Harvest Right Freeze Dryer Reviews

Harvest Right Freeze Dryer
( 2,239 reviews )

Harvest Right Freeze Dryer Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Great customer service and one easy fix.
March 16, 2024
Purchased the medium unit and confirmed no external damage. This thing is heavy so make sure you have help. Got it all set up with a dedicated 20amp circuit and noticed the door seal was not making full contact. Found the tray rack was pushing into the seal because the ground wire loop was interfering at the back. This was easy to rotate out of the way but then I ran a vacuum check and did not get below 600mTorr. Started a ticket with HR customer service and they quickly set an appointment to call me and explain that this is normal and the unit just needs to run a full cycle to get everything set. They were right and we are running. Everything else seems good quality and it was great having a clear speaking person to talk to. If you are worried about noise, mine is in the basement running now I can’t hear it on the main floor.

Oh My Gosh, Awesome Freeze Dryer
March 16, 2024

Being new to freeze drying and after a lot of research, we purchased a Harvest Right Freeze Dryer and “oh my gosh”, this freeze dryer is amazing. We purchased the Medium Home Pro Freeze Dryer. They also have several different sizes and have accessories available online.

Everything you need is included in the purchase to get you started right away:

Freeze Dryer

Premier Industrial Vacuum Pump

Vacuum Pump Oil

Oil Filter

Stainless Steel Trays (set of 5)

Guide to Freeze Drying

Mylar Bags (50 ct)

Oxygen Absorbers (50 ct)

Impulse Sealer

The warranty is 3 years. Customer Service is great and they are for any questions or issues you may have. We were so impressed with the machine quality, warranty and customer service, that we purchased our second machine. You can make custom settings on the machine, even giving it a name all on a touch screen.

Check them out, you won’t be disappointed.

Love our freeze dryer
March 16, 2024
We got our freeze dryer a little over a year and have been loving it so far! We had a little trouble not too long ago but customer service helped us out and our freeze drying is back up and running! We love that it has given us the opportunity to help preserve our food and make nutritious snacks for ourselves and our fur babies.

The machine itself is amazing
March 15, 2024

I love this freeze dryer, except for the pump troubles, it’s been a great machine.

I would Not recommend getting the premiere oil free pump though, it’s expensive and went bad less than a year after we got it…

If I could, I’d upgrade to the XL size

At the time this 5 tray machine was the largest available

Harvest Right Medium Pro
March 15, 2024

We've been mulling this purchase over for a while and finally went ahead and got the best size we could given our electricity concerns (Dedicated breaker and 110 line not a 220).

We had an O-Ring issue which was quickly resolved by customer service.

☆☆☆☆☆ for responsive, U.S. based help!!!

Harvest Right is wonderful and we absolutely recommend them to anyone who is willing to take freeze drying for a spin and save a bunch of $ in the long run.

Why did I wait so long
March 15, 2024

I have had my Harvest Right for a little over a month and I LOVE it. I should have bought it years ago. A couple of things I love about it and the company:

1. I love that they don't nickel and dime you to death. When you buy the Harvest Right Freezer it come with Everything you need to get started. No discussions about needing anything else, or I Should buy this. I LOVE that!

2. After set-up I got started and I think there have only been a few days when I haven't had something in it. It's easy.

3. I typically will now make 2-4x the amount of dinner and freeze dry the rest. We'll have it for long-term food storage, that tastes so great you just want to snack on it still dried, 72 hr emergency kits and when we head out on a trip. Easy Peasy cooking on the road or camping. I LOVE IT!

We Love IT!
March 12, 2024

First off, I'll have to say is that the customer service is great. After 2 use of our 5-Tray Medium Harvest Right Freeze Dryer it started to smell as if something was burning. The System didn't alert me to turn it off, but I had decided to cancel my batch and cool everything off. I was afraid to use the machine, until I spoke with someone from Harvest Right. I gave them a call and they walked me thoroughly to trouble shoot where the smell could have came from. The machine was in perfect condition. The issue was from the moisture getting into the Oil Demister causing it to smell. Since then I've used it several times drying lots of fruits, running it back to back batches and have not had any issues. My family loves the freeze dry fruits and would eat everything, if I'll let them. As a mom, I love that I can feed my family good and yummy snacks with no added chemicals to preserve my food. Thank you Harvest Right!

Does what it's suppose to but...
March 10, 2024
Freeze dryer does what it's suppose to. Owners Manual is outdated & vague. Wish it had an audio "alarm" of sorts to let you know when it's done drying rather then having to constantly check the readout screen to see if it's gone into the "Extra drying" mode. One sales member I communicated with was represented the company well. Another Sales person actually hung up on me when I asked for his name. Over all unit does what it's suppose to but I can't give positive feedback on anything else.

I love it but...
March 8, 2024
I love my freeze dryer when it works. Customer service is great. I think the machine is way too expensive to have it only work 2 months before having problems. Hopefully it will be working properly soon.

Fantastic Tech Support
March 7, 2024
I've had this machine just shy of a year now (Bought it from Tractor Supply). I've had to call their tech support approximately 5 times for pressure issues. Every time I called, I got through immediately. Most of my fixes were easily corrected over the phone. The last time I called, the fix required me to take the panels off and work on the inside of the machine. I wasn't thrilled about it, but that too wasn't bad. Since I bought the machine, I've run about 75 batches of food. It was a lot of fun making them and sharing them with friends and family. I highly recommend this machine. I dare to say the tech support is better than the machine. I've always dreaded calling tech support lines. This is the first that hasn't been a pain. I've freeze dried everything you can think of, from fruits and vegetables, canned products, meats and candy.

Great Machine, Great Home Production, Great Customer Service
March 7, 2024

Harvest Right freeze dryers are amazing! Very user friendly, easy to clean and produce outstanding results with foods. When I have had questions, the help has been immediate, with easy to follow instructions. Customer service has links to videos which make it easy for me to make corrections as needed.

The customer reps I have spoken with have made clear explanations and instructions, and have also not appeared rushed or impatient, which is a huge plus when dealing with a new machine!

The freeze dryer also makes me happy because it has freed up amazing space in my home freezer.

Harvest Right is the best in every way!

It a love hate relationship
March 7, 2024

We have loved using our freeze dryer for fruit, veggies, and treats. We have

had issues which is the annoying part about the product

Software issues, broken modulators, inadequate drying
March 7, 2024

So I’ve had three harvest right freeze dryers in the past year and all three have broken. The first one had a modulator problem where the machine was not adequately drying and machines two and 3months old -one two weeks old both have computer chip problems where when you hit start, the machine is not actually starting so I ended up waiting a month to get parts and service on the machines which put you out of business because you cannot create products until that’s complete. I believe harvest is over producing these machines and they’re not properly being put together which is causing a lot of issues to be had with machines and I have friends that are having the exact same problems . 

I don’t understand how this is a constant issue with every machine I get I even had to have a machine sent back and they replaced that machine under warranty but again the new machine I got is having problems with the touchscreen. Every machine I get has a problem.

Exceptional Freeze Dryer - Worth Every Penny!
March 7, 2024

I recently purchased the Large Pro Freeze Dryer from Harvest Right, and I couldn't be happier with my decision. From the moment it arrived, I was impressed with the quality of the machine and its potential to transform my food preservation process.

Despite a minor hiccup with a loose wire during shipping, which was promptly resolved with the help of their excellent customer service team, my experience with the Harvest Right Freeze Dryer has been nothing short of exceptional. The customer service team was responsive, helpful, and efficient in assisting me with the issue, ensuring that I could start using my freeze dryer without any further delay.

Since then, the machine has been working flawlessly, exceeding my expectations in terms of performance and reliability. I use it daily to preserve a variety of foods, from fruits and vegetables to meats and even complete meals. The results are consistently outstanding, with my food retaining its flavor, nutritional value, and texture even after being freeze-dried.

The Large Pro Freeze Dryer offers ample capacity, allowing me to process large batches of food at once, which is perfect for my household's needs. Its user-friendly interface and intuitive controls make operation a breeze, while the durable construction gives me confidence in its long-term durability.

Overall, I am extremely satisfied with my Harvest Right Freeze Dryer. It has revolutionized the way I approach food preservation, providing me with a convenient and efficient solution that helps me minimize food waste and enjoy fresh, flavorful meals year-round. I wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone looking for a high-quality freeze dryer that delivers exceptional results.

Easy to Use Easy to Clean
March 7, 2024
We really like our Harvest Right freeze dryer! It’s very easy to clean and use. The manual is easy to understand and complete with pictures so you know what to do each step of the process even if something goes wrong. Be sure to follow the instructions and helpful hints for the best results. I called customer service and got a real person right away. She was friendly and able to help me solve the user error quickly. The pump is much more quiet than we expected. We purchased the medium size unit. All 5 trays hold about 1 1/2 gallons of liquid which fills almost 3 Mylar bags freeze dried. The process takes 24 to 48 hours from liquid to powder. We haven’t tried pre-freezing or solid foods yet, but I’m looking forward to it!

Reliable, easy to use, not too loud
March 6, 2024

We bought our Harvest Right freeze dryer in December. It came with the machine, hoses, pump and oil, trays, impulse sealer, mylar bags, and oxygen absorbers. You will need to provide a drain bucket and purchase a good scale or some other method of determining that your food is fully dry. (The sensors get you in the dry range, but it is up to you to determine if the food is fully dry.) Set up was relatively easy for my husband to accomplish alone after the two of us got it situated in place. After the mandatory 24 hour wait to settle the refrigerant, we were off and running. The software makes it easy since everything is already set by default. Unless you are doing candy or something very specialized (like breast milk), there is no need to fuss with any settings of time or temperature. Just hit Start, follow the on screen instructions, and trust the machine's default process for your food. The process is not quick. My run times have been in the range of 24.5 - 49 hours so far.

The owner's manual does not come with the machine but is emailed to you ahead or can be downloaded from the Harvest Right website. It has all the information you need for set up and basics of running the machine, packaging of the food, maintenance, etc. Be sure to read it through several times. Customer Service is also available and I found them to be quite helpful when I contacted them. My call was answered by a person in Utah who spoke clear English and was very helpful.

I strongly recommend that you go ahead and hit the "customize" button to permanently change the default extra dry time to either 12 or 24 hours BEFORE your first run. It will not have to run that whole extra time, but it will allow you to be able to go about your schedule without worrying about what the machine is doing.

I also recommend that if you need to site your freeze-dryer in or near a room you will be in all day, that you obtain a piece of remnant carpet to place under the oil pump and some no-slip mesh intended for under throw rugs and place that under the machine itself. That will help to deaden the noise level some. With those two items in place, my machine now just sounds about like an ordinary large box fan running and does not bother me even though it is just around the corner from my desk. There will still be occasional cracking sounds from the ice, but those are normal and nothing to worry about.

The Harvest Right Freeze Dryer has been a great purchase for us. It has performed consistently well for the 3 months I have used it and I have no hesitation in recommending it to others considering a freeze dryer purchase.

Wish I Bought Sooner and Bigger, Amazing Machine
March 5, 2024
Bought a Medium Pro model, Dec 2023 after researching FDs for years. HarvestRight was the standout brand the whole time. It was a "one-day" novelty wishlist item. But after our whole family of three became pilots, we realized how hard it is to have compact, light weight, non-perishable healthy food options to-go. So I finally purchased a Freeze Dryer. I regret not purchasing MUCH sooner. Being busy and traveling, sometimes at the last minute, we were wasting a lot of purchased food. Now we can save all of that while having healthy food options without risk of spoilage on the road. Learning curve is small. YouTube / Support Groups on FB are great. It works amazingly. Customer support is great, even for random questions. Wish I bought sooner, and bigger (large and extra large require a dedicated breaker). It's addictive and healthy food options while traveling are so much better making my own meals/snacks. Asparagus or green beans (not rehydrated) dipped in guacamole (rehydrated); Keto Pumpkin Custard with blueberries or strawberries (all rehydrated) with pecans; Keto Quiche... I make it thin and it comes out like crunchy, flavorful crackers... we don't even rehydrate it. I highly recommend purchasing extra trays and getting lids. It greatly improves prep efficiency. Pre-freezing greatly reduces freeze-dry time and sometimes improves final product as well. While one batch is running, I can be preparing and freezing my next batch.

It's got a learning curve.
March 4, 2024

I am still learning about how to freeze dry and am

so grateful for all the wonderful help I get from the folks at Harvest Right. I call them directly when I

have questions that I cannot find answers to in the literature. They have my back. They are friendly, knowledgeable and patient with my questions. The Harvest Right has performed for me, the novice, with great results. I've successfully done chicken broth. Mississippi chicken, rotisserie chicken, broccoli, bananas, pineapple, a variety of berries (kinda challenging) and have had great results. Great way to preserve

things that would otherwise have gone to waste.

It is great to know I've some good food preserved for 20 plus years. This review is my honest opinion and for those willing to learn it gets addictive. Join the fun

Great quality product for the price
March 2, 2024
I just received my pro medium freeze drier… I will be setting it up this weekend. I bought extra trays and lids along with the tray gels. The service was available during my waiting period giving me links to videos and preparing me for my new adventures of freeze drying. Great customer service Alex helped me with my warranty process and helps me out with my questions. The shipping team are also great I was up to date on my delivery. I received my unit in pristine condition:) I’m very satisfied with my purchase:)

I SAVE TIME AND MONEY AND EAT HEALTHY
March 1, 2024

HARVEST RIGHT FREEZE-DRYER REVIEW

What an innovative machine that enhances and simplifies my ability to preserve food and retain its nutritional value. After the food is rehydrated--it tastes like fresh! No kidding!

With the rising price of foods and seasonal availability, I can purchase foods on sale and stock up, freeze-dry and store for later use--be it a week from now or if properly stored, 25 years from now! Wow.

As a Nutritionist, I am pleased to know with Harvest Right's unique preserving process the nutritional value is retained. It saves me both time and money--which delights me. I can quickly prepare scrambled eggs, milk, fruits, vegetables, desserts or even left-over casseroles in short order--whatever my imagination can serve up.

I can take my freeze-dried foods camping, in the car for snacks, to work and have a meal prepared in no time by rehydrating. I waste nothing now. It'll pay for itself. I love it!