Comenity Bank Reviews

Comenity Bank
( 116 reviews )
Website: Comenity.com

Comenity Bank Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

This deserves NO stars.
October 17, 2022

Comenity recently took over servicing for a AAA Visa card from Bank of America - which worked great for many years. Can't get an online account, can't get a service rep. This deserves NO stars.

AVOID at all costs!!

It would appear Comenity was not ready for the handoff
October 11, 2022
I am new to Comenity Bank. Comenity Bank took over AAA Visa Credit card issued by Bank of America. Not sure if AAA sold the card and/or Bank of America sold the card to Comenity; however, Comenity was not ready for the handoff. Bank of America discontinued the card on or around 10/8/2022. Comenity was to issue new cards and have them operation on 10/9. That didn't happen nor did it happen on 10/11. Could not reach Comenity customer service by phone and without the new credit card could not access anything via the internet.

JanSchrader October 15, 2022

Agree with the above review. I discovered that my AAA credit was canceled by trying to find it on the Bank of America website. I discovered the cancellation there, but not the reason why. I had to call the bank for that information. Were card holders given a heads-up that this action was going to happen? Was it AAA or Comenity or BOA that dropped the ball? I am very disappointed all around.

Pathetic Online System
October 10, 2022

They sent new AAA credit card, I activated and set up online account. Used card. The next day, I can't sign in to the account. Pathetic!

MariettaWilson October 11, 2022

I received my AAA card, i also activated it, set up on line account, cant sign on to view my account, not going to use this card, will cancel it, i dont understand why AAA left B of A for these people, their customer service stinks.

MWest October 17, 2022

I can't get an online account set up and can't get a service rep. They are terrible!!! I don't understand why AAA made this change.

AAA Visa for 22 years. Now this new bank? No way!
October 5, 2022

I have had a credit card affiliated with AAA for over 20 years. Bank of America serviced it. And I was happy with it. They saved me from fraud a couple of times.

Just the other day I got 2 new cards for my wife and I each with separate account numbers.

Apparently AAA dropped B of A for Comenity Capital bank.

My other cards were good till 5/25 These new cards expire in 11 months.

The cards came with big claims on how much I could earn. But nothing about the terms.

After reading some of these reviews I am going to steer clear of Comenity Bank.

Thanks everyone for your comments.

Ripping people off
October 5, 2022
They are terrible! Stay away from this bank. They charge interest on nothing and fees if you don't use your card! Their customer service is bad. Nothing nice to say

Worst credit card ever
September 29, 2022
I've had so many issues with this card. I tried to make a payment but their online and phone system was down for weeks so I was charged a late fee for that. I paid the next month and there's no history of me paying it at all even though I received a confirmation number. Customer service is rude and incompetent blaming me for not paying it in store when there system hasn't been working. Once I pay this card off I will be closing my account.

JohnWinters October 03, 2022

Get action... Contact the Consumer Financial Bureau (CFB).

Send payments via Certified or Registered Mail Return Receipt and with cover letter and account information.

JohnWinters October 03, 2022

Get action.... Contact the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Send payments via Certified or Registered Mail - Return Receipt. This allows tracking. Also best to send to a "physical" mailing address such as a street address. ALL mail will be delivered.

Bilking customers for extra fees
September 23, 2022
Comenity bank is charging interest on paid off balances and late charges on top of that. They have no regard for what is right, and calls are back-to-back. I would not recommend Comenity Bank to save my life!

JohnWinters October 03, 2022

Get action... Contact the Consumer Financial Bureau (CFB).

Send payments via Certified or Registered Mail Return Receipt and with cover letter and account information.

Geeta October 30, 2022

Yes!! I have had to file two complaints since June of 2022.

Please join me and file a complaint here

Please file all these complaints with Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Here is the link.

https://www.consumerfinance.gov/complaint/

Only when enough of us file with this Consumer Protection Board will something be done.

Are We Sure This Is a BANK?
September 22, 2022
I cannot believe this company calls themselves a bank! This is the worst company ever! They made a $10,000 mistake on my account. That's insane. Thank goodness I don't do business with them anymore.

Stay away!
September 19, 2022
Total Scam and they know it too.....I would not give any rating if I was able.

Geeta October 30, 2022

Please join me and file a complaint here

Please file all these complaints with Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Here is the link.

https://www.consumerfinance.gov/complaint/

Only when enough of us file with this Consumer Protection Board will something be done.

It Has Been 13 Days And No Refund When It Was Promite I Would Have It In 10 Days
September 13, 2022

They suck. On 8/31 I mistakenly paid $4,000 on a $40 bill. They said I would have a check by 9/13. Nope, one operator said it is in the mail. This last operator said it is being processed. I told them, I am diabetic and insulin costs me $300. I have no money to pay for it. They can't fed ex it nor can they call me or email me to let me know it was sent.

BettyBarron September 15, 2022

Elizabeth E Terry I got a letter from you all saying why I didn't get approved for a loan. There was a wrong thing on my credit report, I never applied for Student Loans, so please take it off my credit report. Thank you.

Comenity Bank does not Protect its credit card customers against unprincipled, unscrupulous merchant actions against its unknowing Comenity Bank Credit Card users.
September 9, 2022

Comenity Bank in my opinion does not support its customer in online merchant/store transactions even when empirical evidence of merchant fraud of not upholding the description of merchandise sent to the customer nor does Comenity Bank uphold US laws when a merchant refuses to give the return address for returning the merchandise sent the customer that doesn't match the seen or description of the merchandise written by the online merchant about the advertised merchandise.

I believe, Comenity Bank is somehow in profit from making the customers keep the falsified merchandise sent to the customer from their online store merchants by replacing the disputed charge back on the customers bill or giving the customer the suggested percentage discount suggested by the online store merchant; to keep the merchandise sent. Comenity Bank makes the customer pay in part (take off merchant suggested percentage) or in full the amount of the item(s) undesired/ unwanted) by the customer by placing the disputed charge back on the customer's Comenity credit card, Comenity Bank does not uphold the US laws to keep any item the merchant refused to accept back, thereby charging the customer for the merchandise the merchant refuses to accept back .

When you call in to speak with someone at Comenity Bank, there is no dept. personnel that can explain to the customer in leu of evidence sent to the bank how the bank made their judgement in favor of the online store merchant.

This happen to me in May 2022, After I sent in supporting pictures, emails from merchant asking me to keep the undesired merchandise at a percentage of the total cost paid. I called Comenity Bank to help protect me from this fraudulent, unprincipled, unscrupulous, online merchant that refused to take their product back in agreeance with the merchant's written rules for return. This online merchant that refused to take their merchandise back, The merchant told me, I should like the merchandise as is, offered me a percentage discount to keep the product, I said, "NO." Comenity bank ruled in the favor of the online merchant when I sent emails of the customer/merchant communications, and pictures of the product NOT being as the online merchant had advertised. Comenity Bank still ruled in favor of the online merchant, credited the change back to my account, where now the bank is forcing me to pay for a product I can not use as is -Not the advertised item(s) thought to be ordering..

Please, beware of your online transactions using Comenity Credit Card. This bank does not protect its customers money,

Geeta October 30, 2022

Please join me and file a complaint here

Please file all these complaints with Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Here is the link.

https://www.consumerfinance.gov/complaint/

Only when enough of us file with this Consumer Protection Board will something be done.

They're trying to extort payments for returned items.
August 30, 2022

This all began when I returned several items to the store. The store clerk processed the items and issued receipts for the returns to and refunded cash to my debit card for one of the items.

The following month I received a statement that didn't reflect credit for the returned items and that's where this nightmare begins. Called the customer service Pros' and was instructed to contact the store of purchase and they even wished me ."Good Luck" .

Arrived at the store and was angrily told by the clerk that it was the Credit Card company that I should contact. Called the Credit Card company for several days and waited hours to speak to a live voice initially to no avail.

Finally I went on line to enter a claim dispute. It took several attempts but it appeared that I was at least successful in uploading the receipts that I believed would clear up the matter? Well they didn't, apparently only the dispute department can see the uploads and the system, they claim, is being upgraded.

I won't bore you anymore with the details except to say that If I see any financial ,banking or lending institution even remotely associated with Comenity I will try to get away from it as fast and far as humanly possible!

Geeta October 30, 2022

Please join me and file a complaint here

Please file all these complaints with Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Here is the link.

https://www.consumerfinance.gov/complaint/

Only when enough of us file with this Consumer Protection Board will something be done.

Technical Glitch
August 21, 2022
I Would give 0 if is possible...just got a bjs credit card and can't login due to "technical glitch " for about 3 days!

Geeta October 30, 2022

Please join me and file a complaint here

Please file all these complaints with Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Here is the link.

https://www.consumerfinance.gov/complaint/

Only when enough of us file with this Consumer Protection Board will something be done.

Horrible business practices
August 14, 2022
I have a Comenity Credit Card thru Lane Bryant and out of the blue they lowered my credit limit and raised my monthly payment. I have never been late with them or anyone else but they claim I am high risk. I will get it paid off and never use it again.

JohnWinters October 03, 2022

Get action... Contact the Consumer Financial Bureau (CFB).

Fraudulent Late Fees and Charges
August 10, 2022

I had (have, really, since closing the card has so far been unsuccessful) the Torrid credit card through Comenity bank.

It was a terrible experience dealing with the bank from the start, so I only used the card for one order, then I paid it off in full with no intention of ever using it again. Despite never making another charge, they've charged me a LATE FEE on my zero balance for 3 months in a row now, plus a finance charge on that late fee.

They're still charging me fees AFTER the card was supposedly closed. This is fraud and theft, and I'm in the position of having to fight with them because if I just don't pay it they could report to credit bureaus as an unpaid balance. Avoid any card through this bank at all costs--they're scam artists.

JohnWinters October 03, 2022

Get action... Contact the Consumer Financial Bureau (CFB).

Double Payment - No Refund
August 7, 2022

Holding my payment hostage: I made a payment to Comenity $50 more than the minimum payment which I frequently do. The payment was made on time but the payment somehow was inadvertently posted to a dead/closed account that was over 20 years old. Why or How Comenity was able to post monies to a closed account.

What ever happened to checks and balances. When I was contacted by Comenity about my June payment they told me my July payment was coming due and I was forced to make another payment or possibly turned over the collections. It has been approximately six weeks since I began discussions with Comenity and they could only say the matter had been turned over to another department.

As of August 6 I have not heard from nor received a reimbursement from Comenity. Not good customer service.

JohnWinters October 03, 2022

Get action... Contact the Consumer Financial Bureau (CFB).

Comenity Bank Hides Behind a "Technical Glitch"
July 31, 2022

The only thing this bank does well is a "technical glitch." I have a username and password but when logging on for payment the response is always the same — technical glitch. I've tried calling but the Comenity CSRs cannot help due to their own technical glitches. I've tried changing my username and/or password but that results in another "technical glitch."

So far, I've sent in six payments ranging from ~$150 to ~$350 for a ~$4000 total purchase. I'm scared to pay the balance in full as the full check might be lost or misappropriated. Of those six payments, two have indeed been lost (ie, do not show on the confirmation page), two have been "processed," and two linger as "processing."

Paying takes hours of my time to track the confirmation numbers. The merchant (Appliances Connection) was perfect in delivery and fulfillment. The bank (Comenity) is a nightmare.

JohnWinters October 03, 2022

Get action... Contact the Consumer Financial Bureau (CFB).

Total scammers and despicable people.
July 29, 2022
The Express Credit Card, managed by Comenity Bank, is a total fraud. I had autopay setup but then they stopped it without telling me. and then stacked up 3 months of late fee, and no notifications what-so-ever, until an agent called me i have 4 months of late fee ($160) stacked up. Total scammers... for a purchase of $40. they should not be on this earth.

dclaudew July 31, 2022

ACH for the win.

JohnWinters October 03, 2022

Get action... Contact the Consumer Financial Bureau (CFB).

JohnWinters October 03, 2022

Send payments via Certified or Registered Mail Return Receipt and with cover letter and account information.

Triple Charged me thousands and still refuse to pay me back
July 29, 2022

I applied for the Explorewards Sportsman's Warehouse Comenity Visa card since I was making a large purchase and they were offering 15% off if I purchased anything at Sportsman's.

So, I spent over $2,000 with the intention of getting the nice $300 credit for my purchase. After a week, I decided to pay off the balance, which is what I always do in situations like these.

When I attempted to log into the account, it was down due to maintenance, so I called them, and a representative took my payment over the phone. I used my Wells Fargo debit card to pay the full balance. The following day, I noticed the payment had posted and I then confirmed that I had a ZERO balance on my Credit Card.

This is when the S O Bs went psycho. Three days after I paid off the card, I get multiple text messages from my bank, followed by a phone call stating that multiple payments were processed in the exact same amount I had paid on the Visa card three days prior.

This caused me multiple overdrafts which ended up draining my Savings account of over $4,000. The bank issued me with refunds on all the illegal transactions and covered my overdraft fees.

Comenity bank sent me a letter telling me that I owe them all the multiple transactions they stole from me or they will report me to the credit bureau. When I looked at my credit card statement, It showed the original transaction I made at Sportsman's, then it shows 2 additional debits each for the same amount of over $2,000, but the debits are described as recurring payments.

When I called them to resolve the issue, they told me they had fixed the issue, but they never did. I have called them many times and even though they admit this is a mistake, they tell me that they fixed it, but they still haven't.

My credit score is in the 800's for the last 20 years and now they are threatening to destroy it. I think I am going to get a lawyer and sue them. This is the most frustrating financial issue I have ever dealt with.

dclaudew July 31, 2022

You have to ACH multiple small payments. Comenity will confirm and then lose many of your ACHs. However, a few of the ACHs will clear, protecting your credit rating. Comenity will not process mailed checks prior to the due date, otherwise, they lose interest and late fees. Small ACH only for the win.

JohnWinters October 03, 2022

Get action... Contact the Consumer Financial Bureau (CFB).

JohnWinters October 03, 2022

Also, send payment via Certified or Registered Mail with a cover letter.

Website and phones do not work AT ALL - don't try to pay them, you can't. Will just get you extra fees
July 21, 2022

They are a BS company - happy to give you credit at a high rate. NOW cannot even pay. Tried online. try calling. this is CRAP Just want to pay off and cancel this card. NOT WORTH THE HASSLE!

dclaudew July 31, 2022

You have to send in an ACH. Comenity will give you a confirmation number, then lose your ACH. I have sent in a new minimum-payment ACH every day. Each ACH is for a slightly different amount. Each ACH is for a different processing day. The good news is that a few ACHs do get confirmed and credited. The other ACHs are, well, lost, something to take up with your checking-account bank.

JohnWinters October 03, 2022

Get action... Contact the Consumer Financial Bureau (CFB).

Also.... Send payment via Certified or Registered Mail with Cover Letter and account number.