BetterHelp Reviews

About BetterHelp

BetterHelp.com is the online home of BetterHelp, a company who says their goal is to provide their customers with access to quality, professional help when they are facing life's challenges so they can be happier.

The website promises that all the counselors you can be matched with through the BetterHelp website are licensed, board accredited, and qualified with either a PhD or a masters certificate in addition to years of counseling experience. 

How Does It Work?

Customers will sign up for an account and fill out a short questionnaire so you can be matched with a professional counselor who can provide the support and guidance you need. Once you've created your account and been matched with a counselor, you will begin communicating with your counselor via online messages, whenever you need, on your schedule.

Customers can communicate with their counselor on an unlimited basis each week until they feel they have successfully overcome the problem or obstacle they were facing. Customers are welcome to cancel their membership at any time without penalty. 

Cost/Price Plans

Customers can sign up, get matched, and begin speaking to your counselor all for free. Customers who decide to continue with their services will pay a flat fee of $35 per week for unlimited counseling, which gives you the ability to speak to your counselor as much as you need.

Refund Policy

Since BetterHelp allows their customers to pay for services on a week-by-week basis, their website does not detail any overarching or general Refund Policy. Customers who feel they have an issue or complaint that warrants a refund should contact Customer Service and deal with their situation on a case by case basis. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact their Customer Service team with questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link, by phone at 888-688-9296, or by traditional mail at 440 N. Wolfe Rd, Sunnyvale, CA 94085.

Reputation

The few reviews available for BetterHelp at this time tend to be very positive, and reviewers describe a very professional and beneficial experience which just happens to have the added advantage of being accessible by internet or through your mobile device.

It is still important to understand, however, that BetterHelp does not claim that they are a replacement for professional therapy or counseling. They are an additional or alternative tool that people may use if traditional therapy is difficult to schedule or cost prohibitive, but depending on the issues you are dealing with, you may still be referred to a traditional mental health professional if that's what they feel is best for your needs.  

Is It Safe?

Customers who are concerned with privacy issues are assured by BetterHelp.com that their system is HIPAA compliant to ensure your privacy. They provide banking grade encryption which allows users to be completely anonymous, even to your counselor. 

Competitors and Alternatives?

Online counseling is a fairly new type of service and it doesn't seem as though BetterHelp has many competitors in the market right now.  
    
If you have any experience with this company or their products, please leave your BetterHelp reviews below.

264 ‘BetterHelp’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

The most corrupt filthy dirty sneaky company ever in Mental Health

Reviewed By TheDude on June 25, 2017

This company deserves NOTHING from you, not one cent. They have full time staff trolling the internet for negative reviews so they can try to sterilize them, but this will fail because there is no hiding from bad service. Look what BetterHelp did at ripoff report...they paid them a whole bunch of money so that they could sterilize all the negative reviews.. They gush money on Google like niagara falls to lure people into clicking your site when they type in "betterhelp reviews". (Type "better help reviews' into Google and you get paid ads that take you to their homepage. ) they go out of your way to suppress bad reviews, they ban people on facebook who say anything critical about them. Thank goodness they can't ban people here or they would. They are the most aggressive downright dirty sneaky company I have seen in a long time. They grant grant themselves the right in their terms of service to monitor EVERY SINGLE WORD people say in 'therapy sessions" Can you imagine some silicon valley money thirsty entrepreneur listening in on your personal problems between you and your therapist? I can't even see how it is legal, but it is downright offensive. They FORBID you from contacting your therapist outside their "platform'...>i guess they hate the idea they can't "monitor" and evesdrop on your therapy sessions. For them, its all about the money. They take clinical therapy and turn it into a mockery. I look forward to the day they go under.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
BetterHelp Team
June 29, 2017

Our team at BetterHelp is really sorry to hear that you're frustrated with our policies, please feel free to get in touch with us at contact@betterhelp.com - we're happy to resolve any outstanding concerns!

September 14, 2017

lol, you can't be serious. You really sit around all day looking for reviews to counter don't you? Someone pays you a salary so you can come to work and do your best to suppress negative reviews. What a pathetic company! One day, your cash will bleed dry and BetterHelp will go down. That will be a good day.

Your Comment
1 Review

Very frustrating

Reviewed By Fanny on June 22, 2017

Because I never had time to do a visit to my therapist, I thought this would be a good and convenient replacement. I purchased a two month subscription through Groupon but could still not open an account without adding my credit card. I did so and was charged. When I disputed the charge they refunded me but over those two months I still did not speak to a therapist. No therapist was able to explain as to actually use the texting service and I found it difficult to engage otherwise. I submitted a request to close my account ahead of the Groupon deadline, only to find that I had been charged three weeks later. I have yet to receive a response from Betterhelp regarding this and had to file a complaint with my bank.

Anyway, I would not recommend this service and will stick to brick and mortar therapists. This entire experience has left me with more anxiety than what I was already trying to treat.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
June 29, 2017

Hi there, our team at BetterHelp is really sorry to hear that you're frustrated with our policies regarding Groupon, please feel free to get in touch with us at contact@betterhelp.com - we're happy to resolve any outstanding concerns you have!

Your Comment
1 Review

Great service

Reviewed By Ben on June 2, 2017

I am very pleased with my experience with Better Help. I found the sign-up process to be efficient and transparent. There was also a free trial period during which you were given full site functionality.

Now that I have been a customer for about 7+ months, I can say that I am still pleased with the service and plan to keep using it. The counselor I was assigned is a LISW-S. I was at first skeptical if her experience met my needs, but whatever method the site uses to match customers to counselors proved accurate.

My counselor is very responsive to my messages. I receive thoughtful replies multiple times a day most all days of the week. Worksheets are provided for my use when appropriate and various research articles are referenced when appropriate.

My counselor has been helpful, channeling my thinking, find behavior patterns in the things I describe to her and is always professional and polite.

I would recommend Better Help.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment

1 Review

No service delivered by company, full refund refused

Reviewed By ThisIsMyBeef on May 25, 2017

I found this company, BetterHelp and thought it would be good to try to enlist the assistance of a psychologist with remote services. I subscribed after reading the service was $45/week. I was matched with a counselor and made an appointment, speaking with him briefly. A few days later, I saw an entry on my bank account for a $180 payment to the company. I felt it was a little deceptive, but I was willing to try the service anyway. When the time came to have this appointment, I put time aside to meet my responsibility, but the counselor never appeared. I was waiting to chat for the full hour but the counselor never came during that time. He messaged me later asking if i was available the next day, which I was not.

I sent a request to the company to refund the payment I made, which they responded that

“When a member of BetterHelp asks for counseling, and is subsequently assigned a counselor, their counselor's capacity and availability for other members (who have also requested services) becomes limited. Therefore, we are generally unable to offer refunds.

However, I'm happy to let you know that I was authorized to change your plan from monthly billing to weekly billing at the same per-week price of $45 (weekly pricing is typically much higher than monthly pricing). In light of this, I already went ahead and processed a refund of $135 for your recent payment - so you've only been charged for one week. Please note it may take you bank up to three business days to show the refund in your account. “

I later received an email explaining that a full refund was issued. I looked in my bank account and saw that $135 was deposited there. $135 does not equal $180, therefore a full refund was not issued.

I maintained persistent contact, and they finally were persuaded to cough up the rest of my payment, but, I think it is unfair that they reflexively opted to keep my payment in full. I held up my part of the deal. The folks dealing with the business of human psychology have ought to be more aware of what they are doing. Furthermore, I resent their explanation that the client inconveniences the time of the counselor by subscribing to the service. I say avoid this service and their billing refund practices that assumes that the consumers are stupid.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
May 31, 2017

Our team at BetterHelp is really sorry to hear that you're frustrated with our refund policy, please feel free to reply to our team at contact@betterhelp.com - we're happy to resolve any outstanding concerns regarding your refund amount!

Your Comment
1 Review

Life changing

Reviewed By Reece on May 19, 2017

I've recently been dealing with several difficulties in my life and needed support... Unfortunately not having anyone close around me to talk to it made things difficult. I don't some research and stumbled across BetterHelp which has changed my life. The support, techniques and tips on how to deal with my difficult situations have made me a better version of myself. I am so greatful to the whole team, including my councilor Fausta! And the founder Alon who has been in touch with me... It's just an amazing company and would definitely recommend anyone looking to better there life or for support to just try it out and see where it takes you.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment

Leave a Review