Harvest Right Freeze Dryer Reviews

Harvest Right Freeze Dryer
( 1,139 reviews )

The Harvest Right Freeze Dryer is an in home kitchen appliance which promises users the convenience of commercial quality freeze drying in their own home.

How Does It Work?

According to their website, Harvest Right is the only company which has built an In Home Freeze Dryer that is truly small enough in size to comfortably fit in your home while still being powerful enough to freeze dry all the foods you may want it to. 

Their products are very simple to use as well. Customers can place fresh or cooked foods into the dryer where they will be frozen to -40 degrees Fahrenheit or colder.

After the food is frozen, the freeze dryer creates a powerful vacuum around the food, and as the food slightly warms up, the ice will turn into vapor and evaporate. 

Customers can then store their foods in Mylar bags, mason jars, or cans along with an oxygen absorber to ensure freshness until you decide to open it.

Their website says that their foods and meals can be rehydrated in just a few minutes, and fully restored to their original textures and tastes. Their website provides a full guide for rehydration of Meats, Vegetables, and even Fully Meals.

Cost & Price Plans

As a large scale kitchen appliance, freeze dryers are not necessarily inexpensive. In fact, their website shows prices which currently range from around $2,600 to around $4,100, though prices may vary.

In addition, there will be shipping charges assessed for this product, and as it is complicated and these products are very heavy, these charges are often expensive as well.

Refund Policy

Their website says that in home freeze dryers can be returned within the first 90 days as long as they have not been used, though the website is unclear whether this 90 day period begins on the date of purchase or on the date of delivery. 

Regardless, the website says that customers will not be charged any restocking fees for returning their products, however they will be completely responsible for all shipping fees, both the original fees and the return shipping fees.

Harvest Right will issue your refund after the freeze dryer has been accepted and inspected. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact Customer Service with any questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by phone at 800-865-5584 or by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link.  

Reputation

It is not surprising that there are not many reviews for this product at this time, as there likely isn’t an incredibly huge market for in home freeze dryers at all times.

However, as far as the few reviews which are available are concerned, they all seem generally very positive about the quality of service this appliance provides.  

Competitors and Alternatives?

As mentioned above, Harvest Right claims to be the only company at this time that provides commercial quality freeze dryer in an in home appliance.

If you have any experience with the Harvest Right Freeze Dryer, please leave your reviews below.

Harvest Right Freeze Dryer Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Regretted Waiting So Long
February 7, 2023
We debated for almost a year, trying to decide whether or not we should purchase a freeze dryer to prepare our favorite essential foods for long-term storage, or to continue with our plan of canned and frozen foods. By the time we finally did commit to freeze drying, we had conducted extensive research and settled on the HarvestRight freeze dryer for its reputation of quality, robust design, reliability, price and customer service. The display screen and user interface is straight forward, almost intuitive and leads the user through the preparation of each batch. This is not a simple microwave however, and you must be prepared to read and follow instructions. With that said, he design of the machine is very well thought out for efficiency and economy. Continuous product improvement is alive and well at HarvestRight. We have received and effortlessly installed at least three software upgrades which have improved the operating performance of the machine. Needless to say, we have NOT been disappointed with our HarvesRight purchase a little over a year ago. The ease of setting up the freeze dryer for each batch, using and maintaining the HarvestRight has only been surpassed by the results. We have continuously sampled the many different meats, vegetables, fruits, eggs, and other items as we freeze dried them, and have been pleasantly surprised by the quality and taste. Our only regrets were that we had wasted a year of valuable time not having a HarvestRight freeze dryer, and getting prepared for what are certain to be leaner times ahead.

Good machine, bad customer support
February 7, 2023
This machine has been working good for us so far. The unit comes with an impulse sealer. The one we received didn't work. I reached out to customer support and they sent out a new one right away. We received the new one and it worked as it should. Then we got a bill from FedEx for the shipping. Thinking Harvest Right would cover the cost due to their bad unit, I called in and asked for a refund. They were unwilling to refund us and instead offered to pay us for reviewing their machine.

The taste is better more favorful than the original even 20 years laster
February 6, 2023
we have had our Freeze Dryer (Medium size) for almost 6 years and loved it so much we just purchased a large size and gave our medium to our daughter. it is a great high quality system and now our whole family is enjoying the art of freeze drying. your the best

Worth the money
February 5, 2023
I save money on by freeze drying my leftovers. I make my own lightweight weight nutritious meals for hiking and camping.

Worth every penny.
February 5, 2023
I love my freeze drier. I have never been more excited about food storage than after getting my freeze drier. It does a good amount of food per run, and is a lot quiter than I thought it would be. I hardly notice it is running. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking at adding to their food storage or wanting to become more self reliant.

One year later
February 5, 2023
I’ve been using my medium HR freeze dryer 2+ times/week since fall of ’21. In that time, it required warranty work and a couple of general tech assists. While these situations are bothersome, HR customer service made it bearable. Otherwise, it just cranks out a wonderful reserve of food for a rainy day. There are also fantastic online support groups to fast forward the learning curve. Good luck. KP

Very Professional Company
February 5, 2023
This company has very knowledge and professional employees. They never have failed to come thru. Harvest Right products are very reliable and easy to operate. I recommended them highly. The freezed dried food is good to.

What a valuable resource!
February 5, 2023

We were hesitant to buy a freeze dryer, but have found it to be useful and fun. We have freeze dried fruit from our peach, pear, apricot and apple tree. Raspberries, bananas, and pears are like eating candy. We dried leftover chili from a large function. Sliced strips of home-cooked seasoned chicken when on sale have added to its longevity of storage. Powdered eggs, rhubarb, potatoes, corn, and peas have added to our supply when in season. We have even freeze dried candy and ice cream sandwiches.

We were missing the oil filter pitcher and received one immediately when we called.

Great Service Experience
February 5, 2023
When I first got my HR Freeze Dryer it had a couple of bugs that needed attention for it to work properly. When I called HR their team was GREAT! The tech was friendly and knew his business. He diagnosed the problem right away, explained clearly what to do and my machine is running great. I have been very impressed with the people HR has working to help us enjoy this amazing machine. It's refreshing to deal with a company that focuses on service. That is unusual this day in age.

It really works. Very pleased.
February 5, 2023
Works perfectly. Had a little difficulty with the setup but the technical support (thanks David!) was there when I needed it. Apparently you're not supposed to load the tray array in upside down! I've run it several times and have no complaints. Worth every penny.

You all are doing it right
February 5, 2023
Harvestright freezer is a darn good product. Been working the devil out of it 24/7 since I bought it two weeks ago. Preparing meals is easy and doesn't take any time at all. The machine will pay for itself in no time. I only wish I had found out about the harvestright freezer dryer sooner. Costumer service is top notch and we're super in answering all my questions. What a great buying experience, Thanks

1 year review
February 4, 2023
1 year ago my wife and I purchased the medium size F/D and couldn’t be happier. So much better than canning or dehydrating. Food tastes better and retains almost 100% of nutritional value…..and fun!!! Now I just need to expand my food pantry storage space

We love our freeze dryer
February 4, 2023
We love our freeze dryer! Started having issues with an “insufficient vacuum” during batches, so we contacted Harvest Right and they were so friendly, professional, and super helpful to fix the problem quickly and get us back up & running!

Easy to Use, Operate & Maintain!
February 4, 2023
Easy to operate, clean and maintain, it's a great way to lock in current food prices as they are only going up, up, up! Best of all, food you freeze dry and store properly will have a shelf life of up to 25 years! Great for camping, hiking, emergency preparations, you'll find plenty of ways to use the products you create. Well worth the investment, I'm emptying my chest freezer and freeze drying everything so I can unplug the chest freezer and save on power bills!

Great Investment
February 4, 2023
I have a Harvest Right freeze dryer, and I gotta say, it’s a game changer for food storage. I am very glad we purchased this machine. Do not be intimidated by the process! There is an entire community of people to help answer any questions you have, and if you can or dehydrate food, stop and watch any video on YouTube. I’m more intimidated by my pressure cooker, and the shelf life and taste of food is superior when freeze dried. Great investment if you buy food in bulk.

Awesome
February 4, 2023
Awesome product with amazing customer service

Incredible technology!
February 4, 2023
We love our Harvest Right freeze dryer! It still boggles my mind that you can freeze dry food and eat it 10 or 15 years later. The machine requires that you really understand it and there is a degree of maintenance, but after you do your due diligence and understand the machine it's pretty easy to manage. Support is incredible, I usually can get someone on the phone in under 3 minutes. Our machine originally had an issue and they did everything to make it right- great company. We love our machine and plan on using it for many many years.

Great Service! Thanks JC!
February 4, 2023
Outstanding product and superb customer service! It has been years since i could call in with questions and requests and not spend hours getting bounced around. It's great to deal with a company that puts this kind of effort in their product line. I hope to have many more years and purchases ahead of me!

I love my freeze dryer…
February 4, 2023

I love my freeze dryer but I’ve had some mechanical issues with it and the vacuum pump.

1) Dryer door didn’t sit flush to the machine. Customer service was great and created a video specific to our issue.

5 stars for excellent customer service.

2) The vacuum pump repeatedly had a difficult time maintaining 500Tor. It was a repeated issue which ultimately ended in its demise. Vacuum pumps only have a 6 mo. warranty. I had only used the set for a year. Customer service did what they could but finally determined that we had a defective unit. They said it should have lasted 3 years.

4.5 stars for excellent service but available service hours weren’t the most convenient

2 stars for defective product

1 star for only having a brief warranty period.

All in all, it’s a fabulous product and I would buy a new model if I could.

I love my Harvest Right Freeze Dryer!
February 4, 2023
I have had my unit for over a month now it gets used almost every night. I can't wait until garden harvests start coming in! That is when it will really pay for itself. It is so nice to have things like onions, garlic, tomato powder, eggs, sour cream, salsa, spaghetti sauce, ginger and much, much more freeze dried and on the shelves. I'm tired of things going bad before I can get to them. Now I just grab a jar of freeze dried salsa, for example, pour a bit in a cup, add some water and in a few minutes I have perfect salsa. I never have to worry about waste or not having any when I want it. I have a neighbor with chickens and I have freeze dried lots of eggs on the cheap. The price of eggs is outrageous right now (Feb 2023) but I have dozens to use until the price comes down. I have freeze dried several Costco rotisserie chickens and they are awesome as well. It is really nice to have a growing pantry of freeze dried items to use on a daily basis. I have had a couple of issues, one with the freeze dryer and one with the vacuum sealer, but both were quickly and very satisfactorily fixed for me. I highly recommend a Harvest Right freeze dryer. I know they are expensive and probably should not be purchased for casual use. But if you have a garden, care about waste or food storage and are willing to do the work required to freeze dry then they are awesome! Check YouTube for critical reviews, help, answers, ideas and more on freeze drying. There is a great community there.