BetterHelp Reviews

BetterHelp
Based on 327  Reviews



Review It

About BetterHelp

BetterHelp.com is the online home of BetterHelp, a company who says their goal is to provide their customers with access to quality, professional help when they are facing life's challenges so they can be happier.

The website promises that all the counselors you can be matched with through the BetterHelp website are licensed, board accredited, and qualified with either a PhD or a masters certificate in addition to years of counseling experience. 

How Does It Work?

Customers will sign up for an account and fill out a short questionnaire so you can be matched with a professional counselor who can provide the support and guidance you need. Once you've created your account and been matched with a counselor, you will begin communicating with your counselor via online messages, whenever you need, on your schedule.

Customers can communicate with their counselor on an unlimited basis each week until they feel they have successfully overcome the problem or obstacle they were facing. Customers are welcome to cancel their membership at any time without penalty. 

Cost/Price Plans

Customers can sign up, get matched, and begin speaking to your counselor all for free. Customers who decide to continue with their services will pay a flat fee of $35 per week for unlimited counseling, which gives you the ability to speak to your counselor as much as you need.

Refund Policy

Since BetterHelp allows their customers to pay for services on a week-by-week basis, their website does not detail any overarching or general Refund Policy. Customers who feel they have an issue or complaint that warrants a refund should contact Customer Service and deal with their situation on a case by case basis. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact their Customer Service team with questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link, by phone at 888-688-9296, or by traditional mail at 440 N. Wolfe Rd, Sunnyvale, CA 94085.

Reputation

The few reviews available for BetterHelp at this time tend to be very positive, and reviewers describe a very professional and beneficial experience which just happens to have the added advantage of being accessible by internet or through your mobile device.

It is still important to understand, however, that BetterHelp does not claim that they are a replacement for professional therapy or counseling. They are an additional or alternative tool that people may use if traditional therapy is difficult to schedule or cost prohibitive, but depending on the issues you are dealing with, you may still be referred to a traditional mental health professional if that's what they feel is best for your needs.  

Is It Safe?

Customers who are concerned with privacy issues are assured by BetterHelp.com that their system is HIPAA compliant to ensure your privacy. They provide banking grade encryption which allows users to be completely anonymous, even to your counselor. 

Competitors and Alternatives?

Online counseling is a fairly new type of service and it doesn't seem as though BetterHelp has many competitors in the market right now.  
    
If you have any experience with this company or their products, please leave your BetterHelp reviews below.

327 ‘BetterHelp’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:

Literally no response



March18, 2015

So I decided to get help for my problem, some might think it's silly, some might think it was a joke, but this is everyday life at least for me. I figured getting some counseling for my problem for a few months, to help guide me through this would be the best solution. I started my free week on 3/14/2015 in the evening. I figured that I would get a counselor at least by Tuesday since I really didn't start until Saturday evening. I checked everyday, a counselor had not been assigned to me. By Wednesday morning still no counselor, the site said that usually within 24 hours a counselor will get assigned to a person. I figured 72 hours was more than fair to wait for one. It's unfortunate that people didn't take my problem seriously, I know I'm not alone in this world with such "trivial" problems. But at least I knew that I should try and seek guidance for it. Sorry that Better Help was NO help literally.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Scam



March15, 2015

I left this review on their Facebook page and the next day got blocked from commenting. They also delete the other critical comments. The service is a scam. The free week thing is a lie, you will be charged for it if you decide to give it a try, it will be a part of the first month. For this first week you will be waiting for the answer from a "counselor " which will turn out to be a blueprint letter slightly personalized. They do not care about your issues, and if you happen to be depressed they will refer you to "your doctor". They won't deal with the depression (regardless of the question in the questionnaire). don't fall for it, just buy yourself something nice.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
June 08, 2015

I signed up for the free trial and was matched with a counselor, and have received several responses from my counselor and I only just started the 7 day trial. I am sorry you had a bad experience, but I highly doubt the service is a scam. I hope to not get charged for the free seven days, but I will call the customer service line if I do about it. There was no "blueprint letter," what there has been is compassionate, understanding response and dedicated time put in to my situation by the counselor I was matched with. Again, I'm sorry for your personal experience.

November 17, 2015

I had exactly the same experience as the original poster. It's honestly hard for me to believe any of these good reviews.

Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

So Very Helpful



November12, 2014

Some of are so busy we don't have the time to care for ourselves. BetterHelp let's you do it when you do have time. I've found that this is early in the morning some days and late evening other days. The counselor is so helpful. She has been a wonderful sounding board as well as provided excellent advise.

Highly recommend BetterHelp!!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

I am a Betterhelp Therapist



November12, 2014

I am a licensed, Ph.D. level Marriage & Family Therapist serving Betterhelp for almost 2 years. I have been practicing therapy for over 25 years, and am a university professor of psychology for the past 13 years. I was skeptical joining the service at first, but after a few short month I thoroughly realized that online therapy is extremely beneficial for a vast number of people, and for many different reasons. I see no difference in quality of service or the effectiveness of helping a patient reach his or her goals from traditional therapy.

I have read the poor reviews, and I must say that there surely are therapists who don't do a good job, just like in a traditional setting. But speaking for my profession, most therapists I know are completely committed to their patient's welfare, are highly skilled and trained, and do a great job helping people heal. If anyone has a poor experience with any therapist, they always have the option to change therapists. My standard, for instance, is to respond to a patient's letter within 24-36 hours.

I would encourage people pondering online therapy to make a decision to give it a try. From my experience, it is very very positive.

Dr C

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
January 20, 2015

I have been using Betterhelp for over a week now. At first i was worried it was a scam. However, i have decided, that i enjoy it a lot! My counselor is very insightful and always responds quickly. I admit i searched her and found her credentials true. I recommend it for those who work crazy hours and sometimes like to sit down and let it all out at the end of the day...then i wake up in the morning to a message back from her. She is my rock right now!

Your Comment

infrequent responses



November6, 2014

I'm just on the free trial right now. I've gotten a few, short response back to what I've written, but it's incredibly slow to get a response (for instance, I haven't gotten a response in 2 days). The counselor has responded with relatively generic answers to my specific questions. I think it would work if you had a really run-of-the-mill issue and either a) just needed to say something, even into the abyss or b) wanted generic feedback.

For $40/week, I'd expect multiple, detailed responses. (Or one highly detailed response each week, or MANY not detailed responses). For 2-3 vague and generic responses per week, I'll pass.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
November 09, 2014

Would not agree more. This precisely defines my experience. I have stuck it out for more than 4 weeks. I don't get any response for 5-6 days. It does seem to be a scam. I am giving them one more chance - asking them to change my counselor. If it works, good, otherwise, friends, do not waste your money.

It seems most of the people had the same experience. I am really wary of the reviews which seem to say that other people do not know how to interact with them.

November 10, 2014

i m on hold right now with www.betterhelp.com
to cancel my membership.
When i ask the owner,today about it early morning?
almost 10 hours ago,he has FAILED TO ANSWER,
but yet was just"checking in with me."
---
i told him i want to cancel,how sad,disappointed i was.
But he fail to get back.
---
I just recorded myself saying to not use my credit card,
we are cancelling our membership,so i m hoping it is not a scam.
...
Time will tell.

January 11, 2015

I think it depends on who the counselor is. I have been on it for almost one week and I couldn't wish for more prompt response and helpful conversations.

March 19, 2015

Mine is the same way! My counselor is amazing and does everything from just letting me vent to actually trying to help me through my problems both by giving me ideas on what to do or helping work through my problems I have mentally in the way I think. I love this website.

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Better Help is helping me get out of depression



October23, 2014

I have been struggling with depression for more than 1 year and have been taking anti-depressants with little improvement. I know therapy is important, but in the area where I live it is very hard to find therapists who accept insurance. Therapists normally charge between $150-225 per session, and like many people, I cannot afford these rates. After searching online, I found Better Help. I am extremely happy with my counselor. He has been insightful and always asks the right questions to help me make decisions. I can say that within a few weeks I am finally feeling more in control of my life and with the appropriate tools to continue getting better. He replies promptly and advises whether he will be unavailable. With regard to payments, the website clearly states how often the company will charge you. You get a discount if you make lump sum payments (monthly, quarterly, etc.). I chose the weekly plan in case I changed my mind, but I am thinking of switching to a monthly plan to get a higher discount. I highly recommend this service!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Wonderful service!



October10, 2014

I have been extremely happy with BetterHelp.com--both the company and my counselor. I don't think this format is for everyone, but I know myself well enough to know that an online format was likely a very good way for me to get help. I have had enough in person counseling to have a valid comparison. I like that I have the time to formulate my thoughts and write things down. My counselor is amazing--she responds in a very timely manner and is very thoughtful and attentive to the things that I have written. Keep in mind this is a two way street--I feel as a client you need to take responsibility to express yourself well and dictate your needs and goals. Again, this is why this format might not be for everyone as not everyone is comfortable communicating clearly via email. I was very upfront with my counselor on what I hoped to get out of the relationship and time spent with her and she is very good at delivering that. You can also switch counselors if you need to so I never felt like I was locked into one person.

In regards to the complaints about cost and how people didn't know that after the trial it would be a a monthly charge, I blame that more on their lack of fully reading the website. It is very clear if you take the time to read what they outline. I am in marketing and understand what they are doing--they want to highlight the lowest price by stating it as $35 a week vs. the full monthly amount like any business would, but again, if you read completely you see how it is broken down.

I received a scholarship from BetterHelp.com at a time when I am struggling financially--they gave this to me with no hassle whatsoever and I fully intend to pay the full monthly amount when I am back on my feet. It's totally worth it!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
March 14, 2015

how did you receive the scholarship?

Your Comment

I love betterhelp



October10, 2014

My free trial was not that way at all we spoke several times before I had to pay but even when I had to pay I did. I can't afford to take time off this works very well for me. As a single working mother of two kids I don't have people I can spill my problems too. This is also much more affordable. Some therapists charge $150 an hour and with better help I get a month of talking for that amount. Also like someone else said if your not happy with the service you can switch counselors. Their customer service is fast too. This is NOT a scam. People use that word way too loosely. There's a big difference between just being unhappy with a provider and paying for a service you don't get. Give it w try before you judge.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment

Leave a Review