Mint Mobile Reviews

Mint Mobile
( 71 reviews )

Mint Mobile Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Horrible experience - stay away.
June 21, 2022
I returned a defective phone two months ago. I am still waiting on a refund of $274.09. I am retired on a fixed income. I call them 2x/week only to receive empty promises.

PAULWARREN June 25, 2022

I was thinking of getting mint but after seeing all the neg's about it Noooo way.

Customer Service Nonexistent
May 3, 2022

I have been a mint Mobile customer for almost 2 years. The cost is very reasonable; the cell coverage is decent, the caveat is the customer service and website.

To make it very clear, there are no storefronts and all customer service is handed by overseas call centers (speaking from a North American perspective and location) English is a second language and problem resolution scripts are the go-to.

The customer service phone operators are nice enough, the solutions start to become few and far between as the issue becomes harder. The 2nd issue I had was forgetting my password to the account. After 15 minutes of account confirmation they agreed to reset the account through the mail, snail mail…SNAIL MAIL.

The advice I have for Mr. Reynolds, rework your customer service, rework the problem resolution center, heck get a service center that responds to called in problem solving in their native language. Or perhaps this was never meant to be sustainable business, just a quick way to make money?

SCAM!
April 27, 2022

SCAM ALERT!

I paid $56.11 for the 3 month membership and 3 months free. I could never activate the account even with the help of their online chat (4 or 5 times) and several phone calls with their tech support (3 calls).

Mint indicates you can keep your number from your present carrier, not true. After 4 months of trying to activate my account, tech support told me to request a refund. Mint denied the refund their own tech support told me to request. I hope the $56 they scammed from me is going to be worth the negative advertising I will give them on this, and many other, websites.

Very show network data
April 21, 2022
Recently switched to mint hoping for better service but my data is often very slow (0.61 Mbs) when I am not on wifi, even though I have plenty of data left in my plan. There is no excuse for this.

they are lying
April 17, 2022
The worst company in the world. I still have 4 months to refund my money nobody listen every day told me 7 days and now it's 4 months nonrefundable. The police are not true at all.

Horrible!
April 15, 2022

Horrible. Run.

After 2 Sim cards, multiple reconfigurations, resetting of the network over an over. I'm 20 days in and have had to troubleshoot every other day. I've finally just had it and they won't refund because it's 7 days after activation.

Nevermind that you have to activate to start the service just to troubleshoot. Nevermind that I can't get calls. The network is "down" and has been down since my service began.

Apparently activation of the account doesn't mean activation of a working service. How can you sell me a service when you know the network is down and you know based on that, that the service wont work and then not refund me? And the network being down wasn't even mentioned until the whole 2nd Sim card, reset network. Troubleshooting attempts. HORRIBLE

My phone doesn't ring nor does it show that there were any recent calls yet I have a voicemail icon. I call the voicemail (when I can find somewhere I have network) only to find that people are calling me, getting a 10 second delay and then the call goes directly to voicemail. In other words, no network.

Also, I have to clock in to my job using an app. That app requires a text authorization - NEVER RECEIVE THE TEXT!! Now effecting my job.

Best in the US
April 12, 2022

If you rely predominately on Wifi rather than using data, then Mint is the way to go. Especially at $15 bucks a month. Can't beat it. My only complaint is using roaming for international calls outside the US.

You need to keep restarting the phone hoping it connects and when it does connect, it's only for a short time. Just buy a Sim card for the country you're traveling to. My issues were travel to Mexico. You absolutely need service especially with the required covid documents needed for entry into the US. Frustrating when you cannot connect in the airport to show proof at check ins.

Poor incoming service and worse customer service
March 18, 2022

Just left Mint Mobile for their failure to provide service. 2 days ago I sopped receiving incoming calls, but could call out. Didn't realize problem for almost 24 hours.

Called Mint tech support twice on March 16 and was assured it would be fixed. They never got back to me, ever. No explanation or credit. Since I need a phone service I went and ported over my phone to another carrier.

I called Mint this AM to get credit for the balance of my plan and they would NOT credit me. Unbelievable. Mint was not able to provide incoming service and their tech failed twice to fix problem, then Mint says that because I ported the phone before asking for credit that they would not credit me.

How was I supposed to deal with this since I did not have a phone service that worked? Bad on you Mint. Will NEVER try you again and suggest no one else does either. Poor customer relations!! Peter Thor

Don't waste time with Mint Cellular-poor activation service
March 18, 2022

Nothing less than 1 offered. I wasted over 6 hours attempting to get phone activated with their sim kit.

After two hours of using web site, I was told that activation system was down and should be available in two hours. Three hours later, again, wasted another hour with an online tech who could not activate either. Just told to go to another site for refund that they may or may not approve.

Highly recommend that you do not use Mint Cellular. This occured on 3/09/2022

Scammed!
March 7, 2022
Worst cellular service provided ever. Worked with 3 different customer service reps to get connected to no avail. Never got service. 3rd rep guaranteed a refund. Never received a refund.

Mint Mobile Is A Source Of Unsolicited SPAM
February 4, 2022

One of the ways Mint Mobile advertises itself is by sending out unsolicited SPAM email. Worse yet, the "unsubscribe" function on these unsolicited SPAM emails does not work, so once you start receiving this SPAM from Mint Mobile, you will continue to receive it forever.

Most email programs will allow you to route their SPAM to your junk mail folder, and that is usually the only relief you will be able to get. Don't expect to get any cooperation from Mint Mobile in stopping their SPAM.

Mint Scam from T-Mobile
January 7, 2022

Same ongoing SCAM from T-MOBILE. After reading this and many other low rated reviews here and from other websites I cannot believe that the same problems as bad coverage, lost calls, delayed or lost texts, data slowdown, horrible misleading customer support.... and on and on, keep going for years.

Really looks like T-MOBILE has come out with MINT in order to continue fooling people by taking the money and run, with a service if any that leaves much to be desired. Another "wolf with a different fur" to continue this outrageous scam through MINT mobile, as T-MOBILE has made too many face wash after being sued and had to face thousands of class action lawsuits for fraud and extortion thru misleading contracts.

No Connection After 3 Days
December 8, 2021
Waiting over three days to get connected. Of course, the number has been transferred to Mint, but with no connection... Customer Service says there working on it, which is all well and good. There should not have been any issue with the implementation. There should be no programming unless it is done remotely by Mint. GYST.

I was VERY disappointed!
November 21, 2021
I recently tried to go with Mint Mobile. I purchased two unlimited plans, one for me and one for my wife. The money was taken from my bank account within 15 minutes. Ok. No problem. Then I was left waiting for my ESIM. I called a customer rep and was assured the ESIM was being emailed. NOPE! The next morning still no ESIM. I again called a customer rep and I was told it was still being processed. OK, I asked for a refund and was told it would be 24-48 hours before I would see it in my bank. A waste of my time and energy. It wont happen again.

Aggravating experience
October 12, 2021

One of the most aggravating experiences in recent memory. I was lied to (Incorrectly told that my phone was compatible). The customer service reps had me try serval things over a four to five day period. And then after the 7-day grace period had lapsed, they admitted that my phone was not "totally compatible" with their system.

However, they refused to return any of my three month subscription. - So glad I did not try the 1-year subscription

No complaints
October 22, 2020
So I was using about 1 GB of data a month with verizon, which cost about $60/mo. I switched to Mint ($15/mo), and my only issue was that I was receiving no texts for about the 1st 24 hours. Hopefully I didn't miss anything important, but whatever. I'm literally saving about $500 a year, so it's worth it to me. I haven't had any issues with coverage in PA.

Its becoming worse and worse
April 24, 2020

Its going down hill fast! I have been using them for the last 2 years but now my Galaxy S7 was deemed incompatible recently due to their "changes". I don't get texts all of the time (same for my wife who uses a Galaxy S5) and my calls will go to voice mail without even ringing the phone.

This has become a disaster.

I have to get another carrier.

You may have a new "compatible" phone but they make changes and don't care if it outdaes your phone.

TOTAL SCAM
April 19, 2020

Have tried 3 separate SIM cards, all 3 were declared “damaged”, by Apple Store hardware tech in Polaris Ohio,

Further example of this company’s intentional fraud is the fact I was charged an additional 3 months charge to my credit card.

I contacted consumer protection agency for OHIO, who verified more complaints are received on MINT than any other carrier.

The SIM card did not work, and then I did not get a refund
April 3, 2020

I bought a SIM card plus a 3 months/3GB package on Feb 7, 2020. I received the card on Feb 10th and activated the card. However, unable to make calls, I reached costumer service. After determining that I have no coverage for T-Mobile (their carrier) where I live (their website said I would have no issues with that), we decided it was better for me to get a refund. I went into their website, filled in the return data (which says NO QUESTIONS ASKED) and thought that was the end of it.

By April 3rd, I have yet to receive the refund. I have spoken to at least 7 Mint representatives, all of which have been very friendly and understanding, but at the end of the day, the refund has not been deposited in my account. I even received a mail from them, telling me that because I was asking for a refund 45 days after I placed my order, I could not request it. Somebody did not understand that they are the ones that are 45 days late, not me.

In short, I don't know how good their service is, since I never got the SIM card to work. But as far as their refund policy, it does not work. So just know that if you decide to get your money back because you are dissatisfied with the service, you will very likely not get it. Or it will take forever.

Big savings for same performance
March 12, 2020

I have used Mint for about 18 months and it has worked great for me. It works on the TMobile Network so if TMobile works in your area Mint should also. Unlike other reviews I have found their customer service quick to respond and very helpful.

I went from paying $50/month with Sprint, to $15/month with Mint and had no negative impact to my service (I am in San Francisco, CA). Over 18 months I spent $270 vs the $900 I would have paid, saving $630!

As a tip - they often offer special deals for New Customers at various times of the year. When I signed up I got 3 months for $15. I also recommend an initial 3 month pre-pay to test out the service for yourself - if it doesn't work you have no additional commitment and can change elsewhere.

Bottom line - Love it and have saved tons. I particularly recommend to folks with single user plans!

AlanColer April 24, 2020

This is a BS advertisement. It's so obvious.

Brandy August 09, 2022

Alan Coler you are absolutely correct!