136 ‘Stansberry Research’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
Brian
Guest

March 6, 2018

I ordered just a book for $19.00 and guess what.....they charged my credit card $149.00 the next month. I never did agree to subscribe to their service. What a scam. Also, the book gave few details and was mostly on investing concepts.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Marion Wayne
Guest

February 1, 2018

The older I get the more stupid I become!
Ordered the book for my husband for $19.00 and nothing more!
Never did I sign up for any membership or Newsletter!
To my utmost surprised I have a charge of $149.00 on my Bank s statement!
Wait till I get through with them! Attorney and all! Daughter in law will take them on she is an Attorney

Pam Nill
March 06, 2018

This is exactly what happened to me! I'm going to try to dispute the charge. Sounds like it won't be easy. Let me know how you make out.
Pam

Comment on this review...
review author image
Georgie
Guest

January 18, 2018

I spent almost $8,000 for two subscriptions, & no, I wasn't supposed to do tons of research after getting the information. The information was what I paid for. Unfortunately, even if you took action pretty soon after receiving the message you couldn't get in at the recommended price, in this case it was buying puts. I guess if you were doing nothing but sitting with your phone beside a computer you might get in at the recommended price. But very soon after, the put would be out of the advised range. Does anyone else see a problem with this? The seller of the subscription will tell you about the person who made tons of money doing this exact thing....yeah right! I don't think the guy(s) who gave these shysters 5 stars are the morons, I believe I am the moron for believing any of this garbage. What a waste of hard earned dough. I won't bother saying anything about the other service that cost $2,500US but it was no different than the first. And no, you're wrong Mr. 5 star, the information was not the beginning of my research, the information was the result of the so-called expertise that I paid for. Luckily for me I was able to cancel after one year so it only cost me $7,000US. Yeah, you're correct Mr. 5-star, I would've been better off giving my hard-earned to an investor & let him do the work for me. Then I would've made something.

View all 2 Comments
Carolyn Cariello
April 14, 2018

Georgie,
Was the other service costing $2500 called Credit Opportunities? If so, could you be more specific as to what problem you experienced?

AJ
May 26, 2018

Same experience. Bought the book for 19$ and was billed for $149 for a subscription the following month which I never signed up for. Also I can't find anywhere to unsubscribe on the website.

I called my credit card company and they offered to issue a new card so that they can't continue to bill me for what I had no intention of signing up for.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Herbert
Guest

November 29, 2017

Unable to remove my credit card information from my account with them. They charged me for an additional newsletter subscription without my knowledge. Only discovered it after looking at my bill months later. I asked them how to remove the card info and they did not answer.

CA
December 22, 2017

Had a similar experience. However, I substituted a Visa/MasterCard GIFT card thus removing my regular MC from their payment process.

Last month, Nov-2017, I had to substitute another gift card since the first one was used up by me on other purchases. How did I do that? On their contact page I send an email asking how to change the payment card since the existing one is no longer functional. I got an email giving me a link where I was able to make that substitution.

Although, that same email stated that I could not do that and that the link was for payments only and that I had to call their customer service. Actually, I was able to do that without calling their service where I suppose they would not like to accept a gift card since they have a very limited life span - in terms of spending the amount that they are pre-loaded with. It's best if you can do that without talking to anyone - less hassle.

Hope this helps!
With Regards, CA

Comment on this review...
review author image
DC
Guest

November 19, 2017

Have subscribed to different newsletters over many years, mostly the "entry level" and have had mixed satisfactions from very good to meh. I am an educated investor and have been more interested in the overview than stock shopping which has helped me immensely in terms of strategy. Two things though: ALWAYS get a virtual credit card number from your card company to use when you sign up. That way there can only be one charge allowed and they will have to get in touch with you for any recurring charge. And take a screen shot of your order page and any "fine print" and print that out in case you need to dispute a charge with your credit card company. You will never see that info again if you don't.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Tom
Guest

October 20, 2017

Worthless junk don't waste your money on this junk. They will not refund your money back.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Ray
Guest

July 15, 2017

Eight year customer. Happy over all. I have made many times more on their suggestions than the cost of the service. Steve Sjuggerud is brilliant and his China Opportunities is up over 25% in the past eight months.

If you do not have the skill set to do your own investing, you shouldn't be buying advice on how to do it. Stansberry Investments is for people with a commitment to monitor and understand their investments and the underlying strategy, in other words, "active investors." If you are not good with any of that, buy a mutual fund or an index fund and become a "passive investor."

Know your limits. Choose wisely.

Sbwell
December 27, 2017

Good advise. I'm realize that I am of the latter category. Purchased a lifetime membership with pie in the sky hopes that it could easily guide me along to make a few wise yet thrifty investments.

In actuality the advise is so overwhelming it does more to confuse than assure. To date the stock choices I have followed have proven rather anemic at best.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Toby
Guest

July 5, 2017

Beware Consumers! OK so I was foolish and subscribed ONCE! If you do, you cannot get out despite their promise to be able to cancel anytime. I asked to have the service cancelled but instead was charged for a renewal recently which I DID NOT authorize. Can you give less than 1 star in any ratings. This company is obviously a SCAM and using fraudulent practices. STAY AWAY!!!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Margaret Newman
Guest

June 6, 2017

Be very careful when ordering a book from them. I simply replied to an ad to order a book for $19.00 which included shipping. Although they did a spiel on investment advice, it was notclearutil after I had paid for book (thankfully with AXP) and received an email hat I was also signed up for a recurring $149 a year advisory service. It took two days, multiple unanswered phone calls, three emails to get it cancelled by them. VERY DECEPTIVE!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Lee
Guest

May 24, 2017

I've discovered that most unsatisfied people are frauds in themselves. They wish for someone to do all the work for them, even the trades. THAT my friends is a full service brokerage. This company is a newsletter service, they provide information. Is it good? Is it bad? Depends on how lazy you are. If you take any research at face value without any digging of your own, then you are a naïve, lazy, fool who will always call others fraudulent. I have been using newsletters (not just stansberry) for years as the beginning of my own research, not the end. You know the saying, "You get out, what you put in," and I am talking about your own diligent hard work. Laziness develops whiners, complainers, and just plain out idiots. As for specifics with this research group, I agree that Dr. Eifrigs newsletters are by far the most reliable upon face value. As for the other, they are just as good IF one is diligent to investigate their advice even further.

Comment on this review...
review author image
ervin yawn
Guest

May 20, 2017

I subscribed just today but I can;t get a past word from them so I can log-in.
they gave me a user name: ervinyawn but I need a past word to get loged-in. I've a number of times to call them at the 1-888-262-2693 Tel. No. but they tell me I need to press '1' which I don;t have a '1' available on mu ph. to press then I'm cut off.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Carl
Guest

April 3, 2017

I am writing to warn people to stay away from anything this company offers. I tried to cancel a $55 monthly charge for a service I did not order and was told they sent the report to my email. Not ordering it and not expecting it, if they did send it, I probably deleted it thinking it was spam. I then tried to cancel my 2 year subscription and was told they would cancel it if I like but I would receive no refund. Evidently the owner of this business has been in trouble with the Federal Government for his business practices. If he has, the Government should require him to include his history of scams in his advertisments.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Allan
Guest

March 3, 2017

I am new to stansberry and so far I'm really impressed with the write ups. I like the full service brokerage program and I have just susbcribe on their "Venture Value" but the fees were kind of hefty for me and I was looking for possible ways to lessen the cost. If someone's interested, I would like to share my "Stansberry Venture Value" membership and split the cost. Send me an email allanstokesg4[email protected] so we can talk more about it.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Jim
Guest

February 13, 2017

Did you get your money back, Total Scam, sorry that people have to resort to such a low level to make a living.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Free Man
Guest

Need I say more

February 1, 2017

I have just read this entire thread. I may need some minor counseling after this. Seriously though this guy is taking all of these peoples money. The few positive post on here are complete BS!

If you take the time to read all of the reviews, everyone that has gotten this product whether good or bad review when they have tried to cancel their subscription they are having tremendous problems just in doing that.

That is the common denominator that you need to pay attention to on this thread. When you are made to feel like you need to consume something out of a feeling of fear.... Need I say more.

View all 2 Comments
Jason
April 09, 2017

My uncle has pointed me to an annual Stansbury newsletter that he pays thousands for.

My uncle claims that his membership to their Retirement Trader has provided him suggestions on options trading, specifically selling puts and calls.

More, my uncle tells me in his 6-months of following Dr Eifreg's advice that he has seen returns of 23% (to his retirement accounts)!

Granted, Since Trump's election we've seen 10% gains on the markets. Fine. Nevertheless, I'm researching options trading; and how to sell "premiums" on blue chip stocks through the Retirement Trader information emailed to me from my uncle.

I'm curious, since you have negatively responded to a number of these "favorable" posts as scams; and since I too am finding negative findings about Stansbury (not so much Eifreg) that cause me some concern--would you please consider elaborating more on your own personal experiences with their services?

Thank you for your considerations,

Jason
Chino Hills, CA

Tamy G
October 17, 2018

Wow Dude Brilliant! Seriously? I have never ever replied to a review in my life but I just cannot let this one go by without comment. This is also for everyone that has written about there tale of refund woe.

By the way I am one of these persons and on more than one occasion. That said, let me tell you that THEY ALL DO THE VERY SAME THING. THE VERY SAME. IN FACT THEY ALL HAVE THE VERY SAME PRICING ON EVERYTHING. OFFER THE SAME AMOUNT OF BONUSES, etc., etc.,

The information varies of course, but the pricing, fashion of writing, etc. is exactly the same. I really believe they all use the same underwriter company. Seriously though like the gentleman advised earlier, in this same thread, one, "get a virtual number", kudos to that person, that premise led me to buying gift cards from my bank because they do not offer a virtual number.

This way I buy for what I am willing to pay for research, just like we do in investing never more than we can afford to lose not that any loss is acceptable but it is a necessary evil. Follow me. Any way this serves to give you the upper hand. Next I just love honesty said straight forward truth even if it hurts but for our own good.

So kudos again to the person who said that we are buying a vehicle of education to put into practice but it is our job to know exactly what we are doing as the ones doing it. You get out of it what you put into it. I love it. It is absolutely not a full service brokerage vessel. OMG!

I was seeking out reviews regarding the strategies or stock suggestions practiced and how they did with that? Instead all I have learned is how their refund policy sucked. The redundancy of this is sickening and a waste of readers time saying nothing. Get over it and sound off to your family or something but don't peat and repeat wasting my time and others for your own gratification offering nothing to others. We get it already who did you really write for?

I have learned absolutely nothing from this forum and it has wasted my time. Accepting only the intelligent comments made as mentioned above my comments.

However, I am no further along than when I came to this review site. Thanks, Bye

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review