Economy Bookings Reviews

Economy Bookings
( 146 reviews )

Economy Bookings Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Scam stay away!
February 20, 2023
OMG, SCAM....don't use these guys, I just had a reservation with CLUBS rental car, Miami, FL. First off the location was a sketchy off site location with no cars in the lot. They didn't want to honor the price I had with contract with Economy Bookings ($168/week) and said I didn't have the right insurance but could sell it to me for another $1100....OMG...stay away...I tried to call customer service for Economy and was told there is nothing they can do and I wasn't going to get my deposit back. I think the whole thing is a big SCAM...don't use anything from this site. When asked to talk to customer service they said only by email, 7-10 days to reply...unreal...STAY AWAY

They will rob you.
February 3, 2023

These people are crooks! I booked a car through their website for a Thrifty Car Rental. 5 days before the rental is to begin, I phoned Thrifty, with the reservation number sent by economybookings.com, to cancel as my flight departure was changed.

Thrifty was great to deal with and said "No problem, the reservation is cancelled and you will receive the refund within 7-10 days". All good.

Today, I receive a confirmation email from economybookings.com reminding me of my car rental starting tomorrow. I called them and all the sarcastic man on the phone kept repeating to me "Thrifty never told us!" When I said "Thrifty says I will be receiving the refund in 7-10 days" his response is "Well, lucky for us Thrifty doesn't have your money, we do and you are not getting it back."

At this point, RBC (it was booked to my RBC Visa card) says I need to wait 15 days before they can reverse the charge, but it is still absolutely appalling to have a company operate like this.

Stay as far away as you can!!

0 contact
January 31, 2023
They absolutely do not respond to my emails.

False accusations!!
January 28, 2023

I'm a foreign military I rented through economy bookings and I paid 1,800$ for a car that I didn't get from " thrifty " because my last name on my debit card is one letter different from my driving lisence, I didn't know that was a big deal coz in my country that's fine .

I called economy bookings for a solution after I went back and forth with thrifty trying to find a way coz I was stuck in " DFW " without a car and they said we can't do anything coz the time of your rent already started and the only way is to email their support team .

I sent a very clear email and they replied after a week putting all the blame on me saying I'm not there on time and I didn't have money on my credit and I didn't bring documents !!!! And that's not true coz I provided everything .

They showed ZERO appreciation and didn't try to help at all !! Like yes I know you have a policy but I didn't receive the car because I didn't want to its just that things took a unexpected turn .

Scam. Stay away from Economy Bookings
January 25, 2023
SCAM. I brooked a car rental in Cali, Colombia for Christmas Day. When I got there they said they had no cars to rent for me. They took my deposit of over $300. I’ve asked for them to refund my deposit but it appears they won’t be issuing a refund based on others who also got screwed the same way.

Scammed
January 12, 2023

DON'T DO IT!! I booked this in a Covid Fog, less than a week after my mum's funeral so I could go pick up my brother's ashes in Brisbane. Yes, a triple whammy, so booked through these people as they had "East Coast" as their link. So, thinking it was East Coast Car Rental (because that is what I typed in) I stupidly didn't look at the actual web address.

So, in my Covid Fog I booked the car at Brisbane and bought the insurance. I rang East Coast in Brisbane in a panic after I realized this was an offshore company. They said, the insurance was useless, and they were aware of these people but there was nothing they could do. I wasn't the first one that had been caught. I went back and cancelled the booking. Within literally minutes I had a cancellation fee of AU$67! The booking wasn't even one hour old and not for another 4 weeks.

Massive scam and companies in Australia just don't operate like this so I'm absolutely gob smacked and horrified at these people. Just do yourself a favour and don't try and go cheaper. Support your own country and be safe. I cancelled my bank card just to be sure.

Pricing is not what was advertised
January 11, 2023

I booked online and was given a total price for a rental car in February. Opened my Mastercard statement and was charged much more on the credit card than the total price that was identified when I placed the order. I cannot find anywhere a phone number or any contact data to have a talk. Very fishy company.

SCAMMER ALERT! Stay away from this Car Rental
January 3, 2023

Booked a car for 8 days and did not have credit card on the pick up as my account was temporarily blocked due to suspicious activity/hacking. I called their customer service to add my friend’s name on the rental, so we can use her credit card for the deposit as it was FULLY-PAID already but I was told that they cannot do anything to help me but offered to assist for a new booking instead. Like totally disregarding my concern and my fully-paid reservation. I did not get to pick up the car and I refused to book another reservation thru them.

I had emailed them but I was told that I cannot get a refund. This Company has an ODD policy close to being the biggest SCAM and does not offer decent service to Customers.

Complete scam. Do not rent
December 30, 2022

DO NOT USE this company.

We were to arrive at 1pm and pick up a rental from Payless car rental at the Portland airport.

Our plane arrived late and we arrived at the counter at 5pm

Payless counter rep found the reservation and confirmed they had plenty of cars.

However, economybookings had a block on the reservation. We contacted them via phone and they claimed that Payless had denied the booking and they could do nothing. This was said in front of the Payless counter agent. The counter agent, hearing this , asked the economy booking rep to un block the reservation and they would rent us the car. The economy rep hung up on us.

We got a rental car thru Payless and made a complaint to out credit card company. By the way, Payless are mgr continued to try and open the blocked contract through the next 24 hours.

75 days later we got a response from Economy. Their letter to our complaint read "we could not honor the clients rental due to issues beyond our control". Vague and a total lie.

We have re initiated our complaint and are looking at a class action suit for deceptive business practices.

DO NOT book a rental through this off shore sham. We will update here with a copy of their responses and any ideas on how to respond.

We are also making complaints to the consumer protection agency , as well as master card, Bank of America, and will be noticing AAA and The ARP.

We intent to alert every contact we can.

By the way, our contract was for $403.00. Economybookings normal fee is less than 10% on a booking. They didn't pay a dime, instead keeping the whole fee. They are a scam...

R & JDrake December 31, 2022

Thank you for this information

Scam! They still owe me 1500€ after 3.5 months
December 30, 2022

Scam! Don't book with EconomyBookings,3.5months later they still owe me 1500€ from the full car insurance.I sent all the documents for the claim 3.5 months ago, they said in the receipt it would take 10 business days and after emailing them 20times with no reply, calling them 4 times they cant give me any information or phone number of the insurance department.

Don’t recommend!!!!
December 28, 2022
Don’t use this service!!!!!! I’ve booked a prepaid for 18 days!!! and have bought a full coverage insurance. On pick up point in Malta I couldn’t get the car because I had to pay plus 450 € for insurance, because I didn’t have a credit card. I wanted to cancel to refund rather half of payment, but they don’t return any!!! I’ve lose my money and get only message “When you complete the reservation, you have read, understood, and agreed to the Cancellation and Non-refundable Policy disclosed during the process of booking, therefore, you accepted and agreed to the transaction, made the reservation and received confirmation.” But for example bookingeconomy could return half because I didn’t use my order at all. They even didn’t offer me discount of next booking! I totally fractured and angry about this service. I don’t recommend to use it. Better to rent a car directly

Total crap of a company
December 28, 2022

Horrible experience with this co. Refused to refund car rental costs when we were stranded due to the winter storm that’s still messing up travel. All flights in/out of our city were cancelled so we couldn’t get to destination.

Emailed this co the same day to cancel. Responded with no refund and no exception for unforeseen circumstances. Airlines and hotel refunded $$ because it makes sense. Total rip-off.

Economy bookings helps scammers
December 19, 2022
Stole my deposit and left without a rental car in Mexico.

No Customer Service if something goes wrong
December 15, 2022

Our flight was delayed and my husband contacted them that our flight was delayed but they are claiming that they have no record of that contact and they are not responsible for any changes in flight schedule. We arrived at the car rental company after our delayed and they had a car for us, however, EconomyBookings never transferred any of the money we paid them to the car rental company as they can canceled our reservation. The biggest problem is that they have NO customer support. There is a number to call on their website but it is just a front, if you are calling about a post booking request they just tell you to fill out an electronic form. I called 4 times and was not able to talk with a person. They kept our approximately $450 and did not fulfill their end of the deal and pay the rental car company.

Never use them again
December 4, 2022

I hired a car for 1,300euro which I never got...

Scam
December 2, 2022

This is a scam website period.

I spent handfuls of dollars purchasing from your website which I can easily ignore or dispute. But, I just let you know that I will file a claim for your company even if I have to spend thousands of dollars. Expect me!

Bait & Switch by Economy Bookings Partner
November 25, 2022
Thought I secured a great rental deal with one of EB's partners, Green Motion, $18.00 per day, at Tampa. Upon arrival, was told that my NYS Insurance, $50K/$100K, was not adequate, they required $500K, yes, a half a million dollars. This additional charge was $30.00 per day. Also, they wouldn't allow me to utilize my personal SunPass, I would have had to pay $19.00 per day for theirs or avoid toll roads. Classic "bait & switch". Neither charge was indicated before arrival at Tampa. Economy Bookings "investigated" and offered no consideration. I would not reserve a car with them again

Bait & Switch
November 17, 2022

Economy Bookings offered us a classic bait & switch scam. If you don’t accept additional coverage (often provided by the credit card used to book the rental) the car rental company's credit card machine will not accept a full deposit amount against damages.

In our case we were obliged to cancel the reservation Economy Bookings made with America Car Rental and take a car with Hertz instead – at less than America could offer us with minimal coverage, but considerably more than the advertised price by Economy Bookings.

Lesson: if it looks too good to be true, it probably isn’t!

Took our money, had no cars, would not issue refund
October 31, 2022

We booked and paid Economybookings in July '22 for a rental car to be picked up in September at Bologna Airport. We arrived at the Goldcar counter - waited an hour for only 4 guests waiting ahead of us - and discovered that they had given all cars away. There was a big event in Verona that weekend and car prices skyrocketed with demand - so no one had cars left in their rental fleets.

We were very upset to learn we could not get a car we had paid for as this threw our plans off considerably! Goldcar apologized and assured us that Economybookings would refund us... 'just contact customer service'. 5 weeks later Economy Booking advise us that 'since we did not show up, no refund would be issued'. WTF? We showed up... we told them we showed up... we waited over an hour after showing up... but yeah, that's their story.

We are now pursuing this through more legal means to recuperate our losses. What a sad situation to have to fight for something we genuinely paid for?!?! BE VERY CAREFUL if you choose to book with this nefarious company!

Throwing away your money
October 31, 2022
Doesn't seem reputable, nor does America Car rentals. When I arrived at America, the price never included the price paid to Economy Booking and with insurance was 11X the Economy Booking rate. In Mexico I know the game with the local insurance, but involving economy is simply throwing away money. I'll also never rent from America Rentals either. Stick with major names.