Harvest Right Freeze Dryer Reviews

Harvest Right Freeze Dryer
( 1,139 reviews )

Harvest Right Freeze Dryer Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Great for preparedness. A+ customer service.
February 1, 2023

I ordered my medium Harvest Right freeze dryer in July of 2019. The primary purpose of my order was for emergency preparedness. I’ve ordered freeze dried food online but decided that I would like more variety in my freeze dried food stock and equally, I wanted to control what additives were put in the final product. The other thing I like is that I can package the finished product in the size that works best for me. For example; I can package one serving (one-half pint jar) of raw eggs rather than opening a number 10 can or a large envelope and having to repackage it or having eggs every day for a month fearing they will go bad. I just finished freeze drying twelve dozen (144) raw eggs. Depending on the item and proper unrefrigerated storage I expect the shelf life of a product to be 15 to 30 years.

Fast forward to January, 2023. I started having problems with the heating portion of the process. I contacted Customer Service on January 30th. I received an email response from customer service the same day! Not only did it acknowledge my inquiry but it contained attachments to update my software along with instructions about how to do it. I was amazed at the prompt response. The initial contact, lead me through several steps to test my system. After determining that the problem could not be fixed through basic steps the initial contact put me in touch with technical support. Technical support contacted me within 24 hours of my referral to them. Again, I was amazed at the prompt response. Technical Support was very courteous and very helpful. I give Customer Service and Technical Support an A+.

I recommend anyone with a freeze dryer, checkout the videos on YouTube to get ideas of what items can be freeze dried. Items with high sugar or lots of fat can be a problem. As with all the videos on the internet check out more than one video/source per subject.

Best way to preserve food!!
February 1, 2023
Once you get going, it’s easy to use. It’s fun to try new things, but also awesome to not have to can!!! instead of 6-10 quart jars of tomatoes, I have 1 quart jar that I can use. plus, we’ve used the freeze dried candy as party favors and gifts. everyone loves it. Herbs are amazing freeze dried, also. I’ve done green beans, celery, fruits, and herbs. looking forward to doing more!

Great product and Customer Service
February 1, 2023
I bought my unit (medium Freeze Dryer) in December 2022. I had an issue (would not move past freeze cycle) with a couple of batches in a row. So I reached out to Harvest Right Customer Service. They quickly elevated it to their tier two technician. Over the course of a week, the tech (Maria Nunez) patiently worked me through the diagnostic process. Long story short….it was operator error (I did not get the drain valve closed enough to seal). She had me run a couple of test cycles (one without trays or food, and one with just water in the trays) after she identified the likely cause……just to make sure. She also taught me how to interpret the .CSV log files, so I could monitor the units performance. I could not be more satisfied!

Making MORE room for Food Storage
February 1, 2023
I just cleaned out my food storage room of 365 bottles of old fruit. having this freeze dryer will allow me to replace all that old food with amazing dehydrated food that will last 20 to 25 years. We have had our freeze dryer not quite one year and have already used it almost 24/7 would have more stored except my husband keeps eating it all. Never had a problem with customer service and have always gotten things fixed or replaced or my questions answered in a timely manner.

Great when it works right.
February 1, 2023
Not for the faint of heart, When you have problems with the machine, you are the one who will have to fix it, Harvest right also changed the vacuum standard from 500 to 800 Mtorrs so your machine won't give you error messages, problem is now it takes longer for food to finish.

BEST purchase EVER!!
February 1, 2023
BEST purchase EVER!! Our purchase was smooth, shipping was quicker than anticipated, and I so love my Harvest Right Freeze Dryer. The quality is Great! Simple and Easy to use, and I very much love the fact that I'm going to save tons of money in the future preserving food now. So much easier than Canning!

Great quality service
February 1, 2023
I purchased the Harvest Right medium freeze dryer and startup kit. Set it up and had vacuum problems, called customer service and they solved the problem immediately!! Great customer service!!

Great way to preserve food
February 1, 2023
I bought a large HR freeze dryer 5 months ago, and have had it running almost every day. I have been making soups and I like the convenience of having quick meals. We haven’t had any problems with it and it’s very simple to use. It’s the perfect way to preserve my garden harvest. I would highly recommend it!

aesome but may require elbow grease to get running properly
February 1, 2023

The customer service was helpful and helped me resolve my issue with the unit I ordered not holding vacuum upon arrival that part was nice and now that the unit is working its pretty straightforward but I don't think I should have had to open the thing up and reseal everything in order to get it to work ... I have tools and I can work on things so the fixes weren't too crazy but I do not think a brand new unit should require any work or new parts if I got a computer and it didn't start and a company told me some of the cpus aren't set properly and asked me to open it up and remove the cpu apply better thermal paste and reinstall the cpu properly sure I could do it but I don't think it's anything I should be doing with a new product or if I got a new car and it leaked oil amd the car company told you to get a better drain valve bolt and gasket drain the oil install the bolt and 1 dollar more gasket sure it's not a huge deal but should that be put on you when you buy a new car instead of the manufacturer? Neither of those are perfect comparisons but I think pretty close it's all minor stuff that shouldn't be an issue when you spend that k8nd of money

The unit is nice now that it works and I am happy with the purchase and I do plan on getting a bigger one eventually but you shouldn't have to open up and re do new things they should work out of the box I will say the customer service is good though and they do help solving the issue for sure and once its actually working the unit is awesome

i would recommend this for anyone who wants to save good food for a rainy day without refrigeration
February 1, 2023
machine is an easy setup, i am happy with the food that i have done . taste is excellent , should have bought one sooner

Easy, patient, knowledgeable, great to work with!
February 1, 2023

Oh my gosh I am so excited!!! I contacted Harvest Right with an issue regarding my freeze dryer and the candy mode. They were very fast to answer the call and made me an appointment with a tech the very same day. The time came and the tech called me. He walked me through down loading the new software, he stayed on the phone with me waiting the 15 minutes for the chamber to cool down and waited for the candy mode to start. S. Hooper was a complete Rock STAR!! He was very kind and patient! Thank you Harvest Right and Mr. Hooper!

I love this company even more!!

Works Great
February 1, 2023
I was in dire need of a freeze dryer mine just went out and my parents wanted some freeze dried goods. so I was on a time crunch, I called Harvest Right and spoke to a great customer sales rep. Parker Kimble explained to me that harvest right has one of the best Freeze dryers on the market right now. after speaking with this guy and learning more about this freeze dryer I decided to go with Harvest Right and it's been the best decision I've ever made 100% would recommend.

Good machine, great customer service
January 31, 2023
My freeze dryer has been working great for about six months now. We have done all kinds of food in it and enjoyed it. The machine seems well built and of good quality. I have only had one problem with the machine, but after calling Harvest Right, they were able to solve the problem with me over the phone. Grace at Harvest Right was very kind and patient as she helped me through resolving the problem. She even called back two days later to make sure that my problem was completely resolved! The customer service is great.

That I can get help when I need it.
January 31, 2023
Customer service was prompt in responding to any troubles I ran into. It was all done via phone and they checked the following day to make sure I was satisfied with the outcome.

Been a great investment for our family!
January 31, 2023
This Machine has been a blessing to me. I have had it for 2.5 years but only using it the last 3 months. It has given me the ability to take advantage of sales and purchase large amounts of foods to be able to enjoy without the foods spoiling. I love to freeze dry ginger and put in my teas. I usually just eat the fruits and veggies freeze dried especially beets, they are delicious! Well worth the money spent. Would recommend.

Temp sensing
January 31, 2023
Had a temperature sensing issue on a Saturday. They sceduled a tech to call me back as soon as Monday. The issue had solved itself by going through a cycle but the tech gave me some tips to keep it from happening again. Very helpful.

Greatly Improved
January 31, 2023
Harvest Right has come a long way in improving customer service. In addressing my latest issues (bad USB Board and Touchscreen and a temp sensor) I found them to be very prompt and responsive in helping me troubleshoot and in getting the parts to me. I have two medium freeze dryers and both are working great now. Madysen was great.

Frustrating but cool!
January 31, 2023
We bought a large-sized freeze dryer and it arrived earlier than expected. We did have to meet the semi-truck in town and haul it to our home ourselves but the driver was amazingly kind and helpful. Unfortunately, we got off to a rather frustrating start when it initially wouldn’t achieve low enough vacuum pressure during the test phase. "Most" of the Harvest Right reps who helped us were very kind and helpful. After weeks of trial and error, testing, and waiting for new parts, we got everything resolved and working as it should. For the thousands of dollars spent, it should work out of the box and we should NOT have to fix the unit ourselves. It worked well for a couple of months then we ran into another snag. The screen was blank white with a Harvest Right logo - dead and unresponsive. After 3 rounds of unnecessary testing with the first-line support folks (including 'massaging the screen' and then removing the covers to loosen the screws of the touchscreen), we found out it merely needed a 1-minute software update that fixed the problem. That should have been the first suggestion. Fingers crossed it will be smooth sailing from here on out because it's really cool!

Love this machine!!!
January 31, 2023

I purchased the Large Harvest Right less than a month ago . I love everything I have freeze dried so far. Hamburgers were amazing !!The machine is very easy to use , trays are easy to clean . Machine is relatively quiet, I have it in my dinning room on a rolling metal cart and is not bothersome at all .

Customer service was very prompt and fixed my issue immediately. Looking forward to harvesting & freezing my garden this year!

Great Investment
January 31, 2023
After debating for a very long time and with the price of food increasing I decided to bite the bullet and get one. I figure it will more than pay for itself after pricing the store bought freeze dried food. I am just getting started in my journey and have loved it so far. I had to call customer service for help with a firmware update and they were awesome. I'm so excited to try so many new things. Thank You Harvest Right.