Comenity Bank Reviews

Comenity Bank
( 123 reviews )
Website: Comenity.com

Comenity Bank Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

No account with Comenity but they continously use phone to harass me even after they were communicated with
January 11, 2014

Comenity continously call my work phone for collections even though I have never had an account with them. When I communicated with them (which was extremely difficult and time consuming) they essentially told me there was nothing they could do about the calls until someone paid the account.

Since I have never had any business dealing with I have no liability to pay whatsoever. However, they "undertone" that was used was that if i wanted the calls to stop, I would have to pay the account even though it was not a committment that I made.

They also tried to get my SSN, presumabable so that they could report the credit issue on my account.

Be very careful dealing with this business as my dealing s with them indicate that they have extremely low business ethics.

Kimberly Shipley March 06, 2015

I received a notice today and do NOT have an accounty with them. Any idea where to report to?

Dave November 16, 2016

I also had the same thing happen to me and my sister in Indiana who has a different last name from mine (she is married) also did not have a credit card with them. They sent me a letter saying they had put a "hold" on my credit card. I called them and told them I had never had a credit card with them and they sent me a "Fraud" form which I filled out and mailed back. Then I got a bill from Forever 21 with a $27 late fee and a total amount due of over $200. I will send a letter to Forever 21 because I went on line and could not fine a phone no. for customer service or "contact us" email address.

This looks bigger than the 3 of us!

dclaudew July 31, 2022

Comenity is a fraud. It is not a real bank. Except for a functional home page, Comenity doesn't seem to be a real online merchant. Comenity does not take phone calls (rather, the CSRs do not service). Comenity does not cash paper checks in a timely manner. An ACH works some of the time, so send in several to get one to clear. Comenity generally gives an immediate confirmation number to an ACH, then loses the ACH.

Poor customer support
September 24, 2013
As a credit card, they work fine. No big deal there. However, when I had a recent issue and needed to speak to a real human the trouble began. Their phone line was an endless running voice tree that ultimately disconnects you. Nearly impossible to get a real, live, breathing, English speaking, knowledgeable, and friendly human on the line. If that is important to you, you may want to look elsewhere.

dclaudew July 31, 2022

This is nonsense. The Comenity cards do not work except for accrued interest and late fees.

Comenity Bank promotes ID theft
August 1, 2013
Comenity calls itself a small bank when it is investigating fraud, yet it handles 28 million credit card accounts according to this article. It grants credit online to ID thieves easily and does little to help the victim afterward. It does not accept blame for its part in the fraud, but points its finger at the police and at the credit reporting bureaus. Boycott the businesses who use Comenity and you will help millions of ID fraud victims.

Coco225 November 13, 2013

This is the worst credit card on the planet. If you do finally get a warm body, they have NO CLUE at all. I sent them a good will letter via email, yes i was a little bit bad, but not really. i wanted to send everything back and wait for the final bill, which was ok with the first person I spoke with. i did all that, paid the final bill, and they still reported me late, which is why the good will letter. Of course i got an email back saying to contact them, so i tried again last night. not only did the person on the other end have no clue, he said he was going to switch me to someone else, so i wait on hold 8 minutes 14 seconds and no one answered. I hung up, and tried snail mail. we'll see if they "get it"

Coco225 November 13, 2013

ooops! I forgot this part: they reported me late for a $29 payment, costing me 32 points on my cr