MyLife.com Reviews

MyLife.com
( 121 reviews )
Website: www.MyLife.com

MyLife.com is a website familiar to many people due to their extensive advertising on television and accross the web. 

The My Life service claims to be able to connect you with past friends and acquaintances, and also to let you discover who's searching for you online.

MyLife often claims that it will let you know who is searching for you 'for free', which is technically true, though quite misleading.  Once you enter your name into their site, it will give you some information such as "5 Men and 11 Women are searching for you", including some more specific examples like "A 32 year old woman who lives in Anytown, USA and attended American University is looking for you." 

However, to get the specific names and details of those that are searching for you, or the details of the people you are searching for, you must first become a paid member of the site. 

 

What Do I Get as a Paid Member of MyLife?

Generally as a paid member of MyLife.com you get a big headache.  There are numerous complaints about this company all over the internet, and some of the accusations made are fairly serious.  These include, but are not limited to:

1.  MyLife provides search results that are inaccurate and sometimes even fabricated to entice one to become a member.

2.  MyLife 'hacks' your email account and spams your contact list with invitations to join MyLife.com.

3.  MyLife asks you to authorize your credit card to be charged a certain amount, but then charges you far more and more often than permitted.

The first claim centers around the fact that MyLife.com provides you with a glimpse of the people that are looking for you, in order to entice you to become a paid member.  Once you do become a paid member, however, you may receive a list of names that you may be completely unfamiliar with.  Angry customers argue this is because MyLife is fabricating the list of supposed people who are searching for you in the first place.

One customer was so convinced of this, he entered his name as gibberish, similar to "sfg shgshdhsg," and was informed that seven people were searching for him.

Secondly, the privacy policy of MyLife.com does admit they will scan and send invitations to your email contacts, though they claim they will only do so with your permission.  While the argument has been made that simply becoming a member of MyLife is the act of giving permission, many complaints have been filed by people who say they never became a paid member of MyLife, but their email accounts were hacked anyway after they visited the website.

Finally, the Terms and Conditions policy states that when you sign up for their services, you are also signed up for the services of third party companies, though these third parties and the cost of their services are not listed.  

In addition, the Terms claim that only some of the website's functions are considered free with membership, while others would incur additional fees.  However, nowhere on their website do they explain which functions are included and which cost extra.

As a result, customers have experienced signing up for membership on one day, and sometimes within 24 hours their credit card has been charged with multiple extra fees that they were unaware of.  Other customers say they expected to pay a low amount for their monthly membership and ended up with almost $200 in charges after the monthly subscription came due.

These claims and more have been outlined in a Department of Justice lawsuit filed against MyLife.com.  

If you have any experience with the My Life people search service, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

MyLife.com Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Don't Waste Your Time
March 24, 2021
MyLife.com is nothing more than a scam service. They have seriously confused me with my dad. They even have me listed as married to my mom. All the information listed is just from public resources (the same ones your bill collectors use), so whatever. As long as you're smart and don't use facebook, they can't even get a picture of you. Don't pay these clowns any money. Don't even sign up for their garbage website. Just move on with your day and be relieved that you're not the guy MyLife thinks is married to his mom.

Complete SCAM website
December 4, 2020

I did a 3 day trial and the same day, went in and disabled automatic renewal. It says in the FAQ's that doing this will cancel your premium membership.

Well, they charged me EIGHTY dollars anyway a few days later!!!

BEWARE OF THIS WEBSITE !!!!!!

Its all a scam to get money
October 17, 2020
Anyone can claim to be you and sign up with a fake email then put details that are true so you know they are talking about you as well as some fake information. The first time I read my profile it claimed my current residence was at the dump. Its all a scam to get money. They had me being closely affiliated with a bunch of people I don't even know.

Should be investigated
September 23, 2020
Company should be investigated, shutdown, and the site closed.

They are horrible
August 29, 2020
They are horrible they cannot even get there facts straight. They also did not want to cancel my subscription. They should be ashamed of themselves.

Mylife would release some criminal background info
August 19, 2020
I got messaged that, if I didn't join, Mylife would release some criminal background info to people I know.

I feel scandalized
July 10, 2020

This is the creepiest thing I have ever seen. I was googling my name to find a photo of me with my siblings on my page on a different computer than I normally use. This came up with my age, where I live and the names of my family members. I feel scandalized and I haven't even paid for anything. Why on earth would this come up when my name is googled.

No one should be able to access this information without my consent. Based on the other reviews, people who are scammed may also end up receiving inaccurate information about me. Why aren't these scammers in jail yet?!?!

Totally inaccurate
July 5, 2020
Checked information on myself and others I know. Most is totally inaccurate and downright ridiculous. There are people who actually pay them for this kind of information? If you are considering this THINK AGAIN !!!!

False information
June 15, 2020

I went nosing around to check on a coworker. She claims her birthday is March 16. My Life says it is July 1.

I decided to check my own. It does not have my birthday but the correct age and relationships minus one of my sons but includes one of my brother-in-laws. On the tease page, it shows I worked somewhere that I have never even heard of. It says I have or applied for a pilots license. Never did. It says I have a license to prescribe pharmaceuticals. I do not. I would like to know how to correct that without paying a membership. They could eff up someone's life with false information.

They prey on the fear people
May 11, 2020

About every 2 or 3 months I fight with these clowns.. I get an email saying someone viewed my profile and left negative messages against me which could be very damaging.. I have told these people over and over to remove this so called page I have and they refuse to do so unless I paid for some form of membership.. I'm not a saint by no means but I'm sure I'm not wanted by the CIA or FBI for questioning over legal matter's..

They prey on the fear people will have over things being available online and get people to join once that happens you have to keep upgrading to get things removed that are false and should be there anyways.. If there was a class action law suit I would be happy to join and watch these people go down in flame's. SCAM SCAM All the way

Billed for a full year subscription!
May 6, 2020
I was looking for someone and they said for $1.00 I could look for 24 hrs. So figured what the heck I'll give it a shot. I got billed for a full year subscription! Luckily my bank took care of it for me.

Inaccurate info
May 5, 2020

Inaccurate info shortcomings on info and a scam to hit your Credit card for false charges, They offer a means to cancel on line but then evert it to a required phone call that is a waste of time getting service.

I had to cancel my Visa, and contact my bank to not accept charges.. However I was stupid as I usually check the outfits records.

As I am Retired Federal Agent and know how these scam work on all levels. However their method are legal but you have to have a trained eye to catch the agreements offered and charges.

Big Scam
May 2, 2020
I think you people are a big scam. I joined for $4.95 and was charged $167. I have card the credit card company and hope to stop the charge. How do you get a hold of these people anyways.

Less than 1 star
April 19, 2020
If I could give them less than 1 star I would. I've never signed up with these crooks as what "info" they supposedly have on me is so laughable that they're actually talking about God knows who. I have more of a connection with those who've posted their thoughts here on these goofballs than I do with the people I supposedly know according to mylife.com. I don't know exactly whose life they've got under my name but it sure ain't MY life!

Totally fake
April 11, 2020
Totally fake , uses information that is fabricated or inaccurate. If I could I would sue it at first opportunity.

I also got charged
April 10, 2020
Check your account well. I also got charged 71.40 along with the 1.00 and the 19.95

February 5, 2020
I wish I saw this before paying the $1 trial even though I cancelled it same day. I got charged a $45 fee for looking at my moms profile not realizing I could only view my own. Huge scam. The information is not even accurate.

February 2, 2020

MyLife lies.

When searching my name on the internet, I find in red letters;

"K*******m DOES have Arrest or Criminal Records."

I have never been arrested and I do not have a criminal record. I have never been in court.

This is outrageous and defamatory.

I have contacted mylife three times to remove my profile, I followed the profile removal protocol, and they respond by email and give me reference numbers but then don't follow-up. Ignored.

I will follow with legal action if it comes to this. People have to stand up to this blatant disregard for truth and willful defamation.

January 24, 2020
mylife.com TOTAL SCAM!!!!!! Has complete rubbish on my report. I have NEVER been arrested or incarcerated but yet they have a BIG RED FLAG under my name stating I have! I'd be VERY interested in being part of a class action lawsuit to shut down and stop these criminals for publishing false and derogatory information on lots of law abiding individuals.

January 1, 2020
They even scam you trying to type this in keep kicking me off ...I'm a sex offender with a status DUI's a plenty leins been evicted lived in at least 25 places my childs name with a picture of a kid I've never seen ..theives want $107.00 to fix this and dont send multiple emails ok I wont they'll be hourly nonstop till I'm removed free of charge..i never joined this bullshit site remove me ps the calls I'll be on my game also nonstop have a GREAT year SCAMMERS