StarScope Monocular Reviews

StarScope Monocular Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Horrible Service, Not Worth It
December 27, 2021

I ordered their products. After waiting for 6 weeks for my order I had to cancel my order with them. Attempts to retrieve my deposit to no avail, they just give me the run-around every time I get through to them.

JudyMacik December 28, 2021

Again, sounds like what I went though. Did you dispute the charge on your credit card?

Worst company to deal with ever!
December 22, 2021
Worst customer service!I tried to place one order; the company processed two; despite repeatedly contacting the company by e-mail, text messages and phone, they insist on sending both orders, and will not refund me for the wrongfully placed second order; they continue to state they will discount the second order by either 30 or 50%, which varies each time.

Hillaryin Santa Barbara January 21, 2022

It’s not a company at all, they are Internet scammers. Try calling and see what happens, or look up their phone, or address. NOTHING THERE. They’re raking in money fraudulently! REPORT THEM!

This is junk
December 14, 2021
I had to give it 1 star because they don't let me give less. Mine went in the garbage the day it arrived. What a piece of junk

Hillaryin Santa Barbara January 02, 2022

you mean you actually received something from them?

Hillaryin Santa Barbara January 21, 2022

I’m getting the impression that if you bought through Amazon, you got the product. If you order direct, they get the money, and all you get is the runaround. I’ve tried to alert Amazon, but you can’t comment on products not bought through them.

Save your money!
November 4, 2021

I bought one of these scopes because I was in the market for something with a little more power which didn't cost an arm and a leg. I will tell you right now to not waste your money.

Instead of having 300x magnification, it is almost EXACTLY the same power as my decent binoculars which is 50x and isn't made nearly as sturdy.

Fragile, not recommended for hiking or adventure travels
October 31, 2021
Mine broke on the first few minutes of use. The magnification was okay but nothing spectacular as they had advertised. I attached the included carry strap to the monocular with ease, then the strap broke as I tried to loop it over my head which caused the monocular to fall on my kitchen floor and this shallow fall shattered the monocular lenses into pieces.

Fraud
October 19, 2021

Bought mine from Amazon, and am surprised that they are willing to damage their reputation by supplying a device that is so fraudulently advertised. It is claimed to have a 12X zoom; it does not.

The lens is a 12x20 fixed focus and has no zoom capability whatsoever. The only adjustment is for focal clarity. The device has inferior resolution to my cheap Celestron 8x40 binoculars.

Casey October 19, 2021

I may have been a little hasty- Amazon does not claim that this product has a zoom capability- this claim is printed on the product's packaging. Casey.

Hillaryin Santa Barbara January 21, 2022

Casey, you can report this mess to Amazon, those of us who bought direct from Starscope can’t complain to anyone but the Internet fraud bureaus. Tell AMAZON!

Chinese Crap
July 23, 2021

Ken

July 23, 2021

I just got mine and it is a simple toy. The description of it being able to see an Eagle “like you are standing right next to it” is CRAP. The customer support is worse than the delivery times and I would suggest buying another product - steer clear of this.

JudyMacik December 28, 2021

Wish I would of read this prior to placing an order for Christmas...

KAY January 04, 2022

me too, with all the complaints how are they still operating. I am from Australia so I guess there is nothing I can do from. I cant contact anyone not even the australia number

Hillaryin Santa Barbara January 21, 2022

Kay, there is an international/internet fraud reporting bureau….report this! (We all need to report….this is a gigantic SCAM.

Scam!
May 29, 2021
Biggest scam around right now. Don't buy it, not only does it not work, you will never get it as they do not ship.

garbage or scam
May 3, 2021

worst piece of garbage I ever bought. The attachment that attaches to the phone is crackerjack quality at best. I ordered one and they shipped me three and they are all the same magnification and trying to focus the thing while shooting make you want to throw it to the wind and hope you never see again.

Anyone want a freebie? I happen to have three. My conscience wouldn't allow me to profit from this scam.

GenePool August 06, 2021

Merriam Webster defines Crackerjack as “someone or something of marked excellence.” I understand what you meant but just thought I’d let you know what this word meant way before the candied popcorn took that name.

Ordered, paid in full, but no product in 8 weeks and still counting
April 30, 2021
Am in the same boat as a lot of people on this. Ordered 2 of them 8 weeks ago and still have not received them.

JudyMacik December 28, 2021

Did you ever receive your order?

You may wait FOREVER to receive your telescope...
March 31, 2021
I wish you luck in actually receiving this telescope......I am still waiting since start of JANUARY ..NOW ALMOST APRIL..And customer service.....poor!!!

George.H.Pitts April 06, 2021

I dearly wish I had read these reviews before throwing away my $ on what is obviously Chinese built junk.

Severely Late Order
March 25, 2021
I sure wished that I had read these before ordering. I ordered mine on February 16th, 2021 and am still waiting on the order delivery. It is now estimated to arrive between April 15th

George.H.Pitts April 06, 2021

I concur because I experienced the same thing.

Too much hype for a poorly performing gadget.
March 20, 2021

Simply put...waste of money. Image stability is terrible, instructions poor. I would say this is a scam, except I did get the product, and it does operate, however poorly.

The kids may have fun playing with it.

George.H.Pitts April 06, 2021

Bruce is EXACTLY correct. I feel like a fool because I was taken in by their REALLY NICE presentation. I liked "The kids may have fun..."

Barry November 04, 2021

I sold mine at my barn sale for 1/4 of what it cost me.

Still waiting 49 days after ordering for Christmas - now mid January
January 11, 2021

Still waiting for mine too! DHL is where it is supposed to be and it seems it's been in the same place in their system for 11 days. Yet another delivery source. DHL even worse than Starscope as they only use computer response which is infuriating.

If it ever comes I will take down this review and give one based on the kit itself which appears to have a great magnification that is very clear - or is that just to hook us in?

George.H.Pitts April 06, 2021

Everything I've read in these several reviews is correct. I experienced EVERY ONE of those issues and complaints. Here's the best laugh: I was (apparently AM) STUPID enough to buy their warranty too! Talk about buying blue sky! They probably figured correctly that people who bought it will be SO ASHAMED to admit they were so GULLIBLE that they will most likely, like me just write it off.

A perfect example for Neil Young's old song, "Piece of Crap." Oh, how the mighty have fallen!

Barry November 04, 2021

NEVER, NEVER, EVER purchase any extended warranty!!

There's a reason insurance companies make billions in profit and that's all an extended warranty is.

Paying in advance for something which might never happen.

Potential Scam
January 6, 2021

Starscope Monocular is, from what I have seen from my own purchase of their products, a Scam. And I don't even have the product yet to make that determination, this is based on the fact I purchased three units on Nov 17, 2020 and I have not received anything at all.

That is 50 days ago today. I have sent countless emails and talked to Customer service several times (you know with Mary and Phillip, people who don't know how to spell these names let alone have them) and they have no answers to any of my questions. None!

The tracking links they sent me are bogus also; one is called EasyTrack and the other is AfterShip. Why two tracking systems for one product, no idea, but they each come with their own shipment dates for my product. Which interestingly are two weeks apart! LOL.

The best part of all is each tracking site shows my product landed in Canada (again the tracking for the product is on two different dates and two weeks apart) and the next entry on each tracking site (the following day and after it was supposed to be already in Canada) shows the product is in Frankfurt Germany.

Don't buy it. I am not basing this decision on the product itself (as I doubt I will ever receive it and be able to actually give it a rating) simply this decision is based on the ordering process and the lack of delivery of my items leaving me with the overwhelming feeling this is nothing more than a scam.

George.H.Pitts April 06, 2021

Murray is right. Do not buy this piece of junk. I am a professional planespotter, so my interest is obvious. That marvelous zoom shot in the presentation hooked me good; unfortunately there is absolutely no way in this world that the scope I received good do anything like that

I could go on and on but the point is just like my Dad told me so long ago: "If it sounds/seems/looks too good to be true, IT IS"

It's a bit disconcerting that someone my age, with my experience, could be screwed so handily! Oh well, live and learn?

Benjamin August 09, 2021

Yes you are so correct. How can we be so gullible and fooled so easily. At the age of 57 I should of did my research before purchasing 2. They came in within the delivery time ok. The product itself was not even close to what they are advertising. Not even close. Trying to hook a phone onto the the back of the scope. It doesn't stay connected and the magnification is not there at all. Not as advertised. Yes this is scam product that does not work as sold.Thanks for your timeBenjamin

Barry November 04, 2021

Benjamin, PLEASE don't say ''should (OF) {DID] unless you wish to have people like me assume you haven't actually reached the mental capacity one would expect from someone of 57 years.

The correct phrasing would be ""should HAVE DONE'' my research.

Not as advertised and shoddily packaged and shipped.
December 24, 2020

No where near the magnification and clarity advertised. Total scam in that respect.

The holder not only arrived broken, but not even all the parts were present.

Murray McCracken January 06, 2021

I have been waiting 50 days since i ordered three of these Starscope items and have not received anything to date. They have sent me countless emails which are bogus along with two fradulent tracking sites; EasyTrack, and AfterShip which have completely different shipping dates for my order. The two tracking systems show my order landed in Canada (on two different dates two weeks apart) and then the next entry on each of the tracking sites, and on the following day after it supposedly has arrived in Canada, shows the items are still in Frankfurt Germany. I believe the sale of this product is largely a scam and the product claims are likely fraudulent also.

CarolAnn December 02, 2021

Thank you all. I was interested, but now I’m running the other way.

Andy00 July 05, 2022

Another thank you, I was interested but decided to look more into it because in the "review article "the author claimed to be a third party but wrote it like an advertisement. Nothing but bad reviews, literally not one good comment on the product out of so many comments on different websites. They must have stolen so much money by now....I feel bad for the people who they took from.