MyLife.com Reviews

MyLife.com
( 120  Reviews )

Website:   www.MyLife.com


Write a Review

About MyLife.com

MyLife.com is a website familiar to many people due to their extensive advertising on television and accross the web. 

The My Life service claims to be able to connect you with past friends and acquaintances, and also to let you discover who's searching for you online.

MyLife often claims that it will let you know who is searching for you 'for free', which is technically true, though quite misleading.  Once you enter your name into their site, it will give you some information such as "5 Men and 11 Women are searching for you", including some more specific examples like "A 32 year old woman who lives in Anytown, USA and attended American University is looking for you." 

However, to get the specific names and details of those that are searching for you, or the details of the people you are searching for, you must first become a paid member of the site.

What Do I Get as a Paid Member of MyLife?

Generally as a paid member of MyLife.com you get a big headache.  There are numerous complaints about this company all over the internet, and some of the accusations made are fairly serious.  These include, but are not limited to:

1.  MyLife provides search results that are inaccurate and sometimes even fabricated to entice one to become a member.

2.  MyLife 'hacks' your email account and spams your contact list with invitations to join MyLife.com.

3.  MyLife asks you to authorize your credit card to be charged a certain amount, but then charges you far more and more often than permitted.

The first claim centers around the fact that MyLife.com provides you with a glimpse of the people that are looking for you, in order to entice you to become a paid member.  Once you do become a paid member, however, you may receive a list of names that you may be completely unfamiliar with.  Angry customers argue this is because MyLife is fabricating the list of supposed people who are searching for you in the first place.

One customer was so convinced of this, he entered his name as gibberish, similar to "sfg shgshdhsg," and was informed that seven people were searching for him.

Secondly, the privacy policy of MyLife.com does admit they will scan and send invitations to your email contacts, though they claim they will only do so with your permission.  While the argument has been made that simply becoming a member of MyLife is the act of giving permission, many complaints have been filed by people who say they never became a paid member of MyLife, but their email accounts were hacked anyway after they visited the website.

Finally, the Terms and Conditions policy states that when you sign up for their services, you are also signed up for the services of third party companies, though these third parties and the cost of their services are not listed.  

In addition, the Terms claim that only some of the website's functions are considered free with membership, while others would incur additional fees.  However, nowhere on their website do they explain which functions are included and which cost extra.

As a result, customers have experienced signing up for membership on one day, and sometimes within 24 hours their credit card has been charged with multiple extra fees that they were unaware of.  Other customers say they expected to pay a low amount for their monthly membership and ended up with almost $200 in charges after the monthly subscription came due.

These claims and more have been outlined in a class action lawsuit filed in the state of California against MyLife.com.  

If you have any experience with the My Life people search service, please leave your reviews below.

You May Also Be Interested In

120 ‘MyLife.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
REYNOLD
Guest

Complete SCAM website

December 4, 2020

I did a 3 day trial and the same day, went in and disabled automatic renewal. It says in the FAQ's that doing this will cancel your premium membership.

Well, they charged me EIGHTY dollars anyway a few days later!!!

BEWARE OF THIS WEBSITE !!!!!!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Stephanie
Guest

Its all a scam to get money

October 17, 2020

Anyone can claim to be you and sign up with a fake email then put details that are true so you know they are talking about you as well as some fake information. The first time I read my profile it claimed my current residence was at the dump. Its all a scam to get money. They had me being closely affiliated with a bunch of people I don't even know.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Susan
Guest

Should be investigated

September 23, 2020

Company should be investigated, shutdown, and the site closed.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Malachi Coleman Coleman
Guest

They are horrible

August 29, 2020

They are horrible they cannot even get there facts straight. They also did not want to cancel my subscription. They should be ashamed of themselves.

Comment on this review...
review author image
John
Guest

Mylife would release some criminal background info

August 19, 2020

I got messaged that, if I didn't join, Mylife would release some criminal background info to people I know.

Comment on this review...
review author image
nope
Guest

I feel scandalized

July 10, 2020

This is the creepiest thing I have ever seen. I was googling my name to find a photo of me with my siblings on my page on a different computer than I normally use. This came up with my age, where I live and the names of my family members. I feel scandalized and I haven't even paid for anything. Why on earth would this come up when my name is googled.

No one should be able to access this information without my consent. Based on the other reviews, people who are scammed may also end up receiving inaccurate information about me. Why aren't these scammers in jail yet?!?!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Paul
Guest

Totally inaccurate

July 5, 2020

Checked information on myself and others I know. Most is totally inaccurate and downright ridiculous. There are people who actually pay them for this kind of information? If you are considering this THINK AGAIN !!!!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Lika
Guest

False information

June 15, 2020

I went nosing around to check on a coworker. She claims her birthday is March 16. My Life says it is July 1.

I decided to check my own. It does not have my birthday but the correct age and relationships minus one of my sons but includes one of my brother-in-laws. On the tease page, it shows I worked somewhere that I have never even heard of. It says I have or applied for a pilots license. Never did. It says I have a license to prescribe pharmaceuticals. I do not. I would like to know how to correct that without paying a membership. They could eff up someone's life with false information.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Jake
Guest

They prey on the fear people

May 11, 2020

About every 2 or 3 months I fight with these clowns.. I get an email saying someone viewed my profile and left negative messages against me which could be very damaging.. I have told these people over and over to remove this so called page I have and they refuse to do so unless I paid for some form of membership.. I'm not a saint by no means but I'm sure I'm not wanted by the CIA or FBI for questioning over legal matter's..

They prey on the fear people will have over things being available online and get people to join once that happens you have to keep upgrading to get things removed that are false and should be there anyways.. If there was a class action law suit I would be happy to join and watch these people go down in flame's. SCAM SCAM All the way

Comment on this review...
review author image
Gayle Brady
Guest

Billed for a full year subscription!

May 6, 2020

I was looking for someone and they said for $1.00 I could look for 24 hrs. So figured what the heck I'll give it a shot. I got billed for a full year subscription! Luckily my bank took care of it for me.

Comment on this review...
review author image
john sexton
Guest

Inaccurate info

May 5, 2020

Inaccurate info shortcomings on info and a scam to hit your Credit card for false charges, They offer a means to cancel on line but then evert it to a required phone call that is a waste of time getting service.
I had to cancel my Visa, and contact my bank to not accept charges.. However I was stupid as I usually check the outfits records.

As I am Retired Federal Agent and know how these scam work on all levels. However their method are legal but you have to have a trained eye to catch the agreements offered and charges.

Comment on this review...
review author image
MIKE NAVOJOSKY
Guest

Big Scam

May 2, 2020

I think you people are a big scam. I joined for $4.95 and was charged $167. I have card the credit card company and hope to stop the charge. How do you get a hold of these people anyways.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Redbird
Guest

Less than 1 star

April 19, 2020

If I could give them less than 1 star I would. I've never signed up with these crooks as what "info" they supposedly have on me is so laughable that they're actually talking about God knows who. I have more of a connection with those who've posted their thoughts here on these goofballs than I do with the people I supposedly know according to mylife.com. I don't know exactly whose life they've got under my name but it sure ain't MY life!

Comment on this review...
review author image
javed khan
Guest

Totally fake

April 11, 2020

Totally fake , uses information that is fabricated or inaccurate. If I could I would sue it at first opportunity.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Judith Murray
Guest

I also got charged

April 10, 2020

Check your account well. I also got charged 71.40 along with the 1.00 and the 19.95

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review