Butcher Box Reviews

Butcher Box
( 99 reviews )

Butcher Box Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

awesome!
April 29, 2019
I chose the fully customizable box option and ordered ONLY what I liked. Received it nice and cold and perfect. One item was substituted without my knowledge and I let the company know. They gave me a full refund on everything that was not to my satisfaction, no questions asked. I customized the bigger box for next month, I love this. Granted you must be a grown up when ordering. Read everything before committing. But if you can read and be responsible for your own money managing, this service is for you!! I love this!!!

You don't control your own order!
April 15, 2019
I had high hopes for this service, but when I learned with my second up-coming order that I could not completely control my own order without contacting customer service, the gig was up. Once you click to receive a "monthly special", you CANNOT remove it from your order without contacting Customer Service! I have NEVER seen a company anywhere where you cannot even see what you ordered, let alone change the order before it ships. They readily cancelled the order AND my subscription -- at least that's what they said, I will be following my cc account carefully to make sure this happens. They claimed that they are "working" on a way to be able to cancel a monthly special and "hope" to be able to do that soon. HUH??? You can change your monthly subscription selections, add and remove add-ons at will, both one-time and recurring, and add OTHER monthly specials, but not all of them? Ridiculous, and the only conclusion that leads one to is that they are looking to get more $$ from their customer than the customer realizes. I don't mind the prices, but I will not relinquish control over my own orders! Buyer Beware!!!

Be closely aware of their automatic delivery schedules, or you lose
April 13, 2019

If your life is perfectly planned without any last minute or unforeseen changes, Butcher Box (BB) might be for you. The meat from Butcher Box is quality & is delivered frozen.

Yes, you can cancel any time. And you have some control over deliveries. I stress the word, "some." In my case not enough!

I live in 2 different states. I spoke with a customer service person on the phone in October 2018 & explained I was leaving the state for approximately 6 months (date of return was not determined @ the time). She put my delivery on hold for 6 months. Suddenly on 4/8/19 I get an email from BB indicating they are processing my order (it wasn't mailed). I immediately wrote back & explained I am still out of state & there is no road access to my summer home. After several emails, I'm told an order in process can't be stopped (even though it wasn't mailed yet). I'm also told I cannot get a refund because my account was on hold (what?). Buyer beware!

dangerous product
April 12, 2019
I receive an order and it arrived unfrozen and the seals on the vacuum packaging were damaged blood all over the packaging . This is not a safe company to use.

It's A Scam
April 5, 2019

I received a 1 month trial as a Christmas gift I ordered and had to give my credit card. I did not realize that I was subscribing to the plan. Initially I got 2 pounds of burgers, 2 pounds of bacon, some flank steak and sausage. It was just ok but I did not want anymore. It was not a good value for the price.

A few weeks later I noticed an e-mail that an order was on the way. I called them and had the rudest C.S. person. She sent me an e-mail the next day and said she could not cancel the order. I told her I would decline it and she said I still had to pay for it. I tried to put it in contest with my bank but they lied and said I authorized it.

I got meat that totaled out at about $15 a pound which is ridiculous.

Avoid this scam like the plague. You will get a much better value at Whole Foods on Organic meats.

The lack of "the customer is always right" Cusotmer Service and the poor poor quality of the meat coupled with the value is oing to insure this place will not be in business very long.

Save your money and save your frustration. A big thumbs down on this one for sure.

Poor Quality of Meat
April 1, 2019
My husband and I had a ranch in Texas before we moved to West Virginia. We were hoping to find quality meat as advertised by Butcher Box. I realize they are just starting out but there is certainly room for improvement in almost every area. The cuts of meat are poor and “fatty”. Almost everything we ordered has been tough and has to be cooked in our slow cooker. The pork roast and ribs contained so much fat that we could not eat it. Our first order was good but not as good as advertised. The bacon had an especially good flavor. To be fair the first time we received our order it was better and the baby back ribs were very good and tender however the second order was extremely disappointing—so much so that we have cancelled all further orders. My husband sold only top quality beef and pork and we were so hoping to find this type of meat at Butcher Box. Please try to improve. We would enjoy eating truly quality meat and also the convenience of home delivery.

Worth the wait
March 30, 2019
We have used butcher box for a year. With the exception of a couple of hiccups,two of which were my fault (orders that I didn't change) and one with shipment which was delayed. my first order was delayed but when it showed up it was great. I am happy I waited and continued to purchased my meat from butcher box. We have quality meat, and are now saving money because when we do go to the store we just buy our fruits and vegetables keeping us out the the isles we don't need. Those who have tried b.box I am sorry you had a bad experience and a lot of it sounds like its a shipping issue not the meat. I wish you would give them another try. There is nothing better the eating quality meat,chicken and pork. Recipes and chef videos are a fun bonus. In closing I would like to give a shout out to the customer support team who have been very nice, sincere and helpful even when I was in the wrong. I love my custom box:) and monthly specials.

Lost my shipment wont resnd or give money back
March 28, 2019
well everyone in December I bought from Butcher Box meat company and they are headquartered in Cambridge, MA. using meat from Virginia in Shenandoah Valley ... not bad kinda small packages and not really for a family but tasted good .stuff wouldn't feed you as long as they advertise but id try it... so i got a package in December then i moved ... i did my best to change address and change delivery date but they still sent it early in March and to the wrong address and left the shipment in the sun in Florida without signature... so once i talked to them they said we will split it with you ...i said so you want me to pay again...so if it gets stolen or left at wrong address to bad for customer... no one does this ... this is not a good practice this is rip off ... so beware

Food Poisoning
March 27, 2019

We purchased $179 of meat from Butcher Box. However, when we received the box and opened it, there was no dry ice in the box. There was insulation material.

My wife ate some ribs, and she incurred Salmonella. She was violently ill for 5 days.

We contacted Butcher Box, and they said they took it very seriously. They asked every question there was to focus blame on other foods and how it was cooked. My wife is on a Carnivore diet. She ate nothing but the ribs.

Since the meat arrived without any dry ice in the packing, we trashed what was left of the $179 worth of meat. Who wants to take any more chances on incurring more Salmonella?

Regardless of what the Keto folks vividly and assertively declare on the internet, we will never purchase from Butcher Box again.

Tough! Tough! Tough!
March 10, 2019
We canceled after 1 order. I am reading the reviews and I am shocked because we thought it was absolutely TERRIBLE! We get much better at the grocery but thought we would give it a try. SAVE YOUR MONEY! They are a meat distributor for MANY different farms, etc. and they are NOT getting the best quality.

Worst Meat and Poorer VAlue
March 3, 2019

I received an introduction to this service as a Christmas gift. I ordered and was open minded. I did not realize I was subscribing. The sausage was very bland, the hamburger patties very fatty and did not want anymore.

I did not realize they were sending another shipment. It hit my bank for $149. I tried to stop it but way too late. The shipment arrived yesterday. It had 8 pounds of meat, sausage (the bland one), 2 packages of bacon, 8 more greasy burgers and 2 pounds of flat iron steaks. Total of about 8 pounds of meat running $18 per pound. For $149, I could have gone to town at Whole Foods and gotten so much more. I have a tenderloin in my freezer that was not nearly this expensive.

Customer Service was so unhelpful. They will not take it back and I am stuck with this crap.

Steer clear of this one and save yourself some money. go on a $149 spending spree at Whole Foods and marvel at the quantity you got compared to mine.

It’s been fantastic so far, quality is very high.
February 1, 2019

I seem to be one of the lucky reviewers who hasn’t had any problems with my deliveries. I opt for the customizable box and everything I’ve made has been very tasty. The beef is incredible compared to the usual, it has a great distinct flavor from being grass-fed. It reminded me (in a good way) of Venison, probably from being grass fed. But still is distinctly beef - the best I’ve had.

Delivery- so far- I’ve had no problems with. They do use On Trak which isn’t the most advanced technology for the customer. One time delivery date was updated to the following day but everything has been frozen quite nicely. Packaging is great, peanuts dissolve in water and cardboard can be recycled.

If the product arrives melted or questionable they say they will replace it, but I haven’t had that problem.

No customer service, and a possible scam
January 21, 2019

i was given a receipt for Christmas that said I would receive steaks. On-Trak delivery claimed by email they were delivered on 12/28. I did not get the steaks and my video doorbell did not record anything at the time and date On-Trak claimed. I stopped the On-Trak van the next day and the driver showed me his log. He had no record of a delivery to my address on that day. I contacted Butcherbox and Farah sent me this on January 4th:

HI Allyn,

I completely understand this is upsetting for you and I'm happy to make it right by replacing the order or processing a refund to your card on file. Please let me know your preference so I can get this taken care of for you.

We want you to be 100% satisfied with your experience with ButcherBox and I appreciate you letting me know about the delivery and allowing me to make this right for you.

Hope to hear from you soon.

Farah

Member Experience Specialist

It is now January 21st and although I have repeatedly contacted Farah I have not had a reasonable reply. There are no steaks, and I wonder how they falsified the shipping documents.

Poor packaging and poor customer service
December 6, 2018
Company uses poor packaging which leaves meat exposed to elements and subject to feeezer burn. Half the meet on my last order had to be thrown out. One hamburger pack was missing the entire backing! I cancelled but two months later I get an email saying my next shipment is on its way! I can’t sign onto the website because I cancelled two months earlier so o have to call customer service to see what’s going on. Customer service proceeds to try and tell me I never cancelled! Then why did you send me two emails / surveys asking why I left? I told them to cancel and they said sure but we are still goi g to charge you for this shipment! What a ripoff. Avoid this company. They will make you pay for their mistakes and send you meat you can’t eat.

Prices out of control!
November 2, 2018

I just paid $156 for 2 small whole chickens, 2 x 10oz bacon, 2 porkchops and 1 package of chicken thighs.

Wow - this is way out of reasonable range, even compared to local high end high quality markets.

Beware!

Thawed Meat
September 22, 2018
September 22, 2018 , Just received my butcherbox box , which I opened and found my sirloin steaks, ground beef ,sirloinTip kabobs, all thawed out. The ice packs were completely empty. I live in a very warm city require that the packaging you send is able to protect my meat from defrosting before it gets to Nevada. If you cannot package my meat so it gets here frozen, please let me know so I can find someone who can. I will be expecting a reply from you when you receive this. P.S, When you used the bags I did not have this problem.

Food arrived warm and oozing
September 20, 2018
I was excited to open up my Butcher Box goodies, only to find lukewarm, floppy packages and chicken juice covering everything. I have yet to find out if I will be granted a refund for such a mess. I definitely will not be ordering from Butcher Box again.

So far, so good
September 11, 2018
I have received two shipments so far, both during very hot Texas weather, both arrived in great condition. Everything so far has been delicious. I do wish they had more complete nutrition info on their site but am overall very pleased

Best meat, delivered to my door
September 7, 2018

I love the meat that Butcher Box sends me. I love the variety that induces me to try cuts that I have never tried before, thereby trying new recipes and cooking techniques. I love the healthiness and the quality of the meat. I especially love the flavor of the chicken and pork. I love bacon and Butcher Box sends me sugar-free, uncured bacon that is delicious and they charge the same as I pay if I go to the one grocery store that carries it locally.

The customer service has been outstanding. My requests have been to change delivery dates or suspend delivery for a month - never a problem.

The one complaint that I made was that many of the packets arrived with broken seals and would leak when thawed. I made it a habit to thaw the meat in a bowl in the refrigerator. However, I did mention to the company that I found their packaging to be unacceptably insufficient. They thanked me for writing and since then it hasn't been a problem.

Bad
September 2, 2018
First shipment was packed good and meat was solidly frozen. Second box was thawed and dripping blood. Had no dry ice in it. I immediately cancelled my subscription. Had to throw out meat because I was afraid to eat it.