OurTime.com Reviews

OurTime.com
Based on 75 Reviews
Website:www.OurTime.com
Review It

About OurTime.com

Online dating has become increasingly popular for singles to connect; it has flourished into a number of sites that are now individually geared toward a specific demographic market. OurTime.com is an online dating service dedicated to connecting singles that are at least 50 years of age. The site was built on the idea that older people are looking for companionship with others who share the same life experiences.

It is free to become a member of OurTime.com and browse for singles in your local area. As a non-paying member you are unable to communicate with other singles. You must “upgrade” your account to a paid member status to use all of the features within their site. A one month membership costs $19.99, three months cost $54.00 and six months cost $72.00.

To cancel your subscription, you may do so through your online account, send a written cancellation by mail, or email their customer service team. There are no refunds for any payments plus you are also obligated to pay the remainder of the subscription fees for the package option you signed up for.

Payments are setup on autopay each month and your subscription is set up on auto renewal. Should you wish to cancel your renewal you must do so far enough in advance so they have time to process your request.

The great aspect of online dating is that it gives individuals a comfortable setting to strike up a conversation with someone whom they have never met. By avoiding the first impressions that accompany a face to face encounter or a blind date you can be yourself without having any expectations put on you. Online dating is also a great way to network the social scene whether it is find someone to date or just to find a good friend, anything is possible. In addition, you can focus your attention on individuals who have similar interests as you, making your chances for a connection even better.

The other side of online dating pertains to the risks involved. First and foremost, you don’t really know who is on the other side of the communication exchange. A profile picture may not represent the person who is replying to you. There is a possibility that the person on the other side is not who they claim to be and may even be an employee of OurTime’s parent company. Even though the site’s terms and conditions claim this is a way to engage its members and improve their services, it seems as if it is a method used to keep their paying subscribers.

Another risk involved comes hand in hand when the potential development of a relationship presents itself and the time comes when you both decide to meet in person. Safety is a common concern among all online daters. Take the necessary safety precautions and always meet in a public place. When meeting someone for the first time, don’t forget that while you may be looking for someone who resembles their profile picture, you may be meeting someone who looks completely different.

When dating online, keep your eyes open, don’t spill out your life story and never reveal your personal information.

Related Articles

75 ‘OurTime.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

Beware of OurTime

Reviewed By Avena Young on March 18, 2016

I was on for only 1 month and received at least 2 "flirts" from men who told me they did not send a "flirt. After reviewing all the negative reviews, I am going to call them have them cancel my membership, even though I have 3 months (of a 6 month membership) left.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

OUTIME - BEWARE ADMIN ALTERING YOUR PROFILE!

Reviewed By Rob A. on March 10, 2016

What a joke. Paid membership fee, then come to find OurTime employees will go back into your profile and edit without notification. I log in daily to find content censored or removed in its entirety (despite all originally composed in compliance within the TOS). When I Customer Support is contacted, I learn from the CSR that OurTime employs non-English speaking offshore techs to review and censor profile content.

The CSR was also unfamiliar with social media dating terms such as BBW or FWB, and he claimed LMAO is acceptable while WTF is subject to censor.

WTF??

I have experienced the same issues as others with their "match" algorithms resulting in NON-matches - whether it be age, race, both type, smoking/non-smoking. You get the idea.
And what is up with a 50-or-over dating site featuring so many "members" UNDER 50?

OurTime has agreed to refund my purchase and I am waiting to see if they will indeed make good on their offer over the next 72 hours.

Both Match.com (aka Find-A-Russian-Bride-Scammer-Dot-Com) and OurTime.com are worthless sites. Avoid at all costs. PlentyofFish.com has been relatively trouble-free by comparison. Not that I'd recommend them either, as it seems to be CrayCrayCentral.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

I was on the site for a day almost, and logged out. I could not log in

Reviewed By charles  on March 1, 2016

The site has blocked me from logging in. When I ask to rest the pass word nothing happens. when I call the costumer servis line a recording comes on and states there sorry. No return emails from any one. this happen 2-28-16- and today is 3-1-16 still no response . Other than taking my money . I have been RIPPED OFF beware !!!!!!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Waste of time

Reviewed By David on February 8, 2016

Such a waste of time. I should have gotten myself membership on Primetimelove.com instead. My friend recommended that one to me and it outperformed my expectations.

Ourtime tempts you with people who are interested. Then try and get you to pay a fee in order to talk to them. Once you pay you find that the people were not interested

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

ladies beware of false profiles

Reviewed By Thalia Luke on June 26, 2015

Ladies and even gentlemen,
I indeed wish I had reviewed this dating site prior to a subscription. I still have several months of a 6 month subscription left. I am aware that there are so many people enlisting this method of meeting people with like interests. I knew it would take more than a few weeks to connect with some like minded gentlemen. Well I connected all right but there were two with totally false profiles and scam intentions within 6 weeks. I am reading about how subscribers feel fleeced from this company. What is worse is the way these crooks (that is exactly what they are) cast the bait, wait for the bite and reel you in. Read the signs associated with potential scammers. Both claimed to be civil or construction engineers, one out of state one in state, A complete difference in writing styles from intelligent, witty, philosophic entries to broken English and horrible grammar. Both went off the OT site immediately after we started writing. Stupid me went to private email and even phone conversations. Both had thick accents and used terms of endearments way to soon for people not even meeting. Both of these guys were going to or already working on construction projects in Asia. Then the shoe drops and there is a catastrophe where I am asked to "help" out. The latest was to send an iphone6 to a location in Malaysia so it would be there when he arrived. Then he could contact me how things are going. I stopped communication with both of these guys. It did shake me up but I would have been even more devastated like some other victims I have read about if I sent money or items.
It is such a shame that a well intentioned idea of helping mature people meet in a safe environment has to be used for ill gotten gains.
If I cannot meet anyone local in the remainder of my subscription time then I will not use online dating again. I am still trying to find an email address or phone number for this company but from what I have read they keep pretty well hidden.
I hope my story helps other ladies to be careful.
Best wishes
KL Florida

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

They wrote in the "about me" section of my profile - fabrication.

Reviewed By Anne Marie Faes on June 22, 2015

I looked into Ourtime about a year ago just to check it out. I filled a basic profile just so see what is out there.
Just today I went into the site and found Ourtime went into my about me section and wrote the following....... "A little about me...
I'm a workout nut. I love staying active with yoga, jogging and crossfit. I like a guy who has a kind heart and likes the occasional Friday night spent cuddling.
I dont do any of those activities, never mentioned them anywhere at anytime. Occasional Friday night spent cuddling????? What the????
This is a total breech and completely unethical. I am awaiting a response from them.
How could I possibly join a site that altered my profile?

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Fred
September 07, 2015

They use that same line on quite a few profiles!

September 07, 2015

Search this line in quotes:

"I like a guy who has a kind heart and likes the occasional Friday night spent cuddling."

on Google and you'll find links to many ads on many sites.

No originality amongst the shills!

Your Comment
1 Review

totally worthless website

Reviewed By Bryan Harms on March 19, 2015

I joined the site over two years ago. When I kept getting emails about people viewing my profile, flirting, and listing me as a favorite, I paid for a six month membership. I was then able to write to women. Very few replied to me....and many simply said "not interested" or "I am flooded with men in their 40s who want to date me." Most simply never replied. I have been told all my life, and personally know that I am a very good looking man and athletically fit.

The few women who did strike up a correspondence with me simply quit replying once I suggested meeting in person.

I turned off the automatic renewal right away, but somehow it gets turned back on and my membership renewed. I have complained but to no avail, so I ride out the next six months, constantly checking to make sure the auto renewal is turned off. My membership expires, then a month or two later, I get an email thanking me for renewing my membership, when I have not even been back to the site.

I am currently riding out another renewal, and still have virtually no women replying to me and still have never met anyone from the site in person.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Abysmal

Reviewed By Nedd Kareiva on March 9, 2015

No one should join this site under any circumstances. I have six posts under Nedd at https://dating-sites.bestreviews.net/ourtime-reviews/. The posts speak for themselves as well as most others there and all the posts here at reviewopedia. It is unconscionable that a company like this should exist. It seems like it exists to deliberately do everything the wrong way. I personally can validate most of the gripes. The financial fraud claims are what they are but even worse is being told you have flirts, views & messages when a good many of them, if not most, are bogus.

Our Time and its affiliates are in desperate of a class action lawsuit for all the financial fraud it has committed. Additionally, disaffected and disillusioned subscribers should visit a new site I just set up to air their grievances, consider joining in legal action and offer their thoughts towards the possibility of creating a new dating site to provide real solutions and hopefully meet their longing soulmate needs. The website is www.cometwogether.net and the e-mail address to contact me is admin at cometwogether.net. Let's come two gether to put Our Time out of commission and perhaps put out a site that will genuinely put good men and women together.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
May 10, 2015

The email address you list above seems to be invalid...

Your Comment
1 Review

Mislead you with number of views

Reviewed By Linda T on January 21, 2015

I have been fortunate over the years to meet a few really nice guys on dating sites and had a couple long term relationships as a result.
I decided to try Our Time for a month with some hesitation based on the reviews. I have no complaints about the payment confusion as the majority do here on this forum. You just have to be very aware of the "plan" you select before paying because it will keep defaulting to 6 months. Regardless of which plan you use, it's very easy to turn off the auto renew so you won't continue to be charged beyond the period you purchased. That is the least of my complaints. In general it's about being computer savvy.
What Our Time does that has turned me away forever is they notify lots of men that I have viewed their profile when I haven't. Check out "Who I Have Viewed." Mine shows 170 men that I supposedly viewed. I keep a list of who I've viewed with a short note about each one so I don't spend time going back to a profile several times to remember why or why not I would be interested in them. In one week, I have viewed 37 profiles, NOT 170. It is obvious only a small percentage of men who show having viewed me actually have. Pretty obvious actually. It shows my profile has been viewed 171 times. Coincidence that the numbers are basically the same? I think not.
Our Time could have decided to be a quality site but have chosen to knowingly be unethical and misleading to make a profit. And they are very successful in achieving their goal. I'm still waiting for someone to start a true dating site for the over 50 crowd. But the little guy can't compete with the marketing dollars of Match.com/OurTime. Very unfortunate.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Dave LAguy
January 22, 2015

Good concise review here. I want to add there are risks with any kind of dating, even when people meet in venues that are not online. And I have read about scamming being used by dating sites to make them appear more active than they really are. "Seeding" fake profiles or creating fake activity are two examples. One way to insure you join a good site id to look at research about them. http://datesitesreview.com/dating_reviews/senior-dating-sites/ analyzes and reviews seniors personals sites, and rates them. It also has a blog with stories and advice. Look, there are scams all over, and dating websites have them as well, so it is good to be cautious from the start of a search, from choosing the site to making an honest and complete profile to screening any prospective mate. Good luck and have fun..

February 20, 2015

Our Time has a this promotion feature with "tokens" that some sites are using to get more money out of the pockets of us hopeful ones. I fell for it and paid to be "promoted" so that my profile was somehow viewed more than usual (proves there's manipulation of the computer program running it). I did have many views in the one hour I paid for but only one or two were local. Since I say in my profile that I'm not willing to re-locate and wish to meet men in my area, this was a waste. I'll not fall for it again.

Your Comment
1 Review

Renewal a Scam

Reviewed By Richard Dennis Helm on December 26, 2014, Coon Rapids, Minnesota

This is supposed to be user friendly and for Seniors.
The scam comes in that you must remember when your membership ends. In my case I entered that I do not want to continue after a paid period, They took the money out of my debit checking account without authorization. They send no reminders of membership end dates. No proof that I canceled prior to the end date. Recommend you try E Harmony or other dating sites.
I'll never, ever go back.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

you have my pic

Reviewed By Lisa Loyd on December 18, 2014, Rancho Santa Margarita, California

A fb friend pointed out that you have my pic flowing thru the newsfrred. Take it down....... NOW. FALSE ADVERTISEMENT BECAUSE I'VE NEVER HEARD OF THIS SITE, SO I CERTAINLY DON'T HAVE A PROFILE...

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

What a scam

Reviewed By Franz Schubert on December 18, 2014

I should have read all these reviews before I signed on with them six months ago. I didn't get any useful matches, so I did what I thought was cancelling the membership only to find a charge from them for a renewal on my credit card today.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
February 13, 2015

is there someone who met some girls on a dating website because i was on blackcrush and milfaholic and i figured out that it was some fake sites. since i am affraid to register on some dating website

Your Comment
1 Review

Ripoff

Reviewed By Betsy on September 22, 2014

I sure wish I had read all of these comments before I signed up for the low price three month trial. I just saw a charge on my credit card for a renewal and it was over $70.00. I have emailed them to take it off but I don't hold out hope for it after reading these comments.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
October 18, 2014

I filed a dispute with my credit card company for unauthorized charge on my account. I also had my credit card number change to prevent the company from trying to collect the 83.94 they charged me WITHOUT MY AUTHORIZATION.

Your Comment
1 Review

Profiles

Reviewed By Linda on July 29, 2014

I am very disappointed with Our.Time.Com. I have encountered fake profiles - the people are not real! I put in my preferences and get views, messages, search engine misinformation (does not comply with my setting), from people who do not meet the preference settings; ie no picture, wrong ethnic race, distance, age, and sex! The new members tab is a joke - same people every week. The site is a joke - I can't get in touch with a customer service rep to complain as I suppose they don't have one (it is fake too)! I would not recommend this site to anyone!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Ourttime ripoff

Reviewed By steve on July 11, 2014

Ripoff! Their customer service, auto renewal and refund policy sucks. Customer service won't get back to you. They do not have a refund policy. If they send you an email advertising reduced renewal rates ($39.95), don't click it. Beware, the reduced rate will only be tacked on to the already ($71.94) renewal rates and the auto renewal does not notify you of pending bank transactions. If you plan on cancelling, send yourself a calendar reminder to cancel before they can get to your bank account.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
4 Reviews

Former Employee

Reviewed By Kevin Veach on March 12, 2014

OK this is for all of your attention on this site. I used to work for People Media in Costa RIca and they are a huge RIP OFF. I cant call them a scam because if you sign up for an account you better read the Terms And Conditions immediatly and thoroughly. THEY WILL AUTOMATICALLY RENEW YOUR SUBSCRIPTION>>>>>The easiest way to get this turned off is call them and SAY you met someone. THey will not try to keep selling to you if you do. CALL...877-727-8920 and you will get through. They will answer PEOPLE MEDIA....Tell them your account and tell them you want any OPEN account to be closed. THEY WILL LEAVE anything you dont mention open. I suggest a class action suit against them and MATCH.COM if you want to accomplish anything as far as getting refunds back but remember...If you send a message at any PEople media site you will not be eligible for a refund. The Customer service is done PRIMARILY in COSTA RICA for a company named VIALINX!!!! THey are a shady company with shady business practices and handle only rippoff companies such as SCORESENSE, AND PEOPLE MEDIA AND MATCH.COM SITES....DONT get taken advantage of. STAY away from anything dealing with these companies in order to have a happier life.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
April 04, 2014

i filed a complaint about ourtime.com with Pam Bondi, the State attorney for Florida today. Hopefully something can be done about these awful people.

Your Comment
Guest

OurTime is a Scam

Reviewed By Kenneth Lacy on October 21, 2013, Lynchburg, Virginia

They are nothing but a Scam and will take your money and then remove parts of your profile so you can't even use it!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Cindy Jones
November 03, 2013

ourtime.com is a total waste of time and money. I have never been lied to so many times in my life. It is not just ourtime. They all are awful. I am a very pretty, (inside and out) woman with a heart of gold who is extremely honest about every aspect of my life and I am worn out from men who sit and lie to my face. Do not bother with this site. The best way to meet someone is through friends.

Your Comment
Guest

Con

Reviewed By anonymous female on September 6, 2013, New York

Today, I created a male profile to see what my competition would be on Ourtime. I was offline and Ourtime had me online. Avoid this website, permanently. Women, cancel as soon as possible. Do not waste your money.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 12 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

GEEZERS

Reviewed By lorri on September 5, 2013, Indpls.,IN

All the men on this site look 10 to 20 years older than the stated age.
Most of these GEEZERS want a 35 year old hard body. Come on, you couldn't get one when you were young let alone now. Constantly paired with people I said NO to over and over again. No real selection

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 12 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
lani
September 09, 2013

Same experience with me! Most men look as if they should be or are in a rest home. I tried to get a refund but they wouldn't let me. I even tried to trade and pay the extra for their other site match.com but they still wouldn't let me. This is the worst site I've ever come across!!!!!!!

March 10, 2016

Match.com is FAR worse than OurTime. Both suck,

Your Comment
Guest

Romance scam/emerald 360/Battaglia

Reviewed By MJ on August 26, 2013, Los Angeles, CA

Apparently ourtime does not do any checking on its members. I met a nice gentleman, saying he was in the military, and was on deployment to Afghanistan. I googled him, he had a facebook page, so I thought the names and pictures match. I Talked to him for about a week, online, until he hit me up for $16000. Then I spent about 4 hours researching him and found his pictures were of the csgtmaj of the enlisted fleet of Marines. Yeesh, did I feel stupid.
On top of that I signed up for initially one month. They dinged my CC for 6 months and do not return my requests for resolution. I can not find an actual phone # for them.
I suggest going anywhere else for a dating service.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 11 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
March 12, 2014

If you cant find the phone number you have to be very very computer inept. All you have to do is Google People Media the owners of the site and you will get the number 866-727-8920. That said I can reassure you that the company is a big rippoff because I worked for them in Costa Rica. They are very dispicable. I suggest starting a class action suit against them and Mathc.com at the same time. Read terms and conditions before you sign up for any site and make sure you understand....

Your Comment

Leave a Review