TruDog Reviews

TruDog
( 27 reviews )
Website: TruDog.com

TruDog.com promises to provide dog owners with the high quality dog food their pet needs to thrive, along with the convenience of pre-prepared food that pet owners need. 

How Does It Work?

According to their website, the creators of TruDog once had a pet that developed cancer and had a horrible fight in the attempt to survive, but eventually their dog lost their battle with cancer and passed away. 

After this occurred, his owner did research on pet health, and found that most of the pet foods you find at your local grocery store are the same as feeding your pet fast food every day. In order to make commercial dog food affordable and easy to store, most of the proteins, vitamins, and minerals are destroyed or eliminated and replaced with unhealthy grains and cereals.

TruDog.com says that all dogs are descended from wolves and will have their best health if they eat what wolves would eat – real meat, real organs, and real bones. Unfortunately, feeding your dogs this way on your own can be difficult and expensive. The goal of this company was to make feeding your dog the right way easy to do. 

 

To achieve this, they created freeze dried meat pellets. These pellets don’t need to be stored in a cooler of any kind, and because they are freeze dried instead of dehydrated they still retain all their nutrition and value. All you have to do is keep your pellets in a cool, dry environment and before you feed it to your dog, just add water.

Cost/Price Plans

Currently their website offers customers a map of the various locations around the country where their food is sold, or you can choose to purchase their food from online retailer Amazon.com. Here you’ll find a variety of prices, based on the product you buy and the size and volume you order it in.  

Refund Policy

Since this product is sold primarily through other retailers and Amazon.com, customers will need to look at the Return and Refund policies of the retailer where they purchased their TruDog food in order to know what process to follow if they are hoping to return it. That being said, most companies will not allow you to return a food product which has already been opened unless you can prove that it is damaged or defective, so this is something consumers may want to keep in mind.  

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who wish to speak with Customer Service about their questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by phone at 800-476-8808 or by submitting them directly to their website using their Contact Us link.

Reputation

The TruDog dog food appears to have excellent reviews, with many customers speaking online about the high quality of the food, the fact that their dog loves it, and that it is still convenient for them and their schedule.   

Competitors and Alternatives?

Companies and businesses that sell high quality products for pets are not in short supply – most communities will have a pet store or pet supply store of some kind, and all big box stores will offer their customers a pet section. The online community has many, many different suppliers of high quality pet foods and dog products as well, so if TruDog doesn’t seem like the right choice for you, there should be a large variety of other options.    

If you have experience with this company or their products, please leave your TruDog reviews below.

You may also be interested in

TruDog Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Isabella has had no bowel or stomach issues with this food
October 27, 2021

We have had our Maltipoo on TruDog supplemented with Dr Harvey’s Paradigm since we got her as a puppy. She has been very healthy with this food with no bowel or indigestion issues. We also give her their no odor bully sticks which have been a life saver! No customer service issues which I was surprised to read!

My only issue is since we don’t feed her chicken, I wish there were more protein options. Also my husband will not let me order the white fish due to odor but they won’t let me substitute a protein when ordering the four pack to save money.

After losing our previous dog to cancer, we did a lot of research to make sure we gave our new puppy the most healthy foods and treats possible!

Nutrition and cost of what you feed your dog
March 13, 2020

Copare nutrition and costs of what you feed your dog. Ultimately you pay for what you get. If you stop and think it can also be viewed this way. A 160lb Dane eats aprox. 4lb a day on a raw diet which is 2-3% percent of their body weight. Now if it cost aprox $3.50lb @ $14 a day x 5 dogs would total$70 a day =$2100a month. That raw meal would contain beef,chicken,organ meats, supplements,eggs,veggies and berries sardines.

If feeding just "Chicken" ,organ meats, supplements,eggs,veggies and berries sardines it would cost aprox $2.50lb @$10 a day x 5 dogs would total $50 a day would=$1500 a month. You also have to remember to feed a dog a raw diet there is a lot of work time and effort but into it and for big dogs lots of freezer space that'll be needed. So one must consider the cost of convience. Overall I chose to take in two dogs, which allowed me to provid complete and overall care for both of them. For me, my top priority is what I put into there mouths, as well as a ton of love and patience. I feel that nutrition is extremely important and I will not pinch pennies trying to stretch my dollar is in my DOGS best interest. Its a beautiful thing if you have the abiity to care for that many dogs. But if you did't do the math or were un aware of the intense labor you would need to put in to feed your dogs properly, there alone lies your issue which can possibly effect their best options at life. If your feeding kibble I can see where this would be a shock. Hope this breaks down the cost so peolpe can understand a little easier.

Dental spray does NOTHING, won't post my review or give refund
September 14, 2019
We have been using the dental spray for over a year for our dogs, faithfully spraying as directed every day. One dog just had to have TWELVE teeth pulled ($900 vet bill), and another recently had SIX teeth pulled. This spray is just scented water and does not do anything to protect their teeth. I called TruDog customer service and was basically told too bad, they won't refund because my last purchase was more than 60 days ago. I have 6 bottles that are going in the trash. Don't use this spray thinking you are protecting your dog's teeth because it doesn't work, and the company does not stand behind their product. I've tried twice to post a review on their site and they won't post it because it is the truth and is not favorable for them.

TRU DOG FOOD PRICING
May 28, 2019

Very SAD that this woman has an intro video AD, on YOUTUBE.....Talking about her GIANT GREAT DANE who died…. from feeding it the wrong foods.... ? This video ad is almost 1/2 hour long and she just raves on and on about TRU DOG FOOD... So leads one to believe it is really good.... oh and yes... she would have had her giant Great Dane on it if she had a second chance....So leads people to think this food is great.... OMG then you get to the PRICES... 14 oz. WHAT? We care for 5 large dogs... and would think they would sell larger bags for larger dogs... but 14 oz. and the price is $22.00 per 14 oz. So one of there corporate PEOPLE quoted me in regard to price for 5 large dogs the cost per month would be in the neighborhood of $1,650 per month..... ????? And these people claim they want to help dogs get away from deadly food elsewhere... SERIOUSLY? WOW just WOW !!!! $1,650 per month is INSANE ! That's WAY MORE then feeding a family of 3 humans, WHO SHOPS AT TRADER JOE'S !!!! Any company which charges THIS MUCH doesn't really seem to be for the dog's wellness.. Sound's more like major GREED SITUATION in my opinion ! And you care about dogs (TRU DOG) ? JUST AMAZING not at all.... but rather a sad situation for people who love their dogs as family.... ! I believe in my opinion, that IF your company cared about the wellbeing of dogs... that your product would be more down to earth in pricing... where as the average, or even the above average person could afford. But a DOG FOOD which costs as much if not more than a MORTGAGE ON A HOUSE! Who are you kidding.... just very disappointing. I will seriously make my own natural food... I was almost willing to give you a try.... but at sixteen hundred and fifty dollars a month to feed 5 med to large dogs... that is entirely INSANE... in my opinion !

DarleneSmitson June 08, 2019

I too own 3 large dogs and, I also was put off by the price! Simply ridiculous. I was going to add their joint supplement but after pricing for the 3 dogs it was utterly ridiculous. I can honestly say it seems like a person who used owned a giant breed she really doesn’t cater to giant breed owners. Seems like in it more for profit. FYI I —-I ordered human collagen on Amazon that last me and my 3 big guuys for 1 month at less the cost of Trudog’s joint supplement. And I noticed an improvement in ALL of us almost immediately

Distant Life March 13, 2020

odd, cuz if you stop and think it can also be viewed this way. A 160lb Dane eats aprox. 4lb a day on a raw diet which is 2-3% percent of their body weight. Now if it cost aprox $3.50lb @ $14 a day x 5 dogs would total$70 a day =$2100a month. That raw meal would contain beef,chicken,organ meats, supplements,eggs,veggies and berries sardines.

If feeding just "Chicken" ,organ meats, supplements,eggs,veggies and berries sardines it would cost aprox $2.50lb @$10 a day x 5 dogs would total $50 a day would=$1500 a month. You also have to remember to feed a dog a raw diet there is alot of work time and effort but into it and for big dogs lots of freezer space that'll be needed. So one must consider the cost of convience. Overall I chose to take in two dogs, which allowed me to provid complete and overall care for both of them. For me, my top priority is what I put into there mouths, as well as a ton of love and patience. I feel that nutrition is extremely important and I will not pinch pennies trying to stretch my dollar is in my DOGS best interest. Its a beautiful thing if you have the abiity to care for that many dogs. But if you did't do the math or were un aware of the intense labor you would need to put in to feed your dogs properly, there alone lies your issue which can possibly effect their best options at life. If your feeding kibble I can see where this would be a shock. Hope this breaks down the cost so people can understand a little easier.

Looking for a replacement
April 5, 2019
This is the second month in a row we've received less than a full portion from Tru Dog. A couple of weeks ago I called their so-called "Happiness Concierge" who was definitely not a delight. I explained that we'd been happily feeding my dog the same amount for a year but lately the bags do not last as long and the last one barely lasted a half month, where as normally we have a bit left over before a new one arrives. The Happiness Concierge tried telling me several times I was feeding it to my dog differently, blah blah blah...all useless info. She did not even listen to my concerns. When I told her if this keeps happening we'd have to look elsewhere for a similar product, she couldn't have cared less. Well, we just got our new bag and it is also less than what we'd previously gotten. Looking for a replacement company, unfortunately, because my dog's tummy is so happy on this stuff, but I don't like the way the company treats their customers.

Overcharged my Visa and never gave a refund
August 31, 2018
This company is so difficult to deal with. I ordered two bags of Fortify Me; they sent me two and charged my Visa for three. Numerous phone calls and emails to customer service resulted in no action. I finally called my Visa card company and they immediately rectified the problem. TruDog customer service is deplorable.

TruDog November 08, 2018

We're sorry to hear this! We will be happy to help resolve any issues. Please contact our Happiness Concierges for assistance at 800-476-8808 or email at [email protected] Thank you and we look forward to helping you.

TruDog November 08, 2018

We're sorry to hear this! We will be happy to resolve any issues. Please contact our Happiness Concierges for assistance at 800-476-8808 or email at [email protected] Thank you and we look forward to helping you.

Continous Annoying Calls
June 27, 2018
I ordered a free sample from Trudog several months ago and was not particularly impressed and decided not to order anything as there prices are high. I continuously receive promotion phone calls from them so much so that I blocked the number. Unfortunately, they're still able to leave a message as blocking simply makes it so your phone doesn't ring. I do not recommend and will never buy from a company that calls you to advertise. Big thumbs DOWN.

CRAIG D. August 11, 2018

THEY CLAIM:

Money Back Guarantee

100% Money Back Guarantee On All Orders. HERE IS WHERE THEY GET YOU, IF YOU OPEN IT YOU CANT RETURN IT. SO YOU JUST SPENT $50 ON A BAG OF FOOD AND YOUR DOG WON'T TOUCH, TUFF, YOU OPENED YOU CAN'T RETURN IT. TRU DOG IS A RIPOFF RIPOFF RIPOFF

TruDog November 08, 2018

We're sorry to hear this! We will be happy to place your phone number on our Do Not Call list. Regarding our refunds policy, yes we do accept opened packages for refunds.

Please contact our Happiness Concierges for assistance at 800-476-8808 or email at [email protected] Thank you and we look forward to helping you.

Beware
June 8, 2018
They get no rating. Bad company. Their mini bully chew stick became lodged in my fur babies throat and over 4,000 dollars later and now can only take liquid food the rest of her life. Many calls to company now my number is blocked certified letters to them no response back. I only wanted Lori the founder of company to stand behind her product. She only wants Your monthly money from your checking account. I spent over 125.00 a month for over seven months and now she won’t even talk to me. There are many other companies out there with better food and care about you and your fur babies. BEWARE!

SCAM
June 1, 2018

I ordered the dog mouth spray and paid for it without creating an account or authorizing refills.

The charge occurred on 4/25/18, the amount was $23.73.

I did not authorize refills.

They charged me again on 5/25/18 in the amount of $24.66 illegally.

They shipped me product that I did not order.

Synthia LAFontaine

MelanieHill September 09, 2018

What ever came of it? I'm going through the same thing right now, sent them an email. Hopefully they can sort this out.

TruDog November 08, 2018

We're sorry to hear this! We will be happy to resolve any issues. Please contact our Happiness Concierges for assistance at 800-476-8808 or email at [email protected] Thank you and we look forward to helping you.

Tru dog is Maggie’s favorite food!
March 25, 2018
Maggie is a picky eater and would go for days eating nothing...no matter what I offered her. She loves tru dog! I just add water and let it soak. She eats every bite of it everyday. She has lost weight, which she needed to do. No more belly bloat either. Maggie has more energy and no more runny stool. This food is like a miracle for her. I also have been using the spray me on her teeth for over a year. The tartar is gone and she never has bad breath. The ear cleaner is excellent also. This company makes superior dog supplies in my opinion. Thank you tru dog for solving my picky pet problem. A little expensive but well worth the price since she actually eats it. I was throwing away so much dog food.

Dana Shaw April 19, 2018

I have had nothing but problems with this company. They have failed to get autiomaric monthly order food to me and caused my dog to have intestinal issues needing peoviotics and vet visit due to being forced to switch when they were 2 weeks late getting food to me as they fulfilled orders for a sale they were having before filling their monthly subscribers. They failed to include part of my order for dental chews the last time I got a shipment and 3 days of calling, emailing and chat attempts have been unanswered and no call backs to have they corrected. Food is good and my dog loves it but company is at this time poorly run and causing problems

TruDog November 08, 2018

Thank you for the great review Karen! We're so happy to hear that! If we can help with anything at all in the future, please contact our Happiness Concierges for assistance at 800-476-8808 or email at [email protected] Thank you for being part of the TruDog family!

TruDog November 08, 2018

Hello Dana, we're sorry to hear this! We will be happy to resolve any issues. Please contact our Happiness Concierges for assistance at 800-476-8808 or email at [email protected] Thank you and we look forward to helping you.

Reviews on web site are customized
March 14, 2018

I personally have added my review of one of their products and gave it a lower rating with pictures of what I actually received in the mail. They have chosen not to post my review. they only allow positive reviews or reviews that are worded in favor of their products.

So in my opinion, they are not being truthful about their products, and only hand picking reviews that will only show them in a good light.

TruDog November 08, 2018

Hello Mike, We're sorry to hear this! We will be happy to resolve any issues. Please contact our Happiness Concierges for assistance at 800-476-8808 or email at [email protected] Thank you and we look forward to helping you.

New life and mobility for my senior dog.
February 19, 2018
I love TruDog, Since feeding TruDog my senior dog is full of energy and mobility again. I know I am feeding her only the best, the joint support supplements are wonderful. She was having chronic bladder infections before I started feeding her TruDog and have not had another return in over a year. I am so happy with our results, no more weight issues better teeth and the vet is speechless. Awesome customer service too, they have a great Concierge Center and when she did not like the Turkey recipe they exchanged for me with the Beef recipe of their food. Thanks TruDog for breathing new life into my senior dog!

Awesome!
February 18, 2018
My 10 year old dog will not touch her food without Boost Me or Fortify Me on top. She's a picky eater and since she won't eat a totally raw diet, I am happy for thos booster that gives her the benefits. There are so many great products and we are trying them all!

Awesome!
February 18, 2018

My 10 year old dog will not TOUCH her food until I put Boost Me or Fortify Me on it. I would love to feed her a totally raw diet, but she is fussy and adding the toppers gives her the benefits of raw!

She didn't like the Spray at first. Then, I was given the tip to use a Q-Tip rather than spraying it (Ithink the sprayer scared her a bit). We use it every day and after a couple of months, her vet was amazed at how healthy her teeth were for an older dog.

I only have good things to say! I have to ask the reviewer who complained about having to return the product for a refund if they are in the habit of going to a retail store and asking for money back without returning the product they weren't satisfied with. It just seems like standard business practice to me.

All in all, I am happy to have found TruDog. My dog is healthier because of it!

TerryWilson Mccullough March 26, 2018

My dog wouldn’t eat any dog food got boost 2 days ago he now eats every bite wow!!

We LOVE TruDog
February 17, 2018

This is the ONLY food my dog will eat (besides pizza crust :)

My cats love the treats and the dental spray worked wonders on my mom's Yorkie with death-breath. Great company, great products!

Dental Spray is a Total SCAM
February 6, 2018
Do not waste your money. I tried and my dogs hated it. when i called Truedog for a refund they stated the product would have to be returned. What kind of a warranty is that? How can you use a product and try it and then have to return it? This company is a SCAM !!! Do not waste your money !!!

Hanna June 27, 2018

You said your dogs hated it. So why were you not able to return the bottle with the contents that were left over.?. So you could actually say they would not give you the refund?. Just a question .??.

I love my some TruDog
January 8, 2018
I have been a customer of TruDog for almost two years now. I have tried their Feed Me, Boost Me, Fortify Me and various treats they have on their site. All 6 of my dos LOVE their products! They absolutely love their Boosters. Whenever I add it to their food they all go crazy and finish every last bit in the bowl and lick it afterwards. When I started the Boost I noticed they all had more energy, were more alert and they stopped shedding so much and had healthy, shinier coats! We are a fan for life.

TruDog November 08, 2018

Thank you for the great feedback Josh! If we can ever be of assistance, please contact our Happiness Concierges for assistance at 800-476-8808 or email at [email protected] Thank you and we look forward to helping you.

Great Products, Great Company
January 8, 2018
This company has the best customer service. I called to change my order and they even gave me a coupon. I had questions about which food to give my dog after quit eating. She had a urinary infection and had antibiotics for a couple of weeks and just refused to eat. We tried the fortify, boost and feed me. She loved it all and has put on a few pounds. No more infections since we started TruDog and she looks great! The vet was really impressed.

TruDog November 08, 2018

Thanks so much for the great feedback! If we can ever help in the future, please contact our Happiness Concierges for assistance at 800-476-8808 or email at [email protected] Thank you and we look forward to helping you.

Absolutely Love
January 8, 2018
I absolutely love TruDog, it is the only food that my dogs absolutely love. I have a rescue that would not eat or put on weight no matter what until TruDog, which was a big win for me with her. My senior dog is acting like a puppy again after switching to their raw diet so we started using their joint support supplement and she can jump on the couch again and climb the stairs again too! TruDog has been a great addition to my pack. Thanks TruDog!

TruDog November 08, 2018

Thanks for the awesome review! We are happy to hear that! If we can be of help in the future, please contact our Happiness Concierges for assistance at 800-476-8808 or email at [email protected] Thank you!.

Best Food Ever, Great Customer Service
January 8, 2018
This is the only dog food my dog will eat. I watch the emails for sales and coupons and emailed customers service about my order and got a response right away. I called before placing an order and they helped me decide what products would be best for my dog. Her coat is shiny, she doesn't smell "doggy" and there's no more poop or grass eating. The cats even try to steal a bite when I put her food out. We love everything we've bought from this company.