Care.com Reviews

Care.com
( 188 reviews )
Website: www.Care.com

Care.com Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Care.com-means "CRIMINALS.COM"
January 14, 2013

Beware, there are criminals looking to take care of your kids on this site.

I have been using care.com for about 9 months, and my experience has not been good. The sitters are just ok. Not really experienced in childcare, just in it for the money.

However, the last straw for me was when one of the sitters I found from care.com stole my LV purse I just bought from Paris a few months ago for $2000! She also STOLE 2 LV bags from another family she met through us. She actually confessed to stealing my bag after I sent her repeated texts. She finally sent me a money order for $2000 to replace my bag, and returned both bags to my friend's husbands office.

I called care.com to inform them, so they could discharge her from their agency, in order to protect other families she is caring for. She is clearly a criminal!! This was a month ago. I have sent several emails to care.com. They sent me a reply after the 3rd or 4th email, and basically said, there was nothing they could do!!!!

Their reaction was unbelievable!! So beware everyone, I don't know what kind of background checks care.com carries out, but I think all they do is collect their "checks" from these sitters. They really DO NOT CARE about the safety and well being of the families out there.

Chris C January 22, 2013

I checked this site out in order to apply for a job. They wanted a lot of personal info from me that they would have had no use for unless they were paying me - which is not the case since I was aplying directly for a job that someone else had posted. I think it is a scam - that or they sell the info to emailers!

Mecca February 20, 2013

this is so true

Mary February 23, 2013

thank you for the reviews. Now ive decided not to subscribe. their site looks very deceiving

It's a Bait and Switch Scam
January 14, 2013

I posted a job for a dog sitter, as our usual sitter was unavailable for a family funeral we were to attend. I had a promising response the next day, and searched for her phone number, address, etc. Imagine my surprise to find out NOW that I had to pay $35 to contact someone for a one-time, 3 day job. And like the others, I also discovered that amount would be charged each month until I unsubscribed.

No where in the sign-up process was this disclosed. I would rate this site as deceptive, unnecessarily expensive and a complete waste of time. I was fortunate to have not lost any money, and intend to report Care.com to any agency who will accept my complaint. I encourage others to do the same. This site needs to be taken down.

Julie January 17, 2013

I am a pet/house sitter whith great references and years of experience who thought care.com would be a great way to reach new clients. First they denied my request to join because I joined as an individual (which I am) and not as a company. Then I gave it another try to sign up as a company and imagine MY surprise when I discovered that they charge provders $12.00 for each referal. THAT''S REFERALS NOT JOBS. Someone trying to make an honest living could wind up paying Care.com a lot of money for nothing. I agree...it's a scam.

Bella January 22, 2013

It's not a scam. It's a criminal activities. I agree to report this site to someone who will check them

Carol February 03, 2013

35.00!!??? What a cr*p company they are! Maybe that's why I'm not getting any activity on my account. Someone looking for a pet sitter and has to PAY for me? I'm already paying. My customer shouldn't have to. UGH...I really dislike care.com

Carol February 03, 2013

I'm even beginning to think that the 'positive' responses on here are from the company itself

Tory February 22, 2013

This explains why I NEVER get any responses for the numerous jobs I have applied for. Makes sense to me now. I was starting to think something was wrong with ME!

Membercare May 22, 2013

Hello, I am a Member care representative from Care.com. When signing up for the service, all members are made aware upon their enrollment that they do need to upgrade the service in order to fully utilize the site. Members are also made aware on the upgrade page and on the confirmation page that all of the subscriptions are set for automatic renewal until they’re canceled. This membership can be canceled either by contacting us, or can be done right through the account when you’re done utilizing the service. We do offer the ability to set a ‘Reminder’ on the confirmation page that notifies members via email 7 days before their account is set to renew.

No problems
January 12, 2013
I have had no problems with this site. I found a good job with an awesome family and I have had a lot of responses from families, I just had an interview with a sweet family last night. Ive read the negative reviews and to me it just seems like people lack common sense. Would you sign a lease on a car before reading the fine print? And you have to actually communicate with the families to get a job. You cant't just make a profile and expect to be selected for a job. It works the same way as if you we're going to apply to work at Walmart or Wawa.

Marketing s January 19, 2013

I too have had success as a Private Home Health Aide. I only pay for the background check and get updated emails of new jobs sent to me regularly. I work for a family now through the website. I was tired of working for healthcare agencies that took a huge part of my profits. I have my own references, you can pretty much go anywhere to get a background done now a days. I think that people need to remember if you hire people who aren't from here you won't get a background on them. Also, just because you check someone's background does not mean that person has never done wrong, it means they never have got caught. I personally give more than 6 references and tell them to google my name, not to mention I am a Realtor so you can go onto the California Department of Real Estate, they do a exstensive background check. I used Care.com to market myself, unfortunately most of the jobs are very low paying, some times ridiculous amounts. Hate to say it but, you get what you pay for. Blaming an agency that is strictly for marketing because you didn't do your homework is negligence on the clients part. Do your homework, at anytime anyone could be the wrong person. If you are so worried pay for your own background on a individual. Because of Care.com I have work now and I am able to pay for the rest of my nursing school.

What a sham!
January 11, 2013
I've been signed up with this site for about a year looking for part time dog walking gigs. I've paid for the background check, I apply for jobs and I've never ever gotten work through this site. Every picture I upload is denied, any profile changes are denied. They send me emails about new jobs and when I click on them they are actually old jobs. I'm beginning to think the jobs I apply for don't really exist. This website is a waste of time.

They j January 14, 2013

Omg!!!!! I have been with this site for 3 years. I just renew my 3rd year last year. I have the same issues, one job i applied for, did a reference check and that was it, nothing else happen. they send me all type of emails, but noone replied back or anything, i thought it was because of my color. every thing was well said in this posting. i myself think its a scam. I did my bgcheck one time. and i never renew it afterwards.

Julie January 17, 2013

why do you keep giving them your money for nothing? Put a little ad in your local free weekly newspaper (many towns have them). Mine costs about $35 a month and I get a lot of business for house sitting and pet care from it. Pays for itself and then some.Care.com DOES NOT CARE...IT'S A RIP OFF

Membercare May 22, 2013

Hello, I am a Member care representative from Care.com. I’m sorry to hear that you were not able to find a part time job through the service. When applying to jobs, keeping your profile up to date is a huge part of the process. Our profile and photo guidelines can always be found on our ‘Help’ page when trying to update your information, or you can feel free to contact us if you’re still experiencing issues. The volume of jobs that are added to the site depends on the volume of individuals registered in that area that are looking to hire. The emails that get sent out notify providers of the most recent jobs posted, but if there are no new jobs being added it is possible that you will receive job alerts that are a little older. I wish you best of luck going forward.

Rip off
January 9, 2013
Same issue as previous posters. Do not join! They will terminate your membership if you give honest feedback. And we have given both positive and negative honest feedback. Really positive and some negative but honest. They also seem to reach the bottom of the barrel. We have had a few----very few good finds and some horrible. One that alluded to using drugs. Several that asked to be paid cash only (we report to the IRS by law). One we caught taking 12 packs of soda to her car. One that failed to strap kids into car seats. Care.com did the same to me that they did to those above who gave honest feedback. They terminated our membership. I want to know if someone listed does drugs or doesn't use safety procedures with kids. That is really important to me. I don't understand why care doesn't care?

Marc January 22, 2013

We'll see closer what they do soon

Rebecca April 23, 2013

I havent even gotten the chance to post a review of someone. We started using it 3 days ago, paid for a 3 month membership for $70.00 and today (third day) we were terminated. No explanation, nothing, just tried to sign in and it said email not recogized so my husband checked his e-mail and BAM, termination notice. I cant wait to call customer service that is a phone call i am going to love to record and report to the Better business bureau

Membercare May 22, 2013

Hello, I am a Member care representative from Care.com. I do apologize for the experience you had regarding the caregivers you hired. Anytime members have a poor experience, we encourage them to write a review or report the provider to our safety and security team to make others aware of the situation that occurred. We would not remove a member from the service for leaving honest feedback about the experiences they had with other members, however due to our privacy policy we cannot disclose the reasons as to why accounts get removed from the service. Again I apologize for your experience but wish you best of luck going forward.

Arrogant, unethical and deceptive at best
January 8, 2013
I had been searching for a housekeeper for some time and had paid care.com the subscription fees for several months. I was aware of the auto-renew feature but it took some digging to find it. They purposely obscure it to gouge you. The worst part of this, is after paying several months and after I had a poor experience with one provider and posted some fair, but negative feedback towards the provider, which care.com asked for, they arbitrarily cancelled my account. I requested several times to at least understand why they canceled the account and they refused to tell me. They quoted their policy that they have the right to terminate service for any reason whatsoever and are not required to disclose the reasons for such. What arrogance. Please, please join me in boycotting this company and send a message that this nonsense will should not be tolerated.

I w January 14, 2013

I will help

Hey,Care. c January 22, 2013

You think all people are stupide and you are so smart?????

Membercare May 22, 2013

Hello, I am a Member care representative from Care.com. I do apologize for your experience on the site. Unfortunately per our privacy policy, we cannot disclose specific details as to why accounts do get removed, however we would not terminate a membership for posting honest feedback about their experience with another member; our review feature is made for just that. Again I apologize for your experience, but wish you best of luck going forward.

Willfully and wrongfully canceled our membership.
January 5, 2013

My wife and I needed some help so we signed up with care.com.We paid the fee for a year and started using the service.We only used the website for about 3 weeks after which we stopped for we no longer need a caregiver.

3 months later,we got this email that our membership has been cancelled at the discretion of care.com

No reason was given and the email states they,can at will cancel your membership.

This is my story...

Okay site, sneaky billing
January 3, 2013
I found a babysitter through this site. I didn't use many of the features, so I can't comment on many aspects of the site. It was helpful to see so many listings. I read through the billing policies carefully because I know that some sites auto renew. It did state that the account would auto renew after a month. I think it should be stated more obviously, maybe in red at the top of the page, because it's a big deal. I downgraded to the free membership one month to the day after I purchased my premium membership. Admittedly, I should not have waited until the last minute. Of course, I checked and there was a pending transaction in my bank account. I emailed Care.com, and by the time I called (the next day) it had already been taken care of. I am glad they took care of the issue. Like another user stated, they send out emails all the time, so it should not be a problem for them to send out a billing reminder.

Billy January 22, 2013

Come on.... It's no the best site, you should hire a better designer, at least with some education.

Membercare May 22, 2013

Hi there, I am a Member Care Representative from Care.com. I’m glad to hear that you were able to have success with our site. We do offer a billing reminder upon enrollment, so that you would get a billing reminder one week prior to your subscription renewal. I apologize if you missed that, but again, I am glad to hear you had an overall positive experience, and that we were able to assist you with your billing concern!

not helpful and bad billing practice
January 2, 2013
I didn't know the site auto renew my subscription. I was charged for several months and didn't even know about it. I asked the representative if others have the same complaint/problem or if I was an idiot for missing that part...she said she does have a lot of people call in with the same problem. OBVIOUSLY this is a scam because they KNOW that their small prints about the auto renew is not obvious to their users. Also they have a no refund policy so I was unable to get my money back...even though there has been no activity on my profile for MONTHS. Don't use this website. I went through a bunch of applicant'ts and couldn't find a reliable one. You are better off asking your friends/family/neighbors for references!!! IF you decide to use this site, please make sure you talk to all the references and have nanny cam in placed!!!

Membercare May 22, 2013

Hello, I am a Member care representative from Care.com. I do apologize for your experience on the site. When signing up for the service, all members are made aware upon enrollment that they do need to upgrade the service in order to fully utilize the site. Members are also made aware on the upgrade page and on the confirmation page that all of the subscriptions are set for automatic renewal until they’re canceled. This membership can be canceled either by contacting us, or can be done right through the account when you’re done utilizing the service.

Care.Com site states it will find you a job, I am still unemployed!
December 26, 2012
When I first signed up on care.com I put out 2 different applications. One was for housekeeping & the other 1 was for a caregiver provider. I tried to upload my photo from Facebook and that didn't work so then I tried to upload my photos from my computer and that still doesn't work.This site has a lot of problems with it. I filled out several applications with many people looking for house keepers and caregivers, and I've never been contacted, and I have no reviews. I put a lot of work into my applications and filling out my info on care.com. I will give it 1 more week and if I don't hear from anyone on a job offer, or at least get a call I'm just going to take my information off the site and go elsewhere for a job.

Reader December 29, 2012

you better cancel your billing account now, seems they bill you for 3 more months that you sign up for!

Same Story: Deceptive Billing
December 23, 2012

As a consumer I have certain responsiblities such as check my billing statements and read the contract. As a company, they put info in the fine print knowing the consumer in these conditions don't have time to read the fine print. They send daily, weekly and monthy e-mail notifications about childcare but they can't send a single e-mail that notifies the user they are being charged. They are relying on the consume, like myself, to be too busy to notice. Flat out this is predatory. If they were practicing full disclosure, they would notify us they were charging us. They don't because we would realize it and end our service. If you are stuck in an annual contract even after notifying them to cancel the service, I would get your credit card cancelled or renumbered.

They get a 2-star because I did find someone but the back ground check was useless.

check bbb ratings first
December 17, 2012
I did and learned a lot.

Laura December 18, 2012

Overall care.com is a productive tool to connect parents and caregivers..howerver I have been working from Care.com for sometime now and read most of the customer complaints and have a few of my own..

10 ten reasons you should not use Care.com as sitter or a parent.

1-The site has no real credibility..background checks are few and far between..and the sitters that do have one most havnt logged on in over 3 monthes..many like myself get on when they just need the extra cash. They dont screen out illegal immigrants or crimminals..anyone can have a premium account with a credit card. The background checks that are offered (if you read the fine print you will see)..it checks the sex offenders lists and major felonies, everything is not looked into for a basic background check...you must pay for the most expensive check and even then..petty crimes most likely dont show up..SO evn though I work the site I would never ever leave my child with anyone from a sitter service. Its the fast food of childcare..many parents are desperate single moms that must go to work.

2-They can cancel your membership at anytime for any reason or no reason..This is becuase they dont know who is working for them as I said 95% of sitters arnt screened..So if anyone says anything about a sitter or a parent in a negative fashion BANG case closed..BUT the kicker is the persons closed account can be reopened that same very hour with a differernt email address.. same credit card and background check..same everything. Makes no sense. Because nothing is cross referenced.

3-Anyone can write a review about anyone at anytime for any reason or no reason. So a sitter can open up a 2nd account as a parent, upgrade then write as many reviews as she like about herself..as long as she pays..nothing is cross referenced..same credit card doesnt matter. Also a parent can write a review about a sitter they have never hired or even spoke to..again nothing is cross referenced. The reviews have no credibilty.

3-They dont have any standards for min wage..Which I kind of understand babysitting/waitressing kind of the exceptions to the rule..HOWEVER Why do they let parents advertise for free room and board in exchange for childcare..or $200 a week nanny need for 60 hour work week..They are screaming "ALL ILLEGALS ALIANS COME TO THE USA HIDE OUT AND GET CASH AND A ROOM" NO NEED FOR A GREENCARD OR BACKGROUND CHECK" RIDICULOUS!!

4-They reccomend that sitters pay to be a featured sitter and auto renew on thier credit card every month..But this doesnt apply if your young and pretty and log in every day..no need to pay you will be on the front page..there is no ryme or reason to it..I see featured sitters on page 50 of 100 and non featured on the front page..I uploaded a pretty pic of my sister on my page to test this theory and BANG front page..if it had been my brother wouldnt have happened.

5-I wanted to make some restrictions on my page to keep my self safe as a caregiver. Not allowed..I recieved a message saying I broke the guidelines and it wasnt relevant..I wanted to ask parents not to text me or call while I am driving to the house its hard enogh trying to find an address at night with your phone blowing up every min. I wanted to ask for cash only untill I know you..and verified your ID not allowed, Im subjected to bouncy checks..I wanted to run a background check on a parent wasnt allowed either. No protection for sitters on this site whatsoever.

6-This site is really bad for phishing scams, Nanny scams, and college kids escorting..People hit my site with an ad wanting my email address every day..Im from out of town and will be in town with 6 delegates..same ad every time with a differnt twist..an hout later thier account is terminated. And im notified..why was this ad approved in the first place? Nanny scam..popular as well..Im sending you a check in the mail and I need you to buy suplies for when I get to town..and mail them to this address..are you kdding me? Why is this on care.com? And then there is the college student wanting to take care of the elderly for $25 an hour in a bikini--- tooo much.

7-Parents can post whatever ad they want in whatever zipcode doenst matter where they live nothing is monitored..they can job to job wizard and post the same crazy ad 10 times in a row before someone catches it..as well as sitter..Sitters will post ads as a parent for needing childcare all the time when they dont..this clogs up the system..they want to write a review on themself or take a shot at another sitter..nothing is cross referenced..makes the site look busy when its not..thats why Care.com really doesnt CARE..sitters think they have plenty of ads to apply to when they sign up but over 50% of them are fake.

8-They do no accept credit cards for payment for service..Please get with the times..its not rocket science..I have had my share of have to ask to get paid at the door..some people are drunk from the bar and forget or just assume I have a credit card machine on me..because I came from a service..and then there is well I bought the pizza so is $20 ok for the night..after I babysat for 7 hours.".no its no allright".

9-They dont have a proper customer service help desk..most everything submitted from customer service is an auto generated response..they dont provide any information on how to keep your self safe other than interview in a public place..lack of commuincation all around.

10-Care.com is a corporate run business with no regard for its parents or caregivers.

Marketing s January 19, 2013

I think you have really valid points, I haven't really dealt with customer service yet. I have been using them as a marketing tool. I have noticed that many people looking for care do offer ridiculous wages for their loved ones. I personally am in school full time and work odd hours to pay for nursing school. I thought about taking care of babies but so many jobs want you to do 3 jobs for the price of one. People just aren't going to get quality care providers. I also think that we should as care providers be able to do background checks on clients it can be scary going to some of these homes. People also don't realize how uncomfortable it is to come to their homes and be sized up when you get there. I can't wait to graduate and have a normal job.

Jane March 06, 2013

BBB rating is currently an A but there have many complaints listed, both open and closed.

Beware - "1 month" supscriptions renew...without any email notification!
December 13, 2012

site is hit or miss...may find some good folks, but lots of scary looking people that i wouldn't even let babysit for my goldfish!

i was so annoyed to find out i have been billed for the last couple months....it renews. they don't mention that, and they don't communicate via email.

site is probably no better/useful than just finding a neighborhood kid or someone from church to help out.

Jon December 18, 2012

I had the same issue as you ... only found out when I checked my cc statement. Found a great babysitter no fault there, but the auto renew is pure evil, (probably salesforce.com is more to blame for enabling that behavior) I emailed them they refunded my last charge ($35), but I am pretty sure that there was no opt in for auto renewal subscriptions and I definitely never received a notification. This is especially frustrating when you have a newborn and can barely see... (because you are so tired)

Jon December 18, 2012

Oh and btw, report them to your bank - if they get enough disputes raised Visa / MC etc will stop working with them.

Trish December 23, 2012

I registered with the Premium site for a month NO JOBS? I am a professional and have much to offer. This is incredible. I get emails telling me jobs are posted every minute? I don't think so. What a scam.

If you are contemplating joining and read this.. don't do it.

NOT a January 02, 2013

I didn't know the site auto renew my subscription. I was charged for several months and didn't even know about it. I asked the representative if others have the same complaint/problem or if I was an idiot for missing that part...she said she does have a lot of people call in with the same problem. OBVIOUSLY this is a scam because they KNOW that their small prints about the auto renew is not obvious to their users. Also they have a no refund policy so I was unable to get my money back...even though there has been no activity on my profile for MONTHS. Don't use this website. I went through a bunch of applicants and couldn't find a reliable one. You are better off asking your friends/family/neighbors for references!!! IF you decide to use this site, please make sure you talk to all the references and have nanny cam in placed!!!

Garbage
December 9, 2012
I posted my profile/résumé on this site over a year ago and have yet to hear anything from anyone in legit fashion. As a professional and independent caregiver I find it hard to believe no one has contacted me (except for two 'healthcare agencies' promising a good salary in exchange for personal info.) I will not give money to this site, nor will I trust his site with my info. I have seen the complaints of excess charges for absolutely nothing in return and will not fall victim. Word of mouth is the best way to be hired by an individual.

Laura December 22, 2012

If your a professional then when do you have time to commit to babysitting?

Zelda February 02, 2013

Laura, What exactly do you think it means to be a professional? Do you think the people that we pay to provide care for our children, our elderly loved ones, and our beloved pets should NOT behave in a professional and reliable manner? There is a wide range of caregivers. Some are occasional sitters working for extra pocket change, while others are trying to earn a living and are trained in various disciplines such as CPR, child development and healthcare.

Not only do you show YOUR ignorance with YOUR grammar (your sentence should have said "If YOU'RE a professional...), but your comment shows a serious lack of respect for those we trust to care for our family members.

Renewed for another full 3 months without me expecting it
December 6, 2012
I realized that when I signed up, I committed to 3 months of payments but then it renewed past that for another 3 months and they would not refund.

Automatic renewal of 1 month subscription
December 5, 2012

I signed up for a 1 month subscription, and although in the fine print it says it will be automatically renewed unless you cancel, I feel it goes against common sense when it comes to a one month subscription. The definition of subscription is agreeing to specified period of time, why would I agree to more than 1 month if I signed up for 1 month? It makes no sense.

Also there was no reminder email sent when the charges were made each month. The website clearly has emailing capabilities as I receive spam from them more than once a week as a member. They could have at least notified me they were charging me.

I ended up being charged for 2 additional months past the one I agreed to before I realized it, and I never even found a single care provider through this website. This website charged me over $100 and I got absolutely nothing out of it. I will never use this site again and I do not recommend it to others look for a provider.

Wendy December 29, 2012

I appreciate your comment. I am hearing a lot of this. I truly don't know why people can't just do good business without trying to "scam" everyone in sight.

Scams busy moms
November 29, 2012
I found my caregiver after only a week and while I only signed up for one month membership, they continued to charge me until I noticed it on my bank account. After attempting to contact them several times they still continued to charge my account. Many e-mails and phone calls later I thought I had it cancelled when two months later I noticed 12 dollars being charged to my account every month. They insisted I agreed to a one year contract the last time I spoke with them. I NEVER did. In fact the last time I spoke with them I was sure to let them know I would NEVER use them again. I guess they assumed that meant charge me for a year. Do not use this site, just ask neighbors, friends, family, or coworkers for sitters they use.

Care.com Bogus site
November 28, 2012
Have been on Care.com for over a year, started with the basic package, had no results even though I applied for well over 20 jobs or so in a 2 month period. Upgraded, thinking that it would give me a better opportunity to at least land an interview. No such luck, the upgrade to $20 per month was a waste of time and money. I replied to multiple positions with no response. Then I noticed that they were using the same pictures with different scenarios and rotating them monthly. A position that I applied for turned up 3 months later with a different picture and person, hunh? Major rip-off for both sides of the job seeking process. Give them my Social Security number for a background check, no chance in hell. Also when you sign up check your email for a sudden influx of scammer emails, I had plenty.

Mike H December 09, 2012

Same thing here!! Lot a of scamming email, most of which are ridiculously stupid with no relevance to care positions

Laura December 22, 2012

20 jobs in 2 months in not enough at all...apply to every job in your zipcode..if your available to work when they need you or not..Leave your # for varibale care...most peolpe will say thanks I will keep it for when I might need it..Its like handing out fliers for pizza..some peolpe might say "application denied" but others will call when thier needs change..If you have proper references and you are avialble..if your only availbale on weekends then you can expect to work about 6 times a year..unless you find a family that will use you every weekend.

started my Nanny career here
November 26, 2012

I have had a good experience with care.com. with any method of finding a Nanny it will be difficult sometimes. It works both ways, some of the families are looking for someone perfect for their kids but want to turn you into there housekeeper. some want to hire you part time and then be available whenever they need you extra. The truth is that a lot of younger care givers are not responsible. It is also true that you get what you pay for. If you want someone to work 40 hours a week for $250 , what do you think will happen. I worked for a family who let me go for getting sick. They were all sick and home from work for days but when I came down sick a week later they acted understanding and told me to take the next day as well. When I showed up the third day it was "why are you here" said they sent me a text which I never got. Really? how would you like your Nanny to quit by text? So what I am saying is you have to learn how to interview. Meet many candidates, bring them over to evaluate their work , call their references. do not discriminate over age. A lot of older care givers are experienced even if they are not yet professional nanny's . I got started at 49. I was a stay at home mom and I love kids and I cook well and I keep the home clean. I do not want to be treated like I should do what ever you ask. The important thing is your child(ren) look for someone good with children first. Do not expect perfection, and do not think that your nanny will never be sick. If you can afford a high end nanny and your able to pay them very well you get more. for those of us who work for under $15 per hour , we can not fill every position your home needs. Not every nanny wants to be like part of your family either. Some of us want to work with children and we can be very good at it even though we may not want to be like family. If that happens it is a huge stroke of luck. But employers and employees usually need to stay somewhat professional.

I personally do not like the family around. It is usually much more difficult to find someone who wants to have you around all day and telling them what to do . Most good child care providers will do better making a schedule and knowing what they are going to be doing on their own.

I have had to browse through tons of jobs and apply to tons to find work , but I find it. I also get turned down a lot. People really can be difficult. I feel that unless you are paying me over $40,000 a year, I am pretty much your baby sitter. I see people looking to pay $5 per hour. Really? for your child? I pay more than that for someone to care for my dog when I go out of town. Don't think you are going to find servants easily in America that are going to like you treating them like a servant and then happily go about caring for your child. Keep the nanny satisfied with her job , pay a good wage and don't expect them to cook , clean , do childcare, run all your errands, that is called a servant . Now if you can afford a servant then let it be know what you expect.

I have had success finding work, I ask for the wage I want and honestly , I am working but would love to find a full time , good paying position with realistic expectations of me. so far I take serval part time and bartend on the side, which is better money to tell the truth. I am great with kids and that should be your number one priority when looking for a care giver. And realize that finding the right fit takes time.

Holly November 27, 2012

I am looking for a babysitting job and I message or apply for jobs in my area every day. I know my profile is amazing, and yet no one ever responds.

Kyle December 07, 2012

It might be because in order for people to respond they have to sgin up for a prem membership.

I am in a similar situation; I posted a job for a dog walked a week ago and have received 12+ responses. I am just checking around to make sure the site is legit before I pay the money for a membership. I’m hoping all the responses I have received are legitimate.

Laura December 22, 2012

I think something must be done about advertising for under the states min wage....why is this acceptable? imagine leavoing with baby or child with someone 40-60 hours aweek for under $300..you get what you pay for . I do agree with teens being able to watch school aged children for an allowance or weekend extra cash..it teaches responsibilty..Pay then $5 an hour for short term care 4 hours or less...(common sense). .Peolple put their babies in danger by leaving them with cut rate care every day on Care.com That should not be allowed....Min wage laws should be enforced. $10 is the suggested rate for proper care by Care.com yet they let peolpe advertise for whatever they want. This attracts peolpe with mental health issues..illegal aliens and all sorts of people wanting to milk the system.

Marketing s January 19, 2013

Totally agree with both comments above. I am not a servant. I am a Private Home Health Aide. I don,t work for less than 16.00 a hour. I am there to follow doctors care plan and to make sure that the client is cared for. My job only provides very light house keeping eg; trash, bed change, soiled linens, clean dishes after meals. Where does vacuuming, dusting and cleaning after everyone come into play and then they want to pay less than 10.00 an hour, are they kidding? If they want all that then they can pay me 40.00 a hour. I am not in the business to do cheap labor. I put on my website with care.com a break down of what my job details are and even tell them there are government agency for low income individuals who can't afford care. Ugh, just can't wait to graduate nursing to go have a normal job without dealing with cheap skates.

Dee August 27, 2013

I hate to break this to you but as a nurse in some states you will be starting out at 30K a year and sometimes less. There are teachers who have a classroom of 30 or more students who average 35K a year and this can be with ten years of experience and a Master's degree. As a home health aide you are going to mainly be paid by agencies who receive medicaid funding. The reality is that you are most likely not going to be paid $16 an hour unless you have a very specialized skill set. If you are in any type of caregiving role you do serve. You are not a servant but you do serve your client. Unrealistic expectations and a false sense of entitlement will not get you employment. It is sad that people in the helping professions are not paid more but this is the reality. These "cheap skates" you label are usually the disabled who rely upon the system to find help just to survive their day.

Deborah Hemsworth May 15, 2015

Im laughing so hard at this a barely made it to the powder room. The average caregiver on care.com gets $10 that is final..caregivers are not certified at all period. if a family is willing to pay more than that which most are not it is because the child has special needs , they have 4 or more kids or its a holiday..."Cheap skates"...If you had a proper education you would not babysitting to begin with. Nanny's in Beverly hills might get 18-25 after years of loyal service...and believe me they are cleaning toilets as well when the maid is not there.

No one replies
November 15, 2012
I am looking for a job , but no one responds to my messages. So stupid

Holly November 27, 2012

meee too!

Arfa December 10, 2012

Same here

Tess December 10, 2012

me three!

Laura December 22, 2012

Do you have a current background check on file? Do you have all 5 references cuurent and up to date posted? Do you have a professional looking pic posted? Are you available most of the time and just when you feel like working? Are you in college..or have another job? People advertise Im a full time nurse or Im a part time teacher..then when do you have time to babysit? or I have 5 kids and a special needs child so that means Im qulaified LOL