Comenity Bank Reviews

Comenity Bank
( 26 reviews )
Website: Comenity.com

Comenity Bank, located online at Comenity.net, is a financial institution that provides the backing of many different store and brand credit cards and credit accounts.

According to their website, the goal of Comenity and their two subsidiaries, Comenity Bank and Comenity Capital Bank, is to make the shopping experience of consumers better.

Consumers who choose store credit cards and credit accounts do so because they love that retailer, but their incentive for keeping the card comes from the benefits they receive from being an account holder.

Comenity Bank says they work with many of the nation’s most popular places to shop to create credit programs for their customers which help keep their customers happy and loyal to their brand. 

 

In pursuing this goal, they have successful backed over 28 million store credit cards or accounts, and their website says they continue to work hard to make sure their credit programs are clear, easy to use, and easy to manage.

If you have a Comenity backed account, you can use their website to manage your account, as well as utilize the other helpful tools available on their website for your own personal benefit.

They provide articles which address financial health, both from the angle of providing their customers with general tips and guidelines for promoting good finance and more specific articles that focus on having and maintaining good credit.

Customers who have issues, questions, or complaints can contact Comenity Bank directly at one of their customer service phone numbers, depending on the nature of the issue they are seeking help with.

You can also contact the company by mail at their address in Columbus, OH or with a simple email submission directly through their website if your issue is not urgent and you have no need to speak to someone directly.

If you have experience with Comenity Bank or their services, please leave your reviews below.

Comenity Bank Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Don’t do it
October 1, 2021

Terrible company do not do business with anyone involved with this company. Disreputable companies partner with them and when you are scammed and never receive the product they side with the scammers and you still have to pay them for what you never received. At an absurd interest rate as well.

Call support and they give you the run around and side with the scam company despite proof goods were not received. As long as the scam company says so they side with those bringing them money. I would not be surprised wife they got kickbacks from the scammers.

This bank is unprofessional
September 28, 2021

My name is Lora Merriss. I was preapproved online on 9/16/21 for an IKEA Projekt Card for a complete kitchen remodel. Unfortunately, the door style we chose has a finite date for availability due to being discontinued on 10/1/21, so I called Comenity Capital Bank the next day to see if there was anything that I could find out on how long the final approval would take but was told that it could take 3-4 weeks from application date. I asked if they needed anything else but was told that they had everything they needed.

After 10 days, I received a letter in the mail that they could not continue to process my application until I spoke with someone.

On 9/25/21 I called and was told by another employee that they had 3 questions to ask me, that I could not confer with anyone else, look anything up or put them on hold. The very first question was regarding which year I had leased a vehicle, with 5 possible answers. I do nothing but lease vehicles, and there were 2 correct answers in the possible ones, so I picked one. The third question was in regards to my mortgage payment. I asked a clarifying question to see if they were looking for principle and interest only or the total of all with escrow. I was told that they could not clarify so I picked the answer range of the principle and interest only. I was told that one or more of the answers was not correct and this would have to go to the "Back Office" for processing. I asked how long that would take and why, with the preapproval, the credit check they had already ran and the income verification that had been done, this was taking so long and was told that if I had been paying attention and knew what was on my credit report, I would have been able to answer the questions correctly, which made me angry.

After 12 days and 5 different employees with 5 different stories, I was finally able to find out they denied me due to an answer I gave them on one of the three questions and for other things seen on my credit report.

I have a credit score in the 800's, have a house loan and two car loans as my only debt, and more than enough income to cover everything and then some. You don't get a credit score in the 800's with dinks on your credit history.

I have never been treated so badly, disrespected by so many different bank employees and been given so much conflicting information by an organization in my life. I will be asked to fill out a survey by IKEA when I am done with this project, and the review that I give your bank will be the worst review you have ever had. You lost out on a $20,000 credit purchase, and in this day and age, even small purchases really count towards your bottom line.

You should be appalled at the disservice you did to me, the business that you just lost and the damage that you just did to your company reputation. If I could give you “0” stars I would.

Never-ending $2 minimum interest and late fees
August 17, 2021

AVOID THIS COMPANY!! I have a Forever 21 card. First of all they make it so you never actually know what your current balance is because it shows the statement balance. That's another way they create confusion.

I paid my card off when I got my bill. Should be done right? Nope.

They make it so that you can never pay a balance off because in the background they are charging you a $2 minimum interest that you don't even see until the next bill. Since it is "charged daily" it is already accruing while you are getting your bill and the days it takes your payment to process.

Then they tacked on late fees to the bs interest and continue to charge, monthly, a minimum $2 interest fee on the previous interest fee with late fees. They did this over 3 months. I recorded my conversation with them and said it was a scam and made no sense and they were ruining my credit for a balance I paid off?!!

I was transferred 3 times btw once I said this. The final "manager" said he was sorry for that and would remove the fees and send a credit report reversal. I checked my account and guess what? The balance is still there. These people are scammers. Hard to believe they get away with this legally but it definitely is unethical. Especially when you read all of the reviews across the web that complain of the same thing!

Beware of Comenity Bank
June 21, 2021

Reading these reviews on Comenity Bank makes me ill. I've had the same thing happen to me. Thinking my account was paid in full, I received a statement months later into 2021 showing I had an initial balance of $34.60 (for what, I don't know) additional $200 in late fees because I never paid off the $34.60.

I had no idea an amount was still due on my WAYFAIR card. One of the times I paid off my card I sent a request to cancel the account but that never happened. I reported Comenity Bank/Wayfair to the BBB and because Comenity Bank says they mailed out my statements each month, BBB is ok with their response.

Sounds like the additional charges happen constantly. Also, the date on my response from Comenity Bank letter is 6/2/2021 with a balance due of $198.60 due by June 7, 2021 but I didn't receive the letter until the 16th so now they've tacked on another $40.00.

I would really think twice about getting a credit card from Comenity. They are not customer friendly and rip you off. I have no clue what happened but all these late charges started accruing in 2020 - 2021.

Cannot help but feel they've taken advantage of their customers.

LG August 17, 2021

Same thing here with my Forever 21 card!

Don't get a trek credit card
September 21, 2020

I found my experience with dealing with their customer service awful. They seemed to have mastered the art of avoiding you. I felt like the promotional expiration date was hidden from me and they seem to not care at all. After being an excellent customer for them all year I found them to be inflexible and unwilling to look at themselves.

I will continue to dispute my unfair charge. At one point in my process they did not contact me back for 10 days. I will not use anything that has to do with comenity again.

What just happened?
September 21, 2020
I've had a wayfair-Comenity card for many years. Out of the blue I received a Comenity MasterCard with vague information that state this card is replacing my Wayfair card. I have tried to find info online as to interest rate, fees, credit limit, etc. I just end up in a never-ending loop. I'm skeptical that this is valid. I cut the card up.

Legal Assistance Needed
June 26, 2020

I got a Comenity Master Card from BJ's in Olean, NY. I signed onto my account to pay off my account. I had to put in my banking information from my actual bank. But, because that information isn't available online from my bank, I had to call my legitimate bank to get the routing and account numbers.

With my legitimate bank on the phone, I put all the information in to pay the card. Several weeks later, I sign in to check and see that my payment was returned because my legitimate bank refused payment. I called my legitimate bank and there was no record of of the transaction, and my bank said they did not refuse any payment. Again, with my bank on the phone, we put all the information in exactly the same, this time it worked.

Now, Comenity is charging a $29 return fee. Being that I had my bank on the phone both times to ensure I was putting in the correct information, I have to believe that the issue was their system. I can't help but wonder if this is intentional.

LG August 17, 2021

I've seen other people say this on other review sites.

Customer? Who cares.
June 18, 2020

Comenity Bank runs IKEA Visa. My wife attempted to purchase a single fitness watch through Online Fitness. They padded the order, selling her three watches and some kind of fitness service that she didn't want. We called them to attempt to cancel the order only to be put on hold from their phone menu for about a half hour until it hung up on me.

I called IKEA card services who told me that they couldn't do anything until it fully posted. They could have simply denied the charges and it would have been done. After it posted, they provisionally credited the amount, but then reversed the credits because online fitness sent copies of how they padded the order, blaming my wife.

When the order arrived, I called Comenity and was told to return it unopened. I did so, but Comenity allowed the charges anyway. I am now out almost $80 with nothing to show for it. Comenity helped MY Online Fitness to perpetrate the fraud, just so they could get my money. I will no longer use any Comenity card nor will I shop at IKEA until they get rid of these crooks.

Very Unprofessional Bank
June 3, 2020
Will be reporting this bank to the federal organization that controls/oversees banks. Predatory lending policies. Very poor customer relations. Very difficult to contact anyone in this bank that can/will help one with their concerns. Phone calls not returned. Written correspondence not answered. I hope they get a good review and cease to operate.

Got phone call from them
May 20, 2020

Well, it sounded like a pre recording with automated elements. No one talks like Ann..From..Commenity Bank...

Sounds like a scam. Smells like a scam. Probably a scam.

All The Bad Reviews Are Accurate!
January 29, 2020

If I could give this bank a negative -10 rating I would. All the bad reviews here are so on spot. I just hung up with a manager from Comenity Bank to see if they would waive the fee and interest charge I received on my latest statement. I opened up an account with Pier I Imports in November because the cashier talked me into it.

I charged $247.00 and when I received my statement the following month, I paid it in full online and closed my account. I was surprised to get a new statement yesterday with a late fee and interest charge of $37.00.

The manager I spoke to today told me that my payment was received 2 days after the closing statement and I'm responsible in paying this amount. He would not waive these charges when I asked him. Looks like this is how they do business with everyone! RIGHT?

GC June 21, 2021

I had the same thing happen. I paid off my account or so I thought. I didn't receive statements until recently in 2021 and saw that supposedly I had a balance of $34.60 which had accrued massive late charges and now is $243.00 to pay off. I wrote to the BBB about not receiving the statements until the charges were sky high for what? I don't know and the BBB said they were satisfied with Comenitie's response. It is NOT right! I have no idea what the heck happened with this account. So now I'm stuck paying the $243 balance for an original balance I left on my account of $34.60. Such an absolute disgrace this company is. I DON'T TRUST THEM!

Jesse James used a gun to rob people
October 22, 2019

I purchased $1300 from Frontgate in August and sent the balance

Via mail one week before the due date. Mail from Texarkana Texas to San Antonio, Tex shouldn’t take a week. They posted the account on the 6th, one day after the due date and tacked on a

$27.56 interest and $27.00 late charge. I called and was told they could make an one time refund. I received the bill this month and was hit with $27.00 late charge, interest $1.00, and $12.00 from previous balance. They claim I agreed to a partial refund of the

Late charge of $15.00 leaving a balance of $12.00 and they had it on voice recorder although I wasn’t allow to list to the recording.

In Turkey they cut off the right hand of thieves.

Crooks
July 5, 2019

I have had an account with Kay Jewelers since 2017 financed with this bank. I have not changed accounts in many years so the account information has never changed. I have all accounts set up on auto-pay. Over the past couple of months I noticed my payments being near doubled. I attempted to get clarification on this and it is IMPOSSIBLE!!!!!!!

They keep adding finance charges or late fees.........Keep in mind its ALL auto-pay so how can I be late? I will NEVER EVER finance from this bank again. I would not even purchase if I know it is through this bank. They should be shut down as they are ripping off the public!

Scam
November 17, 2018
Comenity is a total scam. Had fraud on my account and they ruined my credit score as a result. I’ve nevet dealt with a more unprofessional and unethical company in my entire life.

Comentity Capital Bank
April 8, 2018
Unless you would like terrible customer services, rude employees that are merely collecting a paycheck, and highly unethical practices. I would highly CAUTION you to do your business elsewhere

All the negatives are CORRECT!
February 19, 2018

I got my card through the casino.. All the happy go LUCKY feelings.. Didn't last long. I kept paying my account off. Well they did not process a payment timely. $30 service fee.. I called and they could give a crap less. So they hit me again for another $30 fee on the first $30 fee.

They said it was VISA's policy to charge under their license. Now I have been late by accident with all including other VISA cards. Explained the issues and no problem, they refused deed me the fee. WARNING to all thinking about thinking about getting a card through this bank... RUN!

Your better off going through someone who gives a crap about you, and of course your money. If Caesars is their bank I'm very disappointed in them too. Caesars and Harrah's needs someone else to represent them!

Finance charges or highway robbery?
December 19, 2017
I have a credit card for Woman Within through Comodity bank. I have been paying and paying wondering why my balance doesn't seem to go down. I finally looked at my entire statement........for every $25 I pay, they charge me $12! So......I will be paying the balance off in the next month or so and not buying anything else on that charge card!

AdrianMunzell February 19, 2018

Make sure you send the Special Secured (lol) email to cancel the account.. I kept telling me to use their secure email. I responded that's how you're reading the email. After being jerked around I finally figured out how to send the email. Good riddens... Loser bank!

my fault paid wrong bill BUT 1475.43 is NOT comenity's money
July 7, 2017

Comenity has 1475.43 of my money and it seems like I will have to get a lawyer to get it back. (My fault I paid the wrong credit card while I did NOT owe anything to comenity BUT this banks's employees and customer service say I will get back my money in 3 to 5 business day, then I was told 5 to 7, then I was told 21 days and I have also been told 90 days.. I had my bank fax them and still no returned money.

They should be shut down.

DEBRA KEY December 09, 2017

The only way to combat Comenity Bank is to stop doing business with the very merchants that use their service. If you are not willing to stand your ground on your principles then don't complain. I to had to bite the bullet with a Jared account through Comenity Bank but I stood my ground, something you are not willing to do. If enough consumers stop doing business with these merchants they would not use Comenity. Stop doing business or stop complaining.

Not a good bank to deal with
June 13, 2017

Dishonest to the core.. I had a store credit card through Comenity bank. The store had financial issues and would not honor the rewards earned. I called Comenity customer service and they suggested closing the account because the rewards earned were useless and there would be no more rewards with this card. I took their advice.

A week later they allowed redemption of rewards but said since I closed the account I forfeited all the rewards. I informed them that they directed me to do so. Their replay "to bad" nothing we can do. My advice don't business with scammers. Even the cashiers at the store which was still in business selling goods felt bad about the way the store and Comenity scammed everyone.

And yes using the Comenity credit card was still fine even though most probably didn't know that were not receiving any rewards which was the entire incentive for having the card in the first place.

Harrassing phone calls,legal threats, closed good standing accounts
March 27, 2017
This horrible bank, because of one bad credit account, closed good standing credit accounts because they owned the creditors. Also received harassing phone calls and legal threats from this bank. I don't recommend this bank to anyone for any reason.