Firstleaf Wine Club Reviews

Firstleaf Wine Club
( 66  Reviews )



Write a Review
66 ‘Firstleaf Wine Club’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

i think these wines are cheap wines that they write bogus reviews for

November 28, 2017

BUYER BEWARE!!!

I fell for the 3 bottles for a low price - they shipped & charged for the next delivery before i cancelled any membership - couldn't get through to customer service so i had to cancel my credit card

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Terrible customer service, automatic re-ups at $98 per shipment, DON'T FALL FOR IT

November 17, 2017

Decent wine, but definitely a bait and switch service designed to lure you in with cheap wine and then hit you for MUCH larger automated payments with no notification emails in advance. Save yourself the money, you can do better at the local store and have far better control of your choices and expenditures.

View all 2 Comments
November 28, 2017

Hi Michael, we make sure to send at least two emails to notify you before your order ships, plus several other once you sign up.

We price our wines cheaper at the start because it's an introductory offer to let customers try our wines for as little commitment as possible. Subsequent shipments are at the club price of $13/bottle which even then is up to 60% off wines you get at the store.

If you'd like, we will be more than happy to process a refund for your wines.

November 28, 2017

Hi, Michael! We make sure to send at least two emails to let you know before an order ships out to you, as well as sending you several once you sign up for our club.

We price our introductory orders cheaper to let customers try our wines with as little commitment as possible (you are able to cancel your subscription with us at any time). Our subsequent orders are priced at $13/bottle but even then are up to 60% off what you would find at a store.

I would be more than happy to process a refund for your order if you would like, and do contact us over at [email protected] if you need any more help with this.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

BUYER BEWARE

November 8, 2017

This review is of the club, not the wine - which is certainly overpriced for what you get. That being said, after my first order, I cancelled my membership. Several months later I received an e-mail giving me a $40 credit to resume my membership. All I did was open my email. Next thing, I received an e-mail telling me my wine was on the way. I e-mailed back advising that I had cancelled my membership, but was told it was too late and there was no way to return the wine, but they would give me a $40 credit. So, ok. you can imagine how surprised I was to receive notice the following month that another shipment was on the way. So, when I e-mailed customer service, I was told that just logging onto their web site would reactivate my membership. What a rip off!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

3 or 3?????

October 31, 2017

I ordered my three bottles for three dollars on Thursday and they were delivered to me on Saturday free. And I noticed it’s almost $100 to continue the club and you get only six bottles per month. There are other clubs you get twice as many for less. So today I’m canceling it because it did say no questions asked cancellation. If it’s a hassle I’ll just order a new credit card. I would like to think I’m happy because three for three is a pretty damn good deal and the rest of the rip off. Good luck

November 11, 2017

it sure seems like you want to leave a negative review but why leave 5 stars???

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Not worth it, unless you don't live by a wine/liquor store

October 20, 2017

The intro price is great! $20 for 3 bottles of wine. But after that, you're looking at $95+ for 6 bottles. Maybe $15-$16 a bottle of wine that you can normally get for $10-$13.

I checked a few of the bottles on their site, and my own searches yielded that I could in fact buy those wines cheaper. The Counter Cut, the Lost Dog... both examples of wines I found well under that $15 mark.

In conclusion, if you only have 1 wine/liquor store in your town and they gouge you, then maybe use this service, but if you have a reasonably priced wine store, you can get these cheaper.. much cheaper.

Much of what is quoted on their site really feels like restaurant prices. Yes, you will pay $50 for a $12 bottle at a restaurant, and substantially more if you're doing wine-by-the-glass. But in my local wine stores (and I have a few by me), I can find a good bottle for $10-$15... and not have to worry about subscriptions, plus I get to pick my own, and don't get stuck with their recommendation. In addition, my local spot usually discounts 6 or more bottles by 10-15% on top of that. So for me to buy 6 bottles, I could easily come in around $50 or $60... much cheaper than $95.

The business model must make money, so don't be fooled into thinking you're saving money through this service.

I want to emphasize that they are not deceptive. Their stats are just applicable in a very unique situation that most customers would not face. For the vast majority of people, you are not saving money through this service.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

I don't want white wine but they keep on sending it.

October 20, 2017

I asked several months ago for them to send me only red wine, no rose, no white. I threatened to quit if they send me any. Guess what? They keep sending me white wine. Today I decided to quit the Wine Club, not so easy to do that. I will have to instruct my bank not to pay and if I get any more shipments I will refuse them.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Baxter

October 4, 2017

I have not have any of the experiences mentioned above. I've been a member for a year and decided to go for another year. Of all the wines, I may have not cared for 2 or 3. The vast majority I have liked. You can get a refund for wines that are unsatisfactory. I have also had free shipping. I like the fact that you can rate the wines and they customize future boxes. You can see in advance what they plan to ship and you can swap bottles out. I think it is kind of fun to try out different wines.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Great Customer Service

September 25, 2017

I'm on my 3 month with the club and everything has been amazing so far! I really enjoyed my first box of wine. I've rated my wines and they've continued sending me wines that I like.

Quite confused about the poor reviews on this site. The customer service has been excellent. I had an issue with shipping for my intro order and they responded very quickly and fixed it.

Very happy with Firstleaf!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Terrible options for shipping

September 19, 2017

I wanted to like this club but their delivery sucks. They state that they let you choose your delivery date. UPS then changes the delivery date. The is very limited options available once the shipment is in process. I work from home Tuesdays and Wednesdays so I scheduled the delivery for Tuesday thinking that would give me an extra day if something happens. I got the confirmation the delivery as scheduled. On that Tuesday, I track the package only to find out the delivery is now for Thursday. I have UPS Mychoice so I tried to change the delivery to be held at UPS. They only offered a pick from a facility 30 miles from my home. I can pay additional money for other options or I can have all of my UPS deliveries diverted. I have some large items scheduled for delivery so this is not an option. Firstleaf did offer to give me a year of free shipping but this doesn't solve their shipment issues. Try Winc. They use FedEx which is highly flexible and, if you order 4 or more bottles, the shipping is always free.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

First Leaf Wine Club

July 2, 2017

I joined First Leaf Wine Club and for $15 + shipping. I was supposed to receive 3 bottles of wine supposedly having a suggested retail price of over $20 each The first bottle I opened (which had a screw on top, no less) was a red blend that was so cloyingly sweet that after two large sips, I dumped the remaining wine down the drain, Oh well, I thought, I'll save the wine remaining in the bottle for cooking. I made mushrooms in a red wine reduction, which ddid not taste right. Down the sink drain with the remaining wine. The other two bottles were at least drinkable to a degree, but not of a quality had in a $15 - $20 bottle of wine.

I tried to cancel the membership, but before I could do so, I received my first 6 bottle shipment for $79 + $10 shipping, bringing the cost to nearly $15 per bottle. In my opinion, Wine of the same quality can be purchased for between $5 - $8 per bottle at Trader Joe's.

I don't know where the ratings of 85 to 90 come from. The "Wine Spectator" certainly rate would not them anywhere near that. In fact I don't think that the "Wine Spectator" would even bother to rate them. Trader Joe's "2 buck Chuck" seems to be a better buy. (At least the mushroom in wine reduction using "2 buck Chuck was a heck of a lot better!}

After some difficulty in communication with First Leaf, I managed to cancel my membership. The club claims that the $20 bottle wine you buy at your wine retail store is only worth $3. I beg to differ with that misleading advertising. If you are a wine drinker, skip First Leaf and buy your wine at Trader Joe's, World Market or local liquor store. for $15 including tax, and you will get bettr wine than any of the 9 bottles I tasted from First Leaf.

View all 2 Comments
July 27, 2017

I just received my first 3 bottles and--just to be assure it's easy to cancel, tried to do so, and wasn't given the option on their site--even after a person contacted me with the so-called simple steps. Let's see how they handle my attempts to cancel. Will keep you posted.

September 15, 2017

I was also tempted to order the wine.... I just received an email saying I could now get 3 bottles for $3.

No where on the site, does it state anything about a membership or having to pay $79 plus $10 S&H for a monthly shipment of 6 bottles.

I never completed the order, thinking twice. As the little voice inside my head says...If it sounds too good to be true, It probably is!!

Thank you!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Email received stating payment didn't go through. Bank says otherwise.

May 31, 2017

I received an email stating payment did not go through - bank says otherwise. I have attempted to contact them and their toll free number seems bogus. No salutation (correct number?) and an eternal wait with no rep. answering. I want to dump these people but cannot contact them. This ridiculous.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Incompetent

May 13, 2017

I had actually ordered a full box of a nice Pinot Grigio that I enjoyed. Too bad they shipped the wrong wine and instead sent one that I rated poorly. They admitted the error but couldn't figure out how to correct it.
So I'm stuck with a box of wine I don't like and all they could offer was to send me more of THE SAME WINE.
Incompetent is an apt description. I cancelled my subscription and will try another service.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

how do you rate bad

May 12, 2017

trying to get out of firstleaf is hard to do they run around the block
an back again. an you still can find it the e mail address is
www.firstleaf.club/unsubscibe that don't show you any thing on
how to unsubscribe from them

Comment on this review...

wine tasting experience

April 10, 2017

As with any product one tries, there may be good and not so good. So many wineries now exist, and there are numerous regions and wines that may be what we are seeking.. I will trust the rating unless proven different. The new age will be taken into consideration. Seems some of you customers are seeking Bentleys at Yugo prices.
We just received the package, my concern is do you want the package back?

Gerry G. Magnuson

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Scam!

April 9, 2017

I subscribed when I saw their ad in a golf magazine. I decided to subscribe for shipments every 3 months. I received my initial shipment in Feb and expected for receive my second shipment in May. In March (less than 30 days after my initial order) I received an email notification my second box had shipped. I contacted Firstleaf and told them I was not expecting my second box until May. They apologize and asked if I still wanted the second box. Since they already charged my card, I said yes and told them I DID NOT want my third box until June (3 months). Then in April I receive another email notification my third box has shipped. Again I contacted the company and was given some auto response that did not even make sense and did not answer my question "Why am I receiving my their box now?" I tried to get an answer for several days and finally decided to cancel my subscription. I think they are a scam! Do not use this service!

April 17, 2017

This was not my experience. I contacted the company via e-maii and received a response via e-mail honoring my request to delay shipment to a specific date within 24 hours.

So far so good.

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review