Comenity Bank Reviews

Comenity Bank
( 70 reviews )
Website: Comenity.com

Comenity Bank, located online at Comenity.net, is a financial institution that provides the backing of many different store and brand credit cards and credit accounts.

According to their website, the goal of Comenity and their two subsidiaries, Comenity Bank and Comenity Capital Bank, is to make the shopping experience of consumers better.

Consumers who choose store credit cards and credit accounts do so because they love that retailer, but their incentive for keeping the card comes from the benefits they receive from being an account holder.

Comenity Bank says they work with many of the nation’s most popular places to shop to create credit programs for their customers which help keep their customers happy and loyal to their brand.

In pursuing this goal, they have successful backed over 28 million store credit cards or accounts, and their website says they continue to work hard to make sure their credit programs are clear, easy to use, and easy to manage.

If you have a Comenity backed account, you can use their website to manage your account, as well as utilize the other helpful tools available on their website for your own personal benefit.

They provide articles which address financial health, both from the angle of providing their customers with general tips and guidelines for promoting good finance and more specific articles that focus on having and maintaining good credit.

Customers who have issues, questions, or complaints can contact Comenity Bank directly at one of their customer service phone numbers, depending on the nature of the issue they are seeking help with.

You can also contact the company by mail at their address in Columbus, OH or with a simple email submission directly through their website if your issue is not urgent and you have no need to speak to someone directly.

If you have any experience with Comenity Bank or their services, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

Comenity Bank Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Zero Stars
December 3, 2022

If I could give zero stars I would! My interactions with them have been nightmares. Long wait times, talking to 2 different people and getting 2 different stories. They made a huge error posting my over the phone payment, leaving me with $30 available credit. My payment was over their electronic payment threshold. Charged me a late fee, interest, returned check fee, $9 service charge (which I was not informed of) and sent my credit rating from Excellent to Good. I had to fight to get them to refund all fees and interest, and the interest is still shown on this month's bill.

After using this card for a year, my rewards value is $1.12, because none of my points from BoA have carried over yet. Plus, they took away the extra value reward for using your rewards for a payment voucher when booking a trip through AAA.

I have been asked by a AAA representative to please keep using the card. Well, I've thought about it and no I will not use this card.

Finally, their customer service representatives were terrible. They did not even try to help me and left me with $30 credit for 3 days!

AAA transfer of credit card to new bank service
December 2, 2022
AAA switched to this company-try to follow up with Comenity Bank after receiving a letter that my due date had changed by a phone call but if I wanted to speak with a live voice would be charged $9.00 - what the heck was AAA thinking(not). Still awaiting current bill in mail. Will not setup any online service with this company (Comenity), in fact will stop using this card. AAA credit card service has lost a customer.

Stay Away From Comenity Bank
November 25, 2022
AAA changed my VISA from Bank of America to Comenity and its horrible. AAA responded to my complaint to the BBB in a professional manner but I got a letter from Comenity that was arrogant, obnoxious and a lie as far as their responsibility for unjustly charging me with late fees. Stay away from this bank that at the very least is incompetent with non existing customer support and whose business practices border on unethical.

SallyK November 29, 2022

Very shady practices. Looks like they are there to get you in an endless loop to rip you off. A $39 purchase needed up with a $340 bill. Their website is not available when I am ready to make the payment and couldn’t get them on the phone also. Even after making the payment, they said that I might be getting a bill. When asked for what, they said that there is a daily charge and the balance I paid might not have that charges. Unbelievable!!! How can such a financial institution exist?? Feel awful for the customers who fell into their trap.

The Worst Credit Card Ever!
November 21, 2022

You can’t make online payments. The card is a scam. Horrendous.

Comenity Bank--RUN DON'T WALK
November 17, 2022

Our AAA visa card was sold to this horrible organization and we had problems using it form the beginning. The card actually caused so many problems at the SAM's club gas pumps they refuse to accept it anymore.

We tried to report the problem and they swore there was no problem. Then I got a letter from the president of Comenity, Bruce Bowman, to say oopsie for the widespread problem. I called again and had a sour old man say that I had no account with them because it was closed by Bank of America on Sept. 3 before Comenity took over in October and I never had an account with them.

How he could he straight faced say that when I have cards, a letter from their president, and a statement from THEM. Funny, we paid a bill to Comenity with charges on it from September 18, 22, 29 and Oct. 13. Fraud? I am beginning to suspect this is a Fraudulent organization, If they are legitimate, they will call me. Ethel C. Brown in Ky.

Checks take 7-10 day for processing which could make your payment late!
November 16, 2022

AAA VISA through Bank of America changed hands in October 2022, and now Comenity is my VISA account holder. Today I received a call from Comenity telling me that my payment is late and that I should at least make a minimum payment. I told the Comenity representative that my payment was sent and my credit union states that my check was cashed one day prior to the stated due date. He insisted that I send a minimum payment anyway. I told him that Comenity already has my full payment.

Frustrated, I called Comenity and spoke to another representative who told me that checks (Comenity does not accept electronic transfers from my credit union) take between 7-10 days for processing and that I must account for that processing time so that my check arrives 7-10 days before my payment due date. She did waive the late fee this time but I truly do not feel comfortable dealing with Comenity and will close this account as soon as possible.

DO NOT OBTAIN ANY COMENITY BANK CREDIT CARDS
November 15, 2022

20 year member of BJ's. I always renewed membership at the local store in Natick, MA. In 2021 I went to store to renew my membership. They talked me into obtaining a BJ's credit card. I applied for it at the store. The credit card never arrived. 12 months later I received my 1st credit card statement in May 2022 with my BJ's membership renewal charge on it.

I phoned Comenity Bank C/S and told them the story. They told me that they would take care of it. I told them to close the account. I went to local BJ's and renewed the membership. I expected the 2nd statement from Comenity to have a zero balance. I keep getting monthly statements from Comenity and they keep charging me late fees and interest.

As of Oct. 16, 2022 they say it owe them $160.00.......all late fees and interest. I have NEVER USED the card because I never received it. Mulitple times I have spoken to the local BJ's and they refer me to the bank. On 11/15/22 BJ's finally told me that they returned the $110.00 to Comenity on 6/29/2022.

On 11/15/22 I phoned Comenity and they could not confirm receiving the $110.00 and they transferred me to BJ's C/S. I keep getting passed back and forth. 2 plus hours on the phone today I I got no where. Comenity Bank operates worse than you would expect if you were dealing with a third world county bank.

DO NOT TAKE OUT A STORE CREDIT CARD IF THE BANK INVOLVED IS COMENITY BANK.

disgusting company
October 30, 2022
Is there a zero rating? Their website for the past few months is consistently down, and credit card payments cannot be made. As their website is down, they are making harassing phone calls.

Bank seems to be a SCAM, be careful!
October 27, 2022
This is a nightmare & will destroy my credit. To date I never received a credit card or statement. I have called twice, takes about 1-2 hrs each time. I’m not speaking to a person in US. Each time I’m told they will send me a new card, meaning I will be issued 3 cards I guess. I can’t pay my balance without my account number. On phone I’m told I can pay them for an extra fee. I don’t think this is legit bank & they have all our info. Now I just want to pay my bill by cashiers check & be done with them which will also hurt my credit. But I don’t know how.

Bad customer service - stay away!
October 25, 2022
Transferred by AAA from Bank of America to Comenity. Bad customer service- I scheduled automatic payments and nothing has been taken out of my account. 3 calls with customer service later, they tell me there is no issue, that the payment was made and there is a delay on the portal, and that they payment made was for double what it was supposed to be. None of this is true as my bank states that Comenity never pulled an ACH request.

Geeta October 30, 2022

Please join me and file a complaint here

Please file all these complaints with Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Here is the link.

https://www.consumerfinance.gov/complaint/

Only when enough of us file with this Consumer Protection Board will something be done.

Don't use Comenity bank or AAA.
October 21, 2022
AAA issued me this card without my approval, then I canceled the account without activating the card. This was the beginning of a huge mess with nobody answering the phone. Tried to complain to AAA and couldn't get through to the right people there either. Stay away from this horrible bank and from AAA too.

Geeta October 30, 2022

Please join me and file a complaint here

Please file all these complaints with Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Here is the link.

https://www.consumerfinance.gov/complaint/

Only when enough of us file with this Consumer Protection Board will something be done.

The Not Quite Ready For Prime Time Players Show
October 21, 2022
I realize that the Comenity Bank/AAA Credit card is new and therefore there are going to be problems. I don't know if this was planned by Comenity to force you to do everything on line or not, but when you do call their phone number, be prepared for long hold times and difficult to understand operators. (It seems they are located off-shore in the Philippines.) Last week when I was getting nowhere fast, I asked for the operator's supervisor, she tried three times failing each time. Today I had a problem with my phone numbers (they wanted me to update them when no update was required) and after three attempts to update, I called them to complain. She said basically, not to worry she'd take care of it. She took care of it all right, she entered my mobile number in under miscellaneous, so once again I was prompted to update my numbers.

Geeta October 30, 2022

I pay online and the option to use the website to pay has been down consistently each time I try to log into it since June of 2022. Please file all these complaints with Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Here is the link.

https://www.consumerfinance.gov/complaint/

Only when enough of us file with this Consumer Protection Board will something be done.

They are biased & discriminatory against African Americans!
October 20, 2022

I'm currently seeking an attorney to file a lawsuit against Comenity bank/bread financial. I have received several call backs and I'm just deciding how far I'm willing to travel to start my paperwork!

Do not do business with this credit card company...They are already being sued multiple times!

Poor customer service
October 18, 2022
Poor customer service. They do not answer the telephone. Have been trying to reach someone for several days with wait times in excess of 45 minutes with no response.

This deserves NO stars.
October 17, 2022

Comenity recently took over servicing for a AAA Visa card from Bank of America - which worked great for many years. Can't get an online account, can't get a service rep. This deserves NO stars.

AVOID at all costs!!

It would appear Comenity was not ready for the handoff
October 11, 2022
I am new to Comenity Bank. Comenity Bank took over AAA Visa Credit card issued by Bank of America. Not sure if AAA sold the card and/or Bank of America sold the card to Comenity; however, Comenity was not ready for the handoff. Bank of America discontinued the card on or around 10/8/2022. Comenity was to issue new cards and have them operation on 10/9. That didn't happen nor did it happen on 10/11. Could not reach Comenity customer service by phone and without the new credit card could not access anything via the internet.

JanSchrader October 15, 2022

Agree with the above review. I discovered that my AAA credit was canceled by trying to find it on the Bank of America website. I discovered the cancellation there, but not the reason why. I had to call the bank for that information. Were card holders given a heads-up that this action was going to happen? Was it AAA or Comenity or BOA that dropped the ball? I am very disappointed all around.

Pathetic Online System
October 10, 2022

They sent new AAA credit card, I activated and set up online account. Used card. The next day, I can't sign in to the account. Pathetic!

MariettaWilson October 11, 2022

I received my AAA card, i also activated it, set up on line account, cant sign on to view my account, not going to use this card, will cancel it, i dont understand why AAA left B of A for these people, their customer service stinks.

MWest October 17, 2022

I can't get an online account set up and can't get a service rep. They are terrible!!! I don't understand why AAA made this change.

AAA Visa for 22 years. Now this new bank? No way!
October 5, 2022

I have had a credit card affiliated with AAA for over 20 years. Bank of America serviced it. And I was happy with it. They saved me from fraud a couple of times.

Just the other day I got 2 new cards for my wife and I each with separate account numbers.

Apparently AAA dropped B of A for Comenity Capital bank.

My other cards were good till 5/25 These new cards expire in 11 months.

The cards came with big claims on how much I could earn. But nothing about the terms.

After reading some of these reviews I am going to steer clear of Comenity Bank.

Thanks everyone for your comments.

Ripping people off
October 5, 2022
They are terrible! Stay away from this bank. They charge interest on nothing and fees if you don't use your card! Their customer service is bad. Nothing nice to say

Worst credit card ever
September 29, 2022
I've had so many issues with this card. I tried to make a payment but their online and phone system was down for weeks so I was charged a late fee for that. I paid the next month and there's no history of me paying it at all even though I received a confirmation number. Customer service is rude and incompetent blaming me for not paying it in store when there system hasn't been working. Once I pay this card off I will be closing my account.

JohnWinters October 03, 2022

Get action... Contact the Consumer Financial Bureau (CFB).

Send payments via Certified or Registered Mail Return Receipt and with cover letter and account information.

JohnWinters October 03, 2022

Get action.... Contact the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Send payments via Certified or Registered Mail - Return Receipt. This allows tracking. Also best to send to a "physical" mailing address such as a street address. ALL mail will be delivered.