Firstleaf Wine Club Reviews

Firstleaf Wine Club
( 66  Reviews )



Write a Review
66 ‘Firstleaf Wine Club’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

Bartender

August 2, 2018

This company is a complete scam. I took a chance on 3 bottles of Washington State merlot that was ok. I DIDNOT signup for a wine club or any further shipments. A month or so later a six-pack of wine was left at my door by UPS. The driver simply left the package without asking for my signature which is required in CA. When I called First Leaf to complain and ask them to pickup the wine I was told that since they "no means to retrieve" the shipment they could only refund me 30% of the purchase price of $90.00 which had been charged to a Master Card. I told them I would return it myself to their warehouse in Healdsburg since it was only a few miles from me and was then told that "wasn't possible" because of "policy." There is no policy because there is no warehouse. An email to UPS got the usual response an email to UPS gets - which was no response.
The "Wine Club" is a scam run by a "virtual winery" in New York and has no physical presence in any of the states it claims to secure it's "deals" from. I am currently talking to The Sonoma County Chamber of Commerce and the DA's Office to see if this phony company can be prosecuted for fraud. Legitimate wineries and clubs should go after these thieves as well.

October 16, 2018

Hi Michael! Sorry about the confusion. However, when you place your introductory order it does enroll you in the club for future boxes of wine (this on our website and before you click ‘Place Order’). We send 2 reminder emails prior to all orders going out as well. I will be reaching out to our REPS at UPS and notifying them that the order was left and not signed for. We are a winery, located in Sonoma County (Healdsburg) but we only sell our wines online so there is no physical tasting room.

If you have any questions about this please give us a call at 1-800-461-7203 Mon - Fri 9 am - 8 pm EST or shoot us an email at [email protected], and a member from customer service will assist you as soon as possible!

Cheers!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Firstleaf Scam

July 10, 2018

Shameful! Shipped wine with no notification. When I wasn't home to receive it I was told that the package was being held at a UPS 25 miles away (even though there is a UPS less than a mile away. They then charged me a 20 dollar restocking fee for wine they shipped to me without my knowledge. Customer service was equally suspect.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Not Pleased

June 22, 2018

I drink Merlot, Pinot Noir, and Cabernet got nothing got nothing but questionable red wine.

Comment on this review...

Fraudulent Wine Dumping

June 1, 2018

After 6 months I have canceled my Firstleaf account. I have "googled" every wine I have received and, if I find any hits at all they all just point back to Firstleaf. All wines say "Bottled in Healdsburg, CA" - it's obvious to me they are dumping unwanted wines by creating lots of fake labels and slick marketing.

I believe you are on to somethingy I noticed the labels on this last box of 6 very fishy ...I drink Merlot and Pinot Noir was sent Red Wine"

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

What?

May 8, 2018

Ordered the 3 bottle trial for 3.18. They said I was under no obligation to buy more. Today I received a case by UPS (I refused the package). They charged my credit card $94. I did not authorize this purchase. Buyer Beware!!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

First Leaf Wine Club

April 9, 2018

I am very pleased with First Leaf Wine Club. Have been drinking wine for 25 years. I use to walk all around the liquor store looking for a wine that was on sale. I liked to spend between $9-12. I was very happy when I could snag a more ex[pensive wine in my price range. With First Leaf Wine Club I am getting a more expensive wine for a little more than what i usually spend. Having the wine delivered to my door monthly or bi-monthly makes up for the few dollars more. I am enjoying wine more than ever ." Life is too short for cheap wine" !

August 02, 2018

This reviewer is either a shill or an idiot.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

fraud

March 26, 2018

received mailer with offer for 3 bottles 3 bucks addressed to me in CT. went on with offer number and put in my credit card then they said the offer was not valid in CT. yet they mailed it to me in Ct. ?!!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Pleased so far

March 24, 2018

I tried the 3 bottle intro offer, with mixed results: one bottle I didn't like very much, another was pretty good, and another was outstanding. I liked my favorite so much that I ordered another 6 bottles.

Looking forward, price is an issue, as I don't normally buy wines in the $15 range. My next box, which will be my first full order, plus the other 6-bottle box is a splurge for me.

I love wine, drink almost every evening meal, but I'm by no means an expert or connoisseur. I typically buy wines from my local big-box warehouse club in the $10 range. I feel like wines at this price point can be pretty good, certainly enjoyable, but nothing extraordinary.

The one wine in the intro offer was truly extraordinary. If FirstLeaf can deliver on their promise finding wines that exceed my expectations, paying more than I normally do might be worth it for me.

I'm looking forward to my next box.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Bait & Switch

March 20, 2018

Received an offer from Firstleaf for 3 bottles for $1 each. 2 reds and 1 white. I checked the wines online and got good reviews. Then I went to the specified link. The first, Harmonic Bridge was offered, but the other two were changed and no trace of them on the internet. I suspect the same issue as mentioned in another post, off label bottling of less desirable wine. I trashed the offer.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Lakewood

January 31, 2018

The next shipment was displayed as 4 chardonnays, a white blend, and a chenin blanc. We usually get 3 whites and 3 reds. We do not like chenin blanc so I clicked it off and I said I was getting a cab. Since my wife likes chardonnays best I said ok to the shipment. What I got was 2 french whites a sparkling, and 3 cabs. This the second time that the shipment was a surprise or included a surprise. They seem to have an arrangement with Joe Otos since they send his wines under numerous labels. Thinking of cancelling.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Scam

January 6, 2018

While visiting mother a UPS guy dropped off a 3-bottle offering. She asked, "Which one would you like to drink.?" I said, I don't know, let me look up some tasting notes." It's when I had to tell her, " I think you've been scammed." Here's why.

Bottle #1 was called "Cien por Centro" Cabernet Sauvignon from Spain. No winery listed on the bottle. Weird. Next, the back label says "bottled by 94558 Wine Napa CA". Huh? Why are you bottling a Spanish wine in California? And I can't even find that a company "94558 Wine" even exists.

Bottle #2 "Busby's Treaty" Shiraz S.E. Australia. Same as above. No winery listed and "bottled in Healdsburg CA by Vintage Terrior". Again, why are you bottling an Australian wine in the US? Couldn't find a company by the name of "Vintage Terrior" in Healdsburg either.

Bottle #3 "Paul Horn Winery Cabernet Sauvignon". Go ahead. Look up Paul Horn Winery and "vinted and bottled by Western Slope, Healdsburg CA" while you're at it.

View all 2 Comments
January 07, 2018

Sorry, that's "Post Horn Winery". See if you can go pay them a visit while wine tasting through Alexander Valley.

April 25, 2018

Agree completely. If Firstleaf explained that all the wines are made in the same facility in Healdsburg but under the direction of the different winemakers, that would be one thing. But to intentionally and aggressively mislead about the existence of these "wineries" blows all credibility. Sad part is I don't think it is necessary. the 3 reds I drank were pretty good, for the price, but I don't like doing business with untrustworthy merchants.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

The Jury's Still Out, But . . .

December 16, 2017

I've gotten two shipments and the results have been mixed. Some wines I've liked, others less so. At an average price of about $15 a bottle, I'm not sure that I couldn't do better at a wine store. I'm going to give it some more time.

However, I'm more than a little suspicious that the "discount" I'm supposed to be getting may be bogus. Each wine has a "retail price" listed, which is, of course, significant'tly higher than the price I'm paying. That's the whole thrust of their marketing campaign--that I'm getting great wines at a significant't mark-down. But I can't find almost any prices for their wines on the web. Some wine sites warn that this is a sign that wineries are dumping undesirable wines that they won't sell retail. When I called the customer service number to ask the representative where the retail prices listed by the club are coming from and if I could verify them, she said that she didn't have that information and would need to check. After talking with her supervisor, she said that the prices were given to them by the wine producer but that they were not able to give out of verify the information.

That sounds very suspicious to me. Of course, if I like the wines enough to drink them at the club price, then this shouldn't matter. (As I said, the jury's still out on that.) But if a company is not dealing honestly with me, it makes me very hesitant to do business with them. I wonder what else they might be lying about.

View all 2 Comments
December 16, 2017

I can buy great Washington state wines for way less than $15 per bottle.

December 17, 2017

Great. I guess taste is subjective. Personally, I've found that at $20, I'm in pretty safe territory, but $10-$20 is hit and miss. That's why I've been willing to give Firstleaf a chance.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

I like it

December 13, 2017

Don't know a lot about wine and usually just pick bottles that look pretty at the liquor store. This method had me pouring a lot of $ down the drain buying wine I really didn't like. I actually stopped drinking wine for awhile because I couldn't figure out what I liked. I actually got my first box from a friend as a gift and I loved all 3 wines in the box. Been a member for almost a year now, besides a few too many emails, I am really glad I joined this club. I wish it had an app so it would be easier to rate and look up the wine I am drinking instead of having to keep the cards that sometimes come with the wine.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Excellent Packing & Marketing - Lackluster Wines

November 30, 2017

While the premise and packing were great, most of the wines were humdrum. At an average of about $15 per bottle, I would do better using BevMo or Total Wines coupons and deals. Many of the wines had good potential but I wanted wines to drink now... not gambling on a well constructed and mature wine 2-3 years from now. Actually, disappointed that this wine club was not as good as I though it would be.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

I Do Not Like Being Mislead - Firstleaf's Offer is Misleading

November 29, 2017

A direct mail package offered "3 bottles, 3 bucks." It went on to say "No obligation to buy anything more." Like Tobi noted above the offer was too good to be true. I tiptoed through the registration until a final screen admitted the ongoing price was near $100 + shipping for six bottles. That is more than twice what these club style wines bring on other sites. Some promotions at wineinsiders.com offer 15 bottles of fair wine for under $100 with shipping included, and there is no commitment of any kind.

I noted that the Card with invitation number was a gimmick. The site address triggers the "offer." I was outright concerned that my e-mail address populated the rest of the form. Some other wine site sold my information.

Firstleaf reminds a bit of Enzyte - remember the garden hose ads on television? Stopping a subscription there was impossible and over-billing was rampant. FTC finally got them but not until a lot of people were hurt.

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review