Jim Rickards Reviews

Jim Rickards
( 34 reviews )
Website: Paradigm.Press

Jim Rickards (James G. Rickards) is a popular investor who’s worked at the highest levels of finance and produces a variety of financial content via books, newsletters, and published articles.

Rickards' pieces have been featured in many popular online and print outlets.

Below we take a closer look at his members only investment newsletters and analyze what customers have to say about his financial advice.

Books and Newsletters

Jim Rickards has an impressive education background and has had many high level roles in finance firms.  He states that his beliefs are strongly forged by his real world experiences.  

He also uses his role as an “insider” heavily in the marketing of his books and newsletters.

To begin with, you can read a lot about his various strategies in one of the many books he’s published.  Currently this list includes the following titles:

  • The New Case for Gold (April 2016)
  • Currency Wars (2011)
  • The Death of Money (2014)
  • The Road to Ruin (2016)
  • Aftermath (2019)
  • The New Great Depression (2021)

As you can tell by the titles, he brings an alarmist approach to analyzing global fiscal and monetary policy and the effects he believes they will have on economies.

His reactionary style urges investors to plan ahead and provide safeguards for their assets and plan for inevitable market downturns and inflation.

One of his other recurring themes is how vulnerable the US dollar and US markets are to foreign exploitation and how to protect yourself.

These perceived threats influence his investment advice, which generally suggests to diversify and keep tangible assets such as gold and other precious metals.

Jim Rickards’ Newsletters

Through Paradigm Press LLC Rickards publishes several investor newsletters.  The most popular, and most affordable, of which is titled Strategic Intelligence.

It’s often through the marketing for this newsletter that many people first come across Rickards.  

The ads for Strategic Intelligence usually feature a doomsday scenario that Rickards predicts will happen in the near future.

Rickards claims that if you subscribe to Strategic Intelligence you’ll learn how to safeguard your assets and profit from the impending instability.

His most recent presentation titled “Beware, Biden Bucks” proclaims that the US Government is planning on converting to a digital dollar that's similar to cryptocurrency except that this one would be entirely controlled by the US government.

He fears that this will lead to a surveillance state in which all your transactions will be monitored and potentially even used against you.

If you subscribe to Strategic Intelligence you will get access to his guides for protecting yourself from having your wealth seized in a report titled, Asset Emancipation.

You get this report and 3 more as bonuses for joining Rickards' paid newsletter.

Cost and Price Plans

The cost for the base level of Strategic Intelligence on the Paradigm Press website is $299 per year.  However if you’re ordering through the Biden Bucks video there are several promotions that can bring the cost down to as low as $49.

His other premium newsletters cost significantly more at $3,000 - $5,000.

*Note:  All orders are set to automatically renew at the end of the year so if you no longer wish to receive it you will have to call and cancel your subscription.

Customer Service

Phone: (844) 731-0984

Email: [email protected]

Physical Address:

808 St. Paul St.
Baltimore, MD, 21202

Paradigm.Press states that customers have 180 days to review his materials, and if during that time they're not satisfied they can request a refund.

Jim Rickards Reviews & Complaints

We found customer reviews for Jim Rickards’ books to be fairly good.  On Amazon most of his books have a rating of around a 4.5/5 stars.

Readers generally tend to appreciate getting an inside view into how some of the big financial decisions get made.

The feedback for Strategic Intelligence consists of more mixed reviews, with more complaints being posted on trading focused review websites.

In general, customers feel that Rickards relies too much on scare tactics to sell his products.  These reviewers feel that these warnings are becoming increasingly inflammatory and seem hyperbolic.

There are also customer reviews that you can read on our site from those who state they have not made any money following his advice and that many of his predictions never came true.

Finally, customers also take issue with how much solicitation they get for other newsletters once they sign up for the basic version of Strategic Intelligence.

On the other hand, there are customers who enjoy his newsletters and, even though they admit to not being fans of the doom and gloom, they believe he makes compelling arguments for the claims he espouses.

Competitors and Alternatives

There are several investment advisory companies that follow a very similar marketing strategy to Paradigm Press.

They feature a handful of expert market analysts who market their subscription newsletters through online ads that often claim that some manner of financial collapse is imminent, and that you need their newsletter to prepare yourself and/or take advantage of this event.

Such companies include:

These publishers usually have mostly negative customer reviews that you can read here and on other sites, and are generally not recommended by serious investors.

Is Jim Rickards a Scam?

It’s difficult to judge investment advisors because it depends on the time frame you use to look at their work.  

Individual stock pickers rarely beat the market consistently over a prolonged period of time, and it is difficult to predict who those stock pickers will be in the future.

That being said, you can still find value in Jim Rickards advice, books, and world views.  For instance, hedging against the collapse of the US dollar may prove to be good advice in the long run.

However, we find that Rickards' use of strong and emotional messaging in sales pitches for his products is usually a red flag.

We also find the sales tactic of enticing new customers with a low cost newsletter followed by aggressive attempts to upsell them to much more pricey offerings to be questionable.

If you have any experience with Jim Rickards' books or newsletters, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

Jim Rickards Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

This is just a scam.
November 27, 2022

This is just a scam. The bombard your email with scare tactic nonsense. The actual trading information they provide is worthless. they just want your subscription money. The information is garbage. Lies and misleading. take your subscription money invest it in anything you will make more.

Barrage onslaught of emails
October 18, 2022
If you want to clog your email up and get loads of third parties sending you even more, just sign up for anything Jim Rickards. You can be sure to get at least 3 lengthy every day, sometimes even 4 or 5. That's just from his affiliates. On top of that you'll get loads from third parties everyday.

LisaDean. November 07, 2022

This is true.

Take this free advice instead!
October 10, 2022

I just wasted far too much of my time on fear mongering and hyperbole. Once this guy exceeded his promised 84 second wait to tell the viewers everything they needed to know, it was clear there was a money pitch coming and I never heard the promised everything I needed to know part.

I never could understand how it is people like this seem to think the more they talk, the more they will convince people to trust them.

I have learned to trust no one. Pause these video presentations and open up another tab before you open your wallet. Google the reviews and you will discover nearly every presentation like this has poor reviews. When in doubt, always remember that the best way to save your money is to keep your money.

If you want to know the best place to invest in your future.. Pay off your home.. invest in dehydrated and freeze dried food storage (Do not buy based on price. Buy based on calories per day).. fuel (propane never goes bad).. water purification (gravity filters are best as they require no power. Think Berkey. Aquasana is better as long as water is flowing).. household goods like soaps, paper goods like toilet paper, wet wipes and paper towels.. warm clothing and all the necessities of life.

Strive to have enough cash for two years ultimately. Just take it one step.. one bite at a time. It is better to have it and not need it than need it and not have it.

Do not view this as preparation for anything other than personal insurance. If you are involved in an accident or diagnosed with a medical problem or disease that renders you unable to work.. it will be nice to know you do not have the added burden of wondering how you will pay your bills, buy groceries and the day to day things you need to survive it.

Believe me.. it is far better to put off that new car or kitchen remodel to have the peace of mind in knowing you have prepared yourself by being your own insurance company.

Now that advice didn't cost you a dime. Pass that on to those you love and care about.

NeilGuerrero October 28, 2022

I totally agree with this commentary. It seems Mr. Rickards spends more time fear mongering than is necessary to sell his books and newsletters. I am a lifetime subscriber to Strategic Intelligence and found most of his information to be useful but also comes with sales pitches for more newsletters and books. I don't blame him, afterall one has to make a living somehow. But after a few years of reading his commentaries I find myself more isolated and confused than inclusive and clear direction on what to do. I agree with his precious metals strategy but all the rest is just rather useless scare mongering. I concede he's well educated and more informed than I am. But he would serve us(readers and subscribers), with some clear and free strategies without a pitch for yet another newsletter or book. He can afford it for sure and would give more credence to believing in his rhetoric. In conclusion I really never have made any money following his financial advice which it seems centered to more well heeled customers. I'm just a middle class reader hoping for some crumbs from Mr. Rickards table. Do love you Jim but throw a bone once in a while that won't cost and arm and a leg for subscribers such as myself. I'll keep reading because your the best of the rest but I need something more of reason to believe. Thank you for hearing me out.

LisaDean. November 07, 2022

Like.

Too Much Marketing
September 21, 2022

97% marketing, 6-10 emails a day with only an itty-bitty pinch of information worth reading. Too much upselling.  They make you watch 30-60-90 minute videos just to get an upsell. A big hype about the Angel of Death is coming OH MY!!! For it to be just the same 90 teleprompt reading video they played when I signed up... without the 6 month guarantee!

I'm disappointed...

I signed up because, in the past, I've found Jim good in "live" interviews, very informative, good stuff. He has a very impressive background. I like his take on things though his political leanings can smell up his message 

But so far, what I've received is just too much BS.  I can't even read it all :- (

Maybe it's just me, it might be! I hope I feel differently before my 6 month guarantee comes 

Too Much Pitch Too Little Precision
August 22, 2022

Just watched the marathon pitch. Seemed reasonable, the "bubble number" seemed an easy concept to grasp and believe. But the "under-the-breath" whispers of you could still lose your shirt which were sprinkled through the pitch raised red flags.

I do agree with the premise he states, but don't believe he nor anyone can accurately predict FED action or market response. Again, the bubble score sounds like it could side-step market machinations except it too relies on imprecise predictions. I passed.

Consumer August 29, 2022

While the "social studies" analyses from both Strategic Intelligence Pro and The Countdown to Crisis subscriptions are on point, the same realtime reports with greater discussion is simultaneously had on Fox News and similar. The bombarding upsell to more expensive parallel subscriptions and promoting other 3rd party expensive subscriptions is simply insulting. Segmenting a market for greater revenue is understandable, but here over-saturates the customer and degrades the vendor relationship as greedy...no matter how arguably $valuable.

MattAllen September 21, 2022

I found the constant scare tactics to be overwhelming. He spends WAAAAY too much time telling you how incredible he is. Had he simply said, "I believe stocks will tank today, here is what to do" I might have been more tempted.

As it is, he is his own worst enemy when it comes to booking new customers. The upsell is huge. If he really wanted to help people, he would price the data at a much lower rate. I'll pass. I wasted my first $50.00 on him. I'll waste no more.

JamesSeaborn October 10, 2022

I couldn't agree more. For saying he didn't like to brag, he sure wastes viewers time hyping himself.I learned long ago that these promises of free.. end up with lots of hype followed by a pitch for money under the guise of doing you a favor. I am 70 years old and have followed a number of kooks over the years. They talk a lot and prey on people's fears and even their hatreds. Avoid these types of people at all costs. You can learn a lot from prepper communities for free. But when they have something to sell.. or say it is free with shipping and handling only... step away from the site and secure your wallet from your not so keen instincts.

You can lose a lot of money here
August 1, 2022
You could do as well with a series of dart boards. He bets against winners and loses.

Do Not, I Repeat, Do Not Buy This From Jim Rickards
June 17, 2022

PLEASE.... for God's sakes, DO NOT BUY THIS SUBSCRIPTION from Jim Rickards. You will get NO help whatsoever, via email, text or customer service representatives. You will have wasted over $2,000.00 US, and in a recession THIS IS NOT THE TIME TO WASTE your money.

I've just spent 30 minutes on the phone with customer service to be told that I didn't know enough to buy the subscription. Guess what? I buy information all of the time...we all do...but they give you JUST enough information to confuse you.

GeoffHouldridge July 19, 2022

I worry about this too.....I enrolled on the countdown to crisis for similar sum and within three weeks received further offers for his strategic intelligence pro for life for $250 and then low and behold you cam subscribe to the countdown to crisis for $500 If you take up the put options subscription in the uk they take your money without explaining the pitfalls in placing such trades i.e. No broker accounts in the uk will allow you to trade such put options. Only Charles Schwab will and they want a $25000 deposit

RuthFitzwater July 25, 2022

There’s plenty of free information on the internet. Don’t trust anyone who won’t give his information to you unless you pay.

PaulStee July 27, 2022

I figured the latest promotion from the Rickards stable was BS. The 4th Horseman has arrived. Total scare-mongering. 27th July at 2 pm the world will change and crash. Guess what that time represented. FOMC.. lol. All the world hasn't crashed and burned.Stay away from this heavily promoted BS.

Beware!
April 27, 2022

I have been closely following Jim Rickards for the last 10 years and invested in the gold speculator and Strategy Intelligence programs. Most of the recommendations I invested in lost money.

He continues to spout happy news about gold and makes recommendations that fail to profit. He’s become a far right wing reactionary who’s writings are biased and inflammatory. I’m done with him.

JenLewis July 25, 2022

I just watched Rickard's most recent 'deal' and it didn't even sound appealing to me. It's too much money to risk on his words alone.

Prior (and On-going) involvement of Jim Rickards with Anglo Far East, Group and The Physical Gold Fund and their Directors.
February 8, 2022

I note that Jim Rickards is (or was), listed as a 'Trusted Advisor' to 2 Precious Metals Custodian companies, one of which I had used to hold my bullion in a secure, locked, audited vault in Switzerland. The same vault, Jim Rickards can be seen witnessing an actual audit of the bullion kept there.

After 9 months of trying to obtain settlement following sale of my bullion, it seems both of these custodian companies appear to be nothing short of Ponzi schemes. One of the two [The Physical Gold Fund] has since shut down all its internet sites. The other [The Anglo Far East Group], based in the Caymans and Panama, doesn't appear to have any staff beyond the founding director.

Other directors have left and appear to have nothing more to do with the company or that person and refuse to be drawn into their having any involvement with the potential scam.

Smitho7 April 21, 2022

I agree Steve. Anglo Far-East has stolen clients money. But there appears little clients can do about it. Jim Rickards never responds to requests for advice on this. @kiwismitho7

AiolosSage October 28, 2022

Hello, Steve and Smith.

The organization that I work for is also facing issues with Anglo Far East. It seems almost 1 million in assets just "vanished.” We are studying what are the legal options to get the money back.

AiolosSage October 28, 2022

Would you guys be willing to provide more information in case we launch a lawsuit against the scammers?

Scammer
December 22, 2021

Jimmy has been wrong on his predictions for $15,000 Gold, that Andrew Como would replace Joe Biden as the Democratic nominee, that the FBI was behind the January 6th insurrection, and many more WACKY ideas.

I really question his claim to be a CIA advisor, and most of his recommendations have been BUSTS. Who would pay for this CRAP

DBNordwald April 25, 2022

He wasn't wrong on the FBI issue

BertEmanuel October 01, 2022

He was right about the FBI, and now they are showing even worse stuff. Sad situation about the FBI.

Jim Rickards
September 21, 2021
Seven years ago, 2014, I followed Jim Rickards' advice and lost $50K. He and his theories are BS.

Huge Con Man
September 5, 2021

Jim Rickards is one of the biggest con artists in a long list of typical fear mongers which includes other contrarian indicators and con artists like Peter Schiff, Jim Rogers, Harry Dent, Porter Stansberry, Whitney Tilson, Doug Casey, David Stockman, and so many more.

Rickards has made so many false claims and has been 100% wrong just like the other con artists who peddle fear. These people should be in prison.

dean October 26, 2021

You are obviously misinformed and totally incorrect…Rickards is one of the most intelligent and knowledgable finance experts in his field…You really should stop with your baseless drivel.

RonGeorge July 25, 2022

Sorry Dean, Jim Rickards has been peddling stock market meltdowns since Dow was 10,000 along with a few others on the list that Gerard so accurately points out. The worst of whom are Rickards, Stockman, Dent, and Stansberry. But far and above, Rickards is the biggest fear mongering scam artist with a near zero percent accuracy regarding markets! Btw, he never once predicted the 2008 meltdown until years after it happened.

Jim Rickards as a Cassandra
July 19, 2021

I have never spent a dime on any material from Jim nor read any of his books. But I read and listen to him regularly. I see him as a Cassandra and believe that his long term views will prove to be more spot on than anyone else I have read or listened to. We are in the end game of the US dollar being a global currency.

But Cassandras frequently have poor short term vision. At least Jim Rogers admits it. Jim Rickards does not. I would never bet a dime on his short or medium term advice, much less pay him for it. And even long term I believe that Jim does make mistakes. Every investment advisor will.

If you follow them blindly you will lose when they make mistakes. But in the end it is YOU who are responsible for your investments. If you follow anyone blindly and things go South you only have yourself to blame.

Cliff July 09, 2022

Bob: So why did you mark five stars??? Just because you like to "read and listen to him "? Tell us the amount of dollars that you've made following his investment advice? Now this world-is-falling shtick under Biden's supposed Executive Order (the number for which does not exist!) from him. The rest of your comment is just your opinion. Where's the beef?

JenLewis July 25, 2022

Touché, Cliff. Where's the beef . . . exactly?

Guy's a charlatan
December 24, 2020
Rickards got his mitts on my 91-year old father-in-law. After paying thousands of dollars for services, he has since lost $100K in 3 months investing with Rickards. Enough said.

JenLewis July 25, 2022

Sad.

No one else is so full of himself
May 5, 2019

I followed the guy for several years, I bought two of his books and paid for two services: Strategic Intelligence and Intelligence Triggers. Terrible investment advice. I lost money with both. I stopped following him completely.

He is a smart man but he makes many mistakes, as many as everybody who is in the investing business. He likes to brag about his correct forecasts but never mentions his more numerous failures.

Unfortunately, people sign up for his newsletters, spend money for the subscription, lose money on his investment advice and finally realize that most of his predictions are wrong. By the time they come to this realization, a lot of money has been lost.

Don't waste your TIME and MONEY
January 18, 2019

I paid for his yearly subscription in March 2018. I went through it and was really disappointed. Emailed customer service for refund and they never got back to me. I honestly had forgot about the whole thing until I noticed another charge on my credit card yesterday.

This time I tried to find a number that I could call. 1-855-275-6335. Spoke to a lady who had zero customer service knowledge about my refund. She did not want to answer any of my questions so she hung up!! Stay away.

Total misrepresentation.
January 8, 2019

I have been a supporter of Jim Rickard for a while as he is undeniably smart. Although I am now questioning how successful and honest Bill Bonner and himself are. The trades on Strategic Intelligence since inception are overall loosing money or at best a wash.

Also recently I subscribed to Jim Rickard's Project Prophesy based on insider's suspicious trading which is a good idea. The sale pitch presents 15 to 20 option trades with high returns on a short number of days. Upon accessing the subscription you can realize that those trades were never placed and were probably only back tested and that in between the many open/closed trades there are mostly losing trades and a few winning trades for an overall huge loss.

Nobody can trade that and of course the customer service sticks to the non-refundable claim despite the flagrant misrepresentation.

Jim Rickards and Robert Kiosaky
November 28, 2018

These guys got together and they are presenting with Brian Rose a project weekly cash flow, has anybody tried it..it cost $3000 p/y to a member

Amre September 07, 2019

yes,Its a scam.They avoid even showing their year to date performance as its a loss.Completely misleading avoid them by all cost.

Jim Rickards
December 14, 2017

I agree that we need working farms, & the people that know how to run those farms (of all kinds). We would not de able to eat without them! But it's already almost 2018. Trump is doing a good job at destroying our way of life already. So why would anyone spend between 39.95 - 79.95, on something that they claim, "is free".

Common sense tells me IT'S A SCAM!! If you have the money to waste, try not to waste it, there are a lot of really great non-profit org. you could give that money to, or just hold on to your money, or help your family & friends.

But if you want those books & newsletters, that they say is 90 days free, just start trying to cancel your subscription quickly after starting it, or be ready to PAY $$$

W. PetePedersen October 26, 2019

Trump is the best thing that has happened to this country since Reagan!

Trump is unpopular as he is showing America what scam artists congress and the senate are, trying to impeach him without a vote first which has been done in ALL other impeachment's, they try to impeach him on every fake news rumour there is and it's only because he is exposing them for who they really are! Get the real FACTS before you start shooting your mouth off, you'll find that integrity is the best way. God Bless

CharlesC. Harris October 29, 2019

Amen! I can't see why any intelligent and discerning person could not see what the present day socialist are doing in effort to destroy our country.

May God save the USA.

marypaine August 07, 2021

Trump is a scam. Any real American that has had their family fight for the rights of this country should not worship this Putin-Hitler want to be. My ancestor arrived in America in early 1600's both in Ct for mother and Virginia for father. Fathers side fought on both sides in Civil war. Father was wound in WW2 and carried shrapnel in heart till the day he died. Mother was lieutenant WW2.

You need to read the Bible. If you worship and love the world more than the Lord is not in you. Read John 1. Trumps grandfather was a pimp, died AGE 49 from the 1918 Spanish flue that started in America. Trumps father was a KKK member .Trump is the devil that wants your worship. Start with Bible John 1 the truth is there.

DBNordwald April 25, 2022

Well, you are certainly wrong!

JenLewis July 25, 2022

. . . 2022 and not much has changed . . . except now it's a 'special deal' at $1995, CASH or credit card.

Debtin Hand October 23, 2022

@ JenLewis ... The tactic of fear-based selling with a deadline is horrible. The $1,995 for the newest I-3 one-year-subscription really comes to $2,178.54 with taxes. Then you have another option to spend it again, same day mind you, for a benevolent life-time-subscription. If you don't take it, it's gone.

I would LOVE to get in on insider trading and make my stock investment returns of 564% in less than 30 days, but I don't have another mortgage payment to sew. The vast majority of Americans are living paycheck to paycheck. What good is all of his information if we cannot put it to good use?

Hype
February 15, 2016
Looks more and more like a big marketing HYPE at best. Most of his stoke types lost money!

Harold Rowden August 29, 2016

Go by the market.. dollar goes south, Gold and Silver goes up, you don't have to be a guru to figure that out..... and when the dollar is really about 20 cents in value as apposed to 1950.. buy gold and silver friends.....

DenverResident December 31, 2017

The USD lost 10% in 2017. The last month, the USD really dropped.

Yet, Gold and Silver DROPPED, just the opposite of what Harold predicted.

The JPM is taking historical physical deliver of silver (and gold) out of GLD and SLV. The paper traded price in the trust have broken the rules, but there is absolutely no enforcement. Either No Laws or Existing Laws Not Being Enforced results in Anarchy.

The rules of gold/silver anarchy have set the stage to the general Stock Market.

The Angora advertisement is a scam on the surface.

For the Angora advertisement for HARP, I paid the fee. There was absolutely nothing in that report that I didn't already know. Angora failed to let customers know that the HARP has huge conditions. Conditions not disclosed until Angora got their money.

All attempts to obtain a refund from Angora were ignored. They will not provide a refund.

While Jim Rickards has some fantastic books and observations, the Marketing group Angora is basically a scam.

For the subscriptions, they only send more "offers to buy" they do not provide any useful trading information as my dozen other financial newsletters provide.

This is no different than Jon Elway selling his name to a automobile sales or his famous MVP.Com - an dotcom flop of biblical proportions. We witness famous people selling their name for branding all kinds of silly sales..

hamid alami January 15, 2018

i agree.agora is a big scam they will describe an ant as an elephant to make you believe in what they are trying to sale you.i try all of them .so be careful guys.watch the news from Bloomberg. read some very good news from northernmining.com they are free and you can educate your self .learn about option as well they are very powerfull .you can make great money if you know what you doing.good luck to all of you.i been scamed before when i just started trading now i learned a lot .i just want to share with you and advise you to be very careful.this guys they are scam artist