Ultimate Pet Nutrition Reviews

Ultimate Pet Nutrition, headed by Dr. Gary Ritcher, is a company marketing a line of pet food, pet nutritional supplements, and treats intended to improve pet health.

Dr. Ritcher is a leading holistic veterinarian in the pet nutrition movement.  Along with his book, The Ultimate Pet Health Guide, he has developed a powerful canine supplement called Nutra Thrive.

Products and Ingredients

The company’s product line aims to address a wide range of health issues and deficiencies that a modern dog may experience. They claim to do this through the use of:

  • Science backed ingredients
  • Grain free products
  • US based manufacturing
  • Independent 3rd-party product testing

Below we take a look at some of their best selling products to see what they can offer your furry friends.

Nutra Thrive For Dogs

Nutra Thrive is a bacon flavored powder supplement that provides 40 different healthy ingredients to support your dog’s whole body in a number of ways.

This canine supplement features a blend of four different probiotics to help balance the good and bad bacteria of your dog’s gut.

A healthy microbiome can improve and support a wide variety of bodily functions, even dental health and bad breath.  It also contains antioxidants, vitamins, and digestive enzymes that promote healthy digestion and are easy to absorb.

Along with digestive support, Nutra Thrive also contains a special immune boosting Superfood Blend that includes a blend of medicinal mushrooms and plants to provide necessary vitamins and minerals.

As well as a Super Canine Blend that provides essential vitamins and minerals that help boost your dog’s mood and energy, improve joint health, and support their heart and kidneys.

This is Ultimate Pet Nutrition’s flagship product and the one you’ve probably seen the most advertisements for.

It also has many positive reviews with customers claiming this supplement helped with issues such as:

  • Weight loss
  • Increasing energy
  • Stimulating appetite
  • Healthier looking coat
  • And even with dental hygiene

The company also makes a Nutra Thrive formula for Cats.  For more info check out our in depth Nutra Thrive For Dogs Review.

Nutra Complete Dog Food

This is a high end dog food that can be used as a primary food or as a topper.  The blend is 100% freeze dried and features a combination of raw beef, fruits, and vegetables.
 
They claim it includes 40 Veterinarian-Approved Ingredients that will maintain optimal digestion, energy levels, and your dog’s immune system.
 
Further, Ultimate Pet Nutrition explains that one of the key benefits to using freeze dried versus traditional kibble is in avoiding the consumption of Advanced Glycation End Products (AGEs).
 
Traditionally prepared dog food undergoes several rounds of extreme high heat cooking; this becomes an issue for two reasons.

First off, it strips the original ingredients of nutritional value forcing the companies to re-add nutrients after the cooking process.

Secondly, and more importantly, high heat cooking of animal proteins in the presence of sugar undergoes a chemical process known as the Maillard Reaction.

The negative outcomes of this, in regards to dog food, are the potential loss of essential amino acids that dogs rely on their diet for, and the creation of these Advanced Glycation End Products.
 
The prolonged ingestion of AGEs can lead to states of inflammation and the potential development of some cancers.

Studies have also linked them to a whole host of other issues in dogs and this research is behind the increased drive towards raw/human grade food diets for dogs.

While this dog food is appealing the one drawback is the high price, leading most customers to use it as a meal topper or feeding a 50/50 blend of Nutra Complete and their current dog food.

For more information check out our detailed review of Nutra Complete.
 
Some of Ultimate Pet Nutrition’s other notable products include:

  • Nutra Bites - A line of freeze dried dog treats, available in several protein types.
  • Juve Flex  - Advanced Canine Joint Supplement
  • Canine Comfort - Calming and Relaxation Support

Cost and Price Plans

As mentioned above, Ultimate Pet Nutrition has positioned itself as a premium pet food brand and that is reflected in their prices. 

Their products do come with some options for discounts if you buy in bulk or join their membership program. 
 
For reference:
 
1 16oz bag of Nutra Complete costs $59.95
1 jar containing 30 scoops of Nutra Thrive costs $69.95

Customer Service

If you have any questions or issues you can reach out to a representative via multiple channels.  You can email the company at [email protected] or call them at (800) 604 – 5827.

You can also send a message through their contact page at UltimatePetNutrition.com/contact/ .

Ultimate Pet Nutrition backs all of their products with a 90 Day Refund Promise.  Their website states that if you do not see a difference in your pets health using their products you can reach out for a refund.

If you are returning a product you will have to ship it back at your own expense.

Where to Buy?

You can get their products directly from their website or through select brick and mortar locations.  

Most are located in California, where the company is headquartered, and in other pet stores across the west coast.  Use their website to check for a location near you.

Online Customer Reviews & Complaints

For the most the feedback is very positive for the products themselves.  Anecdotally, there are many online stories of pets experiencing incredible reversals in health conditions.

However there are still some reasons to be skeptical, for instance some of the positive feedback comes from websites that receive commissions for promoting Ultimate Pet Nutrition products.  

Also, we have not seen Ultimate Pet Nutrition listed on some of our sources for best dog food brands.

The company is accredited by the BBB with an A+ rating.  There they maintain a customer rating of 4.16/5 stars from 961 customer reviews.

There are some complaints that pop up from customers regarding the website and the ordering process.  Some users claimed to have mistakenly ordered more than they originally intended via upsell offers - then had to go through the tedious process of obtaining a refund. 

However the main complaints for Nutra Thrive and Nutra Complete are based on the prohibitive costs of the products, especially if you are shopping for a large breed.  

For instance some customers have stated that if feeding solely Nutra Complete a 50lb+ dog could go through 3 bags in a little over a week.

Competitors and Alternatives

As interest in pet health continues to rise alongside increased consumer spending there’s been a correlating rise in boutique and health focused dog food brands.

Some leading trends have been towards grain/gluten free dog foods, human grade ingredients, and raw food diets for dogs.  However, it’s important to do your own research and consult with your veterinarian before making any drastic changes to your pet’s diet. 

Some popular alternatives to big store brands include: Ollie, TruDog, and The Farmer’s Dog.

Is Ultimate Pet Nutrition Legit?

Based on the positive reviews we believe these products may have a place in your pets diet.

For example a dog that has lost interest in their current food may benefit from a high nutrient topper such as Nutra Thrive.  Or you could mix in the higher quality freeze dried food as ¼ or ½ mix with their current food.

But as stated above Ultimate Nutrition Products are expensive and you might be best served to find a lower priced alternative for your pet.

As always carefully check the ingredients of any new foods against any possible allergies your pet may have and consult with a vet before making serious changes.

If you have any experience with Ultimate Pet Nutrition or Nutra Thrive, please leave your reviews below.

See Also:  Choosing the Right Dog Food: A Detailed Guide

You may also be interested in

Ultimate Pet Nutrition Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Not to be Trusted
December 30, 2021
The poorest business model I have ever encountered. Shady practices. See Better Business Bureau before trusting the reviews here. They are not to be trusted.

Shayne, Ultimate Pet Nutrition January 13, 2022

Hello Dana.

My name is Shayne, I am with Ultimate Pet Nutrition.

I am sorry to hear that you feel this way. All of the reviews posted are genuine customer experiences and I want to assure you we do not alter or manipulate reviews in any way. That would be highly unethical and against our beliefs. I would like to hear more about your experience with our company. Please email me at [email protected] Have a nice day.

Pet nutrition is making your pet wants to eat
September 25, 2021

Before I bought the ultimate pet nutrition, my dog won't touch her food and it will be laying in the floor for hours until she's hungry but by that time the food will be bad. This dog is a Pitt bull mix and no matter what I had done she won't touch the food even if it's a mixture of cooked raw beef and and beef stew.

After I used the ultimate pet nutrition one day, she started to eat and became hungrier and now will come when I say "want to come for meal time?" She won't leave anything on her bowl and lick it dry, sometimes I even give it as a treat too but rarely. I bought 3 things so I have to be careful on the usage of my pet nutrition. Now she has drop about 5 lbs.

Great product my dog loves.
September 21, 2021
Tried Nutra Bites about 3 months ago and my dog loves them. I use them as treats sometimes but mostly I add a little to her dinner and add a little water to rehydrate them. She gobbled it up.

They are like pieces of freeze dried meat
September 18, 2021
The pups absolutely love these treats! They sit by the door knowing they are getting one of these special treats.

Transformation complete!
September 13, 2021
Before buying this, our dog was overweight, achy, slow, and very little energy. After watching and reading the information on Ultimate Pet Nutrition, I was inspired to buy it for our 4-legged baby. What a transformation! She's dropped 10 lbs, she no longer in slow to get up and limping like she has achy joints, and she has the energy of a 3-year lab (she's 8).... it's amazing! Thanks for a great product, and thanks for bringing our pup back to life, it's truly a fountain of youth for her.

So far, so great!
September 7, 2021
Our dog, Hawx, wasn't in bad shape at all. Part Shiba Inu, part blue heeler, he has what we consider to be a normal level of energy. He does struggle with his weight a bit. Adding the powder to his regular food seems to be helping with his weight, by way of wanting to be more active. In the month we have added the powder, his fur seems more shiny, his breath is better, and he has lost 3 pounds! We love ❤ this product!

It is like we have new dogs
September 6, 2021

We have a 4 year old Jack Russell and Yorkshire terrier mix that is the most picky eater my wife and I have ever seen. Her name is Angel. Our other dog is a 10 year old

Poodle Carne terrier mix that eats everything. His name is Noodles.

Since we have been feeding them your food Angel is at our feet waiting to eat. Her stools are solid for the first time in years

Since we have been feeding them your food and with the powder additive the changes are amazing.

Noodles is acting like he is 4 not 10.

We love the products.

Tasty dog food
September 6, 2021
Super expensive, but my dogs love the food. I mix it with less expensive kibble to save money.

Excellent food
September 4, 2021

I have a 9 year old female Maltese. I used to feed her dry food and every time I fed her the plate of food was there waiting for several hours. That doesn’t happen with Nutra Complete. I just say “do you want to eat?” and she starts wagging her tail and when Im serving the food she starts jumping all around and if I take my time she would start barking. She LOVES her food now.

But, besides loving the food I’ve seen improvement in her emotional state, she looks happier and even a little younger. I’ve also seen improvement in her teeth. Recently she had a tooth extraction (4 teeth) due to a abscess she developed in her mouth. I was thinking she would need a dental cleaning every 6 months instead of every year because her teeth became yellow really fast. Since Nutra Complete I’ve noticed her teeth completely white and even her coat is softer. We both love Nutra Complete.

Now I have a Weimaraner too and I would love to give her this food when she can start eating adult food. This food should come in bigger bags! Please!

How well my dogs did on the food
September 2, 2021

My St Bernard did great on the food. I could not believe the difference the difference in her in just three days. I would love to order more but, your bags are not big enough for large dogs. It is great food. I even feed my little ones the food and they loved it. I have not found anything on the market to compare it to.

Thank you for such a great dog food

Mary Osman

Thanks from Trixie and her People!
September 2, 2021

We were extremely worried about our dog's continuing and worsening digestive problems and didn't think she would ever be heathy again. The prescription food we were using was very expensive and just wasn't working at all so we decided to do some research on our own.

After trying a couple other products we eventually found Ultimate Nutrition. We started with NutraThrive as a supplement with her old food and began seeing results in a few days so also switched to Nutra Complete instead of the prescription dry food. She loves it! We love it! Our 9 year old "mostly" schnauzer Trixie has gone back to being her healthy, energetic, too cute to be true self again.

During this transition I called customer service several times with questions about the products and each time was delighted with the response. We couldn't be happier with the products, the service, and the change in our Trixie.

It Worked - On Both My Dogs!
September 1, 2021

My old dog Odin, an Australian Shepard, seemed to be slowing down, and he was scratching/rolling all the time: That's why I ordered the Thrive supplement. The ad asked if your 'dog is constantly scratching an itch.' I haven't seen Odin roll or scratch in a month and he is back to his 'dashing around' behavior.

My older dog Rita is a McNab Border Collie who was lethargic, s l o w, and limped. Rita now has more energy and gets around better. Both dogs really like the supplement and the way I wet the food and mix it in. I also purchased the product because of the money-back guarantee, which I won't be using; I'm only sorry I didn't order the one-time offer of a huge amount of the product for 60% of the normal cost.

My boys have so much energy
August 24, 2021

Our dogs have been on Nutra Thrive for two months now. They have not had the full 90 days of Nutra Thrive just yet, but I see major differences in both of them, but especially our 5 year old. They both use to eat grass like they were cows, now they have a little nibble here and there, but I never see them grazing like they use to.

One of our dogs is only 3, and has a ton of energy as is; however our other dog just turned 5, and I have noticed over the last year or so he does not have much energy anymore. Now he is wide open, and I love watching him act like a puppy again. I have also noticed both of their breath has improved tremendously.

Our 5 year old also has tummy issues, so bad I can hear his stomach making awful noises from across the room, but since we have hit the end of the second month I have noticed I don't hear them as often. I am hoping after this third jar his tummy troubles will be almost nonexistent.

Dogs love this food and it is nutritious.
August 24, 2021
We were having a hard time getting our dog Maisie to eat...but she gobbled this food down.

Very impressed with the how good this food is for my dog. I love that it's all natural and full of nutrients.
August 22, 2021

I have a 1 year old golden retriever. He absolutely loves this food.

In the past, I've given him kibble and canned dog food. He doesn't really like them. He'll eat the kibble if he gets hungry enough, but with your dog food,

it's gone in a heartbeat! He really loves it. I've tried to mix your food with the kibble, but he only eats your food and leaves the kibble in the bowl!

Nutra Thrive has been so very beneficial.
August 20, 2021
Nutra Thrive has been so good for my little pit bull. She no longer has itching problems and her coat looks shiny and good. She is also moving better. Thank you!

getting the protein and vitamins she requires eah day
August 20, 2021
Erin is loving the food. She 'body-checks' me out of the way when putting the bowl down and licks it clean several at the end. More energy and playfulness

No skipping meals now!
August 20, 2021
We use Nutra complete Ultimate pet nutrition for a topper on Rudy’s regular dog food. He likes it dry so we put about 3/4 of a cup on top of his regular food. Rudy loves it. He licks the bowl looking for more. Before he was barely eating all of his food and sometimes skipping breakfast all together. Rudy Thanks you !

Finally a dog food worth raving about
August 18, 2021

I’ve been wanting to get my beagle to start eating raw food for awhile and have done some research on the subject. Then I saw the video from Dr. Richter about Nutra Complete. Let me take a step back and say my 11 year old beagle has been using Nutra Thrive for several years and also Juve Flex. I have been very impressed with both these products. I knew I had to watch the video of Nutra Complete to learn specifically what raw food Dr. Richter created and also the health benefits of this raw food over other dog food. I was very impressed by the wholesomeness of ingredients that my beagle would be ingesting. It’s not only the finest beef that is used but many fruits, veggies, herbs and other specific ingredients to help my dog’s body be the best that it can be in terms of health, digestion and healing.

I did have half a bag of Hills Science Diet that I was not going to throw out, so I mix that with the Nutra Complete. I have been watching my dog eat since mixing the two foods and he will literally eat the Nutra Complete first even tho’ both goods are mixed together. My beagle used to be a once a day feeder. Now he anxiously awaits for me to mix his food in the morning and night (the portions I use in the morning and night equal the one serving I gave him when he ate once a day. I’m stating this so people don’t think I’m over feeding him!!) Nutra Complete is very easy to prepare - warm water and wait three minutes. I wish I could post a picture of my beagle as he anxiously waits for meal time.

I’d like to state that if anyone is interested in starting their dog on a raw diet, this is where to begin. There is no grocery shopping, cutting up or cooking foods, veggies, herbs, etc., it’s already made up for you with the healthiest ingredients. The price is reasonable also.

I have to be honest and state there are two semi negative things I have to say. One, the smell is a little overwhelming for ME. It smells like beef, but very strong. Two, because it’s freeze dried and shipped, I have noticed in the two bags my dog has eaten that when you get to the bottom of the bag it’s like all smashed into a powder and not the actual food nugget. I realize all the nutrients are still there but if you were feeding your dog just the Nutra Complete, I don’t know if a cup of powder is the same as a cup of the nuggets. Because I’m mixing it with my dogs other food (to use up what I had left) it’s not an issue. Those are the only negatives I have and they are by no means major issues.

Lastly I’d like to thank Dr. Richter for coming up with this awesome raw food diet for dogs. Like I said it takes the guesswork out of you having to put together a healthy raw diet yourself. My 11 year old beagle seems more spry, happy and has more energy since using all the Ultimate Pet Nutrition products I’m giving him!! So so happy I’ve found this wonderful food and supplements!! Thank you!!

Likes it too much
August 17, 2021
I started feeding Nutra Complete a couple of weeks ago. Buddy-boy really, really likes it! Maybe too much. He used to nibble on his dry food throughout the day and finish it off at night. Now he licks the bowl clean at each feeding (3 x day). He is quite energetic and chases the ball and frisbee. I feel he is getting the good nutrition he needs to stay healthy and happy.