MyLife.com Reviews

MyLife.com
( 131 reviews )
Website: www.MyLife.com

MyLife.com is a website familiar to many people due to their extensive advertising on television and across the web. 

The My Life service claims to be able to connect users with past friends and acquaintances and to let them discover who's searching for them online.

How Does it Work?

MyLife often claims that it will let you know who is searching for you 'for free', which is technically true, though quite misleading.  

Once you enter your name into their site, it will give you some information such as "5 Men and 11 Women are searching for you", including some more specific examples like "A 32 year old woman who lives in Anytown, USA and attended American University is looking for you." 

However, to get the specific names and details of those that are searching for you, or the details of the people you are searching for, you must first become a paid member of the site.

Is My Life Legit?

 There are numerous complaints about this company all over the internet, and some of the accusations made are fairly serious.

 These include, but are not limited to:

  1.  MyLife provides search results that are inaccurate and sometimes even fabricated to entice one to become a member.
  2.  MyLife 'hacks' your email account and spams your contact list with invitations to join MyLife.com.
  3.  MyLife asks you to authorize your credit card to be charged a certain amount, but then charges you far more and more often than permitted.

The first claim centers around the fact that MyLife.com provides you with a glimpse of the people that are looking for you, in order to entice you to become a paid member.  

Once you do become a paid member, however, you may receive a list of names that you may be completely unfamiliar with.

Angry customers argue this is because MyLife is fabricating the list of supposed people who are searching for you in the first place.

One customer was so convinced of this, he entered his name as random string of characters, somethin like "sfg shgshdhsg" for example, and was informed that seven people were searching for him.

Secondly, the privacy policy of MyLife.com does admit they will scan and send invitations to your email contacts, though they claim they will only do so with your permission.  

While the argument has been made that simply becoming a member of MyLife is the act of giving permission, many complaints have been filed by people who say they never became a paid member of MyLife, but their email accounts were hacked anyway after they visited the website.

Finally, the Terms and Conditions policy states that when you sign up for their services, you are also signed up for the services of third party companies, though these third parties and the cost of their services are not listed.  

In addition, the Terms claim that only some of the website's functions are considered free with membership, while others would incur additional fees.  However, nowhere on their website do they explain which functions are included and which cost extra.

As a result, customers have experienced signing up for membership on one day, and sometimes within 24 hours their credit card has been charged with multiple extra fees that they were unaware of.  

Other customers say they expected to pay a low amount for their monthly membership and ended up with almost $200 in charges after the monthly subscription came due.

These claims and others have been outlined in a Department of Justice lawsuit filed against MyLife.com.  

If you have any experience with the MyLife.com or their services, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

MyLife.com Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Immediately Overcharged
August 25, 2022
Authorized a $1.99 charge for a single report. Was billed this AND $60 for a 3-month subscription. Called immediately. Was told they could not issue a refund since I had requested a report... the single one I already paid $1.99 for. I asked to speak to a manager, was put on hold. When she returned i was offered $40 back and the plan was reduced to one month with no auto-renewal. At least I got 40 bucks back. I'll write the 20 off has a lesson learned about checking reviews first.

Total B.S. DON"T FALL FOR IT!
August 18, 2022

I ran the initial "self search" 3 days ago, of course I had to provide an email address. It ran thru all the steps and took me to the point of signing up and paying. I noticed it indicated 2 people searching for me, 1 man and 1 woman. I left the site without signing up.

Today I received an email saying there has been changes that might be lawsuits etc. I clicked on "review updates" and it took me back to their site and ran thru all the steps again and took me again to the point of signing up and paying. This time (3 days later) it indicated 514 people found are searching for me, 46 men and 46 women....So, in 3 days people searching for me went from 2 (1 man, 1 women) to 514 (46 men, 46 women). 46 x 2 = 92.

This is baiting by using false info to cause panic in order to manipulate us to sign up.

Get a Email confirmed cancelation
August 1, 2022

I cancelled the same day I ran a search . Received incorrect info and then called to cancel. I was given cancelation # and told I would receive a confirmation Email. The day after I was charged almost $50.00. No cancelation ever sent! Total scam...

MYLIFE is trash!!!!
July 19, 2022
I really hope nobody relies on this site for information. I looked at my profile and none of the information provided is correct. It even makes it look like I'm a criminal because family members I have no contact with are criminals. It's like paying a price for the faults of others.

Don't waste your time
June 14, 2022

A piece of crap website with false claims and error filled garbage.

Scummy and dishonest
June 11, 2022

The name they gave me was my first name with my high school ex-boyfriend's last name (and obviously, we were never married). No clue how they got a hold of that information anyway, that's very creepy. I went in to see my report out of curiosity, but freaked out and left when I realized the website could be planting cookies in my computer and stealing my personal information.

The website itself says while finalizing a report that they can collect all the addresses to the places you've lived in, with satellite images. If that's true, and people can just access it by looking it up, this is a dangerous website.

B.S.
May 20, 2022

MyLife is a complete scam. Never signed up for a paying membership., so they do not have my card info, thankfully. But, what they do have is info about me which is completely inaccurate. One of the names they claim is an alias I have used in the past is actually my Dad's name. They also claim I have several court decisions against me. I have none. They have my places of residence completely backwards. I can only hope that potential employers, and neighbors, new friends, or whatever do not use, or believe this site.

Limit of premium membership is 3 searches per month
May 18, 2022
After multiple communications as to why I could not search when logged in to my Premium account I found out that only 3 searches per month are allowed I paid for 3 months and apparently each call allowed me to search 9 in the first week. Last call told me I have used the total for my 3 month membership. I asked why I was not informed of this when joining. I was told to read the agreed to. I have read the agreed to and still did not find the limit of 3 per month.

MyLife.com Review
November 26, 2021

think they know who people are, who they are related too and all their personal and private information. Sadly, this site puts people's lives at risk. Most of the information in inaccurate and flat out wrong. Don't waste your money or time. This site does not provide accurate information nor are they qualified to provide you with a true background report.

Signed up for $1 trial, they charged me $99.00
November 10, 2021

They made an unauthorized charge to my debit card for 99.00. I had signed up for a $1.00 trial.

Don't Waste Your Time
March 24, 2021
MyLife.com is nothing more than a scam service. They have seriously confused me with my dad. They even have me listed as married to my mom. All the information listed is just from public resources (the same ones your bill collectors use), so whatever. As long as you're smart and don't use facebook, they can't even get a picture of you. Don't pay these clowns any money. Don't even sign up for their garbage website. Just move on with your day and be relieved that you're not the guy MyLife thinks is married to his mom.

Complete SCAM website
December 4, 2020

I did a 3 day trial and the same day, went in and disabled automatic renewal. It says in the FAQ's that doing this will cancel your premium membership.

Well, they charged me EIGHTY dollars anyway a few days later!!!

BEWARE OF THIS WEBSITE !!!!!!

Its all a scam to get money
October 17, 2020
Anyone can claim to be you and sign up with a fake email then put details that are true so you know they are talking about you as well as some fake information. The first time I read my profile it claimed my current residence was at the dump. Its all a scam to get money. They had me being closely affiliated with a bunch of people I don't even know.

Should be investigated
September 23, 2020
Company should be investigated, shutdown, and the site closed.

They are horrible
August 29, 2020
They are horrible they cannot even get there facts straight. They also did not want to cancel my subscription. They should be ashamed of themselves.

Mylife would release some criminal background info
August 19, 2020
I got messaged that, if I didn't join, Mylife would release some criminal background info to people I know.

I feel scandalized
July 10, 2020

This is the creepiest thing I have ever seen. I was googling my name to find a photo of me with my siblings on my page on a different computer than I normally use. This came up with my age, where I live and the names of my family members. I feel scandalized and I haven't even paid for anything. Why on earth would this come up when my name is googled.

No one should be able to access this information without my consent. Based on the other reviews, people who are scammed may also end up receiving inaccurate information about me. Why aren't these scammers in jail yet?!?!

Totally inaccurate
July 5, 2020
Checked information on myself and others I know. Most is totally inaccurate and downright ridiculous. There are people who actually pay them for this kind of information? If you are considering this THINK AGAIN !!!!

False information
June 15, 2020

I went nosing around to check on a coworker. She claims her birthday is March 16. My Life says it is July 1.

I decided to check my own. It does not have my birthday but the correct age and relationships minus one of my sons but includes one of my brother-in-laws. On the tease page, it shows I worked somewhere that I have never even heard of. It says I have or applied for a pilots license. Never did. It says I have a license to prescribe pharmaceuticals. I do not. I would like to know how to correct that without paying a membership. They could eff up someone's life with false information.

They prey on the fear people
May 11, 2020

About every 2 or 3 months I fight with these clowns.. I get an email saying someone viewed my profile and left negative messages against me which could be very damaging.. I have told these people over and over to remove this so called page I have and they refuse to do so unless I paid for some form of membership.. I'm not a saint by no means but I'm sure I'm not wanted by the CIA or FBI for questioning over legal matter's..

They prey on the fear people will have over things being available online and get people to join once that happens you have to keep upgrading to get things removed that are false and should be there anyways.. If there was a class action law suit I would be happy to join and watch these people go down in flame's. SCAM SCAM All the way

GeneEmahiser Sr. November 07, 2022

Completely are in agreement with the above: I signed up, but before paying in, checked for scam, sure enough, it is. I was told that I was Hispanic, my income was Under 10K, and so on... pure BS, no word about 12 years of college, an illustrous military career, or my ranch holdings, etc. Just crap off the wall. Also, I am a SR, and there is a JR, same name. two different people, they didn't seem to understand that. RUN, RUN AND HIDE, THIS IS A BAD PLAYER. DR. E