Care.com Reviews

Care.com
( 177  Reviews )

Website:   www.Care.com


Write a Review

About Care.com

Care.com is a site to help those who are in need of any sort of assistance imaginable as well as provide opportunities to job seekers. Having the ability to connect job posters with job seekers through their site, it is possible to find someone who can fulfill whatever your need may be. Some of the services include babysitting, running errands, dog walking, housekeeping or tutoring; the possibilities are endless.

It is easy for both job posters and job seekers to sign up for care.com, there are two membership options available. The first one is a Basic membership which is free of charge. The second option is the Premium membership; this membership is available after you sign up for the Basic membership. There is a monthly fee to upgrade to the Premium membership; the prices are available once you sign up.

The Basic membership is limited because you may only post jobs and view caregivers close to your location which makes it difficult to make a decision. Job seekers are also limited to the access they have to preview jobs as well as less options to choose from.

With the Premium membership job posters have access to caregivers’ profiles as well as the availability to request background checks. This membership is technically the only way to evaluate caregivers’ capabilities and take the necessary measures to protect yourself, your family and your pets. Job seekers with a Premium membership have a wide range of jobs to choose from, they have a readily available background check, and search results list them higher in ranking.

There are some issues that have been addressed in Care.com reviews online. Job posters are charged automatically each month, and many of them are not aware of this procedure. If they hire someone, they will still be charged until they notify the company to stop. In addition, the Care.com complaints also address background checks. Job posters who requested background checks and were provided with ones that were incorrect and did not pertain to the individual they wanted to hire.

Other members have had issues with employees not showing up for the job, and have been left in a rut. With the number of issues that have occurred, it is probably best to find someone through a trusted friend or relative.

You May Also Be Interested In

177 ‘Care.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

It's pretty much a scam.

December 5, 2019

Tread carefully with these guys. The business model is basically to trap you into a non-refundable year long subscription. I was able to find a math tutor on my own for my daughter through a neighborhood FB group before their ad even posted. But my $100 for signing up- goodbye... And then the endless spam... If you have any neighborhood social media site (Nextdoor, FB, other) you will likely be able to find what you need (and closer to your home) than anything these guys can provide. Michael

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Wrong website to find good help

July 27, 2019

I have been lied to and mislead. The website misleads in it’s advertising. Leads one to think that potential employees have gone threw a prequalifying screening process. In fact they do not. Anyone can sign up, all you need is a first name(not verified)

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Horrible illegal billing practices

July 2, 2019

Google fraud and care com

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Horrible

May 5, 2019

Out of control. Inept care.com terminated my account because I dared complain that their stats on my page did not reflect the number of families I serve. An unethical company who ironically does not care.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Terrible Company That Doesn't Care About Your Safety

July 5, 2018

I spent money to pay for a care.com premium account. When I was contacted by a man from care.com asking me to meet him at his house I asked him to meet in a public place (per care.com safety tips). He became angry with me and refused. He then started harassing me on the web site's messaging service. I asked him to stop or I would report him. He did not stop so I reported him. 2 days later, with no phone call, email or other explanation, but AFTER I had paid for a premium account, my account was terminated by care.com and was told they could not discuss with me the reasons for terminating my account and that it is their right to do so without explaining why to me. Does this sound like a company you would like to do business with?

View all 2 Comments
March 11, 2019

We're so sorry to hear about your experience with one of potential clients on the site. Please email us at [email protected] or message us on Facebook or Twitter if you'd like us to take another at your account. We wish you all the best!

May 05, 2019

Like you care?!?!!?? You terminated my account for complaining that the stats you reported on my page were consistently inaccurate. You're an unethical bully machine that couldn't care less. Shame on you

Comment on this review...
review author image
2 Reviews

not dependable

February 2, 2018

I joined Care.com last year, paid for the upgraded account, paid for a background check for somone I found to come to my home and clean it. Set up the appointment with her not once but twice and both times she failed to call or show up. None of the money was refunded. I have a friend who had someone who was to come to her house yesterday from Care.com and this lady was a no call and a no show. I don't care if they have an A+ rating with the BBB this is a too common problem and they do not provide what they say that they will because of the ones they hire not being dependable.

View all 3 Comments
April 24, 2018

Had the same problem over and over again. only one out of ten show up for interviews. the last 4 I hired didn't show up for work

March 11, 2019

I can understand how frustrating this can be, Lori. I encourage you to leave a review on caregiver's profile to share your experience with families who might be interested in hiring them. Please email us at [email protected] or message us on Facebook or Twitter if you have other questions or concern.

May 05, 2019

How sweet that you care about poor Lori. How about caring about your hardworking members?
You terminated my account for daring to complain that the stats you reported on my page were consistently inaccurate. You're an unethical bully machine that couldn't care less. Shame on you

Comment on this review...
review author image
2 Reviews

Lousy

February 2, 2018

I joined Care.com last year, paid for the upgraded account, paid for a background check for somone I found to come to my home and clean it. Set up the appointment with her not once but twice and both times she failed to call or show up. None of the money was refunded. I have a friend who had someone who was to come to her house yesterday from Care.com and this lady was a no call and a no show. I don't care if they have an A+ rating with the BBB this is a too common problem and they do not provide what they say that they will because of the ones they hire not being dependable.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Illegal Aliens

December 7, 2017

If you are looking to hire an illegal alien this web-site can hook you up.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Frustrating and Ridiculous

October 30, 2017

My daughter tried to sign up several times, each time they would contact me, and each time I would approve. Upon approval they would instantly deny her application and basically tell me I wasn't who I day I am. I contacted them trying to figure out what was happening and they kept giving me the same bs response "we compare your information to various data sources" of course I'm going to have other addresses and phone numbers on line, I lived in California for 35 years before moving to Nevada. After they denied her AGAIN (since apparently I'm not me) I looked up real (non paid) reviews and saw nothing but negative comments. I'll pass. I guess I need to find my real self and ask me where I'm currently living so my information can match their flawed data bases.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Care.com is a JOKE

September 17, 2017

We have had several and I mean several 'caregivers' show interest in our job posting, have a phone interview, set up an in-person interview only to no show, tell us last minute they found something else or show for an interview and then never call/respond back. I don't know where care.com found so many shady people to join their site but it's an absolute joke for parents who are seriously looking for good, reliable help for their most precious members of their families!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

The BIGGEST SCAM!!

June 11, 2017

They advertised any fake dog walker/pet sitter positions in any fake locations! Also, they STOLE my money without any clients hiring me! DO NOT TRUST THEM!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

care is a scam

April 29, 2017

I believe others that have posted..care has set up fake accounts with no families to respond back. I set up an alias account to respond to and vice versa and what do you know..no messages went through and both accounts were taken down with no explanation., but after I paid for background check and premium upgrade. They enjoy living off people's money. I did find 1 good job couple years ago weirdly but only because a friend posted the ad. Don't pay..

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

CARE.COM HAZARDS

April 25, 2017

CARE.COM SAFETY TEAM SHOULD BE CALLED THE MORON HAZARD TEAM
THEY DON'T KNOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING AND THE SITE ATTRACTS
SCAMMERS THAT APPLY FOR JOBS
AND CARE.COM PROTECTS THE JOB SEEKER SCAMMERS
BUT HARMS THE JOB POSTER EMPLOYERS
CARE.COM IS HORRIBLE

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Good referal service, but no guarantee of good clients.

April 24, 2017

I was hired by a family looking for a caregiver on care.com.
I went to work for the family and was paid for my services.

The job went well (for months) and I pefromed my duties well.

However, the family decided to "let me go" after they discovered that they needed more help than just a caregiver, or at least, that's how they put it.

I am an experienced caregiver, I never call off, and I perform the duties assigned to me.

The family that hired me gave me no indication that things were deteriorating to the point where my services would not be needed. Instead I was, all of sudden, told one day that I was fired.

Also my dismissal was not only abrupt, it was rude and done without any regard for me and the time that I had invested in the job.

I recognize that sometimes working in the home with family members who have health problems can be stressful. My general opinion of the family is that they did not really care all that much for the quality of the care from the beginning, nor did they care about the staff.

Although it is not necessarily the job of care.com to monitor and surpervise the work that clients and service providers request and provide. My experience thus far with care.com indicates that there is a potential for members and clients to be put into situations that may not be equitable and possibly even present a conflict of interest.

I would recommend that care.com provide customer service for both users and service providers in case issues such as those described above present themselves.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Good service, but use a temporary credit card

April 2, 2017

I've gotten a few caregivers through Care.com, and have always been happy. The only problem is the automatic renewal and AUTOMATIC UPGRADE of accounts. Just noticed that I had a charge from Care.com for my account this month-after no charges for months since I got my new nanny. They decided I had made a mistake downgrading to basic membership (since you can't delete your account with them) and so upgraded me without asking me. Note I last used the service in September of 2016 and I'm writing this in April 2017...
Use a one time credit card to sign up or cancel your card after you get your new caregiver.

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review