BetterHelp Reviews

BetterHelp
Based on 331  Reviews



Review It

About BetterHelp

BetterHelp.com is the online home of BetterHelp, a company who says their goal is to provide their customers with access to quality, professional help when they are facing life's challenges so they can be happier.

The website promises that all the counselors you can be matched with through the BetterHelp website are licensed, board accredited, and qualified with either a PhD or a masters certificate in addition to years of counseling experience. 

How Does It Work?

Customers will sign up for an account and fill out a short questionnaire so you can be matched with a professional counselor who can provide the support and guidance you need. Once you've created your account and been matched with a counselor, you will begin communicating with your counselor via online messages, whenever you need, on your schedule.

Customers can communicate with their counselor on an unlimited basis each week until they feel they have successfully overcome the problem or obstacle they were facing. Customers are welcome to cancel their membership at any time without penalty. 

Cost/Price Plans

Customers can sign up, get matched, and begin speaking to your counselor all for free. Customers who decide to continue with their services will pay a flat fee of $35 per week for unlimited counseling, which gives you the ability to speak to your counselor as much as you need.

Refund Policy

Since BetterHelp allows their customers to pay for services on a week-by-week basis, their website does not detail any overarching or general Refund Policy. Customers who feel they have an issue or complaint that warrants a refund should contact Customer Service and deal with their situation on a case by case basis. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact their Customer Service team with questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link, by phone at 888-688-9296, or by traditional mail at 440 N. Wolfe Rd, Sunnyvale, CA 94085.

Reputation

The few reviews available for BetterHelp at this time tend to be very positive, and reviewers describe a very professional and beneficial experience which just happens to have the added advantage of being accessible by internet or through your mobile device.

It is still important to understand, however, that BetterHelp does not claim that they are a replacement for professional therapy or counseling. They are an additional or alternative tool that people may use if traditional therapy is difficult to schedule or cost prohibitive, but depending on the issues you are dealing with, you may still be referred to a traditional mental health professional if that's what they feel is best for your needs.  

Is It Safe?

Customers who are concerned with privacy issues are assured by BetterHelp.com that their system is HIPAA compliant to ensure your privacy. They provide banking grade encryption which allows users to be completely anonymous, even to your counselor. 

Competitors and Alternatives?

Online counseling is a fairly new type of service and it doesn't seem as though BetterHelp has many competitors in the market right now.  
    
If you have any experience with this company or their products, please leave your BetterHelp reviews below.

331 ‘BetterHelp’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:

infrequent responses



November6, 2014

I'm just on the free trial right now. I've gotten a few, short response back to what I've written, but it's incredibly slow to get a response (for instance, I haven't gotten a response in 2 days). The counselor has responded with relatively generic answers to my specific questions. I think it would work if you had a really run-of-the-mill issue and either a) just needed to say something, even into the abyss or b) wanted generic feedback.

For $40/week, I'd expect multiple, detailed responses. (Or one highly detailed response each week, or MANY not detailed responses). For 2-3 vague and generic responses per week, I'll pass.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
November 09, 2014

Would not agree more. This precisely defines my experience. I have stuck it out for more than 4 weeks. I don't get any response for 5-6 days. It does seem to be a scam. I am giving them one more chance - asking them to change my counselor. If it works, good, otherwise, friends, do not waste your money.

It seems most of the people had the same experience. I am really wary of the reviews which seem to say that other people do not know how to interact with them.

November 10, 2014

i m on hold right now with www.betterhelp.com
to cancel my membership.
When i ask the owner,today about it early morning?
almost 10 hours ago,he has FAILED TO ANSWER,
but yet was just"checking in with me."
---
i told him i want to cancel,how sad,disappointed i was.
But he fail to get back.
---
I just recorded myself saying to not use my credit card,
we are cancelling our membership,so i m hoping it is not a scam.
...
Time will tell.

January 11, 2015

I think it depends on who the counselor is. I have been on it for almost one week and I couldn't wish for more prompt response and helpful conversations.

March 19, 2015

Mine is the same way! My counselor is amazing and does everything from just letting me vent to actually trying to help me through my problems both by giving me ideas on what to do or helping work through my problems I have mentally in the way I think. I love this website.

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Better Help is helping me get out of depression



October23, 2014

I have been struggling with depression for more than 1 year and have been taking anti-depressants with little improvement. I know therapy is important, but in the area where I live it is very hard to find therapists who accept insurance. Therapists normally charge between $150-225 per session, and like many people, I cannot afford these rates. After searching online, I found Better Help. I am extremely happy with my counselor. He has been insightful and always asks the right questions to help me make decisions. I can say that within a few weeks I am finally feeling more in control of my life and with the appropriate tools to continue getting better. He replies promptly and advises whether he will be unavailable. With regard to payments, the website clearly states how often the company will charge you. You get a discount if you make lump sum payments (monthly, quarterly, etc.). I chose the weekly plan in case I changed my mind, but I am thinking of switching to a monthly plan to get a higher discount. I highly recommend this service!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Wonderful service!



October10, 2014

I have been extremely happy with BetterHelp.com--both the company and my counselor. I don't think this format is for everyone, but I know myself well enough to know that an online format was likely a very good way for me to get help. I have had enough in person counseling to have a valid comparison. I like that I have the time to formulate my thoughts and write things down. My counselor is amazing--she responds in a very timely manner and is very thoughtful and attentive to the things that I have written. Keep in mind this is a two way street--I feel as a client you need to take responsibility to express yourself well and dictate your needs and goals. Again, this is why this format might not be for everyone as not everyone is comfortable communicating clearly via email. I was very upfront with my counselor on what I hoped to get out of the relationship and time spent with her and she is very good at delivering that. You can also switch counselors if you need to so I never felt like I was locked into one person.

In regards to the complaints about cost and how people didn't know that after the trial it would be a a monthly charge, I blame that more on their lack of fully reading the website. It is very clear if you take the time to read what they outline. I am in marketing and understand what they are doing--they want to highlight the lowest price by stating it as $35 a week vs. the full monthly amount like any business would, but again, if you read completely you see how it is broken down.

I received a scholarship from BetterHelp.com at a time when I am struggling financially--they gave this to me with no hassle whatsoever and I fully intend to pay the full monthly amount when I am back on my feet. It's totally worth it!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
March 14, 2015

how did you receive the scholarship?

Your Comment

I love betterhelp



October10, 2014

My free trial was not that way at all we spoke several times before I had to pay but even when I had to pay I did. I can't afford to take time off this works very well for me. As a single working mother of two kids I don't have people I can spill my problems too. This is also much more affordable. Some therapists charge $150 an hour and with better help I get a month of talking for that amount. Also like someone else said if your not happy with the service you can switch counselors. Their customer service is fast too. This is NOT a scam. People use that word way too loosely. There's a big difference between just being unhappy with a provider and paying for a service you don't get. Give it w try before you judge.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Unhappy with counseling, was denied refund



September28, 2014

I wrote a very long introductory message to my counselor, and she was rather obviously not interested in actually responding in a timely way to everything I had mentioned in that "initial session." I felt like she was just trying to get through the free trial week so I'd be roped into the pay subscription. I had hopes during the first few weeks that she'd actually get to everything I had sent her - but instead, she'd send me "check-in messages" to see if I was "okay." Um, no... I'm kind of waiting for you to get to the stuff that you never said a thing about. She would send me quotes and platitudes and would refer to things I had mentioned in very vague ways, and would ask stupid questions like, "How do you feel about this horrible thing that happened?" Um, duh. I feel horrible. I was billed for the first month, and then billed again BEFORE continuing counseling after that. I was refunded for the later billing, but have been refused a refund for the earlier billing, being told that I had exchanged several messages with my counselor, and that she should be paid for that time. Sorry, but I disagree. I could have received better counseling from an online robot.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
October 01, 2014

I personally use Prestoexperts.com/professional-counseling online service
It work on a pay-per-use basis and I only pay for the minutes I spend chatting or talking with my therapist.

October 02, 2014

From FAQs: if you started the process and you feel it isn't a good fit, you may elect to switch to a different counselor.

Your Comment

horrible scam artists



August30, 2014

Charged $140 after I cancelled weekly trial. Their website never even mentions charging one giant Monthly charge. I called Saturday. Got a phony supervisor. They lied said id be contacted within 24 hours then admitted they wouldn't be open until Tuesday (Monday is labor day). I am a single mom struggling financially and they made my situation horrible worse. Do not use

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
October 02, 2014

Then, after a week of free trial, you will pay a flat fee for unlimited counseling. This means that you can interact with your counselor as often as you need and as much as you like at the same price. You can choose between paying $40 per week with weekly payments, $35 per week with monthly payments, or just $28 per week with quarterly payments. The most popular plan (and the one which will apply unless you select otherwise) is the monthly plan.

Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Convenient, Anonymous, Awesome



August1, 2014

I've been talking with a counselor on BetterHelp for a couple of months and I really like it. I travel extensively for work and can't really see a therapist on a regular basis, plus I feel a lot more comfortable not talking to some one face to face, it's so much easier to send messages back and forth.

Fees are simply stated on the site, its pretty affordable I think, about the same price as a copay with your insurance.

If you don't like your counselor you can switch too which is nice to know.

I've had a really good experience with this site.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Up front and honest legitimate help.



July27, 2014

Service is easy to use. Customer service if you have any questions is prompt and courteous which I love. I liked my counselor I could tell she read my long long long responses all the way through. I like the idea of online counseling. I'm glad I tried it. If I feel the need for help at any point in the future I would use this service again.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment

Leave a Review