Comenity Bank Reviews

Comenity Bank
( 123 reviews )
Website: Comenity.com

Comenity Bank Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Beware of Comenity Bank
June 21, 2021

Reading these reviews on Comenity Bank makes me ill. I've had the same thing happen to me. Thinking my account was paid in full, I received a statement months later into 2021 showing I had an initial balance of $34.60 (for what, I don't know) additional $200 in late fees because I never paid off the $34.60.

I had no idea an amount was still due on my WAYFAIR card. One of the times I paid off my card I sent a request to cancel the account but that never happened. I reported Comenity Bank/Wayfair to the BBB and because Comenity Bank says they mailed out my statements each month, BBB is ok with their response.

Sounds like the additional charges happen constantly. Also, the date on my response from Comenity Bank letter is 6/2/2021 with a balance due of $198.60 due by June 7, 2021 but I didn't receive the letter until the 16th so now they've tacked on another $40.00.

I would really think twice about getting a credit card from Comenity. They are not customer friendly and rip you off. I have no clue what happened but all these late charges started accruing in 2020 - 2021.

Cannot help but feel they've taken advantage of their customers.

LG August 17, 2021

Same thing here with my Forever 21 card!

dclaudew July 31, 2022

Same thing with my Appliances Connection card. Appliances Connection delivered and installed my two refrigerators. I'm happy with Appliances Connection. Comenity Bank "loses" my prompt payments, blaming the lost checks on the mailman and lost direct deposits on a "technical glitch."

The direct deposits get confirmation numbers but the ACHs get lost before being credited. No other bank to my knowledge hides from receiving and processing money. Isn't incoming money the goal of a successful bank?

Don't get a trek credit card
September 21, 2020

I found my experience with dealing with their customer service awful. They seemed to have mastered the art of avoiding you. I felt like the promotional expiration date was hidden from me and they seem to not care at all. After being an excellent customer for them all year I found them to be inflexible and unwilling to look at themselves.

I will continue to dispute my unfair charge. At one point in my process they did not contact me back for 10 days. I will not use anything that has to do with comenity again.

dclaudew July 31, 2022

The CSRs don't seem to have any power to help. The CSRs get the same "technical glitch" that customers get when customers try to pay online.

What just happened?
September 21, 2020
I've had a wayfair-Comenity card for many years. Out of the blue I received a Comenity MasterCard with vague information that state this card is replacing my Wayfair card. I have tried to find info online as to interest rate, fees, credit limit, etc. I just end up in a never-ending loop. I'm skeptical that this is valid. I cut the card up.

dclaudew July 31, 2022

You did well to cut the card. Now encase the fragments in concrete before dropping the solidified mass overboard.

Josh August 03, 2022

Go voice your concerns at their LinkedIn page, that's where all the Execs are! Comment on every one of their posts until they resolved this! The CEO is Ralph Andretta https://www.linkedin.com/in/ralph-andretta/ Comenity is a subsidiary of Alliance Data which becomes Bread Financial. https://www.linkedin.com/company/bread-financial/

SHAME THEM UNTIL THEY FIX THEIR SCAM PRACTICES. They can't get away with this!

Legal Assistance Needed
June 26, 2020

I got a Comenity Master Card from BJ's in Olean, NY. I signed onto my account to pay off my account. I had to put in my banking information from my actual bank. But, because that information isn't available online from my bank, I had to call my legitimate bank to get the routing and account numbers.

With my legitimate bank on the phone, I put all the information in to pay the card. Several weeks later, I sign in to check and see that my payment was returned because my legitimate bank refused payment. I called my legitimate bank and there was no record of of the transaction, and my bank said they did not refuse any payment. Again, with my bank on the phone, we put all the information in exactly the same, this time it worked.

Now, Comenity is charging a $29 return fee. Being that I had my bank on the phone both times to ensure I was putting in the correct information, I have to believe that the issue was their system. I can't help but wonder if this is intentional.

LG August 17, 2021

I've seen other people say this on other review sites.

JohnWinters October 03, 2022

Get action... Contact the Consumer Financial Bureau (CFB).

Send payments via Certified or Registered Mail Return Receipt and with cover letter and account information.

Customer? Who cares.
June 18, 2020

Comenity Bank runs IKEA Visa. My wife attempted to purchase a single fitness watch through Online Fitness. They padded the order, selling her three watches and some kind of fitness service that she didn't want. We called them to attempt to cancel the order only to be put on hold from their phone menu for about a half hour until it hung up on me.

I called IKEA card services who told me that they couldn't do anything until it fully posted. They could have simply denied the charges and it would have been done. After it posted, they provisionally credited the amount, but then reversed the credits because online fitness sent copies of how they padded the order, blaming my wife.

When the order arrived, I called Comenity and was told to return it unopened. I did so, but Comenity allowed the charges anyway. I am now out almost $80 with nothing to show for it. Comenity helped MY Online Fitness to perpetrate the fraud, just so they could get my money. I will no longer use any Comenity card nor will I shop at IKEA until they get rid of these crooks.

Very Unprofessional Bank
June 3, 2020
Will be reporting this bank to the federal organization that controls/oversees banks. Predatory lending policies. Very poor customer relations. Very difficult to contact anyone in this bank that can/will help one with their concerns. Phone calls not returned. Written correspondence not answered. I hope they get a good review and cease to operate.

Got phone call from them
May 20, 2020

Well, it sounded like a pre recording with automated elements. No one talks like Ann..From..Commenity Bank...

Sounds like a scam. Smells like a scam. Probably a scam.

All The Bad Reviews Are Accurate!
January 29, 2020

If I could give this bank a negative -10 rating I would. All the bad reviews here are so on spot. I just hung up with a manager from Comenity Bank to see if they would waive the fee and interest charge I received on my latest statement. I opened up an account with Pier I Imports in November because the cashier talked me into it.

I charged $247.00 and when I received my statement the following month, I paid it in full online and closed my account. I was surprised to get a new statement yesterday with a late fee and interest charge of $37.00.

The manager I spoke to today told me that my payment was received 2 days after the closing statement and I'm responsible in paying this amount. He would not waive these charges when I asked him. Looks like this is how they do business with everyone! RIGHT?

GC June 21, 2021

I had the same thing happen. I paid off my account or so I thought. I didn't receive statements until recently in 2021 and saw that supposedly I had a balance of $34.60 which had accrued massive late charges and now is $243.00 to pay off. I wrote to the BBB about not receiving the statements until the charges were sky high for what? I don't know and the BBB said they were satisfied with Comenitie's response. It is NOT right! I have no idea what the heck happened with this account. So now I'm stuck paying the $243 balance for an original balance I left on my account of $34.60. Such an absolute disgrace this company is. I DON'T TRUST THEM!

Jesse James used a gun to rob people
October 22, 2019

I purchased $1300 from Frontgate in August and sent the balance

Via mail one week before the due date. Mail from Texarkana Texas to San Antonio, Tex shouldn’t take a week. They posted the account on the 6th, one day after the due date and tacked on a

$27.56 interest and $27.00 late charge. I called and was told they could make an one time refund. I received the bill this month and was hit with $27.00 late charge, interest $1.00, and $12.00 from previous balance. They claim I agreed to a partial refund of the

Late charge of $15.00 leaving a balance of $12.00 and they had it on voice recorder although I wasn’t allow to list to the recording.

In Turkey they cut off the right hand of thieves.

Crooks
July 5, 2019

I have had an account with Kay Jewelers since 2017 financed with this bank. I have not changed accounts in many years so the account information has never changed. I have all accounts set up on auto-pay. Over the past couple of months I noticed my payments being near doubled. I attempted to get clarification on this and it is IMPOSSIBLE!!!!!!!

They keep adding finance charges or late fees.........Keep in mind its ALL auto-pay so how can I be late? I will NEVER EVER finance from this bank again. I would not even purchase if I know it is through this bank. They should be shut down as they are ripping off the public!

Scam
November 17, 2018
Comenity is a total scam. Had fraud on my account and they ruined my credit score as a result. I’ve nevet dealt with a more unprofessional and unethical company in my entire life.

Comentity Capital Bank
April 8, 2018
Unless you would like terrible customer services, rude employees that are merely collecting a paycheck, and highly unethical practices. I would highly CAUTION you to do your business elsewhere

All the negatives are CORRECT!
February 19, 2018

I got my card through the casino.. All the happy go LUCKY feelings.. Didn't last long. I kept paying my account off. Well they did not process a payment timely. $30 service fee.. I called and they could give a crap less. So they hit me again for another $30 fee on the first $30 fee.

They said it was VISA's policy to charge under their license. Now I have been late by accident with all including other VISA cards. Explained the issues and no problem, they refused deed me the fee. WARNING to all thinking about thinking about getting a card through this bank... RUN!

Your better off going through someone who gives a crap about you, and of course your money. If Caesars is their bank I'm very disappointed in them too. Caesars and Harrah's needs someone else to represent them!

dclaudew July 31, 2022

You must send in minimum ACH payments and many of them. Comenity will be slow to process some ACHs. Comenity will lose some ACHs. But, miracle, Comenity will process some ACHs (about 1/3 for me) saving you from the interest and fees.

Finance charges or highway robbery?
December 19, 2017
I have a credit card for Woman Within through Comodity bank. I have been paying and paying wondering why my balance doesn't seem to go down. I finally looked at my entire statement........for every $25 I pay, they charge me $12! So......I will be paying the balance off in the next month or so and not buying anything else on that charge card!

AdrianMunzell February 19, 2018

Make sure you send the Special Secured (lol) email to cancel the account.. I kept telling me to use their secure email. I responded that's how you're reading the email. After being jerked around I finally figured out how to send the email. Good riddens... Loser bank!

dclaudew July 31, 2022

Definitely close your Comenity cards if you can figure out how to do so.

my fault paid wrong bill BUT 1475.43 is NOT comenity's money
July 7, 2017

Comenity has 1475.43 of my money and it seems like I will have to get a lawyer to get it back. (My fault I paid the wrong credit card while I did NOT owe anything to comenity BUT this banks's employees and customer service say I will get back my money in 3 to 5 business day, then I was told 5 to 7, then I was told 21 days and I have also been told 90 days.. I had my bank fax them and still no returned money.

They should be shut down.

DEBRA KEY December 09, 2017

The only way to combat Comenity Bank is to stop doing business with the very merchants that use their service. If you are not willing to stand your ground on your principles then don't complain. I to had to bite the bullet with a Jared account through Comenity Bank but I stood my ground, something you are not willing to do. If enough consumers stop doing business with these merchants they would not use Comenity. Stop doing business or stop complaining.

dclaudew July 31, 2022

The above comment is harassment. Linda should not be attacked in a Reviewopedia review.

JohnWinters October 03, 2022

Get action... Contact the Consumer Financial Bureau (CFB).

Send payments via Certified or Registered Mail Return Receipt and with cover letter and account information.

Not a good bank to deal with
June 13, 2017

Dishonest to the core.. I had a store credit card through Comenity bank. The store had financial issues and would not honor the rewards earned. I called Comenity customer service and they suggested closing the account because the rewards earned were useless and there would be no more rewards with this card. I took their advice.

A week later they allowed redemption of rewards but said since I closed the account I forfeited all the rewards. I informed them that they directed me to do so. Their replay "to bad" nothing we can do. My advice don't business with scammers. Even the cashiers at the store which was still in business selling goods felt bad about the way the store and Comenity scammed everyone.

And yes using the Comenity credit card was still fine even though most probably didn't know that were not receiving any rewards which was the entire incentive for having the card in the first place.

dclaudew July 31, 2022

I have not received my $150 Comenity reward.

Harrassing phone calls,legal threats, closed good standing accounts
March 27, 2017
This horrible bank, because of one bad credit account, closed good standing credit accounts because they owned the creditors. Also received harassing phone calls and legal threats from this bank. I don't recommend this bank to anyone for any reason.

dclaudew July 31, 2022

I can't make contact with Comenity. I would not rely on this post as confirmation that Conmenity has human employees.

Unethical bank
May 23, 2015

This is organized crime operating as a bank, apparently allowed by regulators in this corporate-controlled country. They engage in multiple unethical practices:

- They hold statements long after the statement closing date so that the consumer has little opportunity to pay timely.

- They don't respond to consumer complaints.

- They sometimes levy a minimum charge which is in addition to any legitimate charges, instead of the legitimate method of it being the part of the balance you are required to pay as a minimum.

sarrita April 19, 2017

I agree, very unethical bank and would put small conditions in the contract of "online" statement if you sign up for paperless to take more money out of you.

dclaudew July 31, 2022

Comenity does not seem willing to process a paper check timely. My check has been lost in the mail for 3 weeks. Comenity blames the mailman. Hey, I've been a Christmas mailman as a teenager, so I know the mail people don't lose letters.

Comenity Bank Ripoff Bank
December 7, 2014

I opened accounts with Comenity Bank beginning in July of this year. I received a total of 30 credit cards with this bank and had so many cards they gave me, I had to close around 10 of them on my own. For whatever reason, every time I applied for a card, it would go to their “fraud” department.

I was required to answer 3 simple questions from public record and they would almost always approve me. I used maybe 10 or so cards giving this back at the very least 3,000 dollars always paying on time and always paying at least the minimum payment. I applied for a Game Stop card, and that’s when the fun begins. I got a very nasty, sarcastic and disrespectful supervisor who didn’t do a thing for me when I told her when I call and I correctly answer your 3 questions to verify it is in fact myself who applied, then got declined anyway. I had asked for a supervisor who IMO thought could get me approved anyway she did absolutely nothing for me at all. I yelled at her not screaming or cursing at her mind you, just raising my voice, and after I was done, she goes, “that’s ok, I’ll fix your a*s”. A couple of days later, ALL 30 of my accounts were closed. They “claim” they needed to verify that I was, in fact, the one who applied for the cards. They advised me to send them a copy of my drivers license, social security card and utility bill.

I did this immediately priority mail. They received it according to the USPS records and I heard nothing back from them. I kept calling them to see what happened to the paperwork and all they could do was humor me. I finally got a very nice supervisor on the phone who re-opened my accounts, But they only stayed opened for about a couple of days, then they were all closed again. About 3 weeks go by, again nothing, so I re-send the paperwork again priority mail (were going over ten dollars just in mail) FINALLY almost 2 months go by, they tell me the address I sent the paperwork to is only their mailing address and they forward the paperwork to the correct address. Finally after almost 2 months, I called them and they told me they tried calling me (which they never did, caller ID doesn’t lie) and tried to contact the electric company and they couldn’t verify my information.

When I called the electric company they immediately verified I had an account and it was in good standing never late once in the 2 years I had service with them. Next thing I know, I get 20 letters that my accounts are being permanently closed because of “security issues” despite I have already proven time and again to them I am indeed who I say I am not only verifying this in the initial application process, but also sending them copies of my drivers license, social security card and utility bills. I was so proud of these cards, used them properly doing the right thing paying them on time and STILLED got screwed. You know, sometimes you wonder if doing the “right” thing is the right thing. I always thought you were suppose to have a relationship with you bank, but in this case, it is the bank who screwed me! To add insult to injury, I have to pay these morons back, otherwise they will really screw me!

DO NOT USE Comenity Bank! They also charge 26% APR, but I didn’t care because in the beginning I thought they were the best bank in the country. The bank is garbage, the people who work there are garbage and worse than that they use a PO box for all their correspondence and have no street address. Just remember every single card I have with them is being treated with responsibility and maturity

dclaudew July 31, 2022

Part of this comment is true: "The bank is garbage, the people who work there are garbage, and worse than that they use a PO box for all their correspondence." Comenity probably has a street address. Why anyone would have 30 Comenity cards and yell at the CSRs is a mystery. I'd be delighted for Comenity to close my single account. As it is, what Comenity does best is to lose my payments, preventing me from closing.

Terrible Customer Service
April 10, 2014

This Bank issues credit cards and charges a $49.00 fee if you simply apply for a card. Even if you never activate or use the card they still refuse to waive this fee if you request the waiver after 30 days from your application acceptance. You have to pay for something you never used and did not activate.

Very Poor way to attract new customers.

dclaudew July 31, 2022

Comenity is indeed terrible, but I have not experienced the $49 in 2022. Perhaps the charge is lurking.