not receiving refunds for the upgraded programs or supplements which do not come with a money back guarantee.

G-Plans receives mixed to generally negative reviews from customers on a number of different reviews websites, including on Reviewopedia, which you can read below.

There are also positive reviews from customers that mention G-Plans helped them lose weight and stay on track with a healthy diet plan.  Customers also had high praise for the head nutritionist at G-Plans and found her very helpful.

Other G-Plan reviews pointed out additional issues with the program, complaining that the company uses a lot of upsell techniques and aggressively pushes their line of supplements.

They also pointed out some of the marketing gimmicks G-Plans use to convince buyers they’re getting a scientifically proven diet plan.

Competitors and Alternatives

There are many approaches to picking the right diet for your personal circumstances, whether it is eating for your blood type, eating for your exercise preferences, eating a special diet for specific body changes, and more.

One popular option is Noom, which offers a lot of the same food tracking and logging functions as G=Plans but has a focus on breaking bad eating habits and rewiring food cravings.

Is G-Plans Worth It?

As with most diet plans, much of the success is predicated on your own personal habits, discipline, and dedication.

However, G-Plans has a lot of negative reviews from customers who feel they were taken advantage of. 

Further, there isn’t enough clear evidence that Metabolic-Type diets are any more effective than a regimen that encourages intuitive clean eating, cuts out processed foods, eliminates sugars, and encourages daily exercise.

There are also a lot of free meal plans available online that you can experiment with to find a way of eating that works best for you.

If you have any experience with G Plans or their services, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

G Plans Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Do Not Buy!
December 26, 2022

Not what they promised. No refund given after canceled for a week. Had to call again AFTER I was charged the 39.00 and was told I would not receive a refund. DON'T BUY

Company is not legit nor do they abide by their word.

Do not buy
December 16, 2022

I bought this, was charged $190.00 to download an app. can't get passed step 2 on the app. I wrote, they told me they do not give out refunds. DO NOT Buy this plan.

I hope this helps someone
November 2, 2022

I went with the pro plan for $39 and after a few days of playing with it found it to be a waste of time and money for what it offers. I also do not have the time to be making different meals for every meal (I am a leftover for lunch kind of person). I want to cook in bulk and have quick freezer meals.

Anyway, I responded to one of the text messages telling them this was not for me and that if it is a subscription I was not interested. I did not even know of the 30-day money back I just wanted to not have to pay any more for this bs.

I did get charged another $39 the following month and tried to chat with customer service but they were away. They did respond to me in email, and I asked to cancel and be refunded. They said it was past the 30-day money back and nothing could be done for a refund, that is how I found out about the 30-day money back. I asked if this could be escalated and was told that this Sheldon was the person that could help me and that he cannot do anything about it and that I will not be receiving a refund over and over again.

I called them on repeat during my lunch and finally someone picked up on the 5th try. They told me that nothing could be done and that their manager would say the same thing when I asked if there was someone else I could talk with. I then asked if there was someone above their manager that I could talk to and was placed on hold. They asked if they could call me back in 24-48 hours and I had a bad feeling like this could be a scam and was planning to call my credit card company if they would not refund me since the payment was still pending. I said that I really needed to talk to someone right now. I was placed on hold again. They asked if they could call be by the end of the business day and I replied that I did need to speak with someone now about this and that I did not mind waiting on hold. They came back and told me that the charge from that day had been reversed. I then asked about the first payment and if I could also be refunded for that one since I was unhappy with the product within the 30-days. Hold again but they did refund me for that one too.

If you get someone on the phone do not take no for an answer and do not let them call back.

I received emails about the credit and I did check my account and have a pending credit for $39 and the $39 pending charge went away.

Horrible
September 2, 2022

This might have been a good plan, but it isn't practical for everyone. Even though I wanted this to be a great thing for myself and I wanted to dive into it 100%. I just wasn't able to. I didn't have time to prepare the meals and everything, which is not the problem and isn't the reason I am giving this a 1 star.

The problem is that this company when I went to cancel my account, stated that I had to call and speak to someone about canceling. I figured okay fine, SO I called, and called, and called. I never spoke to someone. I had to have called at least 30 times. AT LEAST, and all I got was their company voicemail??? And yes I did leave plenty of messages. Left my number and everything. Did I get a return phone call? No. I had to cancel my card when I realized that the money for the account WAS STILL BEING TAKEN OUT OF MY BANK ACCOUNT.

I immediately put a stop payment on them and told my bank to send me a new card with new numbers. I was livid, and I tried calling again to see if I could get a refund. I figured that they should know who I am by now, what with the countless voicemails, and what do you NO ONE ANSWERED. again.

I would never recommend this plan to someone. I am still out of my money and the company has yet to contact me about where my money is and why they can't pull anything from the account to keep it active. I gave up on them responding to my voicemails. So please take this as a warning. Think twice before you start with this company I made the mistake and lost my money, let me be your lesson

SCAM!
August 22, 2022

This is the most bull crap thing ever, should be rated negative stars. I signed up through a Facebook add with a $100 off promo. I wanted to look into the app and the meal delivery.

I accepted a plan that was $180 and agreed to pay for $80 with $100 off promo. It also says when you buy that it is 100% refundable in the first 30 days if you decide you do not like it.

I fiddled around with it a couple days already deciding I wanted to cancel and get my $80 back. Then I find on my credit card statement that they had charged me $405!!

I have emailed them all multiple times. This is a huge scam. They said I signed up for all these other subscriptions and crap which I didn’t. They are refusing to refund any of it. I got an emailed recipe which showed I was charged $288, which I did not sign up for.

But even then, if I had agreed to $288 I was still over charged by over $100! When I asked for a list of the charges they keep changing what they are saying and how much everything is. This is the biggest scam ever!

JessicaBorovich August 26, 2022

Same thing happened to me I was charged $380 when I was told it would be $40 and got a receipt sent to my email for $40 once customer service responded through online chat (because it says no representative are available when you call their number) said there was nothing they could do, no refunds allowed and couldn't speak to a manager because they didn't know who their manager was and wasn't allowed to give their info. Bank couldn't do anything either. Had to go as far as to get a new card to prevent them from charging me anymore.

Peachy
August 20, 2022

I had to give a start to comment. They stole money out of my account. Hung up on me when I called them. I’m praying my bank can handle it. Do not give this company your bank info.

Kayla August 22, 2022

Same happened to me. Charged me over $400 when I only signed up for a plan for $80. Refused to refund anything

This is very close to CONSUMER FRAUD!!
August 10, 2022
Do NOT sign up for this subscription! You cannot cancel the plan no matter how hard you try. You can jump through all these hoops to cancel your plan and then after you have turned down multiple offers to keep the plan they tell you that you will have to call them to get it canceled. Then when you call to cancel it they don't have any reps available to help you.

Beware Total Scam Fraudulent Billing! No Refunds!
August 7, 2022

Minus 10 stars fraud fraud fraud...Beware of this scam, fake billing and no refunds. Run away fast...

Total Scam, And No Customer Service To Help!
August 4, 2022

What a SCAM I only went to purchase the Pro subscription for $29.00. but it kept prompting me to links to buy more of this and that and other services, I kept saying no thanks over and over, then I get charged $269 for a plan I DID NOT BUY OR WANT.

Immediately I called them, no answer, then I emailed them and texted the customer service, even though i say this mistake and contacted them that I did not get or want the $269 program, they said, too bad once you have been charged they can not cancel it, even though it was only 5 minutes from them charging me.

THIS IS A TOTAL SCAM, they only give you a bunch of recipes,, that is all, and a lot of bs, horrible customer service like no one calls you back, I had to write and call a dozen times, to only get a sorry but we can't do anything even though it was THEIR SYSTEM MISTAKE.

Deceptive practices
June 27, 2022

Your website information lists returns/refunds.

I called to get that and was told that there was no return/refund policy in place. Very misleading. I also received pills with no directions. Who would take pills not knowing when and how many to take.

You guys stiffed me. I hope no one else gets sucked in.

RaquelCarreras August 04, 2022

TOTALLY AGREE, they scammed me too, i only got a pro subscription they billed me for another one i called within 5 minutes of seeing the charge and they said sorry can't do anything and no refund,, they scammed me out of $268 for a bunch of nothing, recipes and protein powder,, grrrr

VickiHill August 20, 2022

How do we find out the owners contact info

Fraud charges
June 21, 2022

Do not sign up for this plan. They hide all the charges you will be charged for. I paid $78 for the meals. My account was charged an additional $151 and $98. They say it's non-refundable. I did not agree to any additional charges or a plan. If you click on the free trial apparently that's how they trick you. I've yet to receive an explanation of where these additional charges are pointed out when paying $78. They keep saying you signed up for the x-ccelerate plan that I did not sign up for.

Kitty July 25, 2022

This happened to me also. I only signed up for the $39 plan. I am disputing the charge through my credit card company.

RaquelCarreras August 04, 2022

same, total scam...

Scam
June 17, 2022

G plans/Dr. Goglia is a scam. You read through their online BS and when you finally decide you may want a subscription they give you a fee of $27 to purchase.

After that, you will get an email that states you have been charged $288. They refuse to give you a credit, they refuse to give your money back, they refused to cancel.

I finally called my credit card company who took care of the matter. Do not trust this company. You will not get your money back. You will pay $280 without being notified of that first.

VickiHill August 20, 2022

How did you get your credit card company to take care of it? Mines still pending

Scam
May 31, 2022

Do not fall for this. Total scam. The website is misleading and you will be out of a lot of money for an application that is useless and supplements you may not receive. Tell your friends to stay away from this.

Scam Beware
May 26, 2022

I would not give it any stars if that was a choice. It is a total scam, when you call customer service there is absolutely no way to contact anyone.

They charge you without telling you and it is not cheap for the service it provides- which is essentially a food log. No macros, no custom food recipes or calorie count. It is a huge scam.

Unauthorized Charges- Total Scam
May 18, 2022

Total scam they will charge you for upgrades that you said no to!!! When I saw they charged my card for $288 I was livid and emailed 7 times only to have someone say sorry no refunds- complete bull this company is a sham.

SheilaSaunders May 24, 2022

This is a scam. I agreed to a monthly payment of $20. 00 and that same day an unauthorized charge of $288.00 lump sum was taken out of my account. I called and emailed to cancel immediately but could not reach a rep nor was I able to make contact by email or online.

I have been repeatedly trying to get my money back by calling multiple times daily only to get a recording that took my name and number. As of today I have not received a contact in any way except 2×s I reached a rep whom both were no help at all.

All they would say is they wouldn't refund my money in a matter-of-fact, uncaring way. Totally unsuccessful solving the matter. On their own admittance the last rep I talked with said she gets call after call with the same complaint.

Bottom line is G Plan took an unauthorized payment out of my bank in the amount of 288 dollars. DON'T LET THEM SCAM YOU!!

RachaelNally May 31, 2022

I got scammed also. VERY misleading. My question is, I purchased a supplement package. When I clicked on the code to get a % off, I will still charged the $98. Does anyone ever get the supplements? I feel so foolish for falling for this.

FrancesG Hess June 17, 2022

Did you call your credit card company?

Bait & Switch!! Stay away!!
May 11, 2022
They are misleading. I thought I was only getting charged $36 for plan & $20 for supplements. I got a $288 bill. I I inquired right away & asked to cancel. They are letting me cancel… next year… forcing me to pay the $288. Beyond disappointed in business practice!!

FrancesG Hess June 17, 2022

Call your credit card company! They should be able to deposit money back into your account and begin the investigation and dispute charges.

Scam ! Rip off !
May 8, 2022
This is a scam charged me over 300.00 that I didnot authorized I only wanted the 39.00 plan and my card was debited for 98.00 plus 151.00 plus 39.00 and they refuse to refund my money and I never recived the products I paid for total rip off !!

G-Plan scam
April 21, 2022
Less than 1 star!! Total scammers! Fraudulently charge you almost $300 and refuse to refund your money. DON'T believe a word they say. You may THINK you are getting a $39 plan, but they charge your credit card $288 and then say "you" signed up for it.

Scammers non refundable
April 19, 2022

I am giving this 0 stars, little did I know they will charge you so much! I have kids and wasn’t expecting to spend this much and they didn’t even give you a chance to review your order. Money is non refundable even though it doesn’t say that at all on the website, such scammers.

Never again for me, I am wanting to sue this company there’s so many people losing money… I’m glad I figured it out right away.

Victoria May 16, 2022

Same

Another victim - PLEASE REPORT THEM
April 8, 2022

Wish I could select 0 stars. Same scam, different victim.

My college age daughter selected the $39 option only to be hit with $400 deducted within 15 minutes. She never saw language that it was chargeable for a year and not refundable.

Same complaint from literally hundreds of others if you look at their reviews, BBB and FTC - so clearly, they are NOT clear and are misleading consumers. Urging the government to take action to shut this scam artist down. victims, report to BBB, FTC, your local Attorney General and the Justice Department. Call your local media.

Seeking justice for my daughter and the literally hundreds, probably thousands, of others injured by their deceptive trade practices.

Mariah April 19, 2022

I really wish I saw this… I wish there was something to do about it, online doesn’t say anything about it being nonrefundable, I am kinda wanting to sue just to get my money back and with the miscommunications