Comenity Bank Reviews

Comenity Bank
( 123 reviews )
Website: Comenity.com

Comenity Bank Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Run! Run fast!
October 16, 2023
The worst company in the world to deal with! Not worth a star

PaulaBlack October 16, 2023

Any card I get I make sure it is not a commenity card. They are terrible, we received 12 calls a day on vacation for 25 dollars. We were on tours and stuff and couldn’t go thru getting the card out and writing down confirmations so we sent it to voicemail and took care of it at the hotel however it was ridiculous. Also beware because of the lawsuits and such they have changed their name to Bread Financial.

RichardMcMahon March 09, 2024

I called Caesar's Rewards customer service and asked them not to renew their contract with them.

FRAUDULENT THIEVES
October 13, 2023

I applied for Dental First insurance plan to pay for dental work in 2019. I was approved for approximately $7,500. Comenity, who oversees Dental First, took $347 out of my bank account automatically for several years (high interest rate), until it was paid off in Dec 2021. I didn't need dental work until now, but find that Comenity closed my account because I didn't need dental work for a period they deemed by whim that I should have had dental work. The $1,000's I paid into this finance plan is now unaccessible and I never received any notice whatsoever to maintain the plan or that Comenity was going to close my account due to my teeth being too health. They will be hearing from my attorney and I am considering a class action lawsuit. STAY AWAY FROM COMENITY: THEY ARE FRAUDULENT THIEVES.

Awful deceptive Company. Stay away from Comenity and AAA cards!
October 3, 2023

I did not sign up for this terrible bank.

I had a credit card with AAA. Well they changed my credit card to this terrible bank.

Right away after the change I figured out how incredibly crooked Comenity bank is. They do not even have an App.

They try to cheat people by making it very hard to find information.

I paid off the entirety and will never do any business with them ever again. These kind of banks should never be allowed to operate. .

Also AAA i am canceling your card After 32 years just because you knew this bank was horrible but you were getting greedy and you thought you could get more interest and late payments from poor people that could not figure out how to find and understand how to pay this crooked scam company. Shame on you AAA for not caring anymore either.

Don’t use community bank terrible customer service
September 27, 2023
Tried dealing with comenity directly for 3 months . I bought flooring from floor decor have the receipt as proof I was given 0% for 18 months in March of 2023 I’ve been getting charged 29.99% every month they make you use there dispute center online I sent receipt several messsages said it will take 90 days well 91st day and I get a message back there’s no dispute open. Telling me to do the whole process again. Mind you I have several messages going back and forth so I paid the card off everything without the interest they charged me. I will dispute with credit bureau I’m hiring a lawyer and I will go to the news. The store itself floor decor got hung up on and there’s nothing they can do. I have my proof and I will not let them get away with this not even a star rating

RichardMcMahon March 09, 2024

I filed a dispute with them last July and they did nothing but kept telling that the dispute was still open but one is not supposed to pay any interest on account with a dispute. They will have to really improve to earn 1*. They were good though I getting people to call me early in the morning about the disputed charge.

The Worst
September 25, 2023

They are shameless thieves...I was supposed to have paid my Ulta card in full and after paying it off they charged me an interest of $2 which rose in three months to $79 dollars because they never sent letters or emails or text messages.

They are the worst for credit cards, I don't recommend it. They are rats.

NC_3 October 30, 2023

They burned me too my same acct no I used pay mthly also I pd more then minim pymt I was charged late fee I never late I just had pay again I closed pd acct off last mth .

Not right do people like this then they lowered my c limit last mth I always pd on app I push button says pay now my info my acct saved they said I was 1 number off it’s saved there own app I struggle w few mths I had make pymts on also . Everyone pay attention stsy cleared this company they thieves liers

Incompetent Credit Card Company
August 17, 2023
Do not bother with a Talbots credit card from Comenity Bank. Due to a clerical error, they began drafting my bank account for someone else's credit card. When the error was discovered, they gave me credit on my account (which conveniently for them, requires me to spend money) but refuse to issue a check or credit back to my bank account. They are totally incompetent.

Beware
August 15, 2023
Just like everyone else I would give 0 stars if I could. Worst bank ever and I am over 50 years old so I have experience with banks. If you ever think about getting a credit card from this bank don't. You will have more issues resolving your problems than it is worth. They may even ruin your credit and no one including corporate wants to resolve any issues. There are other options out there and better institutions.

Absolutely Horrible
August 7, 2023
If I could give less than one star I would. Comenity Bank is absolutely horrible to deal with or even talk to. I had a Comenity Bank card for a store credit card. I initially canceled my account because I don't agree with the residual interest practices they employ. The "customer service" employees they hire are very difficult to speak with due to very thick accents. I will never do business with Comenity bank again. Buyer beware.

A DISGRACE OF A BANK
August 3, 2023

In 50ty years of banking this bank is the WORST banking experience I have ever had ,of the 20 banks I have dealt with this one is rock bottom.I gave it a one star rating,if I could of I would of gave it a MINUS 5 !!!

I owed them like 45 cents and the charged me a fine of $16 plus interest ! I filed a complaint notice and got no response.

When I got this ridiculous charge I paid it the next day just to get rid of it and then they hit me with a late charge and more interest !!! Their processing department must be the pony express.

DO NOT OPEN AN ACCOUNT WITH THIS BANK, BE AFRAID BE VERY AFRAID !!!

Robs customers with sneaky interest charges.
August 2, 2023

Comenity Bank finds new ways to rob customers and charge interests that are not easy to understand, especially when you have the B&H Credit Card and choose the 12-month financing option. Be careful and ALWAYS ALWAYS review your statements before making the payments.

Good Sam's Reward Visa SCAM
July 31, 2023
Sent me a letter stating the credit card I had applied for was turned down. Good Sam's Reward Visa. I never applied for such a thing. There were no phone numbers on the letter and I had to look them up on-line. There was a number on the letter that they referenced and then to close the application, they wanted ME to verify all my information. PHISHING SCAM

Do not trust this trash company
July 25, 2023
I'm only giving them 1 star because I cannot give them less. I have a GameStop card I have had it for years. I have never missed a payment, I also do not use the card often but I keep it open in case I do want to use it as I have done in the past. They send me a message on GameStop saying it was closed. I write them back and tell them I want it open. They write back and tell me it's not closed but it's going to be unless I give them permission to look at my credit again. On an open account with no issues!! I have no negative credit nothing like that. Trash company! Also maybe speak to your local stores and see if the have another financial option for you.

Worst Bank ever
July 22, 2023
Comenity Bank is the worst Bank to deal with, they only care about taking money from you. They charge me $547.99 as fees for one month, and I pay my card automatically every single month. Don't take any card from them, you will regret it!

Comenity bank is scam bank and will destroy your credit
July 20, 2023
Do not apply for any kind of credit card unless you know what bank is being used for the credit. Comenity bank is a scam bank and will continue to charge you so called ‘late fees’ long after you closed the account. They are also collections so they will turn it over to collections while you have no idea you owe money to a closed account. Complete scam.

Cathy October 12, 2023

I am having this exact same issue.

They should be more tolerant
July 19, 2023
This bank cannot be trusted, they do not care what happens to the client, they finance the FLOOR & Decor cards and they do not care if you had a problem when making a purchase in the store due to their mistake, since they did not have the specialized person to correctly calculate the necessary tiles for a whole house, even so they did not care and nobody wanted to listen, they only charged you the interest even after finishing paying more money for that error, now they cancel my card even though I have paid all the entire purchase for not paying the exaggerated interest, I am not interested because both the store and the bank are not entities that have demonstrated any ethics, I "alert" them so that the same thing does not happen to them in trusting entities that are not to be trusted when their reason for being is the client

Deceptive, unclear Billing Statements.
July 18, 2023

I bought hearing aids. I waited for bills. In the meantime I was receiving bills from Comenity Bank. The bills did not state what they were for. I thought it was a scam. Finally I asked the seller of the devices. By then I was in the 28% interest range of Comenity Bank! I could not catch up. They began harassing me for payment. It was an entirely horrible experience. They may have been a scam at first when I ignored their deceptively worded billing. I am an 81 year old woman. I regret buying hearing aids. I didn't even know the payment was to be done through Comenity Bank. It has taken a toll on my well being and credit rating. Do not ever use Comenity Bank for anything.

Comenity is a joke of a bank
July 18, 2023

Comenity and their banking system is a joke. They closed my account over a year ago because I supposedly asked to look it up too many times. I have been in a ridiculous loop for the last three months trying to reopen it. The customer service rep on the phone while I was in the store on July 7 led me through the reapplication process multiple times in multiple ways and nothing went through. SHE suggested that I try contacting Comenity through the app at home. Today I received 7COPIES OF THE EXACT SAME LETTER telling me I had an account already and to call

Customer service. Maxine at customer service told me I had to go to the store and do it. So I did. The store manager was amazing and tried everything but Comentiy? We went round and round and I was told by Trisha, a supervisor who really didn't seem to know much to call "credit Recovery" even though the "old account isn't the problem. "Then I was told to call "New Accounts" (really- that's who sent me 7 COPIES IF THE EXACT SAME LETTER. ) I told her that I expected a letter from them now fixing this because I have spent a ridiculous amount of time trying to untangle this just so I can get double Ulta points. I don't even want the card will NEVER finance or apply for a credit card through this sad excuse for a bank again.

Expect they will play games to get late fees
July 18, 2023

Crooked as can be. They do B&Hs Paybook card and routinely send emails saying your payment is due on a certain date. When I go to pay in advance, late charges are already applied. I rarely receive payment emails before the payment is due. We have plenty of money. We just can't work with this company in a fair way.

This company is not reliable.
June 26, 2023

We were with Bank of America, AAA. We were sold to Comenity and have had problems ever since.

We pay our bill in full every month so I don’t understand why when we use the card we are denied. This has happened to my husband very recently for the second time. I was also denied access on my card. We’ve both been issued new cards and it happened again.

I’ve been embarrassed at the register…Enough is enough. They have been nothing but trouble.

You be the judge... very questionable banking outfit
June 23, 2023
I question this bank in the highest degree. My 27 year old special needs son received by mail on the same day, (3) letters from Comenity Bank. Each letter was addressing credit applications with three large retailers and they wanted us to send them: photo copies- front and rear of his Driver license, passport and utility bill. The address to send the information was indeed in Columbus OH - just a different PO# number. I am feeling the slim from this bank. Attempted to call their fraud line, not able to get past the auto screening system as I must have an account number to talk to a human.