BetterHelp Reviews

BetterHelp
Based on 327  Reviews



Review It

About BetterHelp

BetterHelp.com is the online home of BetterHelp, a company who says their goal is to provide their customers with access to quality, professional help when they are facing life's challenges so they can be happier.

The website promises that all the counselors you can be matched with through the BetterHelp website are licensed, board accredited, and qualified with either a PhD or a masters certificate in addition to years of counseling experience. 

How Does It Work?

Customers will sign up for an account and fill out a short questionnaire so you can be matched with a professional counselor who can provide the support and guidance you need. Once you've created your account and been matched with a counselor, you will begin communicating with your counselor via online messages, whenever you need, on your schedule.

Customers can communicate with their counselor on an unlimited basis each week until they feel they have successfully overcome the problem or obstacle they were facing. Customers are welcome to cancel their membership at any time without penalty. 

Cost/Price Plans

Customers can sign up, get matched, and begin speaking to your counselor all for free. Customers who decide to continue with their services will pay a flat fee of $35 per week for unlimited counseling, which gives you the ability to speak to your counselor as much as you need.

Refund Policy

Since BetterHelp allows their customers to pay for services on a week-by-week basis, their website does not detail any overarching or general Refund Policy. Customers who feel they have an issue or complaint that warrants a refund should contact Customer Service and deal with their situation on a case by case basis. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact their Customer Service team with questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link, by phone at 888-688-9296, or by traditional mail at 440 N. Wolfe Rd, Sunnyvale, CA 94085.

Reputation

The few reviews available for BetterHelp at this time tend to be very positive, and reviewers describe a very professional and beneficial experience which just happens to have the added advantage of being accessible by internet or through your mobile device.

It is still important to understand, however, that BetterHelp does not claim that they are a replacement for professional therapy or counseling. They are an additional or alternative tool that people may use if traditional therapy is difficult to schedule or cost prohibitive, but depending on the issues you are dealing with, you may still be referred to a traditional mental health professional if that's what they feel is best for your needs.  

Is It Safe?

Customers who are concerned with privacy issues are assured by BetterHelp.com that their system is HIPAA compliant to ensure your privacy. They provide banking grade encryption which allows users to be completely anonymous, even to your counselor. 

Competitors and Alternatives?

Online counseling is a fairly new type of service and it doesn't seem as though BetterHelp has many competitors in the market right now.  
    
If you have any experience with this company or their products, please leave your BetterHelp reviews below.

327 ‘BetterHelp’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

Unhappy with counseling, was denied refund



September28, 2014

I wrote a very long introductory message to my counselor, and she was rather obviously not interested in actually responding in a timely way to everything I had mentioned in that "initial session." I felt like she was just trying to get through the free trial week so I'd be roped into the pay subscription. I had hopes during the first few weeks that she'd actually get to everything I had sent her - but instead, she'd send me "check-in messages" to see if I was "okay." Um, no... I'm kind of waiting for you to get to the stuff that you never said a thing about. She would send me quotes and platitudes and would refer to things I had mentioned in very vague ways, and would ask stupid questions like, "How do you feel about this horrible thing that happened?" Um, duh. I feel horrible. I was billed for the first month, and then billed again BEFORE continuing counseling after that. I was refunded for the later billing, but have been refused a refund for the earlier billing, being told that I had exchanged several messages with my counselor, and that she should be paid for that time. Sorry, but I disagree. I could have received better counseling from an online robot.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
October 01, 2014

I personally use Prestoexperts.com/professional-counseling online service
It work on a pay-per-use basis and I only pay for the minutes I spend chatting or talking with my therapist.

October 02, 2014

From FAQs: if you started the process and you feel it isn't a good fit, you may elect to switch to a different counselor.

Your Comment

horrible scam artists



August30, 2014

Charged $140 after I cancelled weekly trial. Their website never even mentions charging one giant Monthly charge. I called Saturday. Got a phony supervisor. They lied said id be contacted within 24 hours then admitted they wouldn't be open until Tuesday (Monday is labor day). I am a single mom struggling financially and they made my situation horrible worse. Do not use

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
October 02, 2014

Then, after a week of free trial, you will pay a flat fee for unlimited counseling. This means that you can interact with your counselor as often as you need and as much as you like at the same price. You can choose between paying $40 per week with weekly payments, $35 per week with monthly payments, or just $28 per week with quarterly payments. The most popular plan (and the one which will apply unless you select otherwise) is the monthly plan.

Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Convenient, Anonymous, Awesome



August1, 2014

I've been talking with a counselor on BetterHelp for a couple of months and I really like it. I travel extensively for work and can't really see a therapist on a regular basis, plus I feel a lot more comfortable not talking to some one face to face, it's so much easier to send messages back and forth.

Fees are simply stated on the site, its pretty affordable I think, about the same price as a copay with your insurance.

If you don't like your counselor you can switch too which is nice to know.

I've had a really good experience with this site.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Up front and honest legitimate help.



July27, 2014

Service is easy to use. Customer service if you have any questions is prompt and courteous which I love. I liked my counselor I could tell she read my long long long responses all the way through. I like the idea of online counseling. I'm glad I tried it. If I feel the need for help at any point in the future I would use this service again.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Your Mileage May Vary



June11, 2014

First of all, BetterHelp is NOT a scam. It is a legit business offering online counseling. I personally found the billing reasonably transparent, and when I had a question, support was quick to answer.

That being said, your mileage may vary on the actual value of the counseling.

I guess it depends on what you are looking for, your communication style, and whether you find a counselor that suits your personality.

When I looked at the range of counselors available, most seemed a little too conservative and religious for my taste (obviously a matter of personal preference). I selected the counselor who seemed most promising to me, and was subscribed to the service for a month in addition to my free trial. Here are my thoughts on interacting with my counselor:

1) She mostly spoke in platitudes and inspirational quotes. Again, personal preference. This might be great for some people. Not me. I'd rather get down to a deeper discussion with real content.

2) Her messages were always MUCH shorter than mine, and she usually responded within 12-24 hours (occasionally slightly over). I suspected she wasn't being paid enough to be very invested in helping me. I guess at $35/week, you get what you pay for.

3) Have you ever spoken to a chat bot, and they reply to each message in isolation, rather than having a cumulative dialogue? BetterHelp feels a little like that. I didn't get the sense that my counselor reviewed previous sessions at all before responding to the current message. She probably has a lot of clients on BetterHelp, and doesn't remember which one said what a week ago. I feel like most of the benefits of therapy come from having a counselor get to *know* you.

To be fair, I will point out that BetterHelp allows you to switch counselors at any time. However, I am sufficiently discouraged as to be uninterested in this, and will be canceling my subscription before it renews.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 9 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments

I'm one if the counselors available on Better Help and I can assure you that I along with all the other therapists chosen are credentialed and licensed individuals with varying theoretical backgrounds. Style is important in terms of rapport but so is education and all of us have at least one Masters level degree. ( I have 3 of them!) I enjoy being able to help others in an affordable and private way. It enables communication and professional attention immediately while traditional face to face therapy can involve stressful commutes and high expense. Better Help is the wave of the future and I'm happy to provide my services through their platform!

July 01, 2014

I have no doubts as to your credentials. Please see my review above!

October 03, 2014

The credentials are fine, it's the ethics that are questionable. The therapist I got seemed determined to avoid directly addressing the issue, instead sidetracking it in order to unnecessarily prolong the need to send billable text messages. My redirecting the discussion back to the point proved to be an exercise in futility. The site itself is misleading, in that the free trial week is anything but. Without warning it blocks communication after the second free day, demanding credit card information in order to continue, stating that the therapists time is too valuable for them to invest any further counseling unless the customer proves their serious intention to continue therapy by providing their credit card for use beyond the trial period. This breaks trust between the therapist and client, and is tantamount to emotional blackmail. Betterhelp is a dangerous site. That sort of thing is very damaging. Shame on you!

November 09, 2014

Again, so true.

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

truly happy with betterhelp



May24, 2014

I have had a very good experience with betterhelp.com and have made many "meaningful" contacts. I too could not afford the $35/week monthly charge all at once so I changed it to $45/week wvery easily online. I am really happy with my counselor and am so glad this type of service is available to me.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Taking Advantage of People In Need / False Advertising



May9, 2014

I signed up for a trial at BetterHelp and gave my credit card information (was required).

Their website indicates that they bill weekly and that I had 1 week to try the service for free. I was contacted by a Counselor 1x who introduced herself and her background.

After my 7 day trial period I was billed $150.00 on my credit card. I tried to call the phone number listed on their website but all I got was a recording stating that I should 911 if I was having an emergency OR use their contact email to get in touch with them.

The service is not legitimate. The counselors don't make any meaningful contact to give you a chance to get to know them and are, apparently, just waiting to get paid.

The website clearly states the fee is 35.00 per week and nowhere does it state that they will bill $150.00 in advance. I have filed a complaint with the BBB.

Dont use them!!!!!!!!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 9 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
May 18, 2014

This is BetterHelp customer support response:
We offer several payment plans: a weekly plan which is $45 per week charged every week, a discounted monthly plan which is $35 per week charged monthly, and a further discounted plan which is $29 per week charged quarterly.
The user enrolled into the monthly plan when she signed up to the service. The plan was clearly described on the sign up page as well as in our FAQ (www.betterhelp.com/faq?id=11). Also, users can select to switch or cancel plans online with a click of a button - there's no hassle.
The user was charged $150 per month ($35 per week for a month of service) when her 7 day free trial ended. She has used the service during the trial, didn't cancel it or contacted us on any issue.
The user first contacted us by email on May 9 7:25am PST and got a response at 7:33am PST (8 minutes later). She asked to cancel her account and get a refund because apparently she misunderstood (or forgot) that she signed up to the monthly plan. Per her request, we closed her account and processed a full refund at 7:44am PST (19 minutes after she contacted us).
The fact that she didn't get hold of someone on the phone when she called before 8am PST isn't surprising (we are located in California - Pacific Time Zone). Our email support is 24x7 and she has got the issue resolved within less than 20 minutes.
We believe we have provided an excellent and remarkable customer support, and that we attended to the her needs as much as possible.
The user wrote above that "The counselors don't make any meaningful contact to give you a chance to get to know them and are". For privacy reasons we can't go into detail about this specific user experience or interactions. We can say, though, that thousands of people used BetterHelp and its counselors to face various life challenges and the raving testimonials we receive on a daily basis speak for themselves.

Your Comment

Leave a Review