Comenity Bank Reviews

Comenity Bank
( 112 reviews )
Website: Comenity.com

Comenity Bank, located online at Comenity.net, is a financial institution that provides the backing of many different store and brand credit cards and credit accounts.

How Does it Work?

According to their website, the goal of Comenity and their two subsidiaries, Comenity Bank and Comenity Capital Bank, is to make the shopping experience of consumers better.

Consumers who choose store credit cards and credit accounts do so because they love that retailer, but their incentive for keeping the card comes from the benefits they receive from being an account holder.

Comenity Bank says they work with many of the nation’s most popular places to shop to create credit programs for their customers which help keep their customers happy and loyal to their brand.

In pursuing this goal, they have successful backed over 28 million store credit cards or accounts, and their website says they continue to work hard to make sure their credit programs are clear, easy to use, and easy to manage.

If you have a Comenity backed account, you can use their website to manage your account, as well as utilize the other helpful tools available on their website for your own personal benefit.

They provide articles which address financial health, both from the angle of providing their customers with general tips and guidelines for promoting good finance and more specific articles that focus on having and maintaining good credit.

Customer Service

Customers who have issues, questions, or complaints can contact Comenity Bank directly at one of their customer service phone numbers, depending on the nature of the issue they are seeking help with.

You can also contact the company by mail at their address in Columbus, OH or with a simple email submission directly through their website if your issue is not urgent and you have no need to speak to someone directly.

If you have any experience with Comenity Bank or their services, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

Comenity Bank Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Dishonest.
February 28, 2024

Comenity bank is usury at its finest. They are inconsistent, dishonest and scammy.

Their accounts often include hidden fees and minimums. Payments will be applied randomly to multiple financed plans and their system does not have real time balance reporting.

Their websites are trash.

They will also randomly close accounts for no reason.

Comenity: expect to be scammed.

It’s a scam company and you never seem to be able to pay anything off due to interest
February 27, 2024

I used to have comenity bank with my Wayfair account and they were to difficult to deal with so I closed the account after they ruined my credit score on items I never bought. Now, I see they are doing the same thing with my Talbots card. After i finally get out of the mess they’ve made with that, I will never ever do business with any company that uses comenity, Wayfair or Talbots again. I’ve spent countless hours and being shuffled back and forth between comenity, Wayfair and Talbots and no one seems to be accountable for anything.

SCAM OR POOR BUSINESS PRACTICE.
February 19, 2024

Comenity bank calls me 2 times a day but won't say any thing. I recently was frauded involving 4 different transactions on my pnc bank reward card totaling $200. My bank called me about it. I got phone #'s from all of them and everything about them was similar.

Same unprofessional response, noise in background and same people. I caught 1 lady goofing up and saying "Oh I see you have another transaction for $59 ". I responded that I just called a company in phillipines who said that was a transaction they had. I told her I was calling the police if I don't get my refund. She was so nervous and needed to ask someone. I said no you are to late and I hung up on her.

She immediately called me back and pleaded with me to give my money back. I told her again it was too late. I followed up on those companies and found out they were all scam companies. I got my money back. ]

But since then Comenity bank calls 2 times a day and won't say anything when I answer. Checked them out and they are most likely a rip off scam company.

Worse financial service I’ve ever experienced
February 17, 2024

Is it possible to give a - rating? If so, that’s what this bank would get. After Dell transferred their financial services over to Con-enemy bank, I’ve experienced nothing but headaches in dealing with them. From the initial experience of registering my account, to setting up payments, to lack of customer support, this has been the most difficult financing institution I’ve ever had the displeasure of dealing with.

The online experience was clunky and glitchy initially to set up the account and the phone support was not helpful in the least.

Needless to say I’ll be closing my account as soon as possible and not doing business with them.

Horrible business. Will never use them again.
February 7, 2024

We used to have excellent credit. We applied for a card through our favorite store, gave them our new address and purchased a few dollars worth of stuff.

The bill was sent to our old address, several states away and we never got it.

So they reported it to collections. We don't even know how they got our old address.

So we called them. We paid the bill, gave them our new address and cancelled the card.

Then they reported us again.

They told us that we didn't pay the interest (2 dollars) and all of the added fees. They sent us a bill - to our old address, again - and reported us again.

Knock a hundred points off of our credit, zero confidence that they won't just do it again.

AND when we were talking to them, the rep was rude, treated us like criminals, and hung up on us.

Never again will I get anything from this bank. Never, ever, ever.

Scamming customers using St. Jude
January 10, 2024
Comenity Bank is terrible, customer service rep's are just as bad. I purchased merchandise and donated $1 to St. Jude Children's Fund. I was not satisfied with the merchandise so I returned it. They credited by card all but the $1 that I donated to St.Jude. I later received a bill stating that I had a late fee. I did not have any other purchase on my card. They billed me late fees for 2 months so I paid the late fee so it wouldn't impact my credit. The next month I received another late fee. My card is not late because I returned the merchandise. They are charging me monthly charges for the $1 charges. I tried to dispute the matter I was given the wrong address, I had to contact the BBB. This bank is definitely a SCAM. I'm closing my card and sharing my story on all social media platforms.

Come in the bank is a scam
November 16, 2023
Comenity bank is such a scam you sent your money on time and they said oh no it takes 10 days to process so they give you late please I close my account immediately thank God the bogus late fees and interest charges which I am not going to pay I wish the companies that use them would not use them because I actually like the companies How come they are not aware of what a scam these people are?

Please Read Dishonest $ hungry Company charge late fees you od on time every mth pd more each mth
October 30, 2023

Please Read !! Don’t get Big lots or just this Comenity Bank Card !! It’s scam they keep billing charging you after you pd acct off was never late paying on the bill . They have my bank info I always pd it online they said my numbers was off I used same acct numbers few mths then they looked me with late fee after I pd whole bill off they popped me just now letter in mail I owe money I cut card last mth I pd it off closed the acct .

Stay away from Comenity Bank they money hungry greed company would t refund me late fee or remove late punt off my credit . I pay on lots loans mthly never been late all 21 loans I pay on my elderly sick mothers loans myself too . Please steer clear this company they greedy . I didn’t use that cc but 1 time I pd it mthly pd lot more they asked horrible dishonest company want help you sure want refund you . It was their app barely works at all too .

I had this card 1 1/2 yrs never used it till Aug this yr they said I put wrong no in online it’s saved I used same acct whole time I owed them for that 1 day was $80 something charged on card they charged me triple $ then they lowered my limit .

Please stay clear . This horrible greed . Plus I closed acct out last mth I pd it on Sept 1st they charged me late fee w acct closed in Oct said I may have pay another $41 if interest from closed acct not pd by Oct 23-2021 on closed out acct pd off $0 bl just has pay interest fees today 10-30-2023 . Scammers very money hungry .

RUN AWAY!!!!!
October 22, 2023
DO NOT GET INVOLVED WITH THESE PEOPLE!!! SCAMS. Got BB credit card to buy a sofa 330.00 my balance has never gone below that, no matter how much I paid. They now are FORCING account holders to give direct access to your checking account. Call customer service...you get charged $9.00 to talk to someone.

Run! Run fast!
October 16, 2023
The worst company in the world to deal with! Not worth a star

PaulaBlack October 16, 2023

Any card I get I make sure it is not a commenity card. They are terrible, we received 12 calls a day on vacation for 25 dollars. We were on tours and stuff and couldn’t go thru getting the card out and writing down confirmations so we sent it to voicemail and took care of it at the hotel however it was ridiculous. Also beware because of the lawsuits and such they have changed their name to Bread Financial.

FRAUDULENT THIEVES
October 13, 2023

I applied for Dental First insurance plan to pay for dental work in 2019. I was approved for approximately $7,500. Comenity, who oversees Dental First, took $347 out of my bank account automatically for several years (high interest rate), until it was paid off in Dec 2021. I didn't need dental work until now, but find that Comenity closed my account because I didn't need dental work for a period they deemed by whim that I should have had dental work. The $1,000's I paid into this finance plan is now unaccessible and I never received any notice whatsoever to maintain the plan or that Comenity was going to close my account due to my teeth being too health. They will be hearing from my attorney and I am considering a class action lawsuit. STAY AWAY FROM COMENITY: THEY ARE FRAUDULENT THIEVES.

Awful deceptive Company. Stay away from Comenity and AAA cards!
October 3, 2023

I did not sign up for this terrible bank.

I had a credit card with AAA. Well they changed my credit card to this terrible bank.

Right away after the change I figured out how incredibly crooked Comenity bank is. They do not even have an App.

They try to cheat people by making it very hard to find information.

I paid off the entirety and will never do any business with them ever again. These kind of banks should never be allowed to operate. .

Also AAA i am canceling your card After 32 years just because you knew this bank was horrible but you were getting greedy and you thought you could get more interest and late payments from poor people that could not figure out how to find and understand how to pay this crooked scam company. Shame on you AAA for not caring anymore either.

Don’t use community bank terrible customer service
September 27, 2023
Tried dealing with comenity directly for 3 months . I bought flooring from floor decor have the receipt as proof I was given 0% for 18 months in March of 2023 I’ve been getting charged 29.99% every month they make you use there dispute center online I sent receipt several messsages said it will take 90 days well 91st day and I get a message back there’s no dispute open. Telling me to do the whole process again. Mind you I have several messages going back and forth so I paid the card off everything without the interest they charged me. I will dispute with credit bureau I’m hiring a lawyer and I will go to the news. The store itself floor decor got hung up on and there’s nothing they can do. I have my proof and I will not let them get away with this not even a star rating

The Worst
September 25, 2023

They are shameless thieves...I was supposed to have paid my Ulta card in full and after paying it off they charged me an interest of $2 which rose in three months to $79 dollars because they never sent letters or emails or text messages.

They are the worst for credit cards, I don't recommend it. They are rats.

NC_3 October 30, 2023

They burned me too my same acct no I used pay mthly also I pd more then minim pymt I was charged late fee I never late I just had pay again I closed pd acct off last mth .

Not right do people like this then they lowered my c limit last mth I always pd on app I push button says pay now my info my acct saved they said I was 1 number off it’s saved there own app I struggle w few mths I had make pymts on also . Everyone pay attention stsy cleared this company they thieves liers

Incompetent Credit Card Company
August 17, 2023
Do not bother with a Talbots credit card from Comenity Bank. Due to a clerical error, they began drafting my bank account for someone else's credit card. When the error was discovered, they gave me credit on my account (which conveniently for them, requires me to spend money) but refuse to issue a check or credit back to my bank account. They are totally incompetent.

Beware
August 15, 2023
Just like everyone else I would give 0 stars if I could. Worst bank ever and I am over 50 years old so I have experience with banks. If you ever think about getting a credit card from this bank don't. You will have more issues resolving your problems than it is worth. They may even ruin your credit and no one including corporate wants to resolve any issues. There are other options out there and better institutions.

Absolutely Horrible
August 7, 2023
If I could give less than one star I would. Comenity Bank is absolutely horrible to deal with or even talk to. I had a Comenity Bank card for a store credit card. I initially canceled my account because I don't agree with the residual interest practices they employ. The "customer service" employees they hire are very difficult to speak with due to very thick accents. I will never do business with Comenity bank again. Buyer beware.

A DISGRACE OF A BANK
August 3, 2023

In 50ty years of banking this bank is the WORST banking experience I have ever had ,of the 20 banks I have dealt with this one is rock bottom.I gave it a one star rating,if I could of I would of gave it a MINUS 5 !!!

I owed them like 45 cents and the charged me a fine of $16 plus interest ! I filed a complaint notice and got no response.

When I got this ridiculous charge I paid it the next day just to get rid of it and then they hit me with a late charge and more interest !!! Their processing department must be the pony express.

DO NOT OPEN AN ACCOUNT WITH THIS BANK, BE AFRAID BE VERY AFRAID !!!

Robs customers with sneaky interest charges.
August 2, 2023

Comenity Bank finds new ways to rob customers and charge interests that are not easy to understand, especially when you have the B&H Credit Card and choose the 12-month financing option. Be careful and ALWAYS ALWAYS review your statements before making the payments.

Good Sam's Reward Visa SCAM
July 31, 2023
Sent me a letter stating the credit card I had applied for was turned down. Good Sam's Reward Visa. I never applied for such a thing. There were no phone numbers on the letter and I had to look them up on-line. There was a number on the letter that they referenced and then to close the application, they wanted ME to verify all my information. PHISHING SCAM