OurTime.com Reviews

OurTime.com
Based on 69 Reviews
Website:www.OurTime.com
Review It

About OurTime.com

Online dating has become increasingly popular for singles to connect; it has flourished into a number of sites that are now individually geared toward a specific demographic market. OurTime.com is an online dating service dedicated to connecting singles that are at least 50 years of age. The site was built on the idea that older people are looking for companionship with others who share the same life experiences.

It is free to become a member of OurTime.com and browse for singles in your local area. As a non-paying member you are unable to communicate with other singles. You must “upgrade” your account to a paid member status to use all of the features within their site. A one month membership costs $19.99, three months cost $54.00 and six months cost $72.00.

To cancel your subscription, you may do so through your online account, send a written cancellation by mail, or email their customer service team. There are no refunds for any payments plus you are also obligated to pay the remainder of the subscription fees for the package option you signed up for.

Payments are setup on autopay each month and your subscription is set up on auto renewal. Should you wish to cancel your renewal you must do so far enough in advance so they have time to process your request.

The great aspect of online dating is that it gives individuals a comfortable setting to strike up a conversation with someone whom they have never met. By avoiding the first impressions that accompany a face to face encounter or a blind date you can be yourself without having any expectations put on you. Online dating is also a great way to network the social scene whether it is find someone to date or just to find a good friend, anything is possible. In addition, you can focus your attention on individuals who have similar interests as you, making your chances for a connection even better.

The other side of online dating pertains to the risks involved. First and foremost, you don’t really know who is on the other side of the communication exchange. A profile picture may not represent the person who is replying to you. There is a possibility that the person on the other side is not who they claim to be and may even be an employee of OurTime’s parent company. Even though the site’s terms and conditions claim this is a way to engage its members and improve their services, it seems as if it is a method used to keep their paying subscribers.

Another risk involved comes hand in hand when the potential development of a relationship presents itself and the time comes when you both decide to meet in person. Safety is a common concern among all online daters. Take the necessary safety precautions and always meet in a public place. When meeting someone for the first time, don’t forget that while you may be looking for someone who resembles their profile picture, you may be meeting someone who looks completely different.

When dating online, keep your eyes open, don’t spill out your life story and never reveal your personal information.

Related Articles

69 ‘OurTime.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

totally worthless website

Reviewed By Bryan Harms on March 19, 2015

I joined the site over two years ago. When I kept getting emails about people viewing my profile, flirting, and listing me as a favorite, I paid for a six month membership. I was then able to write to women. Very few replied to me....and many simply said "not interested" or "I am flooded with men in their 40s who want to date me." Most simply never replied. I have been told all my life, and personally know that I am a very good looking man and athletically fit.

The few women who did strike up a correspondence with me simply quit replying once I suggested meeting in person.

I turned off the automatic renewal right away, but somehow it gets turned back on and my membership renewed. I have complained but to no avail, so I ride out the next six months, constantly checking to make sure the auto renewal is turned off. My membership expires, then a month or two later, I get an email thanking me for renewing my membership, when I have not even been back to the site.

I am currently riding out another renewal, and still have virtually no women replying to me and still have never met anyone from the site in person.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Abysmal

Reviewed By Nedd Kareiva on March 9, 2015

No one should join this site under any circumstances. I have six posts under Nedd at https://dating-sites.bestreviews.net/ourtime-reviews/. The posts speak for themselves as well as most others there and all the posts here at reviewopedia. It is unconscionable that a company like this should exist. It seems like it exists to deliberately do everything the wrong way. I personally can validate most of the gripes. The financial fraud claims are what they are but even worse is being told you have flirts, views & messages when a good many of them, if not most, are bogus.

Our Time and its affiliates are in desperate of a class action lawsuit for all the financial fraud it has committed. Additionally, disaffected and disillusioned subscribers should visit a new site I just set up to air their grievances, consider joining in legal action and offer their thoughts towards the possibility of creating a new dating site to provide real solutions and hopefully meet their longing soulmate needs. The website is www.cometwogether.net and the e-mail address to contact me is admin at cometwogether.net. Let's come two gether to put Our Time out of commission and perhaps put out a site that will genuinely put good men and women together.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
May 10, 2015

The email address you list above seems to be invalid...

Your Comment
1 Review

Mislead you with number of views

Reviewed By Linda T on January 21, 2015

I have been fortunate over the years to meet a few really nice guys on dating sites and had a couple long term relationships as a result.
I decided to try Our Time for a month with some hesitation based on the reviews. I have no complaints about the payment confusion as the majority do here on this forum. You just have to be very aware of the "plan" you select before paying because it will keep defaulting to 6 months. Regardless of which plan you use, it's very easy to turn off the auto renew so you won't continue to be charged beyond the period you purchased. That is the least of my complaints. In general it's about being computer savvy.
What Our Time does that has turned me away forever is they notify lots of men that I have viewed their profile when I haven't. Check out "Who I Have Viewed." Mine shows 170 men that I supposedly viewed. I keep a list of who I've viewed with a short note about each one so I don't spend time going back to a profile several times to remember why or why not I would be interested in them. In one week, I have viewed 37 profiles, NOT 170. It is obvious only a small percentage of men who show having viewed me actually have. Pretty obvious actually. It shows my profile has been viewed 171 times. Coincidence that the numbers are basically the same? I think not.
Our Time could have decided to be a quality site but have chosen to knowingly be unethical and misleading to make a profit. And they are very successful in achieving their goal. I'm still waiting for someone to start a true dating site for the over 50 crowd. But the little guy can't compete with the marketing dollars of Match.com/OurTime. Very unfortunate.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Dave LAguy
January 22, 2015

Good concise review here. I want to add there are risks with any kind of dating, even when people meet in venues that are not online. And I have read about scamming being used by dating sites to make them appear more active than they really are. "Seeding" fake profiles or creating fake activity are two examples. One way to insure you join a good site id to look at research about them. http://datesitesreview.com/dating_reviews/senior-dating-sites/ analyzes and reviews seniors personals sites, and rates them. It also has a blog with stories and advice. Look, there are scams all over, and dating websites have them as well, so it is good to be cautious from the start of a search, from choosing the site to making an honest and complete profile to screening any prospective mate. Good luck and have fun..

February 20, 2015

Our Time has a this promotion feature with "tokens" that some sites are using to get more money out of the pockets of us hopeful ones. I fell for it and paid to be "promoted" so that my profile was somehow viewed more than usual (proves there's manipulation of the computer program running it). I did have many views in the one hour I paid for but only one or two were local. Since I say in my profile that I'm not willing to re-locate and wish to meet men in my area, this was a waste. I'll not fall for it again.

Your Comment
1 Review

Renewal a Scam

Reviewed By Richard Dennis Helm on December 26, 2014, Coon Rapids, Minnesota

This is supposed to be user friendly and for Seniors.
The scam comes in that you must remember when your membership ends. In my case I entered that I do not want to continue after a paid period, They took the money out of my debit checking account without authorization. They send no reminders of membership end dates. No proof that I canceled prior to the end date. Recommend you try E Harmony or other dating sites.
I'll never, ever go back.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

you have my pic

Reviewed By Lisa Loyd on December 18, 2014, Rancho Santa Margarita, California

A fb friend pointed out that you have my pic flowing thru the newsfrred. Take it down....... NOW. FALSE ADVERTISEMENT BECAUSE I'VE NEVER HEARD OF THIS SITE, SO I CERTAINLY DON'T HAVE A PROFILE...

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

What a scam

Reviewed By Franz Schubert on December 18, 2014

I should have read all these reviews before I signed on with them six months ago. I didn't get any useful matches, so I did what I thought was cancelling the membership only to find a charge from them for a renewal on my credit card today.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
February 13, 2015

is there someone who met some girls on a dating website because i was on blackcrush and milfaholic and i figured out that it was some fake sites. since i am affraid to register on some dating website

Your Comment
1 Review

Ripoff

Reviewed By Betsy on September 22, 2014

I sure wish I had read all of these comments before I signed up for the low price three month trial. I just saw a charge on my credit card for a renewal and it was over $70.00. I have emailed them to take it off but I don't hold out hope for it after reading these comments.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
October 18, 2014

I filed a dispute with my credit card company for unauthorized charge on my account. I also had my credit card number change to prevent the company from trying to collect the 83.94 they charged me WITHOUT MY AUTHORIZATION.

Your Comment
1 Review

Profiles

Reviewed By Linda on July 29, 2014

I am very disappointed with Our.Time.Com. I have encountered fake profiles - the people are not real! I put in my preferences and get views, messages, search engine misinformation (does not comply with my setting), from people who do not meet the preference settings; ie no picture, wrong ethnic race, distance, age, and sex! The new members tab is a joke - same people every week. The site is a joke - I can't get in touch with a customer service rep to complain as I suppose they don't have one (it is fake too)! I would not recommend this site to anyone!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Ourttime ripoff

Reviewed By steve on July 11, 2014

Ripoff! Their customer service, auto renewal and refund policy sucks. Customer service won't get back to you. They do not have a refund policy. If they send you an email advertising reduced renewal rates ($39.95), don't click it. Beware, the reduced rate will only be tacked on to the already ($71.94) renewal rates and the auto renewal does not notify you of pending bank transactions. If you plan on cancelling, send yourself a calendar reminder to cancel before they can get to your bank account.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
4 Reviews

Former Employee

Reviewed By Kevin Veach on March 12, 2014

OK this is for all of your attention on this site. I used to work for People Media in Costa RIca and they are a huge RIP OFF. I cant call them a scam because if you sign up for an account you better read the Terms And Conditions immediatly and thoroughly. THEY WILL AUTOMATICALLY RENEW YOUR SUBSCRIPTION>>>>>The easiest way to get this turned off is call them and SAY you met someone. THey will not try to keep selling to you if you do. CALL...877-727-8920 and you will get through. They will answer PEOPLE MEDIA....Tell them your account and tell them you want any OPEN account to be closed. THEY WILL LEAVE anything you dont mention open. I suggest a class action suit against them and MATCH.COM if you want to accomplish anything as far as getting refunds back but remember...If you send a message at any PEople media site you will not be eligible for a refund. The Customer service is done PRIMARILY in COSTA RICA for a company named VIALINX!!!! THey are a shady company with shady business practices and handle only rippoff companies such as SCORESENSE, AND PEOPLE MEDIA AND MATCH.COM SITES....DONT get taken advantage of. STAY away from anything dealing with these companies in order to have a happier life.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
April 04, 2014

i filed a complaint about ourtime.com with Pam Bondi, the State attorney for Florida today. Hopefully something can be done about these awful people.

Your Comment
Guest

OurTime is a Scam

Reviewed By Kenneth Lacy on October 21, 2013, Lynchburg, Virginia

They are nothing but a Scam and will take your money and then remove parts of your profile so you can't even use it!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Cindy Jones
November 03, 2013

ourtime.com is a total waste of time and money. I have never been lied to so many times in my life. It is not just ourtime. They all are awful. I am a very pretty, (inside and out) woman with a heart of gold who is extremely honest about every aspect of my life and I am worn out from men who sit and lie to my face. Do not bother with this site. The best way to meet someone is through friends.

Your Comment
Guest

Con

Reviewed By anonymous female on September 6, 2013, New York

Today, I created a male profile to see what my competition would be on Ourtime. I was offline and Ourtime had me online. Avoid this website, permanently. Women, cancel as soon as possible. Do not waste your money.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 12 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

GEEZERS

Reviewed By lorri on September 5, 2013, Indpls.,IN

All the men on this site look 10 to 20 years older than the stated age.
Most of these GEEZERS want a 35 year old hard body. Come on, you couldn't get one when you were young let alone now. Constantly paired with people I said NO to over and over again. No real selection

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 11 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
lani
September 09, 2013

Same experience with me! Most men look as if they should be or are in a rest home. I tried to get a refund but they wouldn't let me. I even tried to trade and pay the extra for their other site match.com but they still wouldn't let me. This is the worst site I've ever come across!!!!!!!

Your Comment
Guest

Romance scam/emerald 360/Battaglia

Reviewed By MJ on August 26, 2013, Los Angeles, CA

Apparently ourtime does not do any checking on its members. I met a nice gentleman, saying he was in the military, and was on deployment to Afghanistan. I googled him, he had a facebook page, so I thought the names and pictures match. I Talked to him for about a week, online, until he hit me up for $16000. Then I spent about 4 hours researching him and found his pictures were of the csgtmaj of the enlisted fleet of Marines. Yeesh, did I feel stupid.
On top of that I signed up for initially one month. They dinged my CC for 6 months and do not return my requests for resolution. I can not find an actual phone # for them.
I suggest going anywhere else for a dating service.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 11 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
March 12, 2014

If you cant find the phone number you have to be very very computer inept. All you have to do is Google People Media the owners of the site and you will get the number 866-727-8920. That said I can reassure you that the company is a big rippoff because I worked for them in Costa Rica. They are very dispicable. I suggest starting a class action suit against them and Mathc.com at the same time. Read terms and conditions before you sign up for any site and make sure you understand....

Your Comment
Guest

Beware!

Reviewed By Andrew on August 22, 2013, Kansas City

I'm very driven to report my experience with OurTime. In a nutshell, stay away at all cost. Read on if you want to find out why.

I joined them last spring (2013). At first I thought they were okay. in fact, I did meet someone really special and suspended my account while exploring this new relationship. After a few months, we broke up and I reactivated my account. When I logged in, I was greeted with a "Welcome Back" banner. So far, so good.

Upon examining my profile I was aghast to discover numerous woman had been trying to contact me. I had emails coming in throughout the time my account was deactivated. As I've always done in the past, I went about responding to all the messages, no matter how old, explaining the situation. I try to treat people kindly and if someone takes the time to reach out to me, I always respond in kind.

Luckily, when I deactivated my account, I also set my account to not auto-renew. My account is only a few weeks from expiring and I'll be curious to see if they in fact honor that. If not, there will a complaint filed with my state's Attorney General.

Next, I went about perusing profiles of women in my area. I was startled to discover the profile of a dear friend who lives nearby. She'd been engaged and was I wondering if she and her beau had split. Nope, they're still together. I sent her a screen capture of the profile and she said that was her profile from a site called MatchMaker and that her account with them had been closed for 1 1/2 years. Her profile on OurTime said she'd been active in the past week.

I've also had dialog with other women on OurTime who've had terrible experiences with the site. Renewals are made even when they request they not be. I've found their interface to be onerous and unintuitive. For reasons I can't explain, women will get flirts from me when I didn't send one.

All of this has combined to totally turn me off of OurTime. I'd highly encourage everyone to avoid this site.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 15 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Scammers and Rude, Crude Men!

Reviewed By Dixie on August 11, 2013, OH

You have to pay, if you want to get and reply to messages. Then, it's auto-subscribe, and re-bill, unless you find the place on the web-site to cancel the auto-billing. They do little, if any, real "matching"; most is just geographical area, regardless of the parameters you set, such as "non-smoking." Many, many recent widowers or never-marrieds supposedly looking for marriage. Also, a high number of Legally Separated men, which to me, means they are married, and MAY be in the process of a divorce. If the men post photos, they half the time are wearing sunglasses, or the quality is so poor you can't tell what they look like. Or they post their baby or grade-school photos. You may get a "flirt", and if you respond with something like "I'm not seeking a long-distance relationship and good luck" you almost instantly get a message that declares their willingness to re-locate; if you answer again, you quickly get exactly the same message; I imagine they are computer-generated from a scammer. Many men ask immediately for your e-mail or phone number, and don't want to use the web system. They say they really live closer, but their son set up the profile and they can't change their location! I was even matched with my DEAD EX-HUSBAND. (He probably signed up for a whole year to save a few bucks.) I didn't even get a reply from Customer Service, so I just blocked him so I didn't have to keep seeing his photo show up as a possible match. One man who really, really wanted to meet me, but could only chat, or send e-mail on the site, and not use a telephone, turned out to be a total pervert, having his own page on an amateur porn website! (I paid for a background check, but found out a lot on my own, thanks to Google, and him using the same profile name on countless sites.) With some work, this site could be made more acceptable, but I consider it near the bottom of the barrel. Their TV ads are nice, but the quality of the men is absolutely disgusting. Many want a "Casual" relationship, and some are more explicit. My subscription runs out in a few days, and I will erase all the info I can and delete my photos, as well as following their instructions and writing to Customer Service. It's gotten to the point that when I'm out, I worry I might see, or recognize, or be recognized by, some creepy guy from their site. I had high hopes for this site, as it was geared towards seniors, but I am extremely disappointed in it.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 16 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

REALLY TERRIBLE SITE!!!!!

Reviewed By Kitri on July 10, 2013, San Diego, CA

I have been on a few dating sites, over several years, and Our TIme is BY FAR the WORST. As some people commented above, I would get messages asking for a response, and then after writing a polite and, I think, reasonably interesting response, would never hear anything back. I am an older, but, people say, intelligent, nice and
attractive woman, so why would these men not respond unless they
are frauds or not what they represent themselves to be.

I suspect that, in fact, this site employs people to make us think men
are interested in us and then when we respond never hear anything
again! I also would have a message from someone, and then 15
minutes later, when I would go back to it, it was gone. This happened a number of times!! I signed up for six months and hated the site after six days! There was no way to look someone up by the name they used on the site, and when I tried to take my complaints to the company I was unable to do so because I would not allow third party cookies into my browser! This is totally ridiculous, that there was never any way for me to make a comment or complaint. I went to my account page and checked the box for non-renewal, and although they have not tried to charge me, they have continued to use my profile to lure in other unsuspecting people, and there is no way to get my profile off the site as I cannot contact the company. Now that
I want to get my profile deleted I have received a whole flurry of flirts,
and messages, which, of course I can no longer read! I was able to
remove all pictures I had posted, but could not remove the written
introduction and answers to questions. In my opinion, this site is a
scam and a complete waste of money!!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 17 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
Sonya aguilar
July 20, 2013

It's the biggest scam and they want you to keep paying so you''ll get your messages. If not, they just keep giving you notices that someone is interested but don't divulge them if you don't pay extra fee. What kind of crap is that??? I've been trying to cancel but their system do not allow you to really cancel. If the renew my membership without my permission, I'll sue them!!!

SCAME ,AND BUNCH OF LOSSERS MEN!!
August 23, 2013

On advertisement on TV ,its ALL FREE!!!
It was my 1st time on Aug 06 2013 ,and i was asked to pay the best offer for 6 months which would be $93.64!
I agreed and paid !
In next 2-3 days i did not go to the site ,but after words i did and i was asked to pay some more money again!
I was so angry and shocked!
I had just registered and paid for 6 months and hadnt used the servises longer than 3 days!
I decided to delete my file and be no longer on this site !
This site is a scam! I am told that as soon as this site has your credit card no, they can withdraw money every 6 months !
I am hoping that would not be the case ,otherwise
I,ll be so pieced off !!!!!
They are the biggest SCAM ever.
I recommend this site to no one.

secret and honest
September 30, 2013

I agree the men they show on the site are loosers.

March 09, 2015

Most of the so called"men" on this site are disgusting pervs. I have only been on it for a short while but it didn't take long to figure it out. This site is a joke and not a funny one!!

Your Comment
Guest

Gang memebrs site (Hoodies on! Sunglasses on! Hide your face!) and no refund policy

Reviewed By Ana on June 23, 2013, Las Vegas, NV

Completely AGREE!
I sign in because cant see the mailbox until pay - and I glad I pay for one month only because on site mostly guys who looks like gang members - with dark hoodies with hood on, "golden" chains, tattoos, sunglasses on... Looks very dangerous! Also there some gigolo who looking for rich senior lady who need young companion... Yuck!
And one mn keep sending messages every hour and they all the same - computer generated!
No refund - so even if you just join, they will NOT return the money....
"Matches" not really match anything, they have empty profiles so how they match?! Searchonly age and area, no criteria like druncard\not, drugs\no, gambling\no, educatedno, etc.....worst site ever!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 15 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

SCAM

Reviewed By wot on June 5, 2013, fl

SCAM, The are same as "Chemistry.com" really located in Costa Rica not Texas they over charge first time with no final check total page before clicking, they don't reply to emails about refunds and when you finally get a phone operator standard response is you already used the site no refunds. They also do un-authorized auto renewal. 400 un-resolved claims with BBB, Better to tell them you are contacting Texas ATTORNEY GENERAL.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 15 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Forget it

Reviewed By Juliana Ormsby on June 2, 2013, Miami Beach, FL

Juliana OrmsbyJune 02, 2013
I just signed up for a one month subscription, but I have received no email about my being a member. When I tried to access my account, I was told it did not exist. I'm having bad feelings about this site and regret I decided to join it. Now I'm afraid they will misuse my credit card information.

Is anything honest these days? Remember "Enzyte" with the ads for "Smiling Bob" who had taken this "penis enlargement" pill? Enzyte was a scam, but by the time people starting reporting and suing them, they had made enough money to just pay off the suits and disappear.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 12 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment

Leave a Review