Care.com Reviews

Care.com
( 174 reviews )
Website: www.Care.com

You may also be interested in

Care.com Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Is this legal?
March 23, 2021

When I tried to cancel my membership, their site had an error. It returned an HTTP web server code. It was their fault, but I still had to pay my membership. Customer service didn't seem to even understand

It's pretty much a scam.
December 5, 2019

Tread carefully with these guys. The business model is basically to trap you into a non-refundable year long subscription. I was able to find a math tutor on my own for my daughter through a neighborhood FB group before their ad even posted. But my $100 for signing up- goodbye...

And then the endless spam... If you have any neighborhood social media site (Nextdoor, FB, other) you will likely be able to find what you need (and closer to your home) than anything these guys can provide. Michael

Wrong website to find good help
July 27, 2019
I have been lied to and mislead. The website misleads in it’s advertising. Leads one to think that potential employees have gone threw a prequalifying screening process. In fact they do not. Anyone can sign up, all you need is a first name(not verified)

Horrible
May 5, 2019

Out of control. Inept care.com terminated my account because I dared complain that their stats on my page did not reflect the number of families I serve. An unethical company who ironically does not care.

Terrible Company That Doesn't Care About Your Safety
July 5, 2018

I spent money to pay for a care.com premium account. When I was contacted by a man from care.com asking me to meet him at his house I asked him to meet in a public place (per care.com safety tips). He became angry with me and refused.

He then started harassing me on the web site's messaging service. I asked him to stop or I would report him. He did not stop so I reported him. 2 days later, with no phone call, email or other explanation, but AFTER I had paid for a premium account, my account was terminated by care.com and was told they could not discuss with me the reasons for terminating my account and that it is their right to do so without explaining why to me.

Does this sound like a company you would like to do business with?

Care.com March 11, 2019

We're so sorry to hear about your experience with one of potential clients on the site. Please email us at [email protected] or message us on Facebook or Twitter if you'd like us to take another at your account. We wish you all the best!

DominicFetherston May 05, 2019

Like you care?!?!!?? You terminated my account for complaining that the stats you reported on my page were consistently inaccurate. You're an unethical bully machine that couldn't care less. Shame on you

Lousy
February 2, 2018

I joined Care.com last year, paid for the upgraded account, paid for a background check for someone I found to come to my home and clean it. Set up the appointment with her not once but twice and both times she failed to call or show up. None of the money was refunded.

I have a friend who had someone who was to come to her house yesterday from Care.com and this lady was a no call and a no show. I don't care if they have an A+ rating with the BBB this is a too common problem and they do not provide what they say that they will because of the ones they hire not being dependable.

Frustrating and Ridiculous
October 30, 2017

My daughter tried to sign up several times, each time they would contact me, and each time I would approve. Upon approval they would instantly deny her application and basically tell me I wasn't who I day I am. I contacted them trying to figure out what was happening and they kept giving me the same bs response "we compare your information to various data sources" of course I'm going to have other addresses and phone numbers on line, I lived in California for 35 years before moving to Nevada.

After they denied her AGAIN (since apparently I'm not me) I looked up real (non paid) reviews and saw nothing but negative comments. I'll pass. I guess I need to find my real self and ask me where I'm currently living so my information can match their flawed data bases.

Care.com is a JOKE
September 17, 2017

We have had several and I mean several 'caregivers' show interest in our job posting, have a phone interview, set up an in-person interview only to no show, tell us last minute they found something else or show for an interview and then never call/respond back. I don't know where care.com found so many shady people to join their site but it's an absolute joke for parents who are seriously looking for good, reliable help for their most precious members of their families!

The BIGGEST SCAM!!
June 11, 2017
They advertised any fake dog walker/pet sitter positions in any fake locations! Also, they STOLE my money without any clients hiring me! DO NOT TRUST THEM!

care is a scam
April 29, 2017
I believe others that have posted..care has set up fake accounts with no families to respond back. I set up an alias account to respond to and vice versa and what do you know..no messages went through and both accounts were taken down with no explanation., but after I paid for background check and premium upgrade. They enjoy living off people's money. I did find 1 good job couple years ago weirdly but only because a friend posted the ad. Don't pay..

Good referal service, but no guarantee of good clients.
April 24, 2017

I was hired by a family looking for a caregiver on care.com.

I went to work for the family and was paid for my services.

The job went well (for months) and I pefromed my duties well.

However, the family decided to "let me go" after they discovered that they needed more help than just a caregiver, or at least, that's how they put it.

I am an experienced caregiver, I never call off, and I perform the duties assigned to me.

The family that hired me gave me no indication that things were deteriorating to the point where my services would not be needed. Instead I was, all of sudden, told one day that I was fired.

Also my dismissal was not only abrupt, it was rude and done without any regard for me and the time that I had invested in the job.

I recognize that sometimes working in the home with family members who have health problems can be stressful. My general opinion of the family is that they did not really care all that much for the quality of the care from the beginning, nor did they care about the staff.

Although it is not necessarily the job of care.com to monitor and surpervise the work that clients and service providers request and provide. My experience thus far with care.com indicates that there is a potential for members and clients to be put into situations that may not be equitable and possibly even present a conflict of interest.

I would recommend that care.com provide customer service for both users and service providers in case issues such as those described above present themselves.

Good service, but use a temporary credit card
April 2, 2017

I've gotten a few caregivers through Care.com, and have always been happy. The only problem is the automatic renewal and AUTOMATIC UPGRADE of accounts. Just noticed that I had a charge from Care.com for my account this month-after no charges for months since I got my new nanny. They decided I had made a mistake downgrading to basic membership (since you can't delete your account with them) and so upgraded me without asking me. Note I last used the service in September of 2016 and I'm writing this in April 2017...

Use a one time credit card to sign up or cancel your card after you get your new caregiver.

BEWARE THIS COMPANY!!!!!!! SHAME!!!!
March 26, 2017
BEWARE OF CARE.COM This is a very, very bad company. I needed a dog sitter during an agonizing time in my family when a sibling was dying. I was trying to find a dog sitter as I was going to be out of town 3 to 4 days out of every week. I signed up and paid my fee for the month in order to be able contact a couple of dog sitters. I hired someone and went about my life caretaking my family member. Now that she has passed and I am getting back on my feet from a devastating loss, I find that they have been charging my credit card every single month. They are refusing to return anything but one month. FOR SHAME!!!!! FOR SHAME!!!! THIS IS A SCAM!!!!!!! beware consumers. They do not tell you that this auto-renews and if you are using services due to a crisis in your family or a tragedy they will take advantage of you.

Scam
January 17, 2017

It is my opinion that Care.com is nothing but a scam, suckering people into paying for monthly and upgrade fees with the promise of potential work, or of nurturing caregivers or hardworking housekeepers. After I signed up & then paid for the subscription and upgrade, I not only never got any replies, but no one ever even looked at my profile - yet the "jobs" remained open. I believe that Care.com is setting up fake profiles in order for people to think that there are legitimate accounts and therefore shell out money for the monthly subscription and upgrades. It's akin to tying a carrot on a stick in front of a donkey pulling a cart. It's a promise of reward that's always just out of reach. Once I started researching, I found countless similar complaints on Care.com's own community board, on the BBB site, and on several online consumer complaint sites - which only substantiates my assertion that Care.com is a scam. I have also filed complaints with the FTC and the Wisconsin AG (where Care.com is based).

p.s. Care.com, you know what you can do with the "canned" response that you're going to post to this complaint.

Ann Hansen January 18, 2017

Correction: Massachusetts, not Wisconsin. Anyone wanting to complain to the state AG about Care.com should contact the Massachusetts AG. Sorry for the mixup.

automated renewal when you sign up for a 1 month package
January 3, 2017

Heh, i'm degree educated and have a sales promotion diploma yet these guys still caught me out - I suddenly found £35 debited from my account - I thought I was simply signing up for 1 month's subscription.

What's more the website is so poor - I have found it impossible to find out how to log into an account to even check or downgrade. I am so horrified that this company can be allowed to continue to operate in such an underhand manner. They are nothing short of crooks which is rather worrying when they are providing a means for people to source childcare.

Shameful,Harmful and Hateful
November 4, 2016
As most of us here I fell victim to this scam. I am disgusted and disappointed with this dysfunctional and disgraceful non existent customer service ringing off boilerplate lip service and well rehersed song and dance statements. That coupled with with worst list of caregivers I have ever had the displeasure to encouter coupled with an illegal scamming business model awards Care.com the most tragic internet service in modern history.

horrible
October 13, 2016
The website is scam they charge once a month and they au omatically charge without warning you. Plus as somebody saidThe vast majority of jobs posted either don't exist or just never get back to you.

Care.com November 02, 2016

We're sorry to hear your frustrations, Silvia. All of our subscriptions automatically renew until canceled and this is mentioned on the subscription page and again on the confirmation page after you upgraded your account. Feel free to email us at [email protected] and we'd be happy to review your account for you to see if you qualify for a refund. Best of luck to you!

Mark November 04, 2016

Where is the ridiculous generic reply from Care.com here? They forgot you.

Let me write it for them then

"We are sorry you feel that way.Dont hesidate to cal us at 1800 whatever or email and we will forrard your stateement to our dept."

Notice the same statements over and over accross 50 or more review boards all with the same complaints stemmmimg back as far as 10 yearrs ago. That is why Care.com is now called Scam.com

Thye steal your money
October 7, 2016
I registered for pet services. They take money each time you apply for a job or even respond to an email.. yes really ! You never get it back even if you never get a job. The vast majority of jobs posted either don't exist or just never get back to you. So you log into your account, there are messages to say someone is interested in your profile, you respond by email to say sorry can't do or maybe at later date. as soon as you hit that reply button Care.com automatically take your money. That's it it's now gone for ever !!! You don't even know who's really posted. I am reporting them to trading standards as I think this is con.. So please avoid or you could be seriously out of pocket. They also insist on storing your credit card details... I have never had any work through them... very suspicious of this outfit.. maybe the police need to take a look too

Care.com October 12, 2016

We're sorry you feel that way. It is ultimately the family' decision to reply to the applications they receive although we advise everyone to reply promptly to their messages, we're so sorry if this has not been your experience. Also, the only time your credit card gets charged is if you upgrade to Premium membership, information about the charges is listed in the subscription page which gives you an opportunity to review before you upgrade and before your credit card gets charged. Please send us an email at [email protected] to look into your account and review the charges on your account. Hope to hear back from you!

Brandeeyes January 03, 2017

I have never been charged for any service thru care.com and my membership is the basic free one, I did have to stay on top of applying for jobs at first but now my schedule is almost full so to those that think this site is a scam maybe you just did it wrong or signed up for the wrong membership. I'm very grateful for this site it has saved my family from financial failure since my husband was laid off. Thank you care. Com I appreciate you

SCAM.COM
October 3, 2016

People, this is an ABSOLUTE SCAM. I have excellent refences, yet ALL I ever get are SCAMMERS. WHY?? I need a job, NOT trying to figure out WHY is it I get scammers. I am warning ALL people that this is NOTHING but Scammers Heaven. I just got ANOTHER scam this morning from someone named 'Simon'. First warning is when they ask you to text a number you are sent. DON'T DO IT !!! My question for Care. Com is, if you charge me fees for everything, then, WHY do you charge potential employers another 'fee' just to READ it? I am reporting Care.Com to the BBB. No reputable business wants their name on the Better Business Bureau. As I said, no REPUTABLE business would EVER want to be put on their list. 1.888.494.4009 is their Fax number.

1.703.276.0100 is the number where they can help put you in the right direction.

PLEASE, Care. Com, do NOT send me your silly reply, especially, when we all KNOW you have NO interest in correction the situation. You will continue stealing our money, along with potential employers.

Care.com October 12, 2016

Sorry to hear about your experience, Sans! We encourage you to check out this article from the Safety Center on the site about detecting and avoiding these types of Scams. Also, in order to exchange messages on the site, one party has to be a paying member. If you have Premium membership and send messages to members that has basic free account, they will be able to reply to your message without upgrading. And if a Premium care seeker sends you a message, you'll be able to reply without upgrading. Hope this information helps clear things up a little bit. Best of luck to you!

Nothing but a SCAM
September 29, 2016

I was only registered with the site for 1 day and got FOUR scam responses on my cell phone.

I ask Care.com to REMOVE my profile and so far they have done nothing.

I have attempted to remove my information myself but the site REFUSES to allow me to do that.

i want my PERSONAL information REMOVED immediately!

NOW!

Care.com October 12, 2016

We apologize for your frustrations, Tammy! We're so sorry you decided to close your account. To close your account, log in to your account and go to Profile and Settings > Membership Information > Close. You can also email us at [email protected] and we'll close it for you. Best of luck to you!

Karen September 17, 2017

We have had several and I mean several 'caregivers' show interest in our job posting, have a phone interview, set up an in-person interview only to no show, tell us last minute they found something else or show for an interview and then never call/respond back. I don't know where care.com found so many shady people to join their site but it's an absolute joke for parents who are seriously looking for good, reliable help for their most precious members of their families!