Weiss Ratings Reviews

Weiss Ratings
( 106 reviews )

Weiss Ratings (formerly Weiss Research) is a financial ratings service and newsletter publisher that provides research and analysis to their customers on a wide variety of asset types in various markets.

Weiss Research was founded in 1971 by consumer advocate and financial author Dr. Martin Weiss, and currently claims over 500,000 active readers, making it one of the most widely read investment newsletters available.

What Weiss Ratings Offers

Weiss Ratings has a number of different divisions, each providing a different type of service to independent investors.

The company offers a wide range of services, including free and paid newsletters, ratings for different types of markets and assets, and a financial data service.

Popular services include Weiss Crypto Investor, Wealth Megatrends, Safe Money Report, & Weekend Windfalls.  Weiss Ratings provides several free resources, including Weiss Ratings Daily and Weiss Crypto Daily.  

Both services provide daily updates on their respective markets.  The remaining three divisions offer a variety of other features.

For example, there is the Weiss Investor podcast, a weekly podcast where market strategist Kenny Polcari interviews members of the Weiss team and other financial experts.

Weiss Ratings also offers ratings of banks, credit unions, health insurers, life & annuity companies, as well as crypto coins & tokens.

Cost and Price Plans

One of the common criticisms of Weiss Ratings has been the lack of transparency for the true costs of their services. 

In some cases, mostly for their newsletters, they clearly state the price of subscribing.  For instance the Weiss Crypto Investor Premium subscription costs $59 per year, or $39 yearly for the standard version.

However, if you visit their website and are interested in their premium investment services no prices are stated, you can only subscribe by calling a representative.

Further, it’s important to note that all of their subscription services are set to renew automatically every year.  

If you're no longer interested in the subscription, you must let a representative know prior to your next billing cycle in order to avoid being charged.

Customer Service

If you wish to contact support you can do so at 1-877-934-7778 or +1-561-627-3300 from overseas, Mon-Fri, 8:30-5:30 Eastern time.  You can also submit a message through their website.

The company's physical address is listed as:

Weiss Ratings, LLC
4400 Northcorp Pkwy
Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33410-9998

Weiss Ratings offers a refund policy on their programs, in some cases offering up to a 1 year money back guarantee.

Their terms also state that you can cancel automatic renewal through the self service portal under the "My Account" section of their website.

Customer Reviews & Complaints

Having been in business for over 25 years Weiss Ratings has a lot of online feedback.  Unfortunately much of that feedback has been negative.

The company has a profile with the BBB where it maintains an A+ rating, however it is not accredited by the BBB.  At the time of this review they have 84 total complaints in the last 3 years with 35 complaints closed in the last 12 months.

Some of the complaints on that site include issues with poor customer service, mainly having to make multiple attempts at obtaining refunds.

Other users complained that they weren't made fully aware of the total amount of investment funds needed to pursue investment strategies advocated by an already expensive subscription service.

For the resolved complaints it does appear that Weiss issued refunds and canceled services that were no longer wanted.

On this page and other independent review sites Weiss also has low scores and many customer allegations of misrepresented services or grossly overhyped profit claims.

Most recently, a lot of negative feedback has come from Weiss’s foray into the Cryptocurrency markets.  In many online forums Crypto investors have written off their ratings service, believing that it does not accurately valuate Crypto assets.

It’s also important to state that investing in Cryptocurrency comes with high risk and is largely a speculative market in the short term.  

This is why you should always do your due diligence on any recommendation and be wary of advisors promising huge returns in this sector.

Competitors and Alternatives

Similar financial services are provided by The Oxford Club, another company offering tiered newsletter subscriptions culminating with high priced premium investment services.

Both companies share similar advertising styles focused on either promises of quick profits or cautioning of extreme market conditions.

In general, we recommend avoiding services with these types of red flags and focusing on research and education prior to investing.

As an alternative you can read time-tested books on value investing that teach you how to set up your investments for long term gains as opposed to chasing short term profits.

The Bottom Line

Generally speaking, financial newsletter publishing companies can lead to risky behaviors.

They tend to offer personal opinions as guidance for investors, and they have no legal responsibility to you if you follow their advice and things turn out badly.

It’s troubling that often these companies let people with questionable financial experience or training contribute to their newsletters. In the worst case scenario, many of these types of companies are paid to bring investors to certain companies.

Weiss Ratings does claim to not accept payment from any company for their ratings or reviews.  Still, Weiss has used “Financial Doomsday” videos to market themselves to new customers, which is a questionable tactic.

The bottom line when dealing with any financial newsletter publishing company is to do your own research regarding where and how to invest your money.  Never act wholly on the advice of an internet newsletter.

If you have any experience with Weiss Ratings or Weiss Ratings Crypto, please leave your reviews below.

See Also: Should You Be Investing In Cryptocurrency Right Now?

You may also be interested in

Weiss Ratings Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Endless Doomsday Emails
August 5, 2022

I get tired of all the apocalyptic doomsday emails I get from Weiss. I’ve never seen one of their predictions actually come true.

Weiss Ratings— I’ve referred to that occasionally but it is mostly a looking-back evaluation of a company based on numbers provided in quarterly reports. There’s no true in-depth analysis of a company. I subscribed to their Safe Money report once about 4 years ago and lost several thousand dollars—it wasn’t safe money.

Bottom line, I think Weiss is a guy who performed well once years ago and now he and his company just try to coerce money from people using scare tactics.

Unreliable And Crap! Stay Away.
May 23, 2022

Extremely disappointed with these so called ratings. They sold it as an iron clad service with guarantees but I got nothing even resembling it and when I tried to cancel they would not refund me the money and only provided me credit of $1,500. I could not use the credit for anything else so when I asked to be put back on the original service they charged me additional $320 for a new service and not pro rated the service I already had. Total scam and extremely inflexible with so so services and low value. I would not use them ever again and will not renew when the service expires. Terrible. Stay away!

Better Business Bureau to the rescue
April 10, 2022

I have found the best way to deal with nonresponsive online "scammers" is to contact the local BBB in their area, and file a complaint.

It may take extra effort on your part, but if you have sufficient evidence to prove your case, the BBB will take your side against the offender and you will have a much better chance of getting a refund, assuming the offending company wants to stay in business.

Also, the local BBB is a good source for checking the reputation of a company you have not previously dealt with, BEFORE sending any appreciable amount of money.

Visitor247 April 26, 2022

My question is if one of the occupants of this company claims that he is retired financially already, the why he is working for that weiss company and sells that so called good investment staff, common, it is too good to be true, there are no such things like free lunches.

Never Answer Emails...Ever!
April 4, 2022

My wife joined in February this year and invested nearly $3,000 dollars for their Crypto services. During Feb she could login to her account but never received the paid for Alerts.

Inspite of sending email to support for help, zero replies. She asked me to assist as both her husband and thirty plus years in IT maybe we could sort out the problems.

I wrote several times but nil replies. In the end I rang the USA from our place in Spain and spoke to a very helpful but junior lady called Cheyenne.

She allowed me to login on my own account ( using my wife's payment ) but then we ended with my ability to login and my wife not allowed to login. After a weeks delay by this time it was late March my wife got the Alerts via her email but could not login. I could login and did not get alerts on email!!!.

Thus to work my wife has to pass on the alerts to my PC and then use my PC to login. I had checked and re checked her Apple PC and it was no different to setting in my own Apple PC. this I felt I could positively verify that the fault lay with the computer bods at Weiss.

I logged onto my account on Weiss ( really my wife's ) using my wife's PC and had zero problems. Definitely not her PC....or its settings.

So as of now nearly 500 dollars of her money gone to get to a situation where it takes the two of us to get a full service. Full marks to Cheyenne for trying to help but zero marks to the IT bods at Weiss. Do they exist.? Correction ...lots of zeros to the computer bods for doing zilch and NEVER replying to our emails.

Good Service
March 4, 2022

I have been a customer of Weiss Ratings for 23 years and have always been very happy with them.

Weiss Ratings Refuse to Grant Refund
December 12, 2021

I subscribed to Martin Weiss Weekend Windfalls which was USD1850. After learning what was involved.

I contacted Martin Weiss telling him that I wish to cancel my order and requested a refund. I told him it is too advanced for me plus it needs large sums of money in order for me to invest and I do not have that sort of capital. I informed him that I know nothing about Option Contracts.

In his sales video, it stated how much money one can make but he gave no indication of the complexities, he made it sound like anyone can make money trading contracts.

They refused to refund my money and offered me possible substitute services.

After sending in several further requests they just ignored me. My subscription expired in May 2022 but so far they still refuse to refund my payment.

Sketchy Operation
November 20, 2021
Any company that is not up front with their pricing and requires you to call in to subscribe is likely a scam. I don't doubt that some of their information like the ratings is legit but it's not worth the cost. I saw the red flags and I hope you do too.

Be realistic in your expectations
September 4, 2021

I subscribe to Weiss ratings and can only say it is a good experience, delivering everything they promise.

Plenty of correspondence, recommendations and updates..

I am very happy and making plenty of money based solely on their recommendations..

Very helpful and customer service as good as any..

Geoff

Weiss Crypto Investor" Newsletter --> CORRECTING
February 25, 2021

On Jan.25, 2021 I subscribed to the "Weiss Crypto Investor" Newsletter for $39/year. In the process I was caught in several upsells, and I eventually took a $78 subscription for 2 years.

Upon my very first week of subscription, I immediately realized this wasn't for my standing and condition of small trader, and under their 364 day money back guarantee I asked for a refund. I collected half a dozen email addresses, but all are labelled "A Permanent Error", and I keep hoping and waiting for an answer...

... Well, today March 1st, I'm glad to let you know that upon my 4th email attempt, I eventually succeeded in getting my money back. Therefore I revise my review/comment.

chris February 26, 2021

Yesterday I was complaining on the fact that the half dozen Weiss Ratings email addresses I had available were all "Not to be replied to" addresses.

Well, earlier today I received an email from Weiss Ratings with a new address. I immediately tried to ask for a refund using that new email address, and this time not only my email was not rejected (why? don't ask me, I don't understand that mystery) but guess what? I even received this afternoon a promise of refund.

Now, be patient as I plan to get back in here next week to inform you whether or not I got my refund.

James October 30, 2021

To all;

Most reputable banks these days have a transaction dispute form which you complete (not difficult) and send on the bank online banking site.

Just send a copy of your cancellation email to your credit card / bank charge dispute contact (on their transactions dispute form) snd they will reverse the charge on your card ... done!

Jeffrey January 14, 2022

Nothing boils my blood more than the up-sells once you give your credit card information. One should not have to "pull teeth" to get a refund. Glad Chris mentioned "this wasn't for my standing and condition of small trader" because my intentions were to invest $20 to 30 per month.

It was Peter who really sent an ominous chill up my spine when I read "I subscribed to Martin Weiss Weekend Windfalls which was USD1850. " $1,850 and he never got a penny back after requesting refund. Nearly a two thousand dollar robbery!

Greatest scam online
September 23, 2020

Weiss Research is the greatest scam online. They consist of a group of

so called experts who will grab your money and run.

How they all stay out of jail is a mystery to me.

LockHimup June 07, 2021

Thanks for this information. Weiss Reminds me of Doug Casey and his many hyperbolic newsletters.

My $2500
August 31, 2020
I want to get my $2500 back. I was told there in the small print first user no money back.

Brice February 02, 2022

I just paid for their $59 reports, but I noticed when downloading the reports they were from an unprotected site. Which means all my information, passwords and card information could be hacked. What kind of finance advisory does not use a protected site. Very dangerous

I subscribed to Weiss Ratings initially
July 10, 2020

Several of the A ratings have done abysmally but I took that in stride. However, I now cross reference them with any other ratings I can get my hand on before proceeding with a stock.

Do NOT get sucked into their Weekend Windfalls or other high priced trading subscriptions. The videos show easy "quick click" method of trading and promise "step-by-step" instructions (which never came) and neglect to tell you the extremely high cost to make that $1000 per week. You need 100's of thousands to do the trades on sufficient contracts to make that kind of income and it's still very high risk.

The first trade that came out wasn't just the sell put option advertised. It included a second Buy leg and for a beginning trader was way over the simple, clear and clean trade promoted in Weekend Windfalls.

Same old adage: If it's too good to be true, it probably is!' Don't buy! And good luck getting your money back!

Weiss spins a good yarn
June 23, 2020

Weiss spins a good yarn so I took the $59.00 deal. I had some problems with setting up a password. The next day I try to access the ratings info and it states I have the wrong password. It is a poor system if you have to set a new password each time.

Really frustrating. Makes me think it is a SCAM.

James October 30, 2021

To all;

Most reputable banks these days have a transaction dispute form which you complete (not difficult) and send on the bank online banking site.

Just remember to send a copy of your cancellation email (you use upload file button and attach a pdf of your ‘cancel’ email); send to your credit card / bank charge dispute contact (on the bank’s transactions dispute form) and they will reverse the charge on your card ... done!

Familiar with Weiss
June 9, 2020

Having been in the investment business for 40 years, I am quite familiar with Weiss. I never trusted him then and more so now. Customer service is practically non-existent, and Martin sits there in his palatial Palm Beach home, paid for by subscribers to his garbage.

I am suspect that he has a large position on gold, thus reason for scare tactics---to get us to shore up the price for him.

It took me about one minute
June 5, 2020

It took me about one minute of listening to "The Next Phase of 2020 Collapse" to start wondering if it was a scam.

The first hint was that it's one of those never-ending videos. When I tried to backtrack this video to hear something again, I found no way to do this. There was no way to move it forward.

The next thing some scammers do is start making threats. Just listening to his tone made me feel like he's evil. He's strangely calm and says, "I don't want to scare you...."

Even if we're headed for another drop in the markets like what we just saw happen, I would recommend finding more than one source of guidance.

An above post states, "people were paying 5-7K for his advice..." and there are also posters who said they were not able to log in.

It might be less expensive to keep an eye on the news reports to figure out what might happen to your stocks. There are free sources of information you can tap into and I would recommend trying them all and then decide which one you like and trust.

Ken June 18, 2020

Thank you Sue. I nearly got sucked in. Something told me to do some research on him and his firm. I'm glad I did.

Ramona August 13, 2020

Thank you sue. I nearly got sucked in, too. Which are the free sources you are referring to? I'd like to know more.

I do not find him credible
May 26, 2020

This guy was recommending shorting Amazon back in the early 2000's. No barrier to entry, and up starts would crush Amazon. Good call ..... People were paying 5-7K for his advice. You may find him credible,

I do not.

Impossible to talk to customer service
May 25, 2020
I have only been involved with Weiss Rating for a short time but it is virtually impossible to talk to customer service. My calls were not answered & I was forced to listen to "elevator" music for 10 minutes. Customer service is very important to me so I will be canceling my subscription (hopefully) by email.

As phony as a $4 dollar bill
May 19, 2020
As phony as a $4 dollar bill...their so called investment analysts are people who failed in other endeavors..one for instance ran a real estate agency into the ground when that business was booming..got a 1 yr subscription as a gift...very surprised they are still around

Missy May 20, 2020

Thanks for the 411!

Subscribed to their Weekend Windfalls
March 2, 2020

I subscribed to their Weekend Windfalls, but when I try to sign into their website, I'm taken to a page that says, "You must be a subscriber."

I contacted customer support and was told that they had no issues accessing the site, which didn't do me any good at all. I am also supposed to get email alerts from them, but about half of those emails didn't arrive.

Customer support told me that I not only got the emails, but opened them, which I did not. Instead of trying to help me solve an issue to a service that I am paying for, they did everything they could to push me aside so they could get on to more pressing issues than taking care of their customers. In fact, it felt like they were taking pleasure in making this entire thing difficult.

Bottom line is that their customer support is abysmal. You are a problem they would like to just go away.

I also got scammed
January 30, 2020

I also got scammed by believing Weiss. I am another who bought & paid for "lifetime" subscriptions to newsletters from four of their writers. I paid the large upfront fee because I wanted to follow those particular analyst/writers.

But after a few years they transferred my subscriptions to newsletters from Banyan Hill. I had no choice in this, and find very little value in the simplistic Banyan Hill subscriptions. It's not like Weiss sold out or lost their analysts... who still write the same basic newsletters at Weiss.

Initially upon cancelling my subscriptions Weiss told me I would be given lifetime access to Weiss Ratings site. This lasted a while, but every several times I tried to log on I would have to call customer service to get it turned back on. Now they refuse unless I pay for a subscription.

This is less about the value of any subscriptions and more about basic honesty. Dr. Weiss and his people are clearly not interested in keeping their word or promises. Proven scammers.