Zoosk Reviews

Zoosk
( 153 reviews )
Website: www.Zoosk.com
153 ‘Zoosk ’ Reviews
  • Sort Reviews By:

Sucker born every minute - including me
December 28, 2012

I am so ashamed. I know better than to fork over money without doing research but "they" got me this time. On first view, it seems like a decent dating site - plenty of prospects, etc. So I spent at least an hour composing a profile, answered all the "chemistry" questions, put up one picture for starters, etc. And WOW! The emails start pouring in of women who "viewed" me, plus a few who WANT TO MEET ME! Nice! But there's a catch - you are not going to have any contact whatsoever with any of these people without subscribing.

OK, I've paid for dating sites before. Usually the rate is around $30 for one month. So I gamely get out the card and click to subscribe. I fill in all the information and get to where it's time to finalize the deal and "WHAT"?? A "one-time set up fee" of $25? Give me a break. At first I said "no way" but eventually I bit the bullet and coughed up $55... for one month. But hey, there were all these quality profiles out there that I wouldn't be able to contact or hear from so I decided to absorb the cost.

So within an hour or so I get a message telling me a have a mutual match. Awesome! This sounds great. But all I can see is a name and a picture. I can't see any profile information. It turns out that I can't take advantage of this whiz-bang mutual gadget without SPENDING MORE MONEY! Minimum is $20. For "coins". This is the point at which I realized I'd been had. I felt sick.

If you see this listed in any "best of 2012" lists, ignore it. Plenty of Fish isn't perfect but you can actually meet people without having to pay a dime.

Lymm December 30, 2012

Zoosk is a money TRAP..... They tempt you with ONE free message, and then they cut you off hoping you are interested to pay. So you pay and then find out the one your interested in didn't pay so they can respond. They filter each message. If you type in " i am not a member" The word member is blanked out. I spoke about plenty of fish ( another dating site) the next day, my site was down. Wow, this is the biggest controlled rip off. I felt like i left my free country, they manipulate to the fullest degree. RUN FROM ZOOSK!!!

Ark December 28, 2012

Don't worry about it, Mr. Pickwick-I took the plunge and am fast finding the same thing as you-the only thing on your carousel that shows up is that the woman clicked she'd like to meet you-and I notice it's the same one every time-plus all the hidden charges-I think that they read how much you are on the site and then send you false hits-like a slot machine, it is rigged! Anyway, going to try Match.com or Plenty of Fish again-I use dead-end credit cards bought from Wal-mart or wherever so they can't keep billing me! Even though it is a little bit of a hassle and a little more expensive, I have heard too many horror stories about people not being able to make them quit billing-I think you can eventually, but in the meantime they have your twenty dollars-imagine if they do that to 50,000 people a month!

this site is a big scam
December 24, 2012
well this is another reason to hate online dating first of all it says you only pay 19.95 then you get slammed with a start up fee of 25.00 so you pay 44.00 now comes the messed up parts you get emailed for views,flirts and new matches but i had enough canceled my account turn off my email setting guess what still getting emails from people who view me STAY AWAY AT ALL COSTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

JayDee December 25, 2012

Vultures

AWFUL RACIST SITE
December 22, 2012

First off, you can't message people. You can't exchange personal information. What is the point then? They edit your "my story" section. What is the point of trying to describe yourself if they are going to change it anyways? They deleted things I like, reworded sentances and got rid of half of it! WTF?

The worst part.. I am Muslim, and uploaded a profile picture of me in my hijab, and they keep deleting it saying it violates their photo guidelines. RACIST WEBSITE...

IS THAT EVEN LEGAL??

Ken January 05, 2013

I am a Born-again Bible thumper, I understand wanting someone of your relgious views. Your Hijab shows who you are at your deepest belief.

Andy December 30, 2012

that is so wrong

Nate December 29, 2012

FYI...Muslim isn't a race, genius.

More than a scam, it's fraud.
December 21, 2012

So I've spent a week running an experiment. Deleted every view (everyone who had "viewed" my profile) from my "profile" to test a theory. Within 10 minutes, I had anywhere from 3-6 "new" views. Then spent hours trying to locate those 3-6 profiles. Guess what...they didn't exist. After leaving it for about 2-3 hours I counted a total of 15 "views" that couldn't be traced back to a legitimate profile. Deleted the views again, within 10 minutes anywhere between 3-6 of the exact same 15 profiles "viewed" me again. Rinsed and repeated throughout the day and if left for a few hours, the exact same 15 cycled through constantly "viewing" my profile every few hours.

Above and beyond that, there are tons of fake profiles. Photos leeched from online sources that cannot possibly be legitimate. I came across a profile based off of a friend of mine from her Facebook page, except she suddenly lives in another town and is 10 years older than she actually is? That got me to thinking, so I did some playing around and found multiple instances of this sort of thing...

Save your money, report them. It's not a scam...it's fraud.

Andy December 30, 2012

we are having the same thing. Did you try chat??

Kelley B December 22, 2012

I joined Zoosk for free, made a profile, & received some messages. I paid thee fee to reply to these people & now I get no return messages. Did these people all of a sudden lose interest in me? Now im out $50+

ZOOSK IS A HUGE SCAM ...
December 19, 2012

I joined zoosk 2 days ago. I paid a membership fee of 60.00, took the time to write everything and do the questionnaires. I receive an email thismorning telling me that my account subscription has been cancled and my profile deleted. I never got any emails warning me about anything. They thought the photos I put up were inapropriate (bikini), so they deleted them even though I received the email saying that they were approved. They never informed me that they deleted them or that there was any problem. so I called their website number and spoke with a very rude and snobish woman who told me:

"we don't have to give you a reason why this was done", and "we're not refunding the 60.00 ". Turns out my bikini pic was earased because it was taken "indoors" not out. That's ridiculous! They even deleted my headshots with no explanation. Another thing, if they don't like how you worded your profile, they make changes, delete things and don't tell you. Even as a paying member you're limited as to how many winks or adds you can send out. Theres no reason for that. also, if you want to send personal info they won't let you. SO WHAT IS THE POINT IN HAVING A DATING SITE IF YOU CANT EXCHANGE EMAILS, PHONE NUMBERS OR FACEBOOK????? HOW CAN YOU POSSIBLY REALLY CONTACT THESE PEOPLE. ITS A SCAM!!!!!! DO NOT JOIN! SAVE YOUR MONEY!

Make December 23, 2012

Thanks for the heads up, I knew something was not right

Kelley B December 22, 2012

Sorry sweetheart, They got me too. I got lots of messages from Nice girls I'd like to meet. So I paid the fee to reply & they disappeared. I'm learning alot, unfortunately, the hard & heartbreaking way. Good luck in your search.

Another scam
December 18, 2012

Starts with wanting to charge 25 dollars just to activate plus the 20 dollar fee. No way to contact people that want to meet without paying more. Needs to be avoided at all costs.

TOTAL SCAM

Scam!!!Stay away
December 15, 2012
I am highly disgusted with Zoosk.I was a paying member and started getting fake pics and interests.Some claiming to live 10 or 15 miles away,but told me they live in Ghana or Nigeria.Even if you are a paying member,when you have a mutual interest on what they call their carousel,you have to buy coins to unlock your mutuals.What a load of you know what!!!This site has absolutely no shame whatsoever

Harry December 18, 2012

from what i have seen of this so called dating site, i do not belive any think about this site, they are 100% scammers.

Its a con
December 12, 2012
I have not paid anything but all the above apply. I decided to do a bit of research so started to do image searches on anyone who winked flirted messaged or viewed my profile. Guess what? No results. The only image that popped up a result was my own . I then tried the same on random profiles, not a single result. Not a single link to a facebook account or myspace or anything. Its a scam.

Rip off site!!!
December 11, 2012

I joined Zoosk for about a month and created an account, Did actually meet someone off this site!!! But I had my account Hi-jacked by someone else who told me to check out their pics which sent me to a fake Zoosk site where they got my password and email.

Sent Zoosk an email to tell them but no response!!!, Went and checked my CC and they had taken $99.95 from my account after I had already paid for the crap for 3 Months.

Had to cancel my CC and get a new one so these jerks would not take anymore of my money.

Avoid this site, Its bad!!

Nepto March 13, 2013

This is hilarious!! :-)

Jen December 31, 2012

"Born in USA, look just like the white girl in the photo, but I'm in Ghana right now"

I laughed so hard when I read this! Lolllllllllll!

Guest December 12, 2012

must be 90% fake profiles.

All with a professional or found on the internet photo, only one.

Then, if the get yahoo IM or email account, they admit to being from Ghana.

"Born in USA, look just like the white girl in the photo, but I'm in Ghana right now"

Puh-leeze

TOTAL Scam
December 10, 2012

You fill out a free profile, and then you start getting these "XX wants to meet you" messages. Of course you can't communicate with anyone unless you are a paying member. So you pay (plus a surprise $25.00 "activation fee" - which should have been a red flag in itself) for a membership, and PRESTO, "The user account you are looking for cannot be found" in all cases. Then after you've been duped into signing up, you receive these ficitious notifications on a daily basis. Nearly ALL of them are fake.

Take my advice, learn from MY mistake, and save yourself 45 bucks.

Ken January 05, 2013

Also you can't comunicate with some who has not paid yet their profile is shown to you. Scientific matching is bogus, ran into some who were my match they said they were not notified are the not paid members.

Zoosk = company trying to rip off people.
December 9, 2012

Zoosk is a legitimate service IF they didn't charge stupid fees every time u wanted to wink or talk to a person. It's truly a rip-off because free members have absolutely ZERO functionality; You can't read other people's messages, and zoosk won't tell you if your message was sent. I was a free member and another girl e-mailed me back, but i was UNABLE to read the e-mail because zoosk wanted me to pay ridiculous fees just to read them. They have this concept of zoosk coins, where you have to buy the coins with real money, only then can u chat with people. I would suggest people try more legitimate services out there, like e-harmony or match.

It's just a scam... trying to make money off of people who are really looking to find that special someone out there. Here is a list of negatives:

- stupid activation fee: in addition to monthly subscription fee, you have to pay a hefty 'activation' fee. Who the hell does this?

- stupid zoosk matching service: where in order to talk to a match who likes you, you need to pay money...

- free members have no functionality: can't read other people's messages if you don't pay...

- zoosk coins: yeah right... like I'll dish out real money just to give some girl I've never met a digital 'heart' or 'panda'... ridiculous!

- zoosk 'boosting': Like I'll dish out money so my profile can show in beginning ranks when people are searching for others. What dating sites does this?

I would NOT recommend Zoosk. Period.

waste of money and fake
December 8, 2012

your better off going to mcds and asking a girl for a cheap coffee....

for all the time you waste with this programe and or money......

or your email......you could of gone to the gas station to pick up chicks or to your local church ext..... the gas you pay could of gone toward this instead of wasting on fake zoosk my account does the same thing constantly its a scam....girls always going on and off but nothing and not good responses sounds like bots....just be brave and ask your neighbors for coffee or beer instead of this c....

Guest December 09, 2012

Too conclusionary. The writer does not use any facts to explain why he gives his opinion

zoosk = scam
December 5, 2012

If you've used your EMAIL PASSWORD on you ZOOSK (or other scam site) ACCOUNT!!!

Then they have your EMAIL ADDRESS + EMAIL PASSWORD and therefore the ability to mailbomb (& scam) all of your contacts FROM YOUR account until you :

CHANGE YOUR PASSWORD AND SECURITY CHECK on your email account.

Sorry for the caps but I wanted to be clear ;)

Also delete your info / pics, change your name address on there and then close your zoosk account.

Chicken December 31, 2012

Good advice. Has anyone complained to the Better Business Bureau? These accusations are serious.

Waste of money
December 4, 2012
I wish I would have read this website before I wasted my money with this site. Scam central, Any one can create a profile but only people who pay can reply so you end up with either people who can't reply to you or scammer's trying to scam. I have meet one or 2 girls on it but nothing worth my time and especially my money. Oh and I'm not sure how they come up with their "scientific match" but I would find more suitable matches if I randomly inserted names into facebook. In other words, it's horrible. It's just another site that takes advantage of people need to be with other and tries to exploit it or money. I hope karma catches up to them.

Scam
December 1, 2012

Decided to see how much of a scam this was with my female friend.

We both signed up to Zoosk, on separate computers, and viewed each others profiles. We then both received emails saying that we'd messaged one another, when neither of us had sent the other a message.

Massive scam. It never used to be, but it is now.

Tried b December 05, 2012

zoosk = bad news.. try elsewhere.. look out for moneygrabbing sites with no reputation.. use recommendations from friends for "quality" sites. Rembmber, just because a site "looks" good with professional graphics, it doesn't mean it's legit.

Tim December 03, 2012

Yes, i agree that it's a massive scam ! they advertise a free date/chat club and once you in they 'sucker you' into giving your banking details away before even chatting !!!!!!!!!!!

zoosk sucked me in
November 26, 2012
Logged on and set up a profile for free and within minutes receiced a wink and request to chat. Of course I paid 25.00 to subscribe for a month then found out there was an additional 25.00 activation fee and ok went ahead and paid that too... what a fool I was. Get winks and chat request from men not close to my search criteria and get "zoosks scientific matches" on a daily basis... don't know what science they used but it doesn't come close to common sense. Zoosk zucks... don't let them suck u in!

Nepto March 13, 2013

You get what you have paid for ;-)

Jen December 31, 2012

"I have gotten mostly 55-65 years old, including hairy and scary"

Lol!!! Good one

SunShine December 01, 2012

Thanks for the information. I just joined a few hours ago and same thing! THANKFULLY, I haven't paid them a dime. In the few short hours I've been on, I have gotten mostly 55-65 years old, including hairy and scary, lol!!! My criteria is set at 38-48!

C.B November 29, 2012

I was on the internet looking for legit dateing sites. I seen some of the ratings and Zoosk was one of the higher rated ones. I decided okay I'll give this one a try, after all it was mentioned with some of the others like, Match.com and so forth. So I do my profile and get everything all set up and ready to go. Now I'm thinking this is going to cost me about $25, but they hit me with an activation fee. I Spend over $60 total for one month. Now I set my criteria for who I'm looking for, age 35 to 45. I send out a few winks. It only takes seconds for a responce to come back, but they are all automated saying they appreciate the wink but can you write me a message. So I start writing messages, no responces. They have a thing called mega flirt so I send 150 flirts with one click. Here's what comes back. Remember my criteria, ages 35-45. I'm getting auto responces from 62 year olds. I'm a guy so I'm talking about women. Now I'm always getting alerts saying so and so has viewed me. And it's always the same people. I send them nice messages and no responce. Now repeat this hundreds of times and you start to think this site is nothing but a scam. I'm not tooting my horn, but I'm a nice looking guy and a good person at that. I find that there is no reason that I haven't even chated with one person. I keep setting my criteria to 35-45 year olds, but it doesn't matter. I still have to keep looking at the 20 somethings and 50 and 60 somethings. I'm sure the women are going through the same thing in reverse. Stay away from this dating site, and for those of you not getting what you want out of it, remember it's not you, or at least most of you. "Buyer Beware"

Horrible
November 23, 2012
This dating site sucks! I am attractive and get the grossest creepy men hitting on me. It must be the website for old degenerate non-educated idiot men. I closed my account because I was tired of creepy jerks talking to me-old enough to be my father. Don't waste your $ on this-what a joke and scam!

Baah! December 31, 2012

old? like how old u talking?

Moo December 31, 2012

Yeah that's scary

Mjm December 06, 2012

THEY ARE HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!11

Your going to be Surprised from my Story
November 22, 2012

My story is going to be hard to believe though I swear its true.

I became a member last night and I spent the f...ing premium membership for a month. I spent a lot of time finding people and winking them. A few replied automatically with their emails. None of them replied after I sent them an email or an IM not even those members which seemed to be online on the zoosk. I was reading the reviews today and I was about to close my account that I got an IM in my Yahoo. In her profile she had smoking hot pictures and apparently from Sacramento. After we started chatting she said she is from Ghana. I went back to check her profile, but she had closed it. After that all of her questions and all of her answers were cliché. I asked what sports do you like and she answered that she is family oriented, caring, outgoing and all that crap. I asked so what about me and you being so far, she replied yeah I have a good sense of humor and crap like that . You may not believe it, but even in Yahoo Messenger someone was copying and pasting other peoples answers without looking at the questions. Unbelievable!

Andrew B July 20, 2013

I'm over it. What a crock. I just signed up and I thought that it was a little fishy that three f the 50 plus messages I got today were from girls with sick mothers in Africa. I called them out on their BS and I am removing my profile. Or doing what I can to make it not visible

Aba December 05, 2012

Those generic instant replyies may not even be copy/paste.. there are many many chat "bots" (programed auto-responses) that pretend to be users.

SunShine December 01, 2012

Same scam on MATCH. Most are men that appear to be "local". All that I have seen list themselves as "widowed" or "divorced" and they have custody of their child. They are all "entrepreneurs" currently "working" in AFRICA!!!! LOL!! I'm NOT desperate or STUPID!!!!

C.B. November 29, 2012

That was a scam. Look up Nigerian scam or African scam. It's about them getting you to be a sucker and give up your money. Be carefull and don't be a sucker.

It is a SCAM site!!!!!!
November 13, 2012

I 'clicked' a link in a e-mail sent from my trusty friend. My nightmare startes from there.....

This company ( Zoosk) sent the similar e-mail to alll the people in my 'contact' folder!!!!

And it does again, again.... (sending e-mails On Behalf Of me...).

I checked the Zoosk.com that 'my account is currently INACTIVE'. Of course it asked me to 'recover' it.

Please HELP! How could I remove my 'account' from this evil web site?

How could I stop them sending the e-amils 'on behalf od me)?

Helper December 05, 2012

spoofing is one way..

also be careful not to use your EMAIL PASSWORD on you ZOOSK (or othe scam site) ACCOUNT!!!

otherwise they have your EMAIL ADDRESS + EMAIL PASSWORD and therefore the ability to mailbomb (& scam) all of your contacts FROM YOUR account until you :

CHANGE YOUR PASSWORD AND SECURITY CHECK on your email account.

Sorry for the caps but I wanted to be clear ;)

Zoosk v December 03, 2012

I was also trapped by a zoosk spam scam. I received an email from a friend with a link to his photos. It was plausible that this friend would send me something like that, so I clicked. It was a site that required a sign-up, which I did. That sign-up was a phishing trick; zoosk gets and copies your entire contact list and spams everyone on it through your email account (account hijacking). It copied your contacts to use for spamming, using your email as the "from" address, but actually just spoofing your email account. Recipients all receive the "see my photos" trick, which fools some into joining,, and the scam goes on.

This is a great big violation of every provision of the CAN-SPAM law, and only one program of this great big scam machine.

To get them to actually delete your account, you just call and mail and threaten to sue them. They know they are breaking the law, and will mollify you by deleting your records. THey will, however, continue to spam your contacts.

Steven November 15, 2012

I found a way to message Zoosk users who initiated a conversation. If they are a subscribed member and either wink or send you a message you can reply even if you are not a paid subscriber. The catch is there is only one time you can send a message. And Zoosk filters block most attempts to send the opposite sex a method of contacting you outside of Zoosk. So I tested my method of communicating with these women who initiated contact and it does work. However, only one woman tried to get back with me and she could not follow the cute little coded message I sent her. The rest of these winks and messages are, in my opinion, not from real members seeking a relationship. They are either bots or paid employees sending out initial contact hoping I will buy a subscription. At first I thought this was a game of numbers and eventually women would contact me back again. It only happened one time.

Zoosk is, in my opinion, just another dating scam. PlentyOfFish and Date Hookup are the best and free. I even had a sub with eHarmony and, even tho I believe they are legit, I have better experiences with POF and DH.

Stay away from Zoosk. It smells rotten of a scam.

zoosk is RUBBISH
November 13, 2012
it is a total scam. What is more, if you do put a cc payment down, you can expect to be harrassed with a ton of fake flirts and fake contact requests, just to entice you into continuing your membership. Sitting on a street corner with a placard around your neck with the word "SINGLE" on it is preferable to using Zoosk. Oh so very AVOID

Mitten December 31, 2012

"Sitting on a street corner with a placard around your neck with the word "SINGLE" on it is preferable to using Zoosk."

Lol!

Leo December 09, 2012

thanks a lot almost fell in to it