Harvest Right Freeze Dryer Reviews

Harvest Right Freeze Dryer
( 2,207 reviews )

Harvest Right Freeze Dryer Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Software issues, broken modulators, inadequate drying
March 7, 2024

So I’ve had three harvest right freeze dryers in the past year and all three have broken. The first one had a modulator problem where the machine was not adequately drying and machines two and 3months old -one two weeks old both have computer chip problems where when you hit start, the machine is not actually starting so I ended up waiting a month to get parts and service on the machines which put you out of business because you cannot create products until that’s complete. I believe harvest is over producing these machines and they’re not properly being put together which is causing a lot of issues to be had with machines and I have friends that are having the exact same problems . 

I don’t understand how this is a constant issue with every machine I get I even had to have a machine sent back and they replaced that machine under warranty but again the new machine I got is having problems with the touchscreen. Every machine I get has a problem.

Exceptional Freeze Dryer - Worth Every Penny!
March 7, 2024

I recently purchased the Large Pro Freeze Dryer from Harvest Right, and I couldn't be happier with my decision. From the moment it arrived, I was impressed with the quality of the machine and its potential to transform my food preservation process.

Despite a minor hiccup with a loose wire during shipping, which was promptly resolved with the help of their excellent customer service team, my experience with the Harvest Right Freeze Dryer has been nothing short of exceptional. The customer service team was responsive, helpful, and efficient in assisting me with the issue, ensuring that I could start using my freeze dryer without any further delay.

Since then, the machine has been working flawlessly, exceeding my expectations in terms of performance and reliability. I use it daily to preserve a variety of foods, from fruits and vegetables to meats and even complete meals. The results are consistently outstanding, with my food retaining its flavor, nutritional value, and texture even after being freeze-dried.

The Large Pro Freeze Dryer offers ample capacity, allowing me to process large batches of food at once, which is perfect for my household's needs. Its user-friendly interface and intuitive controls make operation a breeze, while the durable construction gives me confidence in its long-term durability.

Overall, I am extremely satisfied with my Harvest Right Freeze Dryer. It has revolutionized the way I approach food preservation, providing me with a convenient and efficient solution that helps me minimize food waste and enjoy fresh, flavorful meals year-round. I wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone looking for a high-quality freeze dryer that delivers exceptional results.

Easy to Use Easy to Clean
March 7, 2024
We really like our Harvest Right freeze dryer! It’s very easy to clean and use. The manual is easy to understand and complete with pictures so you know what to do each step of the process even if something goes wrong. Be sure to follow the instructions and helpful hints for the best results. I called customer service and got a real person right away. She was friendly and able to help me solve the user error quickly. The pump is much more quiet than we expected. We purchased the medium size unit. All 5 trays hold about 1 1/2 gallons of liquid which fills almost 3 Mylar bags freeze dried. The process takes 24 to 48 hours from liquid to powder. We haven’t tried pre-freezing or solid foods yet, but I’m looking forward to it!

Reliable, easy to use, not too loud
March 6, 2024

We bought our Harvest Right freeze dryer in December. It came with the machine, hoses, pump and oil, trays, impulse sealer, mylar bags, and oxygen absorbers. You will need to provide a drain bucket and purchase a good scale or some other method of determining that your food is fully dry. (The sensors get you in the dry range, but it is up to you to determine if the food is fully dry.) Set up was relatively easy for my husband to accomplish alone after the two of us got it situated in place. After the mandatory 24 hour wait to settle the refrigerant, we were off and running. The software makes it easy since everything is already set by default. Unless you are doing candy or something very specialized (like breast milk), there is no need to fuss with any settings of time or temperature. Just hit Start, follow the on screen instructions, and trust the machine's default process for your food. The process is not quick. My run times have been in the range of 24.5 - 49 hours so far.

The owner's manual does not come with the machine but is emailed to you ahead or can be downloaded from the Harvest Right website. It has all the information you need for set up and basics of running the machine, packaging of the food, maintenance, etc. Be sure to read it through several times. Customer Service is also available and I found them to be quite helpful when I contacted them. My call was answered by a person in Utah who spoke clear English and was very helpful.

I strongly recommend that you go ahead and hit the "customize" button to permanently change the default extra dry time to either 12 or 24 hours BEFORE your first run. It will not have to run that whole extra time, but it will allow you to be able to go about your schedule without worrying about what the machine is doing.

I also recommend that if you need to site your freeze-dryer in or near a room you will be in all day, that you obtain a piece of remnant carpet to place under the oil pump and some no-slip mesh intended for under throw rugs and place that under the machine itself. That will help to deaden the noise level some. With those two items in place, my machine now just sounds about like an ordinary large box fan running and does not bother me even though it is just around the corner from my desk. There will still be occasional cracking sounds from the ice, but those are normal and nothing to worry about.

The Harvest Right Freeze Dryer has been a great purchase for us. It has performed consistently well for the 3 months I have used it and I have no hesitation in recommending it to others considering a freeze dryer purchase.

Wish I Bought Sooner and Bigger, Amazing Machine
March 5, 2024
Bought a Medium Pro model, Dec 2023 after researching FDs for years. HarvestRight was the standout brand the whole time. It was a "one-day" novelty wishlist item. But after our whole family of three became pilots, we realized how hard it is to have compact, light weight, non-perishable healthy food options to-go. So I finally purchased a Freeze Dryer. I regret not purchasing MUCH sooner. Being busy and traveling, sometimes at the last minute, we were wasting a lot of purchased food. Now we can save all of that while having healthy food options without risk of spoilage on the road. Learning curve is small. YouTube / Support Groups on FB are great. It works amazingly. Customer support is great, even for random questions. Wish I bought sooner, and bigger (large and extra large require a dedicated breaker). It's addictive and healthy food options while traveling are so much better making my own meals/snacks. Asparagus or green beans (not rehydrated) dipped in guacamole (rehydrated); Keto Pumpkin Custard with blueberries or strawberries (all rehydrated) with pecans; Keto Quiche... I make it thin and it comes out like crunchy, flavorful crackers... we don't even rehydrate it. I highly recommend purchasing extra trays and getting lids. It greatly improves prep efficiency. Pre-freezing greatly reduces freeze-dry time and sometimes improves final product as well. While one batch is running, I can be preparing and freezing my next batch.

It's got a learning curve.
March 4, 2024

I am still learning about how to freeze dry and am

so grateful for all the wonderful help I get from the folks at Harvest Right. I call them directly when I

have questions that I cannot find answers to in the literature. They have my back. They are friendly, knowledgeable and patient with my questions. The Harvest Right has performed for me, the novice, with great results. I've successfully done chicken broth. Mississippi chicken, rotisserie chicken, broccoli, bananas, pineapple, a variety of berries (kinda challenging) and have had great results. Great way to preserve

things that would otherwise have gone to waste.

It is great to know I've some good food preserved for 20 plus years. This review is my honest opinion and for those willing to learn it gets addictive. Join the fun

Great quality product for the price
March 2, 2024
I just received my pro medium freeze drier… I will be setting it up this weekend. I bought extra trays and lids along with the tray gels. The service was available during my waiting period giving me links to videos and preparing me for my new adventures of freeze drying. Great customer service Alex helped me with my warranty process and helps me out with my questions. The shipping team are also great I was up to date on my delivery. I received my unit in pristine condition:) I’m very satisfied with my purchase:)

I SAVE TIME AND MONEY AND EAT HEALTHY
March 1, 2024

HARVEST RIGHT FREEZE-DRYER REVIEW

What an innovative machine that enhances and simplifies my ability to preserve food and retain its nutritional value. After the food is rehydrated--it tastes like fresh! No kidding!

With the rising price of foods and seasonal availability, I can purchase foods on sale and stock up, freeze-dry and store for later use--be it a week from now or if properly stored, 25 years from now! Wow.

As a Nutritionist, I am pleased to know with Harvest Right's unique preserving process the nutritional value is retained. It saves me both time and money--which delights me. I can quickly prepare scrambled eggs, milk, fruits, vegetables, desserts or even left-over casseroles in short order--whatever my imagination can serve up.

I can take my freeze-dried foods camping, in the car for snacks, to work and have a meal prepared in no time by rehydrating. I waste nothing now. It'll pay for itself. I love it!

The Best!
February 29, 2024
I love my Harvest Right freeze drier! Before purchasing it, I did do alot of research. I felt they had the best machine and I figured if I was going to invest that much money, I wanted the best! The freeze drier works great! I did have an issue with my touchscreen. I contacted them, they asked me to send it back in for repair. They fixed it. It took about 2 weeks. The person I was communicating with called and let me know what was happening every step of the way after I sent it in. Which I totally appreciated knowing what was happening during the repair. She was super friendly! The customer service was wonderful! It has been repaired and works great! I love my drier and you will too!

Delicious fruits and veggies
February 27, 2024

We've had our medium sized HarvestRight freeze dryer for a couple of months now. We LOVE it. Freeze dried fruits and vegetables are delicious and make wonderful snacks. We're looking forward to preserving our harvest this year. The freeze dryer comes with everything you need to freeze dry and store food for 20 years or more.

The HarvestRight customer service team and technical staff are great! Professional and knowledgeable, they are wonderful to work with for assistance with questions. There is a bit of a learning curve, but there are also ample YouTube videos and Facebook groups for tips and tricks.

When planning the location of your FD, keep in mind the sound level generated by the pump given that many loads can take 24 hours or more to process.

We believe our investment in the HarvestRight freeze dryer was an excellent one.

Disappointed
February 26, 2024
Company doesn't stand by their product in my opinion. Machine has been down more than its been up and working. I missed so many events and holidays because the machine kept breaking down. It's been a pain and I've lost a lot money overall.

Food Insurance!
February 23, 2024

We've had our medium freeze dryer for a year and have enjoyed the peace of mind that it brings regarding food security. It's also a lot of fun to experiment with "will it freeze dry". We freeze dry a mixture of meals and ingredients that are then shelf stable. Need yogurt -- just add water. Freeze dry meats (raw or cooked -- we prefer sous vide cooking approach before freeze drying). Lots of fun.

As much as we like our freeze dryer and what it allows us to do, there are sometimes issues that arise -- vacuum issues that need leaks to be sealed, door seal issues, etc. We had an electronics issue of a jittery screen that Harvest Right helped us resolve -- they were fantastic to work with in resolving the issue via phone and email support. Don't be scared of your freeze dryer -- enjoy it, demystify it, learn how it works. I look forward to Harvest Right improvements and am glad that we made the investment in ours.

want to love it, but can't
February 22, 2024

When the machine works, it's great. Love the idea of preparing/preserving nutritious food. But, it rarely works. Customer service is friendly, but difficult to get a call through, and not very helpful when you do. It really is a giant pain. An expensive, rather noisy, pain. Read fine print on warranty, it's not a good as it looks. I dread every time I get a failure notification. Fixing it involves long hold times, submitting large files, downloading and installing new software, and often disassembling a portion of the machine. And, now that I am past one year, I have to pay a fee to talk to a tech on the phone. Once it's up and running, often I get a different error code in the very next cycle. Save yourself the headache. Wait for something more reliable to hit the market, this isn't it.

great customer service
February 22, 2024
Harvest Right has the best customer service of any company that I have ever dealt with. Their representatives are pleasant and seem to genuinely want to help resolve your problem. Once my wife and I had an issue with our dryer when it stopped pulling a sufficient vacuum. Harvest Right quickly diagnosed the problem and offered to have a technician come and perform the repair on-site or provide instructions for how I could fix the issue myself. I elected to affect the repair on my own and found their directions and videos sufficient to walk me through the process. Overall we are happy with our freeze dryer and believe it is a quality product.

Harvest Right review
February 15, 2024

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

A day ago

Good Morning Harvest Right

Good morning. About 3 years ago we, my wife and I, started with a dehydrator. It was good for the time. Shortly after that purchase, watching a YouTube video on food storing, there was this video on freeze drying food and how it preserved over 95 % of its nutritional value compared to simple dehydration and the shelf life it preserved for. A short talk with my wife and the short decision that incurred, we decided to invest in a medium size, Harvest Right Freeze Drier. The food quality is so amazing, and of course there are multiple stories that surround our adventure with this, what I call, a miracle machine. We have experienced preservation in both, raw but mostly cooked foods. I even freeze-dried Jello, LOL. But no joke, eggs in both forms, meat, yogurt, soups, veggies and I can go on. I am very proud to own one of these units and I promote it to my friends and people that I meet. Thank you Harvest Right for being there.

My unit has over 8000 hours of usage and has been dependable throughout.

Loving My Freeze Dryer - Simple, Versatile, and Efficient
February 13, 2024

I love my freeze-dryer! It's straightforward to use, making the freeze-drying process straightforward and hassle-free. The intuitive design means even beginners can quickly get the hang of it, turning fresh ingredients into long-lasting, preserved foods with minimal effort.

The quality of the food preserved is fantastic - flavors remain vibrant, and textures are well-preserved, making rehydrated foods taste almost fresh. The freeze dryer handles everything from fruits and veggies to complete meals, giving me the flexibility to experiment with a wide range of foods.

What's more, the convenience it offers is unbeatable. It's changed how I prepare and store food, allowing me to easily keep a stock of diverse, ready-to-use ingredients and meals. This freeze dryer has simplified my meal prep and significantly enhanced my food storage capabilities.

In short, this freeze dryer is a game-changer in the kitchen, combining simplicity, versatility, and efficiency in one powerful package. I highly recommend it to anyone looking to step up their food preservation game.

Most fun Hobby ever!
February 13, 2024

Purchased the Small size directly from Harvest Right in Sept 2023; while waiting for delivery (a few weeks), I spent a lot of time on face book groups and watching you tube videos; and quickly realized that the Medium machine would be better; so I was able to get them to change to that before it was shipped.

It arrived the middle of October and I have loved using it. Between the actual process of getting the food ready to put in the machine, and then packaging it up when it is done; along with my extensive excel spread sheet keeping track of everything, and following 5 or 6 Facebook groups and you tube channels; I bet I spend 15 enjoyable hours a week on this newest hobby of mine. It is great fun experimenting with new ideas and being able to fully use all the produce and meat products from the farm. Also brings me joy in sharing the finished product. Beware...it takes a lot of space and planning to store the food!

Good appliance, but room for improvement towards its customers.
February 12, 2024

We have enjoyed using our HRFD, and have upgraded from the original four shelf medium to the five shelf medium insert. While this is such a great opportunity, I wish that the upgrade came with one more tray automatically, but that isn't the case. Once you have upgraded to the five tier, you then need to order, however, you can now only order the five trays package, which continues to leave you with one lacking from your initial order, if you turn your HRFD around for a "second go" immediately after emptying the first one. This is especially important when freeze drying liquids, having one in the freezer to refreeze while the FD is working on the initial load.

I would like there to be an option for either buying trays individually, or better yet, just have the upgrade come with one additional tray!! This goes for the tray covers for stacking in the freezer, again, so as to be as proficient as possible.

Please note, that what I have stated above isn't reflected in the 5 Star Review, because the HRFD works very well!

Also, the other thing I wish HR would do is offer a book for freeze-drying foods, how they should be FD, do they need blanching, what is the ideal size of the food, and estimated FD time of said food, so that those of us who want to be sure of a great outcome, can have a valuable resource at our fingertips, and not waste valuable time or resources while trying to "figure it out" on our own!

Dead on arrival
February 11, 2024
Bought a unit for Christmas this last year and it all showed up on time, but one component was faulty. The unit has the ability to store data that can be uploaded onto a thumb drive and shared with the support team at harvest right so they know how to help. After a little back and forth I have a good unit. Ran my first batch of bananas and they’re great.

Great for Homesteading/Campers/Emergencies
February 11, 2024

Hiking/camping food: Less weight to carry, and vastly cheaper than store-bought freeze-dried food, and you get custom meals versus the generic 5 types of MRE meals you will find at REI or any camping supplies store.

We grow and pick our own vegetables and fruit so if the season was good, we have plenty to put in the freeze-dryer and can enjoy it throughout the year, which lowers grocery bills. Freeze-dried food keeps most of its nutrients, canned and frozen food can lose nutrients over time. Freeze-dried food also takes up a lot less space than frozen and canned food, especially if you are storing it in bulk.

You can buy a lot of on-sale items and freeze-dry them for later, and it doesn’t just have to be fruit and vegetables either. We freeze-dry ice-cream bars, and my husband loves them. He says it takes him back to space camp eating astronaut ice-cream.

We cook all our meals from scratch, so I have a large pantry of airtight bins with uncooked diced/chopped/sliced ingredients at the ready if we don’t have fresh ones already in the fridge. My husband also doesn’t like eating leftovers, so I take the extra servings and put them in the freeze-dryer to use either for camping or in case of an emergency.

I think 2020-2022 has shown that you never want to wholly rely on the supply chain system to meet your needs in an emergency. Stores and factories can runout, close, get robbed, get destroyed or even just refuse you service. We aren’t owed or are entitled to anything in this world, and no one will look out for your best interest better than yourself. Don’t leave your and your family’s well-being up to the competency of others. A freeze-drier is a long-term investment into your future stability in an emergency.

Tips:

- I suggest putting the freeze-dryer on a cart as you will need to put a bucket under it for the drainage tube.

- I find when its on, its about as loud as a washing machine so if that level of noise bothers you have the freeze-dry in a space that can dull the noise a bit like in a mudroom or garage. You will still need to be able to hear the notification noises though, so I won’t go so far as to have it in a completely soundproof room.

- Buy oxygen absorbers and airtight containers as they make the freeze-dried food last longer.

- If you are making MREs weigh the food before it goes in the freeze-drier and after it dries (subtract the weight of the trays for both) and write those weights on the bags as that is the general amount of water, you will need to add to the MRE.

- Avoid Freeze-drying fatty and super sugary foods, they will not freeze-dry properly. They also might kind of explode a little bit during the process and its very messy. Breads also turn into stone when freeze-dried.

- Freeze-Dry like foods together, so all raw vegetables, or all fruit, or all cooked meals, or all raw meat. The smells will mix otherwise. You don’t want onion flavoring in your chocolate ice-cream.

- You don’t have to fill the tray with all the same meals, you can get silicone molds and do a bunch of single-portion meals on one tray.

- Freeze-dried vegetables and fruit even when rehydrated won’t be exactly the same as it was when it was fresh, the fruit makes for a good snack or used in baking and the vegetable should be used in cooked meals.

- Each tray for a medium drier is about 2-3 meals.

- You can make dog/cat treats, we buy the tiny salad shrimp when they are on sale and freeze-dry them for cat treats.

- Customer service for Harvest Right replied quickly and replaced parts for us at no cost. They will also email people if you want to buy refurbished models at a generous discount, so if you are looking to get more than one over time it’s a good option.

- Try to avoid unplugging and replunging in the shelf too often, the plug in the back of the shelf is a great high-end plug but it isn’t meant to be undone too often.

- Clean the inside of the machine with a microcloth, water, and distilled white vinegar. Slowly pour water in the back of the chamber to flush the drainage tube too when cleaning, as oil can get pulled out from the food and end up in there.

Trena February 13, 2024

best review ever!