Firstleaf Wine Club Reviews

Firstleaf Wine Club
( 66  Reviews )



Write a Review

About Firstleaf Wine Club

The Firstleaf Wine Club, found online at Firstleaf.club, is a new wine club which describes themselves as “the first fully personalized and customizable wine club” at work in the US today. 

How Does It Work?

According to their website, the goal of Firstleaf Wine Club is to be a “revolutionary” new way to enjoy wine. Instead of other wine clubs which rely on wine experts to choose your wine for you each and every month, Firstleaf says they only need one expert to choose your wine each month, and that’s you.

Customers who sign up will get to choose whether they prefer a monthly shipment of red or white wine, or a mix of the two, and whether they prefer domestic or international wine, or a mix of the two. Once you’ve signed up and receive your first shipment, that’s when your membership truly begins. 

Each time you receive a shipment, you will provide the company with feedback on what you liked or didn’t like about each bottle of wine, so each and every month they will be able to send you a selection of wines that are better and better suited to your tastes. 

In addition, customers will be able to see all the selections they have coming up for the next month and choose to swap those wines out for different wines if they choose, and they have complete control over the shipment schedule as well, with the ability to pause or skip a month at any time.

Cost/Price Plans

It seems as though every member will start off with a single shipment of three bottles priced at $19.95. These are the three bottles the company uses to get your feedback on the types and tastes of wines you like and don’t like, before they proceed with your regular membership order of two, three, or six bottles per month. 

The website says that because they have “cut out the middleman” and partner directly with wine producers to save their customers up to 60% off the retail price of each bottle. Each half case of wine you order will be priced at a flat rate of $79.00, and the smallest retail discount you will ever receive will be 25% off a bottle. 

Refund Policy

In fact, Firstleaf Wine Club does provide their customers with a Refund Policy, which is actually very unusual for a wine club. Of course if a bottle arrives at your house broken or damaged, customers should contact Customer Service right away so they can address the problem as soon as possible. 

However, this company goes a step further and says that they want their customers to be 100% satisfied, and so a customer who isn’t satisfied with a bottle of wine they have received from Firstleaf should contact their Customer Service team to discuss a potential refund or replacement.  

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who wish to contact their Customer Service team with any questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by phone at 800-461-7203 or by email at [email protected]   

Reputation

Unfortunately this company appears to still be very new because there simply are not very many reviews of this service at all, either from customers or from other wine based services, websites, and blogs.

That being said, this company is making some amazing promises that are almost too good to pass up. The ability to get monthly selections based specifically on your tastes and feedback, the ability to return bottles you are dissatisfied with, and the promise of a minimum discount of 25% off retail price with the ability to pause or cancel your service at any time seems to add up to a company that customers should be willing to try for themselves.      

Competitors and Alternatives?

Certainly there are many other wine clubs in operation in the United States, including American Cellars Wine Club, Vinesse Wine Club, TastingRoom.com, ClubW.com, and many others. 

If you have any experience with this company or their products, please leave your Firstleaf Wine Club reviews below.

66 ‘Firstleaf Wine Club’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

Frauds. Scammers.

January 11, 2021

This company reinstated my account after I canceled it to squeeze more money from me, hoping I wouldn’t catch them. I woke up to a $70 charge on my credit card this morning, which I had no knowledge of.

When I went onto the site, I found that they had reinstated my account without notifying me. When I tried to take my credit card off of the account information on the website, I was blocked. When I spoke to a customer service rep, “Samantha,” she said it was “too late” and they were already shipping the order.

Which is bogus because they initially told me that there were two days left until the shipping process began. I had to lock my credit card, notify my credit card company and get a new credit card.

Stay away. They’re frauds and they will scam you.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Don't be fooled!

December 29, 2020

First of all, there are no such vineyards as these bottles specify. I found several of the vineyards under fictitious business'. Basically, these are private label wines. It's probably the same wine/variety being bottled and getting a different label/vineyard slapped on.

I tried various varieties and they much pretty much tasted the same, there was nothing to distinguish the wines from each other

For example, google 'two rabbit imports' and you'll see it's a fictitious business for firstleaf, hence, firstleaf is pretty much the producer and bottling, perhaps the same variety of wine under various vineyard names/labels.

Look up bronco wines to get an idea. At least fred and joe franzia are honest that they are producing several wines under various names/vineyards that are non existent and know that a good wine shouldn't cost anymore than $15/20 the most.

It seems that these Napa, Paso Robles and Sonoma growers are pretty much money hungry people taking advantage of poor immigrants for pennies by the hour while they're charging stupid people, whether you're rich or poor, an obscene amount for wine that is sub par and taking advantage of the region and if you ask me, old world taste so much better.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Confirmation of 2 shipments 1 membership and 1 online store

December 13, 2020

I frequently order an extra shipment in addition to membership shipment. I ordered the extra shipment thru the online store. This month I ordered an extra shipment and I have not received confirmation. I placed the order by your deadline of Dec 14 in order to receive by holidays. I respect that this is a trying time. I would just like confirmation that my wine will be here before holidays.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Scam

December 10, 2020

I signed up for a trial run. My family didn't care much for the wine so I cancelled the service on November 30th. They charged my credit card for $94.19 on December 7th and shipped wine. I emailed them and they said to refuse the shipment and they would refund me the money but charge me a $20 restocking fee. A restocking fee for something I did not order? Seems to be a common theme of Firstleaf.

January 10, 2021

Scam
This exchange says it all:

Sent: Saturday, January 09, 2021 at 6:07 PM
From: "Firstleaf"
To: "Robert KENNY"
Subject: Re: Five9 Call
You shipped on January fifth, two days after I canceled. It was not in-transit. I see the host of complaints on Reviewopedia for this scam. The package is being rejected because it was delivered unannounced and unsigned for. As soon as I figure out what agency governs your conduct I will complain. And,you can count on a dispute with my credit card company.

##- Please type your reply above this line -##

Gabbie L. (Firstleaf)

Jan 9, 2021, 6:07 PM EST

Hi Robert,

I spoke with you on Thursday regarding your order in transit. At this time, I am seeing that this package was accepted and delivered. Unfortunately, I am unable to process a full refund as our members are unable to return any packages. However, I've processed a $30 refund so you can enjoy this at a discount rate. Please allow 5-7 business days for this to reflect on your statement. You can review more about our return policy by clicking here.

Please let me know if you have any other questions or concerns!
Best,

Gabbie
Member Experience Specialist

Gabbie L. (Firstleaf)

Jan 7, 2021, 10:55 AM EST

Ticket created from call

This email is a service from Firstleaf. Delivered by Zendesk
[WVE96Y-43DD]

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Worst!

December 3, 2020

WORST WINE CLUB! Worst customer service. I ordered on 11/29 and told wine would be delivered on 12/1. It never came and tracking shows FedEx hasn’t received my box.

On 12/3, I was actually told my wine would be delivered on 12/1! So, I guess they’ve developed a time machine. The rep couldn’t tell me where my order was or if/when I would receive it. His only solution was to cancel my order and membership. Fine with me.

But, seriously, that’s not good or appropriate customer service and satisfaction at all. Good riddance.

P.S. If you’re looking at reviews of this company, look closely and look at a lot of different ones. There are many “review sites” that give it good reviews. And, I’m sure some of them are receiving compensation. But, it sure makes me wonder if the company itself created some of these sites. Because if you dig deeper and look for real reviews, you’ll find a lot of unhappy customers.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Forced Shipment

September 24, 2020

I ordered 1 shipment not realizing I was "joining" a wine club. The wine was mediocre, but worth a shot for the money. Not worth their regular prices. The next month I receive an email alerting me of another pending shipment. I immediately responded that I had no desire for another shipment and they confirmed it was cancelled.

I went to their website to delete my credit card. Guess what? No can do. No worries, if they alert me of another pending shipment I'll decline. Guess what? Next email was informing me the wine was shipped! I again email back. STOP!! Ok. Alcohol deliveries in CA have to be accepted by an adult upon delivery. I just won't accept delivery.

Guess what? A box shows up outside my door unannounced. There's more to the story but I won't bore you. Lesson learned: Any company that holds your credit card hostage can not be trusted. No phone number on the web site, ditto.

View all 2 Comments
October 06, 2020

Hi Steve, so sorry for the confusion! Memberships must be canceled on your account, not through email. We're happy to walk you through the process and take a look at past orders for you! Our phone number is 1(800)461-7203. We'll be able to remove your card information as well.

October 06, 2020

Hi Steve, apologies for the confusion. Memberships must be canceled through your account, you cannot cancel by email. We're happy to walk you through the process and remove any payment information for you. Please call 1(800)461-7203.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

mr.terry

September 5, 2020

i ordered, and on the date of delivery, it did not arrive.please send the wine.,thank you

September 09, 2020

Hi Mr. Terry, please reach out to 1(800)461-7203 and we'll be happy to look into the order for you!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Firstleaf came through

June 3, 2020

I got my 6 bottles within a week, before covid hit. I loved 5 out of the 6 wines. The 6th was ok., but not terrible. Prices I thought were reasonable. I’m a slow wine drinker, so I was able to get my next shipment 4 months later. No problems at all. Very happy.

View all 2 Comments

Hi Brenda! We're so glad you enjoyed your first introductory order. The good news is when you rate a wine that you’ve tried, we’ll be able to use that information to determine the kinds of wines you like and filter through our inventory and curate a box specific to you. It gets better with every box!

July 08, 2020

Rating the wines does seem to help in getting more of what you like to have in the next order.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Customer Service is the worst

May 25, 2020

This echoes what many others have said, and it's comforting to hear I'm not alone. After receiving my first order, I canceled my subscription. The wines were okay, but I prefer sweets, and they didn't seem to have a lot so I wasn't interested in continuing.

A couple of weeks later I received an email that my next order was almost ready to be shipped. I quickly tried to cancel online but received an error message. I tried calling, only to get an automated message telling me to email them instead. They said I would receive a response to my email between 3-5 days, but I just received a response after 2 weeks of trying again and again to reach them. The wines were shipped to me during this time, and I had to refuse them at the door.

They have now said I will be refunded, but I'm going to be very upset if I am changed a restocking fee. I do NOT recommend this subscription!

View all 2 Comments

Apologies for the inconvenience! Our customer support team is experiencing higher than normal volume of emails/phone calls and are answering all requests in the order they were received. We make sure to send an email notification 9 days ahead of time, this way you can cancel or modify your order through your account before it processes and ships. Happy to hear our customer support team has resolved this refund for you!

July 08, 2020

Emails have not been answered and you can NEVER get anyone to talk with you. I enjoy the wines and the process, but customer service needs some tuning up.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

WORST WINE SUBSCRIPTION

May 18, 2020

First leaf is the WORST company, customer service is a joke. They set up a customer service line but NO ONE is ever there to pick up. Tried calling them many times at diff hours and almost every day within 2 weeks. I set my wine subscription for every 3 months, but they still shipped new order next month and charged me continuously. Can't even delete my credit card! Had to call the Bank to block them. Beware.

We deeply apologize for this. Our customer support team is experiencing higher than normal volume of emails and are answering all requests in the order they were received. Our phone does have a callback option for those who do not want to wait for our Member Experience team to be available. If you also left an email, a member of our MX team will be in touch with you very shortly to provide further assistance. We appreciate your patience with us!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Dishonest

May 4, 2020

Problem 1: Singing up for one shipment forces you on a monthly membership 2. The site makes it difficult to get out of it. 3. My first shipment was cancelled without my consent and no money refunded. 4. When I asked for a refund, they refused. Any business based on trickery is guarantee to fail.

View all 2 Comments

Hi Lee, we are a wine club, so you are signing up to be part of a club, which is clearly stated during the sign-up process. We let you control how frequently orders come to you and you can get them automatically every 1, 2, or 3 months depending on your preferences. If that's still too frequently, we always let you set the next delivery date in your account and you can keep pushing it out until you're ready for more wine! This information can also be found on our site at https://help.firstleaf.club/hc/en-us/articles/115000861707-General-Club-Information.

If you didn't get your introductory order or a refund, please reach out to [email protected] about this and they are more than happy to look into this as soon as they are able to get to your request!

May 18, 2020

Hi this customer is pretty on point. I am experiencing the same thing as Lee, and the frequency subcription order is not working.

I set up 3 months out but the order came early (in less than one month) which is why I tried reaching your customer service line and email for 2 weeks, but NO ONE responded.

Please reevaluate your customer service first and face your customer real-time, instead of hiding behind the scene answering comments when you already taken our money. this is unacceptable!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Bad bottle of wine and no response to email

May 4, 2020

First, I did get the wine in a timely manner and in great condition. However, I made the mistake of ordering more wine before I tried it. The first bottle had turned. The color was off and tasted like vinegar. I opened a second bottle and similarly to another review tasted cheap and definitely not a $30 bottle of wine. I did send two emails and did not receive a response or a credit for the bottle that had turned. 16 more bottles to try, so I went ahead and cancelled my membership. It’s too bad, because in theory it’s a great idea.

Hi Nancy, apologies for the inconvenience!

We're working to answer all of our members' concerns as quickly as possible but are experiencing a high volume in requests given recent events and may take longer than usual to respond.

We offer our 100% satisfaction guarantee because we know we can’t hit the mark with every wine, but we firmly believe you shouldn’t have to pay for something you don’t like. Please reach out to [email protected] again if you have not received a response yet and they will credit you for any disliked wines as soon as they get to your request.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Still hasn’t arrived...and tracking numbers don’t work

April 20, 2020

****Update. I received my wine on April 22nd. Really beautiful packaging and nice bottles. I will say one of my wines was duplicated in the box instead of receiving six different bottles. I’m looking forward to giving them a try! ***

I purchased my first set with them on April 9th. Online (hadn’t received shipping confirmation via email by then) it said it shipped out on April 13th and would arrive on April 15th. Needless to say, it didn’t arrive. I called, no one answered. I left a voicemail, no one called me back. I emailed, no one responded. Just yesterday, April 18th, I received an email saying “Your Firstleaf Wine Order Has Shipped” with a scheduled delivery date of.....April 15th. ???? I’m beyond frustrated and am beginning to think this is absolutely some scam company. When I try to track the package via the tracking numbers they provided, it says there is no package with that number. Beware. We’ll see if it ever shows up....

Hi Claire! Apologies for the frustration and the delayed response! Our warehouses are working on fulfilling orders ASAP but are experiencing delays in light of recent events and high volume. Our carriers are also doing their best to stay on schedule with the shipments they receive. This high volume has unfortunately delayed our response time to requests. I can confirm we are reaching out to everyone ASAP and requests will be fully handled once we get to them. I'm happy to hear you received your wines! A duplicate bottle is not the experience we want you to have, please reach out to [email protected] and they will credit you for this as soon as they get to your request. Also, as a reminder, if you ever dislike a bottle, feel free to reach out and we will credit you for this as well! 

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Still waiting for my first order

April 12, 2020

I know they are at peak capacity however I got an email that said it was processing April 7th and expect delivery April 8th but never updated with tracking information. Finally on Friday April 10th there was a change on the website--and it no longer how to shipping date at all. There is no tracking information and now there's a link if I want to cancel the order. I know this is a difficult time but I even emailed customer service to see if they're canceling my order and just didn't tell me or if they have plans to actually ship it. Still haven't received any information. I even ordered an easier set so that they wouldn't have to select them and take more time--these were pre-select bottles not based on my preferences. Just some information would be better than nothing!!

April 14, 2020

Hi Nicole! Apologies, we are experiencing some delays in light of recent events. The cancel your order button is a new feature. We are still shipping although there have been delays. We're trying to get to every request as soon as possible, someone from our customer service team will be emailing you shortly, thank you for your patience!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

CAUTION

March 30, 2020

They refuse to respond to my many attempts to reach out to someone in regards to my order and/or possible reimbursement. I think it is egregious what they are doing, especially during this difficult time for everyone.

Hi Jeni! Apologies for the late reply, we are experiencing some delays in light of recent events. I can confirm we have sent you an email about this canceled and refunded order! Stay Safe!

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review