Butcher Box Reviews

Butcher Box
( 106 reviews )

Butcher Box Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

DO NOT BUY check reviews on BBB and Yelp etc.
August 15, 2018
They deserve a minus 1,000,000 this is the worst business I have ever seen. They take your money send you rotten meat that bleeds all over your place (I ended up with maggots) and they charged me $14 a pound for this. Promised to replace the product ..never did...promised to refund my credit card did not do that either... charged me again ... If you order from them...send the meat straight to the health department with your complaint so they can be shut down

Nope!
August 2, 2018
I called Butcher Box, I had a few questions. It was immediately evident the representative was not whole heartedly involved in the call. He seemed bothered by my inquiries with his tone and short answers. If support is like that before I even order, I can only imagine how it will be if I have problems with an order. That said, no Butcher Block for me!

cecilia demaree August 15, 2018

smart choice wish I had seen this before I got suckered into ordering. paid $140 to get rotted meat that sat in a warm fedex truck for 7 days in heat of summer was delivered dripping blood from rotted meat GROSS I ended up with maggots in my trash can from it. I called them right away and they said they would replace it and send it overnight frozen...nope 3 weeks later no meat...I called again they said they would send it to me in 3 months so I said credit my credit card you charged and they agreed to do that... the

n they did not..I had to put it in dispute. They charged my card again instead of crediting the original charge. NOPE they are a mess. They do not send the tracking # and they remove your order from their page after so you cannot print it out for the credit card company for dispute.

great meats
July 27, 2018

I received my first box it came and was frozen solid and still had dry ice in it. So far the meats that I have cooked have been delicious. I'm on a bi monthly plan. I received the free bacon which was delicious better than the all natural and humane friendly product I usually buy. However when I went in to make changes to my order their site would not accept my email I tried for several days. I called customer service. They alerted me they were having problems that day but I told the associate I had been trying for several days to get on their site. I'm going to wait about a month and resign back up. I don't have the time to deal with long down times on websites. Was really wanting to change up my order. Customer service was helpful.

Would recommend their product.

Scott August 15, 2018

WOW, that's horrible. Glad I never ordered! While delivery would be convenient, I have found buying organic meats locally is actually cheaper.

Don't subscribe until you read Yelp reviews and BBB complaints
June 9, 2018
I have had multiple bad experiences with this company and haven't even received my first package yet. Please do yourself a favor and read the Yelp reviews (sorted by most recent) and go the Better Business Bureau website and read the complaints there. I won't tell you not to buy it, just read about other people's experience before you make a decision.

cecilia demaree August 15, 2018

yes wish I had .. smart choice wish I had seen this before I got suckered into ordering. paid $140 to get rotted meat that sat in a warm fedex truck for 7 days in heat of summer was delivered dripping blood from rotted meat GROSS I ended up with maggots in my trash can from it. I called them right away and they said they would replace it and send it overnight frozen...nope 3 weeks later no meat...I called again they said they would send it to me in 3 months so I said credit my credit card you charged and they agreed to do that... then they did not..I had to put it in dispute. They charged my card again instead of crediting the original charge. NOPE they are a mess. They do not send the tracking # and they remove your order from their page after so you cannot print it out for the credit card company for dispute.

Customer Service will not respond
June 8, 2018
Although costly, I enjoyed the quality of the meat. It was worth the price. My family always knew when I had cooked their meal using meat from butcher box. During my subscription I received the mix of pork, beef and chicken for $129. Since we received a variety of cuts every time it's hard to put a definite price on the meat per pound, but after having received 4 shipments on this final shipment I received about 9 pounds of meat which comes out to about $14.35 per pound. It had always arrived frozen and well packaged, unfortunately this last shipment was all thawed out and some of the packaging had small slits so it was draining as well. There's not much you can do with 9 pounds of meat except cook it ASAP and refreeze the rest losing the original quality that you paid for. I was very disappointed but hopeful that customer service would help out. I tried calling customer service and was quickly sent to a voice mail stating to leave my name, number and email so they could get back to me. I immediately received an automated email that said they would contact me within 24 to 48 hours. It has been past the 48 hours and no one has contacted me. I have since cancelled my subscription because I can't risk receiving another thawed out box of meat knowing that they are difficult to get a hold of when they say their product is 100% guaranteed. I just can't be out another $129.

cecilia demaree August 15, 2018

exactly they are non responsive via email and send rotted meat all thawed and dripping blood all over my porch...I ended up with maggots in my trash can from the meat I had to throw the whole thing out. gross they did not send a replacement like they promised they did not credit my credit card like they promised and they are not worth all the hassle and work. gross scam rip off

Ghost Service
May 12, 2018

My ButcherBox package came 2 days late. The dry ice was long gone; the meat was room temp, completely thawed, and bleeding through the bag into the box.

Their support team does not seem to exist. I sent an email as soon as I saw that my shipment wasn't delivered on time. Got the auto-reply from Zendesk saying my email was received, no actual answer to the ticket. I called and sent pictures of the thawed and bleeding meat. No reps available on the phone line, no answer to my emails.

stephani June 09, 2018

Please do not try Butcher Box until you read the Yelp reviews and Better Business Bureau complaints. I have had a very unhappy experience with them and they are just too expensive to risk it without knowing your odds. I am not alone. Check out the Yelp reviews and BBB website complaints.

cecilia demaree August 15, 2018

yes same thing happened to me only it was not just thawed it was rotted and I ended up with maggots in my trash can. It dripped all over the place this rotted blood ...GROSS no help via phone or email The email reply from zendesk had nothing in it addressing the complaint.