Glasses USA Reviews

Glasses USA
( 96 reviews )

Glasses USA Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

No Glasses, No Money, No Answers
May 22, 2019
Worst Customer Service Ever..have called, written, emailed, texted, even chatted on their facebook page..standard answers.."sorry for your inconvenience, we will start an inquiry and you will receive an answer within 2 business day" and nothing ever comes. I have inquired over 10 times in over a month and no answers. I asked to speak with a supervisor and told no..I would have to wait for an email..which never comes. Filed a complaint with the BBB.org and with Paypal

Hard to believe it's not a scam.
May 20, 2019
Ordered a pair of glasses in February. They sent the wrong prescription two weeks later. I sent them back and now here on May 20th they have no idea where my glasses are. Asked to speak to a supervisor. They don't have supervisors. Pretty sure the phone center is not in the US, every time I have called I have encountered a heavy accent - which makes problem solving difficult. Asked for a refund. They said they will start the process. Huh, what happened to just crediting the credit card?! Never again!

Scam Company
May 18, 2019
Ordered designer frames and upgraded lenses 3 weeks ago. Nothing has been updated, new prescription sent and acknowledged. Their site claims they produce within 6 days. They will not answer my emails, I just get misspelled empty promises after publicly shaming them on social media. $450 gone. Total rip off.

A Nightmare. Never Use Them. Maybe a Scam.
May 15, 2019

They wouldn’t correct my prescription for progressives (in spite of repeated attempts to contact them right after placing the order) or cancel my order, which arrived with frames that didn't fit and the wrong prescription. (They tried to tell me that the scrip, which had been written by a doctor of optometry at one of the best medical centers in the country was “wrong” and that I hadn’t contacted them in time to correct the scrip or cancel the order, although I contacted them an hour or two after the order and the rep refused to correct my prescription online. He told me to email in the correction, and dismissed my concern that it wouldn’t be received on time, which is exactly what happened in spite of repeated attempts to confirm that they’d received the correction).

When I received the glasses, the frames were too large and the prescription was wrong, so I returned them right away.

Since returning the glasses (a huge hassle, although I’d been assured returns would be “easy”), they still haven’t sent my refund, thirty days after they received the returned glasses and nearly a month and a half after the original order. Refunds were supposed to take 30 days at most. I have been told by their so called “customer service” that they’ve contacted billing, from whom I still haven’t heard. And this refund was for an order that they messed up, so it shouldn’t have been sent at all. I’m paying for their multiple screwups.

And unfortunately the HSA card company doesn’t support disputing charges. I may have to look into other avenues, if any exist.

Also, a few days after the return was received, there were attempted fraudulent charges against my HSA card, which I’ve had to replace as a result. Coincidence? Maybe, but I doubt it.

So after innumerable phone calls, emails, and tickets, I have no glasses and no refund. I’ve had to replace an HSA card I previously used for years without any problems. I may never get my money back from GLASSESUSA. I may as well have flushed that money down the toilet. Along with the time and aggravation, that’s no bargain.

P.S. I got a beautiful pair of glasses at Costco Optical. No problems, no hassles, great service, perfect fit, nice frames, correct prescription. And I got them about 5 days after the original fitting. More money than GLASSESUSA, but since GLASSESUSA was a total waste of money anyway, Costco was so worth it.

Update: I was able to file a dispute for GLASSESUSA’s payment with the bank backing the HSA card, although the company administering the HSA wouldn’t do it.

Further update: About a week after I filed the dispute, GLASSESUSA emailed me saying they were processing my refund and that I should allow another 2 weeks for the refund to appear...( so that a refund that was supposed to take 2 weeks will in fact take almost two months). And this is also two months after the original order which they would not cancel. I’ve had this experience before with unscrupulous businesses. They refuse to issue a refund and give me the runaround about it, but sudddenly the refund magically appears AFTER I file a credit card dispute. However, I am skeptical. Let’s see if I actually get the refund. GLASSESUSA has zero credibility with me right now.

Would not correct defective progressive lenses.
March 25, 2019
I bought 2 pair of glasses with progressive lenses. One pair was ok, but the other had mismatched the correction in the lenses so that when I could see well out of one eye; I could not out of the other. Their return policy is only 14 days and I missed it, so they would not correct the problem and I had to throw the glasses away as they were useless. Try another company. Zenni, Warby Parker and Costco have much better products and customer service.

Don't Bother
March 24, 2019

f any of you are considering doing business with GlassesUSA.com you should not. I placed an order yesterday that included all of the information that was requested including a screen shot of my prescription. This morning I received an email saying that I didn't submit my prescription. When i went to the website it wouldn't allow me to log in . Wrong email and/or password. When I entered my email address to reset my password I never received the email enabling me to reset so I tried their chat line. It took forever for a response and when I did get one, the tech gave me an addess to send the prescription. I did exactly what was asked and they didn't get the prescription.So at this point, I couldn't reset my password and I couldn't satisfy their request for my prescription. The tech told me to resend it but I did not. I told her that I was doubting their ability to fulfill my order as the customer service was so poor. When I asked how to cancell the order she provided a link where I filled out all of the necessary information. I'm still waiting for a confirmation and quite frankly I doubt that I will get one. Now i'm expecting that they will charge my credit card and I will not get my glasses creating yet another problem for me. Do yourself a favor and avoid this company at all cost and feel free to share this post with your friends so that they can avoid them as well. I haven't experienced this level of incompetence in a long time. Pathetic!

Horrible Company
February 26, 2019

Shipping took a long time with almost no updates through the provided tracking number. Received the glasses, and they were comically bad. It was almost as if the lenses were set crooked in the frames, causing my sight to be very distorted. Actually ended up taking them with me when I went to buy new glasses and the optometrist agreed that the lenses didn't even match the prescription number I provided.

The return policy on the website states that you can return your first order within 14 days, no questions asked for a 100% money back guarantee. Shipped out the glasses about a week after receiving them, using the return shipping label that THEY provided.

A few weeks go by, and I still haven't received any kind of update on the return process. Reached out to them, only to be told they supposedly never received my glasses and can't help me. They are asking for proof that I sent the glasses, but I'm not really sure how to do that since I used the shipping label that they provided to me. It's not like my mailbox prints out a receipt when I put things in it. As of almost March 2019, I'm still being told that the glasses are lost and they won't issue my refund.

Almost $190 wasted because this company is a scam.

Nothing yet
February 4, 2019
I thought I purchased 2 pair of glasses on the 14th of January and on the 4th of February I have nothing to show for it.....No glasses and no shipping information. I would strongly suggest finding another place to purchase your eye wear. The price is very good but if you never receive anything....you figure it out

ElleMcLaughlin February 22, 2019

Wish I had done some research before buying.

This is my current experience with them. There are lies all throughout these chats.

Elizabeth McLaughlin

Feb 22, 07:37 PST

Chat started: 2019-02-22 03:14 PM UTC

(03:14:09 PM) elizabeth mclaughlin: Order #101525031

I never received these glasses. Upon searching for the status using my order number,

YOUR GLASSES ARE IN QUALITY TESTING.

ONCE YOUR GLASSES PASS OUR RIGOROUS 5-STRIPE QUALITY INSPECTION AND ARE PACKAGED, YOU WILL IMMEDIATELY RECEIVE THE TRACKING INFORMATION.

Quality assurance normally takes 2-3 business days.

What the heck is up with that? The day before yesterday I was told it had shipped!

(03:14:21 PM) *** Matt Stephenson joined the chat ***

(03:14:55 PM) Matt Stephenson: Hi Elizabeth!

(03:15:08 PM) Matt Stephenson: Let me check the status of your order and I will be back in a moment

(03:19:31 PM) Matt Stephenson: Your glasses have completed our 5 -stripe quality assurance testing and are currently in transit to our sorting facility. The tracking number should be assigned and become active within 1-2 business days.

You will be able track your order through our website by clicking on the following link:

http://www.glassesusa.com/tracking/search/.

Please note that the tracking system is space sensitive.

(03:20:26 PM) elizabeth mclaughlin: Well why did the csr I chatted with the day before yesterday, lie to me and give me the wrong UPS tracking number, when theyt weren't even shipped!

(03:20:33 PM) Matt Stephenson: You can expect your item to be delivered within next wekk, in the other hand, I will send a notification to our relevant department for an update of your order status.

(03:20:59 PM) elizabeth mclaughlin: There is something fishey with this company! And, I will make sure to let others know!

(03:21:04 PM) Matt Stephenson: Let me further check, one moment please.

(03:22:53 PM) Matt Stephenson: I can see here that our relevant department provide a tracking number, 1Z8WF1780476531138.

(03:23:04 PM) Matt Stephenson: And it is our for delivery today.

(03:23:47 PM) elizabeth mclaughlin: This is the chat I had with Sarah the day before yesterday.

(03:23:49 PM) elizabeth mclaughlin: Chat started: 2019-02-20 01:34 PM UTC

(01:34:48 PM) elizabeth mclaughlin: Order # 101525031

Where are these glasses? The CSR I spoke with last, stated they were shipped out. I haven't received a shipping confirmation or tracking number.

(01:35:20 PM) *** Sarah Simpson joined the chat ***

(01:35:33 PM) Sarah Simpson: Hi Elizabeth!

(01:35:36 PM) Sarah Simpson: Let me check the status of your order and I will be back in a moment

(01:35:57 PM) elizabeth mclaughlin: Thank you

(01:41:54 PM) Sarah Simpson: This is the tracking number 1Z8WF1780476531138 please click on the link

https://www.ups.com/track?loc=en_US

ElleMcLaughlin February 22, 2019

NOT TO BE TRUSTED!!!!

Worst Company Ever!
January 8, 2019
Would never refer this company to anyone. Purchased a pair of glasses and returned, they do not stand behind their 100% Money Back Guarantee!! I spent 6 months back and forth with emails and finally a dispute to try and handle. I see this seems to be a ongoing problem with this company. Buyer Beware!!!

Frustrated Consumer
November 8, 2018
I have found this company to be very deceptive and unhelpful. Ordered glasses and did not find out that frames and lenses were incompatible until I called to find out why they had not arrived. Customer service repeatedly gave the same story of incompatibility without addressing my questions as to why I had not been contacted or why the second pair that I had ordered had not been shipped. Even with all the delays they only offered me the "expedited shipping" that I had already paid for - the glasses would arrive in 8 days (a full 3 weeks from my order). I will never order from this company again and recommend that all customers go elsewhere.

Sketchy!!!!!!!!!
November 5, 2018
DO NOT ORDER GLASSES FROM THEM!!!! I ordered 3 pairs of glasses and after a month of keeping up with the tracking info they gave me (which was inaccurate) I still never received them. When I called and asked what I could do they said it was not their problem and there was nothing they could do. So they kept my money for 3 pairs of glasses that I did not receive. DO NOT GET YOUR GLASSES HERE!!!!!!

James W Beck December 08, 2018

You're not very business savy. Call credit card company and dispute the charges even if a debit card. They will credit your card while they investigate.

Great company if you don't have to deal with customer service
October 28, 2018

I initially had a great experience with this company. I found the website user friendly and the selection to be sufficient. I received my pair of my glasses for a good price and was quite happy with them... for a few months. One day when I was trying to adjust the metal arm, the arm broke off at the hinge which was upsetting as they weren't even close to a year old. I remembered seeing on their website that they have a 365 day warranty policy (GREAT.) What they don't advertise is that you do not get your money back or a replacement pair. You get a partial credit... 50% of what you paid and you have a to pay for the return shipping and tracking. RIP OFF. They can't even stand behind their glasses. This was just one instance. Since I was initially happy with my glasses I decided to buy two other pairs shortly after I purchases the first pair. Once received, I found them to be of terrible quality and unsuitable for me. Trying to get my money back was an absolute nightmare. It took months. Trying to get ahold of them was nearly impossible. When I would get a response it was as if it was a robot answering with generic messages and not actually reading my whole email to answer my specific questions.

So if you don't have any problems with your glasses and never have to deal with customer service/returns, then go ahead and use this terrible company.

MJHewitt Jr. May 26, 2021

exactly how i feel. 3 weeks and tracking has not moved

bad company and bad support. I'll never buy anything here again
October 2, 2018
I would like to inform you of my bad experience with this company. I bought a Rayban sunglasses with multifocal lenses. The lenses were of poor quality and I returned my glasses. When I went to request the return I was offered the amount paid plus 10% if I opted to buy another glasses in the company. I accepted and returned the glasses. After more than 5 days I did not receive authorization to use the credit again and I went to the chat to ask why the delay. The clerk said she should wait up to 5 working days. Not satisfied with this term I decided to cancel my purchase and request the refund of the amount paid on my credit card. First she did not want to do it and after I insisted a lot she decided to do and said that the credit would be done in up to 30 business days. Therefore, here is a great warning to anyone who is buying from this company. The return is not made that easy. You need to have patience with the support so that they solve your problem and the company is not true in the information published at the time of purchase. Great advice for new customers, DO NOT BUY THIS COMPANY, MAKE VALUE FOR YOUR MONEY.

GregyThomas January 27, 2019

Bad customer service

Worst customer service company I have ever experienced !!
September 12, 2018
I ordered prescription sunglasses which were delivered broken. Instead of returning them through the mail which I knew could take weeks to repair and be returned to me, I opted to take them and have them repaired locally. I had them back the next day at a minimal cost which was fine. One week later the frame broke and a lens fell out. This time I decided to return them for repair thinking the frame needed to be replaced. Big mistake !! Two weeks later I called to find out when I could expect my glasses back. I was told my frames were out of stock and it would be several more weeks before they would be back in stock. Their attitude was just wait until they are ready to send them back to you. I was offered another pair of their stock frames as a replacement but did not see another frame that I wanted. The closest frame to the ones I ordered were a Ray-Ban frame which they refused to send because they were a more expensive frame then my stock one. At this point I decided to wait a little longer for my stock frame ( which I really wanted back ). Big mistake !! Three weeks later still no glasses and was told they had no idea when my original frames would be in. Their repeated response was " sorry about that " as if they could care less about helping you. At this point I told GlassesUSA to refund my money and I would go elsewhere. No telling when that might happen but rest assured if it does not happen within the next 10 days they have not heard the last of me. If I were advising a future customer about whether on not to order from this company I would say DON'T DO IT !! Buy your glasses elsewhere so that you can actually go to a store and resolve your issue face to face with someone who really cares about customer service. As I stated in my review title this is the WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE I have ever experienced ! BEWARE !!

JackHarwood September 24, 2018

I have pretty much the same problem from what I am reading in complaints about these isreal glasses were not going to get our money back. join me in posting on facebook, wiki, twitter,instagram and you tube lets put these crooks in prison or at least out of business. [email protected] [email protected] I look forward to see you reposting

Do not order from scammers!
June 22, 2018

They offered to send a coupon code with 60 % off the first purchase. I spent a lot of time choosing the frame, get my prescription in and started to order the pair. When it was time to put in the coupon code it was invalid. I tried with another frame. Same thing. I called customer service and they could not give that discount over the phone. They had another brilliant idea to give me another generous discount that was $120 dollars less. I declined and hang up. I then checked all their coupon codes they offer at different places. It says 50%, 70% and 80%. When you use these discounts it turns out that it is not %. It is dollars. You get about half the discount you expect. I am sure they trust that the customers are less stubborn than I am and just order anyway.

SCAM.

AVOID
June 7, 2018
This company is without a question a scam. I ordered a pair of Ray Ban glasses. Upon receiving, the plastic feels cheap and the hinges of the temples do not provide outward flexibility. My old pair is a legit ray band I bought from my optometrist office and when comparing side by side, it's sooo obvious the pair from GlassesUSA is a fake. The company is based in Israel (based on wikipedia) I assume this is where they received the counterfeit products from. there are many youtube videos to teach hot to spot fake ray ban and it's 110% without any doubes a fake!

ElenaCharrette June 12, 2018

Agree with it, i have the same story. I did order on a prescription Ray Ban sun glasses but i got chip regular frame with chip prescription lenses and just lenses from Ray Ban. Scam. Because Ray Ban prescription glasses coast around $ 450 but this company sell by $200

ElenaCharrette June 12, 2018

Ray Ban prescription sun glasses*

Great Experience, Quality & Price -- Glad I went ahead and ordered
May 14, 2018

I was somewhat concerned by the # of negative reviews which I read on BBB and this review site, so I thought a bit before ordering...

HOWEVER, when I finally did, I actually had a 5 STAR experience!

I finally chose GlassesUSA because:

1) I didn't want to pay an outrageously unfair amount of money for glasses

2) I had stopped in to a local provider and was disappointed in the style selection

3) I found the GlassesUSA Website extremely user-friendly; very easy to locate both the style and material of frames I was interested in

4) I loved the fact that GlassesUSA not only provided precise dimensions on the frames so I could compare them to my own, but they also had a range of "Faces" on which I could see the exact same glasses, and/or even upload my own photo or use my webcam like a mirror.

5) They were also offering a great discount

So.....I took the plunge and placed two separate orders for glasses. This was my experience:

1) I received immediate and timely updates from GassesUSA on the status of my order at each step in the process (Purchase/Production/QC/Shipping)

2) GlassesUSA also provided a USPS Tracking # so I was able to follow the progress of the shipment once it left their facility.

3) I received my new glasses in just one week (1 week earlier than the original ETA)

4) The glasses are fantastic quality and restored my struggling eyes to perfect vision.

I was delighted from start to finish and will continue to use GlassesUSA for my refills.

Cannot understand why so many complained.....perhaps GlassesUSA sells so many glasses and this represents only 1% of overall buyers experience. I had a great experience myself.

DK KM June 07, 2018

sounds like you were hired by the company to make this review. Typical. Trying so hard to debunk all the negative reviews

DK KM June 07, 2018

Your review is too detailed, bro. No one breaks down points like these unless they work for the company. Try again.

Diane June 07, 2018

Yeah, well I don't work for them and this was the first time in my life I've even needed prescription lenses. I've excelled in my profession because I am detailed oriented, and that's how I do everything. Sorry, bad call. ;-)

DK KM June 13, 2018

HAHA you said "bad call" as if one of these days there would be a good call if it's finally revealed the company hires people to review them? I am guessing you excelled in your job as either a low ranked customer service rep or marketing assistant.

Also, it's the first time in your life you ever needed an Rx lenses and you decided to order it online? Either you must be actually dumb or made up a very lame excuse.

FYI, most people with nearsightedness developed it very early in life. And I'd you are old enough to have farsightedness you probably wouldn't order the FIRSF air of your glasses online either (as most old people are old school and skeptical about internet purchases). I think you are pretty stupid to think anyone would believe those lies.

Diane June 13, 2018

No actually, I have been farsighted since childhood and have used drug store readers for the past 10 years just for reading.

Because I have different sight in both eyes, it was becoming more difficult to read and I feared I was damaging my eyes.

Actually, professionally my background is both in technology and Web site development, which I did free lance (to include developing entire product and Web commerce sites) and Accounting and Business Management full time.....all of which require extreme attention to detail.

Sorry, but you're incorrect on all counts... I'm not in any way connected to GlassesUSA....Just pleased with my first purchase and I frequently offer reviews on ALL my online purchases, especially on Amazon.

Mario September 30, 2019

You are paid lair this is a scam and you should be ashamed of yourself

Total Scam!!
May 12, 2018
I too fell victim to this evil companies games of lies and stealing money. I ordered glasses on April 20th with the 3 installment payment plan. I got an email saying that my glasses had shipped 6 days later. For about a week I kept checking the USPS tracking number provided me and it kept saying that the label had been created but the carrier hasn't received the package yet (which means they never sent it). I called Glassesusa to inquire about the shipping, because they had already taken out the first payment. First they said they shipped it on the 23rd, but the email I received and USPS said that the label was created on the 26th. I was also yelled at by the customer service representative (Who I swear is the same person everytime you call) because I kept calling to make sure they didn't start the 14 day return policy because I received another email saying we hope you are enjoying your new glasses, but I still had not received the glasses. He was so rude that at that point I was disgusted with this company. I kept calling to inquire about where my glasses were and they said they would have to forward it to the delivery department for further review. I would get emails saying that they are still looking into the matter and finally I got a message saying that as part of their terms and conditions they are not responsible for the glasses anymore once it leaves their facility. I was so pissed I called them again demanding answers. They told me to call USPS and I did and they said they still haven't received a package. I called them back to tell them what USPS told me and they finally sent me an email saying we are sorry but your glasses got lost in the mail (Bullcrap! They never sent them). Apparently, I ordered the last pair of glasses in the style I liked, so they offered me any price replacement glasses that were not premium glasses, store credit or a full refund. I did not like any of the other glasses they offered and was so over this company I opted for a refund. I replied to the email I wanted a refund and no response so I called them and told them I want a refund the guy said he was processing the refund and should see it within a few business days. Well now today I can see almost $84 (which is the last two payments) pending as a DEBIT! Not credit!! I called them yet again and the representative said since I chose the 3 payments option they have to charge the full amount of the purchase to refund the full amount instead of just cancelling the payment plan and refunding the first payment. Like does this make sense to anyone? Why didn't the guy who said he was going to refund my money tell me they were going to do some shifty underhanded BS like that?! They are scammers!!! I have to cancel my credit card now and dispute the charges because I do not trust them! DO NOT! I REPEAT, DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THEM!!!!

DK KM June 07, 2018

couldnt agree more

DO NOT ORDER FROM THEM!!!!
May 10, 2018

5/7/18

Their customer service and response times are ridiculous!! I placed an order and it wasn't until 5-7 attempts (each time was on hold NO LESS then 15 minutes) and 14 days later they informed me they were out of stock on the frames I ordered. I'm STILL waiting on my refund... THEIR BASICALLY STEALING FROM ME AND NOT RESPONDING OR GIVING MY REFUND OR PRODUCT!! Do yourself a favor and order from someone else!! Filed a fraud claim with my cc company along with my paper trail!

Company Does Not Deserve To Exist!
April 25, 2018
Thank goodness it doesn't happen very often in life, but you occasionally run across one of those companies that should not exist because they have a horrible company culture and do not get anything right! Glasses USA is one of those companies. They seem to endeavor to find a problem with your order so that they can stop it from going to production. There is a very noticeable amount of infighting between the internal departments, calling each other incompetent idiots in front of customers. In my two experiences with the company (each with an order for two pairs of glasses); they charge your credit card immediately, but lose the order and took nine weeks to fulfill one order and eight weeks to fill the other. The final order, they sent two pairs of sunglasses when one was supposed to be normal glasses with transition lenses; and it was silver instead of gold. (I have never owned a pair of silver glasses in my life.) And if you need warranty service, it took over five phone calls and eleven emails over eight weeks to get their attention! So am I supposed to send the glasses that need replacing and let them lose them and forget all about it? That would be foolish, wouldn't it? My advice, run, don't walk, away from Glasses USA! And they have existed for ten years now? Horrible company that does not deserve to exist because they do not care whatsoever about their customers!