Glasses USA Reviews

Glasses USA
( 96 reviews )

Glasses USA Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Glasses USA is a scam
April 16, 2018

Glasses are the wrong prescription and they want me to verify it with an ophthalmologist who we do not have in our city. I got the prescription from a checkup in Washington state and those glasses are fine. Sent that prescription. It would cost me at least $2,000 to fly down to Washington which is not reasonable. I have heard this company is out of Israel. Is it USA owned and operated? They refuse to give me a refund on glasses I am willing to return.

The frames are very cheap and flimsy. In this case you don't even get what you pay for!

Garbage product., garbage service
February 6, 2018

I paid for expedited shipping and receive both pairs of glasses (one set a week after the first set) late, making it so I did not have them for a big trip we were going on. I get back, try them on and find that the frames are HORRIBLE quality. They won’t stay on my face and the lenses seemed to not be right. I decided to try them for the week to see if maybe my eyes just needed to adjust. They never did. I actually found it more dangerous to drive with the glasses on than to drive without glasses entirely. I’m not sure if they gave me the wrong prescription or if their lenses are just complete crap.

I called to see about getting a refund (even though I was out of the refund window due to THEIR MISTAKE) and was insulted by their only customer service representative “Jane” multiple times. Even if I was in the 14 day grace period, there is fine print stating you actually will not get most of your money back. “Jane” raised her voice at me, insulted me and told me that I would not be getting any kind of refund. She said my only hope was to possibly provide receipts from my trip (what????) to prove I was gone and to take the glasses to my optometrist (also what???) to prove they were the wrong prescriptions. I’m completely appalled by the conversation that took place and have never dealt with a customer service

DO NOT BUY FROM GLASSES- USA see WIKI information linked
January 21, 2018

Almost 6 weeks later, I am still trying to get a credit or a pair of glasses. Additionally, not only will they NOT issue a credit card credit, forced a "Store Credit" and now they arbitrarily reduced my "Store Credit" for no legitimate reason other than to take advantage of a customer. NEVER AGAIN. DO NOT USE THEM.

Parent Company - Optimax Investments Company - Tel AVIV company - USA locations https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GlassesUSA#cite_note-6

This is for information only, I have nothing against ANY foreign companies doing business in the US. I just thought you should know.

Please read all the reviews, especially the negative ones about not getting a refund. They do not want to issue a credit to your credit card under almost any circumstances. READ ALL WEBSITE INFORMATION VERY CAREFULLY. If you need bifocals or Progressive glasses you can almost be assured to have problems. They will only issue store credit - which forces you to buy something from them or forfeit your entire purchase price.

Bi's and Prog's require an Optometrist and/or an Optician to correctly measure not only your prescription but measurements needed to correctly fit your glasses. Without those specific "frame determined dimensions" you will not see correctly, you will try to return glasses, get a store credit and around and around GlassesUSA will take you.

Did I mention that you should very carefully read their website information because they WILL use it against any attempt to get a credit on your credit card.

There are dimensions which absolutely require the exact FRAMES in order to measure the height of your eyes in reference to the frames. GLASSES USA not only minimizes the importance of some dimensions on their website but they don't even mention others. Then you order, send them back, get issued a credit and on and on it goes.

I ABSOLUTELY DO NOT RECOMMEND GLASSES-USA.

Good luck cancelling an order with them
January 5, 2018
I ordered two pairs of glasses with them no problem. I placed an order for a 3rd; however, sent them multiple e-mails asking to cancel the order less than 24 hours after placing the order which was two weeks pre-production. Even though they acknowledge receiving the e-mails (which was noted next to my order,) they still continued with production. Now, my glasses are in their quality control process. They are telling me that they cannot cancel the order even though the glasses are days away from boxing and shipping. If their site states, "If, for any reason, you are not completely satisfied with your order, you may return it within the first 14 days. We even provide you with a return shipping label, no questions asked," then why cannot I return an item I do not want that has not been boxed or shipped yet??? Why put me through the hassle of having to ship back something I do not want to receive in the first place. I have made them aware that if I receive the cancelled order that I will not only return it; but NEVER order another pair of glasses from them again.

Fine for simple prescriptions
December 26, 2017

Fine for simple prescriptions.

“I ordered a pair of glasses with progressive lenses. The distance portion, which requires less precision, is fine. The near portion was manufactured with the wrong pupillary distance. They were essentially unusable. I asked for a refund, but was talked into accepting a store credit instead. They made another pair for me; these were also wrong.

This time I wanted a refund. Imagine my surprise when I was informed that by taking the store credit, I have up ever getting a refund on those glasses. As a matter of fact, they would remake them one more time, and then, right or wrong, is have no recourse. I'd just have to consider the $400 wasted.

My advice: if you use these folks, do so for a simple prescription only. If they're not right, get a refund. If you keep getting a refund when you order, you can keep ordering a brand new pair (another initial purchase) until they get it right or you go somewhere else.

The whole return process is slimy.”

Avoid
November 9, 2017
I ordered two pair of bifocal glasses. Several days AFTER I placed my order and paid for it, I got an email saying that my "prescription is too large for a bifocal lens" but strangely enough, they could make them in progressives for more money, of course. There is absolutely no reason why my order was accepted if there are restrictions such as this; such restrictions should be part of their online order processing (in BASIC programming lingo, its a classical IF..THEN statement), and, in this day and age of online security concerns, I am miffed that they could only tell me this AFTER they received my credit card information.

Good website
November 3, 2017

GlassesUSA.com is an online company which claims to offer the highest quality optical products – prescription glasses and sunglasses – at the most affordable prices, in the fastest amount of time possible.

If you are a first time customer at GlassesUSA and are interested in signing up for their free newsletter, you can create an account with them and receive a coupon for 50% off your first purchase plus free shipping.

The company also offers what

Mario September 30, 2019

Paid lair, fake reviews ugh this criminal organization makes me sick

Slow but good service.
November 2, 2017
The progressive glasses did not work for me. The toll free number provided does not work in Canada and no alternative is given. I had to use Google phone to get through. The service rep was very helpful and courteous and provided a refund without question. Canadians must pay for return postage and expect long delays.

Worst Gift Card
October 12, 2017

I ordered a pair of glasses through this website, glasses were great..but I didn't realize that the gift card had A. an expiration date and B. You HAVE to use the full amount of the gift card all at ONCE on ONE product. Pardon me, but I think that rule is not common. So what happened? I paid less for the glasses than what was on the card, meaning, I am not out of the considerable amount left on the card; the card cannot carry a balance.

Suggestion: please train your customer service reps to use words like "Hello, how are you" "I am sorry, let me see what I can do for you" as well as put the fine print in big RED letters so the customer knows what they are getting themselves in to.

Glasses USA is excellent!
October 9, 2017
My husband's glasses came today and they are perfect! we have had trouble with his prescription before, at high-priced brick and mortar opticians, as he has very bad vision. I am very pleased and their quality control checks are 2nd to none! The 1st set didn't pass their quality control so they remade the lenses BEFORE sending to us! I'm very, very, impressed with them! Thank you, GLASSES USA, for doing an outstanding job and we will buy again from you!

Worse Company ever
September 19, 2017

I wouldn’t recommend this website to a fraudster, because white frankly Glasses USA would come out to be the bigger scam artist.

Glasses USA has a “virtual mirror" feature on their website that’s supposed to show a true representation of how the glasses will fit. I've used this feature to purchase these pair of glasses and they do not fit at all. The glasses in person doesn't fit anything like the virtual try on feature advertised. I even spoke to a supervisor Art, (Feel free to pull our phone call from

Sep 3, 09:40 PDT where he even ADMITS that they feature is not as good as advertised). Even your supervisor advertised that the virtual mirror feature wasn't as accurate as they advertised. These Michaels Kors Adrian IV glasses that fit nothing like advertised. It is huge, chunky and is practically falling off my face. The lens's prescription are also off, and is giving me massive headaches, so the glasses are unwearable. The company have refused to send me a shipping label to have it returned, and they still have not answered my 4 requests for a RMA. This is definitely a very complicated and smart scamming website. Requested a call back from a supervisor 8 hours ago, also sent an email and still no response. I've already put in 2 tickets, sent 3 emails, sent Facebook posts and face book direct messages, and still no one has gotten back to me with a response. I feel like I have to jump through hoops just to get my money back. POTENTIAL BUYERS beware of this company. If you ever have to return your product, prepare to constantly have to reach out just to get a person to help you and jump through a lot of hoops just to get your money back. Definitely not a good start when it comes to customer resolutions. I'm still waiting to have a shipping label sent out to return these glasses. Plus, you only get 2 returns until they REFUSE to have the glasses returned again. So you have a high likelihood of being stuck with a pair of glasses that you absolutely HATE.

Horrible experience
August 7, 2017

I ordered a pair of glasses on their website. Credit card gets charged. Never receive any confirmation email following the purchase. I email them several times about the purchase, and several days later someone sends me the tracking # to my purchase. Ok. When the package finally comes (I kid you not), I find an empty case with NO glasses inside. Annoyed, I contact the customer service about this and request a refund. They tell me that they don't offer refunds and cite one of their "terms and conditions" that states something like: 'we are not responsible for your product after it ships'.

I have never had a worse experience with any vendor/retailer in my life. Every interaction I had with them throughout the last couple weeks has been negative. The customer service is horrid. This is a borderline scam operation. Please save yourself the hassle and STAY AWAY from these crooks. I do not know how they are still in business.

So disappointed!
June 29, 2017

I ordered a set of sunglasses from them on June 6, and they were finally shipped on June 26, but have yet to arrive. I called to ask why it took so long to ship them, and they stated there was a "production problem". I asked if they were using expedited shipping to make up for it, and they said no.

My son received his glasses today, and he is very happy with them, but there was an issue with his prescription. I apparently didn't attach it the correct way when we ordered his set, so they tried to call me to let me know. Be aware that they use fake numbers from your local area code to contact you. I kept refusing the call because I thought it was a scam. They left a message on my voice mail, but it was unintelligible. The person spoke with a very strong accent and spoke quickly so all the words blurred together. I eventually answered when they called and we got my son's prescription sent in. I am hoping that my sunglasses will work, but based on the reviews I read here, I am planning for disappointment. I wish I had checked here first.

Scam artists
June 19, 2017
The glasses I bought had a broken weld within 3 to 4 months. They would only refund half the money period despite the fact that they said a 365-day warranty from the manufacturer was in effect. Stay away from these scam artists you will be ripped off if anything goes wrong despite the good prices. Pray that you never get Barbra Levin in returns department....she is pure evil.

Beware this Company
May 29, 2017
Beware this company - It's going on week 3 waiting on my 1.25 reader glasses and they still haven't been shipped. I asked 5 days ago to cancel the order, only to be told I could not cancel. According to the description on the website, my glasses were to take 3 days. I can't get a timely response from customer service. Some responses taking 3 business days. And their BBB rating is an F with 196 complaints. I should have researched better before ordering. Order #100779826 placed on May 15, 2017

Ditto to all the previous one star reviews
May 26, 2017

Got an overpriced even with a discount pair of glasses--they were the wrong frame...and that's just the beginning of my story. I won't bore y'all with the details but suffice it to say that every other one star review was pretty much what I experienced and five weeks later I still don't have a pair of glasses. I even got a call from a "supervisor" who said she would "look into getting me a refund" and would call me back. Nothing yet there, and that was my fifth call into customer service.

Long story short...stick with Zenni or EyeBuy Direct who are both cheaper and far more attentive to customers.

Not satisfied
May 1, 2017
After trying to get them to honor there coupon for 40% entire purchase and being told the coupon has expires (in less then 24 hours) I have taken my business to local optometrist only 10% more and no hassle. GlassesUSA not recommended.

Crooks
April 25, 2017
This company is a scam. They offer deceitful promises and then refuse to refund your money under bogus Terms of Service. They failed to make the glasses I paid for, now want me to buy something else. Complaint filed with NY Atty General.

WARNING - GlassesUSA is the Wrong place to buy glasses
February 3, 2017

Having just gone to a local optometrist and gotten a prescription, I saw an ad for GlassesUSA so I called GlassesUSA and spoke to a sales rep who seemed very nice and helpful. Having double vision as a result of a former brain aneurysm, I needed prisms in my lens in order to correct that problem. The sales rep assured me they handle that and put the prisms in the glasses. I picked out a frame and ordered bother a regular pair of glasses as well and a pair of sunglasses. It took about 2 weeks for them to arrive and when they did, I was disappointed to find out that the view through them was distorted and I couldn't see with them. I called and, in going over the prescription, they confessed they had failed to put in the prisms.... so they send me a return label and I sent them back. A couple of weeks later the two new pair arrived. When I tried them, they still didn't work. I called again and was sent a return label and I made a copy of the prescription once again and enclosed it.

Then I got a call from a female rep who said that although I had ordered progressive lens at the very beginning, they had not charged me for them so they had not been put in. Huh? She then said that I would have to pay and additional $60 to have progressive lenses put in the glasses...so I gave her my credit card number once again and it was charged. When the 3rd pair of glasses finally arrived almost 2 1/2 months after I began the process, and guess what???? They didn't work and I couldn't see out of them.

I called and spoke to a rep and said I was tired of trying to get glasses from them and wanted a refund and would sen the glasses back if they sent me a postage paid return label. He REFUSED and said they could only give me a store credit. I said that was not acceptable after THREE TRIES to get working glasses from them and demanded to speak to a supervisor. He said that the supervisor was unavailable, but he would have him call me back. He never did. I sent e-mails 3 times stating what had happened and asked for a supervisor to call me and for them to send me a postage paid return label. They never did. Then I finally informed them that they had two days to send that label and credit my credit card or else I was going to throw the glasses away and dispute their charges with my credit card company. I have since done that. SO....STAY AWAY from this horrible company that has lousy customer service and inept technicians. They STINK !

No Service
August 23, 2016
After being patient with a 3 week delivery for glasses with no prescription in them, I was initially satisfied, but then 5 months later one of the nose pieces fell out (screw and all). Low and behold they couldn't send me another one (We don't sell that one anymore they said). So don't you have other ones with similar nose pieces in them you could send me? No answer to that question. They wanted me to send in the glasses for a manufacturing warranty. I said "Not with $400.00 lenses in them I'm not" They said take a photo of them and we'll give you 50% off a coupon for another purchase. Anyway, if you want frames and can wait for them and don't mind getting someone else to fix them later, this place is for you!