ThePhotoStick Omni Reviews

ThePhotoStick Omni
( 34 reviews )

The Photo Stick Omni is an update product from the makers of the original PhotoStick.  The new version of this gadget makes it possible to use with personal computers, mobile devices, and tablets.

The idea behind this product is simple, the inventors wanted to create an easy way for people to quickly get all their photos and videos off any device and into safe storage.  

The seller claims that instead of having to spend hours sorting and uploading photos you just plug the PhotoStick in and hit GO.

How Does It Work?

While there are many backup software options available, not many are focused on creating offline backups.  

This is where ThePhotoStick Omni attempts to fill a gap in the marketplace, as some folks are wary of using cloud based backups or intimidated by new technologies.

With the Omni Stick, the company claims, all the tech hurdles are removed and you can have a safe backup without having to use any tools or create extra accounts.

They state that it works on all operating systems including Windows, Apple, Android, Google, and more. The device specs state that specifically it can be used on:

  • Windows 7 SP1 and newer
  • OS 10.13 and newer
  • iOS and iPad OS is 13.0 and later
  • Android 6.0 and later

Further, their website states that it can read the following file types:

  • JPEG (*.jpg, *.jpeg, *.jpe, *.jiff)
  • GIF (*.gif)
  • PNG (*.png)
  • BMP (*.bmp, *.rle, *.dib)
  • TIFF (*.tif, *.tiff)
  • ICO (*.ico)
  • Camera Raw (*.tif, *.crw, *.nef, *.raf, *.orf, *.mrw, *.dcr, *.mos, *.raw, *.pef, *.srf, *.dng, *.x3f, *.cr2, *.erf, *.sr2, *.kdc, *.mfw, *.mef, *.arw, *.nrw, *.rw2, *.rwl, *.iiq, *.3fr, *.srw)
  • Photoshop (*.psd, *.pdd)
  • PCT File (*.PCT, *.PICT)
  • MOV (*.mov, *.qt)
  • MPEG4 (*.mpg4, *.mpeg4)
  • AVI (*.avi)
  • WMV (*.wmv)

To use it you plug it into your device and follow the prompts.  When using it with a phone you will have to download ThePhotoStick Mobile App.

Cost and Price Plans

The price of the Omni Stick depends on its storage capacity.  It comes in the following options:

  • 32GB - $59.99
  • 64GB - $79.99
  • 128GB  - $99.99
  • 256GB - $149.99

You can choose based on how many files you think you may have, the size of them, and if you have large video files as well.

Customer Support

If you have any issues and need to reach a representative you can do so via their support page at ThePhotoStick.com/pages/support.

The company only lists the following address: 

PO Box 234 Haxtun, CO 80731

We could not obtain a phone number or direct email for contact purposes.  Their website states that ThePhotoStick OMNI comes with a 60-Day Money Back Guarantee.  

If you’re not happy with your device, contact support to initiate a refund.  You will have to send back your product at your own expense.

Online Customer Reviews & Complaints

Unfortunately the original ThePhotoStick has collected a lot of negative feedback from customers.  

Complaints range from units not working at all, working for the first few weeks then failing, or having difficulty discerning photos from junk files/erroneous data files.

Other complaints mentioned that download time was excessive and reported the device crashing or not completing its tasks.  Further reviews mentioned that at times there would be many copies of the same photo downloaded.

Competitors and Alternatives

There are many different ways to achieve what ThePhotoStick attempts to accomplish.  The easiest and most hands off method is to use the cloud based backup that your device already has.

These programs continually run in the background or at scheduled intervals and can easily restore any deleted photos or even transfer files whenever you switch or upgrade devices.

Is ThePhotoStick Omni Worth It?

Based on past reviews for the original product it’s hard to believe that much has changed in this newest version.

 It seems that the potential for technical problems is even greater now that the device claims to work across a multitude of operating systems and devices.

We’d recommend a different solution for storing your photos, preferably through a reputable hardware & software company with a proven track record.

If you have any experience with ThePhotoStick Omni, please leave your reviews below.

ThePhotoStick Omni Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Not able to contact company
January 12, 2022

ordered the photo stick, the type with type with two different ends, one for iPhone and one for computer. receive two orders with two sticks in each order of sticks for computer, did not receive one for iPhone. these were just in a package with no order number.

would like to return both orders for exchange for correct order of a photo stick the has an end for iPhone and computer on one stick.

can't talk directly with company ( no phone number)

Photo Stick problems.
October 4, 2021
My first Photo Stick didn't work at all. I ordered the one I have now a couple of years later. This one worked fine the first time I used it, except it picked up ads and all. Well, I figured out how to fix that (I think). But I have more JPEG photos on my computer now and it wont down load them. I get a bunch of words and numbers but no photos.

Total Fraud
June 1, 2021
Total fraud. This company took advantage of my handicap to cheat me thoroughly. No stars--there should be a minus.

Don`t buy one just a rubbish memory stick.
March 2, 2021
Bought some months ago, plugged it into PC it proceeded to print every picture every advert and even the contents of the dustbin. I then restored it to factory condition selected what I wanted it to collect , it ran for ten minutes and stopped and has since refused to do anything. I emailed the company a couple of times but got no replies. So just more hyped up US rubbish. Disappointed , but not surprised. D.Huson.

Photostick
July 10, 2020

I never received it after waiting nearly 2 months

It is a scam! Sally

Eligio Uzzanu
May 14, 2020

I purchased a Photo Stick on 1st April 2020,paid for

it and to date I haven't received it.

As far as I am concerned it's a fraud.

I WARN EVERYBODY NOT TO BUY IT!

SallyNilson July 10, 2020

Thank you!

CassandraHerschlein July 14, 2020

Did you order it from photostick.com? Someone told me you have to do it through them.

Je pense que je me suis fait AVOIR !!
March 31, 2020
j'ai acheté 2 clés 64GB ,et comme c'est en Anglais je ne sais pas les utiliser , j'ai essayer ,mais cela ne fonctionne pas correctement (à chaque utilisation j'utilise un traducteur 'c'est pénible)j'ai joins par Chat pour une notice et démo en français impossible .avec l'accord du service commerciale je les retournes et normalement il me rembourse !! mais au vu des commentaires j'ai un doute !!

does not work
March 24, 2020

I have used other photo backups and they worked the Photo

Stick Mobile I can not get to work,,,,One time it worked but it took 4 plus hours to get to 30% downloaded..soon my phone went dead,,,so I had to start all over and then it would not work, messages saying all kind of different stupid stuff.

It will not work....I am going to try to return it and get a refund,,good luck to me,.,

From now on I will read the reviews before I purchased a product.Very very disappointed.....

Photo Stick Problem
March 10, 2020
Used as instructed and it downloaded photos but in some cases it downloaded up to 30 copies of the same photo. Next time I tried to use it, I got a message that there are problems on the stick that cannot be repaired. There is no one to contact at photo stick to solve the problems. a major scam. Do not buy.

SallyNilson July 10, 2020

It is a scam!!!!

PIECE OF GARBAGE
February 12, 2020

Didn't work after first try.

GOOD LUCK on trying to get a refund.

the photostick
January 11, 2020

loosing money doesnot work like advertising back up duplicates and the worse part after couple of hours stop working , haha you cannot return because is open old trick . friendly staff never answer ,to busy taking money . Another hoax

photo stick
January 8, 2020

Thanks to all those peoples that help me to not buy the photostick with your rewies

They make a great job with their comments.

Hector Diaz

[email protected]

Photostick
December 31, 2019
I ordered a Photostick and was overcharged so I notified Photostick and advised them to cancel my order. I was advised I hadn't been charged and could place another order. I was sent 3 Photosticks and returned all three. I was only credited for 1 and have been unable after MULTIPLE attempts to get back the $127.98. They will not refund my money. This is a HUGE scam and you are not able to talk to anyone. It is only done through texting. Be advised this company is a SCAM ARTIST and will not assist you. If I could give less than 1 star I would gladly do so.

A piece of junk
December 29, 2019
Started backup ok then after awhile it just stopped without a message. (It appears that if it finds an image it doesn't reconize it just stops). When it is removed and inserted back into usb drive a message appears that something is wrong with the photostick to do a scan. After the scan is finished u can start the backup again.but after a while it stopped again. They claim it will eliminate duplicates. In one case it created 14 duplicates! Also after only using 31%, with 60 some % left received message no more room on phostick.

Useless for Large Photo Collections
December 21, 2019
I bought the 128GB version and wish I could still return the Photostick. The stick can't handle more than 60,000 photos. I have more than 100,000 pictures. Even when I reduced the number of folders to be backed up, the Photostick doesn't live up to its hype. It doesn't back up anything. At this point, I don't see the Photostick's advantage to having a much larger external drive to back up any number of photos. I don't get it. I assumed that the software on the stick would help ORGANIZE photos, not STORE them because the 128GB is a serious limitation.Two thumbs down.

Same as other reviews
November 19, 2019
Plugged in and it said it was scanning but did not locate any pics that are on the computer. Hardly a one click and done item!

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY
November 13, 2019

My photo stick did not even save one file. It scanned my computer for photos and asked if I wanted to continue with backup. I pressed continue and it sat there doing absolutely nothing. I tried this several times...nothing. Technical support was a waste of time. AND this company obviously does not care about their customers. Horrible return policy and not good customer support.

PhotoStick horrible
September 20, 2019
Not even worth a star! Crashed and messed up computers!

Can't get assistance
August 25, 2019
I have left 6 messages trying to get a answer, not one response, Always get the message smallcompany,we are at lunch will call when we get back from lunch. never a peep, Would appreciate a response. Love the idea just would could get a responce

Total Waste of Money!
August 18, 2019

I bought two 128 GB for over $100, in good faith based on advertising. These PhotoSticks are totally worthless! I tried dealing with support, and they are not helpful at all. I wanted to return the items, but no one would even talk to me. I highly suggest you RUN the other way, and do not throw your money away buying these pieces of junk.

Do Not Buy these!!!!