Butcher Box Reviews

Butcher Box
( 99 reviews )

Butcher Box Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Good Box
September 14, 2017
I just got my box there is enough meat for a week the choices of cuts i received was worth it. As a treat the box I received was the beef box glad I got that one, having one of the steaks for dinner tonight!

never again
August 8, 2017
No customer service. Meat came and it was warm like it has been sitting out on a truck for days. Can't reach customer service.

The worst company ever!!!!!!
August 2, 2017

Don't waste your time! Because if you do have a problem they will NEVER contact you. I received my first shipment last Friday, The box was ripped open, dry ice packet ripped in half and contents inside rotting. I called customer service immediately, it was automated and they required me to leave my email address, which I did. I have since called back twice and sent 3 emails, no response at all. Do not give them your business, they do not appreciate it. If they treat their customers this way, think about how they treat their vendors and animals.

Pamela Carpenter

Worst customer service Avoid this company
August 2, 2017

I really love the product but it's absolutely not worth because of the ZERO customer service

My box of meat this month somehow got shipped with a bad label. It ended up at a fed ex plant 50 miles from me with instructions that I needed to pick it up. It had been in transit for over 6 days. There is no way to contact butcher box except by email. Got a response they were busy and would get back to me in 48-72 hours. TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE . Then yesterday evening got delivered by fed ex a repackaged box of meat that is totally thawed. Contacted my credit card company and stopping payment.

Still waiting to hear back from butcher box who have BUTCHERED a good client

Beware if you have any problems
July 26, 2017
This company is a nightmare to deal with. No phone customer service.Canned email responses that told me there was a 48 hour wait because they were swamped. No refund although they "claim" they sent one. Posted a review on Better Business Bureau and they responded with lies...they delete,any negative comments on their fb page (mine & another customer same day, same complaint) so all you see are glowing reports.

Very questionable
July 22, 2017
Received my first box today. The two 1 lb. burger bags were already torn open when I opened up the bag, and everything was soaked. I didn't think dry ice would get everything as wet as it was. The cuts of meat look questionable, to be honest. Really expected more for what basically averaged out to $15 a pound. Opened this up at the office, and general consensus was total ripoff. Already cancelled my subscription, don't even care if customer service answers my email. It sounds like I shouldn't hold my breath on that one

Shipping nightmare!
July 20, 2017

We live in CA and although the company says it "can" ship to all 48 states they seem to have issues sending anything to the West Coast. 2 of our 3 orders now have either not shown up or showed up late(sat in a warehouse over the weekend) and all the meat was spoiled.

If you live close to the distribution center maybe you will have better luck but I am not recommending their service to anyone I know on the West Coast.

Additionally, if you have issues with an order getting a hold of any sort of customer service is a nightmare and will take days.

Great Beef
July 6, 2017
When we started the service we bought a mixed box of beef and pork. But we have switched to all beef after receiving too many pork packages that were more fat and gristle than meat. We also don't care for the gamey taste of the Duroc pork. But the quality of the beef is very good and it tastes delicious. The service has been excellent with shipping and delivery done when promised and I am happy with the response time when I have emailed questions or requests.

Going on 9Months
June 21, 2017
We have used this service for 9 months now and love it! At first we were monthly subscribers, but now we're every other month. This enables us to still take advantage of the organic meat bogo offers at our local grocery. The quality and service is simply amazing. If you have a passion for food and enjoy cooking delicious meals, you can see and taste the difference in quality. The packaging is great, sometimes we're the last on the delivery route and sometimes we're the first. Once or twice we weren't home til late and it was still frozen solid - keep in mind we're a corner lot and the FL sun is beaming on our front door all day. We take the reusable bags to the grocery store or the kids use it for outings. We had a mishap once with a torn steak package that went bad during shipping and no ice, but Customer Service apologized and asked if we needed a new one sent right away but we just opted to add it to the next shipment. We were impressed that they kept their word and called them back to tell them that everything arrived properly. Another instance, our kids tore one while loading the freezer but we just resealed it in a freezer bag. We actually cooked the ribeyes last night. We love trying the healthy recipes that are included (Paleo/Whole30/21Day)! Probably 9 out of 10 are keepers for us. We'll continue purchasing and supporting our local US farms through BBox!

GREAT COMPANY!
November 26, 2016
Just wanted you guys at Butcher Box to know I have given you a VERY much deserved rave review on Yelp. The meat is fantastic and the customer service couldn't be better. Plans and choices are varied and all delivered frozen and packaged beautifully. You won't be sorry and your body will thank you for healthy choices.

3 months and happy
November 18, 2016
I like that it gets me to try new cuts of meat that I'm not familiar with. The flank and Denver steaks were great. Love the stir fry cuts and smashed beef sticks. I'm not a big ground beef user but the dog enjoys the extra.

Buyer beware
November 12, 2016
I absolutely loved my first box of all beef and would recommend it to anyone and would have given 5 stars. I received rib eyes, short ribs, thin sliced beef excellent for stroganoff, etc and several other delicious cuts and ground beef. I loved it so much, I ordered double for my 2nd box. BIG disappointment. I got about 14 lbs of beef for $238. No rib eyes or any normal steak but mostly all cheap tough cuts of meat that all require marinating or long cooking, such as eye of round (personally I would never bye eye of round, there is no amount of cooking that doesn't make this dry) flank steak, ranch steak (which is really chuck), hanger steak, ground beef, etc. Several of the packages were marked 10 oz but when I weighed them, they were only 6.7. Several emails to customer service (they don't have phone support) produced no solution thus far. I doubt I will reorder from this company in the future without some conversation.

So far so good!!!!
June 3, 2016
I started small, To try them out and have been pleased. Looking to increase my purchase and see if things continue. Learning to go from purchasing at your local store to trusting an online company is scary. mSo far prefer Butcher Box. Everything we have cooked and consumed has been awesome.

Think twice before giving Butcher Box your credit card info
October 21, 2020

Before you sign up be sure you realize you are their customer for life. They do not let you cancel! We ordered once. It was ok, not special so we cancelled. That was in June. In October we received email saying an order was coming for $149. We called and said we canceled. They said “no you didn’t.” We said cancel now. They said “too late it’s already shipped” (even though tracking Info they had sent says “not yet shipped.”

I emailed. They responded admitting we DID cancel but claims that we “renewed.” It’s a lie. In truth in October they sent an email. We opened the email, not knowing that the MERE FACT of opening the email meant to Butcher Box that we renewed. In response to that email we said “no thank you.” Didn’t matter.

So we have $149 on our credit card and meat is arriving we do not want and did not order. Worse and far more importantly, they blame us for mistake.

Forget Butcher Box. There are lots of struggling butchers in your area who would love to sell you organically grown product from local farms. Shop local and avoid Butcher Box unless you like people having your credit card number and charging whatever and whenever they want.

1st Box
September 23, 2020
I received our first big box 2 weeks ago and have been happy with the mailing/shipping 100%. The packing was great and the meats were still frozen. It's just my and me so I'm going to change to the small box. We've hardly made a dent in the large box! We loved the ribeye's, hamburger, and bone in, skin on chicken thighs and drumsticks! I cooked them on the grill with only salt and pepper and they were delicious. My hubs ate 4 pieces and wanted more! Very happy with their service!

Scam?
September 21, 2020

Meats are good, probably not worth the price. Some of the packages were torn. Box arrived late and VERY damaged. They gave me a credit for a few torn packages, although I wanted a refund. It has been 2 years and I still haven't ordered again, so my money is just sitting there.

I also learned that a lot of people have had a box delivered to their house, although it wasn't theirs. They call butcherbox and they are told to just keep it. Sounds like a scam to me. Probably trying to market or write off meat they aren't going to sell.

Company not organized
September 20, 2020
Definitely not worth the money. We tried ButcherBox as with Covid19 it was difficult to get meat and such. Not only is it not worth the money in our opinion, but in addition, they screwed up orders and sent us two boxes! At $270. a pop, it sure adds up. Also, they failed to deliver on promotion promised. Going to get our meats at local market.

Not a good value
July 13, 2020

I ordered my 1st Butcher Box a couple of weeks ago. Not knowing what to expect, I ordered the mixed box for $149 in order to sample different items. The box came quickly and was well packaged.

What I received, however, was disappointing. Strip and Ribeye steaks are very small and very thin, had to be very careful not to overcook. Salmon portions are extremely small. Most disappointing were the chicken breasts. Very small, not grass-fed, and not even organic. Same for the uncured bacon. I know that I can get both of these for far less $$.

So I cancelled my subscription and stated VALUE for my reason to cancel. I very quickly received an offer to switch to the "chef's" box for $119, but was not able to find out what that box contained. This box is not available in their regular offer (why not), so clearly a ploy to keep me engaged. I didn't bite. I know I can obtain better quality meat locally, grass-fed and/or organic.

Nothing but Great Experiences
June 23, 2020
I order 6 3-lb chicken tenderloins every 2 months for $149. Every once in a while, they run a special...pay $25 and get 2 lbs of Ground Beef for the rest of your membership. I've done this twice now - once for Ground Beef and once for Bacon. I also add 2 lbs of Ground Beef and/or Ground Pork to my "box" for $15 each. All totaled about $7 per pound of meat for organic, ship to your door service, meat that my 7 year old knows by name...she doesn't each burgers, meatballs, chicken or bacon anymore unless it's butcher box. You can really tell the difference. In all my shipments, I had one issue with defrosted Bacon and did the right thing and sent more. The service is definitely worth it.

Do not get what you order
June 17, 2020

They started off great with our first 2 orders. The last 3 orders

we got have been substitutions. We ordered fillet mignon and got ranch steak we let them know and said they would send it with our next order.

We got the next order and no fillet mignon now we got flank steak.

This month we did not get the 2 fillet mignon they said they would send in addition to our normal box and they did not send us our free bacon we are supposed to get with each order. Maybe they were growing to fast or demand is too high so they do not care. I asked them to send me the 2 missing steaks and the missing bacon but they won't until we order a new box. Waiting 24 hours for a supervisor to call us.

JosephButler August 24, 2020

I have been using Butcher for over a year and have been very satisfied. With that said I have to question your review, I have never ever seen fillet mignon available it has always been Ranch steak. I have always gotten my free bacon, my free wings, and my free drumsticks every month and they have never substituted a single item. So I have arrived at 2 possible conclusions as to why you didn't receive what you think you ordered. First, with COVID running rampant throughout the country, there has been a shortage of beef and the second reason is you have no idea what you ordered again because fillet mingnon has never been an option