Harvest Right Freeze Dryer Reviews

Harvest Right Freeze Dryer
( 2,252 reviews )

Harvest Right Freeze Dryer Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Well made and Freeze drying works
May 9, 2024

The Harvest Right Freeze Dryer is simple to use with an intuitive menu. Customer support is not outsourced and is prompt.

Freeze Drying is energy intensive but allows saving food with resorting to canning. We have solar power and tend to freeze dry on sunny days.

Properly freeze dried food when rehydrated, has the taste and textured of a freshly cooked meal. Saving meals is great for camping and emergencies. Not having to refrigerate is a blessing. Just about any food can be successfully freeze dried.

Low vacuum error
May 7, 2024

Hi I've been an owner a little over a month. I had great results. I love Elsa! My FD.

I had an issue with low vacuum. I called customer support and talked with Brook. She sent me to Landon.

I gotta tell you he was great. Stayed on the phone with me whilst I tried different things. He was very patient with this old woman.

Needless to say, he had me up and going. I just ran a flawless batch and I am again super happy, knowing I can have stable food storage. Push start and follow the instructions.

Thank you Landen and Harvest right for having great personnel like Brooke and Landon.

Game Changing (an Enormous Step Beyond Common Dehydrating) and, Great Tech Service
May 7, 2024

THE MACHINE

We bought our medium, four tray freeze dryer with the Premier vacuum pump October, 2021. Since then, we logged a few thousand hours of freeze drying time.

We never cease to be impressed with the results we get from our dryer. For example:

(1) Unlike using our high end dehydrator, the freeze dryer fully dries food, allowing storage for years longer.

(2) The freeze dryer dries food without destroying many of the qualities of the food (e.g., asparagus was a huge success in the freeze dryer, but a total disappointment in the dehydrator).

(3) Foods re-hydrate and are indistinguishable in appearance and taste, from frozen. Shrimp, for example.

(4) We live in farming country (orchards, row crops), so things that we would have had to pass up on before can be freeze dried for later use, without taking up valuable freezer space.

SERVICE

When I ran into a minor problem, early on, the Harvest Right agent who handled the problem was not only a pleasure to work with, he solved the problem quickly and efficiently.

In our situation, we did not experience any down time. That was because of Harvest Right’s policies, and it’s agent’s help.

Now, a few years in, I had a processing failure (mid batch heater failure). In response, I performed common sense checks of things like wire and plug connections. Also, I relied on the abundant resources on line to test the heater relay to determine if the pads were heating.

Because the simple things checked out (e.g., the involved relay was working (PERHAPS intermittently) and trays warmed), a deeper dive into the system was needed.

I put to writing my findings, bit the bullet and submitted a ticket. As before, a Harvest Right agent was quick to respond and offer solutions I’m confident will get us back in the saddle.

In preparation of needed repairs, I pulled the back and top panel. Looking the machine over, I am impressed with how well thought out the design is. It's obvious the machine is a nice compromise between efficiency and practical. It appears no small amount of thought went into making it as easy as possible to track down and isolate problems. I’m reminded of the convenience of a console stereo from back in the day, BUT with benefit of system components that can be replaced. For example, dryer’s boards are well laid out, labeled and, relatively, accessible.

SIDE NOTE: I used my label maker to label wires according to the board labels, so can remove and re-install wires easily and with confidence (after checking my work five times ;).

Good job Harvest Right, and the agents, without whom nothing could be accomplished in its name.

A Newfound Necessity
May 6, 2024

Whether you're a homesteader, novice gardener, or someone that simply wants to no longer waste their food, this is a must have.

I opted for the small pro version, and though I will surely grab a larger version down the road, this small freeze dryer works wonders. Thr upgrades Harvest Right has implemented since its original design has made the ease of use a breeze, provided more space (in the small at least), and made everything much more enjoyable through each phase of the process.

The digital touch screen is beautiful, and now, with updated software, I have specified candy settings to have freeze dried candy in just two hours or less. My kids go crazy for freeze dried ice cream sandwiches, "skittles", and "starbursts" (all the healthy brand versions).

As someone who has a small farm, most notably with our chickens, you usually find yourself with too many eggs. No more letting them go to waste or dealing with "water-glassing" with buckets full of heavy water and eggs. Now, we freeze dry the seasoned raw (or cooked) eggs, leaving behind a shelf stable product that will last 30+ years (make sure to seal in food-safe Mylar bags with an oxygen absorber!). Simply amazing.

One thing that I would like to add, is how great the Harvest Right team is. I had what was more of a new user error moment, and started to think my system was malfunctioning or faulty, but after a quick call to Harvest Right, they walked me through what was normal and what wasn't, as well as a reminder to remain patient through the phases of freeze drying (pre-freeze, freezing, vacuum freezing, drying). I followed their instructions and I am as happy as can be with this machine. Long story short, they're amazing and you're only a call away to try and remedy an issue or concern with your freeze dryer.

I will update you all at the one year mark!

Harvest Right Freezer Dryer - Customer Service
May 4, 2024
I purchased the medium Harvest Right Freeze Dryer from Tractor Supply in April 2023. My reason for this purchased was to not waste my plentiful garden harvest. I initially struggled to get the information I needed to fix minor issues I had in setting up and getting good results. I contacted Harvest Right initially and they helped me update my software to the current version in May 2023. Harvest Right does have a website, but it is not very user friendly. A lot of the videos I watched were for older models and not the model which I purchased. The set-up information that comes with the freezer dryer is simple, but not super helpful if you have any problems. Once I got things set up, I was able to successfully use my freeze dryer and had good results. In October 2023, I started having Additional Freeze Time Needed errors. There is no information anywhere on the Harvest Right website or anywhere else that addresses this issue. I was frustrated and didn’t get back to trying to resolve the problem until March 2024. I tried to figure it out myself and then finally contacted the company in April 2024 since it was still under warranty. I sent a couple of emails and then after a week, I received an email to verify my warranty information and then a 15-minute call was scheduled with a technician. The technician was very kind and patient with my frustration. He had me do some tests and then sent me some videos so I could try to determine where I may have small leaks that was causing the Additional Freeze Time Needed error (or vacuum error). I reviewed all these videos and then went and purchased the self-sealing silicone tape and silicone to try and fix this myself (no they don’t have anyone come out and help you – even when it is still under warranty). I then attempted to get the back panel off. Four of the screws were totally stripped and would not come off. When I called again, I was sent some additional videos on how to remove stripped screws, which were not helpful. My son, finally took a Dremel and made the hex crews, regular screws and we were able to get the back panel off. (I had to find a video online – because the one I was sent wasn’t for the model I had and the panel removal was totally different.) I was able to seal all leak points and get a good result. The technician did follow up with me until I was able to complete the needed fixes.

Excellent Customer Service
May 3, 2024

I was having problems with the freeze drier not completing its cycle. My wife and I did troubleshooting and nothing seemed to work. Then I called HarvesRight customer service.

Arlette with HarvesRight emailed me back the next day and set up a time when we could talk. She called me, as scheduled, and we reviewed the problems. Turns out it was a software problem. Arlette walked me through how to update the software. The freeze drier worked perfectly after that. She also followed up a call a couple of days later to see how everything was going.

We have run 2 full batches of fruit and it’s working perfectly. I’m very thankful for a company who stands by their product! Thanks Arlette and HarvesRight.

Transformed my Kitchen into a Food Preservation Haven!
May 3, 2024

At first glance, the freeze dry machine seemed a bit daunting, but let me assure you, it's a game-changer! The instruction guide, online YouTube tutorials, and social media support groups were a lifesaver. Once I got the hang of it, the possibilities were endless.

I can choose exactly what foods I want to preserve and at what quality level. But perhaps the best part is how it helps combat food waste. Instead of watching leftovers, fruits, and vegetables go bad before I can use them, I simply freeze dry them! It's like pressing pause on their expiration date.

Caution: this may become your new favorite passion, and before you know it, you'll be freeze drying everything from leftovers to your neighbor's surplus zucchinis. Prepare to have your every thought and moment of free time consumed by the endless possibilities of freeze drying. But fear not! Should you find yourself uncontrollably obsessed, remember there are social media support groups for this addiction. Embrace the madness and freeze on, my friends!

HR review
May 1, 2024
These machines are finicky buyer beware they take a lot of time to get running right and there is maintenance on these machine. I have had for 7 months and have not had a successful run on my second machine from the factory.

Worth it!
May 1, 2024

Freeze drying is a whole other level of…

Freeze drying is a whole other level of food storage and prep. Amazingly easy process.

Little trouble figuring out extra dry time as I am a new to it. 1 batch taught me lol

The oil in the pump was a little difficult to regulate. Pouring it in the level didn’t show until it was over full. Made a little mess over next few batches. But customer service was spot on with helping me assess and manage oil levels. Thanks Norman! I am very happy that is spent the money on this machine. Great for my homesteading needs!

Great product, easy to work with customer service
April 30, 2024

I have had my freeze drier since 10/22 and have used constantly. I have a garden and green house and have canned and froze produce for many many years.

My husband is a very successful hunter and fisherman which I also canned and froze. Now we preserve all of this with the freeze drier and it turns out great, using our imagination to create all kinds of things.

We have 7 grand kids that really enjoy all the speciall treat bags. My 11 year old grandson has even joined in the process.

Don’t know how we got along without it.

We just recently started having problems but customer service has been great to work with.. It was frustrating that I was asked for my receipt even though I had registered at time of buying. Have no idea what happened to my receipt.

Have a feeling that farm/ranch store iwe purchased it from sold us an old product.

Fun and Life changing!
April 27, 2024

Ive been running my medium pro almost non stop since ordering 7 months ago! It's a breeze to learn; very user friendly. It makes great healthy snacks for my family, and eliminated the need for us to purchase another upright freezer for food storage. I highly recommend this!

I do have one regret: that I didn't order the large for my family of 6! I can't make snacks fast enough, especially freeze dried fruit! But do keep in mind that the large machine is not only one extra tray but the trays are considerably bigger. This means things take a bit longer to prep, dry and package. So in the end, I'm content with the medium for now and will probably upgrade as my family grows. I won't hesitate to order another Harvest Right!

A few tips: prefreeze everything, it saves an incredible amount of time. (Most of my fruit/veggies/me runs take 36-40 hours) And join some harvest right groups on social media or YouTube, they're full of amazing tips and recipes.

This machine has been the best gift I ever got myself or my family. 7 months in, and I'm still having a blast! I've had zero issues with hardware or software. I did have one minor user error but YouTube helped me fix that (slow vacuum leak) in minutes and at no cost. Harvest Right is awesome!

Best Food preservation ever!!!
April 26, 2024

HR freeze dryer is the best kitchen “tool” we have ever purchased

Was packaged superbly

High quality & value. Easy to use

Best tech and support, like talking to your best friend

Harvest Right is prompt & helpful in answering questions on the phone

Fast Service when needed

Machine was easy to set up even though it is quite heavy

Is not super quiet when it runs, but we have it set up in our kitchen for convenience

Good manual, tools & supplies came with the machine

Customer service is great
April 26, 2024

You will not be disappointed in your purchase! Everything you need comes with your dryer to start you off.

My experience dealing with Quintin at Harvest Right was good as well he is always willing to help through email or by phone. They call back quickly if you end up leaving a message. The dryer is great but there are times when you have questions with a sophisticated machine like this is.

My experience dealing with Harvest Right directly was awesome! I had many questions which they answered thoroughly.

I had waited a long time before I decided to purchase a Harvest right freeze dryer. I really wish I had done it sooner. The prices I feel are fair for what a quality product this Dryer really is. The staff was helpful and my freeze dryer came on a pallet in a reasonable amount of time.

When I had questions about set up, they again were very helpful and kind. I love my Harvest Right freeze dryer. Anybody that is thinking about purchasing one I highly recommend you do it sooner than later.

Start freeze drying now. So much of the food that would spoil like fruits,eggs,buttermilk are great in the freeze dryer and you don't have to wait until later to use them because they taste great right out of the dryer. Ice cream is a house favorite as is any fruit that we have made. If you ever have left over pizza that’s great too. Cut it into small squares and they make great croutons on salad and soups. I suggest you get the biggest one you can for your space that you have the difference in price isn't that much. I really hope if you were sitting on the fence about purchasing one that this helps you make the choice to buy one.

We love our freeze dryer
April 26, 2024
We purchased our medium freeze dryer last year and have loved using it. Initially, I did have software issues, however, with the quick response from the HarvestRight technician, we update the software and it has worked very well since. Being careful to change the oil as needed and cleaning on a regular basis, I believe this machine will last a very long time. Our machine runs on a regular basis with candy and treats. Using it to have prepared meals for our hiking and camping trips this summer. It has been a joy using it, the grandkids love getting treats in the mail. Youth at church will be having a fundraiser, selling FD candies, to help our homeless community with care packages. Possibilities are endless. My only regret with my freeze dryer is that we didn't get a larger size. If you are on the fence about a purchase, I would highly recommend it.

Excellent purchase
April 25, 2024
Purchased this for food prep and of course candy for the grand baby. We are truck drivers and have been using this for our meals since we are on the road for months at a time . This has been a life saver ! Literally, no more eating out or heavy jars or cans of food . My husband and myself have both lost weight and eating better than we have in a long time . The cost upfront may seem a little scary but I promise it pays for itself in a very short amount of time you will not regret the purchase.

A must have for personal food storage
April 25, 2024
Freeze Drying allows me affordable and quality organic food all year round. It's better than a dehydrator as it doesn't destroy some nutrients from heat used in food dehydrators. And even after being stored a couple years the foods still taste fresh. I've owned my 5 tray Large unit for 2.5 years and it is still just as important to me now as it was on day 1. Maybe even more so with the way things are going lately in this crazy world. Love eating what I've freeze dried "as is" because the flavor is so intense. Or rehydrate it for meals. Great way to keep that extra produce from the garden or to store bulk meals (or leftovers) for camping or traveling. I've even made freeze dried candy, which is all the rage. Customer Service has been helpful; from replacing a damaged panel at delivery to later troubleshooting and fixing a vacuum issue. Basic enough operation for ease of use yet has options to customize your batches. I only wish it had an app to interface remotely.

Harvest Right XL pro freeze dryer
April 25, 2024
I purchased the XL pro harvest right freeze dryer during black Friday special. It included the premium pump and impulse sealer. It is the size of a washing machine! Included 7 trays. I was disappointed by the space between trays which doesn't allow room for items such as marshmallows or gummy candy ect that expands Alot when the vacuum pump kicks in so I did end up with a few big messes! It does a wonderful job with fruit, ice cream sandwiches, creamsicles, and many types of candy. It can make huge amounts in one run with 7 very large trays! My grandkids have loved everything that I have made so far and I plan on doing pudding bites, jello bites, dog and cat treats, and MREs. I have many ideas I want to try! It's a bit loud since I have it in my breakfast nook but you get used to it! Cleaning it is a bit of a pain since it's so huge but again you can get so much more in one run that it is worth it! I look forward to making lots of healthy shelf stable food and treats for many years to come to share with family and friends!

Great customer service!!
April 24, 2024
We have had our medium Harvest Right Freeze dryer since 2018 and absolutely love it! We have completed a ton of different batches utilizing different types of foods. We primarily do fruits and vegetables because they are a hit with our daughters and daycare kids that my wife watches. The parents love this because they know their children are eating healthy snacks throughout the day. Up until recently we have had no issues with our machine, but about three weeks ago we lost power in the machine. Having a background in electricity I was able to troubleshoot the issue myself. I submitted a ticket on the Harvest Right website and within about a day and a half I was contacted by a representative named Gavin Fudge. Let me just say that Gavin is the perfect definition of amazing customer service. I explained what was going on, and he worked with me to make sure I had the parts I needed right away. He literally checked in with me anytime there was an update to the shipment right until I completed the installation of the parts to make sure the machine was back up and running. Our family wants to truly thank you all for amazing machines and customer service!! We have been sharing our adventures with our friends and they have started showing an interest to the point that once we can afford it we’d like to purchase another machine to help provide them with amazing freeze dried treats!!!

Love our Harvest Right Freeze Dryer
April 23, 2024

We recently purchased the Harvest Right 5-Tray Medium Freeze Dryer, and it has exceeded our expectations. Here’s why we’re thrilled with our purchase:

Sturdiness and Commercial Style: The build quality of this freeze dryer is impressive. It feels robust and durable, which is essential for long-term use.

Quick Customer Support Resolution: We encountered a minor issue and had to contact customer support. To our delight, they promptly addressed our concern, and we were back up and running in no time.

Delicious Results: We’ve freeze-dried candy, fruit, and veggies, and everyone in our household loves the results. The flavors are preserved beautifully, and the texture remains satisfyingly crunchy.

Easy to Use: Despite its initial intimidating appearance, the freeze dryer is straightforward to operate. The process is simple, and we appreciate having countless ingredients ready to sprinkle into our homemade meals.

Nutrient Retention: Knowing that our freeze-dried foods retain their nutritional value for up to 25 years gives us peace of mind. It’s an investment in our family’s health and well-being.

Overall, we’re very happy with our Harvest Right freeze dryer. If you’re considering preserving food at home, we highly recommend this appliance

10/10 Recommend!!!
April 22, 2024
After two years of research, I was gifted a medium Harvest Right freeze dryer for Christmas from my husband. Him not knowing to check for damage and all the parts accepted it. Setting up I was missing the electric cord and vacuum pump hose. I called Harvest Right immediately and was pleasantly surprised how fast and easy they processed my request for a new electric cord and vacuum pump hose. No fuss and no hassle. Machine has functioned flawlessly since December 23’User-friendly and fun to use!