StarScope Monocular Reviews

The Starscope Monocular is a monocular telescope whose creators claim gives the benefits of high-definition sight without having to rely on expensive equipment. 

It's creators states that it's great for birdwatching, backpacking, camping, show watching, and other activities.

A monocular telescope is one that uses the technology of a refracting telescope to magnify images that are far away. It does this by transferring light through a complex series of lenses and prisms. 

Monocular telescopes are designed to be compact and lightweight, as well as easy to use.

A monocular telescope is a good choice if you want to enjoy the great outdoors without having to lug around a heavy camera along with all of its necessary accessories.

But is the Starscope Monocular legit or an overhyped scam?  Here's what you need to know.

How Does it Work?

The makers of Star Scope Monocular state it's a waterproof and fog proof BAK4 Prism monocular telescope which has high-definition quality and powerful zoom features so that users can enjoy beautiful sights from a distance without blurriness.

They state this device compatible with smartphones, but that a smartphone is not necessary to use the Starscope Monocular, as it's a fully-functional telescopic monocular on its own.  

The Star Scope Monocular package comes with the telescope, a lens cloth and lens covers, a hand trap, a self-gripping tripod, a smartphone holder, and a carrying case.

The seller states that telescope itself is made out of real optic glass and has a full multi-coated lens, with the shell being made of tough and lightweight ABS plastic.

Cost and Price Plans

You can purchase one Starscope Monocular for just $47.99.

Alternatively, you can buy two for $40 apiece for a total of $79.99 or you can purchase three Starscope Monocular units for $36 per set for a total of $107.99.

If you order two or more units, shipping is free. You can also add a lifetime protection and replacement warranty for just $4.80 more.  The website states that all purchases are backed by a 100% satisfaction guarantee.

Online Customer Reviews & Complaints

Although the technology behind the Starscope Monocular seems relatively straightforward, the product has garnered quite a few negative reviews. Customers claim that the image quality can be very disappointing. 

Some users also complain that it’s tough to get the scope and phone lined up and that it does not stay attached but instead falls right off your phone.

Nonetheless, there are some positive customer reviews, too, with reviewers liking the fact that the telescope is small and comes with all of the accessories you need. 

Many users also claim that the image quality is high, so it’s difficult to separate fact from fiction just by reading customer reviews.

Customer Service

The Starscope Monocular is made in Hong Kong and has customer service offices in the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand.

You can reach customer service by emailing [email protected] or calling (609) 414- 7087. There is also a customer service chat feature on the company’s website.

Where to Buy?

You can purchase the Starscope Monocular directly from the manufacturer as well as on Amazon.

Competitors and Alternatives

If you’re looking for a good monocular telescope, you don’t necessarily need to select the first one you stumble upon. The Starscope Monocular is not the only option out there!

You might want to consider the Orion 10x42 Waterproof Monocular, too. 

Like the Starscope Monocular, this device is waterproof and windproof.  It is not meant to be used with a smartphone but is instead more of a traditional telescope. 

It offers crystal-clear image quality and a wide field of view in a sturdily built unit.

Another option is the Barska Blackhawk Waterproof Monocular.  Also waterproof, this device is compact and lightweight at roughly 10 ounces.

It has ample magnification and a wide field of view and is easy to carry and one of the most popular monocular telescopes for hunters.

A final alternative is the Carson Closeup 7x18mm Close-Focus Monocular. 

It is also tiny, weighing less than two ounces, and is perfect for viewing objects far away. It comes with all kinds of extras like a carrying strap and soft pouch, too.

The Bottom Line

If you want a monocular telescope for traveling or enjoying the great outdoors, you might consider a device like the Starscope Monocular.   

While this device might be useful for some people, others find it difficult to use, especially when attached to a smartphone.

Therefore, you may be better off investing in a monocular telescope from a more reliable brand.  That way, you will benefit from better customer service in case you have any issues in figuring out how it works.

If you have any experience with the Starscope Monocular, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

StarScope Monocular Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

One offered is not the one sent out. Does not do as ad suggests.
November 23, 2022

I purchased 4 of these, two years ago, and they send a product that did not represent the offered one on-line. No adjustable powerful zoom and didn't look like offered ones. It did not have a powerful zoom, no stronger than a normal pair of 10x50 binoculars. Customer service sucked, and very hard to receive help.

However, to cover their mistake, they sent me four more worthless starscopes, one of which broke the first time I used it. I would not buy any products from star scope.

StarScope Monocular.
November 21, 2022
Waste of money. Advertised as being used on a mobile phone to take distance photos. When attaching to the phone camera it recognizes the monocular as a blockage so auto goes to another camera. Have emailed Starscope regarding problem but only get senseless auto emails. As a stand alone viewing device it is also useless as you need to be very precise to line up a view. Buy a pair of binoculars.

Don't buy one.
November 4, 2022

I just received my starscope and it does not do what the ad says it will do. It is a scam and don't buy one. The company should be sued.

SandraJ. November 05, 2022

I also just bought one online, not yet received. Am curious if you were able to return for a refund.

rag November 15, 2022

Haven't received my order either

Save your money.
November 4, 2022

Does not work as advertised... works comparable to a $20 binocular...

Payed for 2 Starscopes and warranty
November 3, 2022

I’ve nothing but trouble with these people I ordered on the 10th of October and they took the money on the same day but I never received an order number for a week after I emailed them I just keep getting computer generated replies it is now November 3rd and there saying I need to complete my order that time is running out

I’ve emailed to death and left messages that I want to cancel on their voicemail. I have finally called the bank , so if you’re thinking of buying read the reviews something I should’ve done myself

They don't work with phone mount.
October 30, 2022
I purchased the 4-pack special for the discount. Bought the camera mounts. NONE of them worked. I had friends try them on their phones. They did not work. In theory, great advertising but in reality they Do Not Work.

Don't get caught up in this scam
October 27, 2022

I wish I would have read these reviews before I ordered two for gifts. I ordered them then read some reviews on them and within an hour I tried to cancel the order and have been getting the same runaround. Automated replies with different names on them. It's been a month now. My bank is trying to get a charge back with visa. That should cover my purchase in ninety days but something need to be done about the scam artists. I hope everyone here gets some sort of retribution for this scam

DO NOT click on Star Scope ad!!!
October 27, 2022

Have just been scammed by starscope. Wife was on and accidentally clicked on ad and a day later there was a charge on our credit card for 3 starscopes! WTH! The address listed is: 415 Hamburg Turnpike, Bldg G

Wayne NJ 07470 which is what is listed as stascopes address. When trying to contact they do not answer phone only want to email and it seems like a bot is answering... Please everyone DO NOT click on Star Scope ad!!!

JudyRyberg October 27, 2022

This just happened to me as well and you can't speak to anyone, and their emails are like a generic robotic response-that a service representative will be in touch with you shortly and noone gets back to you-TOTAL SCAM!!!!!!!!

Don't waste your money
October 5, 2022
This like many other products being sold online is a Big Scam, nothing about what it advertises is true, it's basically a toy, not a serious monocular, I have no use for it. Clearly they have bots leaving positive reviews, don't believe anything about this product.

Big scam
September 28, 2022
They are a complete scam, stay away

Don’t do it
September 28, 2022
I would stay away, first they overcharged me by almost double, then after trying to contact them by phone and email and found no way to get anyone, I canceled the order. Still no way to do so. There is no customer service at all. I don’t feel a bit confident that a company that shows all the earmarks of a scam would ever send a usable product. Stay away!!!

Complete False Advertisement
September 18, 2022

Frankly I am just including an e-mail I recently sent to a person whom I believe to be is a Starscope representative, I’m sure you can draw your own conclusion of my dissatisfaction.

“ Good day Malika,

In a previous email I was asked to rate customer service, at this point since I was/am unable to receive a courtesy phone call to discuss things verbally I would have to say customer service is amongst the poorest I’ve ever encountered.

As for the product itself, I’m pretty confident I’m not the fist to point out the fraudulent advertising posted on YouTube.

Now, I’ve either received defective product or a different product that I didn’t order altogether.

The scopes I received have absolutely positively no zoom capabilities as advertised in your ad. They merely focus like regular binoculars and I most certainly cannot zoom in from 2, 3 or even 6 miles away, again, like advertised.

I am completely dissatisfied with the product and would like to see how to go about having you issue a “call tag” to pick up the incorrect items I did not order, to receive a credit.

I imagine tens of thousands have been duped by your ads and your company has made a few million $$ based on false advertising.

I would be surprised to hear from anyone at this point and I’m prepared to eat this and take the loss but I, like countless others I’m sure, wanted to voice my opinion which I’m sure makes no difference to you seeing you’ve already gotten your money.

Sincerely,

Dissatisfied customer

PaulCunningham September 28, 2022

Read this too late

Kept my money after products returned
September 8, 2022

would rate at zero if possible!

Customer Service is horrendous. Continually receive stock answers on the email. Couldn't get an address to return, finally returned and have not received a refund even though I have documented proof it was received by them. Over two weeks, no refund rec'd and they want proof it was sent....which I provided, now, no communication from them.

PaulCunningham September 28, 2022

They are a scam

Poor Everything At Original Site
August 23, 2022

Poor Poor Customer Service, I was told final price was $80.59 only to be charged $138.98 and replied with we do not have your order, funny I was billed by credit card company.

Sent invoice to them with jacked price, I was offered two discounts for ordering now. I kept sending e-mails for my credit and no reply and when I really looked at them, I was like this is just a small binocular nothing special and not what they showed on video.

It's FRAUD folks DO NOT ORDER. I still have not gotten a refund...

No STAR Here
August 9, 2022

Advertised guaranteed delivery by 24th of December. Processed

$175.91 immediately on December 9th. No package arrived by the 25th of December. Sent an immediate request for cancellation. These were gifts and the terrible disappointment created please refund money, and we scrambled for gifts. Mid-January package dropped on the doorstep. Weeks after Christmas...Weeks after a request for cancellation.

The company still uses an autoresponder and has yet to refund our money. Photos with full information are provided for the company to process the return. Integrity and trust continue to be compromised by a lack of honor.

This review has nothing to do with the quality of the product, it has everything to do with Starscope did not deliver on time as promised. Leaving me the impression that it was an intentional push for monies. I am still waiting for my refund.

Save Your Money
August 7, 2022

I purchased two starscopes...Neither work as advertised, no zoom and only about 5 power. SAVE YOUR MONEY!

Do not purchase.
July 25, 2022

Do not purchase. This company will take you for a ride. I ordered 2 monoculars that arrived without the pouched and tripods that were advertised. I have contacted the company many times but with no success. This firm should be investigated for false representation.

Do not Purchase!!!!
July 24, 2022
Absolute garbage, do not make the mistake of purchasing... No tripod arrived either, I didn't bother following up just binned the product... My mistake for not reading the reviews prior!!

Junk!!!!!! Enough said!
July 2, 2022
This product should be delivered on a box of Cracker Jacks ! Absolutely terrible!!!!!!

VincentMorales July 24, 2022

Ordered and Paid for the items on the 4th of July, day's ago along with the adjustable stand, haven't got the products as of the 24th of July. Went to my bank, they are investigating for fraud.

Cheap low quality glass
June 16, 2022
Barely worth the price, not high quality, if you have some bucks to waste you can buy it and be disappointed.