Butcher Box Reviews

Butcher Box
( 98  Reviews )



Write a Review

About Butcher Box

Butcher Box got its start with founder Mike Salguero when he was amazed by the pure, natural taste of a 100% grass-fed cow. But not everyone eats such amazing beef simply because not everyone has access to it. That’s why Butcher Box is seeking to make grass-fed meat more accessible.

The company started up in just cafes around Cambridge, until they were finally able to get a shop in Harvard Square. Over the years, they’ve grown rapidly, serving 10,000 families a Butcher Box in their homes for dinner. They’re working tirelessly to provide everyone with a friendly neighborhood butcher that’s always open online.

Products:

Butcher Box is committed to finding everyone high-quality meat that’s healthy, which is why everything is tested before it goes into your box. They’ve searched far and wide for a collection of producers who are trustworthy, including family-run farms and companies who keep animal welfare in mind.

Choose from any one of their meats, including beef, chicken and pork. Beef is 100% grass-fed without any antibiotics or hormones, while all cattle are raised humanely. Chickens spend their entire lives in the field too, so that they’re leaner and healthier. The same goes for pork, so rest assured that they’re never given dangerous hormones.

How Does it Work?

When you order from Butcher Box, you must first choose your box. Pick from a mix of beef, chicken, or pork, or customize what you’d like. The box will then be delivered right to your doorstep in an insulated box with everything frozen and packaged well. From there, all you have to do is get cooking.

Cost and Price Plans:

When you get started, Butcher Box can pick out a balanced assortment of easy items for you, or more interesting cuts and you get to choose from a range of 12 add-ons for your box. The base price begins at only US$129 a month for 8-11 pounds of meat that will let you eat a total of 24 meals. When considering the Butcher Box vs Moink box, the base price is certainly cheaper.

If you’re cooking for more people though, try the Big Box, which costs more at US$238 a month, but with double the meat. With this box, you’ll receive 16-22 pounds, or 48 individual meals. Choose your own meats or let Butcher Box give you a little bit of a surprise when you receive your box. When it comes to Butcher Box vs Omaha Steaks you definitely have many more options.

Customer Service:

Butcher Box will deliver right to your door and will not require a signature, since the meat is perishable. Track your package when it ships, or give specific delivery instructions for when it arrives. Everything should arrive frozen and packaged well, although if you ever do have any issues and want to cancel your subscription, you are able to do so at any time prior to your invoice date. Just log in and scroll down to the bottom of your page.

If you have any issues, be sure to reach out for support at [email protected] for answers to all basic questions, or refer to their FAQ page. That said, they’ll ship to anywhere in 48 states with free shipping.

Online Reviews/Complaints:

People so far love Butcher Box, in part because the price is so affordable for the amount of high-quality meat you receive. You are also able to get a huge variety of meats and different products that you wouldn’t normally buy at the store. Moreover, you will be able to make your meals more delicious with new cuts that really are high quality.

Not everyone is a huge fan, though and while they love the quality of the meat and the packaging, the service itself has some problems. People have gotten packages shipped on the incorrect date, or have found their boxes sometimes thawed. Not everyone loves the price either, since local producers may be less expensive.

Competitors and Alternatives:

If you like Butcher Box but maybe want to try a different company, there are a few competitors and alternatives available to you. Try Grassland Beef if you’re looking specifically for beef, with their chefs making everything fresh and full of nutrients.

There’s also Tendergrass Farms, who also provides all sorts of meats for you to choose from, if you want to spice up your diet. Farmer Girl similarly ships out all sorts of meats that are all high-quality, fresh and with incredible flavor. You certainly have other options if Butcher Box is not to your liking.

Where to Buy?

For your own Butcher Box, look on their website to order right away. Also check in other websites like Groupon for daily deals on your box when you purchase, or for another form of ordering if you feel more comfortable with their website.

You May Also Be Interested In

98 ‘Butcher Box’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
lillian benson

Poor Meat Quality

December 15, 2020

I welcomed the possibility of cutting down on trips to the grocery store but the quality and taste of the meat were not good for the price. I cooked two cuts of beef, the chicken breasts, and the pork chops. The pork was okay but both the beef and the chicken were tough. I just canceled tonight and feel I wasted my money.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Angie N

Total disappointment

November 15, 2020

This is the second time I attempted a subscription with Butcher Box. I was a long time customer initially but cancelled when I continued to get products that the packaging would crack open during shipping and would ultimately spoil and I was throwing away hundreds of dollars in meat because the mailing process was inadequate for California heat.

We’ve moved to TX and this time the customer service was terrible. Charged me and never delivered the box. Had to contact customer service multiple times trying to get the box replaced which they said would be sent out. Never arrived. Only to call again and find out that I was in a no-ship list. I finally had to ask for a refund but that left me without the products I had needed for my large and busy family. What a waste of time and efforts. Very disappointed and won’t be going back.

Comment on this review...

Think twice before giving Butcher Box your credit card info

October 21, 2020

Before you sign up be sure you realize you are their customer for life. They do not let you cancel! We ordered once. It was ok, not special so we cancelled. That was in June. In October we received email saying an order was coming for $149. We called and said we canceled. They said “no you didn’t.” We said cancel now. They said “too late it’s already shipped” (even though tracking Info they had sent says “not yet shipped.”

I emailed. They responded admitting we DID cancel but claims that we “renewed.” It’s a lie. In truth in October they sent an email. We opened the email, not knowing that the MERE FACT of opening the email meant to Butcher Box that we renewed. In response to that email we said “no thank you.” Didn’t matter.

So we have $149 on our credit card and meat is arriving we do not want and did not order. Worse and far more importantly, they blame us for mistake.

Forget Butcher Box. There are lots of struggling butchers in your area who would love to sell you organically grown product from local farms. Shop local and avoid Butcher Box unless you like people having your credit card number and charging whatever and whenever they want.

Comment on this review...

1st Box

September 23, 2020

I received our first big box 2 weeks ago and have been happy with the mailing/shipping 100%. The packing was great and the meats were still frozen. It's just my and me so I'm going to change to the small box. We've hardly made a dent in the large box! We loved the ribeye's, hamburger, and bone in, skin on chicken thighs and drumsticks! I cooked them on the grill with only salt and pepper and they were delicious. My hubs ate 4 pieces and wanted more! Very happy with their service!

Comment on this review...

Scam?

September 21, 2020

Meats are good, probably not worth the price. Some of the packages were torn. Box arrived late and VERY damaged. They gave me a credit for a few torn packages, although I wanted a refund. It has been 2 years and I still haven't ordered again, so my money is just sitting there.

I also learned that a lot of people have had a box delivered to their house, although it wasn't theirs. They call butcherbox and they are told to just keep it. Sounds like a scam to me. Probably trying to market or write off meat they aren't going to sell.

Comment on this review...

Company not organized

September 20, 2020

Definitely not worth the money. We tried ButcherBox as with Covid19 it was difficult to get meat and such. Not only is it not worth the money in our opinion, but in addition, they screwed up orders and sent us two boxes! At $270. a pop, it sure adds up. Also, they failed to deliver on promotion promised. Going to get our meats at local market.

Comment on this review...
review author image
PrairiePines

A consumer should NOT have to try so hard...

August 9, 2020

A consumer should NOT have to try so hard to find out WHERE their meats are sourced! Do you all realize that grass-fed beef could be a water buffalo eating stalks in a rice paddy in China? My point is NOWHERE do they make it easy to know what country their meats come from.

I would eat a grain-fed over something raised in Indonesia any day! What about the fish? Wild-caught WHERE? I am done searching they will not get our business because of deceptive practices of the country of origin games.

Comment on this review...
review author image
J.Ward

Not Good

August 2, 2020

The meat I ordered arrived mostly thawed. Not packed well at all. Half the meat was completely thawed; the other half was partially thawed. The box was barely cool inside and it felt dangerous to even eat the meat. I certainly didn't re-freeze it! I never got a response to my complaint so I canceled my subscription and will not order from ButcherBox again.

Comment on this review...

Not a good value

July 13, 2020

I ordered my 1st Butcher Box a couple of weeks ago. Not knowing what to expect, I ordered the mixed box for $149 in order to sample different items. The box came quickly and was well packaged.
What I received, however, was disappointing. Strip and Ribeye steaks are very small and very thin, had to be very careful not to overcook. Salmon portions are extremely small. Most disappointing were the chicken breasts. Very small, not grass-fed, and not even organic. Same for the uncured bacon. I know that I can get both of these for far less $$.
So I cancelled my subscription and stated VALUE for my reason to cancel. I very quickly received an offer to switch to the "chef's" box for $119, but was not able to find out what that box contained. This box is not available in their regular offer (why not), so clearly a ploy to keep me engaged. I didn't bite. I know I can obtain better quality meat locally, grass-fed and/or organic.

Comment on this review...

Nothing but Great Experiences

June 23, 2020

I order 6 3-lb chicken tenderloins every 2 months for $149. Every once in a while, they run a special...pay $25 and get 2 lbs of Ground Beef for the rest of your membership. I've done this twice now - once for Ground Beef and once for Bacon. I also add 2 lbs of Ground Beef and/or Ground Pork to my "box" for $15 each. All totaled about $7 per pound of meat for organic, ship to your door service, meat that my 7 year old knows by name...she doesn't each burgers, meatballs, chicken or bacon anymore unless it's butcher box. You can really tell the difference. In all my shipments, I had one issue with defrosted Bacon and did the right thing and sent more. The service is definitely worth it.

Comment on this review...

Do not get what you order

June 17, 2020

They started off great with our first 2 orders. The last 3 orders
we got have been substitutions. We ordered fillet mignon and got ranch steak we let them know and said they would send it with our next order.
We got the next order and no fillet mignon now we got flank steak.
This month we did not get the 2 fillet mignon they said they would send in addition to our normal box and they did not send us our free bacon we are supposed to get with each order. Maybe they were growing to fast or demand is too high so they do not care. I asked them to send me the 2 missing steaks and the missing bacon but they won't until we order a new box. Waiting 24 hours for a supervisor to call us.

August 24, 2020

I have been using Butcher for over a year and have been very satisfied. With that said I have to question your review, I have never ever seen fillet mignon available it has always been Ranch steak. I have always gotten my free bacon, my free wings, and my free drumsticks every month and they have never substituted a single item. So I have arrived at 2 possible conclusions as to why you didn't receive what you think you ordered. First, with COVID running rampant throughout the country, there has been a shortage of beef and the second reason is you have no idea what you ordered again because fillet mingnon has never been an option

Comment on this review...
review author image
Michael Jakoby

Do not get what you order.

June 17, 2020

They started off great with our first 2 orders. The last 3 orders we got have been substitutions. We ordered fillet mignon and got ranch steak we let them know and said they would send it with our next order. We got the next order and no fillet mignon now we got flank steak.

This month we did not get the 2 fillet mignon they said they would send in addition to our normal box and they did not send us our free bacon we are supposed to get with each order. Maybe they were growing to fast or demand is too high so they do not care. I asked them to send me the 2 missing steaks and the missing bacon but they won't until we order a new box. Waiting 24 hours for a supervisor to call us.

Comment on this review...

Need to Work on Fullfillment

May 30, 2020

Meat - Great, never thawes when i get it.
Packaging - okay, some had minor tears but otherwise fine since it stays frpzen.
Getting what ypu ordered and paid for? Pretty damn awful.

Theyve offered and sent "replacements" of lesser value in follow up boxes however THOSE boxes are short items. Its like a running game of catch-up with no end in sight, no refunds for the extras they don't send you and continued shorting on orders.

Look i get that meat supply chain is messed up due to corona, but just REFUND us if you cant't fill the order or your replacement is of way lesser value than what we originally orderes. Great quality meat but need to learn to set realistic expectations and take low inventory items off their site instead of making empty promises. Disappointed and will cancel if they don't gwt their act together...

Comment on this review...

Worst Customer Service

May 2, 2020

I was on my second order and asked for a delivery on a certain date. They delivered it two weeks early and I wasn't home to get it. Well $200 worth of meat that could not be used. When I called customer service, I was told tough in so many words. Never again will I ever buy from them again!!!

Comment on this review...

Packaging issues

April 6, 2020

I made it through 3 boxes before I finally canceled my subscription. Their packaging is TERRIBLE! I defrosted chicken in the fridge and the next day, it leaked all over. When I complained to customer service, they initially gave me a spiel about their “unique packaging” and blah, blah, blah before offering any resolution. Almost none of the meat is properly vacuum-sealed and the packaging itself is made of extremely thin plastic that is not freezer friendly. The packaging stiffens up and cracks when frozen. If I could attached pictures, I would.

I give it 1 star because a meat subscription is a cool and convenient service but what’s the point if the food is compromised?

Comment on this review...

Rip Off

March 23, 2020

Go to Whole Foods or some other reputable place and get three times as much you pay here. They also give you chix drumsticks instead of chix breast and when you complain they tell you to see the fine print on the contract. C A N C E L L E D !!!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Kitty

Food poisoning, open, leaking packages, and rude employees Oh My!

March 4, 2020

AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!!! 0 Stars. My husband got food poisoning from the hamburger meat. All packages have holes and are not sealed properly, an issue they clearly know full well and furthermore do not care about. I proceeded to cancel and decided to inform them about the situation. The "customer service" representative told me they would need photographic evidence of the ripped packaging. (I had since thrown it away because that is gross!)

Talk about rude, snarky and horrible. I told her the meat was gross. What I meant by gross is because it is exposed to everything and everything to it, not gross meaning taste. (Taste is mediocre by the way, nothing to write home about.) Her reply was "Well, taste is subjective." REALLY! Way to retain customers lady. NOT! Did not even care or make an effort to correct the situation. Horrible, just horrible.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Deanna Joy

Not what I ordered!

February 6, 2020

I ordered a full order box of sirloin steaks. Packaged, they all looked like sirloin steaks. When I opened each of the two (they come in two attached) 5 out of 10 were New York strips and the other 5 sirloin steaks!
When I first contacted them on my first package, I said, Let it slide, do better next time!

But when package after package revealed that someone was not paying attention and I felt I was purposely being cheated (they were packaged to look like sirloin, all bunched up and pretty and fat looking) I began to ask for a refund ~ they refunded me 2 of the 5~

Not going to order meat from them again So, my next order was a box full of Salmon steaks (12) ~ definitely different sizes don't know if total weight was what they promised or not ~

So first package of two salmon steaks, not scaled.
Second package one scaled and the other not
Third package both scaled.
fourth package half scaled . . .

So my point is ~ there is much need for quality control on their packaging.
The sirloin was great and the salmon was great! BUT, I won't be ordering from them again as I don't know what I will get (and unlikely I will get a refund for all the miss-packaged product) and if I will need to be scaling my salmon (I like to eat the skin) or not!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Barbara Wilson

Disappointed!

January 12, 2020

Summer of 2019 ordered and received a Six Star box of assorted beef, pork and chicken. Fabulous! Put a hold on
Subscription. Ordered a box of beef and pork (free salmon
Included) in late December. Box arrived containing two pounds each of hamburger, beef stew, pork ribs, two rib eye steaks and a 6.52# bone in pork butt! ( My kids at birth didn’t weigh that much). At $129.00 that makes these 9 packages Approximately $16.33 a piece!

Customer service told me the assortment came from what was available in the locker. She told me to cut the pork butt in half (really, frozen). I was given $20.00 off my Next
order. My suggestion: don’t order or if you do, not at the end of December when the lockers are full of bone in pork butts!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Alan Armes

Poor Quality Meat and Bad web site

November 2, 2019

Meat quality is no better than my local grocers and probably not as good in some items. Was really excited until i got the first box. What a disappointment that was.

Move order out to give the wife and I time to use the meat and that didn't work out to well.
Web site is persistent in keeping you on a schedule come hell or high water.

Finally chatted with a "customer service" rep and got the plan cancelled. Funny thing on the way to the chat room is that I had twice previously cancelled the service and the damn thing kept coming back. Now I have to $129.00 of meat I don't want or need.

I had used a Mac once and then I used my secure Windows machine and that didn't work either. Both times i got the typical why are you leaving.

They must have figured I didn't know what I was talking about and kept my account alive.
When I asked that the account be wiped they politely, (sic) refused. I know Service desk are notoriously un-responsive to customer but this type of canned crap has to stop.

People need to be more assertive with companies that ignore them after the initial contact which is all peaches and cream until you find the cream curdled on delivery and peaches were ground pick up from last month.

Not a happy camper.

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review