Comenity Bank Reviews

Comenity Bank
( 116 reviews )
Website: Comenity.com

Comenity Bank Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

All The Bad Reviews Are Accurate!
January 29, 2020

If I could give this bank a negative -10 rating I would. All the bad reviews here are so on spot. I just hung up with a manager from Comenity Bank to see if they would waive the fee and interest charge I received on my latest statement. I opened up an account with Pier I Imports in November because the cashier talked me into it.

I charged $247.00 and when I received my statement the following month, I paid it in full online and closed my account. I was surprised to get a new statement yesterday with a late fee and interest charge of $37.00.

The manager I spoke to today told me that my payment was received 2 days after the closing statement and I'm responsible in paying this amount. He would not waive these charges when I asked him. Looks like this is how they do business with everyone! RIGHT?

GC June 21, 2021

I had the same thing happen. I paid off my account or so I thought. I didn't receive statements until recently in 2021 and saw that supposedly I had a balance of $34.60 which had accrued massive late charges and now is $243.00 to pay off. I wrote to the BBB about not receiving the statements until the charges were sky high for what? I don't know and the BBB said they were satisfied with Comenitie's response. It is NOT right! I have no idea what the heck happened with this account. So now I'm stuck paying the $243 balance for an original balance I left on my account of $34.60. Such an absolute disgrace this company is. I DON'T TRUST THEM!

Jesse James used a gun to rob people
October 22, 2019

I purchased $1300 from Frontgate in August and sent the balance

Via mail one week before the due date. Mail from Texarkana Texas to San Antonio, Tex shouldn’t take a week. They posted the account on the 6th, one day after the due date and tacked on a

$27.56 interest and $27.00 late charge. I called and was told they could make an one time refund. I received the bill this month and was hit with $27.00 late charge, interest $1.00, and $12.00 from previous balance. They claim I agreed to a partial refund of the

Late charge of $15.00 leaving a balance of $12.00 and they had it on voice recorder although I wasn’t allow to list to the recording.

In Turkey they cut off the right hand of thieves.

Crooks
July 5, 2019

I have had an account with Kay Jewelers since 2017 financed with this bank. I have not changed accounts in many years so the account information has never changed. I have all accounts set up on auto-pay. Over the past couple of months I noticed my payments being near doubled. I attempted to get clarification on this and it is IMPOSSIBLE!!!!!!!

They keep adding finance charges or late fees.........Keep in mind its ALL auto-pay so how can I be late? I will NEVER EVER finance from this bank again. I would not even purchase if I know it is through this bank. They should be shut down as they are ripping off the public!

Scam
November 17, 2018
Comenity is a total scam. Had fraud on my account and they ruined my credit score as a result. I’ve nevet dealt with a more unprofessional and unethical company in my entire life.

Comentity Capital Bank
April 8, 2018
Unless you would like terrible customer services, rude employees that are merely collecting a paycheck, and highly unethical practices. I would highly CAUTION you to do your business elsewhere

All the negatives are CORRECT!
February 19, 2018

I got my card through the casino.. All the happy go LUCKY feelings.. Didn't last long. I kept paying my account off. Well they did not process a payment timely. $30 service fee.. I called and they could give a crap less. So they hit me again for another $30 fee on the first $30 fee.

They said it was VISA's policy to charge under their license. Now I have been late by accident with all including other VISA cards. Explained the issues and no problem, they refused deed me the fee. WARNING to all thinking about thinking about getting a card through this bank... RUN!

Your better off going through someone who gives a crap about you, and of course your money. If Caesars is their bank I'm very disappointed in them too. Caesars and Harrah's needs someone else to represent them!

dclaudew July 31, 2022

You must send in minimum ACH payments and many of them. Comenity will be slow to process some ACHs. Comenity will lose some ACHs. But, miracle, Comenity will process some ACHs (about 1/3 for me) saving you from the interest and fees.

Finance charges or highway robbery?
December 19, 2017
I have a credit card for Woman Within through Comodity bank. I have been paying and paying wondering why my balance doesn't seem to go down. I finally looked at my entire statement........for every $25 I pay, they charge me $12! So......I will be paying the balance off in the next month or so and not buying anything else on that charge card!

AdrianMunzell February 19, 2018

Make sure you send the Special Secured (lol) email to cancel the account.. I kept telling me to use their secure email. I responded that's how you're reading the email. After being jerked around I finally figured out how to send the email. Good riddens... Loser bank!

dclaudew July 31, 2022

Definitely close your Comenity cards if you can figure out how to do so.

my fault paid wrong bill BUT 1475.43 is NOT comenity's money
July 7, 2017

Comenity has 1475.43 of my money and it seems like I will have to get a lawyer to get it back. (My fault I paid the wrong credit card while I did NOT owe anything to comenity BUT this banks's employees and customer service say I will get back my money in 3 to 5 business day, then I was told 5 to 7, then I was told 21 days and I have also been told 90 days.. I had my bank fax them and still no returned money.

They should be shut down.

DEBRA KEY December 09, 2017

The only way to combat Comenity Bank is to stop doing business with the very merchants that use their service. If you are not willing to stand your ground on your principles then don't complain. I to had to bite the bullet with a Jared account through Comenity Bank but I stood my ground, something you are not willing to do. If enough consumers stop doing business with these merchants they would not use Comenity. Stop doing business or stop complaining.

dclaudew July 31, 2022

The above comment is harassment. Linda should not be attacked in a Reviewopedia review.

JohnWinters October 03, 2022

Get action... Contact the Consumer Financial Bureau (CFB).

Send payments via Certified or Registered Mail Return Receipt and with cover letter and account information.

Not a good bank to deal with
June 13, 2017

Dishonest to the core.. I had a store credit card through Comenity bank. The store had financial issues and would not honor the rewards earned. I called Comenity customer service and they suggested closing the account because the rewards earned were useless and there would be no more rewards with this card. I took their advice.

A week later they allowed redemption of rewards but said since I closed the account I forfeited all the rewards. I informed them that they directed me to do so. Their replay "to bad" nothing we can do. My advice don't business with scammers. Even the cashiers at the store which was still in business selling goods felt bad about the way the store and Comenity scammed everyone.

And yes using the Comenity credit card was still fine even though most probably didn't know that were not receiving any rewards which was the entire incentive for having the card in the first place.

dclaudew July 31, 2022

I have not received my $150 Comenity reward.

Harrassing phone calls,legal threats, closed good standing accounts
March 27, 2017
This horrible bank, because of one bad credit account, closed good standing credit accounts because they owned the creditors. Also received harassing phone calls and legal threats from this bank. I don't recommend this bank to anyone for any reason.

dclaudew July 31, 2022

I can't make contact with Comenity. I would not rely on this post as confirmation that Conmenity has human employees.

Unethical bank
May 23, 2015

This is organized crime operating as a bank, apparently allowed by regulators in this corporate-controlled country. They engage in multiple unethical practices:

- They hold statements long after the statement closing date so that the consumer has little opportunity to pay timely.

- They don't respond to consumer complaints.

- They sometimes levy a minimum charge which is in addition to any legitimate charges, instead of the legitimate method of it being the part of the balance you are required to pay as a minimum.

sarrita April 19, 2017

I agree, very unethical bank and would put small conditions in the contract of "online" statement if you sign up for paperless to take more money out of you.

dclaudew July 31, 2022

Comenity does not seem willing to process a paper check timely. My check has been lost in the mail for 3 weeks. Comenity blames the mailman. Hey, I've been a Christmas mailman as a teenager, so I know the mail people don't lose letters.

Comenity Bank Ripoff Bank
December 7, 2014

I opened accounts with Comenity Bank beginning in July of this year. I received a total of 30 credit cards with this bank and had so many cards they gave me, I had to close around 10 of them on my own. For whatever reason, every time I applied for a card, it would go to their “fraud” department.

I was required to answer 3 simple questions from public record and they would almost always approve me. I used maybe 10 or so cards giving this back at the very least 3,000 dollars always paying on time and always paying at least the minimum payment. I applied for a Game Stop card, and that’s when the fun begins. I got a very nasty, sarcastic and disrespectful supervisor who didn’t do a thing for me when I told her when I call and I correctly answer your 3 questions to verify it is in fact myself who applied, then got declined anyway. I had asked for a supervisor who IMO thought could get me approved anyway she did absolutely nothing for me at all. I yelled at her not screaming or cursing at her mind you, just raising my voice, and after I was done, she goes, “that’s ok, I’ll fix your a*s”. A couple of days later, ALL 30 of my accounts were closed. They “claim” they needed to verify that I was, in fact, the one who applied for the cards. They advised me to send them a copy of my drivers license, social security card and utility bill.

I did this immediately priority mail. They received it according to the USPS records and I heard nothing back from them. I kept calling them to see what happened to the paperwork and all they could do was humor me. I finally got a very nice supervisor on the phone who re-opened my accounts, But they only stayed opened for about a couple of days, then they were all closed again. About 3 weeks go by, again nothing, so I re-send the paperwork again priority mail (were going over ten dollars just in mail) FINALLY almost 2 months go by, they tell me the address I sent the paperwork to is only their mailing address and they forward the paperwork to the correct address. Finally after almost 2 months, I called them and they told me they tried calling me (which they never did, caller ID doesn’t lie) and tried to contact the electric company and they couldn’t verify my information.

When I called the electric company they immediately verified I had an account and it was in good standing never late once in the 2 years I had service with them. Next thing I know, I get 20 letters that my accounts are being permanently closed because of “security issues” despite I have already proven time and again to them I am indeed who I say I am not only verifying this in the initial application process, but also sending them copies of my drivers license, social security card and utility bills. I was so proud of these cards, used them properly doing the right thing paying them on time and STILLED got screwed. You know, sometimes you wonder if doing the “right” thing is the right thing. I always thought you were suppose to have a relationship with you bank, but in this case, it is the bank who screwed me! To add insult to injury, I have to pay these morons back, otherwise they will really screw me!

DO NOT USE Comenity Bank! They also charge 26% APR, but I didn’t care because in the beginning I thought they were the best bank in the country. The bank is garbage, the people who work there are garbage and worse than that they use a PO box for all their correspondence and have no street address. Just remember every single card I have with them is being treated with responsibility and maturity

dclaudew July 31, 2022

Part of this comment is true: "The bank is garbage, the people who work there are garbage, and worse than that they use a PO box for all their correspondence." Comenity probably has a street address. Why anyone would have 30 Comenity cards and yell at the CSRs is a mystery. I'd be delighted for Comenity to close my single account. As it is, what Comenity does best is to lose my payments, preventing me from closing.

Terrible Customer Service
April 10, 2014

This Bank issues credit cards and charges a $49.00 fee if you simply apply for a card. Even if you never activate or use the card they still refuse to waive this fee if you request the waiver after 30 days from your application acceptance. You have to pay for something you never used and did not activate.

Very Poor way to attract new customers.

dclaudew July 31, 2022

Comenity is indeed terrible, but I have not experienced the $49 in 2022. Perhaps the charge is lurking.

No account with Comenity but they continously use phone to harass me even after they were communicated with
January 11, 2014

Comenity continously call my work phone for collections even though I have never had an account with them. When I communicated with them (which was extremely difficult and time consuming) they essentially told me there was nothing they could do about the calls until someone paid the account.

Since I have never had any business dealing with I have no liability to pay whatsoever. However, they "undertone" that was used was that if i wanted the calls to stop, I would have to pay the account even though it was not a committment that I made.

They also tried to get my SSN, presumabable so that they could report the credit issue on my account.

Be very careful dealing with this business as my dealing s with them indicate that they have extremely low business ethics.

Kimberly Shipley March 06, 2015

I received a notice today and do NOT have an accounty with them. Any idea where to report to?

Dave November 16, 2016

I also had the same thing happen to me and my sister in Indiana who has a different last name from mine (she is married) also did not have a credit card with them. They sent me a letter saying they had put a "hold" on my credit card. I called them and told them I had never had a credit card with them and they sent me a "Fraud" form which I filled out and mailed back. Then I got a bill from Forever 21 with a $27 late fee and a total amount due of over $200. I will send a letter to Forever 21 because I went on line and could not fine a phone no. for customer service or "contact us" email address.

This looks bigger than the 3 of us!

dclaudew July 31, 2022

Comenity is a fraud. It is not a real bank. Except for a functional home page, Comenity doesn't seem to be a real online merchant. Comenity does not take phone calls (rather, the CSRs do not service). Comenity does not cash paper checks in a timely manner. An ACH works some of the time, so send in several to get one to clear. Comenity generally gives an immediate confirmation number to an ACH, then loses the ACH.

Poor customer support
September 24, 2013
As a credit card, they work fine. No big deal there. However, when I had a recent issue and needed to speak to a real human the trouble began. Their phone line was an endless running voice tree that ultimately disconnects you. Nearly impossible to get a real, live, breathing, English speaking, knowledgeable, and friendly human on the line. If that is important to you, you may want to look elsewhere.

dclaudew July 31, 2022

This is nonsense. The Comenity cards do not work except for accrued interest and late fees.

Comenity Bank promotes ID theft
August 1, 2013
Comenity calls itself a small bank when it is investigating fraud, yet it handles 28 million credit card accounts according to this article. It grants credit online to ID thieves easily and does little to help the victim afterward. It does not accept blame for its part in the fraud, but points its finger at the police and at the credit reporting bureaus. Boycott the businesses who use Comenity and you will help millions of ID fraud victims.

Coco225 November 13, 2013

This is the worst credit card on the planet. If you do finally get a warm body, they have NO CLUE at all. I sent them a good will letter via email, yes i was a little bit bad, but not really. i wanted to send everything back and wait for the final bill, which was ok with the first person I spoke with. i did all that, paid the final bill, and they still reported me late, which is why the good will letter. Of course i got an email back saying to contact them, so i tried again last night. not only did the person on the other end have no clue, he said he was going to switch me to someone else, so i wait on hold 8 minutes 14 seconds and no one answered. I hung up, and tried snail mail. we'll see if they "get it"

Coco225 November 13, 2013

ooops! I forgot this part: they reported me late for a $29 payment, costing me 32 points on my cr