Butcher Box Reviews

Butcher Box
( 99 reviews )

Butcher Box Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Waste
August 30, 2018
Placed my first order and it arrived a day late. The box had no dry ice. The meat was warm and smelled horrible. Cancelled my membership and got a refund. I will go back to shopping at local butcher shop. Great concept but disappointing product.

VERY DISSATISFIED..
August 18, 2018
II ordered first box being 2 bacon 1 of which was free, 3 lbs chicken thighs,2 boneless pork loins, and 2 breakfast sausage. not much meat for $149.00 less $29 credit for 1st order. Seems a bit expensive..I haven't tasted any of it yet. It better be darn good..I canacelled the subscription effective immediately.

Nothing like spoiled meat- twice
August 13, 2018
This company started out strong. First boxes were great. Great variety and the quality was worth every penny. Past 6 months have seen a huge decline in the boxes and last two deliveries were spoiled. They literally screwed up the delivery and then turned around and screwed up the replacement. Meat left on a FedEx truck thru the weekend is not a pleasant experience. What a waste -twice. They need to get there collective act together. Box was not even marked perishable. Customer service really has nothing to say either.

We'll see
August 11, 2018

Got my first box this morning. I was missing a couple of items and when I called about them the customer service girl offered me the choice of a credit to my account of $20.00 or adding it to my next box.

I did assure her that if it was not included with the next box I would be cancelling. We will see what happens

Spoiled
July 16, 2018
Have you ever received a box of spoiled meat 3 weeks late? Well I have and it's a disgusting smell. They in no way did anything to fix matter except send the shipment in again on the final week of the month.

A Risky Investment
July 10, 2018
I was a member of Butcher Box one year ago and cancelled my membership after 3 deliveries. The first shipment was exactly as promised. Each subsequent shipment declined in quality. After writing 3 emails and calling twice and receiving no response to my concerns, I cancelled. Fast forward one year. I receive an email, “ your next shipment is on its way.” I immediately called and followed up with an email, “I did not place an order. STOP.” No response. I tried again the next day and the next. I finally receive an email response, “ we cannot cancel orders once they have been shipped.” Dude, you are not listening. I did not place an order. I’m no longer a member! Imagine my frustration to realize my credit card had been charged for this “order.” Yep. They had used my card number. Three weeks later and a complaint to the BBB my card is credited. Then I get an email, “ in the future, please note we cannot cancel an order once it has shipped.” I felt like I was dealing with little kids or even scammers. They still didn’t get it. Boy that one order placed over a year ago became a huge thorn in my side.

Customer Service Responded Quickly
June 28, 2018
This review is about the customer service and not the quality of the product because I have yet to sample any of the meats but I can say I received them frozen solid and not thawed. The problem I had was that I ordered chicken thighs with skin on and bone in and received chicken tenders. I contacted support through chat and there was someone there within about a minute and a half. They wanted to see if I would accept the chicken tenders instead of the chicken thighs because they had run short of that product. I explained I was doing keto and really prefer to have the extra fat of the skin on chicken and that tenders would not work for me. They decided that they would give me a refund or credit to my next order. I decided on a refund and the deal was done. I was expecting to not be able to get ahold of anyone based on the reviews but that was not the case. They seem to apparently be doing a better job as far as customer service is concerned and that's why I'm leaving this review. I hope I do not receive any more replacement meats as before or I will probably cancel my subscription. Otherwise, I don't see too many more negatives. I will surely write another review on the quality when I have sampled most of the meats

Terrible packaging
June 26, 2018

The quality of the product is great but the packaging is terrible.

I placed an order in the middle of Winter in February and even then the whatever amount of dried ice was completely gone when the box arrived and thanks to winter temperatures nothing thawed. Then the second box came and that was in March and temperatures started to get hot, the box arrived at 10 AM and thank God that day I didn't work, I opened the box inmediately to find out that again the dried ice was completely none existent and several items have been thawed already, which made me use them inmediately . The company has send emails about a design for a different way of shipping or box design but until someone reassures me that it has happened I am not risking my July order in this hot month and will wait till winter to order again, or might not.

It is a shame that such good quality products lack the right packaging and that the customer service is none exsistent, you call and call and no one answers and right there it really makes you think that the company does not care about their already customers, just getting new ones.

How Old Is It?
June 9, 2018

Cancelled subscription as soon as I received 1st order. Bacon was labeled "Use or freeze by" a date already 6 months old when received. Was told it was still good. When explained I couldn't trust the remainder of box because it was not even labelled when it was frozen I was told whether I ate it or not was up to me. However, they would credit me $7 for the bacon!

Don't trust it. Threw away entire order.

Customer service seems non existant. Not 100% guaranteed.
June 8, 2018
Although costly, I enjoyed the quality of the meat. It was worth the price. My family always knew when I had cooked their meal using meat from butcher box. During my subscription I received the mix of pork, beef and chicken for $129. Since we received a variety of cuts every time it's hard to put a definite price on the meat per pound, but after having received 4 shipments on this final shipment I received about 9 pounds of meat which comes out to about $14.35 per pound. It had always arrived frozen and well packaged, unfortunately this last shipment was all thawed out and some of the packaging had small slits so it was draining as well. There's not much you can do with 9 pounds of meat except cook it ASAP and refreeze the rest losing the original quality that you paid for. I was very disappointed but hopeful that customer service would help out. I tried calling customer service and was quickly sent to a voice mail stating to leave my name, number and email so they could get back to me. I immediately received an automated email that said they would contact me within 24 to 48 hours. It has been past the 48 hours and no one has contacted me. I have since cancelled my subscription because I can't risk receiving another thawed out box of meat knowing that they are difficult to get a hold of when they say their product is 100% guaranteed. I just can't be out another $129.

Customer Service does not exist!
June 8, 2018

Our first, and last, box arrived yesterday, over 24 hrs. late with completely thawed product. Following THE directions given by Butcher Box, I called immediately. Same response as many other complainers...no one answers, no one returns a call. An automated email response does not count, and it sure seems there is a very consistent pattern of calls staying on hold until they are timed out to the “leave a message” stage. In 26 hrs. I have made 5 attempts to contact this company. It is almost laughable that Heather has written they have hired 12-14 agents to handle calls. Great idea, but will never survive with this customer service practice of IGNORING the customer!

I have seen where a few bloggers of healthy eating practices have recommended this company. I will share my experience with them.

Canceling subscription and pursuing a refund for the $129.00 thawed meat products. Very disappointing.

Disappointed
May 26, 2018

My box just arrived. The box looked like It had been dropped several times along the way. When I opened it, all the dry ice was gone and the tote bag was ripped on the seam and meat was falling out. Several of the packages of meat were split open.

Not a good first experience. Hope the meat is edible.

Excellent Quality Meat
April 14, 2018
We have been more than pleased with the 2 orders from Butcher Box that we received. I do the custom box so I can select the meats that I want for the month. The quality is excellent, the beef, pork, and chicken are very flavorful. I had been purchasing grass fed meat and organic chicken from Whole Foods but sometimes the beef options are limited so I decided to try Butcher Box. I'm glad I did. I like the convenience of selecting my meats online and having it delivered to my home. Excellent!

New Prospective Customer
January 29, 2018
Butcher Box LOOKS like it's quality meat. I have a FB friend who was recommending it AND she would get a kick back if I ordered from them with a prescription So I called them and they WILL NOT give the price per pound. They had this fast talking New Yorker who swam around all my questions. They give vague numbers so that you CAN"T know exactly how much you're getting for the price you're paying. The POWER was definitely in their hands. So with this special offer it (they claimed you would have free bacon with every order) it COULD be 1 piece of free bacon with your purchase of a box they wouldn't say how much. The box hold any where from 18-26 lbs (that's a wide gap).......for this named price. Well go figure. I'm pretty certain as the seller that I'd go with the 18 lbs. Instead of answering my questions he just kept referring back to all his satisfied customers and their PERCEIVED satisfaction. Too back their company isn't transparent. I felt like they were saying just drink the koolaid......you'll like it because other customers have (ESPECIALLY YOUR TRUSTED FRIEND WHO WILL BE BENEFITTING FROM YOUR PURCHASE) One excuse for not telling me the price per pound was because they were a new company and hadn't thought of that yet. If you have MONEY to throw to the wind and don't mind solely placing your trust in total strangers who are making money off of you.....well then have at it!

charged for product never received horrible customer service
January 20, 2018
I made my first order in November and was happy with my delivery. I had ordered pork chops and received pork loin but also received a email letting me know they were out of stock on pork chops and substituted the loin at no charge great I was fine with that. My next scheduled bill date was Mid to late December and received a email from them that due to the holidays they were moving my bill and ship date to dec 18th. I was billed on the 18th, however I never received the box and on dec 26th i emailed and called just to be sent to voicemail. They finally shipped the box dec 27th. It then sat on a fedex truck until Jan 4th. I refused the delivery as I wouldn’t trust meat that spent a week in shipping. I have still not been able to reach butcherbox by phone after sitting on hold for over 10 minutes multiple times. I’ve emailed but received no response and not been able to get credited for my unreceived box. I’ve canceled my subscription and found multiple other sources for grass fed humane meat delivery.

They don’t care about customer service
December 7, 2017
I got two deliveries. I live in a condominium complex. The first was great, delivered right to my door. I have to say the meat was good, even though expensive. I was excited about it and recommended it to friends. The second month they changed carriers and it was dropped at an entry to the complex at the opposite side of the building about 8:30 pm. A neighbor told me it was there the next morning. It had started to thaw. I called customer service to insure future shipments would be delivered “right to my door” as advertised. They said they would just send it via the cheapest carrier. They offered no solution. After the call I emailed them. No response. I’ve cancelled and am rescinding my recomendation to friends. Try someone else who cares about your satisfaction.

best chicken I have tasted in decades,
November 22, 2017
I get a small box every two months, hamburger flavor is so subtle and wonderful, best chicken I have tasted in years. Customer service, by email, most willing to change composition of order - pork in every order, a lovely pork roast of some kind. Yes, perhaps it does average out to $14 a pound - with grass fed hamburger at Whole Foods running at $10.99 a pound... doesn't seem like much compared with wonderful organic steaks, best chicken, etc. I adore this company.

No response from customer service
November 22, 2017
Received shipment- ground beef packages were ripped open. Called customer service twice. Waited on hold for 15 minutes both times- no one answered. Sent emailed- got generic response ' being reviewed by support staff'. Still haven't heard from anyone

Lbs sent vs Cost
November 2, 2017
I opted to go for the big 2mo mixed box. Cost is $238 every two months. I cancelled after 1st box. I only received 17 Lbs of meat. So, that is $14 a lb. That is highly expensive for a mix box when 6 Lbs of it is chicken. Meat is good, but price is way too high, especially for what you get in box. There are others out there selling same quality meats for less. Not disappointed in meat quality, disappointed in being charge so much, for so little. Who pays $14 lb for free range chicken? Use to raise my own chicken, lamb and pork, wish I was still physically able to do so. When this meat runs out, going to check out a ranch I found online with same quality, a mixed box of mostly beef and under $11lb.

Great concept, great product
October 24, 2017

I just received my 2nd box and I am very happy with this company. There response to questions is not the fastest. . . but when you look at how many questions they get on FaceBook alone, they must be swamped. I had an issue with UPS. . . the driver dropped the box over my open gate, in the sun, rather than carrying it to the front door, and my bacon and one package of steaks had started to thaw. Still cold so no damage. I let them know the UPS had messed up, but my meat was still good, because I was watching for it. . . . They gave me an extra bacon, and an extra package of steaks in my 2nd box. . . .

I love the concept that they are making grass-fed and pasture raised meat available to people who may not be able to get it affordably in their local stores. Everything I have gotten has been top quality.

Very happy with ButcherBox.