Care.com Reviews

Care.com
( 188 reviews )
Website: www.Care.com

Care.com Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Frustrating and Ridiculous
October 30, 2017

My daughter tried to sign up several times, each time they would contact me, and each time I would approve. Upon approval they would instantly deny her application and basically tell me I wasn't who I day I am.

I contacted them trying to figure out what was happening and they kept giving me the same bs response "we compare your information to various data sources" of course I'm going to have other addresses and phone numbers on line, I lived in California for 35 years before moving to Nevada.

After they denied her AGAIN (since apparently I'm not me) I looked up real (non paid) reviews and saw nothing but negative comments. I'll pass. I guess I need to find my real self and ask me where I'm currently living so my information can match their flawed data bases.

Care.com is a JOKE
September 17, 2017

We have had several and I mean several 'caregivers' show interest in our job posting, have a phone interview, set up an in-person interview only to no show, tell us last minute they found something else or show for an interview and then never call/respond back.

I don't know where care.com found so many shady people to join their site but it's an absolute joke for parents who are seriously looking for good, reliable help for their most precious members of their families!

The BIGGEST SCAM!!
June 11, 2017
They advertised any fake dog walker/pet sitter positions in any fake locations! Also, they STOLE my money without any clients hiring me! DO NOT TRUST THEM!

care is a scam
April 29, 2017

I believe others that have posted..care has set up fake accounts with no families to respond back. I set up an alias account to respond to and vice versa and what do you know..no messages went through and both accounts were taken down with no explanation.,

but after I paid for background check and premium upgrade. They enjoy living off people's money. I did find 1 good job couple years ago weirdly but only because a friend posted the ad. Don't pay..

Good referal service, but no guarantee of good clients.
April 24, 2017

I was hired by a family looking for a caregiver on care.com.

I went to work for the family and was paid for my services.

The job went well (for months) and I pefromed my duties well.

However, the family decided to "let me go" after they discovered that they needed more help than just a caregiver, or at least, that's how they put it.

I am an experienced caregiver, I never call off, and I perform the duties assigned to me.

The family that hired me gave me no indication that things were deteriorating to the point where my services would not be needed. Instead I was, all of sudden, told one day that I was fired.

Also my dismissal was not only abrupt, it was rude and done without any regard for me and the time that I had invested in the job.

I recognize that sometimes working in the home with family members who have health problems can be stressful. My general opinion of the family is that they did not really care all that much for the quality of the care from the beginning, nor did they care about the staff.

Although it is not necessarily the job of care.com to monitor and surpervise the work that clients and service providers request and provide. My experience thus far with care.com indicates that there is a potential for members and clients to be put into situations that may not be equitable and possibly even present a conflict of interest.

I would recommend that care.com provide customer service for both users and service providers in case issues such as those described above present themselves.

Good service, but use a temporary credit card
April 2, 2017

I've gotten a few caregivers through Care.com, and have always been happy. The only problem is the automatic renewal and AUTOMATIC UPGRADE of accounts. Just noticed that I had a charge from Care.com for my account this month-after no charges for months since I got my new nanny.

They decided I had made a mistake downgrading to basic membership (since you can't delete your account with them) and so upgraded me without asking me. Note I last used the service in September of 2016 and I'm writing this in April 2017...

Use a one time credit card to sign up or cancel your card after you get your new caregiver.

BEWARE THIS COMPANY!!!!!!! SHAME!!!!
March 26, 2017

BEWARE OF CARE.COM This is a very, very bad company. I needed a dog sitter during an agonizing time in my family when a sibling was dying. I was trying to find a dog sitter as I was going to be out of town 3 to 4 days out of every week.

I signed up and paid my fee for the month in order to be able contact a couple of dog sitters. I hired someone and went about my life caretaking my family member. Now that she has passed and I am getting back on my feet from a devastating loss, I find that they have been charging my credit card every single month.

They are refusing to return anything but one month. FOR SHAME!!!!! FOR SHAME!!!! THIS IS A SCAM!!!!!!! beware consumers. They do not tell you that this auto-renews and if you are using services due to a crisis in your family or a tragedy they will take advantage of you.

Scam
January 17, 2017

It is my opinion that Care.com is nothing but a scam, suckering people into paying for monthly and upgrade fees with the promise of potential work, or of nurturing caregivers or hardworking housekeepers.

After I signed up & then paid for the subscription and upgrade, I not only never got any replies, but no one ever even looked at my profile - yet the "jobs" remained open. I believe that Care.com is setting up fake profiles in order for people to think that there are legitimate accounts and therefore shell out money for the monthly subscription and upgrades.

It's akin to tying a carrot on a stick in front of a donkey pulling a cart. It's a promise of reward that's always just out of reach. Once I started researching, I found countless similar complaints on Care.com's own community board, on the BBB site, and on several online consumer complaint sites - which only substantiates my assertion that Care.com is a scam.

I have also filed complaints with the FTC and the Wisconsin AG (where Care.com is based).

p.s. Care.com, you know what you can do with the "canned" response that you're going to post to this complaint.

Ann Hansen January 18, 2017

Correction: Massachusetts, not Wisconsin. Anyone wanting to complain to the state AG about Care.com should contact the Massachusetts AG. Sorry for the mixup.

automated renewal when you sign up for a 1 month package
January 3, 2017

Heh, i'm degree educated and have a sales promotion diploma yet these guys still caught me out - I suddenly found £35 debited from my account - I thought I was simply signing up for 1 month's subscription.

What's more the website is so poor - I have found it impossible to find out how to log into an account to even check or downgrade. I am so horrified that this company can be allowed to continue to operate in such an underhand manner. They are nothing short of crooks which is rather worrying when they are providing a means for people to source childcare.

Shameful,Harmful and Hateful
November 4, 2016

As most of us here I fell victim to this scam. I am disgusted and disappointed with this dysfunctional and disgraceful non existent customer service ringing off boilerplate lip service and well rehearsed song and dance statements.

That coupled with with worst list of caregivers I have ever had the displeasure to encounter coupled with an illegal scamming business model awards Care.com the most tragic internet service in modern history.

horrible
October 13, 2016
The website is scam they charge once a month and they au omatically charge without warning you. Plus as somebody saidThe vast majority of jobs posted either don't exist or just never get back to you.

Care.com November 02, 2016

We're sorry to hear your frustrations, Silvia. All of our subscriptions automatically renew until canceled and this is mentioned on the subscription page and again on the confirmation page after you upgraded your account. Feel free to email us at [email protected] and we'd be happy to review your account for you to see if you qualify for a refund. Best of luck to you!

Mark November 04, 2016

Where is the ridiculous generic reply from Care.com here? They forgot you.

Let me write it for them then

"We are sorry you feel that way.Dont hesidate to cal us at 1800 whatever or email and we will forrard your stateement to our dept."

Notice the same statements over and over accross 50 or more review boards all with the same complaints stemmmimg back as far as 10 yearrs ago. That is why Care.com is now called Scam.com

Thye steal your money
October 7, 2016
I registered for pet services. They take money each time you apply for a job or even respond to an email.. yes really ! You never get it back even if you never get a job. The vast majority of jobs posted either don't exist or just never get back to you. So you log into your account, there are messages to say someone is interested in your profile, you respond by email to say sorry can't do or maybe at later date. as soon as you hit that reply button Care.com automatically take your money. That's it it's now gone for ever !!! You don't even know who's really posted. I am reporting them to trading standards as I think this is con.. So please avoid or you could be seriously out of pocket. They also insist on storing your credit card details... I have never had any work through them... very suspicious of this outfit.. maybe the police need to take a look too

Care.com October 12, 2016

We're sorry you feel that way. It is ultimately the family' decision to reply to the applications they receive although we advise everyone to reply promptly to their messages, we're so sorry if this has not been your experience. Also, the only time your credit card gets charged is if you upgrade to Premium membership, information about the charges is listed in the subscription page which gives you an opportunity to review before you upgrade and before your credit card gets charged. Please send us an email at [email protected] to look into your account and review the charges on your account. Hope to hear back from you!

Brandeeyes January 03, 2017

I have never been charged for any service thru care.com and my membership is the basic free one, I did have to stay on top of applying for jobs at first but now my schedule is almost full so to those that think this site is a scam maybe you just did it wrong or signed up for the wrong membership. I'm very grateful for this site it has saved my family from financial failure since my husband was laid off. Thank you care. Com I appreciate you

SCAM.COM
October 3, 2016

People, this is an ABSOLUTE SCAM. I have excellent refences, yet ALL I ever get are SCAMMERS. WHY?? I need a job, NOT trying to figure out WHY is it I get scammers. I am warning ALL people that this is NOTHING but Scammers Heaven. I just got ANOTHER scam this morning from someone named 'Simon'. First warning is when they ask you to text a number you are sent. DON'T DO IT !!! My question for Care. Com is, if you charge me fees for everything, then, WHY do you charge potential employers another 'fee' just to READ it? I am reporting Care.Com to the BBB. No reputable business wants their name on the Better Business Bureau. As I said, no REPUTABLE business would EVER want to be put on their list. 1.888.494.4009 is their Fax number.

1.703.276.0100 is the number where they can help put you in the right direction.

PLEASE, Care. Com, do NOT send me your silly reply, especially, when we all KNOW you have NO interest in correction the situation. You will continue stealing our money, along with potential employers.

Care.com October 12, 2016

Sorry to hear about your experience, Sans! We encourage you to check out this article from the Safety Center on the site about detecting and avoiding these types of Scams. Also, in order to exchange messages on the site, one party has to be a paying member. If you have Premium membership and send messages to members that has basic free account, they will be able to reply to your message without upgrading. And if a Premium care seeker sends you a message, you'll be able to reply without upgrading. Hope this information helps clear things up a little bit. Best of luck to you!

Nothing but a SCAM
September 29, 2016

I was only registered with the site for 1 day and got FOUR scam responses on my cell phone.

I ask Care.com to REMOVE my profile and so far they have done nothing.

I have attempted to remove my information myself but the site REFUSES to allow me to do that.

i want my PERSONAL information REMOVED immediately!

NOW!

Care.com October 12, 2016

We apologize for your frustrations, Tammy! We're so sorry you decided to close your account. To close your account, log in to your account and go to Profile and Settings > Membership Information > Close. You can also email us at [email protected] and we'll close it for you. Best of luck to you!

Karen September 17, 2017

We have had several and I mean several 'caregivers' show interest in our job posting, have a phone interview, set up an in-person interview only to no show, tell us last minute they found something else or show for an interview and then never call/respond back. I don't know where care.com found so many shady people to join their site but it's an absolute joke for parents who are seriously looking for good, reliable help for their most precious members of their families!

Questionable and suspicious
August 2, 2016

First clue. They require you to register your credit card so they can bill you for the " recommended" level. Second clue. The supposed " free" level leaves you out of most job oportunities.

The big red flag for me was when a rep called me but did not identify at first what job service she represents and was calling to me about.

Maybe not as scam, but I sure as hell will not use their services or reccomend them to any other job seeker.

Tracy August 06, 2016

Not one penny more. Im disgusted by the constant Oh if you just pay a monthly fee you will have better visibility and get more jobs . You know what? Take an ad out somewhere and advertise your services. Either do your own background check and printed proof that you are not a criminal. There resume drop down box doesnt work half the time (at least it didnt for me and I have to send my resume in plain text when messaging others) Waste of time going to other resume posting sites etc. Blah! Oh back ground check that I did less than a year ago and paid for expired with 3 more months to go and have to pay 59.00 now instead of 13. RIPOFF.

Care.com September 02, 2016

Sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations, Maureen. We appreciate your feedback and will forward it to the right department. We wish you all the best!

J. Dodge October 07, 2016

Tracy is absolutely correct.. I've had a dreadful experience with this bunch of criminals..

Care.com will steal your money
July 28, 2016
I am beyond disappointed with this company. We paid their $39 monthly service fee to try to find a nanny for our children. We paid the money, and within an hour Care.com terminated our account with no explanation. They still debited our account and have refused to return any emails or communications. This company might not be a scam, but they have horrible customer service, horrible account management, and are more than happy to take your money, terminate your account with no services rendered, and then completely ignore you.

Care.com September 02, 2016

We're so sorry to hear your frustrations, Randy. Per our Terms of Use, we do not need to disclose specific reason why an account would be closed. We do however, send you an email with the list of possible reasons why an account is closed. We always issue refunds on accounts that are terminated by us, we'd be happy look into this for you. Please email us at [email protected] so that we can take care of this for you immediately. Best of luck to you!

No refunds. No customer service!
July 22, 2016
So thus website does not give refunds and they charge you for every little thing they offer. Your free subscription allows you to to post only. You can't contact anyone. Then you pay a monthly rate then you can contact them. Then they charge you to see backgrounds checks, driving records etc. . No records of sale of verififications prior to charging your card. I called to complain because the additional charges were not clear. They will not cancel my three months subscription or give me any money back. I will never use this site again. That was my grocery money. For $122 I got 3months of limited access and one background check. Whoopy.

Care.com September 02, 2016

Sorry to hear your frustrations, Brenda. It's free to set up an account and browse through caregivers on the site, it is to give you an opportunity to look through caregiver profiles in your area and see if this is something that will work for you and your care needs. We are unable to issue refund on initial subscription but we'll be more than happy to review your account for you and see if there is anything we can do at all. Please email us at [email protected] and we'll look into this for you. Hope you have a great day!

SCAM FAKE SITE TO STEAL YOUR CELL # AND E-MAIL
July 4, 2016

I WAS ONLY ON IT FOR A FEW DAYS AND HAD 2 REPLIES. ONE WAS A FAKE WOMAN FROM NEW YORK , BUT HAD A KENTUCKY PHONE NUMER WHICH WHEN CALLED, DID NOT HAVE VOICEMAIL FOR ME TO LEAVE A MESSAGE. SHE WAS RELOCATING TO MY STATE AND NEEDED A PET SITTER AND HAD ACCESS TO MY PERSONAL CELL NUMBER AND TEXTED ME AND THEN SENT AN EMAIL WANTING MY STREET ADDRESS TO "SEND ME A CHECK" SHE OFFERED A FAKE $25 AN HOUR TO SIT WITH A DOG??

ANOTHER WAS A WOMAN WHO CALLED ME AND LEFT A VOICE MAIL ASKING ME TO SEND HER A MESSAGE ON CARE.COM

I CALLED BACK AND LEFT 2 MESSAGES AND NO REPLIES FOR DAYS.

NOW MY CELL NUMBER AND EMAIL IS OUT THERE.

I LEFT A MESSAGE TO CARE.COM AND COPY AND PASTED THE EMAIL BUT NO REPLIES. I ALSO APPLIED AT SEVERAL FAKE JOBS AND NO REPLIES AND SAW THEY WERE REPOSTED. I DONT KNOW OF ANYONE WHO HAS EVER FOUND THIS SITE TO BE LEGIT

RIP-OFF / STAY AWAY
July 3, 2016
The sentiments expressed below are accurate. This "service" is a sham and potentially a scam, for people seeking child care, too. They'll hoodwink you into signing up for a one-month "trial" for $35 or whatever, then a few months later, you look at your credit card statement and realize they've been charging you every month, then refuse to provide full refunds. It's not worth the money, either. I've found more good, reliable child care on Sittercity, which doesn't cost you anything. Avoid care.com always.

Tracy August 06, 2016

I hoped Sitter city upped their CS. I got fooled into giving my pw in order to get back into my account. Guess someone was disgruntled and got me kicked off that site. Doesnt matter as I do not do childcare and that is what they specialize in now

SCAM
June 30, 2016
No stars!! This site is AWFUL - Young adults BEWARE - this site releases your contact info to scammers who will NOT stop contacting you to try to lure you into jobs that are FAKE - they do not speak proper English, they are ALWAYS somewhere else at the time and will meet you soon haha..., they will say their pay is great and can you do a few simple errands until they get back from hell or wherever they are from! Oh and wait there's more.. they will send money to you, more than your pay so you can then pay someone else that is waiting for payment from them on the sale of something... paintings, whatever, you get the idea. It's sad that too many young people will fall for this site. Stay far away from here!! Get a job the old fashion way, check out the employer via legit means and meet them at their office. Never go to their home alone! For goodness sake!

Tracy August 06, 2016

That usually happened to me on Craigslist. Its a common scam. but thanks deleting my contact info they can s*ck it!