CarShield Reviews

CarShield
( 28 reviews )
Website: Carshield.com

CarShield is a company offering a range of vehicle service protection plans, stating they are one of the most popular extended car warranty companies doing business since 2005.

The company claims to protect its customers from costly auto repairs, no matter how new or old the vehicle is.  They have service plans designed for every stage of automobile ownership.

Below we take a look at their coverage options and help you answer some popular questions, most importantly whether this service is worth it or not.

How Does CarShield Work?

CarShield offers a simple and personalized experience to receive protection for your automobile.

First, potential customers request a free quote, personalizing the information to their vehicle.  Doing so allows for an accurate quote.

Next you and CarShield will work on developing a personalized plan that will realistically fit your budget and lifestyle.

Once you're enrolled you can reach out to their claims department in case of any mechanical issues with your vehicle, including emergency breakdown.

If the issue is covered by your plan, CarShield will pay the mechanic directly and you’ll be responsible for the deductible and any overage charges.

This business model provides protection for customers when their vehicle is past the coverage terms of their existing warranty,  or for those who've decided to prepare for worst case scenarios with an older high mileage vehicle.

This sounds simple enough, but potential customers should be aware that CarShield plans come with a variety of important caveats.

Almost all online complaints about CarShield come from customers who never fully read their service contracts and are disappointed to find that an expensive car repair bill is denied by CarShield.

CarShield Plans and Coverage

CarShield plans include a variety of services, including 24/7 roadside assistance, choice of mechanic for repairs, courtesy towing, and rental car eligibility.

Unlike a dealer purchased car warranty, CarShield offers you a vehicle service contract.  The main difference being that a 3rd party (called an obligator), such American Auto Shield, administers your protection plan.

This allows CarShield to offer 6 different protection plans with a variety of options, and allows for repairs to be made at any dealership or repair facility certified by the National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE).

If you want the highest level of coverage the Diamond Plan will cover the following items:

  • Engine
  • Transmission
  • Drive axle(s)
  • Transfer case
  • Air conditioner
  • Fuel delivery system
  • Fuel pump
  • Starter
  • Alternator
  • Power windows
  • Water pump
  • Fuel injectors
  • Steering
  • Suspension
  • Brakes
  • Electrical system
  • Instrument cluster
  • GPS
  • Factory audio
  • Radiator
  • Wiring harness

The lower priced plans cover fewer items allowing you to select the level of coverage vs price you want.

In your contract you will also have a detailed breakdown of what CarShield does not cover.  This includes, but is not limited to:

  • Sheet metal
  • Hoses
  • Trim
  • Weatherstripping
  • Lighting
  • Spark plugs and wires
  • External nuts, bolts, or fasteners
  • Parts that have been modified or altered
  • Wear-and-tear components such as brake pads and air filters
  • Damage caused by acts of nature, collision, vandalism, or lack of proper maintenance
  • Auto repairs that have been made without pre-authorization from a CarShield claims representative
  • Misuses such as racing or off-road driving
  • Tampering with the odometer
  • Pre-existing mechanical issues
  • Damage from a non-covered part

It’s important to truly understand the potential implication of some of these exclusions.  

For instance, one online review that we found detailed a situation where repair of a covered part was denied because it was deemed it failed due to a fault in the external fasteners.

Extra Benefits:

If a qualified repair is quoted for more than 4 hours of labor, CarShield will offer up to $40 per day for a rental vehicle.

*Additional Notes of Importance*

If you’re thinking of signing up for CarShield to deal with impending repairs, be aware that the company has a 20-day/500-mile waiting period, along with the aforementioned clause against covering pre-existing issues.

When it comes to the actual repairs, they state that part replacement may include new, used or remanufactured parts of like kind and quality.

Cost and Price Plans

To get the true cost of your plan you have to go through the full process of getting a quote.  However, on average, the cost of a plan is between $99.99 and $129.99 per month.

The obvious key variables will be the plan you choose, vehicle make and model, and mileage.

In general, Car Shield offers competitive prices when compared to other popular extended warranty companies on the market.

Customer Service

If you have a more general question or comment, you are able to leave a message on their website’s contact page. All you have to do is leave your email, phone number and name.

If you are ready to get a quote you can call 800-277-7170.

For more specific issues, questions or concerns relating to customer service, they have specific numbers for different services you may be needing.

1-800-380-2165 for United Car Care
1-800-531-1925 for American Auto Shield
1-800-492-6762 for INDS
1- 866-222-7869 for Roadside Assistance

CarShield Customer Reviews & Complaints

Positive Reviews

We found a range of customer experiences with CarShield from online customer reviews.

There are many positive reviews with customers stating that the company is dependable and allows them to feel that their vehicle is being properly protected.

From needing towing to mechanical breakdowns, some people have found that CarShield is able to cover a variety of claims for them, ranging from serious to less serious.

Customers cite that CarShield offer plans that many other companies do not - from service plans on older cars, to extremely flexible price options. 

They also get decent marks for customer service and people seem very pleased with the service when everything goes right.

Negative Reviews

On the other hand there are a lot of complaints and customer service horror stories detailed in many angry reviews.

In general most of the bad reviews come from instances where customers were unexpectedly denied coverage, were not happy with their reimbursement totals, or their mechanics had difficulties obtaining payment from CarShield.

The company has an F rating with the BBB and, on that platform, they have a rating of 1.4/5 stars from an average of 1,421 customer reviews.

From reading those negative reviews you can see instances where using CarShield can be frustrating and not seem worth it.

Many complaints pertaining to serious high dollar repairs described a difficult process full of bureaucratic pitfalls.

In some cases claims adjusters will require detailed maintenance records & receipts for your vehicle in an attempt to prove pre-existing conditions or blame the breakdown on a lack of routine maintenance.

Further some unhappy customers found that CarShield doesn’t distinguish the difference whether the lack of routine car maintenance comes from the vehicle's current owner or previous owner.

Other people had issues with the fact that the rental car they were getting was not covered for enough time.

One important detail to keep in mind is that the company relies on a “nationally recognized labor guide” to determine repair rates.  If your mechanic’s rates and labor hours quoted are above that, you will have to pay the price difference yourself.

Another issue that customers raised is that some mechanics refuse to work with CarShield, precisely due to some of these additional issues they encounter when trying to collect payment.

On a positive note, it does appear that CarShield has an active customer service team that replies to online complaints, albeit not always with what customers want to hear.

CarShield Alternatives

While what CarShield is doing is different from many companies that protect vehicles, they do have competitors as well.

CarShield vs. Endurance Warranty - Endurance Warranty is another popular choice for vehicle protection by American citizens. It, for the most part, has very similar offers to CarShield.

However, it specifically specializes in extending warranties on cars, as the name suggests.  When comparing CarShield vs Endurance Auto Warranty, the latter has been in business since 1988, making it more experienced than CarShield.

That being said, Endurance Warranty seems to offer less personalized or flexible plans.  Another alternative that you may want to consider for vehicle protection is Toco Auto Warranty.  It runs, again, pretty similarly to CarShield.

CarShield vs. Toco Warranty - Toco allows you to bring your vehicle to any repair shop of choice to fix it in case of mechanical issues and promises that you will not need to make any down payments.

It would seem the main difference is that Toco Warranty seems to offer more varying plans, which will cover less or more of your vehicle.

CarShield vs. Liberty Auto Warranty - This company has been protecting vehicles for over 40 years and offers extremely flexible prices, along with 6 months without payments.

However, their plans seem to be less personalized to your specific case and vehicle than CarShield’s.  All of these options run somewhat similarly, with minor differences here and there.

It would be best to request a free quote from the different companies and get a feel for their style of customer service before you choose one.

Is CarShield Worth It?

Buying a used car can be a risky endeavor and people want assurances that their investment will be protected.  CarShield provides those assurances, but keep in mind that they are a for-profit business.

Their service contract is designed in a way where they will put the burden of proof on the customer and their mechanic to show that costly repairs are due to mechanical failures and not due to neglect.

If you’re confident that you can clear those hurdles, then one of their extended warranties may be a good bet on a high mileage vehicle.

It will also help to thoroughly read the CarShield service contract and ask as many questions of the sales rep as possible to ensure that you understand all of the terms and conditions of the service.

If you have any experience with CarShield or their services, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

CarShield Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

What a scam to take your money
May 13, 2022

CarShield is a dishonest company! Every excuse under the sun not to pay a claim. With all the tear downs and extra fees it would have cost me over a thousand dollars more to get my van fixed. I just paid to fix my van myself and canceled the policy.

They will jerk you around costing you more money and deny the claim in the end. DON'T buy this! Just another scam, the actors on TV should be ashamed to be apart of this, how do they sleep at night?

Ridiculous cost compared to a Credit Union or dealer
April 27, 2022
Quote was outrageously HIGH! Check with your local Credit Union or dealership for a much better price and comparable or better coverage, Their quote was double the quotes I received elsewhere with a $0 deductible!

Don't go with this company
April 21, 2022

Car Shield is the biggest scam that has ever happened to me in my life, and i'm sixty six years you old. a military vet as well. Did they care, "NO".

My daughter was finishing high school, and I wanted to get her a car for her graduation. Mind you the car was not new, but she had her a car of her own. She was traveling to Texas, we live in Florida, and on her way back from Texas her motor blew as she was on her way back home to fl.

I called car shield, and they did noting to help her. She had to pay for her own tow truck to a repair shop. Car shield only paid $300 plus for an engine. No labor fees.

After almost a year we paid to have my daughters car repaired which came out to over $5,000.00 to get her car returned to her. No help from car shield at all.

This is a long story but true. do not trust these people. It's all a con.

Representatives are typical salesman, too pushy.
April 16, 2022

I requested a quote from CarShield and in less than 5 minutes I received a call. The representative took my information on my vehicle told me which plan and then proceeded to push me and push me to sign up immediately when I repeatedly told him I would like to think about this.

He would not take no for an answer and started getting into my personal life like he knew my budget and what I can afford. I told him I am no longer interested in this service because you are too pushy and I hung up.

Carshield failed me when I needed them most.
April 9, 2022

Carshield failed me when I needed them most.

I signed up with Carshield about two years ago. Now I have my first and only claim and Carshield would not pay for the repairs ($3500) for rear bearings, muffler and exhaust pipe. This is a big expense for me and this is the reason for Carshield warranty. But I guess they got my money I got nothing when I needed them most. I cancelled the policy and got a better warranty provider for the same cost.

Bum's Rush on Quote Calls
April 8, 2022

I have called for quotes twice. The first time was for my Spark EV. Started getting The Bum's Rush routine. No matter what I said, I was being pushed to sign up immediately. I tried a second time for another car also an EV hoping that the first one was a fluke. Sadly No, different person but same Bum's Rush to sign up. I hung up.

Ronbonham April 16, 2022

That is exactly what the representative tried to do to me. Now I won't even consider Car Shield. I read there are better alternative out there.

Car sheild makes promises to pay for pre authorized work, but DOES NOT.
March 25, 2022

There is not an option for reviewing car shield that is low enough. First of all, they falsely advertise on their website, Auto shops that have NEVER accepted their policies. They are slow to pay for services that they HAVE ALREADY APPROVED.

They are ALWAYS undercutting the auto shops, leaving mechanics and owners without payment and their own customers with vehicles they cannot have returned to them because of Carshield's non payment.

If you have this, cancel it. It you are thinking about getting car shield---DON'T

Horrible Company
February 12, 2022

I'm very disappointed with CarShield. Not only with the customer service but also with the management and execution of the contract and covered service.

My daughter contacted Carshield to enter a claim for repair on her 2014 Mazda and form the outset she had problems with our policy.

First the reps could not find our account/policy and suggested we didn't have one, but yet they find a way to withdraw the payment each month. Then after the dealership assess the car and determined that the radiator fluid overflow/expansion tank caused the problem and needed to be replaced.

Carshield determined that it was not covered and denied the claim. I disagree, our contract clearly shows that our cooling system components are covered and last I check the overflow/expansion tank is an important component of the car's cooling system.

Carshield let my family down on our first claim and when we needed them most. I have totally lost confidence in CarShield and frankly would not recommend them to anyone going forward.

They steal money from seniors.
January 18, 2022
Total misrepresentation on warranty coverage.

Auto Shop Owner Warning!
December 28, 2021

I own an independent repair facility and have been dealing with aftermarket warranty companies for 20 years. Some decent, some poor. All are like Vegas; in the end, the house never loses.

However, I have NEVER experienced a company with such horrible service, follow-through, coverage, record keeping, and payouts. We reached the point that we refuse to accept policies from this company and we urge all of our customers to steer clear.

If you took the bait, get out now. Seriously, put $100-150/mo in a savings account delegated to auto repair. You’ll be money ahead. Then, if you properly maintain your vehicle, you could have a nice lump sum of cash for a down payment on your next one. If something does go wrong unexpectedly, any shop worth its salt will have multiple low to no interest financing options available.

The average annual car maintenance and repair cost after year 3 is $1600. Yes, every single year. Every car owner should be putting aside an extra $100-150 per month as part of the real cost of car ownership. Don’t give your money to these jokers.

N.R. April 23, 2022

Excellent advice. Every car is a machine. Machines need constant maintenance and occasional parts repair or replacement. If you can’t afford that expense, then car ownership may not be right for you. I’ve owned cars that were maintained by me and spent more for insurance than upkeep. I also had a three year old car that had a failed A/C and cost me $3,000. That’s what happens.

Save your money instead
October 7, 2021

If you ask my stupid advice and you have an 'old vehicle', I would tell you save your money instead of paying Carshield or Car Shield [whatever their legal name is]. If you have a 'new' vehicle apply at your own risk.

The only thing worse than a used car salesman is a used car warranty salesman. We thought we had signed up with an honest company, but it was only after we put in a claim, we realized the level of dishonesty with Carshield Canada. Disclaimer: maybe the States is different, but this review/warning is based on our experience with CarShield Canada.

First of all, the rule of thumb is to be cautious of MOST companies advertising on TV. We don’t have the time to get into that, today, for this review. It was only after we put in a claim, we realized that Carshield had two foolproof ways to get out of honouring our claim.

1. We had an old car [vehicle] and so we were not offered the package that gives you the best or better coverage. This is what we were told by one of their 'managers' or supervisors. Sorry, I didn't get a title and I have forgotten the name.

2. In their contract or at least in the contract we had, they provided coverage on only one of a multi-component part. For example, if your AC has three components or parts, they provide coverage only on one part. And get this, the part they do not cover is the one [based on probability] that usually fails the most. You do the math. That is what I call a foolproof-refuse-to-honor-a-claim system.

I wonder what tricks [or probabilities] they use for ‘new’ vehicles, but then new vehicles don’t usually need as much repairs as ‘old’ ones. So, probability-wise, the number of claims they will have on ‘new’ vehicles are already minimized. You see what they did there?

My argument is that their contract protects them from the probabilities they have designed within the contract. So, they have not done any illegal, but it is up for discussion whether or not their dealings are shady. It is for sure shady, if you are not told upfront that you are being sold a second-class contract because you have an ‘old’ or high-mileage vehicle. I couldn’t believe my ears when one of their ‘managers’ actually admitted that to us. So thanks for that tip-off.

Thankfully, if that high mileage vehicle is a Honda Pilot, you can kinda get away it, once you do your regular maintenance and what not. And now I’m thinking if we had saved that money we would have had about $1100 in our account from the time we signed up to the time we cancelled.

I am happy to say also that we have been saving our Carshield premiums since cancellation and we are not very far from $1000. And we will continue to save that money every month in our Vehicle Savings Account rather than throw our money away on Carshield Canada. Let me get it right, Carshield Canada.

You are welcome.

Ripped Off!
September 25, 2021

I was very disappointed with my coverage. I waited the required amount of time, accumulated the required number of miles and paid during those months and then took my van into my local dealership once customer service told me that my repairs would be covered.

Then, when the dealership filed a claim for the repairs, CarShield wouldn't pay for anything. I had been ripped off a canceled my coverage.

Then, CarShield called my voicemail several times a day for weeks assumably get me to continue to pay.

Carshield is not accepted by all ASE certified mechanics due to their slow or no payment.
June 29, 2021

We purchased the Carshield policy to cover our 2016 Silverado Pickup truck. We waited the required miles before you could even use the policy. After about 3 months of paying over $100 a month for coverage, we had a problem with the transmission in our truck. We lived very close to the VA/NC line, so we took our truck to Roanoke Rapids, NC for evaluation.

We were told we needed a new transmission. After visiting SEVEN (7) DIFFERNT ASC certified mechanics, including the local Chevrolet dealership, we were told Carshield does not pay the dealership in a timely manner or any where near the amount of the cost of repair. Therefore, we could not use their services.

That's SEVEN different mechanics. One company did say they would accept the coverage for the amount that Carshield would pay, but the remainder of the bill would be on us and we would not get our truck back until Carshield had paid their potion. I contacted Carshield and cancelled our policy. I asked for our money back as their claims for service were not true, but never heard anything back from them. We paid to have the transmission replaced ourselves.

NoSheild and American Auto Not Covered
May 11, 2021

After three weeks of calling carsheild and being passed to American auto shield. Witch cost 3500$ lost work time AAS found a loop hole so they didn't have to pay. Repairs cost me 2500$ more plus the 1100$ for the week of repairs. Not to mention 1500$ of policy payments. Thank nosheild and American Auto Not Covered

p.s don't waste your money put you money up and do it your self.

Save Your Money!
April 6, 2021
Big waste of money!!! I see the actor ICE-T is advertising for them. He's a great guy and a talented actor but I can't figure out why he would stoop so low as to hawk a scam company. He should call them with a fake claim and find out first hand how they operate.

Unresponsive Rip Off
April 4, 2021

Try getting an adjuster to approve your work. GOOD LUCK! My car's transmission wore out after being with CarShield 10 months. It stayed in my mechanic's shop from November to March.

First adjuster wanted detailed diagnostics performed (and only a dealership could perform those) at my cost. When the diagnostics were sent, he wanted a tear down, at my cost. When the tear down revealed mechanical damage, my mechanic stopped hearing from the adjuster.

Phone calls went unanswered, voicemails were not returned, emails received no response. After having my car out of service for 2 and a half months, I decided to pay up front to get my car back on the road.

I submitted a claim and 2 months of documentation only to be told the claim would not be honored because it had not been approved by the non-responsive adjuster.

DON"T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS SCAM!

CARSHIELD IS A SCAM!
February 17, 2021

CarShield is an ABSOLUTE JOKE of a company. DO NOT purchase their warranty, it won't cover ANYTHING that needs repair and if your contract says it's covered, they will place so many restrictions on whatever it is they need to, to avoid having to pay for anything.

I have had 3 claims that the mechanics in all circumstances are surprised that the warranty company isn't covering it.

All the mechanics also stated that when trying to call CarShield, they were hung up on multiple times and it was a bad experience for every single mechanic who tried to work with them.

One time, it could be a fluke, second time, maybe it's fishy, but three times in the row? The only 3 times I filed a claim, they were all denied due to situations and times that the repair should have been covered, and it wasn't.

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS COMPANY, find another warranty. Don't make the mistake I did, assuming that they would stick to their word and help you out. IT'S A SCAM.

Car shield
November 13, 2020
They wouldn't pay the claim, even though we had all the correct paper of work done and oil changes done.

BEWARE!
November 2, 2020
My brother has them as well, he had his car towed to a dealership for repair and car shield refused to pay in full, told him there was a cap on the payoff! So they'll say anything to get a sale and what makes it even worse they advertise on TBN,(Christian tv station)

SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM
September 11, 2020
I am formal customer of CarShield, just like many others I did not read, "the fine print" Like the old saying goes if it sounds to good to be true probably not. Not to go into a lot of details with my situation I had coverage on my vehicle transmission, according to CarShield but when the transmission needed repairing CarShield said that parts of transmission was not covered. In other word, GACHA!