About Stansberry Research

StansberryResearch.com, home of Stansberry & Associates Investment Research, is a publication website used by independent writers to publish their own personal investment newsletters.

Though Stansberry Research works hard to seem like an investment company, the reality is that they are simply an umbrella website that draws internet traffic to a single site and then sells subscriptions for a variety of people who use them for publishing purposes.

Porter Stansberry, who runs Stansberry & Associates Investment Research, is perhaps best known for his devoutly anti-government stance and his use of viral videos and essays on topics like "The End of America" to bring interest and clientele to his company.

While working for Agora Financial, another financial newsletter publishing company, Stansberry and Pirate Investment were successfully sued by the SEC for defrauding subscribers of a newsletter Stansberry wrote under the name 'Jay McDaniel.'

The judge found Stansberry guilty of intentionally defrauding his clients by falsely claiming to have the 'inside track' on government deals and charging his clients $1,000 each for access to this 'inside' information. In addition, Stansberry used the rising price of the stock he was promoting as proof of his knowledge and reliability to convince further clients to purchase the stock.  

Since the stock price was only rising due to the purchases of his earlier clients, who were purchasing based on the fraudulent information given to them, Stansberry was additionally found guilty of price manipulation.

Stansberry appealed the court's decision in 2001 but the guilty verdict was upheld.  A further effort to appeal the ruling was denied.

Stansberry likes to point to his conviction as "persecution by the federal government" who are denying him his First Amendment rights to free speech in order to stop him from revealing the evil truth about America.  

Some subscribers to Stansberry & Associates Investment Research say good things about certain newsletters published there, but in general I would recommend looking elsewhere for investment advice.  

Knowingly putting your trust in a company run by a man who has already been convicted of fraud, who is known to write newsletters under false names, and has already been found guilty of stock price manipulation just doesn't seem the smartest thing to do with your money.

If you have any experience with Stansberry Research please leave your reviews below.

You May Also Be Interested In

135 ‘Stansberry Research’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
Kristina dircks
Guest

Get great ideas from them

November 24, 2020

I have been following Steve Sjuggerud's "true wealth" and "daily wealth premium newsletter" for the past two years now. I have made money on almost every recommendation from those subscriptions.

Although I don't just buy and hold, when the are way over bought I take my profits, sooner or later market pulls back and I buy recommendations back when they get over sold. I have never asked for refund, never had extra charges, but have never tried to cancel.

I don't want to cancel, I make money and get great ideas from them. I learn a lot from the emails I receive. I am new to investing as of 2 years ago, so I am very inexperienced. But so far so good!

I read the book, I thought it was written by Porter Stansberry? And I personal agree with a lot of it and I am not usually conspiracy theory type person... and I'm not a republican!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Irritating company
Guest

Make it hard to cancel

November 18, 2020

Some of the publications used to be good, but no more. Now they fill my email box with content that traffics Trump rhetoric and conspiracy theories about how Democrats are socialists.

Once you go down the political polarization route, you are going to be blind to facts, as they now are.
They also make it hard to cancel. You have to call them to cancel and hope for the best.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Dale V.
Guest

Low-life crooks

November 10, 2020

These people are low-life crooks... plain and simple. And when they renew your subscription without even telling you, they refuse to refund your money under their "Strict cancellation policy".

Financial sector maggots.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Colin Tawse
Guest

Avoid like the plague

October 30, 2020

There is some decent content but it's a hard search and you're locked in with automatic renewal which impossible, as far as I can make out, the unsubscribe button doesn't work and the phone number constantly busy. Not good.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Jowanna P.
Guest

Expected to spend LOADS of money

August 27, 2020

I generally like some of the supposed information that I received for my subscription fee. However there are always "opportunities" where one is expected to spend LOADS of money with a VERY strict deadline for the offer. I can not afford this, my gut tells me to leave it alone. Stansberry Research is the ONLY one making money, not I.

You ALWAYS have to pay up front even with the "FREE trial". If you get a "refund" you have to call customer service. I am not a fan of paying up front for anything so I guess this "opportunity" is lost to me forever. And I keep my thousands of dollars in my pocket and do my own research which has always worked well for me.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Vincent
Guest

SCAM Stansberry

August 20, 2020

SCAM Stansberry!!! All they want to do is up-sell you, cross-sell you....constantly. No wonder he lives in a big estate in Maryland....its a numbers game...big hype no return...big hype again.,, he just wants to maintain his subscriber base.

They also, don't honor their agreements...especially for refunds! I have many other subscriptions....all are better and actually provide trades. They don't try to cross-sell up-sell me every day...

I ordered their service for $49, then got trapped in the monthly $55 billing cycle...nothing was done when I called, emailed multiple times. It was always my fault as the customer, that they agreed to remove me and didn't. Not as bad as other people but $155 is still a lot of money!

Even though I called every month to cancel and they assured me a refund...nothing happened. They said they sent 1 email to help me, since the phone rep never told me that, I never looked and when I did look after the fact...I don't see it.

Now its my fault, I didn't follow the automated refund process, even though the phone rep said he would take care of it (as I sent an email before calling stating the same thing, he said they would honor my refund request...72 days later they will not honor my request for a refund).

Last time I checked, confirmed voice cancellation is a valid form of communication, email request to cancel is valid....as a customers were supposed to be treated as correct and as a business you honor your agreements.

Don't count on them honoring their agreements! They will just drag it out, sneak a couple of extra months charges out of you and then only refund you for 1 month, not the full amount and make it sound like you didn't do anything.

V Reece
October 29, 2020

Thanks for sharing your experience! Saved me from getting in the mess!! Stansbury sure spins a good line!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Paula Gorski
Guest

I'm not satisfied

August 15, 2020

In July 2020 I filled in my information for on-line information plus an on-line book entitled " The Battle For America". There was a fee of $49.00 for the book written by Steve Sjuggerud .

I haven't heard from or seen evidence of anyone involved with this and want to know why. There was also a fee of $199.00 reduced to $149.00 and refundable if not completely satisfied.

I'm not satisfied and I am angry! I haven't received one iota of information and I want my money back!

Comment on this review...
review author image
John Tremaine
Guest

Charges my credit card $199

July 22, 2020

Stansberryresearch.com and the Stansberry Research Company charges my credit card $199 without my permission and without notification.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Kate Riedlsperger
Guest

Total waste!

May 6, 2020

They would do anything to sell any of their portfolios which honestly is a total joke. There is no useful information offered by them, this is definitely the poorest stock market service I have found so far!
Run from this company. It´s a total scam!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Richard
Guest

Total fraudulent sales pitch

April 8, 2020

I found that Stansberry totally misrepresented their Big Trade service in their video sales presentation. In the video they only presented Put Buying successes. Based on that strategy I purchased the service.

However, when I accessed the site it presented Put Selling opportunities which is not what I was interested in since I already have this service from another firm.

I asked for a full refund and was rejected. For new subscribers this is a total misrepresentation of what you thought you were purchasing. Not once in the video was put selling mentioned and I would add this is a more risky strategy than Put Buying.

Total fraudulent sales pitch. What a way to treat a new customer.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Scott D.Turmel
Guest

Save your money

February 17, 2020

Total waste!! Video shows printed literature to be sent to subscriber by mail. Stansberry sent it via email.

I'm 60 years old with glaucoma. They expect me to scroll through all that info on a smart phone. my advice. save your money. I would have gotten more from my money by wiping my a** with it than giving it to those phonies.

Comment on this review...
review author image
james hoover
Guest

I am up 21.22 %

December 30, 2019

I have been using Stansberry for several years now, and the advice I have gotten has been good. If you are planning to deal in the stock market you must use a little bit of your own common sense in purchasing stocks.

Do your research. Remember, that the best investors only make money on 60 % of their stocks, you must be smart enough to know when to sell a loser, and to know when to let your winners ride and make you money.

I use only a few of Stansberry news letters, and I use some that are not so expensive and do very well. I have found that Steve Sjuggerud's True Wealth seems to have very good advice on a regular basis.

As of today, I am up 21.22 % on my portfolio this year. I will take that any day.

PS, you MUST have trade-stops to know when to sell your losers.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Seal
Guest

Lowest rating possible !!!

December 16, 2019

I have subscribed to many business stock market services and have found this the poorest of all. Add to that, they continually(daily) send you promotional material of other services so you get about 20 emails of promotional crap for your one email of what you paid for.

When you ask to stop getting the promotional emails they refuse. As others here have said, even once you stop subscription they continue to daily send promotional crap. I have asked at least 10 times for them to stop but they refuse.

What sort of company is this, no respect for their customer at all. I give it the lowest rating possible !!!

Rick Leonhardt
May 29, 2020

The absolutely worst newsletter I've ever subscribed to. No useful information. They continuously try to sell other letters to you. Useless. Recommend not purchasing. It's in my spam folder now.

Comment on this review...
review author image
jeff clark
Guest

Don't walk - RUN

September 10, 2019

I drank the Kool-Aid and subscribed to one of their more expensive newsletters. It turned out to be nothing more than an advertising medium to buy more premium services from them In 6 months I received nothing that could be considered useful information.

Now I have spent the last 2 1/2 years trying to get the subscription cancelled. They say it is cancelled and 6 months later I get a new charge on my card from them. I have to file dispute with card company and go thru the whole process again.

As of this morning I closed my credit card account. It is apparently the only option I have to stop them from charging me.

Don't walk - RUN from these jokers.

Comment on this review...
review author image
J
Guest

I get SPAM from them

June 27, 2019

I had never heard of Stansberry Research until a few years ago when they started loading up my email box with their SPAM. I have sent email to them asking them to stop, I have unsubscribed dozens and dozens of times and called them numerous times, yet they refuse to remove me from their list.

There is never even a two-day break between SPAMS. I get SPAM from them every day and I'm not talking about one. I am talking about for five, six, some days up to 10 emails to the same address every day. I find this behavior to be abusive and shows a total lack of consideration for people.

Every time I call they have the audacity to tell me that I "must have signed up" for their information because they don't buy mailing lists. That is such a load of bull. For more than 15 years I owned a web development business and I know how information is abused.

I have never signed up to receive information from anyone, ever, nor would I. How could anyone possibly place any trust in a company that does business like this? I feel violated and bullied every time I open my email and see their SPAM.

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review