Economy Bookings Reviews

Economy Bookings
( 145 reviews )

Economy Bookings Review: Is it Legit?

Reviewopedia staff  -  Updated:  July 17, 2023

 

Economy Bookings is an online car rental platform that enables customers to find, compare, and book rental cars from various suppliers worldwide.

In this article, we'll take a look at Economy Bookings customer reviews, their services, and how they compare to similar companies.

How Does It Work?

Economy Bookings works with numerous car rental providers, including well-known brands such as Avis, Hertz, and Europcar, as well as smaller, local companies.

The company states that their service compares car rental offers in 20,000 airport and city locations in 180+ countries.

They go on to say that this wide range of options allows customers to choose the best car rental deal based on their preferences, budget, and travel requirements.

The booking process is relatively straightforward, as customers can filter their search results by factors such as car type, price range, and supplier.

Rental prices will be displayed up front before you choose to make your reservation.  

Economy Bookings also offers a mobile app for iOS and Android devices, making it convenient for customers to book and manage their car rentals on the go.

Refund Policy

When booking a car rental through EconomyBookings.com, it is essential to understand their refund and cancellation policies, as these can vary depending on the chosen car rental provider.

EconomyBookings.com's cancellation and refund policy can be summarized as follows:

For fully prepaid and partially prepaid bookings:

  • Cancel 48 hours or more before pick-up:  Refunded minus a €60 cancellation fee, unless prepayment is less than €60.
  • Cancel less than 48 hours before pick-up:  Refunded minus a €150 cancellation fee, unless prepayment is less than €150.
  • Cancel less than 24 hours before pick-up:  No refund provided.
  • No refunds provide for unused rental days.

Non-refundable cases include:

  • No prior cancellation notice.
  • Failure to pick up the car or provide necessary documentation.
  • Booking made less than 48 hours before rental starts.

Changes can be made at least 48 hours before rental starts and a fee of €18 applies, which can be waived with Cancel Protection.

Refund requests must be submitted in writing within 30 days from the drop-off date.

Cancellation requests should be emailed to [email protected] and refund requests must be submitted to [email protected].

In case of any doubts or queries, customers should contact Economy Bookings' customer support for clarification before confirming the reservation.

Customers can contact Economy Bookings by phone at (347) 897 9795 or by email at [email protected].

Customer Reviews & Complaints

On some ratings websites, Economy Bookings appears to have highly positive customer reviews.

However, a large portion of these reviews are often posted on a single day, which can indicate the company manages their reputation on these websites.

Elsewhere, Economy Bookings has mostly mixed customer reviews, with some very happy customers and other customers who have had negative experiences.

Some users have praised the platform for its user-friendly interface, affordable prices, and diverse selection of vehicles.

Others have had positive experiences with the company's customer service, citing their responsiveness and helpfulness in addressing concerns.

However, there have been some negative reviews and complaints as well.  These include:

  • Issues with hidden fees
  • Discrepancies between the price quoted during booking and the actual price charged
  • Difficulties obtaining refunds in certain situations
  • Reservations being subsequently canceled or no longer available after booking

According to the BBB, Booking Group Corporation Ltd. (the company behind EconomyBookings.com) has an 'F' rating and receives a rating of just 1.1/5 stars from 30 customer reviews.

The company has received 249 customer complaints in the last 3 years and 73 complaints in the last 12 months. 

However, these numbers should be considered in context with the very large number of customers that Economy Bookings serves.

Is Economy Bookings Legit?

Economy Bookings has been operating since 2008, and with millions of customers served, it can be considered a legitimate car rental platform.

The company operates in a very competitive industry where few competitors get high marks from customers.

Booking Group Corporation is headquartered in Latvia, but also has an office in New York.  Customers can find out more about the company at www.bookinggroup.com.

As with any online service, it's crucial to do your research, read reviews, and ensure that you understand the terms and conditions before making a booking.

Competitors and Alternatives?

Economy Bookings has an extensive network of car rental providers and offers competitive pricing, which allows customers to access a diverse range of options and potentially find lower prices than on other platforms.

Additionally, their mobile app can make the booking process convenient for users.

However, other car rental platforms like Expedia, Kayak, and Rentalcars.com also offer a wide selection of rental options and competitive pricing.

These platforms may have better-established reputations and more consistent customer reviews.

As such, it's essential to compare the options available on multiple platforms to find the best deal.

The Bottom Line

EconomyBookings.com offers a comprehensive car rental platform with an extensive range of options and competitive pricing.

While the service has received mixed reviews, it remains a legitimate option for those seeking to book a rental car.

To ensure a positive experience, customers should thoroughly research and compare Economy Bookings with other similar services, read the terms and conditions carefully, and be prepared to communicate with customer service in case of any issues.

If you have any experience with Economy Bookings or their services, please leave your reviews below.

Economy Bookings Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Avoid Economybookings like the plague!
May 25, 2024

Avoid Economybookings like the plague!

(This should have been a 'no star' review.)

There is no refund, only a credit
May 22, 2024
There is no place that indicates that you receive a refund. The only thing you can get is a credit, which apparently induces another fee to be able to use it at a future date. This practice needs to be better publicized and Kayak should cut ties. I received my email from EconomyBookings.com and thought it was a scam so had to research to find these shady practices. Kayak should have some culpability here as I now have no choice but to "try" to use my credit with a shady company, plus incur more fees. Since the company is in Latvia, I do not stand a chance with this company. Very frustrating and credit card company just says to try working with the booking company.

Booking Fee, non-refundable, work with criminals
April 23, 2024
I booked a rental at Orlando airport, AZ Rentals which operates illegally and outside the airport authority left my family stranded at the airport. As it turns out AZ Rentals uses the public parking area's to conduct its business rather than the actual car rental area and is not licensed or permitted to operate at the airport. So if your flight is late, they simply leave before airport security catches them. They of course don't respond to any phone calls, and it took more than a day to get a hold of them them, at which time they said sorry get a refund from Economy Bookings. EconomyBookings then turned around and lied saying I had both cancelled my rental prior to pickup and then failed to pickup the vehicle. Also engaging in fraud. Thankfully though having notified the airport authority, they are doing what they can to shutdown AZ rentals at the airport. Economy bookings is just a book fee scam, Mastercard will certainly block their charge, especially when I have emails from the airport authority confirming AZ rentals illegal activities, and also emails of economy bookings fraudulent behaviour.

They do not honor their policies.
April 12, 2024
Save yourself some grief and avoid this company. I tried to adjust our rental period due to a flight cancellation, which is allowed per their Amendment Policy. They have refused to accept responsibility for the bogus contact number they provided which prevented me from doing so.

do not rent from economybooking.com
April 11, 2024

I have rented a car through that company for a month but because of personal reasons had to bring the car back after only 18 days. I have asked for a refund for the days I did not use the car, as done at every other rental company, but they refuse to refund me at all.

in that case cheap is very expensive...

Fraudulent and deceptive. Avoid at all cost.
April 7, 2024

I would avoid this company at all...

I would avoid this company at all costs. They advertise tree cancellation on rental cars, however if you cancel, you are issued a credit, not a refund to your original form of payment. If you ask to have your payment refunded to your original form of payment, you need them to go through an additional set of12 procedures that took an Economy Bookings "supervisor" 18 minutes to outline. I called this outfit, which is based out of Latvia and appears to have an office in New York, twice to try to get assistance cancelling a reservation. Both times the agents were rude and verbally abusive. The "supervisor" told me he would see me in kindergarten. At no time whatsoever was it disclosed on the website or by ANY of the representatives I spoke to that my "free" cancellation involves a $75/€60 fee in order to use or transfer the credit. This is straight out fraud. Cancellation is not free. It indicates that these fraudsters in Latvia are so desperate for a buck that they will do anything to cheat, deceive, swindle and lie to unsuspecting customers. Beware and book with them at your risk.

BE AWARE OF ECONOMY BOOKING SCAMS
March 7, 2024

Hi - I recently purchased the Economy Booking "full coverage" on a rental car in Mexico, for $900 US. When we went to pick up the car, the agent said our policy did not include 3rd party liability which is mandatory in Mexico,

So, I cancelled the insurance from Economy Booking before picking up the car, and bought proper coverage from the agent.

For the last 7 weeks, I've been trying to get ahold of an agent online or in person but only got form letters.

Finally, today I was informed that "full coverage" does NOT include basic insurance, so even though I did not use the Economy Insurance at all, there is no refund.

Economy Bookings Full Coverage is NOT Insurance
March 5, 2024

Found Economy Booking, or Booking Group, online when thinking about renting a car for a Cozumel vacation. The price for the rental car was going to be about $27/day for five days so we thought that would be a great deal. We had never heard of Fox Rent a Car but "how bad could it be?" The rental info said they offered what looked like Full Coverage insurance for a nominal price. After checking with my State Farm rep, I learned that my insurance in the US would not cover me in Cozumel so I decided to take the Full Coverage from Economy Bookings. Even though the rental and the Full Coverage where on the same website page when I checked out, the email receipts/vouchers were separate. One stated the rental rate and total while the other stated I had "Full Coverage!"

Once I arrived at the Cozumel airport, we looked for the "Fox" rental stand but none of the stands had that name. We asked several people in the airport who told us to go outside to the end of the parking lot to a portable building in one direction, then back to the terminal, then back out to the other end of the parking lot.... Finally, we were told that EuropCar was the Fox rental agency. What a waste of time. We waited in line and overheard another group complaining about "buying" insurance on line but had to buy additional coverage at the rental desk. Our turn came up and sure enough, the agent said the "Full Coverage" I bought was not what was required to rent from them. Even though our rental was $137.95 for five days, the mandatory insurance would another $35 per day to take the car. I cancelled the rental. Once at the hotel, I contacted American Express about what I thought was bait and switch. I sent AMEX the two emails I received from [email protected] and explained what I had just gone through. I then sent emails back to Econobookings by responding to their two receipt/voucher emails explaining what I experienced as bait and switch. After that, I tried to call them at their (347)897-9795 number and a rude young man told me "sorry, there is nothing he can do." I also sent the email threads to [email protected] as I was instructed but the AMEX rep. I received an email response from Megan stating I had a chargeback status and I should go back to my credit card company for the claim outcome. Today, a week later, I receive notice from American Express that the chargeback was overturned and we WILL have to pay the $137.95 after all.

This is just bad business. Booking Group, or Econo Bookings pushed their "Full Coverage" and the fact that you "owe nothing" at the rental car pick-up. But what seems to be the real kicker is nowhere in their "Full Coverage" voucher does it say it is actually INSURANCE. Had I known the low, low price rental rate would have a mandatory insurance charge, more than doubling the price, I might have still gone with them. Not knowing the insurance charge would be more than the rental amount seems a little shady to me but finding out AT THE RENTAL DESK was not right. Just like their marketing of "Fox Rent a Car" without mentioning the name change, buy out, whatever, to EuropCar is just poor customer service.

Be VERY careful about using Economy Bookings or Booking Group for your next international car rental. If you are like me, you want the professional service providers to be professional, and/or provide service. Not explaining the insurance requirements for their car rental partners is not good business. I'm sure they don't care but I will be booking with more reputable services in the future.

Under Investigation
February 26, 2024

Avoid this Company

They are under investigation

P.M. April 07, 2024

They are scam artists and fraudsters. Also beware of their “free cancellation”. No such thing. They issue credit and make you agree to a $75 “fee” in order to use it. A pathetic and desperate group of criminals.

Total Scam! Stay away!
February 25, 2024

Yep. Crooks. I had to catch a later flight and it turned that would be out of hours for the rental office and incur fees. Of course I then started to look at cancellation. Their cancellation policy is scam. The big print says free cancellation up to 48hrs before. The small print says, only if you accept voucher. You can't get a refund that is unless you pay a cancellation fee! I don't want a voucher. I want my money back!

Then I looked at the reviews on their homepage. there's only a snippet of each review with lots of stars for that review, but if you actually read what's there people are saying no stars despite 5stars at the top of the box. There can be no doubt their reviews manipulated. As noted on this site many positive reviews seem to appear on the same day. CROOKS! DO NOT USE!

P.M. April 07, 2024

I had this same experience. Total fraud. This operation is a criminal group of fraudsters.

Economybooking.com - CROOKS
February 18, 2024
Economybookings.com is one of the worst ever online broker companies I had ever came across to. Please be aware the company is based in Litvania and arrogant in dealing with Complaints. They charged me with full cover car insurance and at the time of car collection the car hire company charged me again for full cover. So I had been charged twice for full cover. Hire company says, we don't accept Economybooking.com full cover charge. They are CROOKS! Please everyone do not go through economybooking.com you will sorry about it.

Scam
February 16, 2024
This 3rd party services is a scam and will not let you cancel reservations. Their site is misleading and difficult to cancel once a reservation is made. I have requested assistance from them

Insurance coverage and customer support is terrible
February 8, 2024
The initial booking was fine - but I bought their FULL insurance coverage - I had a small accident that resulted in $400 in damages that I had to pay upfront. Its now 4 months later - and countless emails and I have no resolution of this incident and have not been reimbursed.

Read the "fine print" very carefully
February 8, 2024

I had rented a car for 5 weeks but after 1 week, I had to cut my vacation short due to an unexpected emergency. When I returned the car, I was surprised there was absolutely no refund. I was told its in the "fine print". I was expecting some type of penalty but to have to pay $650 for the car when it was returned does not seem reasonable.

AVOID this company
February 1, 2024
Horrible experience. Very difficult to get anything changed. I booked a rental car for my wife. AND once you pay, that money stays there even if you cancel. so you're basically stuck with using their services or pay 60 Euro penalty and get your money back in 21 days. AVOID this company.

SCAM! It’s not free cancellation.
January 30, 2024

I booked a car and the site said FREE cancellation, Book with confidence! You’ll get a full refund if you cancel at least 48 hours before the pickup. No worries, no hassle.

I canceled an hour later, and they told me that they can only give me a voucher for future booking but if I want my money back, they will charge me $65, and the rest of the balance will be returned in 21 business days.

I don’t think this means FREE cancellation, you’ll get a full refund.

P.M. April 07, 2024

Complete fraud.

Con artists
January 29, 2024
YES! A scam. Their web page leads off with the phrase 'Free Cancelation', but all they mean is they'll take your money immediately and offer you a voucher for a future rental if you need it. They count you expecting the norm: free cancelation meaning no charge until pick-up. STEER CLEAR. Con artists. They should get no stars!

Not honest
January 19, 2024
DO NOT RESERVE CARS THROUGH THIS PORTAL. Their cancelation policy is a con. They say in bold letters a reservation can be canceled. In fine print...after the reservation...it becomes clear that one will receive ONLY a credit for future use with these same conmen.

A company that charges 100% of my payment of $500 in administration fees
December 28, 2023

Pay close attention to Economybookings. One small careless mistake and they steal everything you paid for in advance.

I had booked and paid for a car rental. We had a guest for our trip. I needed a slightly bigger car. So I canceled my reservation and then rented another vehicle with them. I then learned that the cancellation fees were the total amount of my payment and I therefore did not have access to my money in the wallet provided for this purpose. After 4 attempts to contact by email, I was replied 3 weeks later mentioning their regulations during a cancellation and the fact that they are unable to offer a refund in this particular instance. All I wanted was to rent them a bigger car. They would rather take whatever I had paid in cancellation fees. I just lost $500 with this company that I consider dishonest.

When I tried to contact them, they took 3 weeks to tell me that according to their rules, they could not refund me. When I wrote a review on Truspilot to explain my problem, they responded in less than 24 hours. In a very polite manner, they confirmed to me that there was nothing they could do for me. It's politely stealing.

The administrative fees for a cancellation are the total amount of my payment, i.e. $500. I understand that there could be administration fees but the total amount is excessive, not justifiable and in my opinion it is theft

When I canceled to rent another vehicle with them, there was no warning, no alert to let me know that they were going to steal my entire payment if I canceled.

Careful cancellations are not free.
December 21, 2023

I booked a car with announced free cancellation.

they charged me 60EUR!! to refund the money (over 20% of the original booking). A shame.

all written in very long terms and conditions stating that they refund it to your Credit Wallet... (not credit Card) if you want your cash back you pay 60€.

For me, neither fair nor legal.