Butcher Box Reviews

Butcher Box
( 99 reviews )

Butcher Box Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Need to Work on Fullfillment
May 30, 2020

Meat - Great, never thawes when i get it.

Packaging - okay, some had minor tears but otherwise fine since it stays frpzen.

Getting what ypu ordered and paid for? Pretty damn awful.

Theyve offered and sent "replacements" of lesser value in follow up boxes however THOSE boxes are short items. Its like a running game of catch-up with no end in sight, no refunds for the extras they don't send you and continued shorting on orders.

Look i get that meat supply chain is messed up due to corona, but just REFUND us if you cant't fill the order or your replacement is of way lesser value than what we originally orderes. Great quality meat but need to learn to set realistic expectations and take low inventory items off their site instead of making empty promises. Disappointed and will cancel if they don't gwt their act together...

Worst Customer Service
May 2, 2020
I was on my second order and asked for a delivery on a certain date. They delivered it two weeks early and I wasn't home to get it. Well $200 worth of meat that could not be used. When I called customer service, I was told tough in so many words. Never again will I ever buy from them again!!!

Packaging issues
April 6, 2020

I made it through 3 boxes before I finally canceled my subscription. Their packaging is TERRIBLE! I defrosted chicken in the fridge and the next day, it leaked all over. When I complained to customer service, they initially gave me a spiel about their “unique packaging” and blah, blah, blah before offering any resolution. Almost none of the meat is properly vacuum-sealed and the packaging itself is made of extremely thin plastic that is not freezer friendly. The packaging stiffens up and cracks when frozen. If I could attached pictures, I would.

I give it 1 star because a meat subscription is a cool and convenient service but what’s the point if the food is compromised?

Rip Off
March 23, 2020
Go to Whole Foods or some other reputable place and get three times as much you pay here. They also give you chix drumsticks instead of chix breast and when you complain they tell you to see the fine print on the contract. C A N C E L L E D !!!

Negative review explained on my experiences
August 1, 2019
I have thought about cancelling many times. The meat is fantastic I get the all beef box. Yes, sometimes the packaging is torn and blood does get everywhere when I defrost, BUT, customer service has been outstanding. They informed me its the fulfillment center that just throws stuff around so they will be changing their packaging. Personally I would hire a different fulfillment center. Every time something was wrong they offered to refund or replace. Even when I received a cut I wasnt happy with and had no packaging or freezer burn issues. They have replaced everything and even more for my inconvenience. My picky cat would only eat the meat from butcher box and not any other grass fed organic grocery store brand, even she could tell the difference. I am not very fond of their salmon tho, I use Wild Alaskan Co. for my fish, but hey I'm real picky when it comes to fish and their salmon is out of this world! I would suggest just sticking to the meat, the pork was pretty decent too.

BEWARE
June 20, 2019

BEWARE! The packing is consistently torn, your meat will be exposed, blood leaks everywhere in the freezer and it is such a hassle to deal with their unprofessional customer service.

The meat is great when it arrives undamaged and not freezer burned by the dry ice it is shipped with. But the consistency of the damages are too common to overlook. The company is fully aware of the problem but continues to ship it anyway.

I would honestly rather pay a local butcher a few more dollars and get fresh, unfrozen meat that comes with no hassles attached. Friends, save your time and money.

These reviews I'm reading make NO SENSE at all.
June 5, 2019

There are many people here complaining and some seem to be making it up as they go along. For instance Cecilia Demaree is saying, "...paid $140 to get rotted meat that sat in a warm fedex truck for 7 days in heat of summer was delivered dripping blood from rotted meat GROSS I ended up with maggots in my trash can from it."

Well, I worked for UPS for years and their is NO CHANCE FedEx had meat on a truck for over 12 hours, let alone 7 days. ALL packages routing is documented. A driver cannot leave work until ALL items are accounted for. So Cecilia claiming a package sat on a truck for 7 days is just a flat out lie.

Also, she's somehow blaming Butcher Box for the late delivery and the maggots in her trash can. The city empties my trash weekly. If Cecilia has maggots, it sound like she needs to pay her deposal bill.

My experience: A rep from Butcher Box CALLED ME after I ordered and suggested I use my introductory FREE selections to get the expensive NY steaks, instead of just hamburger and bacon. And then told me how to better select my custom box to get the most out of my order.

My box was ordered on a Tuesday and was sitting on my doorstep on Thursday, ALL DAY, yet everything was still frozen, even after being in 90 degree heat for 6 hours!

The first thing I tried was the 6 hamburger patties and they were GREAT. It was 80% lean hamburger which is light and fluffy and devoid of those little bits of fat that is usually in grocery store hamburger.

Then I marinated the four 6 oz sirloin steaks and they were better than any New York steak you get in the grocery store today.

I got above and beyond service from the sales people, one of whom, again, called me to tell me how to get the most of my order. My box arrived 48 hrs later and still frozen. And, the meat is very good. I know the difference. With Butcher Box, you're not going to get the same filet mignon type meat you get at The Plaza in downtown San Francisco, but it is much better than what you get in the grocery store.

I'll be ordering again, and if I have any complaints, I'll write again, but for now, the $173 I spent was well worth it.

Watch Your Order Schedule VERY closely
April 13, 2019
The meat is quality. The customer service is HORRIBLE! I had an order on a 6 month hold because I live in 2 different states. I spoke with a customer service rep on the phone in October 2018

Horrible company to deal with
April 12, 2019
I had my account on pause and you would think a courtesy email letting me know it is going to invoice soon would be sent. Nope, just an email at 1:48 am that I have been invoiced and no take backs. I tried customer service and they will not cancel my order. Seems like fraudulent behavior in my opinion. Don't get yourself locked in to this company. Worst customer service!!!!

Joyce Brady April 13, 2019

I had the same problem. I spoke with a customer service rep in October 2018

JessicaMarquez June 20, 2019

Literally delt with the same exact thing. Such a hassle.

Quality and convenience
February 26, 2019
I've been a customer for about a year, and I'm pleased with it so far. I would like to see a wider range of cuts and parts, such as liver, heart, etc.

Committed Customer
November 26, 2018

I have been a customer for almost a year, every single box has arrived in perfect, frozen condition. I ordered a Thanksgiving Turkey from them and it arrived on time and was by far the best turkey anyone in my family had ever eaten!

I don't have a single complaint.

SCUM OF THE EARTH......
October 23, 2018

(BIG MISTAKE I MADE)

DONT LET THEM KNOW YOU WANT TO CANCEL RIGHT BEFORE YOU GET YOUR LAST BOX. THEY SLICE UP EVEY PACKET SO THE AIR GETS IN AND BLEEDS EVERYWERE, SOME MEAT WAS COMPLETELY OUT OF PLASTIC. REAL @*#$! HEADS, AND FORGET ABOUT CUSTOMER SERVICE, AND NO REFUNDS. SCUM.....LESS THEN SCUM....

GabrielaZakak December 28, 2018

I just canceled my subscription after the second order, because the packages are unsealed and full of air which causes freezer burn. I think this is standard with their packaging!

StephanieLiva February 26, 2019

This is not my experience. It comes solidly frozen.

christine edwards August 01, 2019

They are in the process of changing their packaging. It is not them that does this, it is their fulfillment center that doesnt care about doing their jobs.

BradRobinson September 12, 2019

I don't like how they try and lock you into a contract, some companies, once they have your credit card info, look out.

halfadime7
August 18, 2018
My first order arrived well packaged and totally frozen with dry ice still intact. The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars is because we're not happy with the quality of the ground beef and so far the steaks haven't been very special, either. Haven't tried the chicken or pork but that will happen soon. Hope to come back and write a better review.

DO NOT BUY check reviews on BBB and Yelp etc.
August 15, 2018
They deserve a minus 1,000,000 this is the worst business I have ever seen. They take your money send you rotten meat that bleeds all over your place (I ended up with maggots) and they charged me $14 a pound for this. Promised to replace the product ..never did...promised to refund my credit card did not do that either... charged me again ... If you order from them...send the meat straight to the health department with your complaint so they can be shut down

Nope!
August 2, 2018
I called Butcher Box, I had a few questions. It was immediately evident the representative was not whole heartedly involved in the call. He seemed bothered by my inquiries with his tone and short answers. If support is like that before I even order, I can only imagine how it will be if I have problems with an order. That said, no Butcher Block for me!

cecilia demaree August 15, 2018

smart choice wish I had seen this before I got suckered into ordering. paid $140 to get rotted meat that sat in a warm fedex truck for 7 days in heat of summer was delivered dripping blood from rotted meat GROSS I ended up with maggots in my trash can from it. I called them right away and they said they would replace it and send it overnight frozen...nope 3 weeks later no meat...I called again they said they would send it to me in 3 months so I said credit my credit card you charged and they agreed to do that... the

n they did not..I had to put it in dispute. They charged my card again instead of crediting the original charge. NOPE they are a mess. They do not send the tracking # and they remove your order from their page after so you cannot print it out for the credit card company for dispute.

great meats
July 27, 2018

I received my first box it came and was frozen solid and still had dry ice in it. So far the meats that I have cooked have been delicious. I'm on a bi monthly plan. I received the free bacon which was delicious better than the all natural and humane friendly product I usually buy. However when I went in to make changes to my order their site would not accept my email I tried for several days. I called customer service. They alerted me they were having problems that day but I told the associate I had been trying for several days to get on their site. I'm going to wait about a month and resign back up. I don't have the time to deal with long down times on websites. Was really wanting to change up my order. Customer service was helpful.

Would recommend their product.

Scott August 15, 2018

WOW, that's horrible. Glad I never ordered! While delivery would be convenient, I have found buying organic meats locally is actually cheaper.

Don't subscribe until you read Yelp reviews and BBB complaints
June 9, 2018
I have had multiple bad experiences with this company and haven't even received my first package yet. Please do yourself a favor and read the Yelp reviews (sorted by most recent) and go the Better Business Bureau website and read the complaints there. I won't tell you not to buy it, just read about other people's experience before you make a decision.

cecilia demaree August 15, 2018

yes wish I had .. smart choice wish I had seen this before I got suckered into ordering. paid $140 to get rotted meat that sat in a warm fedex truck for 7 days in heat of summer was delivered dripping blood from rotted meat GROSS I ended up with maggots in my trash can from it. I called them right away and they said they would replace it and send it overnight frozen...nope 3 weeks later no meat...I called again they said they would send it to me in 3 months so I said credit my credit card you charged and they agreed to do that... then they did not..I had to put it in dispute. They charged my card again instead of crediting the original charge. NOPE they are a mess. They do not send the tracking # and they remove your order from their page after so you cannot print it out for the credit card company for dispute.

Customer Service will not respond
June 8, 2018
Although costly, I enjoyed the quality of the meat. It was worth the price. My family always knew when I had cooked their meal using meat from butcher box. During my subscription I received the mix of pork, beef and chicken for $129. Since we received a variety of cuts every time it's hard to put a definite price on the meat per pound, but after having received 4 shipments on this final shipment I received about 9 pounds of meat which comes out to about $14.35 per pound. It had always arrived frozen and well packaged, unfortunately this last shipment was all thawed out and some of the packaging had small slits so it was draining as well. There's not much you can do with 9 pounds of meat except cook it ASAP and refreeze the rest losing the original quality that you paid for. I was very disappointed but hopeful that customer service would help out. I tried calling customer service and was quickly sent to a voice mail stating to leave my name, number and email so they could get back to me. I immediately received an automated email that said they would contact me within 24 to 48 hours. It has been past the 48 hours and no one has contacted me. I have since cancelled my subscription because I can't risk receiving another thawed out box of meat knowing that they are difficult to get a hold of when they say their product is 100% guaranteed. I just can't be out another $129.

cecilia demaree August 15, 2018

exactly they are non responsive via email and send rotted meat all thawed and dripping blood all over my porch...I ended up with maggots in my trash can from the meat I had to throw the whole thing out. gross they did not send a replacement like they promised they did not credit my credit card like they promised and they are not worth all the hassle and work. gross scam rip off

Ghost Service
May 12, 2018

My ButcherBox package came 2 days late. The dry ice was long gone; the meat was room temp, completely thawed, and bleeding through the bag into the box.

Their support team does not seem to exist. I sent an email as soon as I saw that my shipment wasn't delivered on time. Got the auto-reply from Zendesk saying my email was received, no actual answer to the ticket. I called and sent pictures of the thawed and bleeding meat. No reps available on the phone line, no answer to my emails.

stephani June 09, 2018

Please do not try Butcher Box until you read the Yelp reviews and Better Business Bureau complaints. I have had a very unhappy experience with them and they are just too expensive to risk it without knowing your odds. I am not alone. Check out the Yelp reviews and BBB website complaints.

cecilia demaree August 15, 2018

yes same thing happened to me only it was not just thawed it was rotted and I ended up with maggots in my trash can. It dripped all over the place this rotted blood ...GROSS no help via phone or email The email reply from zendesk had nothing in it addressing the complaint.